Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Spike on October 15, 2024, 11:01:15 AMWhether the ball was out or not is up for debate.  Thats up to the ref or umpire to make their call. maybe it was in, maybe not, difficult to see from my angle or on the Stream but a close call either way.  Certainly not clear.

Whats not up for debate is that the referee clearly blew his whistle early and the players stopped. kicking a ball into an unguarded net to me is not controversial.  Wasn't even a topic of discussion at the game.

Is there a brief required to be given to umpires other than perhaps jersey pulling? Sounds like a simple enough job with a bit of focus required for giving 45s and Square Balls 
That's not quite true. It wasn't an unguarded net because players stopped. It just happened to fall to a player in front of an unguarded goal. The PG1 man had the ball in front of an open net by the time the umpire signalled so I don't know how players could have stopped on the ref's whistle.
There are highlights on Jerome Quinn's twitter if you need to remind yourself.

I felt they did though. I was in the middle of PG1 crowd and it felt like they all knew too. Only one boy protested by looking at twitter and seeing the video.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: imtommygunn on October 15, 2024, 11:47:30 AMI felt they did though. I was in the middle of PG1 crowd and it felt like they all knew too. Only one boy protested by looking at twitter and seeing the video.
Go and look at it again. Some may not have been alert because they thought it was going wide but you can't say anyone stopped because the wide had been given.

https://x.com/aontroimgaa/status/1845569226523996558?s=46

Quote from: Would ye whist on October 15, 2024, 10:47:30 AMI think if we are honest and hold our hands up as a club a few fair us of probably believe the ball was not out and the goal probably should have stood, saying that I still would have fancied us to win the game.

I am sorry to bang on about standard of officials, however I heard it from a good source last night that the referee in charge does not have a settled set of umpires and anytime he is out he has a gather up of men (he is not the only one from what I was told.) Surely like all teams you would expect the ref to have a set of umpires he regularly works with, they know what he likes/dislikes and they all understand the brief, not just who is available on any given day or indeed looking in free to watch a match??

No ref has his 'team' always available, even for finals, I've two reliable lads that help me and some that maybe do the rest but not always, who in their right mind though is willing to help a referee and take dogs abuse for the craic  though cause they'll get in free? So that bit is not correct. Those at that end would be with Kevin a lot btw

So it's very common to have Ref's without the same settled team.

Its a close call either way on that line ball for the goal.

During the game and at halftime. never mind full time or extra time the referee is being confronted by players and officials, obviously complaining, this is after the fact and has no bearing on what's went on before it so completely wasted energy. Decisions are called and move on.

we don't need what happened in Tyrone with the stabbing of a ref or what's happened previously in hear in Antrim.

There were some sideline commotions at times for sideline balls and the like, again wasted energy and lost concentration on what really matters. RD is composed from any games that I do, and as a ref that is a big bonus.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Níl a fhios agam

Interesting take on the game so early on regarding the disallowed goal.Do you think Casements would have still been able to hold on to that lead if that had of been given? After all, Cargin has historically came back from deficits and put the pressure on. So all what aboutery...

All i have read on this board from the final regarding the ref is absolutely disgusting! He is a gael and a volunteer and boys from both clubs using his performance as an excuse for them not being able to play to the level they wanted due to the conditions he set. No two refs are the same, and on another day, a different ref could have easily turned that game into a free kick taking match or a game full of black and yellow cards. He is a hurling referee and it took cargin 25mins to realize that was the type of game he was allowing to be played out. I thought it suited Portglenones approach, as an underdog always has to bring that aggression if they want to force the issue. But i also thought when cargin started hitting and tackling, portglenone couldnt handle the pressure.

As a hurling man, it was one of the few games of football i actually enjoyed watching. alot of hard hitting, turnovers and putting their bodies on the line. I think a good template of how the game should be allowed to be played. I would rather watch that than some of the games iv watched in derry and down. Park didnt buy Lynns dive nor did he buy John Carrons attempt to go down easily inside The D.

So the fact both clubs have complaints about him, neither can accuse him of being bias.

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 15, 2024, 11:50:02 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 15, 2024, 11:47:30 AMI felt they did though. I was in the middle of PG1 crowd and it felt like they all knew too. Only one boy protested by looking at twitter and seeing the video.
Go and look at it again. Some may not have been alert because they thought it was going wide but you can't say anyone stopped because the wide had been given.

Ok maybe I am wrong on the stopping of play but ultimately the umpire signalled wide. Honestly think much ado about nothing with this goal.

Yeah I would also say generally people harsh on the ref. The game isn't easy to ref these days and there was a fair bit going on in that game. Also, and it's a blight on the game, there's an awful lot of defender has hand near attacker and attacker pulls his hand in and goes down. A lot of that went on and would be hard to ref.

Spike

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 15, 2024, 11:50:02 AM

Yeah, just being contrary as usual.  Cargin's Nr 5, 7 and 9 all stop. 

And if you'd been at the game you'd have heard a big loud whistle blow before it even reached the PG1 player.   Big clue there.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Take the Mark

Not that it matters now but Kevin McShane is stood a yard over the endline and ushers the ball out, the Portglenone man (Ronan Kelly?!) who fisted the ball is BEHIND Kevin. So unless Ronan has very, very long arms the ball looks well out.

bannside

Much ado about nothing! Seriously?

Umpire hadn't signaled wide, referee hadn't blown his whistle, Cargin defenders hadn't stopped, everyone thought goal was good, spectators directly on the end line beside the scoreboard didn't think it was wide, and the PG1 player Stephen Kelly who was involved is adamant the ball didn't cross the line.

In a drawn game it wasn't inconsequential...it was a massive call. It might have led to the Padraig McNamee cup sitting on my mantlepiece over the winter, but hey ho...its much ado about nothing!!

I'd finished on this subject, but simply had to respond to that.

And yes, maybe Cargin would have come back anyway, tbf, they are awesome at finding a way to cross the winning line. And good luck to them going forward.

BS I was in the middle of pg1 crowd. I'd have liked you to win but that decision was clearly made and that goal was never standing and very few round me said much about it bar one person who said the replay on twitter showed it wasn't out. That's irrelevant as the umpire said it was wide anyway.

You could see before the ball went in the net that was happening.

Níl a fhios agam

Bannside, realistically though i feel  there definetly is a championship in that portglenone team, i feel your task of winning one will be harder next year as ultimately after that performance, you will have gained the utmost respect from the rest of the teams. And being totally honest, most clubs seen you guys as a soft team, that talked more than you delivered. Now teams realise you are a different animal, and that will bring its own dynamic and for most games next year you will have to face teams with a heavy favorites tag over you. Interesting to see how you do with that added pressure.

next year Creggan will undoubtedly come back stronger, brigids with a change of management and a fully fit team will come back stronger so envisage an ultra competitive C'ship. This year in all honesty wasnt a great standard. LD very poor, Johnnies, Rossa and Creggan all below par. And after watching the final i feel alot of teams will think they will be in with a serious chance as Caements have bridged the gap more so that any other team has 

Níl a fhios agam

and tell me, how much would Casements be out on a weekly basis, having Mickey C, Hampsey and McGeary... heavy heavy investment put in either by the club or donors. Would you be content what you got out of them for the year you had?

Take the Mark

Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on October 15, 2024, 12:39:43 PMBannside, realistically though i feel  there definetly is a championship in that portglenone team, i feel your task of winning one will be harder next year as ultimately after that performance, you will have gained the utmost respect from the rest of the teams. And being totally honest, most clubs seen you guys as a soft team, that talked more than you delivered. Now teams realise you are a different animal, and that will bring its own dynamic and for most games next year you will have to face teams with a heavy favorites tag over you. Interesting to see how you do with that added pressure.

next year Creggan will undoubtedly come back stronger, brigids with a change of management and a fully fit team will come back stronger so envisage an ultra competitive C'ship. This year in all honesty wasnt a great standard. LD very poor, Johnnies, Rossa and Creggan all below par. And after watching the final i feel alot of teams will think they will be in with a serious chance as Caements have bridged the gap more so that any other team has 

Have Portglenone bridged it any further than Aghagallon did a couple of years ago? They also took Cargin to extra time and were about 8 up on them at a stage. How did Aghagallon fare after that final?