Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: westmayo on October 18, 2007, 02:13:42 PM

Title: Gaelic Games 2 (For PS2)
Post by: westmayo on October 18, 2007, 02:13:42 PM
Was walking down the town there at lunch and the new pro eve game caught my eye in the window of gamestop. Was having a look at it when I looked down the rack where the game was and saw Gaelic Games 2 for the playstation. I didn't know there was a new version of this comming out. Having bought the first pile of crap last year has anyone any info on this new revised version.
Title: Re: Gaelic Games 2 (For PS2)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 02:28:56 PM
I see a Hurling game for the PS2 on sale at Amazon

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gaelic-Games-Hurling-2007-PS2/dp/B000TUWF9K/ref=pd_bxgy_vg_h__text_b/202-4001154-8595806
Post by: Louth Exile on October 18, 2007, 02:33:36 PM
It will simply have to be better than the first one. How could it get worse! Still won't be rushing out to buy it until I see how good it is first
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 02:35:32 PM
and a quick look at the IR Gurus website says that there is a second football game coming out - and a Hurling one

There's screenshots on their site

http://www.irgurus.com/

Football

Cover (http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/5792/f2qv2.jpg)

Game (http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/6006/f1lc0.jpg)

Hurling

Cover (http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/7871/h2wr3.jpg)

Game (http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/1759/h1wq5.jpg)
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 18, 2007, 02:38:22 PM
Title
Gaelic Games: Football 2

Publisher
Sony Computer Entertainment

Platform
PlayStation 2

Release Date
TBA

Description
Gaelic Games: Football 2 is the sequel to the bestselling Gaelic Games: Football.  With all new features and improvements, GGF2 is a while new ball game!
Features
Career mode which allows you to train and improve your team across multiple seasons
Improved graphics and weather effects
All new control system gives you ultimate control of you players
New tactics so you can set your team's behaviour
Club teams and team editing
Mission mode to replay historic matches

from IR Gurus website.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 18, 2007, 02:39:30 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 02:35:32 PM

I know I shouldn't but I got to say it......

Are there any screen shots of one of those teams pointing at the scoreboard??  ;D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 02:42:18 PM
Title
Gaelic Games: Hurling

Publisher
Sony Computer Entertainment

Platform
PlayStation 2

Release Date
Available

Description
Experience the skill, passion and excitement of Ireland's national game. Follow an action packed season of National Football League, Provincial and All Ireland Football Championships, with selection from all current county teams. Play in one of 11 photo-realistic stadia from all 4 provinces including: Croke Park, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Casement Park and Pearse Stadium. Gaelic Games: Football also features commentary from the legendary Micheal O'Muircheartaigh.
Features
Full GAA Season: Play a single game or follow a full GAA season, including the National Football League, Provincial and All Ireland Football Championships.
All Teams: Choose from all current county teams (including New York and London)
Stadia: Choose from 11 photo-realistic stadia, including Croke Park, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Casement Park and Pearse Stadium.
Commentary: Full commentary from the legendary Micheeal Ui Muircheartaigh.
Training Mode: The perfect way to learn how to play Gaelic Games: Football, training mode allows you to master the controls before playing for real.
Key Moves: Dozens of moves including soloing, hand-passing, free taking, penalties, tackling and shooting.
EyeToy Cameo: By using the "EyeToy: Cameo" you will be able to take high-resolution images of your face with the EyeToy Camera and turn out a squad containing some of your friends faces and take on the best teams in Ireland.
Team & Individual Player Tactics: Tactics allow for the gamer to select different team and player strategies.
Irish Language Option: Navigate in-game menus and manual in English or Irish.
User Controlled Replays: Users have complete control over replays with full 360 degree replay with fast forward/rewind, pause and slow motion.

All brands, logos and products are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies.
Post by: Over the Bar on October 18, 2007, 02:47:23 PM
As sh*te as Gaelic Football 1 was, if you had a few mates round with a few beers it was still a good laff. 
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 02:48:14 PM
QuoteMission mode to replay historic matches

Please let one of the tasks be the second half of the Ulster semi-final in 1995 Tyrone vs Derry
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 18, 2007, 02:48:38 PM
Will be interesting to see how the hurling turns out. Not an easy game to convert I'd imagine. I don't have a PS2 anymore anyway. Have had a 360 for the past year.

Never played the original football game but heard it was pretty bad. You'd hope they made substantial improvements to it. I heard the new AFL game is meant to be the best yet but they've had a fair few versions of that to get it right.
Post by: thejuice on October 18, 2007, 02:48:49 PM
There was very little fanfare about this. Wonder why? wouldnt mind the hurling game, tho would have to wait and here some good reports first as the original Gaelic game was brutal. Pity its not on PS3 but what of it, ill still be able to play it, any way its not developed enough to warrent a PS3 release much like the Rugby games, even the latest ones arent on PS3.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 18, 2007, 02:52:41 PM
anyone think the hurling game description sound EXACTLY like the first football game!!! :o

or is it just me?
Post by: thejuice on October 18, 2007, 03:00:29 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 02:48:14 PM
QuoteMission mode to replay historic matches

Please let one of the tasks be the second half of the Ulster semi-final in 1995 Tyrone vs Derry

It has the first half of the Meath Vs Mayo 1996 replay

Screenshot:

(http://a248.e.akamai.net/f/248/5462/2h/images.gamezone.com/screens/24/1/27/s24127_ps2_1.jpg)
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on October 18, 2007, 04:42:52 PM
The first game was good for novel value but overall it was a pretty rotten game. Hard to tell by the screenshots but they do look pretty similar to the first game...I bought the first game regardless of the poor reviews but wouldnt be so hasty this time.
Post by: Tankie on October 18, 2007, 05:44:09 PM
Both those games look shite. Also have we all not dumped our PS2 and upgraded to the Xbox 360? i didnt hook up the PS2 for Rugby 08 so no plans to do it for this!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 18, 2007, 07:44:01 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 02:35:32 PM
and a quick look at the IR Gurus website says that there is a second football game coming out - and a Hurling one

There's screenshots on their site

http://www.irgurus.com/

Football

Good too see they have one of the top teams as their offical screenshot...Is that other team Dublin  ??? ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 18, 2007, 08:25:17 PM
I have played all the AFL games and they are very similar in graphics and gameplay that Gaelic Football 1 had..In other words pretty poor..
I doubt these new releases will be any better and won't ever get good unless some comapny like EA Sports takes over the making of the game
Post by: ziggysego on October 18, 2007, 08:32:07 PM
Screen shot of the Kerry -v- Cork AI Final 2007

(http://courses.washington.edu/com546/2006/pub/vaun/steamroller_cartoon_week5.jpg)
Post by: Louth Exile on October 18, 2007, 08:39:15 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 18, 2007, 08:25:17 PM
I doubt these new releases will be any better and won't ever get good unless some comapny like EA Sports takes over the making of the game

I agree. Also, I know there are bigger fish to fry at the moment but it would have also been better to have a joint venture with the GPA so as the players image rights could have been used. I prefer scoring a goal against Meath in Pairc Tailteann when it is Ollie Mc Donnell and not just No.14
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 18, 2007, 09:32:19 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on October 18, 2007, 08:39:15 PM

I agree. Also, I know there are bigger fish to fry at the moment but it would have also been better to have a joint venture with the GPA so as the players image rights could have been used. I prefer scoring a goal against Meath in Pairc Tailteann when it is Ollie Mc Donnell and not just No.14

Reading the spec of the game it says there is a edit feature this year so i presume that means you can change the names yourself
Post by: Rav67 on October 18, 2007, 10:39:59 PM
haven't heard a thing about this but I'll have to get it, the last one was completely awful and just nothing like what the gameplay should be ie no-one marking anyone.  Don't know of anyone who held onto the game for more than a few weeks.  The lack of any names was shit too but that'll obviously stay the same. 
Post by: Louth Exile on October 18, 2007, 10:44:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 18, 2007, 09:32:19 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on October 18, 2007, 08:39:15 PM

Reading the spec of the game it says there is a edit feature this year so i presume that means you can change the names yourself

That feature was on the last one as well. I made up a louth team of my own club men (past &present)  ;D (sad, I know)
Post by: red hander on October 19, 2007, 07:54:22 PM
'Please let one of the tasks be the second half of the Ulster semi-final in 1995 Tyrone vs Derry'

:D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: corn02 on October 20, 2007, 04:40:12 PM
Out on Nov 7th. Also heard it is a massive improvement.
Post by: thejuice on November 06, 2007, 04:35:24 PM
QuoteAlso heard it is a massive improvement.

says who?

out tomorrow, might splash out on both of these in the near future
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 04:52:54 PM
Quote from: thejuice on November 06, 2007, 04:35:24 PM

says who?

Like the games that much? :o
Post by: clarshack on November 06, 2007, 05:06:01 PM
i take it that if you buy the new scaled down ps3 that these games wont work on it?
Post by: Star Spangler on November 06, 2007, 05:08:54 PM

says who?

Let us know if it's any good.  ;D
Post by: thejuice on November 06, 2007, 05:55:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 04:52:54 PM

says who?

Like the games that much? :o

Yeah, well I reckon if i give them my money eventually they might make a good one. Although they might think that we would buy any old shite they throw at us and things will never improve. But as for the last game, I traded it in after a week.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 06, 2007, 08:52:53 PM
Is it not the 9th it's being released?
Post by: Louth Exile on November 06, 2007, 09:33:03 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on November 06, 2007, 08:52:53 PM
Is it not the 9th it's being released?

Thats what I thought too
Post by: Bogball XV on November 07, 2007, 11:22:44 AM
I for one will not be parting with a penny on it - the first version was so bad it was untrue - worst thing was they kept on selling it a premium prices for at least 6 months after it was released, just to milk every last penny from parents/grandparents/well meaning older siblings who didn't know how totally shite the game was, but wanted to buy little Johnny a good gaelic playstation game.
Post by: marty88 on November 07, 2007, 02:46:35 PM
so its out this friday the 9th then?

Will it be in the likes of game, smiths up north here?
Post by: thejuice on November 07, 2007, 09:00:37 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 07, 2007, 11:26:36 AM
Developers IrGurus claim that 'Gaelic Games: Hurling' embodies the passion and excitement of the real thing.

If they can pull that off, it would be the greatest game ever! But I wont hold my breath, (or my money, i feel compelled to buy it).
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 08, 2007, 09:34:55 PM
Gamestop in Liffey Valley are selling both games as a bundle for €75 they are €49 each to buy separately.
Im like the juice i feel compelled to buy them...
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 08, 2007, 09:51:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 08, 2007, 09:34:55 PM
Gamestop in Liffey Valley are selling both games as a bundle for €75 they are €49 each to buy separately.
And be quick about it laoislad, I'm off next week and I aint leaving the couch, or putting on trousers, so if it's good I need to pick it up tomorrow!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 08, 2007, 11:30:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 08, 2007, 09:51:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 08, 2007, 09:34:55 PM
And be quick about it laoislad, I'm off next week and I aint leaving the couch, or putting on trousers, so if it's good I need to pick it up tomorrow!

For the love of God please put on some trousers... :o
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 08, 2007, 11:44:39 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 08, 2007, 11:33:35 PM
According to RTE2 the Hurling game has got the thumbs down from the players, the article will be on in the next few minutes.

Have to say the little bit of game footage they showed looked alright..A lot less blocky graphic wise  than the football game from last year
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 12:01:03 AM
The Wii would have been perfect for a hurling game,you could solo run and hit the ball using the wii remote control..Imagine the broken ornaments in the house  :D
Post by: marty88 on November 09, 2007, 02:28:41 AM
i played the hurling today, its very good. Well worth the money. Hope the football is as good
Post by: OdoSkimodo on November 09, 2007, 09:32:21 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 08, 2007, 11:33:35 PM
According to RTE2 the Hurling game has got the thumbs down from the players, the article will be on in the next few minutes.

Think that referred to an interview with that mess dessie farrell where he said that the game was worse of for not having official GPA recognition and therefore players names. In other words dessie was whinging about a pie that he wasn't able to stick his podgy finger in
Post by: his holiness nb on November 09, 2007, 09:35:53 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 12:01:03 AM
The Wii would have been perfect for a hurling game,you could solo run and hit the ball using the wii remote control..Imagine the broken ornaments in the house  :D

Dont forget to drop the remote before fighting LL, if you strike with a Wii remote its an automatic ban  ;)

Seriously let us know re the football though, its on Her Holiness' list of enlightening gifts.
Post by: maxpower on November 09, 2007, 11:04:53 AM
any opinions yet, i see its in Xtravision here so might pop down and have a look if the reviews are any way decent

Did i read you have a manager mode, how would this compare to the PC game
Post by: Bogball XV on November 09, 2007, 11:17:58 AM
Quote from: OdoSkimodo on November 09, 2007, 09:32:21 AM

Think that referred to an interview with that mess dessie farrell where he said that the game was worse of for not having official GPA recognition and therefore players names. In other words dessie was whinging about a pie that he wasn't able to stick his podgy finger in
Whilst I cannae stand the GPA, I agree that with Dessie on this one, although, that said there are a number of inter-county players who are not GPA members, perhaps they would have given up their 'image' rights for free?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 09, 2007, 11:39:24 AM
Why dont they do the Pro Evo job where they have fake names that are similar to the real player names.  I better not be looking at a team sheet with names such as no. 10, no 11 etc like the last game.  Im finding it really hard to not go out and get these games, but I will eventually, any of ye played it yet lads?
Post by: Tankie on November 09, 2007, 11:41:35 AM
the demo on RTE news lastnight looked shocking lads! i think after their first attempt which i purchased, i might just give this one a miss.
Post by: tintin25 on November 09, 2007, 03:07:52 PM
Lads, the bottom line is that this game will be complete and utter shite! Anyone who played the first Gaelic Game will know what I'm on about! Please don't be so foolish to buy this crap! As someone said before, I pity the old folk who'll prob buy it for the grandkids for xmas thinking it's an ideal pressie when really it's piss.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 09, 2007, 03:16:57 PM
Quote from: marty88 on November 09, 2007, 02:28:41 AM
i played the hurling today, its very good. Well worth the money. Hope the football is as good
That's good to hear.  Anyone try to the football game yet?  There seems to be a lot of opinion on it from people who haven't seen it!
Post by: Bogball XV on November 09, 2007, 03:31:27 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on November 09, 2007, 03:16:57 PM
Quote from: marty88 on November 09, 2007, 02:28:41 AM
That's good to hear.  Anyone try to the football game yet?  There seems to be a lot of opinion on it from people who haven't seen it!

That's because this time 2 years ago we rushed out to purchase version 1, after the novelty wore off, I'd say about 2hrs laters, after we'd figured out the controls, by the next day, we realised we had been conned - the gaa took the wrong option by going with IRgurus, Laoislad had warned us that the aussie rules games were crap, we didn't believe him, this time I'm not making the same mistake.  I will not buy either game because the first effort was so bad that anything based on that would have to be total shite.
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on November 09, 2007, 11:39:24 AM
Why dont they do the Pro Evo job where they have fake names that are similar to the real player names.  I better not be looking at a team sheet with names such as no. 10, no 11 etc like the last game.  Im finding it really hard to not go out and get these games, but I will eventually, any of ye played it yet lads?
That was really, really f**king lazy from the developers, I mean they could have made up names, Murphy, Kelly, O'Shea, O'Hara.......
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2007, 03:47:47 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on November 09, 2007, 03:07:52 PM
Lads, the bottom line is that this game will be complete and utter shite! Anyone who played the first Gaelic Game will know what I'm on about! Please don't be so foolish to buy this crap! As someone said before, I pity the old folk who'll prob buy it for the grandkids for xmas thinking it's an ideal pressie when really it's piss.

ok then boss - I won't buy it  ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 04:39:07 PM
Just in from work and i picked up both games on way home..About to give them a go now.Will report later!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 04:59:17 PM
Have to say lads my first impressions of the Hurling game are very good...
Especially when played in the Broadcast camera angle it's excellent i have to say,Controls are a bit tricky and the commentry is still fairly dull but the gameplay looks quite good,Granted i only played two games though,Offaly beat me and  i was Kilkenny so thats not too realistic  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:02:38 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 09, 2007, 05:00:22 PM
Have a go at the football game LL.

Football is only for the lads that can't Hurl  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:03:33 PM
Oh meant to add they have made up players names so it's a bit better than No.1 No.2 etc
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:14:15 PM
Lads have too say Football aint too bad either..Once again if you use the Broadcast camera angle it's almost like a Fifa game..The scoring is much harder than the last version though but that could be a good thing.The tackling has improved greatly and you can now do a diving block tackle
Dublin beat me by a point i was Laois in the last minute with a free kick that was never a free in front of the Hill so quite realistic there  ;)
I remember my first impression of the first Football game was oh god what a load of shite but i have to say this is a major improvment
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:25:05 PM
There was some goading alright and i think i saw Pillars youngfella on the pitch at the end  :D
The Hill was covered in a mysterious white substance and only filled up half way thru the first half  ;)
Post by: Louth Exile on November 09, 2007, 05:33:10 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 09, 2007, 11:17:58 AM
Quote from: OdoSkimodo on November 09, 2007, 09:32:21 AM

Whilst I cannae stand the GPA, I agree that with Dessie on this one, although, that said there are a number of inter-county players who are not GPA members, perhaps they would have given up their 'image' rights for free?

I'd be of the exact same opinion as you Bogball

Thanks for the reviews LL, thats it I'm going to buy them both myself on the way home. Was on the batter in the big smoke last night, so the young fella will be delighted when he sees me coming with them, he's mad to play the hurling one.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:33:36 PM
One little gripe..They don't have my hometown club from Durrow in either game  :'( :'(
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2007, 05:36:09 PM
they have club teams in it?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:36:45 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 09, 2007, 05:33:10 PM

I'd be of the exact same opinion as you Bogball

Thanks for the reviews LL, thats it I'm going to buy them both myself on the way home. Was on the batter in the big smoke last night, so the young fella will be delighted when he sees me coming with them, he's mad to play the hurling one.

Im impressed anyways and i'd consider meself a Playstation freak so i have played a few games in my time
Definatly a improvment on the orginal Football game with loads of new features as regards gameplay etc..
The training mode is good too only they don't have the Micko option of running laps till the cows come home  :)
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 09, 2007, 05:38:06 PM
The clubs are made up anyway, just local places in some cases, if your name isn't a place it won't be in. Hence we get in, but as Collooney. The Rossies will love the fact that Ballagh is under the Roscommon section!

Doesn't seem too bad, certainly better than Mk 1, went into Connacht Club (why win your way there?) and got flaked 1-12 to 0-0 by Castlerea, so it's realistic in that regard!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:40:09 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2007, 05:36:09 PM

Yeah every county has 6 or 7 club teams in it..
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 09, 2007, 05:44:11 PM
Can you put in custom teams? i.e. your own club team from scratch.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:52:38 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on November 09, 2007, 05:44:11 PM
Can you put in custom teams? i.e. your own club team from scratch.

yeah you can change players names and even club names and jerseys
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2007, 05:58:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:40:09 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2007, 05:36:09 PM

Yeah every county has 6 or 7 club teams in it..

Is Ardboe there in Tyrone?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 09, 2007, 06:07:33 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:03:33 PM
Oh meant to add they have made up players names so it's a bit better than No.1 No.2 etc

I don't have a PS2 anymore but can you not edit the players names if you were so inclined?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 06:13:09 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 09, 2007, 06:07:33 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 05:03:33 PM

I don't have a PS2 anymore but can you not edit the players names if you were so inclined?

You can yeah,what i meant was last game the commentry was No.1 has the ball he passes too No.2 etc now at least they have names like Murphy,Casey,Kelly etc
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 06:50:58 PM
One odd thing in the Hurling game...Laois are rated as 70 Galway only 73 Dublin 69, Wexford 72 and Kilkenny only 79.. One would imagine the gaps between Kilkenny,Wexford,Galway to Laois,Dublin etc should be bigger and surely Kilkenny should be in the high 90's
Post by: Star Spangler on November 09, 2007, 08:04:15 PM
I've played a few games on the new football game tonight too and my first impression is that it's well improved.  I like the new shooting option where you can see the goalposts at the bottom of the screen even if it's not in view on the field.  It means you can shoot from distance unlike the first game.  The way the players move into position is more realistic too.  My only complaint is that players take about 10 steps before they solo or bounce and they have the trotting style before they shoot like in Aussie Rules.  I suppose these more asthetic issues than anything else.  The Manager option is also a good addition.

And ARDBOE is on the club selection.  Unfortunately the Tats aren't though.  :-[
Post by: Tankie on November 09, 2007, 08:37:14 PM
Lads played a quick game while buying call of duty and have to ask are you boys having a laugh? Its better but still shite!
I'l play it again over the weekend and see how it goes.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2007, 08:47:39 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on November 09, 2007, 08:04:15 PM
I've played a few games on the new football game tonight too and my first impression is that it's well improved.  I like the new shooting option where you can see the goalposts at the bottom of the screen even if it's not in view on the field.  It means you can shoot from distance unlike the first game.  The way the players move into position is more realistic too.  My only complaint is that players take about 10 steps before they solo or bounce and they have the trotting style before they shoot like in Aussie Rules.  I suppose these more asthetic issues than anything else.  The Manager option is also a good addition.

And ARDBOE is on the club selection.
Unfortunately the Tats aren't though.  :-[

I'll be getting it shipped over - yahoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Star Spangler on November 09, 2007, 10:02:58 PM
The clubs play in the county colours though.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2007, 10:03:57 PM
turn that ship around  >:(
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 09, 2007, 10:07:44 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on November 09, 2007, 10:02:58 PM
The clubs play in the county colours though.
But you can edit that, and the clubs themselves (as in names). Mind you I thought purple suited Ballymote really. :P

Biggest issue would be tackling - seems to be rather difficult to pull it off right, the shooting is a lot more manageable this time.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2007, 10:20:15 PM
Is it worth £35.00stg? 
went into game this evening seen it and the hurling for 35.00 I thought I'd leave it!
Are they having a laugh?

pro evo was £25.00! 
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2007, 10:45:57 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2007, 10:20:15 PM
Is it worth £35.00stg? 
went into game this evening seen it and the hurling for 35.00 I thought I'd leave it!
Are they having a laugh?

pro evo was £25.00! 

Seems dear alright POG.As for the games..I would definatly recommend the Hurling game i find it very enjoyable,While not perfect and not of the same standard as Pro Evo or Fifa it is a decent first effort and very playable
The Football game is also much improved and as with the Hurling game its not perfect but it is a great improvement on the first game..
If you just want to buy one of them i would tell you to get the Hurling one
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 10, 2007, 01:05:47 AM
Reports sound favourable enough then? Bought the first Football game just for novelty value and enjoyed it as such but would need to be sure the new one is a genuine improvement before I spend another £30 on it. Similarly the Hurling one is tempting and I know a few shinty fans who would buy it given its as close as they'll get to a PS2 game for their sport....but only if its not a crock of scheidt ???
Post by: tintin25 on November 10, 2007, 10:12:07 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2007, 03:47:47 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on November 09, 2007, 03:07:52 PM

ok then boss - I won't buy it  ::)

Couldn't care less what you do. Just giving my opinion.
Post by: Louth Exile on November 10, 2007, 02:49:49 PM
OK, I have played both games now. The football one is an improvement but still not great, there is significant improvement with the scoring, this addition though is what really makes the hurling game worth a shot. Points are very scoreable in the hurling and this for me makes it a better game than the football.

Nice to have the clubs in, even if they have just put down names of towns and villages. Nice to see that they have Dromiskin in it, but the Darver lads from the other side of the parish won't like that  :D. Its a bit daft, of all the towns listed in Meath, they don't have Navan and some of the Louth teams are intermediate and junior sides  ::)
Post by: Louth Exile on November 11, 2007, 09:03:57 PM
Spent a fair few hours playing the PS2 over the weekend and I have to say I give both games the thumbs up  :)
If you really hated the last one, you are probably still going to hate this one, but the football is definitely a major improvement. Because you can edit the club teams it didn't take me long to change the names of the ten teams in Louth and give them the right colours, changed the names of the players on my own club as well (childish I know) Its a bit of craic and doing a training session is worthwhile for helping you to get to grips with it. As well as vast improvments on the scoring of points, it is much easier to catch a ball and also to play long ball down the field. I wasn't convinced initially, but after a few games you can definitely see the improvments. Maybe I'm just easily pleased!
Post by: Bogball XV on November 11, 2007, 09:19:31 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 11, 2007, 09:03:57 PM
Spent a fair few hours playing the PS2 over the weekend and I have to say I give both games the thumbs up  :)
If you really hated the last one, you are probably still going to hate this one, but the football is definitely a major improvement. Because you can edit the club teams it didn't take me long to change the names of the ten teams in Louth and give them the right colours, changed the names of the players on my own club as well (childish I know) Its a bit of craic and doing a training session is worthwhile for helping you to get to grips with it. As well as vast improvments on the scoring of points, it is much easier to catch a ball and also to play long ball down the field. I wasn't convinced initially, but after a few games you can definitely see the improvments. Maybe I'm just easily pleased!
Can the changes be saved?  If I remember rightly, last time they couldn't really be.
I've played a few games over at a mates, it's better alright, but.....   I don't know lads, i hate the shooting personally, goals are fine and you get get some clinkers, but i don't think the new point shooting mechanism is up to much.
Why doesn't some bright spark go to Konami and offer them a few euro for the rights to Pro Evo 1 or something, take that and adapt it into football - I can't see myself parting with money for this, but it's grand for a few games now and then - definitely a big improvement, maybe that was always their game, give us the worst shite possible first time out, anything will be an improvement?
Post by: Louth Exile on November 11, 2007, 09:43:41 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 11, 2007, 09:17:15 PM
Make sure you Dromiskin dont win the County Championship, they`ll go on the rip for a month afterwards  :D
If any Darver lads look at this board they'd be glad to know that I renamed us.
Its strange I did win the Louth championship, sneaked past the Dreadnots, Mattock and the Blues, tore the Pats a new one in the final.
Met the Meath champions in the first round of the leinster and boys seemed to be out on their feet, I just couldn't understand it  :D
Post by: marty88 on November 11, 2007, 09:56:24 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2007, 10:20:15 PM
Is it worth £35.00stg? 
Are they having a laugh?

pro evo was £25.00! 

Were the hell are u buying it?
£26 each in Smiths or £50 for the two!
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 11, 2007, 11:45:51 PM
Yep, a clear improvement, though still not in the league of FIFA or Pro Evo (according to common opinion, but I've never been keen on it), but it's not frustrating like Mk. 1, and the hurling is a decent first effort too. Was able to deliver Sam to Sligo with the dream outcome - yictory over Mayo in the AIF!

The clubs addition is good, even though they didn't put too much thought into the actual clubs themselves, but as it can be changed that doesn't matter too much.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 13, 2007, 05:53:05 PM
Have to wait till christmas as its on Mrs Santas list, can anyone do me the favour of posting the lists of clubs from Meath and Dublin available on this game?
Post by: the milkman on November 13, 2007, 06:00:33 PM
Have they got the players names in this one, or is it still numbers?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 13, 2007, 06:06:36 PM
Quote from: the milkman on November 13, 2007, 06:00:33 PM
Have they got the players names in this one, or is it still numbers?

Players names but not the real players names..
My name actually appears in the Carlow football team and the Tipp Hurling team!
Post by: Bogball XV on November 13, 2007, 08:37:17 PM
How you finding the games now LL?  The novelty wore off yet?
Can you save your progression, for example can Laois take the longed for 5 in a row, or is it still a on a one season only basis?  Do players improve as the season/their career progresses?
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on November 13, 2007, 08:42:32 PM
Test
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 13, 2007, 08:54:14 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 13, 2007, 08:37:17 PM
How you finding the games now LL?  The novelty wore off yet?
Can you save your progression, for example can Laois take the longed for 5 in a row, or is it still a on a one season only basis?  Do players improve as the season/their career progresses?

There is  manager mode which i haven't played yet and i would assume your players should get better as the season progresses..
Yeah you can save your progress too..
I think the games are grand.I wasn't expecting much too be honest and they aren't Pro Evo or Fifa standard but they are very playable and the football game isn't as frustrating as the last version..
I really like the Hurling game very good for a first effort
Post by: Bogball XV on November 13, 2007, 09:20:51 PM
So if I had only €35 to spend, which?  Bearing in mind I'd be from football land really.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 13, 2007, 09:31:01 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 13, 2007, 09:20:51 PM
So if I had only €35 to spend, which?  Bearing in mind I'd be from football land really.

Well if you were from the Moon(or Dublin 4 :P ) and had no idea of Football or Hurling I would say go for the Hurling game,but then again I was rared on Hurling where im from so maybe im being influnced by that but i do think the Hurling Playstation game is a better and more fun game to play
Post by: Louth Exile on November 13, 2007, 09:52:12 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 13, 2007, 05:53:05 PM
Have to wait till christmas as its on Mrs Santas list, can anyone do me the favour of posting the lists of clubs from Meath and Dublin available on this game?
There are ten clubs for each county, off the top of my head some of the Meath ones are Drumree  ??? Rathoath  ??? Trim, Slane  ???, Athboy  ??? Donboyne (I think) of course Navan being the biggest town in the county and having two of the best Senior teams in the county in it doesn't feature  ???
Its all immaterial if you ask me, I spent about twenty minutes (thats all it took) change the names of the all the club teams in Louth to actual senior teams (well one of them is intermediate now actually  :'() and giving them their proper colours. The only way to go with it, as you seem to get a fair degree of similar jerseys if you leave it as is.

While I will admit that the hurling is a better game, given that I am from big ball country, if I could only keep one it would actually have to be the football
Post by: Bogball XV on November 13, 2007, 10:01:10 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 13, 2007, 09:52:12 PM
While I will admit that the hurling is a better game, given that I am from big ball country, if I could only keep one it would actually have to be the football
Feck it, i'll get the hurling, my mate has the football, so I'll nick it off him, or maybe even swap when I'm sick of it!
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 14, 2007, 12:26:30 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 13, 2007, 09:52:12 PM
Its all immaterial if you ask me, I spent about twenty minutes (thats all it took) change the names of the all the club teams in Louth to actual senior teams (well one of them is intermediate now actually  :'() and giving them their proper colours. The only way to go with it, as you seem to get a fair degree of similar jerseys if you leave it as is.
Were ye relegated? After being champions last year? That's some fall if so.

Doesn't take long to change it about alright, but it seems you can only change so many clubs, altered the lot in Sligo, Mayo and a few Galway and Ros clubs, so that revenge for Kent Park '05 could be secured. :)
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 14, 2007, 10:11:33 AM
Lads the hurling game is very good.  I bought the double pack but haven't played the football one yet.  The one problem is the goalkeepers are shite.  Also the game is a bit too easy.  I'm doing the manager mode at the moment just because you can do more than one season with that.  I'm Galway and beat Offaly 3-17 to 2-14 but was brought back down to earth by Cork as they beat me 4-17 to 2-17.  But I feel I'll have to put it up to "senior" difficulty because I need the challenge.  Once I win the All-Ireland with Galway I might try to get Warickishire up to Liam McCarthy cup level.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 14, 2007, 10:34:38 AM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on November 14, 2007, 10:11:33 AM
Lads the hurling game is very good.  I bought the double pack but haven't played the football one yet.  The one problem is the goalkeepers are shite.  Also the game is a bit too easy.  I'm doing the manager mode at the moment just because you can do more than one season with that.  I'm Galway and beat Offaly 3-17 to 2-14 but was brought back down to earth by Cork as they beat me 4-17 to 2-17.  But I feel I'll have to put it up to "senior" difficulty because I need the challenge.  Once I win the All-Ireland with Galway I might try to get Warickishire up to Liam McCarthy cup level.
do you get to play in the manager mode?
Post by: DMarsden on November 14, 2007, 10:45:12 AM

You boys are all gamers of sorts so someone might be able to advise me... i have an xbox 360 and want to play online. i have internet in the house. is there some sort of connection i need to get online? can it be done wireless as the net connection is the other end of the house? is there anything else i need?
Post by: imtommygunn on November 14, 2007, 11:18:08 AM
Xbox 360 wireless doesn't come as standard. You'd need to buy a "bridge" I think it's called. You can get the online - I think they're 50 odd quid or so(stg not yoyos...).

After that you should be fine. You might need to open some ports but don't worry about that until you've the wireless sorted as it may not be a problem.

If you're close enough to your wireless router then just get some ethernet cable.

After that just buy a subscription and Bob's yer uncle.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 14, 2007, 01:11:56 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 14, 2007, 10:34:38 AM
do you get to play in the manager mode?

Ya you do.
Post by: Doire abú on November 15, 2007, 01:43:49 AM
Is Ballinderry (Derry) in her?
Post by: Bogball XV on November 15, 2007, 10:13:45 AM
Quote from: Doire abú on November 15, 2007, 01:43:49 AM
Is Ballinderry (Derry) in her?

they are - the glen boys might not be too happy though, they're known as 'Garvagh'!!!
Post by: corn02 on November 15, 2007, 08:25:51 PM
Rented it out last weekend. A big improvement but still not good enough to buy for me. The running, passing and steps are all obviously from the Aussie Rules game.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 17, 2007, 07:15:01 PM
What camera angle do people prefer playing on?  I've been playing the hurling and I reckon the High End angle is the best.  Hurling keepers are really bad, it's a major drawback.  Also, why use the same club names for football and hurling?  FFS, how much effort would it have required to sort these out properly?  Why am I not given the option of scoring directly from a '65 - maybe I am, but it's early days yet.
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 17, 2007, 09:39:55 PM
One little quirk I noticed is that when you win a final, you have the bit with the celebrations with the cup (not much though), showing the team posing with the cup in front of the Hill. Yet when Kilkenny beat Dublin in the Leinster final, where were they lined up? Yep, at the Canal End. Should try out Mayo to see what happens, but it's probably impossible to an AIF with them anyway. :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 17, 2007, 09:42:50 PM
Laois are reigning Football and Hurling All Ireland Champions...And Durrow are All Ireland club champs in Hurling and Football too   ;D ;D
Post by: Louth Exile on November 17, 2007, 09:58:05 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 17, 2007, 07:15:01 PM
What camera angle do people prefer playing on?  I've been playing the hurling and I reckon the High End angle is the best.  Hurling keepers are really bad, it's a major drawback.  Also, why use the same club names for football and hurling?  FFS, how much effort would it have required to sort these out properly?  Why am I not given the option of scoring directly from a '65 - maybe I am, but it's early days yet.

I am using the broadcast camera myself.

The squad numbers rather than 1-15 in the club teams is annoying, but I have to admit, I am a bit sad, as I completely renamed and numbered my home club team. Also renamed the Louth team, if you type in a name that is already in the system such as O'Donoghue or Smith, Micheal will call it out in commentary. I started Louth off on a full season last night and got the nice surprise that we were still a 1B team and not Div 3
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 17, 2007, 10:05:08 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 17, 2007, 09:58:05 PM
The squad numbers rather than 1-15 in the club teams is annoying, but I have to admit, I am a bit sad, as I completely renamed and numbered my home club team.
I wouldn't bother doing that, not because it's sad as such, but becuase we have a rather small squad of about 18-19!

Interesting re the names called out, might see if that happens here.
Post by: Rav67 on November 27, 2007, 04:03:07 PM
got the 2-game package in a few days ago and I'm impressed, both very playable though I've been on the football game a lot more.  There's a big step up from junior to intermediate level, especially if you're competing against the computer in some of the championships.  Is there any way you can change the control settings at all?  And is it possible to change club players names?  I've only been able to change county players names.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 27, 2007, 04:06:41 PM
I got the hurling, played a wee bit there last weekend, in many ways it's not a bad game, but the goalkeepers are so bad that they ruin it imo - outfield players can catch the ball, but not the goalkeepers seemingly - are the football keepers the same? 
Post by: Louth Exile on November 27, 2007, 04:37:06 PM
There should be no problem with changing club players name.

The keepers are a lot better in the football alright, definitely tougher to score goals in the football, goals are a bit to handy in the hurling game alright.
Post by: Rav67 on November 27, 2007, 04:41:58 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 27, 2007, 04:06:41 PM
I got the hurling, played a wee bit there last weekend, in many ways it's not a bad game, but the goalkeepers are so bad that they ruin it imo - outfield players can catch the ball, but not the goalkeepers seemingly - are the football keepers the same? 

Hurling keepers are a joke but football keepers are deadly in the game!  I've only played at junior level in the hurling though- maybe try playing intermediate to see if the goalies improve.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 27, 2007, 04:46:19 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on November 27, 2007, 04:41:58 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 27, 2007, 04:06:41 PM

Hurling keepers are a joke but football keepers are deadly in the game!  I've only played at junior level in the hurling though- maybe try playing intermediate to see if the goalies improve.
been playing intermediate, not overly different from junior, will move up to senior - it's grand when you're playing a mate, but playing the computer it's just too easy.  Another problem is that I find the ball very hard to see (it could be age), especially in rain where it's basically hit, hope and watch the umpires.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 28, 2007, 07:28:48 PM
I completes my first intermediate season with Derry, won the Ring and and Div 2, promoted to Div 1.  Then played a few of the NFL games, won them and simulated the last few league games, so stayed up but didn't win the league.  So, here I am all set for an historic rattle at the Liam McCarthy (going to surpass 2000, when Derry really should have won it for real ;)), and what happens?  Well, I'll f**king tell you what happened, I was playing in the f**king Ring cup again (no offence Christy), is it not possible to get promoted to Liam??  Incredibly stupid if so.
Also, some of my players have blue stars around them when in possession instead of blue circles, anyone know why?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 28, 2007, 07:57:22 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 28, 2007, 07:28:48 PM
I completes my first intermediate season with Derry, won the Ring and and Div 2, promoted to Div 1.  Then played a few of the NFL games, won them and simulated the last few league games, so stayed up but didn't win the league.  So, here I am all set for an historic rattle at the Liam McCarthy (going to surpass 2000, when Derry really should have won it for real ;)), and what happens?  Well, I'll f**king tell you what happened, I was playing in the f**king Ring cup again (no offence Christy), is it not possible to get promoted to Liam??  Incredibly stupid if so.
Also, some of my players have blue stars around them when in possession instead of blue circles, anyone know why?

Yes Bogball, I noticed that to.  Very annoying indeed.  That put an end to my dreams too!

Also I'm curious as well about those blue stars.
Post by: gander on November 29, 2007, 11:01:14 AM
Can you play club championships in both the hurling and football games?
Post by: Louth Exile on November 29, 2007, 11:06:13 AM
Quote from: gander on November 29, 2007, 11:01:14 AM

Yes
Post by: his holiness nb on November 29, 2007, 11:07:39 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 29, 2007, 11:06:13 AM

Yes
did I hear right that the clubs are the exact same in both games?

Post by: Louth Exile on November 29, 2007, 11:29:43 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 29, 2007, 11:07:39 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 29, 2007, 11:06:13 AM

Yes
did I hear right that the clubs are the exact same in both games?

Yes again
Post by: his holiness nb on November 29, 2007, 11:38:50 AM
Great stuff so I can play hurling with my club, even though we never had a hurling team!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 08:12:52 PM
Where are yous buying these games lads?

Game are still selling them for £35.00 each which is f**king ridiculous!

Im in the north, anyone know how much that Gamestop (or whatever you call them) are selling them for?
Post by: David McKeown on November 29, 2007, 08:46:17 PM
25 each
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 08:56:37 PM
Gamestop?
I'll have to make a trip there tomorrow.

What armagh clubs is on the football game?
Post by: Bogball XV on November 29, 2007, 10:55:58 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 08:12:52 PM
Where are yous buying these games lads?

Game are still selling them for £35.00 each which is f**king ridiculous!

Im in the north, anyone know how much that Gamestop (or whatever you call them) are selling them for?
Game in Dublin had them for €33 each
Post by: corn02 on November 29, 2007, 10:56:50 PM
Yes Xtravision is now 59.99 for the two.

Eh off the top of my head Pints - Cross, Killeavy Mullaghbawn Silverbridge (I am near sure) Mullabrack cant think of anymore. Dromintee not in it.
Post by: David McKeown on November 30, 2007, 01:30:25 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 29, 2007, 08:50:25 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on November 29, 2007, 08:46:17 PM
25 each
WHERE?

Gamestop in Cornmarket I picked them up on Monday as a Christmas present for my nephes I dont think it was a special offer
Post by: Rav67 on November 30, 2007, 02:55:25 PM
I ordered the 2-game package for £50 (+£6 delivery to England, not sure if its cheaper at home ) from the gaastore.com
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 30, 2007, 07:12:41 PM
They were £30.00 each in Gamestop.

I got the two game package for £54.99 in HMV.

Still £35.00 each in game.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 30, 2007, 09:47:07 PM
Am I missing something, how do you score a goal? (in the football)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 30, 2007, 10:59:37 PM
Nevermind, got it
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 01, 2007, 11:32:19 AM
Spent hours last night playing the football.  I give it 6/10. 
It's not Pro evolution, it's not Fifa but I was pleasantly surprised and found it quite enjoyable. 
The rules are a bit dodgy as you can "charge" someone from behind.  I'd a player sent off when for jumping up for the ball though. 
The steps are also dodgy, you're not allowed to sprint for more than 4 steps but the player still might run for 10 or 12 steps. 
The scoring is so much better - it's actually easier to score points than goals in this one and the final score usually reflects something like you'd get in a real match.  I love the way when you have the ball the yellow arrows will appear to let you know where your players are off screen - this is excellent, I've never seen it in other sports games and it's amazing the makers of FIFA and Pro Evolution never thought of it!   The hurling one will get a run out later.
Post by: Louth Exile on December 02, 2007, 02:40:39 PM
The most annoying rule discrepancy in it is the square ball rule, if your player just goes into the square its a free against you, even if he doesn't touch the ball!!! There have been some rules improvements, such as free from where the ball lands.

I had the brother in law down at the weekend (a Dub soccer head) and he gave me a bloody pasting  :'(
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 02, 2007, 02:45:01 PM
QuoteThe most annoying rule discrepancy in it is the square ball rule, if your player just goes into the square its a free against you, even if he doesn't touch the ball!!!
Yes!
Post by: David McKeown on December 30, 2007, 12:38:56 AM
Just started playing the game there tonight and im quite impressed.  One question is it possible to save the names and if so has anyone came accross a list of the right names for all the teams anywhere.  If not ill have to start my own I suppose might be difficult to find the club teams mind.
Post by: Rav67 on December 30, 2007, 04:53:55 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 30, 2007, 12:38:56 AM
Just started playing the game there tonight and im quite impressed.  One question is it possible to save the names and if so has anyone came accross a list of the right names for all the teams anywhere.  If not ill have to start my own I suppose might be difficult to find the club teams mind.

Think you just have to do it yourself manually.  I just changed my own club's strip and changed some players in the team, and done a few players in the Derry team (name and appearance).  You can't change anyone's ability but you can change their preferred position.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 25, 2008, 09:53:17 AM
Was playing the football recently, but I can't figure out how to get entry into the qualifier series?  What's the story?  I tried it in both manager and championship mode and each time I'm knocked out of the championship, that's it, it tells me it's going to simulate the rest of the games as I can no longer participate in the championship.  I have tried as both d1 and d2 sides, at least d2 sides get to play in the TM cup.  Is this yet another flaw or am I too stupid to change the settings/options?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 05, 2008, 10:42:14 PM
Is there a new version coming out his year?
A next gen one would be great especially a hurling game
Post by: Bogball XV on October 06, 2008, 12:00:17 AM
i wouldn't let them con me again - it'd be better if they took it away from those aussie cnuts who have it now because they just don't get it, imo they're happy enough to fire out a new version every so often knowing that we'll all buy it anyway.  What the aussies don't seem to understand is that we are to used to playing decent sports sims, fifa, pro evo etc.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 06, 2008, 12:03:22 AM
Aye wouldn't it be great if EA Sports got their hands on it and made a game with the engine they use for FIFA or Madden
Post by: Louth Exile on October 06, 2008, 12:03:25 PM
And they brought the GPA into the mix so as players names could be used as well!!