Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: Boycey on January 27, 2017, 12:17:35 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 27, 2017, 12:00:52 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on January 27, 2017, 11:57:08 AM
First post on here and you're questioning my post on referee's, too right you've been accused of being an abu.

That's harsh. I think it was a reasonable enough question. You're right about the officiating though, it's shite. I think most teams have been affected at this stage.

Is it any more shite than it ever was though, or is it just Sky/Bt or whoever pushing their own agenda? BT even have Howard fecking Webb as part of their matchday commentary team giving real time analysis of the decisions. Then at the interval they'll play the incident at super duper slow motion making the referee or linesman look a right berk and all the experts in the studio will line up to slaughter the officials who got one chance to make a call on it.

Its a lot worse this season, its a really difficult job though and they will always accept mistakes but there's been far too many mistakes this season. Look at United's game against Palace for example; How could he not send Rojo off for that tackle? Then missed the Palace defender with a very blatant hand ball, think he ended up punching it and then there was Mata's goal which was ruled out for offside when he it wasn't even close. United's first goal was offside and a handall although that was difficult to see. There's no way the officials should be getting that number of decisions wrong, 3 of them were very straight forward and not difficult at all.

They're not difficult MM cause you have seen them multiple times and at various speeds....

I think technology has worked well with the goal decisions and could work  with offsides but anything else I'd be against. The natural breaks in the game aren't there that exist in other game that use video technology like rugby, cricket and American football.

Quote from: Boycey on January 27, 2017, 12:59:37 PM
They're not difficult MM cause you have seen them multiple times and at various speeds....

I think technology has worked well with the goal decisions and could work  with offsides but anything else I'd be against. The natural breaks in the game aren't there that exist in other game that use video technology like rugby, cricket and American football.

Disagree Boycey, both Rojo's tackles, Luiz tackle on Fellaini and Barkley's challenge on Henderson all looked like red cards straight off and all seen by the refs. They were all given yellow cards, no excuse for not sending any of those players off.

Agree on technology, think it will eventually come in for offsides but happy for it to stop there. If linesman don't have to worry about offside decisions that will surely help the referee's in their decision making.

I honestly don't remember the 1st time I saw any of them incidences what I though but I do know many the time I've watched a game at a venue (including GAA in this) or on telly and changed my mind on seeing tv footage later. I've also changed my mind after seeing footage from a different angle.

GJL

Great to see Schweinsteiger get a start. Hope he plays well.

Don't get the the Schweinsteiger love in amongst United fans, Young would be much most deserving of a game...

Terribly dull stuff thus far..

Wigan deserve more out of the game!! Disjointed Utd

United had a couple of cracking passages of play in the first, otherwise a poor enough half.

Quote from: Boycey on January 29, 2017, 04:53:37 PM
Don't get the the Schweinsteiger love in amongst United fans, Young would be much most deserving of a game...

He was motm for me.

Quote from: stew on January 29, 2017, 05:54:36 PM

He was motm for me.

Wished he'd have been at Utd 10 years ago

Didn't know you spent your days at Carrington making such decisions! 😉

I despise the idea of any additional technology being used unless it can be used for everything. It creates a hierarchy of rules and results in even greater injustices when a team is on the wrong end of an unreviewable decision.

Take for example the case of the goal being scored from a cross that swings out of play before coming back into play. Why is a ball that can only be said to be over the goal by use of a camera be any more deserving of the use of technology than that?

I know I'm in the minority on this one but I really think technology should be kept out of the game as long as possible. Don't even get me started about GAA matches being played under different rules depending on where the game is taking place. 

The Stallion

GAA matches already are played under different rules depending on age group, geographical location, whether it's at Croke Park or not, and various other factors.

Compare what is blown up in a reserve League game versus Croke Park All Ireland final.

GJL

Quote from: GJL on January 29, 2017, 03:47:16 PM
Great to see Schweinsteiger get a start. Hope he plays well.

Assist for the break through goal and a goal himself is not bad.