GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Agent Orange on March 18, 2012, 06:40:52 PM

Title: Ard Macha v An Dun 24/03/12
Post by: Agent Orange on March 18, 2012, 06:40:52 PM
Down haven't won in the Athletic Grounds since Methuselah was in short trousers. League form goes out the window, this one is too close to call. Armagh could have done with the Cross boys but yesterdays draw put paid to that. Armagh are fighting for survival in Division1 and won't go down without a fight.
Verdict Armagh.
Title: Re: Ard Macha v An Dun 24/03/12
Post by: BennyCake on March 18, 2012, 06:57:03 PM
I don't think the Cross boys would've been back for this one, even if they had have won yesterday. Winning this one might not even keep us up. McKeever missing, can't see us winning this. Down have their tails up with their wins over Mayo and Dublin.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 18, 2012, 07:40:23 PM
After today's result against the Dubs I've given up tryin to predict the results of league games....common sense would point to a Down winin this one but when did common sense ever come into the equation in football. If our boys produce something similar to today then they will beat Armagh....but I won't be putting any money on it!!
Post by: Orior on March 18, 2012, 08:35:57 PM
Armagh people should give up in Division 1 now, and I'm fed up supporting thugs and couldnt-be-arsed-stay-away-forwards.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 18, 2012, 09:37:20 PM
Interesting choice of words Orior.

Look at full strength there's probably little between these sides but you simply can't take players of the calibre of Brendan Donaghy, Kieran Toner, Jamie Clarke, Aaron Kernan, Steven McDonnell and Ciaran McKeever out of a side and expect the replacements to perform at Division one level. At the minute, he heart has been ripped out of the Armagh side with the entire spine of our team missing. The GAA seriously need to look at re-structuring the season and playing off the club championship in the one calender year.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 20, 2012, 09:02:58 AM
I think there is no doubt that Down should win next week. Down have a virtually full-strength squad to pick from and Armagh have been decimated. If Armagh were at full strength then it would be impossible to call. If Armagh do win then it will be a superb achievement for them. Not because I think beating Down is a superb achievement or that I think we are any sort of yardstick. It will simply be a great achievement because they have been so badly handicapped by the unavailability of first-choice players.

If we do win then I will of course be delighted and am happy to take any victory over Armagh. but I am a realist and I won't be going around bragging about it and thinking it makes us better than Armagh.

If I am right Armagh are missing Donaghy, Aarron Kernan, McKeever, Toner, Lavery, Mackin, Swift, and of course Stevie Mac & Jamie Clarke. I am not counting Ronan Clarke as he just isn't on the radar, you may as well talk about Down not having Marty Clarke available. But that means from their first choice championship side of last year they will be without at least 9 players.

If Down have the same attitude as we had against Dublin then I can see nothing other than a Down victory. If we have the same attitude as we had against Kerry then a motivated Armagh could win the game.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 20, 2012, 05:47:52 PM
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/b1/46/9e/70bc533d04279a207d22d6c3ae03388e5e762acc84/INPHO_00583073.jpg)

Down should win this one
Post by: borderfox on March 20, 2012, 09:58:32 PM
Cant see us coming close to Down at the minute to be honest. The feelgood factor from the great win they had against Dublin allied to our team being decimated all points to a handy victory for the Mournemen.
It looks bleak for us presently. Division 2 football beckons Im afraid to say :(
Post by: armaghniac on March 20, 2012, 10:46:20 PM
The feelgood factor from the great win they had against Dublin allied to our team being decimated all points to a handy victory for the Mournemen.

If only Armagh had a feel good factor after beating Kerry......

QuoteDivision 2 football beckons Im afraid to say

Lets hope Monaghan and Louth are still there to cut down the fuel expenses.
Post by: BennyCake on March 20, 2012, 11:37:58 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 20, 2012, 10:46:20 PM
The feelgood factor from the great win they had against Dublin allied to our team being decimated all points to a handy victory for the Mournemen.

If only Armagh had a feel good factor after beating Kerry......

QuoteDivision 2 football beckons Im afraid to say

Lets hope Monaghan and Louth are still there to cut down the fuel expenses.

And Galway. I want a weekend there  ;)
Post by: PAULD123 on March 21, 2012, 08:37:31 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 20, 2012, 11:37:58 PM
And Galway. I want a weekend there  ;)

Sorry Bennycake but Galway were home to Kildare, Meath, and Tyrone So it is more than likely that any relegated team would be playing them at home - No weekend away in the West for any of us!!!!

Of course no disresepect intended to Galway who could in fact easily be one of the promoted teams. A victory away to Monaghan and at home to Kildare are very possible, and would guarantee promotion. In fact the match against Kildare on Easter Sunday is likely to be a promotion decider.

Do you fancy a weekend in rainy Naas instead?????????
Post by: Onion Bag on March 22, 2012, 01:57:47 PM
I see Aidan Forker got a straight red last in the U21 match, thats him and C Mc Keever out, jesus we wil struggle to get a team together for this one, between suspensions, injuries and the cross lads missing for another unexpected 2 weeks, its hard not to look past another hiding here
Post by: southdown on March 22, 2012, 03:40:22 PM
Anything can happen in a derby.  Sometimes in Down we get ahead of ourselves after a few victories only to be brought back to earth with a bang.  On paper and on recent form we should win but I wont be putting any money on it. Our recent record against Armagh is poor.
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 22, 2012, 04:24:34 PM
Hard to call. I think that Down will probably shade it. Which means Armagh will win.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 22, 2012, 06:15:12 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on March 22, 2012, 04:32:53 PM
Surely unless it was a Category 4 offence the 'same code and at the same level' applies - in other words would it just apply to the U21s? These rules confuse me sometimes...

To be honest, I'm not 100% sure myself, I just assumed.
Post by: onefaircounty on March 22, 2012, 10:00:48 PM
He's named anyway.
Post by: mountainboii on March 22, 2012, 10:02:30 PM
NFL: Armagh v Down
Saturday 24th March , 2012 at 7pm
in the Morgan Athletic Grounds

1. PHILIP Mc EVOY
2. ANDY MALLON
3. DECLAN Mc KENNA
4. FINNIAN MORIARTY
5. KEVIN DYAS
6. CHARLIE VERNON
7. PAUL DUFFY
8. PETER CARRAGHER
9. BILLY JOE PADDEN
10. AIDEN FORKER
11. COLM WATTERS
12. ANTO DUFFY
13. CAOLAN RAFFERTY
14. BRIAN MALLON
15. GAVIN Mc PARLAND

16. NIALL GEOGHAN
17. JOHN KINGHAM
18. DAVID LAVERY
19. MARK SHIELDS
20. RORY GRUGAN
21. PAUL CARVILL
22. BRENDAN DONAGHY
23. RYAN RAFFERTY
24. STEFAN CAMPBELL
25. JAMES LAVERY
26. MICHAEL STEVENSON
Post by: yellowcard on March 22, 2012, 11:59:34 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 22, 2012, 10:02:30 PM

1. PHILIP Mc EVOY
2. ANDY MALLON
3. DECLAN Mc KENNA
4. FINNIAN MORIARTY
5. KEVIN DYAS
6. CHARLIE VERNON
7. PAUL DUFFY
8. PETER CARRAGHER
9. BILLY JOE PADDEN
10. AIDEN FORKER
11. COLM WATTERS
12. ANTO DUFFY
13. CAOLAN RAFFERTY
14. BRIAN MALLON
15. GAVIN Mc PARLAND

16. NIALL GEOGHAN
17. JOHN KINGHAM
18. DAVID LAVERY
19. MARK SHIELDS
20. RORY GRUGAN
21. PAUL CARVILL
22. BRENDAN DONAGHY
23. RYAN RAFFERTY
24. STEFAN CAMPBELL
25. JAMES LAVERY
26. MICHAEL STEVENSON

Does anyone know why Carragher was named on the senior team for both weekends either side of the U-21 c'ship game?

I'd heard last week that he was not going to be considered for the U-21s if he played last weekend for the seniors but then when he was taken off early in last weekends game just assumed he was injured. Seems like there imust be some truth in the original theory. Another example of lack of co-operation between senior and U-21.

Also how can Donaghy be deemed not fit to start yet take his place on the bench? Baffling!

Post by: Orior on March 23, 2012, 12:06:42 AM
Lets hope they've been practising their hand passes.
Post by: mountainboii on March 23, 2012, 12:36:37 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 22, 2012, 11:59:34 PM
Does anyone know why Carragher was named on the senior team for both weekends either side of the U-21 c'ship game?

I'd heard last week that he was not going to be considered for the U-21s if he played last weekend for the seniors but then when he was taken off early in last weekends game just assumed he was injured. Seems like there imust be some truth in the original theory. Another example of lack of co-operation between senior and U-21.

Also how can Donaghy be deemed not fit to start yet take his place on the bench? Baffling!

Carragher is a funny one. Though, I can't see why he would've faced any such ultimatum when several other lads were able to line out for both sides.

The Donaghy thing isn't that baffling really. He's obviously not 100%. Ideally things go alright and he's not risked at all, but he's there on the bench as a last resort in case things are going completely shiteways.
Post by: Throw ball on March 23, 2012, 12:43:32 AM
From what is available the team is fair enough. Despite the loss last week they played well - up to the scoring bit! Charlie played well when he came on and is probably the right man to take over from McKeever. Good to see Grugan on the way back from injury. Only question I would ask is where is M o'Rourke. He played well when he came on last week?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 23, 2012, 12:44:37 AM
Andy Mallon is the most experienced Armagh player, or would it be Brian?
Post by: Onion Bag on March 23, 2012, 07:24:58 AM
Andy
Post by: goldenyears on March 23, 2012, 08:22:53 AM
MOR broke his thumb last week from what I hear
Post by: western exile on March 23, 2012, 08:29:51 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on March 23, 2012, 12:44:37 AM
I would have thought that the most experienced footballer on that named 15 is BJP
Post by: Agent Orange on March 23, 2012, 08:35:13 AM
Quote from: western exile on March 23, 2012, 08:29:51 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on March 23, 2012, 12:44:37 AM
I would have thought that the most experienced footballer on that named 15 is BJP

He is from Mayo. ;)
Post by: regal on March 23, 2012, 08:41:34 AM
Quote from: AFS on March 22, 2012, 10:02:30 PM

1. PHILIP Mc EVOY
2. ANDY MALLON
3. DECLAN Mc KENNA
4. FINNIAN MORIARTY
5. KEVIN DYAS
6. CHARLIE VERNON
7. PAUL DUFFY
8. PETER CARRAGHER
9. BILLY JOE PADDEN
10. AIDEN FORKER
11. COLM WATTERS
12. ANTO DUFFY
13. CAOLAN RAFFERTY
14. BRIAN MALLON
15. GAVIN Mc PARLAND

16. NIALL GEOGHAN
17. JOHN KINGHAM
18. DAVID LAVERY
19. MARK SHIELDS
20. RORY GRUGAN
21. PAUL CARVILL
22. BRENDAN DONAGHY
23. RYAN RAFFERTY
24. STEFAN CAMPBELL
25. JAMES LAVERY
26. MICHAEL STEVENSON

The team looks depressingly week up the middle and you would presume Down will own the midfield.

How come Aidan Forker is named when he received a straight red for the U21s - can he still play this weekend?

I would like to have seen Geoghan in nets, Lavery in midfield and Campbell at 14. When Lavery cant make this team he must be wondering what future he has at this level.
Post by: Agent Orange on March 23, 2012, 08:47:29 AM
Quote from: regal on March 23, 2012, 08:41:34 AM
The team looks depressingly week up the middle and you would presume Down will own the midfield.

Down have probably the worst midfield in the division. Even with a weakend midfield Armagh will at least break even. King has 2 speeds, slow and stop.

Armagh look very weak up front, but Down have the worst defence in the league. Its a derby, there won't be much in it and home advantage might just be the winning of it.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 23, 2012, 09:57:27 AM
Quote from: Agent Orange on March 23, 2012, 08:47:29 AM
Quote from: regal on March 23, 2012, 08:41:34 AM

Down have probably the worst midfield in the division. Even with a weakend midfield Armagh will at least break even. King has 2 speeds, slow and stop.

Armagh look very weak up front, but Down have the worst defence in the league. Its a derby, there won't be much in it and home advantage might just be the winning of it.

Very brave boasting there. I'm sure your fellow county men wouldn't be so boastful. On one small point though If Down have conceded 6-55 (73) and Armagh have conceded 7-63 (84) how do you make out Down have the worst defence in the league when they haven't even got the worst defence in the division?

Must say the events of the last week have me worried about the galvanising effect they may have on Armagh. Armagh are going to be well behind at the bookies and that is a very motivating place to be in. No doubt Down have more first team players available but the match against Kerry and Dublin proved attitude is everything.

On the other hand Armagh's big occasion men are mostly missing - Clarke, McDonnell, A Kernan, McKeever. These are the men Armagh normally look to to dig them out when things are against them. In Dan Gordon, Kalum King and Ambrose Rogers, Down will have more than enough talent around the middle as they proved against Dublin. But if they go in without a 100% attitude then Paddy will have  Armagh fired up with a siege mentality and we could end up chasing shadows.

The team willing to give the most is the more likely to win.
Post by: Agent Orange on March 23, 2012, 10:36:02 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on March 23, 2012, 09:57:27 AM
The team willing to give the most is the more likely to win.

No shit Sherlock.

In the absence of a proper full back, Gordon spends more time there than he does at midfield. Rogers is more often injured than not and King has only ever shown that he is not good enough at this level.

I admire your confidence though, especially after your last visit to Armagh.

Will Eoin McCartan start again? ROFL
Post by: western exile on March 23, 2012, 01:12:37 PM
Down team v Armagh 24th March 2012:
1 Brendan McVeigh
2 Daniel McCartan
3 Conor Garvey
4 Aiden Branigan
5 Niall McParland
6 Dan Gordan
7 Kevin McKernan
8 Ambrose Rogers
9 Kalum King
10 Daniel Hughes
11 Mark Poland
12 Aidan Carr
13 Conor Maginn
14 Brendan Coulter
15 Conor Laverty
Post by: Dont Matter on March 23, 2012, 01:48:33 PM
Just a word of warning to Down. Bring your own cameras and place them down the tunnel and maybe have the players mike'd up.
You have to do this just incase Armagh lose.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 23, 2012, 02:09:23 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on March 23, 2012, 10:36:02 AM
...In the absence of a proper full back, Gordon spends more time there than he does at midfield. Rogers is more often injured than not and King has only ever shown that he is not good enough at this level.

I admire your confidence though, especially after your last visit to Armagh....

There was nothing confident about what I said. I said that either team could win it - where is the confidence in that? All I did was point out that we have conceded 11 points less than Armagh which brings in to question the assertion we have the worst defence in the league.

Poor Kalum King, never proved himself at this level has he, not even when he was All-Star nominated in 2010; yeah never proved himself to anyone at this level. As for Rogers he has had a long time injury and now is fit. Do you really mean to tell me you think you can dismiss a player because he used to be injured? Because I am sure you are aware that never in the history of sport has a player ever performed well after recovering from injury!!!
Post by: Agent Orange on March 23, 2012, 08:19:02 PM
RTE tipping Armagh

"Likely to need at least one win from the final games, this game will define the Orchard league's season and after a difficult week, they should end the bad run and have a firmer position for the final day."

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2012/0323/313292-down-looking-for-win-over-ulster-rivals-armagh/
Post by: mountainboii on March 23, 2012, 09:01:48 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on March 23, 2012, 08:19:02 PM
RTE tipping Armagh

FFS, hardly any point even heading now.
Post by: under the bar on March 23, 2012, 11:52:58 PM
Who could rule out a Down romp in the park massacre for Armagh? 
Post by: borderfox on March 24, 2012, 12:03:21 AM
Quote from: Dont Matter on March 23, 2012, 01:48:33 PM
Just a word of warning to Down. Bring your own cameras and place them down the tunnel and maybe have the players mike'd up.
You have to do this just incase Armagh lose.

;D Cant see our fellow Brits sledging us in a partitionist way. Maybe we could all sing GSTQ together in the tunnel, Or perhaps take it down from the mast Irish Traitors would be more apt.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on March 24, 2012, 09:39:29 AM
See McKeever has had his suspension lifted pending on an investigation therefore freeing him to play tonight.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 24, 2012, 10:00:59 AM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on March 24, 2012, 09:39:29 AM
See McKeever has had his suspension lifted pending on an investigation therefore freeing him to play tonight.

Would imagine he will lined out at 6 with Vernon in the MF instead of Carragher.  Certainly stronger for that but I reckon Down look a fair bit stronger around the middle and that could be key.  Lavery would be useful against King as both are similar beasts, great at winning ball but not the most mobile.  I would nearly push Lavery into MF instead of JP and push Padden into the FF line, particularly if McParland isn't fit.
Post by: SHEEDY on March 24, 2012, 10:44:36 AM
was confident of a down win earlier in the week but less so now mckeever is back. his presence will give armagh a huge lift. still think we might just sneak it though. down to win by 2-3 pts.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 24, 2012, 05:10:22 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 24, 2012, 10:00:59 AM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on March 24, 2012, 09:39:29 AM

Would imagine he will lined out at 6 with Vernon in the MF instead of Carragher.  Certainly stronger for that but I reckon Down look a fair bit stronger around the middle and that could be key.  Lavery would be useful against King as both are similar beasts, great at winning ball but not the most mobile.  I would nearly push Lavery into MF instead of JP and push Padden into the FF line, particularly if McParland isn't fit.
Lavery would indeed be capable of nulifying King. Armagh are suddenly a whole lot stronger. In one move their half back line is stronger andthe midfield is stronger. If BJP is released to the forwards then that is another strengthening. That means Armagh have two very inspirational players to fire them up.

down will need to be on their best form to win this one. Can't see much more than a few points in it. I have a sneaky feeling Down may build a good lead at some point but with McKeever and Vernon in their correct positions I can see Armagh coming back.
Post by: Oraisteach on March 24, 2012, 07:06:54 PM
Radio coverage, anyone?
Post by: JP on March 24, 2012, 07:08:54 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on March 24, 2012, 07:06:54 PM
Radio coverage, anyone?

http://www.destinationnewry.com/video/latest-video/down_v_armagh_live_
Post by: Oraisteach on March 24, 2012, 07:13:37 PM
Thanks JP
Post by: lawnseed on March 24, 2012, 07:42:19 PM
far too many hand passes from armagh in the middle third of the field giving down plenty of time to funnel back
Post by: lawnseed on March 24, 2012, 07:52:35 PM
more of the same, lets see what action homer will take to remedy this problem.  ::)
Post by: PatDaly on March 24, 2012, 08:22:17 PM
Armagh 1-10 Down 0-11
Post by: PatDaly on March 24, 2012, 08:30:05 PM
Armagh 1-10 Down 0-13
Post by: PatDaly on March 24, 2012, 08:37:29 PM
Down 0-16 Armagh 1-12 about 6 mins left
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 24, 2012, 08:51:22 PM
Top result for the Armagh men, enough to stay up?
Post by: borderfox on March 24, 2012, 08:51:27 PM
Its over Armagh win :)
Post by: bcarrier on March 24, 2012, 08:55:17 PM
Game turned on penalty dive that Drogba would be proud of. It was generally a good sporting game spoiled by this piece of orange gamesmanship.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 24, 2012, 09:01:39 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on March 24, 2012, 08:55:17 PM
Game turned on penalty dive that Drogba would be proud of. It was generally a good sporting game spoiled by this piece of orange gamesmanship.

Square ball Coulter.
Post by: David McKeown on March 24, 2012, 09:03:19 PM

Bollocks poor ref kept Down in the match. As clear a penalty as you'll see. Armagh fully deserved the win
Post by: johnpower on March 24, 2012, 09:04:50 PM
Good match with some good scores Ref seemed to do ok (i missed the penalty decision)
Post by: bcarrier on March 24, 2012, 09:05:58 PM
I am sorry I didnt do a screen capture. Dive of the year. It was an afterthought at that.
Post by: JP on March 24, 2012, 09:07:47 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on March 24, 2012, 09:05:58 PM
I am sorry I didnt do a screen capture. Dive of the year. It was an afterthought at that.

the penalty was given because a Down man touched it on the ground!!
Post by: bcarrier on March 24, 2012, 09:09:48 PM
If that was the case so be it. If you have a chance observe the late dive though.
Post by: balladmaker on March 24, 2012, 09:11:04 PM
Some result for Armagh given the absentee list, still need a win against Donegal.
Post by: Ulick on March 24, 2012, 09:12:49 PM
A very entertaining win over Down seniors by Armagh reserves. Quick dash back to Beal Feirste now to celebrate  ;D
Post by: Smokin Joe on March 24, 2012, 09:13:32 PM
Penalty was for a clear foot block by the Down defender
Post by: David McKeown on March 24, 2012, 09:15:46 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 24, 2012, 09:13:32 PM
Penalty was for a clear foot block by the Down defender

That's how it looked to me too
Post by: Sandy Hill on March 24, 2012, 09:15:55 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on March 24, 2012, 09:11:04 PM
Some result for Armagh given the absentee list, still need a win against Donegal.
I think a draw against Donegal would be enough to keep us up.
Post by: bennydorano on March 24, 2012, 09:32:56 PM
Well done Armagh, great night's entertainment.  Caolan Rafferty MOTM for me by a very big margin (who did Setanta give it to?).  Good overall team performance, young Stevenson did very well on his debut as well.  Very impressive movement at times and with the fellas missing it would have to give you heart.
Post by: Smokin Joe on March 24, 2012, 09:34:15 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 24, 2012, 09:32:56 PM
Well done Armagh, great night's entertainment.  Caolan Rafferty MOTM for me by a very big margin (who did Setanta give it to?).  Good overall team performance, young Stevenson did very well on his debut as well.  Very impressive movement at times and with the fellas missing it would have to give you heart.

Poland got the Setanta mom.
Post by: Orior on March 24, 2012, 09:40:40 PM
Typical Armagh.

Just when you're about to give up on the whole season, they pull off a remarkable result. Sill, I'm not throwing away the cushions yet, as it could be back to earth with a bump next match.
Post by: Armamike on March 24, 2012, 09:49:25 PM
Exciting match, played at championship pace, end to end stuff.  Rafferty and Stevenson did well in the forwards, McKeever and Donaghy immense in defence. Very good performance and result considering the whole list of absentees.  We're cursed with injuries though - horrible luck for Peter Carragher, broken leg again. Hope he has a speedy recovery. And Grugan going off injured after only coming on and coming back for injury. This shite run with injuries is bound to end soon?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 24, 2012, 09:58:20 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 24, 2012, 09:49:25 PM
Exciting match, played at championship pace, end to end stuff.  Rafferty and Stevenson did well in the forwards, McKeever and Donaghy immense in defence. Very good performance and result considering the whole list of absentees.  We're cursed with injuries though - horrible luck for Peter Carragher, broken leg again. Hope he has a speedy recovery. And Grugan going off injured after only coming on and coming back for injury. This shite run with injuries is bound to end soon?

Would anyone have considered Stevenson for a call up before today? Bar the Dublin game it seems that we could be looking at a very strong team with the experience these players are getting.
Post by: Armamike on March 24, 2012, 10:01:43 PM
He showed a lot of confidence and swagger for a lad making his debut - he sunk a few good frees without a trace of nerves. 
Post by: ONeill on March 24, 2012, 10:02:23 PM
Armagh for Sam again.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 24, 2012, 10:06:20 PM
Ulster title first.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 24, 2012, 10:07:16 PM
Just back home from a fantastic match, carragher must be the unluckiest man on earth, 2 broken legs in 3 seasons and was going well too, scored a fantastic point.
But what really made my night, I had the pleasure of sitting beside Peter the great!!
Post by: Orior on March 24, 2012, 10:13:36 PM
Sky Sports were in Portidown this evening along with 300-400 people max watching a soccer match.

What a pity they didnt go to Armagh city instead!
Post by: bennydorano on March 24, 2012, 10:14:48 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 24, 2012, 07:52:35 PM
more of the same, lets see what action homer will take to remedy this problem.  ::)
::) indeed, you're some boy.
Post by: naka on March 24, 2012, 10:15:31 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 24, 2012, 10:07:16 PM
Just back home from a fantastic match, carragher must be the unluckiest man on earth, 2 broken legs in 3 seasons and was going well too, scored a fantastic point.
But what really made my night, I had the pleasure of sitting beside Peter the great!!
who was he supporting ?
i am sure he loved mc keever`s performance tonite
Post by: Onion Bag on March 24, 2012, 10:18:30 PM
He has his eye on down with championship coming up
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 24, 2012, 10:19:15 PM
Scrappy affair but still exciting to watch, could have went either way but too often the Down forwards were looking for the perfect score (thankfully), Laverty is too one-footed and turns back on himself so much when the score is on. Can't understand why they put high balls into their full forward line either in the first half, Armagh just lapped it up - tackling in full back line was excellent.

Brian Mallon stood out for me, covered a lot of ground, Rafferty showed well as did Stevenson, lorded a few points from frees and got involved often; acquitted himself really well for a NFL debutant.

Disappointing to see Carragher stretchered off, same for Grugan to pull up again, he had pinged a few lovely passes in the short time he was on.
Post by: Sandy Hill on March 24, 2012, 10:19:53 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 24, 2012, 10:07:16 PM
Who is that?
Post by: Ulick on March 24, 2012, 10:56:05 PM
Peter McDonnell obviously.
Post by: eriugaMS on March 24, 2012, 11:47:10 PM
For me MOTM had to be Donaghy. He lapped up everything that came into the full back line ably assisted by A Mallon. How many times did Donaghy look exposed 1 on 1 and come out with the ball. Excellent full back display.

Your heart has to go out to Carragher. Was putting in a good shift and just seemed to land awkwardly.

A lot of poor performances from Armagh Too.  For me Dyas does not cut it at this level. he gets the ball and slows down and loses momentum. He gives terrible passes and pulls out of tackles.

David Lavery did nothing when he came on and was rightly taken off. Big Kingham was similar.

James Lavery did really well in the second half and helped us to win back midfield. I know he gets some stick from a few quarters but he can field a ball and that is what we needed.

Rafferty was lively all night and a great distribution. Good hands and held possession well. Great game from him.

Stevenson hit a few class frees. Had a good night also.

Had to laugh at a few Down head the balls in the crowd. Most rose tinted supporters i have seen for many a year.

Good win but still a lot of places up for grabs.

The two man full forward line did their chances for the summer no harm tonight
Post by: mountainboii on March 25, 2012, 12:22:48 AM
The rollercoaster rolls on. Fantastic effort tonight, soured only by that horrible injury to Pete Carragher. The lad is probably the most naturally talented midfielder we've produced in a decade but he just has no luck. From the early soundings of things, it could be a break in the same place as last time, so you'd fear that he'll be out for a long time.

The next person that questions Paddy O'Rourke's loyalties, or the players' commitment to the man, needs a boot in the hole. Well played tonight with a sensible defensively orientated game plan. Though, how he and the men round him looked at Anto Duffy, who was clean bucked, for the last fifteen minutes I'll never know.

But for the two early yips, McEvoy had a good game. Two good saves and some clever, varied kickouts.

Full back line were excellent. Struggled a couple of times with the flight of the ball in a strong breeze during the first half, but came out on top in most battles. Donaghy is a class act. Thought Dyas had one of his better games; very composed on the ball but could back himself to shoot a bit more often. Not so sure about Paul Duffy nor Moriarty, they look like the two most likely to drop out for any returning Cross men. I don't like the way Duffy is content to let his man win the ball uncontested and then try to stand him up, and Moriarty is still a free machine (though, his point was very well taken). McKeever was superb; well know for the darker arts, but, as that equalising score demonstrated, a very talented footballer to boot.

Thought Carragher was motoring nicely before the injury, which makes it all the worse. Vernon was just alright. Lavery put in another solid substitute shift.

Brian Mallon is playing well, more consistent than he has been for a while; has a very strong claim for the CHF spot come the Tyrone game. Anto Duffy is a very useful outlet, usually full of running and an option for the odd kick out. But I thought he was a passenger for the last 15 tonight; he stopped tracking runners and laid the ball off as soon as he could when he got it. Grugan looked tidy on the ball in his short spell. Pity he had to go off, but at least it didn't look like a recurrence of the previous injury. If Rafferty could score more he'd be a serious addition; great movement and good hands, but doesn't back himself often enough. The point he did hit show he has it in him. Stevenson was a welcome surprise. Came from nowhere to make a match winning contribution. With a ref that thought he was in the middle of a netball game, having a good freetaker was crucial; Down had theirs and luckily enough we included one of our own.

Could have went either way, but with the players we're missing, every success in this division deserves to be met with a good dose of praise. Though, the way things have been going this year, we'll probably have half a dozen lads suspended or injured during the week and then get tanked and relegated up in Ballybofey.
Post by: Scarface on March 25, 2012, 12:29:16 AM
Great result for Armagh tonight. Thought they played really well - were very hungry for it. Brian Mallon was very good as was B Donaghy and A Mallon. McKeever as solid as ever and kicked a quite inspirational point. Lavery really helped the midfield win some ball again and put in a few nice shoulders which he could do even more. Felt sorry for Pete Carragher. It happened close to where I was sitting and you could hear the crack. Nothing malicious in it just a bad collision and the leg looked pretty bad. Hope he recovers soon. High intensity for a league game and was well worth the admission price I thought.
Post by: winsamsoon on March 25, 2012, 12:48:47 AM
This was a good result for Armagh but i'm still wondering how the hell they pulled it off. Beating a down side that beat dublin(who tanked Armagh) think it is fair to say the Athletic grounds suit our lads to a tee. Few points though , 1/ Armagh will never again be as lucky ie the break of the post for the penalty ( which was rightly awasrded for a foot block) and the scores they hit will simply not all go over the next day. Three scores standing out Moriarty, Mc Keever and mallons with the left peg. 2/At last Armagh have woken up and realised that the way forward in football is not ogres and power houses. Young Stevenson is a clinking prospect as are a few of his brothers and everyone of them are small but highly effective players. Great to see that lad get his chance and it will be a step backwards if he is dropped for the next game. I would like to see a few of these other big men phased out of the Armagh team and a few other footballers brought into the first 15. Rafferty aswell had a great game and it will only do wonders for him 9again not an overly big man but has a footballing brain and is mobile. The more options you have in gaelic football the easier the game becomes. IMO Vernon offers nothing, gets the ball and just ducks the head and the amount of possession he looses is shocking. Lavery will never do at midfield and he is similiar to vernon and hasn't the brain to catch the ball and lay it off(if he could do that he may be effective) for me a team has to be mobile and strong down the middle and i think Armagh have the squad there to make a very good team but O'Rourke needs to utilise the players in the correct positions. The cross contingent wil further stregthen this team and the summer isn't jut looking as bleak as was thought by some. so good win but must build now on it. Also hope that lad Carraghers injury isn't as serious as feared. i wish him a speedy recovery. 
Post by: Leo on March 25, 2012, 08:10:09 AM
Quote from: JP on March 24, 2012, 09:07:47 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on March 24, 2012, 09:05:58 PM

the penalty was given because a Down man touched it on the ground!!

Touched on the ground or foot block - take your choice ,, but you have to say that the  ref could have taken it himself the way he was going, having failed to take action on  a series of heavy fouls on Danny Hughes and ignoring the "outstanding" second half push-in-the-back contribution of James Lavery. Did he over-rule the umpire on the point that wasn't?
Having said that it was a committed Armagh performance and Down must look at themselves, bombing silly high ball into Laverty for about 15 minutes in the firsy half, McKernan was woeful (apart from a deadly point) giving his man the freedom of the park in the first half and rank bad passing in the second, while the introduction of Ben O'Reilly who missed the sitter at the end was baffling.Poland was full of skill, vision and courage.
Good luck to the unfortunate Carragher - was playing well too.
Great displays by Donaghy & Stevenson for Armagh and I hope both teams stay up.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 25, 2012, 09:26:26 AM
Congratulations Armagh who won a pulsating game that was full of energy and commitment. Whoever won this game would have had the fans leaving saying that they deserved it because the end result wasn't about who has the best players or the better chances. It was about after emptying the tank who produced that inch of effort more. Armagh did.

I doubt there are any Armagh supporters who would fail to agree that in the end Down had their chances to draw or even win. It was that close. But at the end of the day the only thing that matters is that in such a tight match one team manages to edge that little bit more from the game - Armagh.

From a Down prespective I have to say that I was very dissapointed with our LHS defence. We allowed Armagh to shoot time and again from that wing and most of the attacks came down there too. Dan McCartan was screaming at McKernan in the second half who twice allowed point scoring shots to be made without getting close enough to his man to block or even put him off. Other than that you have to say Down players gave a great effort, alothough the defenders were slow to help attack after a trun-over. Likewise Armagh players really showed fantastic desire and effort.

The saddest thing for me though is not the defeat but the injury to your man Rafferty. I wish him all the best and hope he can recover. It really put a bit of a black cloud over the night.
Post by: Scarface on March 25, 2012, 09:45:17 AM
It was young Carragher that got the bad injury mate.
Post by: SHEEDY on March 25, 2012, 11:00:43 AM
disappointed with the loss last night. it says a lot for the fighting qualities, commitment and skill of the armagh boys that despite having so many players missing they could still put in a performance like that.

down played ok in patches but thought they were to loose in defence giving armagh forwards to much room. our half forward line was our most effective with mark poland and aiden carr again having good games. danny hughes done well despite getting no protection from a referee, who i  thought was really poor. need a big performance now in laois to avoid possible relegation.
Post by: Dont Matter on March 25, 2012, 11:08:57 AM
Armagh won so there's no need to run to the papers with any stories of abuse now.
Maybe Down have something to complain about? Did someone from Armagh call you Irish and you got offended?
Post by: charlieTully on March 25, 2012, 11:16:38 AM
Quote from: Dont Matter on March 25, 2012, 11:08:57 AM
Armagh won so there's no need to run to the papers with any stories of abuse now.
Maybe Down have something to complain about? Did someone from Armagh call you Irish and you got offended?

from the county that gave us the orange order and billy wright.
Post by: alba2 on March 25, 2012, 11:27:05 AM
Quote from: SHEEDY on March 25, 2012, 11:00:43 AM
disappointed with the loss last night. it says a lot for the fighting qualities, commitment and skill of the armagh boys that despite having so many players missing they could still put in a performance like that.

down played ok in patches but thought they were to loose in defence giving armagh forwards to much room. our half forward line was our most effective with mark poland and aiden carr again having good games. danny hughes done well despite getting no protection from a referee, who i  thought was really poor. need a big performance now in laois to avoid possible relegation.

Aidan Carr having a good game - are you having a laugh? He hit some wonderful scores from free kicks - but carrying a lazy player who gets in no tackles nor makes little contribution to general play is a joke.  But then again - drop him and ross writes another article and it all gets embarrassing.  I thought we shoulod have had a goal in the first half - ball was maybe bit behind mc cartan for him to palm it home - but it was tit for tat in the second.  Think Mc Kernan needs wee while on the bench too until h learns how to defend.  Ambrose is slowly getting back to his best and put in another good shift as did Hughes and Poland.  Laverty in flashes was good - But the rest were average. Really thought against a second string Armagh team we would win in style and with ease - but maybe we just are not as good as we think.  Players and management need to realise this too and get back to basics - hard work, tackling, working together and winning.  James spends too much time shouting at officials about stupid things.  Sort out the players on your own team and let the officials do their own job.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 25, 2012, 12:06:25 PM
CHC Decides to give Grimley a 4 week ban instead of 16 weeks.
Post by: illdecide on March 25, 2012, 12:19:46 PM
Impressed by Armagh last nite, Donaghy and Mallon in FB line were good and McKeever was solid and scored a v good pt (down man charged into McKeever when he was on the ground with his knee's to McKeevers head/face and Ciaran got up and helped the Down man up and gave him a pat for it ;D) Not impressed by P Duffy and Dyas at all TBH, midfield was ok and held their own. Thought Rafferty was v good along with B Mallon and young Stevenson.

I have to say the Down management were far too slow to react to a situation in the 1st half...they left Dan Gordon on Rafferty all half and he was cleaned out, totally isolated there and was stupid. Dan is a quality footballer and should have been moved further out the field (which they eventually did in 2nd half), D Hughes is also quality and showed it last nite he was everywhere and ran himself into the ground. Good game and enjoyed it but thought Down made more errors and Down management were a bit slow to react at times (but not complaining ;), maybe A O'Rourke's doing ok :D)
Post by: lawnseed on March 25, 2012, 12:21:52 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 24, 2012, 10:14:48 PM
the result shows the wealth of talent that is sitting ready to be managed properly in our county. i'm delighted that we still have a chance to stay up. but even you benny have to question these results. stuff by dublin beaten by mayo both teams that this down team handled easily. down are not as good as armagh  on paper but they could have won last night. i think we have a good squad and i want the best for them i just dont see por as the man to manage them past 2 or 3 games in the championship. last night was great and i think we have a chance against donegal but there no consistancy, great individual performances wont be enough
Post by: seanaglis on March 25, 2012, 12:34:12 PM
Couple of points:

1. Down fans need to dry their eyes about Danny Hughes. He won 2 or 3 frees for blatent dives where he took a tumble followed by a bit of rolling around on the ground. The armagh fans were getting on the back of the ref for awarding them, and he finally copped on to what Hughes was at and stopped giving the frees.

2. Dont know why Aidan Brannigan was subbed for Down. He was very effective at breaking up the RHS of the pitch and set up several scores. When Quinn came on for him that threat disappeared and Armagh clawed back the Down lead.

3. It was a clear penalty for a foot block by a Down defender.

4. Good to see armagh youngsters like Decan McKenna, Caolan Rafferty and Michael Stevenson step up to the plate at this level.

5. Dont think that Kevin Dyas is up to it, and there are better options than him fir a half-back slot

Post by: Dubh driocht on March 25, 2012, 12:37:55 PM
I enjoyed the game despite the result and it confirmed the impression over the last few years that there is little between the teams. Therefore, looking at the respective performances against the Dubs you would have to ask yourself ; how many AI finals would Down and Armagh get to if the big championship games were played at Pairc Esler or MAG rather than Croke Park ? While the GAA need the Dubs doing well etc.. while we must make use of our national treasure that is CP etc.. while the capital of our country is the right venue for AI QFs/SFs/Finals etc .. the reality is we put manners on the Dubs in Newry yet they destroyed a compatible team in CP the week before.
Post by: Agent Orange on March 25, 2012, 03:07:25 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on March 23, 2012, 02:09:23 PM
Poor Kalum King, never proved himself at this level has he, not even when he was All-Star nominated in 2010; yeah never proved himself to anyone at this level. As for Rogers he has had a long time injury and now is fit. Do you really mean to tell me you think you can dismiss a player because he used to be injured? Because I am sure you are aware that never in the history of sport has a player ever performed well after recovering from injury!!!

King was so good he was taken off, how was he left on for so long?
Rogers spent more time on the floor than on his feet, doesn't look fit. Has he recovered fully?
Eoin McCartan, need I say more? If his name was anything but McCartan he wouldn't be allowed to carry the water. Need I go on?

Armagh were up for it, Down were too cocky and yet again left the Athletic Grounds with their tails between the legs, but it was a good game, two well matched teams neither of wich was helped by the referee. If thats your best 15 you will have a very short summer, Fermanagh have little to worry them.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 25, 2012, 03:15:14 PM
What is the lowest division Armagh have been in?
Post by: Armamike on March 25, 2012, 03:26:27 PM
You won the game and got lucky with the sending off so dry em.
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 25, 2012, 03:34:35 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on March 25, 2012, 11:16:38 AM

from the county that gave us the orange order and billy wright.
Couldn't stoop any lower there Charlie if you tried.. Then again you're from Down so you probably could.
Post by: mountainboii on March 25, 2012, 03:41:12 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on March 25, 2012, 03:15:14 PM
What is the lowest division Armagh have been in?

Strange question. We'd have spent time in the bottom division during the bad spells. Have heard of a time when only Kilkenny were below us in the league ladder.
Post by: mountainboii on March 25, 2012, 03:42:58 PM
Quote from: seanaglis on March 25, 2012, 12:34:12 PM
Couple of points:

1. Down fans need to dry their eyes about Danny Hughes. He won 2 or 3 frees for blatent dives where he took a tumble followed by a bit of rolling around on the ground. The armagh fans were getting on the back of the ref for awarding them, and he finally copped on to what Hughes was at and stopped giving the frees.

Correct. Watched the game back on Setanta this morning and even wee Pete made mention of Hughes' 'exaggerated falls'.
Post by: red n black on March 25, 2012, 04:00:34 PM
I knew from the first few minutes that Down could be in trouble, the gaping space between the mid and half forward line was are undoing. Too many high balls were coming into Lavery who is a small but very skillful player each getting mopped up and starting a counter attack. Armagh were very hungry and only for Ambrose in the midfield we would have got nought in terms of breaking ball. There was still a lot of positives

1) Danny Hughes & Dan Gordon WORLD CLASS
2) Aidan Carrs free taking
3) Burgers
4) The referee was consistent... (in armaghs favour)

All in all it was a derby match played with passion and intensity and to that end cannot be a serious marker as to position either of the two sides, a good game all the same.
Post by: Leo on March 25, 2012, 05:19:34 PM
Couple of points:

Way off the mark. Hughes suffered abuse evey time - including a few clothes line jobs - and Coldrick ignored it - even late on whern a two-hand push in the back that you could have seen from Derrynoose was waved away.  Way off mark with this point.

2. Dont know why Aidan Brannigan was subbed for Down. He was very effective at breaking up the RHS of the pitch and set up several scores. When Quinn came on for him that threat disappeared and Armagh clawed back the Down lead.

Fair point. Branigann isn'teveryone's cup of tea but was donig grand.

Couldn't see from where I was but can't dispute that.

4. Good to see armagh youngsters like Decan McKenna, Caolan Rafferty and Michael Stevenson step up to the plate at this level.

Yea, I was impressed by those guys.

5. Dont think that Kevin Dyas is up to it, and there are better options than him fir a half-back slot
Post by: Leo on March 25, 2012, 05:33:50 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on March 25, 2012, 03:07:25 PM
Poor Kalum King, never proved himself at this level has he, not even when he was All-Star nominated in 2010; yeah never proved himself to anyone at this level.
As for Rogers he has had a long time injury and now is fit. Do you really mean to tell me you think you can dismiss a player because he used to be injured? Because I am sure you are aware that never in the history of sport has a player ever performed well after recovering from injury!!!

King never got an All-Star nomination so check your facts - but he is as honest in endeavour as the day is long.

Rogers spent more time on the floor than on his feet, doesn't look fit. Has he recovered fully?
His visits to the floor usually followed full frontal assaults that Coldick apparently couldn't see -  ffs one of them late on he gave a s afree against Ambrose who had been pummelled to the ground - go figure! - Rodgers is a very honset skilfull footballer betrayed by pathetic refereeing standards.
[/i]
Eoin McCartan, need I say more? If his name was anything but McCartan he wouldn't be allowed to carry the water. Need I go on?

Last week I  would have agreed but actually last night he was quite impressive.Your denigration can only be based on pre-conceived bias and you should just stand back and see a bigger picture.

Armag bh were up for it, Down were too cocky and yet again left the Athletic Grounds with their tails between the legs, but it was a good game, two well matched teams neither of wich was helped by the referee.

Fair enough.
If thats your best 15 you will have a very short summer, Fermanagh have little to worry them.

I'll take odds o Down by 6+ points.
Post by: Armaghgael on March 25, 2012, 06:35:34 PM
Quote from: red n black on March 25, 2012, 04:00:34 PM
I knew from the first few minutes that Down could be in trouble, the gaping space between the mid and half forward line was are undoing. Too many high balls were coming into Lavery who is a small but very skillful player each getting mopped up and starting a counter attack. Armagh were very hungry and only for Ambrose in the midfield we would have got nought in terms of breaking ball. There was still a lot of positives

1) Danny Hughes & Dan Gordon WORLD CLASS
2) Aidan Carrs free taking
3) Burgers
4) The referee was consistent... (in armaghs favour)

All in all it was a derby match played with passion and intensity and to that end cannot be a serious marker as to position either of the two sides, a good game all the same.

He got an awful roasting from Rafferty. IMO he should have been moved far sooner
Post by: Don Johnson on March 25, 2012, 06:39:08 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on March 25, 2012, 03:07:25 PM

Armagh were up for it, Down were too cocky and yet again left the Athletic Grounds with their tails between the legs, but it was a good game, two well matched teams neither of wich was helped by the referee. If thats your best 15 you will have a very short summer, Fermanagh have little to worry them.

Eoin didn't get good service but still scored a couple points from play last night.
Post by: everymanaman on March 25, 2012, 07:29:39 PM
Just saw the penalty Armagh got on TG4 earlier. Have only just managed to get back onto my feet after falling off the chair. Drogba wouldn't have a look in
Post by: Armaghgael on March 25, 2012, 07:34:07 PM
Quote from: everymanaman on March 25, 2012, 07:29:39 PM
Just saw the penalty Armagh got on TG4 earlier. Have only just managed to get back onto my feet after falling off the chair. Drogba wouldn't have a look in

Clear foot block!!
Post by: bennydorano on March 25, 2012, 07:36:41 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 25, 2012, 12:21:52 PM
the result shows the wealth of talent that is sitting ready to be managed properly in our county. i'm delighted that we still have a chance to stay up. but even you benny have to question these results. stuff by dublin beaten by mayo both teams that this down team handled easily. down are not as good as armagh  on paper but they could have won last night. i think we have a good squad and i want the best for them i just dont see por as the man to manage them past 2 or 3 games in the championship. last night was great and i think we have a chance against donegal but there no consistancy, great individual performances wont be enough
Alternatively you could argue that the result is the result of excellent management skills that have so far delivered us 5 points - despite the continuing absence of the Crossmaglen contingent and the plethora of injuries.  You really need to get some perspective, having unrealistic expectations is your problem not the Armagh management's.
Post by: PatDaly on March 25, 2012, 08:00:47 PM
Can anyone confirm if its still possible for both Armagh and Down to get relegated to division 2? If both Armagh and Down lose on April 8th and also assuming Mayo pick up 2 more points would this mean Down and Armagh get relegated?

POS   TEAM   P   W   L   D   F   A   POINTS
1   KERRY   6   5   1   0   96   71   10
2   CORK   6   3   2   1   84   66   7
3   DOWN   6   3   3   0   78   90   6
4   DUBLIN   5   3   2   0   92   70   6
5   ARMAGH   6   2   3   1   78   100   5
6   MAYO   5   2   3   0   65   66   4
7   DONEGAL   6   2   4   0   75   88   4
8   LAOIS   6   2   4   0   79   96   4
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 25, 2012, 08:07:39 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on March 25, 2012, 08:00:47 PM
Can anyone confirm if its still possible for both Armagh and Down to get relegated to division 2? If both Armagh and Down lose on April 8th and also assuming Mayo pick up 2 more points would this mean Down and Armagh get relegated?

POS   TEAM   P   W   L   D   F   A   POINTS
1   KERRY   6   5   1   0   96   71   10
2   CORK   6   3   2   1   84   66   7
3   DOWN   6   3   3   0   78   90   6
4   DUBLIN   5   3   2   0   92   70   6
5   ARMAGH   6   2   3   1   78   100   5
6   MAYO   5   2   3   0   65   66   4
7   DONEGAL   6   2   4   0   75   88   4
8   LAOIS   6   2   4   0   79   96   4

Yes, It can happen.

If Armagh lose, Donegal stay up but Down cant be relegated because they beat Donegal.
If Laois beat Down by 5 or more Down can take Laois place in relegation.
- This assumes that Mayo win both games.

There are many possible scenarios. To keep it simple, Armagh and Down both need a win.
Post by: Orchardman on March 25, 2012, 08:15:11 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 25, 2012, 07:36:41 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 25, 2012, 12:21:52 PM
Alternatively you could argue that the result is the result of excellent management skills that have so far delivered us 5 points - despite the continuing absence of the Crossmaglen contingent and the plethora of injuries.  You really need to get some perspective, having unrealistic expectations is your problem not the Armagh management's.

Exactly, so we win and aparently it shows 'the wealth of talent we have', yet when we lose its POR the donkey, no game plan, rubbish. The only game i've went to this year was in croke park where i seen a load of lads who hadn't a clue, not just the manager's fault when the defender just handpasses the ball right to dublin for a handy goal. Spoke to some men last night though who never miss a game and they were delighted with the team so fair play
Post by: chipstick on March 25, 2012, 09:56:07 PM
Quote from: everymanaman on March 25, 2012, 07:29:39 PM
The penalty was rightly given for a foot block.
Post by: chipstick on March 25, 2012, 10:07:17 PM
Couple of points:

Don't know what you were watching because Dyas didn't play at half back.He had a free role,was composed on the ball and got Armagh out of several awkward situations.Gave away one bad ball towards the end.He should back himself to shoot more often.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 26, 2012, 09:55:58 AM
Quote from: Scarface on March 25, 2012, 09:45:17 AM
It was young Carragher that got the bad injury mate.

Sorry, yes. wasn't thinking when I posted. Yes Carragher. I was very upset to see it. Bad enough any player being so badly injured but to hear that he has just returned from an identical injury is tragic. My heart goes out to him and I wish him all the best with his recovery.

If Armagh and Down win on Easter Sunday they will both be safe. All the woes of the league and threat of relegation will be forgotten but the poor lad will still have his broken leg to live with. As fans, we will move on to thinking about the championship but he won't be able to. I just hope that he can recover fully and regain his county squad place.

By the way, for the record I hope Armagh do survive in Division 1 (with ourselves of course). Saturday night's game was full of all the passion, commitment and excitement that you would want from a GAA derby. Either team could have edged it, congratulations to Armagh for doing so.
Post by: BerfArmagh on March 26, 2012, 10:16:09 AM
Fantastic game played on saturday night in front of a huge crowd, really great atmosphere, i love those games being played under lights. I have to say credit must go to both teams for putting in hugely committed performances. I think some Down fans are being a bit overly critical of their players, i thought they were very unlucky to not get at least a draw, some of their forward player was very good, poland is a fantastic player, as is coulter. Though they did seem to drift across the patch a lot in their attacks. From an Armagh perspective I was delighted, very much under strength the lads gave every thing. Brian Mallon was v good as was stevenson & rafferty. With Mc Parland, clarke etc to come back, we have a much better options in the forwards now than 12 months ago. I must say, Donaghy was absolutely outstanding, indeed the full back line with andy & decky was very solid. Half backs would concern me and mid friled is probably our weakest position at present. Charlie tried hard, but it was clear he was not fully fit. Best wishes to young Carragher, I was right beside it. sickening.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 26, 2012, 12:38:45 PM
It was a two footed block that Victor Wanyama would have been proud of.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 26, 2012, 12:40:18 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 24, 2012, 09:34:15 PM

From Pete McGrath some surprise.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 26, 2012, 01:05:12 PM
Great to see a lot of sense on here from Pauld. Armagh probably just about deserved to win on the night although a draw wouldn't have been unfair. I am at a loss of what to make of POR. The team under him is too inconsistent, but is this down to the players?
For perhaps the first time in a long time I would commend the ref. Even Wee Pete on Setanta said he got all the big calls right. In fairness to him he let the game flow as much as he could and compared to the performances of some refs recently in both hurling and football he was outstanding.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 26, 2012, 01:47:57 PM
POR seems to be giving his all. Great to see him celebrate at the end!

Post by: Scarface on March 26, 2012, 01:49:03 PM
Must also say that there was a really good atmosphere inside the ground on sat night with the crowd being vocal in their support for each team. At last it seems that we have a county ground to be proud of.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 26, 2012, 02:11:42 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on March 26, 2012, 01:05:12 PM
Great to see a lot of sense on here from Pauld. Armagh probably just about deserved to win on the night although a draw wouldn't have been unfair. I am at a loss of what to make of POR. The team under him is too inconsistent, but is this down to the players?
For perhaps the first time in a long time I would commend the ref. Even Wee Pete on Setanta said he got all the big calls right. In fairness to him he let the game flow as much as he could and compared to the performances of some refs recently in both hurling and football he was outstanding.

Maybe so but the umpire in the second half made an eejit of himself by lifting the flag to give a Down score and then changed his mind in a split second to wave it wide :-\
Post by: Armamike on March 26, 2012, 02:15:37 PM
Looked like a blatant dive for the penalty but the damage was done before that when the footblock went in. Stone cold penalty and the right call.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 26, 2012, 04:26:13 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 26, 2012, 02:11:42 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on March 26, 2012, 01:05:12 PM

Maybe so but the umpire in the second half made an eejit of himself by lifting the flag to give a Down score and then changed his mind in a split second to wave it wide :-\
from the tv it appeared wide, even Pete didn't complain.
Post by: Leo on March 26, 2012, 09:07:57 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 26, 2012, 02:15:37 PM
Looked like a blatant dive for the penalty but the damage was done before that when the footblock went in. Stone cold penalty and the right call.

Can't argue whether it was a foot block or other foul as I was too far away so have to accept the ref's call, but the dive that sealed it was extravagant and disgraceful, really disgraceful for a GAA man, and has no place in gaelic football (even if it was perfected by "God" himself a few years back).
On MOM it is hard to disagree with Poland who depite being on the losing team was a whirlwind of craft and skill - although as a Down man I would have diven it to Donaghy.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 26, 2012, 10:07:26 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 26, 2012, 02:11:42 PM

To be fair to the umpire 5 Sams, he kept looking at the other umpire to tell him what it was (and it was genuinely wide). We were guldering at him to wave it wide as he walked around to the post, all the while looking back at his fellow umpire for assistance, and I reckon we made that much noise, he couldn't hear what was said - hence the confusion on his part. 
Post by: bigpaul on March 26, 2012, 11:04:14 PM
Quote from: Leo on March 26, 2012, 09:07:57 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 26, 2012, 02:15:37 PM

Can't argue whether it was a foot block or other foul as I was too far away so have to accept the ref's call, but the dive that sealed it was extravagant and disgraceful, really disgraceful for a GAA man, and has no place in gaelic football (even if it was perfected by "God" himself a few years back).
On MOM it is hard to disagree with Poland who depite being on the losing team was a whirlwind of craft and skill - although as a Down man I would have diven it to Donaghy.

If you watch the recording of that incident you will see that Rafferty was diving over the top of the Down player in an attempt to get to the ball on the ground before the goalkeeper.
Post by: Leonardo on March 28, 2012, 10:24:10 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on March 26, 2012, 12:40:18 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 24, 2012, 09:34:15 PM

From Pete McGrath some surprise.

In fairness to Pete, he had to make a choice approx 5 mins before game ended. At that stage it looked like a Down victory, so perhaps thats what swayed it towards a Down player?
Post by: snoopdog on March 29, 2012, 09:46:29 AM
Quote from: Scarface on March 26, 2012, 01:49:03 PM
Must also say that there was a really good atmosphere inside the ground on sat night with the crowd being vocal in their support for each team. At last it seems that we have a county ground to be proud of.
Sat night was my first visit to the new Athletic grounds and i was very impressed. The stand is good although doesnt have the seat comfort of Newry toilets were poor but they are everywhere apart from croke. Overall a good ground prob the best in Ulster at the moment.

Post by: Sandy Hill on March 29, 2012, 12:11:42 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on March 29, 2012, 09:46:29 AM
Sat night was my first visit to the new Athletic grounds and i was very impressed. The stand is good although doesnt have the seat comfort of Newry toilets were poor but they are everywhere apart from croke. Overall a good ground prob the best in Ulster at the moment.
??? ???
Post by: Smokin Joe on March 29, 2012, 01:08:29 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on March 29, 2012, 12:11:42 PM
??? ???

I think there was supposed to be a comma between "Newry" and "toilets".

That'll teach youngsters why punctuation is so important.
Post by: BennyCake on March 29, 2012, 02:56:53 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 29, 2012, 01:08:29 PM

Speaking of punctuation. Shouldn't there be an apostrophe after the 'n' of 'smokin' in your username?  ;)
Post by: Leo on March 29, 2012, 06:11:06 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 29, 2012, 01:08:29 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on March 29, 2012, 12:11:42 PM
??? ???

Seat comfort in Newry surpasses even that of Croke Park but their toilets like every GAA ground are abysmal, very few women will use the ladies because of unclean conditions and always shortages of paper, etc - it is a GAA thing. Your average GAA male supporter also has a penchant for urinating in the general vicinity of urinals so even if they were presented spic and span we'd soon spread the piss about.
Armagh is however a super ground in most respects including the covered terracing - great way to enclose the ground. Access through that alleyway however is a pain.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 29, 2012, 06:16:58 PM
Suppose you need comfortable seats when there is nothing to jump up and cheer about  ::)