Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: screenexile on December 05, 2011, 12:28:00 PM
Anyone who doesn't think Man Utd are a team in decline are deluding themselves . . . This season is almost a write off at this stage and I think you will see a bit of a slump akin to 2003-2006 and it will take another Ronaldo to get them out of it and also a lot more time and dedication to do it.

Can Fergie keep going for another 3/4 years?? I think it's a big ask but you never know. I think he should have gone out last year on somewhat of a high but then men like that can't really stop and who can blame him.

I will be happy enough to see the demise of the team though so I'm happy enough!

Why?

Quote from: NAG1 on December 05, 2011, 12:32:10 PM
Anyone who doesn't think Man Utd are a team in decline are deluding themselves . . . This season is almost a write off at this stage and I think you will see a bit of a slump akin to 2003-2006 and it will take another Ronaldo to get them out of it and also a lot more time and dedication to do it.

Can Fergie keep going for another 3/4 years?? I think it's a big ask but you never know. I think he should have gone out last year on somewhat of a high but then men like that can't really stop and who can blame him.

I will be happy enough to see the demise of the team though so I'm happy enough!

Why?

I have an extreme dislike for Alex Ferguson and the United supporters who because their 'team' win the league decide they are somehow a superior being to everyone. All because they just decided one day to follow Manchester United because they are a big club in England and have no tangible link to Manchester or the players or the football club . . . it completely baffles me!

The GAA on the other hand I have to stick my lot in with Derry, I live in the County, have played once or twice for them at underage, I have played along with and against lads currently on the team. That's a proper link to a football team. Not "Manchester United seem successful I'm gonna support them so I can feel better about myself rather than those who don't".

That's it really!

Quote from: screenexile on December 05, 2011, 01:55:25 PM

I will be happy nough to see the demise of the team though so I'm happy enough!

Why?

I have an extreme dislike for Alex Ferguson and the United supporters who because their 'team' win the league decide they are somehow a superior being to everyone. All because they just decided one day to follow Manchester United because they are a big club in England and have no tangible link to Manchester or the players or the football club . . . it completely baffles me!

The GAA on the other hand I have to stick my lot in with Derry, I live in the County, have played once or twice for them at underage, I have played along with and against lads currently on the team. That's a proper link to a football team. Not "Manchester United seem successful I'm gonna support them so I can feel better about myself rather than those who don't".

That's it really!
so have the same hatred for liverpoll/villa/leeds fans as well?

Quote from: ludermor on December 05, 2011, 02:06:11 PM

Why?

That's it really!

No . . . I don't find their supporters as blinkered/smug/annoying!

Why?

That's it really!

But going by your logic all supporting of teams who you dont have a direct link too or live in the location is wrong, regardless of whether you dislike AF slightly more than the rest.

If thats your opinion why do you choose to come into the United thread and give opinions on their players. Why does it matter to you since you didnt play with them when they were younger nor do you live in the location, so by your logic it shouldnt have effect on you either way.

Screenexile, not all United fans are like that.

And what team do you support?

Clown

Screen Exile, i'm not a United fan either, but to come on here and say their team is finished and their season is almost a write off is crazy
It happens every year people writing them off in Autumn, and in May they're champions again

Quote from: Clown on December 05, 2011, 02:26:06 PM
Screen Exile, i'm not a United fan either, but to come on here and say their team is finished and their season is almost a write off is crazy
It happens every year people writing them off in Autumn, and in May they're champions again
But you write them off enough, you are bound to get it right eventually.....

Quote from: ballinaman on December 05, 2011, 02:39:34 PM
Quote from: Clown on December 05, 2011, 02:26:06 PM
But you write them off enough, you are bound to get it right eventually.....

;D ;D

I don't mind someone supporting a team that they like and wanting them to do well. Many United fans treat it as life or death! I've seen Man U fans openly crying the time they lost the Carling Cup final and when they lost the CL to Barca. Also as I've said they have a superiority complex that nobody else is worthy of talking to them about football because they don't support Man Utd.

Don't get me wrong I am well capable of winding Liverpool and Leeds fans when they get carried away with themselves also!

Do you support any English football team screenexile? you must do surely  :-[  Arsenal, Everton, Spuds or maybe even Chelski since the days of Cascarino?

Quote from: screenexile on December 05, 2011, 02:18:31 PM
Quote from: ludermor on December 05, 2011, 02:06:11 PM

Why?

That's it really!

No . . . I don't find their supporters as blinkered/smug/annoying!
But the vast majority of their supporters started supporting them when they were successful so the your criteria for hating man Utd should apply to them as well.

Screen you sir have a serious chip on your shoulder. I would doubt if anyone on here sheds any tears about any premier league clubs and if they do they need their heads examined. I follow Utd for fun, nothing else. It does not even come close in importance to my support of Tyrone and my support of Errigal Ciaran is even higher again. Following English football clubs is for banter/craic amongst friends. Following local GAA is on another level.

Good auld Screen a broken record springs to mind. He supports Blackburn though he lost interest when they stopped challenging United in the mid 90s. Clown, it's well known in these parts that you are not a United fan you probably hate them as much as the next non-united fan but at least your not letting your heart rule your head like the Derry man above.

You should have known that comment was gonna come back and bite you in the arse screenexile! A Blackburn fan in the Shearer era!! Tim Flowers, that Scot with the big blonde head on him, Mike Newell, Tim Sherwood, Paul Warhurst, Chris Sutton and now turning your back on Samba, Robinson, Givet, the Yak, Gamst Pedersen... not following glory there then!! ha ha

Thats what makes following football such good craic, begrudgers like you that the United fans can laugh at when they win another trophy as it winds you up so much seeing fellas take enjoyment from associating themselves with a successful team.  ;)