Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Saffrongael

Lads just to clarify this would only be the case if he has his own umpires with him  ;) Not the home and away umpires cheating like fcuk
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: Saffrongael on October 15, 2024, 03:49:35 PMLads just to clarify this would only be the case if he has his own umpires with him  ;) Not the home and away umpires cheating like fcuk

And no one listens to home or away umpires when it comes down to a decision like that, it's important to try and be in a better position to call it yourself.

My problem with the square ball is for an umpire, is he watching when the ball was kicked and players placement in/out of square? Other than he's standing on the umpires foot he'll find it just as difficult to call.

The best a ref should do is blow his whistle on such calls, have a word with umpires or a linesman and make a decision. Either it's a goal or square ball.

Linesmen have no other function than to call the line and notify the ref for an off the ball incident. The incessant call from morons either on the sideline or behind the fence to tell the ref that he should tell the ref or wave your flag are watching way too much soccer, and not even slightly embarrassed when explained that you can't stop live play..

Linesmen and umpires can consult with the ref but ultimately it's his call only.

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

InnocentByStander

Curly McIlwaine puts the "was it out" debate to bed.

Spike

Yes, no doubt we'll see lots of contributers taking back their comments  ;)

EOC1923

Quote from: bannside on October 14, 2024, 12:48:15 AM
Quote from: EOC1923 on October 14, 2024, 12:38:00 AM
Quote from: bannside on October 14, 2024, 12:26:19 AMFirstly, congratulations to Cargin, great club, you know how to grind em out. Good luck in Ulster, all Antrim will be behind you.

Casements didn't fear Cargin before the game and round the club we feel like it's one we lost, rather than Cargin won.

The video is going around that shows we had a good goal disallowed, and we thought when Dermot was black carded, Mick got away with an exact same foul a few minutes later. Those things hot hard when refereeing gets it wrong or is perceived to not be consistent.

And we thought  Enda Lynn should have got a free in to level it in extra time.

Those who wish to comment please do so, just take the time to review the evidence beforehand.

Portglenone will suck it up, and will come back for more. Now that we know we can go toe to toe with Cargin for an hour, our challenge is to go find that extra couple of per cent.

Good luck Cargin, but don't go looking down your noses at us no more! We arnt far away...and youse know it.
Fair dues Bannside your men done  themselves proud today and took it to us but you are absolutely taking the piss claiming hard done by decision wise. 7-5 down in normal time, two scandalous decisions awarding frees. The commentators on the stream were in disbelief. Cargin on one of their worst days still came through against Portglenone who are away home thinking they played well
That's the reality.

Quote from: EOC1923 on October 14, 2024, 12:38:00 AM
Quote from: bannside on October 14, 2024, 12:26:19 AMFirstly, congratulations to Cargin, great club, you know how to grind em out. Good luck in Ulster, all Antrim will be behind you.

Casements didn't fear Cargin before the game and round the club we feel like it's one we lost, rather than Cargin won.

The video is going around that shows we had a good goal disallowed, and we thought when Dermot was black carded, Mick got away with an exact same foul a few minutes later. Those things hot hard when refereeing gets it wrong or is perceived to not be consistent.

And we thought  Enda Lynn should have got a free in to level it in extra time.

Those who wish to comment please do so, just take the time to review the evidence beforehand.

Portglenone will suck it up, and will come back for more. Now that we know we can go toe to toe with Cargin for an hour, our challenge is to go find that extra couple of per cent.

Good luck Cargin, but don't go looking down your noses at us no more! We arnt far away...and youse know it.
Fair dues Bannside your men done  themselves proud today and took it to us but you are absolutely taking the piss claiming hard done by decision wise. 7-5 down in normal time, two scandalous decisions awarding frees. The commentators on the stream were in disbelief. Cargin on one of their worst days still came through against Portglenone who are away home thinking they played well
That's the reality.

More typical condescending EOC. You were in a battle today and you know it. Goal disallowed that video evidence going round shows it was a scandalous decision.

You know we are bang up there with you, stop talking shite.
Talking shite anyone ?

paddyjohn

Only one thing worse than a bad loser...

Spike

A bad liar?

BigGreenField

Most of the ball is certainly out....

Wee Barky

Much ado about nothing here. Portglenone fans aren't covering themselves in glory in the eyes of defeat.

EOC1923

Wouldn't say that, I haven't heard any other Portgleone guys mention this and I know plenty of them. Away home proud of their team as they should be.
Any Antrim men on the Ulster squad for the weekend anyone know?

It's weird, people lose their shit on discussion board after their teams loses and blame the ref.

I'm sure I could go back to posts few years ago to see ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

bannside

Joseph Finnegan is one EOC

EOC1923