GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Sam2011 on April 05, 2012, 02:41:52 PM

Title: Mayo V Kerry- 8/4/12
Post by: Sam2011 on April 05, 2012, 02:41:52 PM
Looking forward to this game. I hope Kerry send out a decent enough team so they can give our lads a good test.
I would like to see a similar enough team from us again. Maybe move Barry Moran out to midfield and drop Geraghty (although hes done nothing wrong so far). I'd like to see Freeman or Doherty in the Full Forward line instead of Barry Moran because we've been lacking the goal threat that we did last year and both of those lads need to rediscover their form.
Another thing I'd like to see us do is play to the end regardless if we are winning or loosing. Against the Dubs we only scored 4 points (2 from play) in the last 34Min's of the game and in the Cork game we were out scored 8-2 in the last 20Min's. I know that we are behind other teams in terms of fitness due to us not starting the championship until the 24th of June but I hope its solved by then.
Title: Re: Mayo V Kerry- 8/4/12
Post by: moysider on April 05, 2012, 04:36:56 PM

Will Cafferkey get straight back in for this one?

We appear to be getting a settled look about us. A lot earlier than usual.

Keegan, Higgins, Vaughan, Cafferkey look nailed down starters.

On current form Boyle and Keane too. The return of Cunniffe and Trevor and Richie Feeney would give options. Shane McHale there also.

Midfield is Aidan and whoever is going best. Barry Moran would be the one if he can get back to where he was in county final.

There s one place in the forwards as things stand. Dillon, Andy, McLoughlin, Mort and Conroy have places to lose.

That s how I see it at the moment but things evolve depending on results etc. Btw is there any Setanta game this weekend or do all games throw-in on Sunday at the same time? Is this one tevevised?

Post by: Tubberman on April 05, 2012, 05:04:26 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2012, 04:36:56 PM

Is this one tevevised?

No, you'll have to make do with mid-west if you can't make the journey:

GAA Beo 14:00 Live coverage of Cork and Dublin from the 7th and final round of the Allianz Football League. Deferred coverage of Galway and Kildare. Presented by Micheal Ó Domhnaill with commentary by Brian Tyers.
Post by: Sam2011 on April 05, 2012, 05:22:13 PM
Not sure about Cafferkey. I would like to see McHale start ahead of him though to give him more experience.
I would agree with the team you have named and the bench is looking strong enough too.
Think the League Show on RTE 2 might have highlights of the game.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 05, 2012, 08:20:27 PM
Quote from: Sam2011 on April 05, 2012, 05:22:13 PM
Not sure about Cafferkey. I would like to see McHale start ahead of him though to give him more experience.
I would agree with the team you have named and the bench is looking strong enough too.

Can't wait for League Sunday. ::)
Post by: Tubberman on April 05, 2012, 08:53:51 PM

Caff has to still be first choice fullback at the moment, but I was very impressed with McHale against the Dubs. I'd like to see him get another run.
Could possibly be FB line of Keane, Caff, McHale with half backs of Boyle/Keegan, Vaughan, Higgins.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 05, 2012, 09:14:49 PM
Regardless of team selection, this one will tell us where we are at. Which I suppose if we lose hopefully we can rectify the wrongs before championship, if we manage to get a win which I'm not expecting it would give the team an extra week of games and could only boost morale within the camp. It's an ideal game for us, because despite Kerry being through to the league semi-finals, they are still the team to beat in this league and fair play to Armagh for managing to do what all others have failed to do in this division.

I must say I was impressed with Caff against Cork, but putting my own saffron and blue tinted glasses I'd love to see McHale get a bit of game time on Sunday. I'm not sure if he will though, but he hasn't let me down (yet) on either of his two outings. I'd leave the same half-back line in situ for the rest of the year to be honest. If the Feeney brothers are good enough or if any of the three get too complacent, then I'd draft Richie Feeney in. I cannot for the life of me understand how Gardiner is getting preference to Richie Feeney, ach sin scéal eile.

I must say I was impressed with all of the forwards the last day. They tracked back, worked hard and got on a lot of breaking ball. They also scored points from all types of angles which was great to see, but it wasn't against Kerry and it was only the last day of March.

If the team work as hard as they did lst Sunday then we should have a close game. Hopefully Aiden O'Shea and whoever partners him in midfield can keep up the effort for the next game. Six games in as many weeks may take it's toll though on them. I hope I'm wrong on the last point though.
Post by: moysider on April 05, 2012, 09:23:03 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 05, 2012, 05:04:26 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2012, 04:36:56 PM

Is this one tevevised?

No, you'll have to make do with mid-west if you can't make the journey:

GAA Beo 14:00 Live coverage of Cork and Dublin from the 7th and final round of the Allianz Football League. Deferred coverage of Galway and Kildare. Presented by Micheal Ó Domhnaill with commentary by Brian Tyers.

Ah ffs. Only chance of gettin on the telly is if against the Dubs. As mid-west is worse than unlistenable ( I really could not face another game of that shite) it s a chance to bring the kids on that long promised fishing trip. Anyway a win would be nice. A semi final would be another test match before the champiponship.
Post by: moysider on April 05, 2012, 09:42:02 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 05, 2012, 08:53:51 PM

Caff has to still be first choice fullback at the moment, but I was very impressed with McHale against the Dubs. I'd like to see him get another run.
Could possibly be FB line of Keane, Caff, McHale with half backs of Boyle/Keegan, Vaughan, Higgins.

Remember McHale was nowhere near fullback against Dublin. He was playing 5 as much as anything - his old minor position. So it is not as simple as McHale or Caff for 3.

I think McHale would do a good job at full back though on certain types of players. He might struggle on smaller faster corner men and runners in half forward line. How would he do on likes of Kevin McLoughlin or Conor Mort? But on a big slower target man he could be the business.

Keegan has been a big plus for me. I think eventually he could be a great 6 but his ability to put the brakes on McManamon was one of the performances of our league campaign for me. Sunday I would like to see him given the responsibility of marking Darren or Gooch if he s around.

I too was thinking that maybe finally, some day soon, just maybe we might be able to play Higgins at 5,6 or 7.

Say full-back line of Keegan, McHale and Cafferkey. And half-back line of Vaughan, Higgins and Boyle. You d have to play at least one sweeper though because those 3 would be driving on all the time! That s a line up for a pitch opening in early June.
Post by: outthecountry on April 05, 2012, 09:51:48 PM
Kerry team is as follows....don't know half of them......Kelly, Enright, Young, McGuire, Crowley, Brosnan, Lyne, Maher and Donaghy, O'Callaghan, BJ Keane, Buckley, Cooper Paddy Curtin and O'Leary
Post by: moysider on April 06, 2012, 12:23:18 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 05, 2012, 09:14:49 PM
Regardless of team selection, this one will tell us where we are at. Which I suppose if we lose hopefully we can rectify the wrongs before championship, if we manage to get a win which I'm not expecting it would give the team an extra week of games and could only boost morale within the camp. It's an ideal game for us, because despite Kerry being through to the league semi-finals, they are still the team to beat in this league and fair play to Armagh for managing to do what all others have failed to do in this division.

I must say I was impressed with Caff against Cork, but putting my own saffron and blue tinted glasses I'd love to see McHale get a bit of game time on Sunday. I'm not sure if he will though, but he hasn't let me down (yet) on either of his two outings. I'd leave the same half-back line in situ for the rest of the year to be honest. If the Feeney brothers are good enough or if any of the three get too complacent, then I'd draft Richie Feeney in. I cannot for the life of me understand how Gardiner is getting preference to Richie Feeney, ach sin scéal eile.

I must say I was impressed with all of the forwards the last day. They tracked back, worked hard and got on a lot of breaking ball. They also scored points from all types of angles which was great to see, but it wasn't against Kerry and it was only the last day of March.

If the team work as hard as they did lst Sunday then we should have a close game. Hopefully Aiden O'Shea and whoever partners him in midfield can keep up the effort for the next game. Six games in as many weeks may take it's toll though on them. I hope I'm wrong on the last point though.

I don t want to pick a fight with you Deelin but selection is everything. If a fella cant pick players he s wasting his time with a team. Like s of Micko and Boylan always picked players in the right place - and in the right year. Mostly our managers never did and that is the most reason we are beating ourselves up still.

You were in Ballyshannon and in CastlebarX2, I know. Selection was more important than attitude and workrate ,heavy training, fellas drinking and any amunt of old clichés, for turning about our fortune in the league about.  I ve posted enough about it already. Yeah and Aidan O Sé available again.

We have done something last couple of weeks that I ve never seen before. We did match-ups on opposition better players and did things like target opp. discipline. We played a decoy at fullfward ( I suspect he was not fit to play midfield) and the corner men flourish. Mayo usedn t put this thought into AI finals ffs! A welcome development.

Kerry are already in semis. If we can compete with Donaghy and Maher around  midfield and get forward ball and stuff we could make a semi and League players are playing themselves into the championship which is something that is also a welcome development. Hopefully the winter/summer team scenario is a thing of the past. I would like to see a situation where likes of Richie F, Trevor, Cuniffe, a few midfielders, and forwards like O Connor and Freeman will have to burst themselves to start/make a contribution this summer.

Post by: Lar Naparka on April 06, 2012, 09:58:27 AM
The thing that strikes me most about Mayo's involvement in the present league is the big drop off in interest amongst the fans on this board. I suspect it's the same as well with Mayo followers elsewhere.
Some old reliable are conspicuous by their absence and others have cut back drastically on their previous output—a bit like Mickey Noonan with the government coffers.
With regard to the Kerry game I'd have expected at least half dozen pages by now. But there are only four committed Mayo fans in before me and that's out of a total of more than 60 that were active last year and the game is nearly upon us.
I dunno.
Maybe I'm failing to read the signs and complete and utter disaster is awaiting us at the next game. ;D
I don't think so but I'm still intrigued at the low level of response all the same.
Post by: blast05 on April 06, 2012, 10:54:29 AM
Well I'm still alive and interested anyway !!!  and disgusted that it's not on TV cos a trip down with wife and kids for the weekend was on the cards until I thought "flip that, it'll be on TV, I'll go down later in the year"! ...
No time to post comments...... as kid number #2 pulls at my legs to 'to go outside and kick ball'
Post by: mannix on April 06, 2012, 11:34:00 AM
I reckon mayo will be fairly close in this one, Kerry already qualified and all that. Someone mentioned goals, dead right, a goal or two would make things a lot easier against Kerry and the likes, and they always seem to want goals against us to soften us up. Doherty should be played for that alone, we should be aiming for goal a lot more since we have the players that can get them, and we wont kick 20 points every game.
Best of luck to them ,some turn around if we win after the donegal episode.
Post by: muppet on April 06, 2012, 11:36:21 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 06, 2012, 09:58:27 AM
The thing that strikes me most about Mayo's involvement in the present league is the big drop off in interest amongst the fans on this board. I suspect it's the same as well with Mayo followers elsewhere.
Some old reliable are conspicuous by their absence and others have cut back drastically on their previous output—a bit like Mickey Noonan with the government coffers.
With regard to the Kerry game I'd have expected at least half dozen pages by now. But there are only four committed Mayo fans in before me and that's out of a total of more than 60 that were active last year and the game is nearly upon us.
I dunno.
Maybe I'm failing to read the signs and complete and utter disaster is awaiting us at the next game. ;D
I don't think so but I'm still intrigued at the low level of response all the same.

I see this as a good sign. Normally after thumping the AI champions we would be booking hotels for AFTER the Final in Sept. Then, as we saw against Donegal, a loss caused despair beyond belief and calls for various careers to end and heads to roll. A bit of calm wouldn't go amiss in Mayo.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 06, 2012, 11:43:41 AM
If ever a psychiatric illness could sum up a set of football fans then surely bi-polar would be wrapped in the green and red.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2012, 02:27:19 PM
Thing is, Lar, people I've been talking to reckon Dublin didn't want to win. They reckon why Mayo won so handily the last day was down to Dublin's 'sure let's give the league a miss this year lads' attitude. And to be honest, we still won't be any the wiser if Mayo did actually manage to beat Kerry on Sunday, it would be all down to 'sure Kerry qualified anyway' type of stuff. It does my head in trying to put positive spin on things that I've inclined to keep stum about it.
Post by: mannix on April 06, 2012, 05:12:25 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 06, 2012, 11:43:41 AM
If ever a psychiatric illness could sum up a set of football fans then surely bi-polar would be wrapped in the green and red.

i am sure the one hundred and twenty years tyrone werent winning much had an effect on the tyrone minds too, especially when they were close to the top in the mid nineties.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 06, 2012, 06:06:56 PM
Lar the Mayo gaa blog seems to be getting more and more posts after every game so it's maybe reflective of a move to there rather than a loss of interest in Mayo gaa. 10000 fans in McHale Park last week suggests the interest is still there anyway.

Teams being announced late on Saturday night before games doesn't leave too much to talk about pre-match either.
Post by: western exile on April 06, 2012, 06:23:56 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 06, 2012, 06:06:56 PM
Lar the Mayo gaa blog seems to be getting more and more posts after every game so it's maybe reflective of a move to there rather than a loss of interest in Mayo gaa. 10000 fans in McHale Park last week suggests the interest is still there anyway.

Teams being announced late on Saturday night before games doesn't leave too much to talk about pre-match either.
Free entry at the turnstile might have been a contributing factor to the attendance
Post by: omagh_gael on April 06, 2012, 07:50:23 PM
Too right mannix. l think we'd a right touch of post traumatic stress disorder following Sean McLaughlin's disallowed point in '95 and Meaths onslaught of GBH in '96!
Post by: Tubberman on April 06, 2012, 08:51:05 PM
Quote from: western exile on April 06, 2012, 06:23:56 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 06, 2012, 06:06:56 PM

Free entry at the turnstile might have been a contributing factor to the attendance

Not a huge amount. There was a bigger attendance for the abandoned match.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 06, 2012, 09:18:02 PM
Quote from: outthecountry on April 05, 2012, 09:51:48 PM
Kerry team is as follows....don't know half of them......Kelly, Enright, Young, McGuire, Crowley, Brosnan, Lyne, Maher and Donaghy, O'Callaghan, BJ Keane, Buckley, Cooper Paddy Curtin and O'Leary
With the Kerry line up Mayo to win is a good bet.
Post by: moysider on April 06, 2012, 09:50:45 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 06, 2012, 09:18:02 PM
Quote from: outthecountry on April 05, 2012, 09:51:48 PM
With the Kerry line up Mayo to win is a good bet.

I can t remember such a new Kerry team playing in league or championship - ever!

But check out some of the subs!!

Subs: Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin), Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Paul Galvin (Finuge), Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore), Declan O'Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromada), Bryan Sheehan (St. Mary's), Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar), James O'Donoghue (Legion), Michael Geaney (Daingean Uí Chúis), Daithí Casey (Dr. Crokes), Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr. Crokes), Donnchadha Walsh (Cromane).

Could be worse. Tom O Sullivan and Tomás still in hibernation.

Post by: Sam2011 on April 06, 2012, 11:10:27 PM
1 David Clarke - Ballina Stephenites
17 Eoghan Reilly - Castlebar Mitchels
3 Ger Cafferkey - Ballina Stephenites
4 Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
5 Lee Keegan - Westport
6 Donal Vaughan - Ballinrobe
7 Colm Boyle - Davitts
8 Jason Gibbons - Ballintubber
9 Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
10 Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
11 Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen
24 Alan Dillon - Ballintubber
13 Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber
14 Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
15 Michael Conroy - Davitts

16 Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
18 Kevin Keane - Westport
19 Shane McHale - Knockmore
20 Peadar Gardiner - Crossmolina
21 Patrick Harte - Ballina Stephenites
22 Enda Varley - Garrymore
23 Evan Regan - Ballina Stephenites
12 Aidan Campbell - Swinford
25 Barry Moran - Castlebar Mitchels
27 Conor Mortimer - Parnells (Dublin)
28 Danny Geraghty - Ballintubber

Once again four changes.
Post by: Zulu on April 06, 2012, 11:58:07 PM
Does anyone want to make the semi finals?? I see the dubs have picked a complete joke team and now Mayo are given lads who have seen little action do far a start.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 07, 2012, 12:06:52 AM
Quote from: Zulu on April 06, 2012, 11:58:07 PM
Does anyone want to make the semi finals?? I see the dubs have picked a complete joke team and now Mayo are given lads who have seen little action do far a start.

No-one wants to make the semi-finals Zulu. No-one ever wants to make the semi-finals. All anyone wants to do is not get relegated, or get promoted if you're not in D1.

Páidí Ó Sé was on the Seo Spoirt on TG4 tonight talking about how it took their final League game of 2000 for Kerry to realise that they had to play Moynihan at fullback. That's what the League is for - seeing how fellas get on in different formations before they have to face the live ammo of the Championship.
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2012, 12:17:59 AM

Does n't look like we do anyway! What would be wrong with playing likes of McHale and Keane again? Should be grateful that Conroy and Boyle are not gone too.

It s one thing for likes of Kerry, Tyrone, Cork and Dubs to experiment with selection but they re messing about with an AI winning team.  We re putting out a disposable team every year.

We re building a team but we keep dismantling good new bits as we go along. Yet lads that have done a lot like Andy, Dillon and Higgins are wheeled out every time. McHale and Keane need these games to develop.  If we want to see new stuff give us likes of Walsh and Regan for a while.
Post by: Zulu on April 07, 2012, 12:19:39 AM
And that sums up the weakness of our season perfectly ICC, too many glorified challenge matches. Mind you I would have thought Mayo would have liked at least one extra competitive game if they could get it.
Post by: Zulu on April 07, 2012, 12:23:34 AM
Good point Moysider, JH knows what Andy et al can do so why not give the new lads as much game time as possible? If Mayo get beaten and don't make the semi finals I'm not sure the Mayo management will actually know where many of their players stand at IC level or what their first 15 should be.
Post by: Sam2011 on April 07, 2012, 12:42:14 AM
Was suprised with the amount of changes James has made. He might have done it to throw Jack a bit as I think everyone was expecting the same team again. It seems that Reilly and Dillon were late inclusions going by the numbers they'll be wearing. Also Freeman is not named in the panel at all, is he injured or dropped?
Not to sure about Reilly, wasn't to impressed with him in the abandoned Dublin game but hes worth another shot.
Think Gibbons deserves his chance in midfield as everyone else has got a go.
James seemed to have coped on to our lack of goal scoring threat but not sure if Doherty is a full forward. Not tall enough for a target man, prefer to see him on one of the corners.
Glad to see O'Connor get another run to see if he can get back to himself again although Mort might feel hard done by.
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2012, 12:44:00 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 07, 2012, 12:06:52 AM

No-one wants to make the semi-finals Zulu. No-one ever wants to make the semi-finals. All anyone wants to do is not get relegated, or get promoted if you're not in D1.

Páidí Ó Sé was on the Seo Spoirt on TG4 tonight talking about how it took their final League game of 2000 for Kerry to realise that they had to play Moynihan at fullback. That's what the League is for - seeing how fellas get on in different formations before they have to face the live ammo of the Championship.

I agree with you about the league Iolar and I m sure Paudí was still making a case for the Pony at 3. But I don t agree with everything that comes out of the great man's mouth.  Of course Moynihan was an excellent fb but Paudi never needed to play him there. Yet one of the best things I saw in Croke Park was Moynihan discovering an extra leg to cut out a high ball that was goin to land in Padraig Joyce s lap behind. Genius. But it was a waste in the bigger picture. Paudi would have won more AIs if he went with Michael McCarty or a young Tommy Griffin at 3 and play Moynihan at 5 or 6 where he would kill  teams. Y know I think Moynihan and Dara played midfield v Mayo in 96. He could play anywhere. I think he has an unbelievable score from a colleges game back in the day. There was no need to panic and play him full back - just because he could.

Jack O Connor knew the value of McCarty and Griffin ( 2 of the top fullbacks in last 20 years) and also knew the best place for Moynihan was where he could take the game on. Paudi put Maurice Fitzgerald out to grass too early too. Great player Paudi but I wonder if he s into a bit of revisionism and regrets about his legacy?
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2012, 12:58:41 AM
Quote from: Sam2011 on April 07, 2012, 12:42:14 AM
Was suprised with the amount of changes James has made. He might have done it to throw Jack a bit as I think everyone was expecting the same team again. It seems that Reilly and Dillon were late inclusions going by the numbers they'll be wearing. Also Freeman is not named in the panel at all, is he injured or dropped?
Not to sure about Reilly, wasn't to impressed with him in the abandoned Dublin game but hes worth another shot.
Think Gibbons deserves his chance in midfield as everyone else has got a go.
James seemed to have coped on to our lack of goal scoring threat but not sure if Doherty is a full forward. Not tall enough for a target man, prefer to see him on one of the corners.
Glad to see O'Connor get another run to see if he can get back to himself again although Mort might feel hard done by.

With respect Sam Jack O Connor would n t give a shite what we put out. He s in the semi s and is checking out young fellas while the heavy artilleryare bristling on the bench. He knows most of his preferred 15 already  for Summer- so do you and I. Most have multiple AI medals.

There is bound to be a few Mayo lads carrying injuries so wouldn t read too much into it. But if Keane and McHale are fit they should start again. It s one thing for other counties to be experimenting but we re dropping lads that were doing well for others that have got time and struggle every time.
Post by: galwayman on April 07, 2012, 07:55:09 AM
Nothing wrong with trying lads out I suppose but I would have thought in the backs especially ye would be looking to get it as settled as possible.
I thought Keane at number 2 was immense against the Dubs.surprised he hasn't been retained unless he has a knock.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 07, 2012, 09:56:07 AM
I think James was damned either way with this one. Pick the same 15 and then some lads like Gibbons don't get a chance to play all league, mess about the starting 15 and get accused of chopping and changing all the time. I find Horan's approach to selections refreshing, especially compared to O'Mahony, he is not afraid to try stuff out. This is the first game where we're not fighting to stay in the division.

There is also an argument in favour of picking Dillon, Andy and Aidan O'Shea every week - we know these lads are nailed on for summer and it's fairer to try out the others alongside known starters so they can be judged in relation to players they would be playing with in the summer if picked.

One thing I would like to have seen though is someone else, maybe Higgins, at 6 because I don't know who we turn to if anything happens to Vaughan.
Post by: western exile on April 07, 2012, 10:09:26 AM
I am surprised at the dramatic reaction to the team selection.  There is really only one surprise to me, and that is the inclusion of Eoghan O'Reilly instead of either Keane or McHale.
Cafferkey was always going to return to fullback.  It was always going to be either Gibbons or Geraghty to partner AOS in midfield.  And Barry Moran has had many opportunities to impress and has failed to take them and cannot be surprised at being replaced by one of the many forwards legitimately claiming a starting place.
So although Keane and McHale might be disappointed that both are not starting, Mayo have the best defence in division One without playing the same six in every game. So a bit of calm and belief is required.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 07, 2012, 10:38:53 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 07, 2012, 12:44:00 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 07, 2012, 12:06:52 AM

I agree with you about the league Iolar and I m sure Paudí was still making a case for the Pony at 3. But I don t agree with everything that comes out of the great man's mouth.  Of course Moynihan was an excellent fb but Paudi never needed to play him there. Yet one of the best things I saw in Croke Park was Moynihan discovering an extra leg to cut out a high ball that was goin to land in Padraig Joyce s lap behind. Genius. But it was a waste in the bigger picture. Paudi would have won more AIs if he went with Michael McCarty or a young Tommy Griffin at 3 and play Moynihan at 5 or 6 where he would kill  teams. Y know I think Moynihan and Dara played midfield v Mayo in 96. He could play anywhere. I think he has an unbelievable score from a colleges game back in the day. There was no need to panic and play him full back - just because he could.

Jack O Connor knew the value of McCarty and Griffin ( 2 of the top fullbacks in last 20 years) and also knew the best place for Moynihan was where he could take the game on. Paudi put Maurice Fitzgerald out to grass too early too. Great player Paudi but I wonder if he s into a bit of revisionism and regrets about his legacy?

That's all fair enough Moysider. I'm only quoting Páidí to make the point that looking at players in different positions is more important than winning in the League, and that makes the League unique as a competition.

Páidí is all the time spinning, of course, but I doubt he regrets a damn thing, to be honest. Doubt isn't in a nature. Outstanding player obviously - he was midfield with Jacko in that 1977 game, wasn't he? - but I think he did ok as a manager.

People talk about Moynihan and Muiris Mac Gearailt alright and they should have won more but when you think about where they had been for the ten years before Páidí took the reins - I'd cut him some slack.

People think they have a right to a tradition. They don't. Traditions can die, and by the time people notice they're in trouble it's too late and it's the long, slow decline. Cavan is the most obvious example of all. Páidí stopped that happening in Kerry. People think that Kerry's return was inevitable, because Kerry are Kerry. I'm not so sure. I don't believe in divine rights. The backdoor has helped them enormously since - who knows what would have happened Ógie's or Mickey Ned's teams if they got a second bite? - but I'd give Páidí credit as a manager of Kerry. Not one of their all-time great managers sure, but he did his bit in passing the torch.
Post by: muppet on April 07, 2012, 11:28:14 AM
I wonder is this simply a rotation exercise based probably on a decision taken a few weeks ago?

Because of the abandoned game we ended up playing a lot of weekends in a row. We have players like Mort and Andy who are coming back from serious injury who need to be minded. Then we have lads who will have picked up knocks over the last few weeks and we have lads who are in the last chance saloon and rather than showing them the door he is giving them the chance to play themselves on or off the squad.

Mathematically we can still be relegated and if that happens this strategy will appear foolish. Otherwise it will have been a successful league if you consider the credible additions from last year: Conroy, Keane, McHale & Boyle while Aiden O'Sé appears to have kicked on, Barry Moran is a real possibility at midfield and Lee Keegan looks like a quality half back.

No need for doom and gloom but don't be getting too excited. Keep the Donegal game in the back of the mind all year (as the Dubs will keep Castlebar in the back of their minds).
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2012, 01:54:47 PM

Personally I have no wish to see Mayo win the league. The last time didn t do us much good and the we could do without any little fuss it would cause.

I doubt JH has any interest in the league either and the Dublin win was mission accomplished tbh. Another decent performance against Kerry and the whole campaign could be stored away nicely. A few new players found and a few valuable lessons learded, particularly in Ballyshannon.

While my instinct would be to try and get the points v Kerry (hence my misgivings about this selection) and have a go at a semi, in the cold light of day I can see how it would be more expedient to bow out now. Not that we won t try to win tomorrow, it s just that it looks like we wont be too pushed if we dont.

With our championship so far away and the league having such poor credibility anymore it could be more damaging to lose a semi final or final to a team still emerging. Winning or losing wouldn t mean much to likes of Dublin, Kerry or Cork on the other hand.
Post by: Zulu on April 07, 2012, 02:15:34 PM
I don't understand that thinking tbh. It's the same as saying "we've survived boys now lets pull the blanket over our heads and hope when the sun comes back out" we'll be alright. You're right, Kerry, Cork and Dublin don't need the league because they've won All Irelands (after good league campaigns) but Mayo haven't. Why not go out and win tomorrow and see where it takes you especially with such a long break to championship. After the Donegal game many were saying this fella or that fella weren't up to it, now after a win against Dublin there are nailed on starters left, right and centre? I'm not saying a bit of of experimentation isn't still needed, like Gibbons at midfield, since there is no outstanding midfield partner for O'Se but why not introduce either Cillian or Doherty to start and not both? You can always make further changes as the game progresses and if you win have, at least, another 70 minutes against good opposition to judge lads again.

The difference for me is most football fans could now name the Dublin, Cork and Kerry teams that would line out in this years All Ireland final, should they get there, and be pretty accurate, barring unforeseen injuries. I'd doubt too many Mayo fans could pick their All Ireland team with the same confidence. So I think Mayo are risking losing a good opportunity here.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 07, 2012, 03:23:08 PM
I think the experience of the 2010 league final where a promising looking season was undone in one afternoon and the confidence going into the championship was shattered before we kicked a ball is a factor here for supporters. Of course we wouldn't have challenged in 2010 anyway - the management setup was awful, but the negative side of the league knockout stages is still fresh in people's minds and makes us wary of putting ourselves out there too early in the year this time around.

Personally I think we should go for it. We have a youngish team who need all the experience they can get and it's a long time until the Connacht semi final. A trimming against Derry didn't do us any harm in 96 and winning the league wasn't the cause of our problems in 2001.

Of course we may have no choice in the end anyway - we could lose and still make the semis.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 07, 2012, 03:53:12 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 07, 2012, 02:15:34 PM
I don't understand that thinking tbh. It's the same as saying "we've survived boys now lets pull the blanket over our heads and hope when the sun comes back out" we'll be alright. You're right, Kerry, Cork and Dublin don't need the league because they've won All Irelands (after good league campaigns) but Mayo haven't. Why not go out and win tomorrow and see where it takes you especially with such a long break to championship. After the Donegal game many were saying this fella or that fella weren't up to it, now after a win against Dublin there are nailed on starters left, right and centre? I'm not saying a bit of of experimentation isn't still needed, like Gibbons at midfield, since there is no outstanding midfield partner for O'Se but why not introduce either Cillian or Doherty to start and not both? You can always make further changes as the game progresses and if you win have, at least, another 70 minutes against good opposition to judge lads again.

The difference for me is most football fans could now name the Dublin, Cork and Kerry teams that would line out in this years All Ireland final, should they get there, and be pretty accurate, barring unforeseen injuries. I'd doubt too many Mayo fans could pick their All Ireland team with the same confidence. So I think Mayo are risking losing a good opportunity here.

They would be my own beliefs down to a tee. It hasn't done Brian Cody or Kilkenny hurling any harm either, win all before and behind you. I'm sure the players who are starting won't want to go out and lose either. It's the last chance saloon as far as Reilly is concerned, have another nightmare and he's out of contention imo. I can't see the same scenario panning out this year with the regards to 2010. I couldn't see JH letting that happen. So let's try to win this game tomorrow lads. If we qualify it will be an extra game before heading into the championship as well.
Post by: muppet on April 07, 2012, 04:20:55 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 07, 2012, 03:53:12 PM

They would be my own beliefs down to a tee. It hasn't done Brian Cody or Kilkenny hurling any harm either, win all before and behind you. I'm sure the players who are starting won't want to go out and lose either. It's the last chance saloon as far as Reilly is concerned, have another nightmare and he's out of contention imo. I can't see the same scenario panning out this year with the regards to 2010. I couldn't see JH letting that happen. So let's try to win this game tomorrow lads. If we qualify it will be an extra game before heading into the championship as well.

We have damaged lots of players in recent years playing them at full back when they are not even club full backs. Reilly played full back against the All-Ireland champions and certainly was struggling but to be fair to him he has a shot now at 2, in a proper full back line. I would agree with those who thins Keane should be given every available minute as I think he is a great long term prospect and I have been a fan since he was a minor.
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2012, 05:51:45 PM

I m just trying to second guess management s thinking in this but obviously I don t know what is going on. Just trying to read the signs. I like to see them go for it tbh and see what happens. I don t think we should be afraid of a beating like 2010 or anything like that. That was coming and how it was a shock to anybody is beyond me. The team that played the last 2 league games won t take a pasting by anybody and who knows we could consolidate more with a bit of tweaking here and there.

The bit in bold. Two fellas went after that. Both had been nailed down starters until then (unbelievably) and probably still be only for the now fortunate experience in Ballyshannon. If we had performed v Donegal we might still be waiting for Boyle and Conroy and the new dynamic that they have brought. I doubt that though. A blind man could see that they would improve thing no end.

Very few personnel changes were necessary to turn things around. But the dynamic changed considerably and it wasn t down to increased workrate like management seemed to suggest.

At the end of the day I would only have a problem with the quality of 2 players on the side named. And another is way off form for some reason. But as we saw in Donegal, a few below par performances can plunge the whole performance into a tailspin.
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2012, 06:42:21 PM
Seein as they couldn t be bothered posting here unless they re playing Tyrone, here is a flavour of what they re at on their own forum. Emphasis is mine.

Of course the team selection is a puzzle, only those involved know the 'inside the camp' details. My take is that JackO is pitching them equally with Mayo, as best he can. A tight game gives greater intensity so you find out how new lads respond (v react) under pressure. Mayo play a nice brand of football and both teams bring out the best in each other so it could be a competitive game if the weather permits. I suppose the quality bench is 'the kicker' if we fall behind and a few of them would turn it around handy enough if need be.It is very encouraging to see so many new lads making their presence felt and that is key to winning Sam; of c we are all very loyal to the stalwarts and everybody wants the best team on the field. Is this year a Vintage Crop of new blood? If the blanket defense raises it's ugly head then it is fresh legs all the way. See JackO's job ain't that simple either and he has lots of uncertainty to contend with. Anyway great to be back on here with you all and here's to No 37! « Last Edit: Yesterday at 1:10am by K Man at Ballythefireside »

Read more: http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=4253&page=3#ixzz1rNRtvQ16

Class! Loads more gems where that came from.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 07, 2012, 07:58:30 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 07, 2012, 06:42:21 PM
Seein as they couldn t be bothered posting here unless they re playing Tyrone, here is a flavour of what they re at on their own forum. Emphasis is mine.

Of course the team selection is a puzzle, only those involved know the 'inside the camp' details. My take is that JackO is pitching them equally with Mayo, as best he can. A tight game gives greater intensity so you find out how new lads respond (v react) under pressure. Mayo play a nice brand of football and both teams bring out the best in each other so it could be a competitive game if the weather permits. I suppose the quality bench is 'the kicker' if we fall behind and a few of them would turn it around handy enough if need be.It is very encouraging to see so many new lads making their presence felt and that is key to winning Sam; of c we are all very loyal to the stalwarts and everybody wants the best team on the field. Is this year a Vintage Crop of new blood? If the blanket defense raises it's ugly head then it is fresh legs all the way. See JackO's job ain't that simple either and he has lots of uncertainty to contend with. Anyway great to be back on here with you all and here's to No 37! « Last Edit: Yesterday at 1:10am by K Man at Ballythefireside »

Read more: http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=4253&page=3#ixzz1rNRtvQ16

Class! Loads more gems where that came from.

Good man Moysider! That's the way to smoke 'em out!
Post by: mannix on April 07, 2012, 09:25:55 PM
we can have no complaints here about kerry, they trashed us last august when it counted. A Mayo win tomorrow means very little in the championship, though the extra games are no harm either, especially if kerry and co field really strong teams to win a semi or final.
Post by: Sam2011 on April 07, 2012, 09:55:09 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 07, 2012, 03:23:08 PM
I think the experience of the 2010 league final where a promising looking season was undone in one afternoon and the confidence going into the championship was shattered before we kicked a ball is a factor here for supporters. Of course we wouldn't have challenged in 2010 anyway - the management setup was awful, but the negative side of the league knockout stages is still fresh in people's minds and makes us wary of putting ourselves out there too early in the year this time around.

Personally I think we should go for it. We have a youngish team who need all the experience they can get and it's a long time until the Connacht semi final. A trimming against Derry didn't do us any harm in 96 and winning the league wasn't the cause of our problems in 2001.

Of course we may have no choice in the end anyway - we could lose and still make the semis.

Agree with what Cosmo has said here. We have a new management and a lot of new faces on the team since the league final in 2010 so I don't see why we should fear a league final. We have to stop looking back at past trimmings we've got and look to the future because this is a whole different set up to the previous one. It has been proven in the past that teams who fair well in the league continue their form into the championship. And as Cosmo has said we've a young team and they need to get used of playing in Croke Park on the big days.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 08, 2012, 10:01:23 AM
As the League enters the closing stages today, I can't help feeling that it has been the most unusual one I can recall.
For one thing, Mayo enters today's game not knowing if we are going down, going through to the knockouts or staying where we are.
I also feel that James H is no nearer finalising his first championship fifteen than he was before the FBD began.
I'm not slagging the man; I'm just stating a fact.
Sure, he knows considerably more about his players and his prospects than he did as the year began.  Furthermore, I would imagine that he knows already the bulk of those he's planning to use when the campaign begins but does he know where he is going to employ most of them. In other words, is there a semblance of a settled side to be seen?
I would suggest otherwise.

In this respect James differs from Jacko and Pat, not to mention Geezer and Mickey and, to tell the truth, a good deal more of his peers who have pretty settled formations as they prepare for the summer ahead. I'm pretty sanguine about our chances of making it to the podium on the Hogan Stand come late September. I guess at least one of the gentlemen above is going to pee on our parade.
We had a damn good result the last day out. No doubt about that. But it was as unexpected as it was welcome.
Now James re-jigs the entire formation without any discernable purpose in mind.
I appreciate that he wants to give all  squad members a chance to prove their worth and that a fair degree of chopping and changing has been necessary since the competition began but is it wise to make such sweeping changes in the final league game after such an impressive display in the penultimate one?
I presume there are good reasons for this but to my way of thinking, reasons will always come second to results.
Good luck to our lads today but we will be left wondering what benefits, if any, the result today will bring to us.
Post by: Bod Mor on April 08, 2012, 12:36:59 PM
On a very serious note:

Does anyone know if this link really is showing the match today:
http://digg.com/newsbar/Sports/watch_free_kerry_v_mayo_live_allianz_football_div1_2012_game_streaming_tv_link (http://digg.com/newsbar/Sports/watch_free_kerry_v_mayo_live_allianz_football_div1_2012_game_streaming_tv_link)

Also, at the launch of the new Mayo jersey yesterday, does anyone know what the new Mayo away jersey looks like? They might have to wear it today?

My first post in ages, fierce demanding I am!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 01:54:51 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on April 08, 2012, 12:36:59 PM
On a very serious note:

http://digg.com/newsbar/Sports/watch_free_kerry_v_mayo_live_allianz_football_div1_2012_game_streaming_tv_link (http://digg.com/newsbar/Sports/watch_free_kerry_v_mayo_live_allianz_football_div1_2012_game_streaming_tv_link)

Also, at the launch of the new Mayo jersey yesterday, does anyone know what the new Mayo away jersey looks like? They might have to wear it today?

(http://mayogaablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/New-Mayo-jersey-2012-300x3001.jpg)
Post by: moysider on April 08, 2012, 02:19:56 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on April 08, 2012, 12:36:59 PM
On a very serious note:

Having no luck with that link?

Ah well, at least we have Kerry Radio and Weeshie Fogarty. Always a treat.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 02:48:11 PM
Cooper skins Higgins

Mayo 0.03
Kerry 0.02
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 02:50:24 PM
16 mins

Kerry 1.03
Mayo 0.03

Kerry on top

edt. No Goal, ball picked up off the ground.

Kerry 0.03
Mayo 0.03
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 02:51:07 PM
goal disallowed.0.03 each
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 02:55:57 PM
kerry 0.03  mayo 1.06 Docherty goal
Post by: moysider on April 08, 2012, 02:57:34 PM
Weeshie ravin about Andy Moran. Jason Doherty doin well it sounds like. That s great to hear.

Clarkie nails another 45! well done.

Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:00:05 PM
jeez moysider i am surprised you are not listening to the comprehensive coverage on mad west :)  1.08 to 0.03
Post by: Blowitupref on April 08, 2012, 03:04:09 PM
Kerry picking a patched up line up is backfiring do they care? probably not.
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:07:09 PM
kerry back in it   1.08 to 0.06
Post by: moysider on April 08, 2012, 03:10:27 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:00:05 PM
jeez moysider i am surprised you are not listening to the comprehensive coverage on mad west :)  1.08 to 0.03

I d rather have my fingernails pulled out. Kerry have come right back into it 1-8 to 7.
Post by: moysider on April 08, 2012, 03:28:43 PM

According to Billie (Ó Sé) and Ambrose, Gooch, Curtin and O Leary have the 'easy' beatin of their men when they get the ball. Anybody know the match-ups.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 03:29:37 PM
Darran O'Sulllivan & Paul Galvin on.

Early Mayo point, Mayo 1.09, Kerry 0.08
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 03:30:59 PM
Cillian O'Connor

Mayo 1.10
Kerry 0.08

Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:31:40 PM
Higgins is on the gooch and i think reilly is on curtain
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 03:32:14 PM
Sounds like we are cleaning up in the middle.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 03:32:46 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:31:40 PM
Higgins is on the gooch and i think reilly is on curtain

Ya Gooch cleaned Higgins once or twice.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 03:36:34 PM
Gibbons to Dillon, Mayo point.

Marc O'Se replaces Brosnan.

Keegan and Galvin digs at each other.

Keegan second yellow card, Mayo down to 14 men and a Kerry free & pointed.

Conor Mortimer about to come on.

Gibbons to Andy Moran, Mayo point.
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:38:32 PM
lee keegan with 2 yellows.mayo ahead by 0'06.Kevin keane and the mort on for mayo .dec o sull on for kerry
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:45:06 PM
peno for kerry scored by Sheehan .1.12 to 1.10
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:48:16 PM
evan regan on for c.oconnor. kerry denied another peno
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 03:48:45 PM
From the sound of it Crowley is doing some damage now.
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 03:50:35 PM
kerry well on top and only 1 point down.15 to go.Hard to see Mayo holding out as kerry have all the big guns on and mayo down to 14
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 08, 2012, 04:00:07 PM
Shane McHale for Doherty.
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 04:04:50 PM
1.12 to 1.12 each .sin e
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 08, 2012, 04:12:32 PM
According to Radio Kerry, Mayo play Kerry again next week in semi final.
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 04:20:09 PM
league semi finals next sun.kerry v mayo  cork v down
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 08, 2012, 04:24:30 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 08, 2012, 03:04:09 PM
Kerry picking a patched up line up is backfiring do they care? probably not.

Must be great being from Kerry. If they're winning its because they're great, if they're losing its because they're not trying.

Some defensive performance from an under strength Mayo to hold out for a draw in Tralee with 14 men. Kerry threw the best they had on and couldn't get the win they clearly wanted.

Big ask to do it all again next week but it's an extra game ahead of the championship and the early signs this season are mainly positive.

Post by: moysider on April 08, 2012, 04:27:53 PM
Venue? There wouldn t be 10,000 in Croke Park for a double header. Or anywhere.

Let the poorer seeded teams have home advantage. There d bit a bit of a crowd then and I m sure Cork and Kerry fans couldn t care less anyway  ;).
Post by: maigheo on April 08, 2012, 04:44:13 PM
venue not confirmed yet.Listening to James Horan on mad west and sounds very dissappointed with a draw.It will be interesting to see next weeks selection as newcomers Docerty and Gibbons seemed to play well .
Post by: REDCOL on April 08, 2012, 08:19:34 PM
Just home from Tralee, Aidan O Se was immense in the first half. Our Half forward line were very good all through especially Andy. Conroy was poor, Jason looked very good in the first half. Keith was in trouble for the first time this year with gooch. When Kerry brought on the havy artillery in the second half we were under real pressure. Young Regan too light for Senior yet lost an amount of ball when he came on, if Varley came on we would of held out. Gibbons was pretty good in the air.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 08, 2012, 08:34:11 PM
Confirmed for 2pm next Sun at HQ lads..we're on after yiz at 4
Post by: mannix on April 08, 2012, 08:49:22 PM
Well done Mayo, nervy enough stuff for a league game. I was sweating when Kerry got the equalizer that the keeper would drive it out to them for the winner. Kerry Just have some real class players, they know how to do it.
Post by: mlcollins on April 10, 2012, 03:28:48 PM
Well it should be an interesting match.I believe both teams will benefit and learn more about themselves as a result of these two matches,Mayo have introduced a physicality and intensity to their game which will ask a few questions of kerry re: personnel and positioning of players,it is well documented that placing seamus moynihan in the fullback position all those years was only decided upon on their last league game that year,the main areas for kerry to sort out are where to play donaghy,on the 40 or back in at full forward although i think a full forward line of curtin,declan o' sullivan and gooch would be frightening.Midfield is sorted once maher comes back and scanlon returns from injury.Kerry have numerous options in the half back line especially with thomas returning in the future,personally i think a half back line of thomas and crowly on the wings and mark in the centre would be dynamic,however more than likely mark will be required in our only troubled line the fullback line meaning that brosnan or mcguire will compete for the halfback position with brosnan winning out and then there is the fullback line They should persevere with enright in the corner,  young at fullback and more than likely mark in the other corner.
Post by: ballinaman on April 11, 2012, 10:38:50 AM
Here we go again....2 yellows for Keegan so he should be good to start again. Hopefully Boyle has recovered from sickness of last weekend. Keane to replace O'Reilly as well i'd say.

Team are flying out to Portugal for a weeks training on Sunday evening.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 11, 2012, 11:51:39 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 11, 2012, 10:38:50 AM
Here we go again....2 yellows for Keegan so he should be good to start again. Hopefully Boyle has recovered from sickness of last weekend. Keane to replace O'Reilly as well i'd say.

Huh?
Is the knockout stage a different competition to the round robin section?
I thought a red card meant Keegan would have to miss the next two competitive games, regardless of their nature.
Post by: ballinaman on April 11, 2012, 12:02:40 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 11, 2012, 11:51:39 AM

Huh?
I thought a red card meant Keegan would have to miss the next two competitive games, regardless of their nature.
Not 100%, can anyone confirm?
Post by: Tubberman on April 11, 2012, 12:10:07 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 11, 2012, 12:02:40 PM

Huh?

You don't miss any games for 2 yellows, only for straight red. So Keegan will be available again for Sunday.

I think I'd go for McHale before Keane. I haven't seen a lot of McHale but he really impressed me against Dublin and he has more pace than Keane. On a big wide pitch like Croker, Keane could be in bother. 
Post by: ballinaman on April 11, 2012, 12:29:29 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 11, 2012, 12:10:07 PM

Huh?

You don't miss any games for 2 yellows, only for straight red. So Keegan will be available again for Sunday.

I think I'd go for McHale before Keane. I haven't seen a lot of McHale but he really impressed me against Dublin and he has more pace than Keane. On a big wide pitch like Croker, Keane could be in bother.
True, need to keep tabs on O'Leary this time around whoever picks him up, caused us serious bother on the last two occassions.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 11, 2012, 01:40:40 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 11, 2012, 12:29:29 PM

Huh?

True, need to keep tabs on O'Leary this time around whoever picks him up, caused us serious bother on the last two occassions.

O'Leary? He was fairly meh last Sunday in my eyes. Certainly far less dangerous than Curtin/Cooper were anyway,not sure why you'd single him out. He mightn't even start from what I'm hearing.
Post by: Sam2011 on April 11, 2012, 02:20:32 PM
Well done to the lads for holding out for a draw the last day with 14 men for most of the second half but really we should have killed the game out when we went 8 points up.
Great for the lads to get another game before their long break until championship.
Although I said before I'm not a fan of Barry Moran being full forward it seemed to work against the Dubs so I'd like to see him play there again the next day as Kerry don't really have any big full back.
I'd like to see Caff mark Cooper for a change as we've seen what Higgins can do with him.
Also I think Harte deserves one last run in midfield with O'Shea.
The team I'd like to see the next day is:
Clarke McHale Cafferkey Higgins Keegan Vaughan Boyle O'Shea Harte McLoughlin A. Moran Dillon Mort B. Moran Doherty
Post by: moysider on April 11, 2012, 04:00:42 PM

Huh?

I d have thought Keane the pacier of the the two. Even Knockmore posters might agree that the thing that would bother them agout McHale is the way he is geared. I thought that against Dubs he was the most back that had ropey moments with Cullen while Keane was brilliant on McManamon. And Keane has had league games in the corner. Anyway, sure doctors differ and patients die.

On league form and successes the team would be shaping up something like this. Clarkey, Keane, Caff, Higgins, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, O Sé, O Sé(if fit again) Kevin Mac, Andy, Dillon, Conoreen, Doherty, Conroy.

I would consider those in green to be pretty much nailed on at this stage. Not saying it would be my preferred team or anything - just the way it seems to be going. And a lot could change yet by championship.

I can t see Harte being in contention for midfield on evidence so far and I can t see him being matchfit for some time yet. if he was a runner he would have got a quarter of an hour the last day when the starting midfield were begining to flag.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 11, 2012, 09:06:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 11, 2012, 04:00:42 PM

I d have thought Keane the pacier of the the two. Even Knockmore posters might agree that the thing that would bother them agout McHale is the way he is geared. I thought that against Dubs he was the most back that had ropey moments with Cullen while Keane was brilliant on McManamon. And Keane has had league games in the corner. Anyway, sure doctors differ and patients die.

On league form and successes the team would be shaping up something like this. Clarkey, Keane, Caff, Higgins, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, O Sé, O Sé(if fit again) Kevin Mac, Andy, Dillon, Conoreen, Doherty, Conroy.

I would consider those in green to be pretty much nailed on at this stage. Not saying it would be my preferred team or anything - just the way it seems to be going. And a lot could change yet by championship.

I can t see Harte being in contention for midfield on evidence so far and I can t see him being matchfit for some time yet. if he was a runner he would have got a quarter of an hour the last day when the starting midfield were begining to flag.

Any sign or hope of Ronan Mc coming back this year? If he was able to get to anything near his best a partnership of him and Aidan O'Shea in midfield would be up there with the best around. Would love to see that combination at 8 & 9, even if it was only for a year.

Judging by last year there will be a bit of chopping and changing to come between now and June. Trevors Howley and Mortimer came in late last year and were first choice at various points in the championship. Although dropping McLoughlin for Howley was clearly a mistake.

I still find it hard to look past Mort and O'Connor for the corner forward positions this year, any two out of them, Varley, Conroy or Doherty could do a good job and everyone would have their favourites out of that lot but the experience of Mort together with the talent of Cillian would be my pick at this stage - especially with the likely increase in our free converion rate from having them both out there.

Full Forward is wide open as well. What is the story with Kirby - is he out long term? Wouldn't be shocked to see us revert to Andy at 14 at some point during the year, he did some amount of damage there last year in the big games. Obviously that means losing him at 11, its a similar problem to what we used to have with McDonald, clearly the best man for both positions but you could only have him in one.
Post by: rosnarun on April 11, 2012, 11:56:59 PM
o connor is far from a shoo in at the moment his form this year has been Cat . even in the u21's against Ros. h e has done little so far to suggest he should start . If his free were going well he might be worth carrying until he finds form but some of his misses in the last games have been unacceptable for a frontline free taker.
with Varley and CMort and backed up by regan  fighting for one corner i reckon its a toss up between Freeman , doherty and O'connor (none of whom are exactly inform ) to chase Conroy for the other , indeed depending on formation Andy moran or dillon may be looking for the jersey either.

at the moment the forward 6 in the driving seat are
Mclauglin andy dillon
Cmort B moran and conroy

But Horan makes so many odd decisons nothing would suprise me .
Post by: Sam2011 on April 12, 2012, 09:15:12 PM
The Kerry Senior Football Team V Mayo in The Allianz League Semi Final on Sunday 15th April 2012 at 2pm.
1. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)
2. Shane Enright (Tarbert) 3.Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) 4. Killian Young (Renard)
5. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers) 6. Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore) 7. Brian Maguire (Listowel Emmett's)
8. Anthony Maher (Duagh) 9. Bryan Sheehan (St. Mary's)
10. Paul Galvin (Finuge) 11. Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) 12. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
13. Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes) 14. Declan O'Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) 15. Patrick Curtin (Moyvane)

Substitutes:

16. Brian Kelly (Legion) 17. Eoin Brosnan (Dr Crokes) 18. Barry John Keane (Kerins O'Rahillys) 19. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)
20. Jonathan Lyne (Legion) 21. Kieran O'Leary (Dr Crokes) 22. James O'Donoghue (Legion)
23. Donnacha Walsh (Cromane) 24. David O'Callaghan St Pat's Blennerville 25.Daniel Bohan (Austin Stacks)
26. Michael Geaney (Daingean Ui Chuis) 27. Daithi Casey (Dr Crokes) 28. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
Post by: Sam2011 on April 12, 2012, 09:28:04 PM
Just seen on twitter there that apparently one of Mayo's form players could be out for 3 months with injury. Anyone know who? Hope to God its not Aidan O'Shea.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 12, 2012, 10:07:46 PM
That's a very strong Kerry team - more or less full strength I'd say?

This is a good test for Mayo, on paper Kerry should win it handy but Mayo's midfield should have the edge (assuming AOS is not injured) which should keep it interesting anyway......
Post by: sans pessimism on April 12, 2012, 10:24:26 PM
I heard it is AOS but not sure
Post by: ballinaman on April 12, 2012, 11:02:49 PM
Could only have happened in training tonight IF its true....would hold back on the 3 months diagnosis yet.
Post by: blast05 on April 12, 2012, 11:16:32 PM
Hmmm .... and the tweet is from ~8.30pm so while I expect someone picked up a knock, the diagnosis can't be fact based
Post by: Sam2011 on April 12, 2012, 11:51:04 PM
The lads were training last night and again on Friday night so I wouldn't rule out the diagnosis........
Post by: Blowitupref on April 13, 2012, 12:07:39 AM
Quote from: Sam2011 on April 12, 2012, 09:28:04 PM
Just seen on twitter there that apparently one of Mayo's form players could be out for 3 months with injury. Anyone know who? Hope to God its not Aidan O'Shea.
Back for the Connacht final no big deal is it?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2012, 12:18:23 AM
If AOS is injured for Sunday, I can only see one outcome... Worse than Donegal methinks :'(
Post by: mannix on April 13, 2012, 12:45:58 AM
Lord god, is there any luck in mayo at all.   :-\
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2012, 12:54:03 AM
Quote from: mannix on April 13, 2012, 12:45:58 AM
Lord god, is there any luck in mayo at all.   :-\

Nope. Just an ongoing tale of misery and woe since 1951!
Post by: intoDwest on April 13, 2012, 10:02:51 AM
SF Team: Clarke, Keane, Cafferkey, Higgins, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, A.O'Shea, Gibbons, McLoughlin, A.Moran, Dillon, Mort, Doherty, Conroy

Subs: Hennelly, S.McHale, R.Feeney, P.Gardiner, D.Geraghty, B.Moran, P.Harte, A.Campbell, C.O'Connor, A.Freeman, E.Varley
Post by: Sam2011 on April 13, 2012, 10:07:21 AM
The Mayo Senior Football team to face Kerry in the Semi-Final of the Allianz Football League this Sunday at 2.00p.m. in Croke Park is as follows:

1 David Clarke - Ballina Stephenites
2 Kevin Keane - Westport
3 Ger Cafferkey - Ballina Stephenites
4 Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
5 Lee Keegan - Westport
6 Donal Vaughan - Ballinrobe
7 Colm Boyle - Davitts
8 Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
9 Jason Gibbons - Ballintubber
10 Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
11 Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen
12 Alan Dillon - Ballintubber
13 Conor Mortimer - Parnells
14 Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
15 Michael Conroy - Davitts

16 Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
17 Shane McHale - Knockmore
18 Richie Feeney - Castlebar Mitchels
19 Peadar Gardiner - Crossmolina
20 Danny Geraghty - Ballintubber
21 Barry Moran - Castlebar Mitchels
22 Patrick Harte - Ballina Stephenites
23 Aidan Campbell - Swinford
24 Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber
25 Alan Freeman - Aghamore
26 Enda Varley - Garrymore

Just seen on Hogan Stand there that Aidan is out with his hamstring for at least 6 weeks but hes named here on the team.
Only three changes for us with Boyle, Keane and Mort coming in again. I would have really liked to see Barry Moran come into the full forward line to just annoy the Kerry full back line and to create a bit of awkwardness but I'd say he'd come in for Aidan in midfield in yet another new pairing for us.
Post by: ballinaman on April 13, 2012, 10:33:28 AM

Team shaping up as moysider predicted. 1 to 7 looks solid.
Post by: Tubberman on April 13, 2012, 10:37:52 AM
Hoganstand have taken down that story now. I presume it hasn't been confirmed, but the rumour is all over the place.
Anyway, better to lose him for a league semi and have him back in action for the serious stuff.
Post by: Sam2011 on April 13, 2012, 10:56:38 AM
Just heard on the radio that the County Board said O'Shea is still being considered despite a groin injury.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 13, 2012, 03:44:31 PM
Hamstring to groin must be one of those movable injuries or Mayo can't tell their ass from their elbows.
Post by: Tubberman on April 13, 2012, 03:46:57 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 13, 2012, 03:44:31 PM
Hamstring to groin must be one of those movable injuries or Mayo can't tell their ass from their elbows.

Fairly sure neither hamstring nor groin are to be found near the elbow, but I'm no doctor....
Post by: sans pessimism on April 13, 2012, 06:24:29 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 13, 2012, 03:46:57 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 13, 2012, 03:44:31 PM

Fairly sure neither hamstring nor groin are to be found near the elbow, but I'm no doctor....
Glance in the mirror capt'n
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2012, 09:19:19 PM
I see reports on WJ's blog that Aiden O'Shea is indeed out with an injury..to a bone beneath the spine and will be out for 3 months. Might inspire other lads to step up to the mark! Or it mightn't!! :-\
Post by: Crete Boom on April 13, 2012, 09:24:54 PM
 Farrandeelin you beat me to it!!!!! Big loss for us but sure I suppose it gives B Moran/Geraghty/Harte a chance to stake a claim for one of the midfield spots and what better place then against a near full Kerry team in Croke park to test yourself.
Post by: sans pessimism on April 13, 2012, 09:31:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2012, 09:19:19 PM
I see reports on WJ's blog that Aiden O'Shea is indeed out with an injury..to a bone beneath the spine and will be out for 3 months. Might inspire other lads to step up to the mark! Or it mightn't!! :-\
Jeez Farr you're very bad these last few posts!!
Post by: moysider on April 13, 2012, 09:51:41 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 13, 2012, 09:24:54 PM
Farrandeelin you beat me to it!!!!! Big loss for us but sure I suppose it gives B Moran/Geraghty/Harte a chance to stake a claim for one of the midfield spots and what better place then against a near full Kerry team in Croke park to test yourself.

With that moniker you can t be too far away. Welcome aboard!

I m expecting Geraghty to partner Gibbons in midfield on Sunday. who would have thought that 10 days ago. The most inexperienced pair we have. We ll need to be patient. These guys will be going for it we can be sure of that.

But they are arguably our 3 choice pairing. But our reality is that the O Sés, McGarrity, Harte, and Moran are struggling with injuries and recovery.

The loss of Tom Parsons is hurting us badly now. How a quality talent like that can just - I dunno, go off the boil? - is puzzling.

Management will have to come up with a strategy to cope with any problems we may have around the middle. Barry Moran if he can start at all may have to be deployed out the field as well and play 2 inside. We re going to have to run at and carry against these from deep. We have to keep the ball.
Post by: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 09:56:34 PM
Why, in the name of all that's holy, are they putting these games on in Croke Park.
Post by: muppet on April 13, 2012, 10:00:52 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 09:56:34 PM
Why, in the name of all that's holy, are they putting these games on in Croke Park.

The Olympic Stadium isn't ready.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 13, 2012, 10:10:33 PM
I was hoping Kerry v Mayo would be in the white elephant on the Ennis Road in Limerick.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 13, 2012, 10:35:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 13, 2012, 10:10:33 PM
I was hoping Kerry v Mayo would be in the white elephant on the Ennis Road in Limerick.

It really should be used when Connacht opposition are in a league-semi or championship qualifier match against Munster opposition bar Limerick themselves of course.
Post by: moysider on April 13, 2012, 11:07:36 PM

Agree. I don t now anybody that s travelling. I ve stopped asking because I ve been getting quare looks. It says a bit about the status of the league now, and a bit a bit about ourselves as well. I remember a very decent crowd for the league semis back in 96 in CP. Regardless of where you hold semis the league is a mess. The whole package of league and championship needs to be looked at. We ve a championship as well that doesn t really start in earnest until August, consists of 7 matches ( 4 quarters, 2 semis and a final) and concludes a few weeks later. No sport that is done and dusted in a few weeks will survive against sports that have exposure for 9-10 months a year.

Post by: ross4life on April 13, 2012, 11:38:09 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 13, 2012, 11:07:36 PM

Agree. I don t now anybody that s travelling. I ve stopped asking because I ve been getting quare looks. It says a bit about the status of the league now, and a bit a bit about ourselves as well. I remember a very decent crowd for the league semis back in 96 in CP. Regardless of where you hold semis the league is a mess. The whole package of league and championship needs to be looked at. We ve a championship as well that doesn t really start in earnest until August, consists of 7 matches ( 4 quarters, 2 semis and a final) and concludes a few weeks later. No sport that is done and dusted in a few weeks will survive against sports that have exposure for 9-10 months a year.

Our last two Div 1 semi finals (a decade ago) was played in Mullingar,Markievicz Park in front of full crowds that brought great atmospheres. Doesn't make much since to play them in a near empty stadium devoid of any atmosphere.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2012, 11:59:18 PM
I'm heading to it moysider. (I think) you know who I am!
Post by: rosnarun on April 14, 2012, 12:06:03 AM
If aidan is out time to put an SOS out for Ronan Magarrity . I would really fear for the ballintubber pair at midfield. i thoik it could be time to think outside the bix if its come to that . maybe  move vaughan to midfield, If barry moran is stuggling . but themn again imlearning to never try to second guess horan.
what odds Rob hennely at number 8?
Post by: muppet on April 14, 2012, 12:07:03 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 14, 2012, 12:06:03 AM
If aidan is out time to put an SOS out for Ronan Magarrity . I would really fear for the ballintubber pair at midfield. i thoik it could be time to think outside the bix if its come to that . maybe  move vaughan to midfield, If barry moran is stuggling . but themn again imlearning to never try to second guess horan.

Maybe Tori Spelling?
Post by: moysider on April 14, 2012, 12:58:28 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 14, 2012, 12:06:03 AM

If we re lucky we might get McGar for some of championshp - depending on how long we last. He s had his operations and it would be a boost if he could figure in summer. Between the other thing and this he has never had a decent cut at it. If he had his 04 and 06 form, when he was a relative kid for a midfielder, he d be some player now.

Barry Moran is struggling with injury too. I don t need a press release to tell me he is not right.  Management priority is to get Barry Moran and Cillian O Connor right for summer. Cillian O Connor is struggling as well. Injury I d say, and as well as that trying to play him in a positon he does not have the attributes for, ie. the ff line.

Vaughan in midfield is an idea, as is Higgins at 6. I d be very disappointed if Horan ever asks Higgins to mark Gooch again - ever. Higgins can do most jobs but not Gooch. Get the bus driver to try and mark Gooch and let Higgins drive forward and hurt the opposition. Management need to realise that there is a big difference marking Diarmuid Connolly and Colm Cooper.

Well, its the Ballintubber pair for this one. I d prefer that than strapping up others that are struggling. I liked the way Gibbons did last weak and Geraghty will do fine. The worst criticism I could level at him so far is that he looks nervous. And I reckon that s a good thing. Means he cares and doesn t swan about like some of the strolling players making their debuts I remember - and several appearances later.

Likes of Andy and Dillon and Mort are the players that can bring the team along. Whether people like them or not, Clarkey, Cafferkey, Boyle, Keegan, Vaughan, Higgins and Keane will not hide.

Management have a big responsibility on Sunday to make sure we re set up competitively with key players missing.
Post by: moysider on April 14, 2012, 01:29:09 AM
Quote from: ross4life on April 13, 2012, 11:38:09 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 13, 2012, 11:07:36 PM

Our last two Div 1 semi finals (a decade ago) was played in Mullingar,Markievicz Park in front of full crowds that brought great atmospheres. Doesn't make much since to play them in a near empty stadium devoid of any atmosphere.

First of all it was a decade ago. Things have changed last ten years. I remember a late 90s 1/4 final v Derry in Mark. Park and it was heavin too. If our semi v Kerry on Sunday was in McHale Park and free-in you d get best 8-10 grand. If it was in Limerick half that again.

The game is dyin a death and Dublin winning an AI will not rescue it. Kids are not watching games anymore. Kids play for the club but Xbox and and stuff is the business but nobody knows who Peter Canavan is/was, never mind John Egan, Dermot Early etc. Some  young lads watch a bit of sport but most play a bit and that s it.( very few, it has to be said watch priemiership and fewer still rugby)

Anybody that thinks that The Sunday Game and League Sunday is watched by the masses is deluded. Very few people under midlife breakdown is watchin the Sunday Game unless you re county is on and you ve won and feelin better than if you lost.

If I were to go to this league semi on Sunday I would have to do the trip on my own. If it is live on tv has little relevance also. Most kids - minors in a few years - will stay on facebook/Xbox and couldn t be arsed watching.

I
Post by: ballinaman on April 14, 2012, 12:19:32 PM
Anyone looking for parking tomorrow, throw us a PM.On St Ignatius road, 5 min walk to Croker. Will put out a couple of cones.
Post by: mannix on April 14, 2012, 12:53:57 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 14, 2012, 12:19:32 PM
Anyone looking for parking tomorrow, throw us a PM.On St Ignatius road, 5 min walk to Croker. Will put out a couple of cones.
One decent man, must be from ballina!
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 01:13:59 PM
Ah Moysider, you're the rare spotted breed of Gaaaaaah fatalist. Can I get a photograph so I can have an article published in National Geographic?
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on April 15, 2012, 10:23:50 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2012, 11:59:18 PM
I'm heading to it moysider. (I think) you know who I am!

Am heading in myself, the only one out of our usual group of 10. I think we may suprise Kerry today (but then i say that before each game with them).
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 10:40:24 AM
Best of Luck to the Mayo lads today!

Nice to have a run out in Headquarters before the Championship begins. Could stand to this group (hoefully) later in the Championship. (As is usual with Kerry) I wont be too disappointed in a loss, as long as we stay with them till the end and learn a few lessons for the bigger day!

Nothing to lose really today, We really did not expect to make the play-offs, so no harm to have a go and try out a few things.
Post by: muppet on April 15, 2012, 12:04:35 PM
Just about to leave the house, C'MON MAYO!
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 01:44:40 PM
Freeman and both O Sés not togged. Neither is Regan and a few more by the looks of things.

Jack O Connor has just confirmed Declan O Sullivan out. O Leary in.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 02:08:20 PM
Mayo 0.03
Kerry 0.00

after 5 minutes
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 02:10:28 PM
Mayo 0.04
Kerry 0.01

Mort playing well.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 15, 2012, 02:11:31 PM
Kerry full back line struggling.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 02:15:34 PM
Mayo 0.06
Kerry 0.01

Mayo backs and forward well on top at the moment.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on April 15, 2012, 02:19:01 PM
Ref obviously thinks Gaelic Football is a non contact sport,
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 15, 2012, 02:27:31 PM
Kerry took their time to wake up in this game. Moving well now.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 02:27:40 PM
Mayo 0.06
Kerry 0.05

Kerry getting into their rhythm now.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 02:35:06 PM

Silly mistakes killing us now. If we keep giving the ball away we ll be punished. Sensible substitution if Moran can win a bit of ball as a target.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 02:38:17 PM
Half-Time

Mayo 0.09
Kerry 0.07
Post by: Jinxy on April 15, 2012, 02:40:54 PM
Mayo for Sam?
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 02:41:04 PM
Recovered well towards the end of half. I like the way we re dropping off and defending now. Hopefully Harte is back to something close to his best.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 02:42:56 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 15, 2012, 02:40:54 PM
Mayo for Sam?

Nah, maybe Meath though!  ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on April 15, 2012, 02:43:48 PM
Entertaining enough game from a neutral perspective. Some of the passing in the Mayo forward line has been great.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 15, 2012, 02:48:02 PM
I've lost count of the number of frees Mayo have got by holding onto the tacklers arm...the ref (despite standing 3 yards away) doesn't seem capable of spotting them either.
Young and O'Mahony getting a bit of a roasting at the back and Darran O'Sullivan having a shocker...apart from that would be happy enough if Kerry played quicker ball to Curtin.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 02:49:17 PM
Not sure how close this will be at the end Kerry staying with Mayo and playing in Second gear. I expect  a different kerry team in the second half!
Post by: Jinxy on April 15, 2012, 02:54:39 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 15, 2012, 02:48:02 PM
I've lost count of the number of frees Mayo have got by holding onto the tacklers arm...the ref (despite standing 3 yards away) doesn't seem capable of spotting them either.
Young and O'Mahony getting a bit of a roasting at the back and Darran O'Sullivan having a shocker...apart from that would be happy enough if Kerry played quicker ball to Curtin.

Really like the look of him.
Not afraid to take his man on plus he's very accurate.
Has that bit of aggression that Kieran O'Leary seems to lack.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:01:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 02:49:17 PM
Not sure how close this will be at the end Kerry staying with Mayo and playing in Second gear. I expect  a different kerry team in the second half!

The hurling team maybe ;D. Moran not getting to the ball inside, yet anyway.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:06:25 PM
The difference between Donaghy and Moran as target men. Frustrating.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:08:05 PM

Conroy subbed!
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 03:09:48 PM
Old order restored.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 03:12:17 PM
Looks like the old order of Kerry soft frees has been restored as well! :P
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:14:53 PM

jammy goal too. But we ve only ourselves to blame as usual. Too many errors.
Post by: Aughafad on April 15, 2012, 03:20:57 PM
How is donaghys knee in the back not a free in front of the ref??
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:26:44 PM

No point taking it too seriously. If Kerry got this ref last September they d be all Ireland champions now - with a bit to spare too!
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:31:55 PM
Why did Vuaghan just kick that free way?!

Coman Goggins gives mom to Anthony Maher!
Post by: sheamy on April 15, 2012, 03:34:51 PM
The amount of diving and feigning injury by both teams is a joke
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 03:35:08 PM
All square at full time
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 15, 2012, 03:35:52 PM
Extra time...great. ::)

Also, wtf are TG4 at..cutting away from play to watch a free being given in the hurling game? >:(
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:36:32 PM
We need to rejig this seriously for xtra half. Conroy needs to come back on.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 15, 2012, 03:37:32 PM
Referee was dreadful, the diving and feigning injury was outrageous (both sides), and Kerry were very cynical. Overall, Mayo deserved the draw at least.  Let's see how the rest plays out on its own merits.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 15, 2012, 03:37:48 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:36:32 PM
We need to rejig this seriously for second half. Conroy needs to come back on.
Are you in a different time-zone?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 03:38:16 PM
Well done Mayo! Thought they were buried with a few minutes to go and Kerry Faking injuries.
Kerry seem too be not as good at putting teams away. They should have had the game wrapped up!

Credit to Mayo for sticking to the job!
Post by: Syferus on April 15, 2012, 03:38:32 PM
Donaghy put in the best pass of the year there, just a pity he forgot which team he was on.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 15, 2012, 03:38:53 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 15, 2012, 03:35:52 PM
Extra time...great. ::)
extra time?
Post by: mannix on April 15, 2012, 03:39:01 PM
japers, kerry must be wondering what the hell is going on here. still think that kerry can get a goal if they really need it though.
Post by: Jinxy on April 15, 2012, 03:39:05 PM
Fair play to Mayo it was all set up for them to bottle it against Kerry for the umpteenth time but they kept fighting.
Very enjoyable game I have to say and plenty of skill on show from both sides.
Players going down very easy but sure why wouldn't you when you know you're guaranteed a free.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 15, 2012, 03:40:32 PM
What a brainfart by Donaghy. Looked like he forgot what way he was meant to be shooting for a second.
Post by: Throw ball on April 15, 2012, 03:41:20 PM
Great game to watch. Have not read over other posts to see comments of referee but will say two things.
1 Kerry seemed to get run of green until last couple of minutes.
2. Was at the Armagh Mayo game earlier in year and each time Mayo tackled in bunches they won the free as the Armagh man was considered to be over carrying. Today the frees are all given against them. Could someone please let us all know which is the correct interpretation.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:41:42 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 15, 2012, 03:37:48 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:36:32 PM
We need to rejig this seriously for second half. Conroy needs to come back on.
Are you in a different time-zone?

Corrected that.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 03:42:56 PM
Have to say, TG4 switching from one game where there was action to another where players were standing around was annoying!
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:45:29 PM
Jesus Andy!

And the less said about that missed free the better.
Post by: Dont Matter on April 15, 2012, 03:47:56 PM
Mayo have been practicing the grab your opponents arm and drag him to the ground with you trick. They attempt it all the time.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 15, 2012, 03:48:46 PM
Who is this ref?...he has been unspeakably awful for both teams.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:49:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 03:42:56 PM
Have to say, TG4 switching from one game where there was action to another where players were standing around was annoying!

Dublin are playing so ...........
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:51:40 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 15, 2012, 03:47:56 PM
Mayo have been practicing the grab your opponents arm and drag him to the ground with you trick. They attempt it all the time.

We don t have tp practice it.

It s going to be annoying to lose this if it comes down to missing frees.

Cillian Young is going to be sore tomorrow.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 15, 2012, 03:53:53 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:49:10 PM

Actually it's their opposition that tg4 are interested in. Their bias towards their own county is ridiculous really. They're only wishing they could get away with showing a Galway relegation game live.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:56:28 PM

Those bloody frees. Taking Conroy and Mort off has not improved us anything, Still in it though.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 15, 2012, 04:01:21 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 15, 2012, 03:53:53 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 03:49:10 PM

Actually it's their opposition that tg4 are interested in. Their bias towards their own county is ridiculous really. They're only wishing they could get away with showing a Galway relegation game live.

They were meant to show the second half of the hurling live but the extra time in the football has put the kybosh on that so I think you can shelve the conspiracy theories for a while.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 15, 2012, 04:02:33 PM
What a Goal!
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 04:02:43 PM
On the other hand Barry John Keane has done well for Kerry.

Great finish by what should have been mom!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 04:02:54 PM
Mayo goal!!!!!!!!!!!!

Level again.
Post by: GAA_Talk on April 15, 2012, 04:03:02 PM
great goal there!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 04:07:41 PM
keep her lit lads
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 04:10:36 PM
Mayo beat Kerry's best in Croke Park in a competitive Semi-Final. This means so much to Mayo.

YES YES YES YES YES AT f**king LAST

I could bloody cry, this is just brilliant. Well done lads.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 04:11:39 PM
Who said we can't beat Kerry in Croker?

; ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 15, 2012, 04:12:12 PM
I'm glad that didn't go to a replay one way or another. Fair play to Mayo I guess. Kerry should have closed it out twice and didn't.
Post by: Syferus on April 15, 2012, 04:12:37 PM
Mighty by Mayo, they got a lot of luck with the two goals but they got those chance by never wilting. Colm Boyle was breath-taking.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 15, 2012, 04:12:57 PM
Sheehan bottles it when it matters, O'Connor nailed his when it mattered in normal time - what a great win in Croker, under pressure all the way through and with a patched up midfield, brilliant stuff!
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 15, 2012, 04:13:15 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 15, 2012, 04:10:36 PM
Mayo beat Kerry's best in Croke Park in a competitive Semi-Final. This means so much to Mayo.

YES YES YES YES YES AT f**king LAST

I could bloody cry, this is just brilliant. Well done lads.

I was going to say "I'm sure that win meant more to Mayo than it would have to Kerry", but I think you've beaten me to it.  :P
Post by: armaghniac on April 15, 2012, 04:13:30 PM
Well done Mayo. That's a monkey off your backs. Push on!
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 04:15:35 PM
Great work by Donaghy to win that 45. I was sure Sheehan would nail it.

Hard luck Kerry. We have to be happy with that lads. Cafferkey good again and the emergence of Keane and Keegan a massive boost. Boyle s return is some addition. His f**king ambition and hunger is infectious and he s technically brilliant.
Post by: Dont Matter on April 15, 2012, 04:15:47 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 15, 2012, 04:12:57 PM
Sheehan bottles it when it matters, O'Connor nailed his when it mattered in normal time - what a great win in Croker, under pressure all the way through and with a patched up midfield, brilliant stuff!

In fairness I think O'Connor would have had more difficulty if 3 Kerry players were running at him not more than 5 yards away.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 15, 2012, 04:16:14 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 15, 2012, 04:12:57 PM

A Mayo fan talking about bottling it?  ::)
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 04:16:27 PM
Hard to believe, but Kerry have become the Bottlers, that's a few in a row now.
The auld legs are begining to tell, will be hard for them to face Championship, as they know they are on the slide and that the two renowned bottlers of the game Dublin and Mayo have came back for being 4/5 points down with a few minutes left to beat them.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 04:24:43 PM

I d go handy talking about anybody bottling anythin. Look at the calendar. We played well for long periods of the match and tried hard for all of it. We got a few breaks that we haven t got sometimes and we got away with a couple of lads contributing little. Kerry had a chance to draw the game and missed - that s all. They could easily have won that game. It was not conclusive. They won t be too bothered.

It s a step in the right direction but we ll have it all to do again the next day, There s a lot of football to be played yet.

I wouldn t be surprised if that s not Harte gone again, From here it looked like a broken foot bone. Metatarsal ?
Post by: Jinxy on April 15, 2012, 04:27:37 PM
Boyle is a great little player.
Subs in general did well for Mayo.
They're just missing a Ciaran Mc style 'go to' man in the forward line.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 04:31:47 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 04:24:43 PM

I d go handy talking about anybody bottling anythin. Look at the calendar. We played well for long periods of the match and tried hard for all of it. We got a few breaks that we haven t got sometimes and we got away with a couple of lads contributing little. Kerry had a chance to draw the game and missed - that s all. They could easily have won that game. It was not conclusive. They won t be too bothered.

It s a step in the right direction but we ll have it all to do again the next day, There s a lot of football to be played yet.

I wouldn t be surprised if that s not Harte gone again, From here it looked like a broken foot bone. Metatarsal ?

You have to call a spade a spade, Kerry's last two outings in Croker should have been won. If you do not win a game you should win then that is bottling it!

Kerry have taken the plaudits for being a great side for the ends and outs of a decade. But when you have bad days you have to take the critisism.
Post by: sans pessimism on April 15, 2012, 04:39:22 PM
I bet cynical Kerry are sorry now that they
went down as if they'd been shot everytime
they were fouled in the last 10mins of
normal time!!
Post by: maigheo on April 15, 2012, 04:41:10 PM
A good morale boosting win for Mayo today and will soon be forgotten about come july.The mayo defense played very well in particular Boyle who was m.o.m , and Caff who seemed to do much better on the Gooch than Higgins and Kevin Keane who was very solid.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 05:00:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 04:31:47 PM

You have to call a spade a spade, Kerry's last two outings in Croker should have been won. If you do not win a game you should win then that is bottling it!

Kerry have taken the plaudits for being a great side for the ends and outs of a decade. But when you have bad days you have to take the critisism.

Maybe, but I d be more comfortable if it wasn t us doin the criticising, thats all. these things have a habit of coming back to kick ye in the bollicks later.

We ve won a league semi - and the team is coming along nicely but we still have issues. I prefer to focus about us and let Kerry worryabout any problems they may have. They were missing Tomás, Tom O Sullivan, Scanlon and Declan O Sullivan. And when have Kerry ever taken anything serious before an AI semi final? And they didn t bottle it against Dublin. The ref was the bottler that day.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 05:01:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 15, 2012, 04:27:37 PM

I m starting the campaign here and now to bring him back ;D He s still younger than Geraghty was when he retired the first time.

Is it just me or is the second game a lot, I dunno... slower. Laverty was doin well. Big loss.
Post by: seafoid on April 15, 2012, 05:06:13 PM
Nice to see mayo winning in Croke Park. Maybe it is 'only the league'
but I'm sure the meathies would swap places.  :)
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 15, 2012, 05:10:10 PM
Great Mayo performance to come back from 5 points down in normal time and 3 points down in extra time to win the game. It was the first time to have seen them play this year, I was very impressed with the new backs that have come in, Colm Boyle and Keane played well down that right wing and Keegan was very good also. The back line has a bit of bite in it which is great to see.
Post by: INDIANA on April 15, 2012, 05:17:49 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 05:00:19 PM

Maybe, but I d be more comfortable if it wasn t us doin the criticising, thats all. these things have a habit of coming back to kick ye in the bollicks later.

We ve won a league semi - and the team is coming along nicely but we still have issues. I prefer to focus about us and let Kerry worryabout any problems they may have. They were missing Tomás, Tom O Sullivan, Scanlon and Declan O Sullivan. And when have Kerry ever taken anything serious before an AI semi final? And they didn t bottle it against Dublin. The ref was the bottler that day.

They didnt bottle it against Dublin - you're correct. Dublin won the game. i'll send you a picture of Sam just so that you know what it looks like.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on April 15, 2012, 05:18:09 PM
just in the door now, voice and nerves gone. I cant believe what i am reading here about "bottling". FFS its a league semi-final and either team could have won it. This is a big psycological win for Mayo and this "new" team. They never gave up on it, even when 5 points down. James Horan and the backroom team deserve a lot of credit for that.

Just a couple of comments;
Mayo need more scores from our midfield and half backs, again we kicked 4-6 wides at key times, when we really needed them.

Some consistent refereeing please, it was maddening to watch that "performance" from the man in the middle again, what do linesmen do, f**k all it seems, time for them to step up and cut-out this third- man tackle.

Make no mistake, Mayo were lucky to win that game as were Kerry un-lucky to lose it. Gloating from the armchair does not do any good. 

We have beaten Kerry in Middle of April, i wish it was mid-September.

Well done, progess been made.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 05:29:00 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 05:01:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 15, 2012, 04:27:37 PM

I m starting the campaign here and now to bring him back ;D He s still younger than Geraghty was when he retired the first time.

Is it just me or is the second game a lot, I dunno... slower. Laverty was doin well. Big loss.

Let the man go! He did his time and did it well for the most part!

Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 05:00:19 PM

Look, you have to be able to take and give it! We have taken our fair share and most if not all of it was correct! I am not saying this is a bad Kerry team, just that they have lost their last two outings in Croker. Games they were controlling and let slip.

As for us, i would not get on any high horse, we beat a good Kerry team (with players missing) in deline
Post by: sans pessimism on April 15, 2012, 05:38:11 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on April 15, 2012, 05:18:09 PM
just in the door now, voice and nerves gone. I cant believe what i am reading here about "bottling". FFS its a league semi-final and either team could have won it. This is a big psycological win for Mayo and this "new" team. They never gave up on it, even when 5 points down. James Horan and the backroom team deserve a lot of credit for that.

Just a couple of comments;
Mayo need more scores from our midfield and half backs, again we kicked 4-6 wides at key times, when we really needed them.

Some consistent refereeing please, it was maddening to watch that "performance" from the man in the middle again, what do linesmen do, f**k all it seems, time for them to step up and cut-out this third- man tackle.

Make no mistake, Mayo were lucky to win that game as were Kerry un-lucky to lose it. Gloating from the armchair does not do any good.  We have beaten Kerry in Middle of April, i wish it was mid-September.

Well done, progess been made.
Well said Gaeilgoir-Some lads losing
the run of themselves.Thought they might have learnt from the past,but memory mustn't
be great
Another step forward by Jamsie and the b'ys-thats all it should be seen as.
Post by: mannix on April 15, 2012, 05:58:24 PM
Well done mayo, not giving up on lost causes is the reason they won. A little more composure and they could be contenders in the summer.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 06:23:54 PM
And the dust settles and we encounter Cork again in Croker. A chance for revenge for the Rebels. They are going for a unique treble and that will be their motivation. They'll be glad they are not meeting Kerry! Meeting them (more than likely) twice in the championship is enough for any cork person. Although they were caught in the AI QF last year, they will fancy their chances.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 15, 2012, 06:29:32 PM
Moysider, you're starting to reach Billy Fitz levels of negativity lately!

Look, there's no harm in any Mayo fans enjoying a win in Croke Park today. Wins over Kerry have been rare down the years. Surely we cant be that down on ourselves that we're not allowed to enjoy wins now. Winning or losing a league semi final is irrelevant enough to have any real meaning in the greater scheme of things. A league final is nothing we haven't seen before.

What is different today is the manner of the performance and the belief shown. I don't think we could have won that game from the position we were in with previous teams. A young team playing good football and winning is what every Mayo fan will have wanted to see and that's what we got today. The belief it will give the players going forward is the most important thing and that's why today is beneficial for us.
Post by: mlcollins on April 15, 2012, 06:37:24 PM
From the bunker to suggest kerry are bottlers is a farce,they were beaten on the last two occasions by one point,last sept. kerry did not have the bench to get over the line' amongst OTHER influences but these are the inches jack o' connor talks about winning big matches ,ye on the other hand have in the past been well beaten by kerry,no bottling just not good enough,today ye won by a point thanks to donaghys hospital pass,however it's only april so before you get up your self you better pray ye don't meet kerry later in the championship because they will annihilate ye.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 06:52:11 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on April 15, 2012, 06:37:24 PM
From the bunker to suggest kerry are bottlers is a farce,they were beaten on the last two occasions by one point,last sept. kerry did not have the bench to get over the line' amongst OTHER influences but these are the inches jack o' connor talks about winning big matches ,ye on the other hand have in the past been well beaten by kerry,no bottling just not good enough,today ye won by a point thanks to donaghys hospital pass,however it's only april so before you get up your self you better pray ye don't meet kerry later in the championship because they will annihilate ye.

mlcollins, Welcome to Gaaboard! Good to have you aboard. As you are new, you probably have not read my earlier posts. I'm in not disillusioned as to how good Mayo are. They are still an average team. Kerry are still a good team, but questions have to be asked of them closing out their last two games in Croker, games they clearly should have closed out and in older days would have closed out. If this had happened to Tyrone, Armagh, Cork or Dublin the same question would be asked. Are we to make Kerry immune from such analysis?
Post by: Rossfan on April 15, 2012, 07:07:13 PM
Quote from: mannix on April 15, 2012, 05:58:24 PM
Well done mayo, not giving up on lost causes is the reason they won. A little more composure and they could be contenders in the summer.
And no doubt ye'll definitely be contenders in the Autumn . Maybe even the start of a 3 in a row.
Time for a " Who can stop...." thread  ;D ;D
Post by: ross4life on April 15, 2012, 07:20:51 PM
Well done Mayo! got a bit of luck to bring the game into ET but for the gutsy performance on the day they deserved it. Kerry will recover in time for the championship & still a safe bet to last longer than Mayo in the championship but spare a thought for little Leitrim whom has to travel to Mchale park in June.

Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 07:21:36 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 15, 2012, 06:29:32 PM
Moysider, you're starting to reach Billy Fitz levels of negativity lately!

Look, there's no harm in any Mayo fans enjoying a win in Croke Park today. Wins over Kerry have been rare down the years. Surely we cant be that down on ourselves that we're not allowed to enjoy wins now. Winning or losing a league semi final is irrelevant enough to have any real meaning in the greater scheme of things. A league final is nothing we haven't seen before.

What is different today is the manner of the performance and the belief shown. I don't think we could have won that game from the position we were in with previous teams. A young team playing good football and winning is what every Mayo fan will have wanted to see and that's what we got today. The belief it will give the players going forward is the most important thing and that's why today is beneficial for us.

Negative? Moi? Surely not ;D

I m only tryin to reign in a few runaway horses. Delighted with today s win myself and more so with the performance, and the performances since Ballyshannon.

To be a serious team we have to keep this up every day - that s the important thing and something we have been poor at down the years. Cork another massive test and if we re not competitive again anything gained from today will be lost. Being negative again but we are running out of bench with injuries but we should be stronger come championship. No Freeman, Kirby or O Séx2 available today.
Post by: mlcollins on April 15, 2012, 07:24:18 PM
From the bunker,absolutely not but what is bottling,the problem is ye are fixated on it and this is a result of the all-ireland final in 1996, since then ye have either won excellant games or have been soundly beaten in others which doesn't make ye bottlers and todays loss doesn't make kerry bottlers not to mind last years AI.Today kerry would have won only for a crazy pass by donaghy ,FACT,no bottling just one player acting the magot when under little pressure to do so,simple as.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 07:32:30 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 15, 2012, 07:20:51 PM
Well done Mayo! got a bit of luck to bring the game into ET but for the gutsy performance on the day they deserved it. Kerry will recover in time for the championship & still a safe bet to last longer than Mayo in the championship but spare a thought for little Leitrim whom has to travel to Mchale park in June.

This is what I ve been trying to tell my fellow Mayoites. Today changes little as regards championship. Tomorrow morning Kerry will still be short-odd favourites and Mayo will be still available at 12-14/1. Dublin, Cork, Tyrone, Kildare and maybe a Donegal or Armagh will be shorter. Today was better than losing (self belief and all that) and it s a step in the right direction. Another positive for us is that we re well short of a peak. Thing is we can get better, a lot better if injuries cleared up and we got a clean run.
Post by: Jinxy on April 15, 2012, 07:56:23 PM
I look forward to Mayo Micks objective dispassionate analysis of the game.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 07:58:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 15, 2012, 07:20:51 PM

Leitrim have no more and no less to fear after todays result.
Post by: maigheo on April 15, 2012, 08:18:37 PM
reading the comments over on wjs blog you would think it was an allireland semi final that was won today.I am sure if mayo lost today there would be plenty of choker comments on here.The talk of kerry bottling it today is rubbish-they lost a hard fought game that they should have won by 1 point.I an sure James Horan will not be getting carried away with todays result but it is always very satisfying to win a game in croker and I am sure they will enjoy it for a few days.
Post by: sans pessimism on April 15, 2012, 08:23:55 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 15, 2012, 08:18:37 PM
reading the comments over on wjs blog you would think it was an allireland semi final that was won today.I am sure if mayo lost today there would be plenty of choker comments on here.The talk of kerry bottling it today is rubbish-they lost a hard fought game that they should have won by 1 point.I an sure James Horan will not be getting carried away with todays result but it is always very satisfying to win a game in croker and I am sure they will enjoy it for a few days.
....but didn't.Makes a pleasant change
Post by: emmetryan on April 15, 2012, 10:09:23 PM
I've put together a tactical analysis piece on Mayo's win over Kerry today for anyone interested.
http://action81.com/blog/?p=5691
Post by: Crete Boom on April 15, 2012, 10:42:20 PM
Quote from: emmetryan on April 15, 2012, 10:09:23 PM
I've put together a tactical analysis piece on Mayo's win over Kerry today for anyone interested.

Nice analysis emmetryan good to hear that a Mayo team pressurised a kerry team rather than stand and watch. Great win for the lads but while it's nice to beat Kerry in Corker what I as a Mayoman would really like to see is another performance like today because 1996 is the last time I can remember us putting in 2 high intensity performances back to back in Croker. As for the talk of Kerry being bottlers , I think that's a little unfair. It's just more like they have come back into the pack a little while the challengers like Cork/Dublin have got closer in terms of conditioning and talent and unless we can sustain our improvement and go on and win the league title the next day I would still have us in the upstarts bracket a long with Kildare/ Donegal i.e can trouble any of the big guns on our day but still struggle for that cold clinical consistency in August/September that brings home Sam!!
Post by: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 10:53:26 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 15, 2012, 10:42:20 PM

Nice analysis emmetryan good to hear that a Mayo team pressurised a kerry team rather than stand and watch. Great win for the lads but while it's nice to beat Kerry in Corker what I as a Mayoman would really like to see is another performance like today because 1996 is the last time I can remember us putting in 2 high intensity performances back to back in Croker. As for the talk of Kerry being bottlers , I think that's a little unfair. It's just more like they have come back into the pack a little while the challengers like Cork/Dublin have got closer in terms of conditioning and talent and unless we can sustain our improvement and go on and win the league title the next day I would still have us in the upstarts bracket a long with Kildare/ Donegal i.e can trouble any of the big guns on our day but still struggle for that cold clinical consistency in August/September that brings home Sam!!

Why, oh why are people afraid to call it as it is? Kerry have had handsome leads going into the last couple of minutes of their last two games in Croker and ended up losing. This is not boasting about how great Dublin or Mayo were in these games. It's saying that Kerry Cannot close out games like they used to. Part of that is making mistakes, Freigning injury, not attacking, etc.
Post by: emmetryan on April 15, 2012, 10:56:02 PM
I think that's a fair assessment Crete Boom. Mayo clearly have the talent to get it done in one-off situations and look more capable of putting together a run than in previous seasons but until they actually put together that kind of run there will still be doubts.
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 11:13:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 15, 2012, 10:53:26 PM

Why, oh why are people afraid to call it as it is? Kerry have had handsome leads going into the last couple of minutes of their last two games in Croker and ended up losing. This is not boasting about how great Dublin or Mayo were in these games. It's saying that Kerry Cannot close out games like they used to. Part of that is making mistakes, Freigning injury, not attacking, etc.

They usedn t have to against us! Games over after 20. Remember.

What do you want from Kerry From the Bunker? Most of our players played some of their best football today and still only got over the line by a point aet against these bottlers. What does that say about us?

Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 11:29:51 PM

I d go along with that Crete Boom.

Post by: Farrandeelin on April 15, 2012, 11:33:07 PM
What was the attendance today does anybody know? Smallest crowd in HQ in quite a while.
Post by: blast05 on April 15, 2012, 11:41:32 PM
QuoteMost of our players played some of their best football today

Just about Moysider.
Donal Vaughan, Barry Moran, Jason Gibbons, Jason Doherty, Martin Conroy will all come away from that game not being all that happy with their performances. Others only played in patches, e.g. our hf line went missing for the 3rd quarter of the game.
I thinking you are over-egging your efforts to keep a lid on the usual euphoria. However, it is not the contributors on this board that you need to be influencing so much - with 1 or 2 obvious exceptions.

Attendance ... just over 11K (which surprised me - i thought it was less)
Post by: moysider on April 15, 2012, 11:46:45 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 15, 2012, 11:33:07 PM
What was the attendance today does anybody know? Smallest crowd in HQ in quite a while.

What did you make of the numbers, being there Deelin. The bro. was there as well and said about 7,000 or less. Maybe not even 5 grand.

The final is in CP too, so more of the same. I can t see many travel to that, from here or Cork. Tyrone and Kildare will get a few more but the reality is these double headers are not that attractive a proposition unless you live next door. If we were to play in Ennis or Limerick with a decent crowd, it would be a bit of a buzz. It s going to be very difficult to get people travel to that.
Post by: johnpower on April 15, 2012, 11:51:50 PM
well done Mayo today had the greater hunger when it mattered. Jack will have plenty to keep him busy with for the next month or so. It will be an intersteing final Cork will be looking for revenge for last year.

Attendance poor Kerry will be disappointed but have to learn that they have to drive on.
Post by: Syferus on April 16, 2012, 12:00:43 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 15, 2012, 11:46:45 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 15, 2012, 11:33:07 PM

What did you make of the numbers, being there Deelin. The bro. was there as well and said about 7,000 or less. Maybe not even 5 grand.

The final is in CP too, so more of the same. I can t see many travel to that, from here or Cork. Tyrone and Kildare will get a few more but the reality is these double headers are not that attractive a proposition unless you live next door. If we were to play in Ennis or Limerick with a decent crowd, it would be a bit of a buzz. It s going to be very difficult to get people travel to that.

Sure ye love the big finals in Croke Park, what are ya ravin' about!  ;)

Croke Park is way easier to get to than most venues that are nearer because of trains and the Luas, I'd prefer it on convenience over alot of other places. The only issue is, obviously, crowd size.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 16, 2012, 12:18:29 AM
From the Bunker I see what you are getting at about Kerry letting leads slip but in my opinion it's due more to miles on the clock/fatigue rather than mental frailty. Even the great teams become stale over time just look at tyrone! At the same time I don't begrudge any of us celebration after a great fightback against Kerry after what we have suffered against them on big days over the past 15 years but what we all crave is Sam and we need to operate at this high level on a consistent basis to achieve this. That said it's nice to arguing over the manner of our defeat of kerry ,maybe just maybe it's a sign of things to come?  Mhaigheo abu
Post by: nephinman on April 16, 2012, 12:19:31 AM
Just finished watching game again on the auld sky box, still feels great and I nearly got on a bus this morning for Croker, instead went to see the mammy  :-[

Good game, taken very seriously by both camps & only inches in it. Big win for a reasonably young Mayo team. Leaders seem to be emerging which were not there for many's the year. Whatever hapens in the final (and I fear playing Cork) this team should continue to grow in confidence & belief after winning this game in the manner they did. Something of a Meath team 80's/90's feel about it. And while I want to be fair, there is a touch of "going down too easy" from kerry players and playing dead in the last 2/3 years. (IMO  ???)

But yes as someone mentioned above, after the league final there is the bread and butter of Letrim/London to build towards.

Anyway what a nice spring day it was  :)

Nite all
Post by: moysider on April 16, 2012, 12:38:40 AM
Quote from: blast05 on April 15, 2012, 11:41:32 PM
QuoteMost of our players played some of their best football today

Just about Moysider.
Donal Vaughan, Barry Moran, Jason Gibbons, Jason Doherty, Martin Conroy will all come away from that game not being all that happy with their performances. Others only played in patches, e.g. our hf line went missing for the 3rd quarter of the game.
I thinking you are over-egging your efforts to keep a lid on the usual euphoria. However, it is not the contributors on this board that you need to be influencing so much - with 1 or 2 obvious exceptions.

Attendance ... just over 11K (which surprised me - i thought it was less)

Vaughan - Thought he played well. Yeah he was rowing with ref and stuff but he was always where the threat was and trying to do something. He didn t go awol.

Gibbons - In at the deep end the last 2 weeks he s done well. He s hardly played. A welcome development considering most of our other midfielrders are injury prone. He did a good shift today.

Barry Moran. Said it before. The lad is stuck to the ground, yet he looked like gold last Sept/Oct. If he s not fit then he can t play anywhere, ff or midfield.

Michael Conroy. With Boyle the best success story we ve had this league. Won early free for Mort. A brill pass for another Mort point. Another cushy pass for another point. Taking him off left me gobsmacked. Management have to forget about this lark of replacing Conroy.

Jason Doherty. Has been used sparingly by management. He has always looked like an opportunist rather than a creative focus for an attack. I thought he would be picked at 14 for this on how things were panning out and I wouldn t be hard on him.

It s still a new management and we re still winging it at times re. tactics and structure. We re getting more right than wrong now. Thats good because between 2006-10 we got f**k-all right ( I m sure likes of Maradonna is out there to differ - or maybe not).  We re doin well but the great thing is we ve got to a league final with great enthusiasm and a bit of structure. Imagine if we got serious about it!

Post by: mannix on April 16, 2012, 02:18:58 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 15, 2012, 07:07:13 PM
And no doubt ye'll definitely be contenders in the Autumn . Maybe even the start of a 3 in a row.
Well if they could stop panicking when they see a Kerry jersey in summer who else is there to frighten them? Roscommon?  Mayo are a good enough team, not a great team but then neither are Dublin.
Post by: Syferus on April 16, 2012, 02:22:54 AM
Quote from: mannix on April 16, 2012, 02:18:58 AM
Well if they could stop panicking when they see a Kerry jersey in summer who else is there to frighten them? Roscommon?  Mayo are a good enough team, not a great team but then neither are Dublin.

Got it in one. You're a sharp one, I hope you're never managing Mayo or we might have some trouble with ye!
Post by: mannix on April 16, 2012, 02:31:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 16, 2012, 02:22:54 AM
Quote from: mannix on April 16, 2012, 02:18:58 AM

Got it in one. You're a sharp one, I hope you're never managing Mayo or we might have some trouble with ye!
Thanks, I get that a lot.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 16, 2012, 06:36:31 AM
Just a quick word to sans pessimism and a few others talking about Kerry players feigning injury...
Clearly none of you were at the game in Tralee when Mayo players were dropping like flies throughout the 2nd half...to quote a man seated near me "I hope Mayo's physio did the warm-up"!!
As to Kerry feigning injury yesterday, Young, Crowley and Darran O'Sullivan all went off injured so if they were faking it, they did a very convincing job!

Watched the game back there earlier...general play was more evenly balanced than I thought to be fair. Kerry's goal came of a fortuituous bounce of the ball so scores would have been close enough in last 10 mins of normal time regardless I think. The ref really was appalling..I hate criticising refs (especially when you lose) but he was terrible for both sides. Killian Young got a free near the end of normal time after falling on the ground...could have been a game changing decision. He was seemingly unable to spot players "engineering" frees in the most glaring fashion right under his nose...at one stage Alan Dillon jumped into his opponent and got a free. This wasn't unique to this referee of course. Very few of them seem to have the awareness of the game or cop on to see what's happening.
Boyle's goal really was crazy..still no idea how he managed to get a shot off! Once that went in, the momentum was with Mayo, but a draw should still have been the outcome, Johnny Buckley should have fisted over and Sheehan of course would knock over the '50 9 times out of 10..but that sport. The prospect of a final with Cork in Dublin would have lead to mixed feelings anyway, so 1 positive is we keep the powder dry on that front for now...aside from that, happy enough with the league overall. Used a lot of players and have some real options we didn't have last year if everyone is in form.
Post by: Declan on April 16, 2012, 11:00:35 AM
http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/the-lads-at-croke-park-couldnt-believe-mayo-won-yesterday-heres-the-proof-0023515-1 (http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/the-lads-at-croke-park-couldnt-believe-mayo-won-yesterday-heres-the-proof-0023515-1)

Post by: rosnarun on April 16, 2012, 11:46:58 AM
I would not pass too much heed on keyy missing players . to go in against kerry without probably our 3 1st pick choices at midfield  and still  hold out own in the sector was a big boost . in fact mayo wer missing about 6 players that we would have consider probaly starters at the biginning of the league oSE x2 mc garrity TMort  Cunniffe and Howley but time waits for no man .
the constant renewal of the team that gives us all hope . the reintroduction  of Boyle and conroy and addition of Keegan and Keane  has been massive this year
Word of warning though
but we are still only at the same stage that we were in 2 years ago at this point and rember how badly that went wrong
Post by: muppet on April 16, 2012, 12:14:09 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 16, 2012, 06:36:31 AM
Just a quick word to sans pessimism and a few others talking about Kerry players feigning injury...
Clearly none of you were at the game in Tralee when Mayo players were dropping like flies throughout the 2nd half...to quote a man seated near me "I hope Mayo's physio did the warm-up"!!
As to Kerry feigning injury yesterday, Young, Crowley and Darran O'Sullivan all went off injured so if they were faking it, they did a very convincing job!

Watched the game back there earlier...general play was more evenly balanced than I thought to be fair. Kerry's goal came of a fortuituous bounce of the ball so scores would have been close enough in last 10 mins of normal time regardless I think. The ref really was appalling..I hate criticising refs (especially when you lose) but he was terrible for both sides. Killian Young got a free near the end of normal time after falling on the ground...could have been a game changing decision. He was seemingly unable to spot players "engineering" frees in the most glaring fashion right under his nose...at one stage Alan Dillon jumped into his opponent and got a free. This wasn't unique to this referee of course. Very few of them seem to have the awareness of the game or cop on to see what's happening.
Boyle's goal really was crazy..still no idea how he managed to get a shot off! Once that went in, the momentum was with Mayo, but a draw should still have been the outcome, Johnny Buckley should have fisted over and Sheehan of course would knock over the '50 9 times out of 10..but that sport. The prospect of a final with Cork in Dublin would have lead to mixed feelings anyway, so 1 positive is we keep the powder dry on that front for now...aside from that, happy enough with the league overall. Used a lot of players and have some real options we didn't have last year if everyone is in form.

I completely agree. He drive me mad at times, he gave some of the softest frees I've seen to both teams. He fell for everything. I was critical of the Mayo team after the loss to Down because that day Down played the ref very well.  This time Mayo were much better in that regard.

This was a great win but what made it even better was the you felt there are even better performances in some of the players. Some have been named above but you would feel a fully fit Cillian O'Connor and Aiden O'Sé would seriously improve things.

I have been critical of Pat Harte pin the past but I have to hold my hand up and acknowledge the massive role he played while he was on the pitch. We would not have won without him.

Clarke made a big save when a goal would have killed us. I think the back 6 all finished the game which tells you how happy the sideline were with them, and we even had Richie Feeney on as well. I think he was actually at midfield marking Sheehan but I could be wrong.

I am much happier seeing Andy in the HF line and although this line faded later in the game they had a good day overall. The FF line of Mort, Doc and Conroy only had one scorer. That is worrying, although Cillian O'Connor will undoubtedly play, and more importantly score, if he is fit.

Our midfield injuries are becoming a serious problem. Both O'Sés, Pat Harte, Barry Moran doesn't look right and McGarrity make a long list of issues in that area. Hopefully the two months to the Championship will see that improve but unfortunately we have only two weeks to find a midfield to play Cork.

Anyway, a victory in Croker against Kerry is a rarity and something to savour. Well done lads.
Post by: Mayo Mick on April 16, 2012, 01:47:46 PM
Good win made hard work of it - a bit more perspiration than inspiration. Midfield and forwards still not right but we can work on that before AI qtr final.
Post by: ballinaman on April 16, 2012, 02:49:09 PM
Fair play to the lads. Showed some serious bite out there yesterday, great to see.

Boyler, some man....would gladly get his head taken off than shirk a 50/50.

More to come yet hopefully from a few lads and a few current injury problems. Kicked a few high balls aimlessly when searching for the equaliser, won't get away with that come championship. Kerry were cuter with there shot selection and build up play.
Post by: mannix on April 16, 2012, 03:38:20 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 16, 2012, 02:49:09 PM
Fair play to the lads. Showed some serious bite out there yesterday, great to see.

Boyler, some man....would gladly get his head taken off than shirk a 50/50.

More to come yet hopefully from a few lads and a few current injury problems. Kicked a few high balls aimlessly when searching for the equaliser, won't get away with that come championship. Kerry were cuter with there shot selection and build up play.
Kerry are smarter, they seem to gets scores so much easier and play long ball a lot more fluidly. Mayo won a game they should have lost, simple as that.
Post by: muppet on April 16, 2012, 04:06:53 PM
Kerry are more experienced. That is the difference. Our players will learn from playing in these big games. Look at the way Galvin effortlessly pulled the strings yesterday. Ability is a big part of it obviously but so is his experience.
Post by: bucko on April 16, 2012, 05:36:46 PM
Definitely nice to be talking about a Mayo win against Kerry. While keeping in mind that it was a league semi and our display wasn't faultless, a lot of positives can be taken from it. The quality of some our play, especially in the 1st quarter, was very good. Long low ball into the corners, a lot of it coming from Andy, which Mort and Conroy thrived off. Mixed that with some quick short play, ball being laid off on to guys coming at pace. That period showed we play at our best when we use space and move the ball quickly and keep it going forward, keep the momentum in the attack. Clarke was solid, not a lot he could do about the Kerry goal but pulled off a great save to keep us in it.Varied the kickouts tho I still think his long kickouts tend to hang a bit too long which makes clean fielding on our own kickouts that bit more difficult. Otherwise he is most definitely our number 1 for the championship. Our back six is pretty much set in stone at this stage. Yesterday, aside from Vaughan who struggled a bit with having to follow Donaghy all over the shop, they were excellent. Tight, tenacious, it's good to see us finally having a backline that focus on their primary job of defending first but at the same time picking the right times to go forward. Boyle was the stand out player in the defence (how he ever got that shot off for the goal was incredible), Higgins was his usual self while Caff is certainly developing into a top class full back. Keane and Keegan put in a very good shift and have developed well over the league. Their fitness levels were superb, considering the back 6 played the full 90 minutes without ever looking like they were tired is a credit to Cian O'Neills conditioning programme. Half forward line looks set as well, Andy looks like he'll be the 11 for the summer. Pulled the strings there yesterday, always looked to kick the ball in. Job is now to sustain our quality play and dominence for longer, we still have periods were our performance/concentration/intensity level, call it what you will, drop way off. We start playing cagey, short passing football, playing to static men or going lateral. We tighten up the play which results in areas of the pitch getting very congested. We then tend to play the short game through those areas, playing high risk short passes, a fair percentage of which get turned over and which did result in Kerry scores yesterday. Put simply we stop doing what works! Midfield is a bit of an issue, obviously O'Shea was a big loss and while Gibbons didn't do a whole lot wrong and looks the most likely partner now for a fit AOS, our options outside of that and SOS become limited. Harte did well when he came in but is he regarded as a first choice option? The only other con we have is we are lacking a direct, hard running half forward. There were times yesterday when Mort had the ball in a position that was screaming for hard runner inside to take a pass and none there. We're depending on Vaughan, Higgins, Keegan and Boyle to make those runs from the back. If we had these runs coming from the half forward line we could be creating a lot more, clear cut goal opportunities. But overall, a good performance, a satisfying result and hopefully we can reproduce and improve on it against Cork.
Post by: Champ15 on April 16, 2012, 08:37:31 PM
Well done to the boys yesterday a very good win showing heart and determination when 5 points down in the 2nd half and 3 points in et something that in previous years would have seen us crumble! It is only the league but its nice to see us progress! The last thing we want is hype coz we all know what happened last time in league final against cork and the summer we had! What we got yesterday was another day out in croker in a national final and for a relativity young team its an experience which will stand them in good stead especially if they win the confidence they will get of knowing on there day they can beat top level teams! Talk of winning all irelands should be non existant as we've being too inconsistent over the years but its encouraging to see us going in the right direction.
On yesterdays game after starting well we were over ran at midfield Kerry and inparticular Maher cleaned up,its an area for concern for me and showed how much we missed aidan o shea! Gibbons did alright but is still learning at this level but its my opinion Barry Moran doesn't cut the mustard for me! Some may disagree with me but he offers nothingand doesn't stand out like he does a club level!
The tactic of putting him ff backfired as before that we put low accurate ball in we were a big threat especially Conroy who had his marker ran ragged and mort who done the scoring but when Barry went inside we kicked in aimless high balls which were turned over and which Kerry got a few scores from.
Our half forward line flitted in and out of the game which was a bit worrying but I'll put it down to an off day! Our backs were very good especially boyle who looks like he'd go through a brick wall for the cause and ger caff who kept gooch to 1 point from play and quiet in general play.
Like i stated earlier it was a very good win but a lot more hard work to do yet before we become contenders! Heres hoping they continue improving the wa they have done!
Post by: emmetryan on April 17, 2012, 08:51:59 AM
There's no thread on the other semi so I'll post this here, here's my tactics piece on Cork's win over Down http://action81.com/blog/?p=5699
Post by: omagh_gael on April 17, 2012, 11:21:35 AM
What's the story with this Boyle fella? What age is he? Was he a stand out minor? Why has he only rejoined the panel recently? Looks like a gem of a player.
Post by: Tubberman on April 17, 2012, 11:39:08 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 17, 2012, 11:21:35 AM
What's the story with this Boyle fella? What age is he? Was he a stand out minor? Why has he only rejoined the panel recently? Looks like a gem of a player.

Was always considered a good player underage but a bit of a worry he'd be a bit small for senior (that was my view anyway). He was wing-back on the All-Ireland winning U21 team in 2006.
Started championship back in 2008 but was played out of position in corner back and got a roasting against Galway and was taken off.
Was still on the panel in 2009, played a few games in the league but not in Championship. Didn't feature the last two years.
He's done brilliantly this year though when played in his best position in the half backs. He's a perfect fit for the type of game Mayo now play - huge workrate, won't pull out of anything and a bit of needed aggression.
Post by: Chimley on April 17, 2012, 11:39:46 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 17, 2012, 11:21:35 AM

Think he was a minor in 2004. We were beaten by Galway (missing Barry Moran who went on to play in that years U21 final against Armagh). He won an U21 medal in 2006 and was brought in by John O'Mahony but played out of position a lot of the time (corner back). He was dropped for 2009 but came back on the radar with great performances for the Mayo junior team last year and with Davitts getting to an AI intermediate final earlier this year.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 17, 2012, 12:05:25 PM
Cheers lads, looks like he'll do well for ye this year.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 17, 2012, 12:12:00 PM
Just about to watch it on youtube now.

This is the link I just found for anyone else not seen it yet or where at the game. This is a longer set of highlights of the first half

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOQDo9AKC0Q&feature=relmfu (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOQDo9AKC0Q&feature=relmfu)

A better quality but shorter version of the entire match

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lEX0sSUdD0&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lEX0sSUdD0&feature=related)
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 17, 2012, 04:31:17 PM
It is always nice to leave Croke Park with a victory, regardless of where you are from and who the opposition is. I hadn't time to give a brief synopsis of what happened on Sunday yesterday. What I will say is that we have now beaten the last 3 All-Ireland champions in 12 months. That's the good bit. However there is 0 national trophies in our cabinet yet.

Thought the backs were very good. Keegan, Caff, Keane mighty, Vaughan and Higgins have had better games for Mayo but all players have offish days. Boyle was outstanding. Still don't know how he squeezed the ball in the net.

Midfield was a worry. Harte did well when he came on though and coming from me that says something!

Forwards at times gave the ball away needlessly but worked hard getting it back. I honestly don't know how that will go down when this year is reviewed. We may well lose the next day. And don't tell me you'd back Mayo if the chips were down in August if we are still there. But I'll tell ou one thing, any team that meets us and or beats us will know it.
Post by: ballinaman on April 17, 2012, 04:45:33 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 17, 2012, 04:31:17 PM
And don't tell me you'd back Mayo if the chips were down in August if we are still there. But I'll tell ou one thing, any team that meets us and or beats us will know it.

That could be said about a lot of teams, Dublin prior to last year sure!! Time to cut loose of whats gone on before and take each game as it comes. If we match teams for intensity and work rate we'll be right there come August bank holiday and beyond.
Post by: mannix on April 17, 2012, 09:56:33 PM
sunday was a strange day for mayo, i had a feeling last week  that they would have gain a lot of confidence if they were able to compete with kerry for the full 70 minutes or close to it. even if they win the league final i think that the kerry games will have been of more benefit to them than beating cork in the final will ever be. Kerry are not bothered about it today, they have learned a lesson too, they need more goals to bury the likes of mayo or else risk geting caught.
Post by: moysider on April 17, 2012, 11:12:34 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 17, 2012, 12:05:25 PM

He had enough quality to be minor captain in 04 I think it was.

I remember him as well as being deadly as a forward in colleges. No surprise he nailed that goal.

Looking forward to the final now. It s going to be tough though unless we have a couple of the bigger man back around midfield.

Probably get ate for this but I d put Andy back in at 14 for this one anyway. I don t think there is any alternative tbh. I know he has been doing well in half forward line but we might be better able to rejig the half line. At this moment in time only Conoreen and Conroy are on their game inside. I d go with a half line of Harte (if fit), McLoughlin and Dillon.
Post by: maigheo on April 18, 2012, 01:25:30 AM
I for one would agree with you Moysider about placing Andy Moran in full forward v cork.To many times in the second half  on sunday kerry easily won possession in there fullback line and moved swiftly up the field.In fairness to Barry Moran alot of the ball played in was very poor and there wasnt alot he could do.Great credit is due to Colm Boyle for the way he has built himself up and improved himself after a few hammer blows earlier in his career.He was taken off early in the first half in the 2006 all ireland u-21 final as he was being completly overpowered and 2years later called ashore in the first half in the connacht semi v galway but all this has not deterred him and he now seems the real deal.I suppose that is another great fault of ours in Mayo in that we write off players to quickly after a bad performance but that is a story for another day.
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2012, 05:38:38 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 17, 2012, 11:12:34 PM

I remember him as well as being deadly as a forward in colleges. No surprise he nailed that goal.

Looking forward to the final now. It s going to be tough though unless we have a couple of the bigger man back around midfield.

Probably get ate for this but I d put Andy back in at 14 for this one anyway. I don t think there is any alternative tbh. I know he has been doing well in half forward line but we might be better able to rejig the half line. At this moment in time only Conoreen and Conroy are on their game inside. I d go with a half line of Harte (if fit), McLoughlin and Dillon.

I thought Higgins was minor Captain in 2004.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 18, 2012, 06:32:40 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2012, 05:38:38 AM

This sportsfile photo has Boyle as captain against Galway:
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF139/144568.jpg)
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 18, 2012, 11:40:58 AM

I'd go along with your selection, moysider.
I expect a very physical contest, played at a high pace, especially in the opening stages. All the lads you mentioned are fairly hard and well able to dish it out as well as take it. I don't think the game will be dirty or that Cork will lay into us but it'll be toe to toe all the way.
It's great to see that Mayo are starting to stand their ground and not let themselves be pushed around. I think Pat Harte was well ahead of his time in this regard. It's great to see him back from injury again and he seems to have quietened down a lot.
I always had a very high regard for his ability but felt he was inclined to loose the head rather easily and let frustration get in the way. All in all, he seems to be getting his act together very well and I expect him to  have a major part to play in our summer campaign.
I'd be inclined to switch him and McLoughlin around. I assume that Noel O'Leary will play no. 6 the next day and he's a hardy oul' root. I imagine Harte is  the better bet to pin him down as he is adept at tidying up loose ball and launching counter attacks.
I'd regard O'Leary as one of the langers' pivotal men. Unless he's pinned down, Mayo could be in trouble.
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2012, 06:34:01 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 18, 2012, 06:32:40 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2012, 05:38:38 AM

This sportsfile photo has Boyle as captain against Galway:
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF139/144568.jpg)

I remember the game well, Faherty from Galway scored a goal in the 6th minute of injury time and we lost by a point. I had always thought Higgins played as Captain that day, but it must have been the year before. I am sure I saw him in Ennis in 2003 along with Ronaldson against Kerry.
Post by: highorlow on April 18, 2012, 11:24:35 PM
Jasus 18 pages on a league game. Someone say 'calm down'
Post by: moysider on April 18, 2012, 11:25:54 PM
Maybe 2003 was Keith Higgins last year as minor? That would leave him 26/27 now ( young player of year 2006 when he was 20).
I remember him playing full- back in a minor league match. If he was captain it would have been in his senior year I reckon.
Post by: criostlinn on April 19, 2012, 12:46:49 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 18, 2012, 11:24:35 PM

OK, Calm Down.

Its two league games
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 19, 2012, 11:15:44 AM
Higgins was Minor captain in 2003 and U-21 captain in 2006. Both years were his last years at those respective grades.

Mark Ronaldson was Minor captain in 2004 but was out for the Galway game with a dislocated shoulder and so Boyle, as vice-captain, was captain on the day. That was a very good minor team who should have beaten Galway three times over. Mayo missed a host of goal chances and Faherty got a late goal for Galway after hopping the ball twice.

I can't find a list of that team anywhere but Mayo were full of talent. It is not always by looking at how many players made it to senior that you rate a team. Mayo had so many players at that time who had huge potential but didn't deliver on it for a variety of reasons. Damien Coleman (knee injuries), Seán McHale (soccer), Peter Durcan (rugby), Brian Benson, Alan Joyce, Eoin McCormack (soccer), Jason O'Donnell, Finín Canavan, Andy Hanley, James Burke. Add in county players like Barry Moran, Boyle, Varley, Campbell and it was some team. That's not to mention Ronaldson. I always maintain there was an All-Ireland in that team.
Post by: rosnarun on April 19, 2012, 01:44:00 PM
what has happened burke this year . played a few games last year look promising if undercooked . giving lads like that one year helps no one .(same is true of benson to a lesser extent) unless a player is exceptional he needs a year to get used to the pace and hoola surrounding  playing intercounty senior.
I'd reckon Boyle phone would be ringing off the hook his week
players need to be brough on and developed not expected to be finished articcle on joining the panel gapp between Club and county far too big for that
Post by: moysider on April 19, 2012, 02:43:33 PM
I believed Burke opted out of the panel. He works, lives and plays his football in Dublin so a big commitment for a player on the verges who might get damn all time.

I d rate him very highly and I thought he played very well when he was played last year. But then again I always like the balance a ciotóg gives you at 7. I d have him involved.

The thing is would Boyle or Conroy be involved this year if the club didn t have a good run? Debatable. Boyle was a good player last year too! You d expect management to be able to evaluate players around rather than just players in successful clubs in the shop window.

Burke is still a quality player. Another mentioned earlier - McCormack - is back playing club, and is able to do stuff on the pitch that few players can.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 19, 2012, 08:32:12 PM

Could be worse - it could be 16 pages on sacking a manager and then not sacking him!  :-\
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 19, 2012, 10:44:44 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 19, 2012, 08:32:12 PM

Could be worse - it could be 16 pages on sacking a manager and then not sacking him!  :-\

Sure how else can ya make div. 3 exciting.
Post by: rosnarun on April 20, 2012, 11:38:35 AM
what ever about Conroy  it was probable Boyle drive and determination at a high level that probably caught the eye . there a lots of skilfull players out there but for county you want a player to have a little extra . When  bboyle wasplaying before he just wasnt there yet and it will be intersting to see if he can mantain that kind of mainc intensity he is showing this year  over the years/months ahead for the seniors  or is he just Puppy like in his enthusiam.
But for now , who cares. hes great to watch along the way .
Post by: BennyCake on April 23, 2012, 12:02:03 PM
Got an email from O'Neills this morning. Surely that isn't the new Mayo shirt?!
Post by: Tubberman on April 23, 2012, 12:15:59 PM
This one?

(http://www.oneills.com/media/catalog/product/cache/3/image/7bc563c4a34b97d9c7fba60d6553fdd2/m/o/moyo-2012-jersey-1.jpg)

or this one?

(http://www.oneills.com/media/catalog/product/cache/3/image/7bc563c4a34b97d9c7fba60d6553fdd2/m/a/mayo-ladies-pink-jersey-1.jpg)
Post by: BennyCake on April 23, 2012, 12:23:35 PM
That's the one Tubberman.

I don't mind the pink one as long as there's a nice set of knockers in it  ;D
Post by: moysider on April 23, 2012, 04:23:46 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 23, 2012, 12:23:35 PM
That's the one Tubberman.

I don't mind the pink one as long as there's a nice set of knockers in it  ;D

We ve always had our knockers.
Post by: Syferus on April 23, 2012, 07:11:59 PM
Mort'd have a seizure with excitement just putting that jersey on.
Post by: moysider on April 23, 2012, 09:32:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 23, 2012, 07:11:59 PM

A few hairy Ros backs would have more fun than usual tryin to pull it offa him ;D
Post by: Crete Boom on April 23, 2012, 09:43:27 PM

Don't worry Syferus I'm sure the pink jersey along with the normal version will be readily available in all parts of Mayo including Ballaghdreen ;D
Post by: Syferus on April 23, 2012, 09:49:16 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 23, 2012, 09:43:27 PM

Don't worry Syferus I'm sure the pink jersey along with the normal version will be readily available in all parts of Mayo including Ballaghdreen ;D

The feckers in the sport shop in town have put the new Rossie jersey behind the Ballagh GAA jersey. The nerve.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 23, 2012, 09:56:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 23, 2012, 09:49:16 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 23, 2012, 09:43:27 PM

The feckers in the sport shop in town have put the new Rossie jersey behind the Ballagh GAA jersey. The nerve.

Hold the line for us Syferus , keep them at bay them Rossies can be dangerous when their blood is up. If needs be we'll send you up the Mort for backup.