Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Would ye whist

The lack of discussion on here about relegation to Div 4 shows the real problem in this county, no one really gives a toss

BigGreenField

Early doors in the season, however are the new rules highlighting gaps between teams, all teams conceding more but some stark score lines to date. Hopefully might accelerate a move to 4 divisions in a future season to improve quality.

BigGreenField

Quote from: Would ye whist on March 24, 2025, 01:11:14 PMThe lack of discussion on here about relegation to Div 4 shows the real problem in this county, no one really gives a toss

What is there to discuss? Discipline and consistency has cost us but it isn't a shock, would we say we are really any better than the teams who did stay up?

Quote from: NatSoSaff on March 24, 2025, 01:10:38 PMI had looked forward to our game with all saints yesterday. But it was a damp squib. With all players available to both teams this would have been a great match-up one would expect. Ballymena hit badly with county representation of course.

It's such a pity the league is so far removed from any true representation of what clubs have to offer, and that we must wait until championship to take in the real stuff.

What county club league set ups have their county players available all season?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

AllStar15

Quote from: imtommygunn on March 24, 2025, 01:06:31 PMRandalstown were in division one before it was extended were they not?

Alder grove wouldn't be in a twelve team division one but they are much better than they used to be.

...and finished 4th last year

NatSoSaff

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 24, 2025, 01:28:36 PM
Quote from: NatSoSaff on March 24, 2025, 01:10:38 PMI had looked forward to our game with all saints yesterday. But it was a damp squib. With all players available to both teams this would have been a great match-up one would expect. Ballymena hit badly with county representation of course.

It's such a pity the league is so far removed from any true representation of what clubs have to offer, and that we must wait until championship to take in the real stuff.

What county club league set ups have their county players available all season?

I'm not trying to compare us with other counties. Just expressing my opinion as a supporter, it's a shame I'll have to wait for the summer to see the best of both teams.

NatSoSaff

Quote from: AllStar15 on March 24, 2025, 01:39:41 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 24, 2025, 01:06:31 PMRandalstown were in division one before it was extended were they not?

Alder grove wouldn't be in a twelve team division one but they are much better than they used to be.

...and finished 4th last year

Sure half of white hill are away hurling for Cavan this year  ;D

NatSoSaff

Quote from: Would ye whist on March 24, 2025, 01:11:14 PMThe lack of discussion on here about relegation to Div 4 shows the real problem in this county, no one really gives a toss

I'm sure many of us do. Fair play to the men selected putting the work this year and giving their best. It wasn't enough unfortunately. What would you like to see happen now? No doubt management will change next year. What must be done to improve things outside of this in the immediate term?

inabsentia

Quote from: BigGreenField on March 24, 2025, 01:11:56 PMEarly doors in the season, however are the new rules highlighting gaps between teams, all teams conceding more but some stark score lines to date. Hopefully might accelerate a move to 4 divisions in a future season to improve quality.

We have 34 adult teams competing across 3 leagues this year.

16 of those are in D1.

11 teams a division in D1/3, one extra in D2 where there'll be a bigger glut of teams around a similar level.

Sorted it for ye lads. Let me know when you want me to come on full time as county board representative.

I don't think so. The discussions resort into this club, that club etc. It's hugely disappointing to be relegated and it's hugely disappointing that the reality is that if you were an objective outsider looking at division 3 we would have probably been candidates for it. Hard to know where we go from here. Probably a new manager you'd imagine but there's a lot more to it than just one manager.

bannside

Championship venue confirmed for Corrigan Pk as anticipated.

Live on BBC for those who can't get tickets...

Hectic

Lack of discussion about being relegated?

Yesterday was just the dotting and crossing but there has been a lot of discussion over the past week, particularly around areas where posters perceive progress needs to be made to get our county team pressing forward.

Were you wanting us to come on with a collective wailing and gnashing of teeth last night?

Hectic

And as for Division 1 having too many teams being the problem?

How does that work given county players are not available for league games?

Pray tell!

Take the Mark

The 16 team Division 1 has no effect on how shite the county senior team is this year, zero.

But it will have in years to come. Weaker teams playing at a higher level, leads to false dawns.