GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyroneman on April 16, 2011, 09:58:09 AM

Title: Tyrone v Monaghan - Sun 5 June - UCQF
Post by: tyroneman on April 16, 2011, 09:58:09 AM
Might as well get it started early!

I would imagine the team won't change significantly between the Kildare n Meath line outs for this. MH may well surprise everyone and leave SoN on the bench in favour of Donnelly.

Only Justy would def improve the team at present, if fit, assuming Philly has indeed retired.

From the u21s I imagine McNeice, McNabb, Donnelly and Coney would have a fair chance of joining Harte n McKenna. Don't think Girvan will make it this year and it's still prob too early for Ronan oNeill (although MH may feel some experience with senior team would be worth it).

Hopefully the Curran experiment is over for the summer again and we won't see him until next years mcKenna where he does his traditional curates egg performances.
Title: Re: Tyrone v Monaghan - Sun 5 June - UCQF
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 16, 2011, 10:10:35 AM
What's the story with Justin McMahon, is he a doubt at this stage? He's one of the best full backs in the country.. You always like to see fellas making it but it would do us no harm if he was out!  ;)
Post by: ONeill on April 16, 2011, 10:37:58 AM
The big question is who does Mickey turn to when the first ball is kicked (probably handpassed) in anger. In recent years it has been his 03/05 lads. I know people say Tyrone kicked themselves out of it v Dublin but you also recall the slow build up from defence because of the midfield wipe-out. The same v Cork in 2009. From 03-08 Tyrone could do that. With the old hands in and around the 28-32 (don't accept that age is not an issue) grouping they're finding it harder to work that system against big, strong confident sides come August. Against Meath a week ago you saw signs of that happening again.

I'd love to see him turn to a couple of fresh talents but you just know it'll be

McConnell
Ricey-Justin-Carlin
Harte-Gormley-Jordan (or Joe with Colm in the HF line)
Hub-Cassidy
Sean-McGuigan-Joe (If Dooher.....)
Penrose-O'Neill-Mugsy

Is that side good enough in 2011 to beat Cork, Kerry or Dublin in Croke Park?

Post by: Maguire01 on April 16, 2011, 10:47:31 AM
The pressure is off Monaghan this time, unlike our last two championship meetings. Few will expect us to win. Although with a full fit team available, who knows what could happen. If we're going to have to beat Tyrone, i'd say the chances are higher in a first round than an Ulster final.

Anyway, as long as it's a better showing than last year's Ulster final, it's progress!
Post by: tyroneman on April 16, 2011, 02:07:47 PM
On thier day, if all playing in the 90-100% bracket and accurate in front of the posts, that side could beat anyone. Problem is that we have not had that combination too often since 2008. I wonder are we even falling inot the old Armagh trap of cantering through Ulster and then getting nailed out of shape further down the line.

There is no longer a huge gap between the top 10 I would say.

I would however prefer to see MH mix it up a bit with Justin in MF for example.

I think if we don't get anywhere this year  it will be time to start the rebuilding process and integrate Coney, MCKenna, Harte etc all as regular starters for 2011/12

Having a few of the 03 / 05 / 08 vintage on the bench to come in as and when needed would be a massive asset.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 17, 2011, 11:34:01 PM
Joe Mc Mahon will be out after having his jaw broken in an off-the-ball incident when St Enda's met Moortown today.

Well done whomever!  ???

Joe sustains broken jaw
Moortown 0-10 St. Enda's 1-13   The St. Enda's community was left reeling with the news today (Sunday 17th April) that Joe McMahon sustained a broken jaw following an off-the-ball incident in the opening game of the 2011 All County League at Moortown.   Twenty minutes into the opening half, Joe was felled during an incident which was not witnessed by match officials. After he was removed to hospital, it was confirmed that Joe's jaw was broken in two places and a number of teeth were knocked out. Joe underwent surgery in Altnagelvin Hospital in Derry on Sunday evening in an attempt to repair some of the damage.   The St. Enda's and Tyrone star is expected to be out of action for at least three months. A spokesman for St. Enda's said the club was shocked and angered by what happened in the opening day of the season.   The game ended with a St. Enda's win - 1-13 to 0-10. In the reserve game, St. Enda's also won on the score of 2-12 to 0-12, but both victories have paled into insignificance, considering the extent of Joe's injuries.   Everyone at St. Enda's would like to wish Joe a speedy recovery.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 17, 2011, 11:40:48 PM
Really bad news for Joe, St Enda's and of course Tyrone :(.
Post by: ONeill on April 17, 2011, 11:50:35 PM
Typical Tyrone and typical East Tyrone.
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2011, 12:04:32 AM
Why are ye always breaking each others jaws up there?
Post by: omagh_gael on April 18, 2011, 12:41:14 AM
Only place for that 'hard' man is before a judge. He should feel the full force of the law and be treated like it happened out on the street.
Post by: LeoMc on April 18, 2011, 09:32:50 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 18, 2011, 12:41:14 AM
Only place for that'hard' man coward is before a judge. He should feel the full force of the law and be treated like it happened out on the street.
Post by: AQMP on April 18, 2011, 09:37:40 AM
Big blow for Tyrone alright...hope he makes a full recovery ASAP.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 18, 2011, 11:23:04 AM
I hope this isn't the start of a series of injuries for the red hands like a few years ago.

I'd say Justy will have been hoping Joe would be relieving him from the FB position maybe this year so that's probably gone now for the 1st game at least.

Post by: BennyHarp on April 18, 2011, 04:10:37 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on April 18, 2011, 09:32:50 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 18, 2011, 12:41:14 AM
Only place for that'hard' man coward is before a judge. He should feel the full force of the law and be treated like it happened out on the street.

I agree - the sooner these w*nkers get treated like the scumnbags they are the sooner they will think twice before punching someone in the jaw. How many times does this have to happen before real action is taken? A lad i used to play with still has problems after getting his two front teeth punched out during a match years ago when someone decked him from behind - has cost him a fortune in dental fees, let alone the time off work, even to this day.

No doubt the idiot who hit Joe will be full drunk roaring on his "heroes" in Clones or Croker later in the year.
Post by: Main Street on April 18, 2011, 05:31:56 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 18, 2011, 04:10:37 PM
No doubt the idiot who hit Joe will be full drunk roaring on his "heroes" in Clones or Croker later in the year.
Sure you should just skip the preliminary formalities and start the Ulster Final thread, 'Tyrone V certain runners up'.
Also have another parallel thread topic -  'Is this side good enough in 2011 to beat Cork, Kerry or Dublin in Croke Park'?

Post by: Maguire01 on April 18, 2011, 05:37:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 18, 2011, 05:31:56 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 18, 2011, 04:10:37 PM
Sure you should just skip the preliminary formalities and start the Ulster Final thread, 'Tyrone V certain runners up'.
Also have another parallel thread topic -  'Is this side good enough in 2011 to beat Cork, Kerry or Dublin in Croke Park'?
Hoganstand reads like it knows the outcome as well:
The Omagh St Enda's website lists his anticipated lay-off as approximately three months, which could see him miss Tyrone's entire Ulster championship campaign and possibly some of the All-Ireland series as well.

Their "entire Ulster championship" could well be over before the 6th of June!

On the incident itself though, best of luck to Joe and hope he has a speedy recovery. A terrible thing to happen.
Post by: Main Street on April 18, 2011, 06:02:04 PM
That's a serious bad injury for Joe.

On a separate matter of interest, who are Moortown playing next?
Post by: Club Rossa on April 18, 2011, 06:56:23 PM
Moortown are home to Dromore this weekend and then it's the big one the following week,away to Ardboe which should be very tasty indeed.
Post by: Main Street on April 18, 2011, 07:54:10 PM
I'm not so sure about tasty but we shall await the attritional news with interest.

Post by: ONeill on April 18, 2011, 10:48:42 PM
You would hope Joe will be back for the Ulster final. The semi against Donegal will probably come too soon.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 18, 2011, 10:57:32 PM
I'm not sure we should risk him for the Ulster final, we'll need him for the Cork game in the all-Ireland semi final!
Post by: Hotrocks on April 18, 2011, 11:58:53 PM
Was talking to a lad yesterday and he was telling me Tom Freeman has the bags packed and heading for NY. I would say it will be depending on the outcome of this game. Is he even still on the Monaghan panel?
Post by: Maguire01 on April 19, 2011, 07:46:44 AM
He was in fine form v Mayo.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 19, 2011, 09:06:54 AM
Quote from: Hotrocks on April 18, 2011, 11:58:53 PM
Was talking to a lad yesterday and he was telling me Tom Freeman has the bags packed and heading for NY. I would say it will be depending on the outcome of this game. Is he even still on the Monaghan panel?

He is a very well planned young man - though surely having your bags packed from April 19th when you may not be flying out until June 5th is a little bit extreme? Hope he has got a good iron in NY.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 19, 2011, 11:58:47 AM
I'm not being smart assed when I ask this but when is the last time Monaghan beat Tyrone in the championship.
Was it as far back as 1988?
Post by: Mr. Nakata on April 19, 2011, 01:21:58 PM
With throw-in 6 weeks from Sunday coming, it really is as difficult as ever to contemplate what the starting Tyrone line-up will be. I'm pretty gutted at big Joe's horrific injury as I've really enjoyed his last few performances. He was a deffo starter probably at 12, sweeping in a similar role to last year. I would say Colm's position is now safe. Peter Harte, Tommy, Dooher and Donnelly will be competing for any available jersey in attack. Stevie O'Neill will start in my opinion. The defense could also go a number of ways, although Ricey will slot into Jordan's position if the Moy man has in fact retired. McCaul and Swift have both impressed me in the league and will have to see off the challenge from McCarron and Carlin. I'm presuming Justin if fit will be automatic selection at 3, otherwise McCarron. Again Joe done a brilliant job there in the last few games and this is obviously a great option now unavailable. I can't see red sean getting a start. Midfield looks to be a done deal, though I would prefer to see Sean Cavanagh there with Cassidy freeing up a position for another forward. Ain't gonna happen though. So if the panel remains injury free here is my initial stab...Will be interesting to see how close I am when team is announced.

Packy
Swift
Justin
McCaul
Davey
Block
Ricey
Hub
Cassidy
Colm
Brian McG
Sean
Penfold
Stevie
Mugsy
Post by: Main Street on April 19, 2011, 02:01:11 PM
Gaelic Life are calling it a bloodbath.
http://gaeliclife.com/2011/04/bloodbath-for-county-stars/ (http://gaeliclife.com/2011/04/bloodbath-for-county-stars/)

Bloodbath for county stars
'Tyrone boss Mickey Harte was hardest hit, with Joe McMahon's double jaw break meaning he will certainly miss the Red Hands' opener against Monaghan.'

However they didn't speculate whether he will be fit enough for the semi finals at Croke Pk in August.

The NI ambulance service are getting ready for next Sunday's round of games in Tyrone.
(http://www.111emergency.co.nz/Ambulance/World-UK/TN_NI-ambs.JPG)
Post by: Fuzzman on April 19, 2011, 03:15:40 PM
Wait lads I think that's a hambush.
They look like Kerry or maybe Meath hambulances to me

Do you think they're will be much squad rotation this year?
It will be no harm having this lads coming back in time for late summer.

When is the 1st round of the qualifiers anyway?
If NY get through to the Connacht semi can we go there for a Sat night game?
Post by: cadhlancian on April 19, 2011, 06:04:45 PM
all right then lads and lassies.............who hit him then?? :o Someone on here must know who did it, and I'm a little far away to find out! "smoo" ...I know you have your ear to the ground, spill the beans please! ::)
Post by: Fuzzman on April 21, 2011, 04:16:51 PM
Best of friends. Is he back playing this year?

(http://assets.u.tv/galleries/100822/640x479/8.jpg)
Post by: bigfrank on April 21, 2011, 04:31:40 PM
I believe rory woods is back in New York...as for ricey...he has never been as hungry  :P
Post by: Maguire01 on April 21, 2011, 07:36:42 PM
Unfortunately I don't think we'll be seeing Rory Woods in a Monaghan jersey again.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 21, 2011, 07:45:32 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 21, 2011, 07:36:42 PM
Unfortunately I don't think we'll be seeing Rory Woods in a Monaghan jersey again.

Why have they stopped making them in that size?
Post by: bigfrank on April 21, 2011, 08:55:14 PM
 :P Very Good Norf!!!
Post by: ONeill on April 21, 2011, 09:30:34 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 21, 2011, 07:45:32 PM

Ha! Tyrone off the mark first.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 21, 2011, 09:45:25 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 21, 2011, 07:45:32 PM

It may be no laughing matter, in these hard pressed times  :-[; perhaps the county board genuinely don't have the material to go around!  ;)
Post by: ONeill on April 21, 2011, 10:06:33 PM
Dooher (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NcF_guw6XE) should be fit for the game.
Post by: rrhf on April 22, 2011, 03:22:51 PM
Theres a lash in this Monaghan team and by God they owe Tyrone one. 
My feeling is that a win for Tyrone will teach us nothing but a win for Monaghan would teach us everything - is that unfair to take that logic.  I think Ive talked to too many people recently from outside the county who believe that Tyrone are too old/slow/negative/ to win any thing more of note and you take some of it in after a while.   I dont think either team will progress beyond July, but you can always be hopeful.       
Post by: Main Street on April 24, 2011, 12:35:20 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 22, 2011, 03:22:51 PM
I think Ive talked to too many people recently from outside the county who believe that Tyrone are too old/slow/negative/ to win any thing more of note and you take some of it in after a while. 
The great leader himself has no truck with that. Mickey rather thinks it's not fair that the Tyrone bluff is being called, "teams don't fear us any more"  (the cheek of them)  "Anybody who plays us now expects to beat us".
Post by: Maguire01 on April 29, 2011, 12:21:28 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/Monaghan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=147024

No Tommy Freeman then. Shame, as he was looking like he had rediscovered his form in the Mayo game.
Post by: tyroneman on April 29, 2011, 02:55:32 PM
Bit of good luck for Tyrone. Freeman is a first class forward who would give any back line problems.
Post by: ONeill on April 29, 2011, 02:58:37 PM
Yep, that's definitely a plus for Tyrone.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 29, 2011, 04:18:50 PM
And Leitrim
Post by: Main Street on April 29, 2011, 08:37:15 PM
'Monaghan's worst fears have been realised with confirmation that Tommy Freeman is heading to New York'

Now that we have our worst fears (and our best player) behind us, there is nothing that can faze us now.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 30, 2011, 09:46:28 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 29, 2011, 08:37:15 PM
'Monaghan's worst fears have been realised with confirmation that Tommy Freeman is heading to New York'

Now that we have our worst fears (and our best player) behind us, there is nothing that can faze us now.
Your glass is clearly 'half full' Main Street!
Post by: cadhlancian on May 01, 2011, 06:08:29 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 29, 2011, 08:37:15 PM

I suppose it would be outrageous to speculate on why exactly he is going to New York?? Totally understand that times are at an all time low and that work is lite...theres not a lot floating about this side of the atlantic either! No point in beating about the bush, is he getting a "considerable" payment from the Leitrim Club in New York, smells strongly of this. Somehow , I think you are gonna see this happening a lot more in the near future, particularly with teams who exit the championship and if were being honest, have no real AI aspirations. I suppose you have to do what you have to do :-\
Post by: CK_Redhand on May 01, 2011, 06:00:53 PM
Where would be a good place to watch this game in London?  I booked a holiday without thinking of my beloved Tyrone haha
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 01, 2011, 11:21:40 PM
Phily Jordan looked in great shape today. Would have been pity if he hadnt come back.
Post by: Main Street on May 02, 2011, 12:05:25 AM
Has he played against Moortown yet?
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 02, 2011, 11:42:06 AM
Think he has that pleasure next week!
Post by: Club Rossa on May 02, 2011, 07:22:51 PM
Moortown were sent home from Ardboe on Saturday evening with their tails between their legs,like wee mice they were!!
Post by: Main Street on May 02, 2011, 07:49:48 PM
It's a sad day for Tyrone manly football when Moortown have to pull their punches.
Post by: donelli on May 04, 2011, 09:59:17 PM
Have been told that Freeman is staying now... was going to leitrim new york but not anymore.

anyone know when the throw in time will be decided?? its on the ulster gaa website as 3.30pm (as are all the sunday ulster quarter finals), but i presume there will be changes made for tv (2pm or 4pm).
Post by: armaghniac on May 04, 2011, 10:04:53 PM

Quoteanyone know when the throw in time will be decided?? its on the ulster gaa website as 3.30pm (as are all the sunday ulster quarter finals), but i presume there will be changes made for tv (2pm or 4pm).

If this game is not on RTE/TV3 then the BBC can show it at whatever time they want.
Post by: Orangemac on May 04, 2011, 10:14:37 PM
I don't know what odds Monaghan are for this game (7/2?) but they couldn't ask for a more ideal build up.

Relegation and away to Tyrone, they are gong in well below the radar. They may have been well beaten in last years final but for the most part it will be the same sets of players. A lot of people had Monaghan as favourites for that final and they haven't become a poor team overnight.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 05, 2011, 11:08:30 AM
Any chance of a run down on your favourite starting 15 and maybe likely replacements

Will Jordan slot straight back in to his No 7 jersey?
Will Ricey be going back into the corner with that familiar half back line being brought back?

Will Justy go back in at FB if he's fit again?

Will Tommy be in with a shout at half forward
Will Mugsy get a starting slot or will he be supersub
Will SoN be fit again?

I'd like to see Donnelly get a starting place anyway maybe at the expense of Mugsy & it wil be interesting to see how Dooher & Peter Harte fit into this team. Will the two Cavanagh's be playing wing forward all season?

Post by: Mid Mon on May 05, 2011, 06:52:55 PM
Quote from: donelli on May 04, 2011, 09:59:17 PM
Have been told that Freeman is staying now... was going to leitrim new york but not anymore.

anyone know when the throw in time will be decided?? its on the ulster gaa website as 3.30pm (as are all the sunday ulster quarter finals), but i presume there will be changes made for tv (2pm or 4pm).

Heard a few rumors re job offers for him following the announcement of his decision to move to the US.

Probably had a similar set up in the previous regime
Post by: armaghniac on May 05, 2011, 07:09:14 PM
QuoteHeard a few rumors re job offers for him following the announcement of his decision to move to the US.

Hopefully the US immigration people were reading this board, they might even go to the game.
Post by: Sleater on May 06, 2011, 11:51:30 AM
I'll make an effort at predicting the Monaghan team

1. Mark Keogh, Sean McDermotts
2. Kieran Duffy, Latton
3. Darren Hughes, Scotstown
4. Colin Walsh, Doohamlet
5. Conor Galligan, Monaghan Harps
6. Dessie Mone, Clontibret
7. David Hughes, Monaghan Harps
8. Neil McAdam, Monaghan Harps
9. Eoin Lennon, Latton
10. Dick Clerkin, Currin
11. Mark Downey, Carrickmacross
12. James Turley, Scotstown
13. Conor McManus, Clontibret
14. Paul Finlay, Ballybay
15. Chris McGuinness, Ballybay

Some cavaets on this through:

Vinny Corey - been injured for a while so unsure of his fitness, but if he's fit, he could well start at wing back in place of either of the Harps lads.
Conor McManus - seen Conor at the Take Me Out event in the Hillgrove and he was on crutches. Unsure if he will be fit to play.
Gavin Doogan - was in great form before his ankle injury. Again unsure if he will be back from it for the championship match. A cast iron certainty to start if is 100% fit and ahead of James Turley.
Tommy Freeman - will he, won't he go? Who knows.
Kieran Hughes (Scotstown) is only back training with his club so very unlikely to be back for the championship panel. A pity as I think he would have nailed down a wing back slot this year.

There would be one or two wildcard selections: Daniel McKenna (Truagh),  Bernard O'Brien (Latton), Stephen Gollogly (Carrickmacross) and Mark McNally (Carrickmacross) are all showing good form at club level and in challenge games at present. One or two of them could get a run from the bench as subs.
Post by: Main Street on May 06, 2011, 02:38:59 PM
If Tommy does come back, it will outdo the spectacle effect of El Cid's last ride on his horse.

Is Mickey still playing that card, the now annual contrived drama of dragging his wounded warriors from their hospital beds?
Ye Tyronies would fall for the 3 card trick every week.

Post by: Aaron Boone on May 06, 2011, 03:36:13 PM
BBC not showing it live either, just deferred coverage.
Post by: Main Street on May 06, 2011, 04:42:11 PM
Tyrone's stock has really fallen, even below Meath.

Seeing as the game is an  obvious  wrap for Tyrone, the foregone conclusion is probably a factor as well.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 06, 2011, 07:27:00 PM
Quote from: Sleater on May 06, 2011, 11:51:30 AM
Conor McManus - seen Conor at the Take Me Out event in the Hillgrove and he was on crutches. Unsure if he will be fit to play.
Did somebody literally 'take him out'?
Post by: Sleater on May 09, 2011, 08:45:34 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 06, 2011, 07:27:00 PM
Quote from: Sleater on May 06, 2011, 11:51:30 AM
Did somebody literally 'take him out'?

LOL  ;D. Seriously though, I think Conor came down badly on his ankle in a league game with the Harps.

On another note, Vinny Corey is back and flying fit so likely to start against Tyrone. Tommy Freeman also played at the weekend so I'm really not sure what the story is with Tommy. Is he just playing with Magheracloone until he goes or did he manage to get a job at home and is staying?
Post by: bustsummoves on May 10, 2011, 09:27:19 AM
Whats peoples predictions for the Tyrone team against Monaghan?
Post by: Fuzzman on May 10, 2011, 10:54:08 AM
The team I think Mickey will pick is

McConnell
Ricey
Justy
Carlin
Davey Harte
Gormley
Jordan
Cassidy
Hub
Colm
Brian Mcguigan
Sean
Donnelly
SoN
Mugsy

Post by: Mr. Nakata on May 10, 2011, 12:45:55 PM
Fuzzman, you're missing penfold there, surely one of the first names on the teamsheet. McCaul and Swift will be hard done by if they are omitted but Jordan's return means he's bound to go straight back in, so at least one of those two look like losing out.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on May 10, 2011, 01:01:28 PM
The team I think Mickey will pick is

McConnell
McCaul
Justy
Carlin
Davey Harte
Gormley
Ricey
Cassidy
Goof
Mugsy
Brian McGigan
Sean Cavanagh
Donnelly
SON
Penrose

Post by: Fuzzman on May 10, 2011, 01:48:23 PM
How how could I have forgotten Penfold. Sorry Marty though I doubt he'll knock out McConnell as the 1st name on the teamsheet.

Do you think Hub will be left out Radda? Why?
Mugsy at 10 is an interesting choice. Is it to help out the defence like Dooher used to do.
He does seem to rove out the field a lot in the last few years and play a deeper role.
I wouldn't even be surprised to see Sean back in at MF.
How's McGinley coming along now?

I also wouldn't at all be surprised to see Dooher start or for SoN not to start. I think he's still far from being injury free. Mickey always likes to throw a curved ball for the 1st round game.

Its a long time since we won a 1st round game in Omagh convincingly I think. We needed Peter to help out v Down in 2005 was it?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on May 10, 2011, 02:04:40 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 10, 2011, 01:48:23 PM
How how could I have forgotten Penfold. Sorry Marty though I doubt he'll knock out McConnell as the 1st name on the teamsheet.

Do you think Hub will be left out Radda? Why?
Mugsy at 10 is an interesting choice. Is it to help out the defence like Dooher used to do.
He does seem to rove out the field a lot in the last few years and play a deeper role.
I wouldn't even be surprised to see Sean back in at MF.
How's McGinley coming along now?

I also wouldn't at all be surprised to see Dooher start or for SoN not to start. I think he's still far from being injury free. Mickey always likes to throw a curved ball for the 1st round game.

Its a long time since we won a 1st round game in Omagh convincingly I think. We needed Peter to help out v Down in 2005 was it?

Dunno why I have omitted hub - just have a feeling plus as you say he will throw a curve ball in - mugsy at 10 becasue he's not as dangerous for scores as he use to be plus he looks like he's full of work in recent months. Also think he has to start donnelly on the basis of form.
Think Jordan could lose out just because of all this will he or won't he nonsense recently - even though he's better than most - certainly better than Davy whose been clinging on for a while now IMO.
He could start some of the u-21's though as a surprise - most likely out of that bunch petey harte??? would like to see him get a start at some stage.

I think Omagh has became a very bad ground for tyrone!!! Always liked Dungannon back in the day - but obviously not the required standard now!
Post by: Fuzzman on May 10, 2011, 05:06:13 PM
Do people reckon Colm is a better midfielder than Sean?

Has Mickey got to the stage where he doesn't know where to play Sean now or has he settled on half forward. His attributes of running with the ball and kicking good scores would suggest this is his best position.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on May 10, 2011, 05:24:24 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 10, 2011, 05:06:13 PM
Do people reckon Colm is a better midfielder than Sean?

Has Mickey got to the stage where he doesn't know where to play Sean now or has he settled on half forward. His attributes of running with the ball and kicking good scores would suggest this is his best position.

NO. Personally I wouldn't play Goof just think Mickey will - Always said thought Seans best position is midfield but Mickey looks to have made his mind up on him playing half forward!
I reckon he should invest time in Niall McKenna to develop him as a mid fielder at this level also!
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 10, 2011, 09:49:46 PM
If injury free would be pretty confident this will be close to the team:

McConnell
Ricey
Justy
McCaul
Harte
Gormley
Jordan
Cassidy
Hub
Colm Cav
B McG
Sean Cav
Penrose
O'Neill
Mugsy
Post by: loughshore lad on May 10, 2011, 10:21:55 PM
Justy played the full hour for Omagh on Sunday but struggled with Brian McGuigan, has plenty of work to do in the next 3 weeks.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 11, 2011, 11:24:34 AM
How would you rate Brian's progress LSL?
Has his injuries cleared up?

What about Tommy? Will he be pushing for a starting place?
Corner or half forward?
Post by: nrico2006 on May 11, 2011, 11:28:39 AM
What about Coney and Mattie Donnelly? Are they both in the squad along with Harte and McKenna.
Post by: bustsummoves on May 11, 2011, 12:15:21 PM
My Team Would Be

McConnell
Ricey
Justy
McCarron
Jordan
Gormley
O'neill (sean)
Hub
Cassidy
Penrose
B McGuigan
Cavanagh
Donnelly (mark)
O'Neill
Mugsy

Wouldn't be a bad outfit against Monaghan

Post by: Fuzzman on May 11, 2011, 01:54:45 PM
Mickey would be very cross with you to even suggest leaving out Davey and Colm.

I think we could see Peter Harte come in at 10.
Post by: loughshore lad on May 11, 2011, 03:40:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 11, 2011, 11:24:34 AM
How would you rate Brian's progress LSL?
Has his injuries cleared up?

What about Tommy? Will he be pushing for a starting place?
Corner or half forward?

Brian has had an excellent year to date and will hopefully stay injury free the rest of the year.

Tommy had a horrific knee injury last year and seems to have put in a monumental effort to recover.  You can see him improving with every game.  He has not played any county games thus far this year and that may work against him.  Mickey seems to favour playing him corner forward, don't really recall him playing wing half forward at all under Harte and only really playing CHF once versus Fermanagh in 2008.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 13, 2011, 02:15:33 PM
From the Hoganstand.com:

Tyrone in the "chasing pack"
13 May 2011

Mickey Harte has claimed that Tyrone are no longer among the leading contenders for All-Ireland success.

Speaking at the launch of the Ulster SFC yesterday, the Tyrone manager said his team's failure to win promotion from Division 2 of the NFL has left them trailing the likes of Cork, Kerry and Dublin in the All-Ireland race.

"We are in the chasing pack. Let's be real about that. We are not a top team," he insisted.

"We didn't play our football in the top division. We didn't even get out of Division 2, so it would be wrong for us to think we're anywhere other than the chasing pack.

"But sometimes it's good to be chasing," the three-time All-Ireland winning boss smiled.
Post by: tyroneman on May 15, 2011, 11:09:07 AM
Bit of a savaging for Tyrone in the Sunday Times today.

In a nutshell we are accused of being over the hill and suffering for not translating all those recent 4-5 AI titles into a more youthful senior  team.

Time will tell but I believe the next 2-3 years will see Coney, Harte, O Neill, McKenna, McNabb, Harry Og, Girvan, Grugan, McCullough, McNeice, S McGuigan et al joining the likes of Cavanagh x2, McMahon x 2, Penrose, Cassidy and M Donnelly in a very well blended team.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on May 15, 2011, 01:43:01 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on May 15, 2011, 11:09:07 AM

In a nutshell we are accused of being over the hill and suffering for not translating all those recent 4-5 AI titles into a more youthful senior  team.

Time will tell but I believe the next 2-3 years will see Coney, Harte, O Neill, McKenna, McNabb, Harry Og, Girvan, Grugan, McCullough, McNeice, S McGuigan et al joining the likes of Cavanagh x2, McMahon x 2, Penrose, Cassidy and M Donnelly in a very well blended team.

I think we have to accept that the charge is fair enough. Tyrone will probably look back on these past couple of seasons as a missed opportunity to have had a great mix of the 97/98 lads and the best of the more recent succesful minor teams. Even this season we should have seen more of those younger lads on the panel. As it stands I doubt there is a Sam in the current squad unless they really click over the summer and build up some serious momentum like 2008. Very unlikely I'm afraid.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 16, 2011, 08:52:12 AM
I read a post on Hoganstand regarding a player from Urney (J Lafferty) who for some reason is never mentioned as a possible Tyrone panelist, and any time I have watched him he is a different class.
Post by: loughshore lad on May 16, 2011, 10:11:43 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on May 15, 2011, 11:09:07 AM

Thought it was a well written article myself to be honest with Walsh making plenty of valid points.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 16, 2011, 04:13:17 PM
Any links to that article lads or is it only available in the print edition?
Post by: spuds on May 16, 2011, 06:46:36 PM
Triple blow for Tyrone before Monaghan clash

Tyrone have suffered a triple blow in the build-up to their Ulster Championship match against Monaghan on 5 June.

Sean Cavanagh and Philip Jordan picked up injuries in weekend club action, while Owen Mulligan could be suspended.

All three were playing in the same game. Cavanagh sustained an elbow injury, while his Moy clubmate Jordan suffered a dead leg.

Mulligan, playing for Cookstown against Moy, received a straight red card.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/13417868.stm
Post by: Fuzzman on May 18, 2011, 01:50:17 PM
Any further news on injuries lads?
How's Joey's jaw coming along?

How many more club games are the lads going to be playing before the Monaghan game?
Post by: ONeill on May 18, 2011, 10:17:51 PM
Surely Mickey has to look towards the Hill now given their wondrous start to the Junior campaign.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 18, 2011, 10:55:39 PM
Looking at the scorers in the paper a few of the players seem to be in good form. 2-2 for Hub,0-8 for O'Neill, 1-6 for Peter Harte and 1-3 for Tommy. Brian McGuigan got a couple of points to.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 19, 2011, 10:02:48 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 18, 2011, 10:17:51 PM
Surely Mickey has to look towards the Hill now given their wondrous start to the Junior campaign.

Mickey looks to the Hill

(http://img.rasset.ie/0001c65a189r.jpg)

Can anyone confirm is Mugsy out of this game or is this suspension just for Cookstown?
Post by: omagh_gael on May 19, 2011, 11:04:41 AM

Ah fcuk...some hoor has stole my cap!
Post by: Maguire01 on May 21, 2011, 01:01:20 AM
Challenge match tonight in Parnell - Dublin 4-14 Monaghan 1-15
Post by: spuds on May 21, 2011, 01:41:56 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EbEBErvW-Uc
Post by: Sleater on May 21, 2011, 09:55:29 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 21, 2011, 01:01:20 AM

Monaghan team

Mark Keogh
Kieran Duffy
Darren Hughes
Colin Walsh
Vinny Corey,
Dessie Mone,
Eoin Duffy;
Eoin Lennon,
Neil McAdam;
Dick Clerkin,
Dan McKenna,
Mark Downey;
Bernard O'Brien,
Paul Finlay,
Conor McManus.

Subs: C McGuinness for McManus (h-t), S Gollogly for O'Brien (h-t), B McKenna for Downey (45), K Galligan for Mone (50), J Turley for Clerkin, M McNally for Walshe (both 50), K Hughes for McAdam (64), C Hanratty for McKenna (65).

Championship team will start with 12 of them for certain. Corner forward position will be between McGuiness, O'Brien and possibly Dan McKenna may even line out there. Though McKenna could well hold the centre forward slot. Left half back is a toss up between one of Galligan, McNally, Eoin Duffy.

K. Hughes for McAdam - was that K.Hughes, scotstown or blayney?
Post by: Maguire01 on May 21, 2011, 10:21:09 AM
Hadn't seen the team until now, but letting in 4 goals with that defence is pretty bad.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 21, 2011, 02:14:21 PM
Dick Clerkin is Captain for the Championship. Well deserved.
Post by: soldier of destiny on May 21, 2011, 07:12:06 PM
Quote from: Sleater on May 21, 2011, 09:55:29 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 21, 2011, 01:01:20 AM

Monaghan team

Mark Keogh
Kieran Duffy
Darren Hughes
Colin Walsh
Vinny Corey,
Dessie Mone,
Eoin Duffy;
Eoin Lennon,
Neil McAdam;
Dick Clerkin,
Dan McKenna,
Mark Downey;
Bernard O'Brien,
Paul Finlay,
Conor McManus.

Subs: C McGuinness for McManus (h-t), S Gollogly for O'Brien (h-t), B McKenna for Downey (45), K Galligan for Mone (50), J Turley for Clerkin, M McNally for Walshe (both 50), K Hughes for McAdam (64), C Hanratty for McKenna (65).

Championship team will start with 12 of them for certain. Corner forward position will be between McGuiness, O'Brien and possibly Dan McKenna may even line out there. Though McKenna could well hold the centre forward slot. Left half back is a toss up between one of Galligan, McNally, Eoin Duffy.

K. Hughes for McAdam - was that K.Hughes, scotstown or blayney?

Kieran Hughes - Scotstown
Ciarán Hughes - Castleblayney
Post by: Fuzzman on May 23, 2011, 10:23:26 AM
Shhhhhhhh.......
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 10:58:48 PM
Something that always makes you uneasy is the Omagh factor. Tyrone rarely perform well there. A big strong team like Monaghan could well get something out of this even though the Freeman absence seems to weaken the Monaghan scoring threat.
Post by: tyroneman on May 29, 2011, 06:14:12 PM
QuoteSomething that always makes you uneasy is the Omagh factor. Tyrone rarely perform well there. A big strong team like Monaghan could well get something out of this even though the Freeman absence seems to weaken the Monaghan scoring threat.

Agree 100% - Omagh is worth at least 2-3 points ot the other team from the get go. Don't know why.

Always looks like it's very narrow or something, though in reality I'm probably wrong.

Will be an interesting game.

Funny - was chatting to a mate who went to a GAA debate night in Lurgan - Tony McEntee doesn'y seem to think Tyrone have much about them - said something to the effect that football will not be up to much or will have gone backwards (you get the gist) if Tyrone win the AI this year.

Post by: rrhf on May 29, 2011, 07:39:06 PM
Tony might still have the old french fry on the corner of his neck
Post by: armaghniac on May 29, 2011, 08:16:56 PM
He also has won more All Irelands than any man in Throne.
Post by: tyroneman on May 29, 2011, 08:25:29 PM
Owen Mulligan has 8 does he not?

Voc schools - school and county
Intermediate club
Minor county
U21 county
Senior county x 3
Post by: Fuzzman on May 30, 2011, 10:50:12 AM
Any news on injuries lads after the weekend?

As far as I know Stevie & Brian should be OK.

I didn't get to see the Armagh game at the weekend but sounds like maybe we should go back door this year. Eh? Eh?   ::) ::)
Post by: qz on May 30, 2011, 11:50:28 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 10:58:48 PM
Something that always makes you uneasy is the Omagh factor. Tyrone rarely perform well there. A big strong team like Monaghan could well get something out of this even though the Freeman absence seems to weaken the Monaghan scoring threat.

Never liked Tyrone playing in Omagh myself.
Last year at a home NFL match the results for Tyrone home games in the NFL for the decade 2000-09 were printed in the programme (for the NFL only).

Of 25 games played in Omagh, 15 were won (60%)
Of 9 games played in other parts of the county, 8 were won(89%)
These 9 included 7 in 2002 and 2003 when Omagh was not used at all and Tyrone had a 100% home win record ,and as the records show won the NFL division one both years.

I assume the ulster championship home record could be something similar.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on May 30, 2011, 01:49:07 PM
Any inside info on the tyrone team for sunday?

Will Jordan start?
Will Mark Donnelly start?
Will any of the u-21's start?

Is the game televised?
Post by: Fuzzman on May 30, 2011, 02:38:04 PM
As far as I can see there is no LIVE coverage.
RTE and TV3 are focusing on Leinster
June 5th Kildare v Meath 2-00pm   Laois v Dublin 4-00pm TV3

BBC has deferred coverage at 7pm. I hate watching deferred games.

I expect both Jordan & Donnelly will start and would not be surprised to see Dooher start as well as Mickey likes to make such bold statements.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 30, 2011, 09:26:12 PM
If your over 30, your in  ;)
Post by: donelli on May 30, 2011, 11:33:46 PM
Season ticket holders are being sent out hard copy tickets for this according to the official website..Ulster SFC: Tyrone v Monaghan- Hard Copy tickets posted out.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 31, 2011, 10:49:40 AM
Mickey Harte not taking Monaghan for granted from Belfast Telepgraph

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte will tonight reiterate a sharp warning to his players in the countdown to their Ulster Championship meeting with Monaghan at Healy Park, Omagh on Sunday.

"I would have no doubt Monaghan will believe that coming into our back yard and beating us in the first round would be a nice thing to do for them," says Harte.

"There is a new manager and new management set-up there now and maybe some of the players will feel that it is time for redemption of some kind."

While the long-serving O'Neill county boss discounts the theory that Monaghan will be totally preoccupied with avenging last year's Ulster final humiliation by his team, he is nonetheless convinced that the Farney side will provide them with a vigorous test.

"Every year is a new challenge and Monaghan will believe they can come to Omagh and get a result.

"People looking at this match will think that these are the best circumstances in which to catch the team that holds the title — meet them in the opening round when nobody knows what their form is going to be like.

"That is the day when things can happen and I think that's the way Monaghan will be viewing things," insists Harte.

The word 'peaking' currently occupies only a very modest slot in Harte's vast personal sporting dictionary.

"What we want to do now is peak sufficiently to get over the first round of the Ulster Championship. A team has to be able to peak at the level that is required for this. It's not a good time to be peaking as such, of course," said Harte.

"I certainly would not like Tyrone to be playing at their peak at the minute.

"If you had nowhere else to go then it would be very hard to sustain this for a season. What we want to be for now is championship-ready."

The majority of the Tyrone players have been heavily engaged in club activity with many of them having played six matches at this level so far, which means that Harte and his assistant Tony Donnelly have been on active duty not only assessing current and potential players but also monitoring injuries.

"Club football takes its toll on players too. We have a lot of men carrying little knocks and injuries at the moment," admits the Red Hands boss.

"That's the down side of club football, but the up side is that this activity is much better than standing about doing nothing. It's always better to be playing some football at whatever level is available."

The fact that a number of younger players such as Peter Harte, Kyle Coney, Mark Donnelly, Ciaran Gervin and Niall McKenna can now make what Harte himself describes as "a stronger claim" for places in his side is offset somewhat by worries over the fitness of some of his key warriors.

"Joe McMahon and Enda McGinley are both out of contention — that is well-known — but Philip Jordan, Martin Penrose, Sean Cavanagh, Niall McKenna, Martin Swift and Pascal McConnell are all carrying knocks at the moment, although we will know the position in relation to these players later in the week," reveals Harte.

"When you take all that out of the script it might be difficult to come up with a 20-man panel for this game."

But this was said more tongue-in-cheek given that there is currently fierce competition for starting places in his side despite the ongoing injury concerns.

Harte expects to confirm his line-up on Thursday night and it is anticipated that Brian Dooher will again lead the Red Hands with Ryan McMenamin, Conor Gormley, Davy Harte, Stephen O'Neill, Owen Mulligan, Brian McGuigan and Kevin Hughes providing the experience which will underpin an all-out bid to land a third

Post by: bustsummoves on May 31, 2011, 12:58:38 PM
Looking forward to sundays game.

Team likely line outs for both teams would be a good way to start this week off.

It could be a scorcher of a day 2.

Factor 40 at the ready
Post by: Main Street on May 31, 2011, 01:37:43 PM
Monaghan minors beaten out of sight by Tyrone,
u21's get to within a point of Tyrone.
I see a pattern developing.
Post by: ONeill on May 31, 2011, 02:13:58 PM
U21s get to within a point of Tyrone. (April)
Monaghan minors beaten out of sight by Tyrone. (May)

I see a pattern.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 31, 2011, 02:32:24 PM
I'm really struggling here lads. I hate Patterns.

Is the U16's playing Monaghan in June?
Post by: Main Street on May 31, 2011, 02:49:47 PM
O'Neill could be a bit peaky. Mickey H sagely advised about having just enough of the required peak.

Post by: Sleater on May 31, 2011, 04:10:25 PM
Vinny Corey definetly out for Monaghan. Aggravated his hamstring again. Huge loss to Monaghan on top of everything else. Almost certain now, that Conor Galligan and one of Mark McNally or Eoin Duffy will man the wing half back slots.
Post by: donelli on May 31, 2011, 08:13:50 PM
It's a long time since corey had a good game for Monaghan.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 31, 2011, 09:02:40 PM
Quote from: donelli on May 31, 2011, 08:13:50 PM
It's a long time since corey had a good game for Monaghan.
Agreed, but i'd still rather have him as an option.
Post by: Main Street on June 01, 2011, 11:33:42 AM
The game is very much under the national media radar.
No doubt that Monaghan's chances are generally regarded as a write-off, so much so that the game is not worth writing about. Though Monaghan's recent championship record against Tyrone wouldn't contradict that view.

If Mickey H has overestimated the required peak needed to overcome Monaghan's kids, we could be in for a hiding.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 01, 2011, 12:07:47 PM
It sure is very low key alright and very very quiet on here too.
Its like getting blood from a stone.

Do people expect Justy to start as there seems to be conflicting reports that he is injured or he's not. He was not mentioned in Mickey's injury list last week but he was mentioned in the Irish Times on Monday as being out of this game along with his brother.

I just read in the Irish News that Damian Freeman is gone as well. Has he retired?
Post by: bustsummoves on June 01, 2011, 12:46:18 PM
i know that Justy is training and should be available for the game. Joe is out. When is the team named ? Tomorrow i presume. Any Ideas on the team ?
Post by: Bingo on June 01, 2011, 12:53:45 PM
Monaghan to give Tyrone a game but to fall short in the end with perhaps Tyrone pulling away at end to make it easier than it was.

Monaghan a few too many struggling with injuries and missing a few players that would have strengthen the team/squad. Will probably struggle in defence and have few options in the middle.
Post by: Club Rossa on June 01, 2011, 01:07:16 PM
Justin McMahon played against Ardboe 4 weeks ago and looked like he's a long way off the fitness required for championship football.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 01, 2011, 03:35:41 PM
I can't see Justin staring to be honest. More than likely a second half sub with either Damian McCaul or Cathal NcCarron starting at full back.

Maybe a blessing in disguise because if one of the two replacement full backs have a good game Harte could be tempted to leave them in there for the semi/1st round qualifier and perhaps give Joe and Justy a chance to play further out the field when they are fit to start.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 01, 2011, 04:10:02 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 01, 2011, 03:35:41 PM
I can't see Justin staring to be honest. More than likely a second half sub with either Damian McCaul or Cathal NcCarron starting at full back.

Maybe a blessing in disguise because if one of the two replacement full backs have a good game Harte could be tempted to leave them in there for the semi/1st round qualifier and perhaps give Joe and Justy a chance to play further out the field when they are fit to start.

Or maybe not play them at all???
Post by: rrhf on June 01, 2011, 05:49:26 PM
The Tyrone Camp seem to be focussed and are having no fuss approach -  I like it.  Getting excited about what should be a brutal and tough u/c fiirst round. Last weeks game was class can we expect a repeat.  Any hoor who dosent go shouldnt get a ticket for the next game.     
Post by: Main Street on June 01, 2011, 06:06:15 PM
Would the semi final tickets be that hard to come by?

Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2011, 06:25:37 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 01, 2011, 06:06:15 PM
Would the semi final tickets be that hard to come by?
No. Nor would Ulster Final tickets.
Post by: stew on June 01, 2011, 07:42:58 PM
Good luck to the Farney this Sunday.
Post by: Cde on June 01, 2011, 08:39:35 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 01, 2011, 12:07:47 PM
It sure is very low key alright and very very quiet on here too.
Its like getting blood from a stone.

Do people expect Justy to start as there seems to be conflicting reports that he is injured or he's not. He was not mentioned in Mickey's injury list last week but he was mentioned in the Irish Times on Monday as being out of this game along with his brother.

I just read in the Irish News that Damian Freeman is gone as well. Has he retired?

Damien retired after the league
Post by: Mr. Nakata on June 01, 2011, 08:43:06 PM
Will Dooher and Jordan walk straight back into the starting 15 having played little or no county football in 6 months? I don't think so. I'll be very surprised if either start. The only real debate for me is who will be selected in both corner back positions and Justy's fitness. McCarron will play full back if McMahon is still rusty and I'd like to see McCaul and Swift in the corners. Looking forward to team selection and hopefully a long summer of championship football.
Post by: Rois on June 01, 2011, 09:46:43 PM
Team named tomorrow night at the annual Club Tyrone Members Night in Kelly's.  Tour of the development at Garvaghey, then a bit of a celebration of the team of '86, and then a visit by Mickey to announce the team after tomorrow night's training.  Also the draw for the Tyrone club championship and the announcement of the new club championship sponsor for those who don't know. 
Busy night ahead!
Post by: Main Street on June 01, 2011, 11:03:59 PM
Nothing like getting your celebrations in early.
Post by: Rois on June 01, 2011, 11:10:25 PM
Dry up, it happens every year the week before the first match.
Post by: ONeill on June 01, 2011, 11:19:31 PM
Quote from: Mr. Nakata on June 01, 2011, 08:43:06 PM
Will Dooher and Jordan walk straight back into the starting 15 having played little or no county football in 6 months? I don't think so. I'll be very surprised if either start. The only real debate for me is who will be selected in both corner back positions and Justy's fitness. McCarron will play full back if McMahon is still rusty and I'd like to see McCaul and Swift in the corners. Looking forward to team selection and hopefully a long summer of championship football.

Wouldn't be surprised to hear that the old Hands get the starting berth. Would like to see Mark Donnelly hold on to his place. Peter Harte in the HFs?
Post by: tyroneman on June 02, 2011, 08:14:27 AM
Is it all ticket or pay at gate?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 02, 2011, 09:35:21 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 02, 2011, 08:14:27 AM

Seats are ticket and the terrace is pay at the gate I believe!
Post by: LeoMc on June 02, 2011, 10:26:35 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 01, 2011, 11:19:31 PM
Quote from: Mr. Nakata on June 01, 2011, 08:43:06 PM

Wouldn't be surprised to hear that the old Hands get the starting berth. Would like to see Mark Donnelly hold on to his place. Peter Harte in the HFs?

Now if we could start these 5 it would be the beginnings of a revamp. How about this team

Devine
Swift, McCarron, McCaul
D Harte, Gormley, Ricey
Colm cav & Cassidy
P Harte, B McGuigan, Sean Cav
Penrose, Donnelly, Mugsy

Evolution not revolution, Only 5 of the class of 98 (6 if you put Hub in there) but still plenty of experience.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 02, 2011, 10:29:13 AM
Here's the team I think Mickey will pick based on injuries & league performances.

Packie
Ricey
McCarron - I think he'd prefer to send on Justy rather than take him off
McCaul - Could switch with McCarron
Davey
Conor
Philly - Was our best player last year and if fully fit will not leave him out
Hub
Cassidy - Could lose out to one of the Cavanaghs
Dooher - I think he'll start as Mickey & Brian like to send out the right strong signals
Brian McG
Sean Cavanagh - If injury is OK
Penrose
SoN
Colm Cavanagh - Could play as 3rd MF & Mickey doesn't like to drop him

Post by: Main Street on June 02, 2011, 11:35:34 AM
Tyrone have got older and Monaghan have got younger.

For the most part, the Monaghan team have been together through the league. The backbone of the team should be familiar enough with Hughes, Mone, Clerkin, Lennon, Finlay and McManus. There's about 9 or 10 players gone. It's a tough game for the newcomers.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 02, 2011, 07:21:01 PM
This could be a trickier game compared to our last couple of championship meetings where Monaghan, although not outright favourites, were tipped to cause a shock. Expectations are very low this weekend with so many new faces and a new man at the helm. It's set up perfectly for an ambush.

I think Mickey's first 15 will be...

Packie
McCaul
McCarron
Ricey
Davy
Block
Jordan
Hub
Cassidy
Colm Cav
B McGuigan
Sean Cav
Penrose
SoN
Mugsy

However my own choice would be...

Packie
McCaul
McCarron
Carlin
P Harte
Block
Jordan
Hub
Cassidy
Sean Cav
B McGuigan
Mugsy
Penrose
SoN
M Donnelly

With Sean as a third in MF and Mugsy/BMcG supplying Donnelly/SoN and Penrose moving between FF/HF/MF.
Post by: Main Street on June 02, 2011, 09:17:25 PM
Is that the best you can do? we're still not scared.
Post by: LeoMc on June 02, 2011, 09:21:35 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 02, 2011, 09:17:25 PM
Is that the best you can do? we're still not scared.
We'll show you ours at 10:00. When you will you show us yours?
Or will Eamon do a Banty and name the wrong one to "fool us"?
Post by: whitegoodman on June 02, 2011, 09:26:56 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 02, 2011, 07:21:01 PM
This could be a trickier game compared to our last couple of championship meetings where Monaghan, although not outright favourites, were tipped to cause a shock. Expectations are very low this weekend with so many new faces and a new man at the helm. It's set up perfectly for an ambush.

I think Mickey's first 15 will be...

Packie
McCaul
McCarron
Ricey
Davy
Block
Jordan
Hub
Cassidy
Colm Cav
B McGuigan
Sean Cav
Penrose
SoN
Mugsy

However my own choice would be...

Packie
McCaul
McCarron
Carlin
P Harte
Block
Jordan
Hub
Cassidy
Sean Cav
B McGuigan
Mugsy
Penrose
SoN
M Donnelly

With Sean as a third in MF and Mugsy/BMcG supplying Donnelly/SoN and Penrose moving between FF/HF/MF.

That second team looks a great team mixed with experience and a freshness about it.  Add the 2 McMahons into it when fit and you have a team worth talking about.

However i fear  u are right and mickey will revert to type and include ricey,davey harte and Cavanagh jnr.  The 2nd team would be all ireland contenders with the 2 mcmahons included, the first team may win Ulster but not much else.
Post by: bigfrank on June 02, 2011, 09:44:10 PM
Tyrone: P McConnell, M Swift, C McCarron, R McMenamin, D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan, A Cassidy, S Cavanagh, B Dooher, B McGuigan, P Harte, M Penrose, S O'Neill, M Donnelly.

Team for sunday just announced!!!
Post by: tyroneman on June 02, 2011, 10:01:40 PM
Post by: omagh_gael on June 02, 2011, 10:03:31 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on June 02, 2011, 09:44:10 PM
Tyrone: P McConnell, M Swift, C McCarron, R McMenamin, D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan, A Cassidy, S Cavanagh, B Dooher, B McGuigan, P Harte, M Penrose, S O'Neill, M Donnelly.

Team for sunday just announced!!!

Interesting team. Still a bit on the experienced side but that was to be expected.

On the plus side:

-  it's good to see Sean back out in MF, a lot of games by-passed him in the HF line.
- P Harte getting the start in HF line. Injects a bit of youth and is a top class footballer.
- Good to see M Donnelly getting a run out. Had a storming finish to the league and deservesto be on first 15.

Negatives...

HB line still lacks pace. I still think this has been the difference in our (relative) lack of sucess in last few years.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on June 02, 2011, 10:20:55 PM
McCaul must be gutted. I thought he'd done enough. Jordan's inclusion was always going to mean Ricey moving back. No hub and mugsy definitely a surprise. Interesting team selection.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 02, 2011, 10:30:59 PM
As an outsider looking in it is hard to understand how a 36 year old who hasnt played intercounty football since last august can start this game, no matter how good he once was.
Post by: ONeill on June 02, 2011, 10:32:33 PM
Slight reservations about the FB line but I like that team and especially the options on the bench.

Maybe prefer to see the Block at FB and Peter Harte in the HB line but that's always an option later on if McCarron finds it tough going or the HB line need a bit of injection.

If Stevie's on his game the FF line looks exciting.

Can smell the burgers.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 02, 2011, 10:51:50 PM
By all accounts Stevie has really been playing well for our club though I know its a step up.

I'm surprised Hub & Colm are both dropped whereas Dooher & Jordan come straight back into the team. Looks like Mickey has bit the bullet and picked a team on form rather than from what he usually picked. So what about Dooher & Jordan then I hear you ask?

Well apparently both were going great in training and we know both have great attitudes.
I'm delighted that Peter Harte & Donnelly are getting their chance.
I'd say the full back line are happy Tommy Freeman won't be there this weekend.
Mr McCaul and Carlin left out in the cold again.

Post by: bigfrank on June 02, 2011, 11:00:10 PM
Hub is injured..hamstring trouble for past two weeks...for me a certain starter if he was fit!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 02, 2011, 11:05:07 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on June 02, 2011, 11:00:10 PM
Hub is injured..hamstring trouble for past two weeks...for me a certain starter if he was fit!!

Fair enough, we'll need him before any dust settles I'd say.
Post by: ONeill on June 02, 2011, 11:20:11 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 02, 2011, 11:05:07 PM

Yea, he has been prolific in Omagh this year!!
Post by: Gaffer on June 02, 2011, 11:29:01 PM
HATS ! SCARVES ! HEADBANDS !

Roll on Sunday !
Post by: omagh_gael on June 02, 2011, 11:32:21 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 02, 2011, 11:20:11 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 02, 2011, 11:05:07 PM

Yea, he has been prolific in Omagh this year!!

Ah jaysus don't curse the man. Best not say anything our he'll be back sending his point efforts out of the ground and into the lisanelly army barracks!
Post by: trileacman on June 02, 2011, 11:41:10 PM
Don't like that team. Contains too many similarities with the teams that came up short against Dublin and Cork IMO. Invariably that team will change very little from now until the end of the championship either, unless we get beat and end up in the qualifiers. IMO The trudge through the qualifiers sorts the men from the boys, forms a teams spirit and whittles us down to our best 15 like it has done so for the past 5 AI champions. Without that experience I don't think we'll make it to CP in September.
Post by: attheraces on June 03, 2011, 12:11:09 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on June 02, 2011, 10:30:59 PM
As an outsider looking in it is hard to understand how a 36 year old who hasnt played intercounty football since last august can start this game, no matter how good he once was.

For a lot of insiders it is hard to understand as well.
Post by: Rois on June 03, 2011, 12:49:34 AM
And hard to understand how the same 36 year old can win a bleep test against boys literally half his age but there you go.

Post by: attheraces on June 03, 2011, 01:04:10 AM
Quote from: Rois on June 03, 2011, 12:49:34 AM
And hard to understand how the same 36 year old can win a bleep test against boys literally half his age but there you go.

Mo Farah would probably win the bleep test against the same boys, doesn't mean he would start at wing half forward for Tyrone.
Post by: rrhf on June 03, 2011, 01:23:40 AM
Rois dooher isn't strong enough for croke park starting. Listen we have a panel that could win an ai and a team who couldn't.  Its how the 30 are used that counts. It looks like a team specifically picked to win an ulster championship with no consideration for the lessons learned in dublin over the last couple of years.  Could that team beat cork. No chance? 
Post by: Puckoon on June 03, 2011, 01:52:03 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/13627070.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/13627070.stm)

Enjoyable viewing.
Post by: tyroneman on June 03, 2011, 06:51:15 AM
Quotelooks like a team specifically picked to win an ulster championship with no consideration for the lessons learned in dublin over the last couple of years.  Could that team beat cork. No chance? 

Just as well we are currently trying to win the Ulster Championship and not trying to beat Cork at the minute then........... ;)
Post by: BennyHarp on June 03, 2011, 08:16:23 AM
Quote from: rrhf on June 03, 2011, 01:23:40 AM
Rois dooher isn't strong enough for croke park starting. Listen we have a panel that could win an ai and a team who couldn't.  Its how the 30 are used that counts. It looks like a team specifically picked to win an ulster championship with no consideration for the lessons learned in dublin over the last couple of years.  Could that team beat cork. No chance?

Dooher has probably had his most injury free preparation for the championship in a few years. He's probably feeling stronger than he has in a while and for all we know this is Mickey's chance to find out if he still has the legs for 70mins of championship football. If he doesn't, then we'll know on Sunday and to me that is giving consideration to later in the championship. But if he does have one more season in his legs, then can anyone really argue that he should be discarded? We don't know what's going on behind the scenes and I for one have learned over the years to always give Mickey the benefit of the doubt!
Post by: nrico2006 on June 03, 2011, 08:30:38 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 03, 2011, 08:16:23 AM

Dooher has probably had his most injury free preparation for the championship in a few years. He's probably feeling stronger than he has in a while and for all we know this is Mickey's chance to find out if he still has the legs for 70mins of championship football. If he doesn't, then we'll know on Sunday and to me that is giving consideration to later in the championship. But if he does have one more season in his legs, then can anyone really argue that he should be discarded? We don't know what's going on behind the scenes and I for one have learned over the years to always give Mickey the benefit of the doubt!

My thoughts too.  People have been harsh on SON and Dooher but the oast few seasons has seen them see little or no action on the pitch for Club or County before the Ulster Championship, qhereas this year they have both got a good few games under their belts with the Club which hopefully should have them pretty sharp.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on June 03, 2011, 08:56:37 AM

there's bleep tests, and then there's bleep tests with Vinny Corey bitting at your hole at the same time...
Post by: Rois on June 03, 2011, 09:08:04 AM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on June 03, 2011, 08:56:37 AM

there's bleep tests, and then there's bleep tests with Vinny Corey bitting at your hole at the same time...

Aye ok ok, wish I'd never mentioned a bleep test now.  I was listening to the gospel according to Mickey last night at the Club Tyrone members' do and he assured us that he was in good form. 
Given his type of game, I don't think Brian would have the best "impact sub" effect so if you're going to use him, you've got to start him and then sub off if it doesn't work out rather than the other way around. 
Post by: FarneyMan on June 03, 2011, 09:37:14 AM
Monaghan's starting 15

No. Name (In English) Name (As Gaelige) Club (As Gaelige)
1 Mark Keogh Marc Mac Eochaidh Sean Mac Diarmada
2 Kieran Duffy Ciarán Ó Dufaigh Leachtan
3 Darren Hughes Darren Ó hAodha An Bhoth
4 Colin Walshe Coilín Breathnach Dubhthamlacht
5 Conor Galligan Conor Ó Gealagáin Cláirsigh Mhuineacháin
6 Deasún Ó Mocháin Dessie Mone Cluain Tiobraid
7 Owen Duffy Eoin Ó Dufaigh Leachtan
8 Owen Lennon Eoin Ó Leannáin Leachtan
9 Dick Clerkin Risteard Ó Cléirchín Currachain
10 Stephen Gollogly Stiofán Mac an Ghallόglaigh Carraig Mhachaire Rois
11 Mark Downey Marc Ó Dúnaigh Carraig Mhachaire Rois
12 Niall McAdam Néill Mac Adaim Cláirsigh Mhuineacháin
13 Daniel McKenna Donal Mac Cionnaith Gaeil Triúcha
14 Paul Finlay Pόl Ó Fionnalaigh Béal Átha Beithe
15 Conor Mac Maghnuis Conor McManus Cluain Tiobraid

Captain: Dick Clerkin
Post by: Bingo on June 03, 2011, 09:40:34 AM
Interesting that Daniel McKenna starts - come in completely from the cold - no league action but played U21 and was minor last year. A very exciting player but surprised to see him start, could be massive step up for him but he does have ability and the confidence needed at this level.
Post by: FarneyMan on June 03, 2011, 09:51:52 AM
Big call on Daniel McKenna alright, i seen that he scored 3 points against Dublin in a challenge a few weeks back............but the heat of championship action will be completely different to a meaningless challenge.........
Post by: Bingo on June 03, 2011, 10:03:39 AM
Is Chrissy McGuinness injured? Surprised he missed out, did well in the league and club form has been excellent. Maybe with Gollogy back in, his size counted against him.

I wonder will the likes of Lennon and Gollogy have the 70mins in them. If your not 100% in championship football, you'll get found out.
Post by: Sleater on June 03, 2011, 10:20:56 AM
Quote from: Bingo on June 03, 2011, 10:03:39 AM
Is Chrissy McGuinness injured? Surprised he missed out, did well in the league and club form has been excellent. Maybe with Gollogy back in, his size counted against him.

I wonder will the likes of Lennon and Gollogy have the 70mins in them. If your not 100% in championship football, you'll get found out.

Yeah Chris McGuiness is out injured. He went of injured in one of Ballybay's last league games. I'm not sure what the injury was, possibly a mussle pull of some sort.
Post by: rrhf on June 03, 2011, 10:21:59 AM
I think Im being picked up wrong here, that team may well be the battle hardened boys to get the 3 in a row.  But theres no real attempt to change for Croke Park - maybe change isnt needed until we get there.  Dont forget Dooher was flying until we got there last year as well. I know you have to get there first but lets face it we should.  Mc Caul has worked hard to get back into shape and will be disappointed after playinmg well over the league, but I wish Mc Carron and the guys well in there- they might have a tough hour coming up.  I think this is a game where we could have been doing with a fully fit Hub in the centre, but by the same token, Congratulations to Aidan Cassidy who has defied many setbacks to be back in there and deserves his championship start.  Im also delighted big Seans back in midfield and it will be a big day well deserved for Mark Donnelly.  All in all its great to be back in the ulster champsionship - Its great to see Philly Jordan out there.  Bring the suncream, icecream and salad cream.  Roll on.     
Post by: Sleater on June 03, 2011, 10:27:28 AM
Team is very close to what I expected. Dick is named at midfield but he will probably line out at wing forward with Neil McAdam in the middle aloing side Eoin Lennon.

Once Vinny Corey was injured the wing back slot was between Eion Duffy and Mark McNally.
Big call on Daniel McKenna, but he's a hugely talented young player with the confidence and form to do well on the day
Post by: rrhf on June 03, 2011, 10:36:47 AM
Theres a lot hanging on big Dicks performance. 
Post by: Fuzzman on June 03, 2011, 10:41:38 AM
As a fellow club man who lives in Dublin, I've not saw much of Dooher this year so I can't comment on how he's been doing in the club games.

I thought his role last year for the county had changed quite a bit in that he was no longer the man covering every blade of grass on the field and he seemed to be conserving his energy more than in previous years. Because we had got so used to him having such a huge influence on all games, we then tend to have huge expectation for him but as a half forward, he can win a lot of breaking ball around MF and I thought he kicked quite a lot of scores last year. Anyone got figures on that?

I think the main thing he brings to the table is he drives others on and is a true leader. He won't let his team mates rest on their laurels and is constantly trying to rise performance and will be on yer back if yer slacking. I would say this is the main reason why Mickey picked him to start and is the main reason that he doesn't want him to retire at the end of every season.
You can dismiss the bleep tests if you like but if he is one of the fittest players there, then you can't use that argument that he no longer has the legs. We know he's got huge experience and reads the game very well. He can take his score and usually uses the ball well imo.

On the other side, it must be a wee bit demoralising for the younger players to not get their chance
Players who trained and played all spring to lose out to Brian & Jordan right away.
These are the hard choices managers have to make and I think Mickey does know best
There will always be questions asked like is he too loyal to his old guard.

I think Penrose plays the old Dooher role most days now and as we know positions don't mean much in the Tyrone team.
I'd say McCaul will be on at some stage for either corner back. I can never make my mind up about Swift. He must be doing well to keep out the others. Is Carlin fit? He must be thinking he's never gonna get into the team and is probably one man not happy to see Jordan back.

I wonder is Sean glad to be back at MF? I'll be hoping he has a good game cos he hasn't really played that great since 2008 though again he's cursed by the high standards he has set for himself like Dooher.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 03, 2011, 10:43:04 AM
Quote from: rrhf on June 03, 2011, 10:36:47 AM
Theres a lot hanging on big Dicks performance.

I thought Colm Cavanagh was dropped!  ;D
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 03, 2011, 10:45:47 AM
Can't believe Dooher starts! Let it Go!
D Harte is flying under the radar a bit too i reckon - been living off past success this couple of years.
Glad to see Sean Cavanagh back at midfield where he should always play (bar 08 maybe when it was a good suprise tactic)
Mark Donnelly deserves his chance and i think he'll take it - classic example of a great club player who should have been recognised before now but hasn't! Only diff with him and others is prob perserverence! (sic?)
Post by: Fuzzman on June 03, 2011, 11:22:51 AM
Do people see us playing a 3 man FF line or will Penfold be roaming?
Will we see Monaghan play a sweeper I wonder or do a Donegal style defense?

If so I hope we kick points from 40 yards. I'd rather see us kick 10 wides from there than continuously lose the ball trying to carry it in past a packed defence like we did v Cork 2009 and even Dublin last year.

Article from the Belfast Telegraph

Mickey Harte will not be distracted by talk of hat-trick
By John Campbell
Friday, 3 June 2011

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/mickey-harte-will-not-be-distracted-by-talk-of-hattrick-16007399.html#ixzz1OCyt7fh5
The prospect of a hat-trick of Ulster titles for Tyrone may be a preoccupation with the bookmakers but it is certainly not to the forefront of manager Mickey Harte's mind.

The triple All-Ireland winning boss will happily settle for victory over Monaghan on Sunday and will then see just where that will take his side.

"Our only concern at this moment is to get a first round victory on Sunday, nothing more than that. If we were to start thinking in terms of hat-tricks we could take our eye off the ball. A win on Sunday would set us up for whatever the next challenge might be and that's how we are looking at things," insists Harte.

Tyrone and Armagh have been the dominant forces in Ulster for several years now having won 11 titles between them since 1999, and Harte reiterates his point in relation to the Ulster provincial championship.

"I still attach great currency to Ulster titles. Let's face it Tyrone are not exactly coming down with them.

"At the minute the only thing we need to concern ourselves with is getting over Monaghan and no matter what anyone says this will not be easy."

Harte was bitterly disappointed when the Red Hands lost to Dublin in the All-Ireland quarter-finals last year and since then Tyrone's hunger to capture the Sam Maguire Cup for the fourth time has intensified, principally because for many of the players this could perhaps be their last year in the county colours.

But Harte does not place any great emphasis on age - indeed, he refuses to listen to talk of 'ageism'.

"Current form is all that matters. It is in essence the ultimate barometer when it comes to picking teams, especially for championship matches. Every player comes into consideration and it is my job to put out what I feel is the best team that is available to me on any given day," adds Harte

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/mickey-harte-will-not-be-distracted-by-talk-of-hattrick-16007399.html#ixzz1OCyhzlRl
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 03, 2011, 01:24:33 PM
What do you make of Justin McMahon not making subs???? Very Surprising!!
Also heard a rumour Davy Harte is carrying an injury and he starts????
Post by: Mr. Nakata on June 03, 2011, 01:56:25 PM
Justy not on the bench and Joe is. Could this be right?
Post by: Rois on June 03, 2011, 02:41:16 PM
According to Mickey it's right.  Justin still injured.  Joe faring much better. 
Post by: Fuzzman on June 03, 2011, 02:59:06 PM
I heard Davey was injured too and there was no mention of Hub injured all week or at least not on here anyway.

Has anyone got a list of the subs?
Amazing that the HB & HF lines are nearly intact from 2005
Can anyone remind me who was the starting 15 in 2003?

Post by: Rois on June 03, 2011, 03:01:20 PM
List of subs is on www.tyronegaa.ie
Post by: tyroneboi on June 03, 2011, 03:37:24 PM
2003 lineup:

J Devine
C Gourley
C McAnallen
R McMenamin
C Gormley
G Devlin
P Jordan
K Hughes
S Cavanagh
B Dooher
B McGuigan
G Cavlan
E McGinley
P Canavan
O Mulligan
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 03, 2011, 04:21:39 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 03, 2011, 02:41:16 PM
According to Mickey it's right.  Justin still injured.  Joe faring much better.

Have it on good authority that Justy is fit (maybe not match fit) but has been left out as they had to have a panel of 26 out of 36 players!
Post by: Fuzzman on June 03, 2011, 04:30:36 PM
Has Gourley left the panel?

Were any of ye at the do last night. Was there much craic with the class of 86?
Did Spillane show up?
Post by: rrhf on June 03, 2011, 04:53:23 PM
Well Mickey has said he only picks players on form, so obviously these guys are in form, perhaps a vintage treat for Tyrone fans then on Sunday.  If players are not on form come Sunday then the reverse logic is that they will not play the following game and be dropped.  A new even more ruthless edge methinks.   
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 03, 2011, 10:21:37 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 03, 2011, 04:53:23 PM
Well Mickey has said he only picks players on form, so obviously these guys are in form, perhaps a vintage treat for Tyrone fans then on Sunday.  If players are not on form come Sunday then the reverse logic is that they will not play the following game and be dropped.  A new even more ruthless edge methinks.

I hope you are right.

I'm shook with the half-back line again.
It's been shook big time v Cork in SF09 & Dub QF10.

I put my faith in Mickey.

Post by: trileacman on June 04, 2011, 12:10:01 AM
TBH tyrone will probably play through this match well enough, pulling away in the second half you would imagine. Anyone else see somethingo else on the cards?
Post by: ck on June 04, 2011, 09:07:47 AM
Lads, can no-one see an upset in this game. Especially after last week! (Armagh)
Monaghan have new manager, a few new players... they have enough experience there and have been flying below the radar all year. They won't be heading to Omagh for a good show. I just get the feeling that it's all set up for another shocker!
Post by: ck on June 04, 2011, 09:10:34 AM
Is that Donnelly lad at full forward the same Donnelly who played for Jordanstown in the Sigerson cup this year?
Post by: Main Street on June 04, 2011, 01:47:48 PM
There's an article in the IT about the new Monaghan written by Malachy Clerkin.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0604/1224298388806.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0604/1224298388806.html)

Malachy is an objective authority on Monaghan GAA.
Any connection Malachy has with Monaghan, is purely incidental.
Post by: Muzz on June 04, 2011, 02:26:43 PM
Slightly off topic of the match but need some help from anyone coming from Belfast to the match tomorrow.  My tickets (Season ticket holder) only arrived this morning in Belfast but I am already up home.  If anyone is coming from Belfast to the game tomorrow or coming up tonight and I could meet you tomorrow at Omagh please let me know!

Thanks
Post by: Muzz on June 04, 2011, 02:52:03 PM
Good call Hardstation!

If no one else is coming up the road thats an option!
Post by: omagh_gael on June 04, 2011, 05:51:57 PM
Quote from: ck on June 04, 2011, 09:10:34 AM
Is that Donnelly lad at full forward the same Donnelly who played for Jordanstown in the Sigerson cup this year?

No. The Donnelly you're thinking of is Mattie who is a son of Tony, Mickey's right hand man. He plays for Trillick and was apart of the senior squad for a time last year but dropped out. As far as I'm aware he's not a part of the squad this year but I'm sure it'll be only a matter of time before he rejoins the fold. He also had a stormer of a year for the U-21's.
Post by: Gaffer on June 04, 2011, 05:57:43 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 04, 2011, 05:51:57 PM

No. The Donnelly you're thinking of is Mattie who is a son of Tony, Mickey's right hand man. He plays for Trillick and was apart of the senior squad for a time last year but dropped out. As far as I'm aware he's not a part of the squad this year but I'm sure it'll be only a matter of time before he rejoins the fold. He also had a stormer of a year for the U-21's.

Does Tony live in Trillick?  I thought he lived about Augher.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 04, 2011, 06:05:34 PM
Doesn't look like Monaghan have improved since that bad beating they got from Tyrone in the Ulster final last July? though i think this will be a closer game but Tyrone will win again.
Post by: maximus on June 04, 2011, 06:41:47 PM
Mattie donnelly is son of Liam the Tyrone underage and Trillick manager
Post by: tyroneman on June 04, 2011, 08:02:36 PM
Would have thought Mattie Donnelly deserved a place on the bench..definitely a senior star in the making.

Irish News has Justin out with a groin innjury but expected to be back for next game, wherever that might be.

Irish news also has McKenna as one of the fastest player on the squad..never thought that having seen him in the flesh
Post by: tyronehead on June 04, 2011, 08:27:33 PM
I think the form team has been picked according to insiders except Hub who has a tight hamstring.I hope we can get a good start and then hopefully give a run to some of the younger ones , but by no means will Monaghan be easy.I have been a big fan of Mark Donnelly for a while and delighted he is starting and obviously Mickey is picking on form.
Post by: LeoMc on June 04, 2011, 10:31:31 PM

The Donnelly you are thinking of is Jamie, Aughers main score taker.
Post by: never kickt a ball on June 04, 2011, 10:59:24 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on June 04, 2011, 10:31:31 PM

The Donnelly you are thinking of is Jamie, Aughers main score taker.

You are all wrong! Is it not Stephen Donnelly the top scorer for Aghaloo who's related to the Tyrone minor manager Mickey Donnelly and Cuthbert Donnelly? http://www.teamtalkmag.com/?p=5730
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 04, 2011, 11:55:44 PM
Your all wrong. Its Declan Donnelly the ex Byker Grove star you're thinking on!
Post by: Orangemac on June 05, 2011, 12:30:13 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 03, 2011, 08:16:23 AM

Given Mickey Hartes track record you have to give him the benfit of the doubt but there will come a time maybe not this year when the miles on the clock will catch up with them, like Kerry in the late eighties

Reading Harte's book what stood out was the incredible bond between himself and the minor teams from 97 and 98. Will he able to drop the likes of McGuigan, O'Neill, Jordan when the time comes or will loyalty overrule what is right for Tyrone football?
Post by: tyroneman on June 05, 2011, 08:26:52 AM
Are the rest of the season tickets in sh*t areas also? Got mine for Section A - whatever happened to the promise of decent seating?
Post by: rrhf on June 05, 2011, 09:05:44 AM
Great stuff o nail.  Bring it on .  Poor day so far could that play in to monaghans hands. What time for throw in

Post by: GTB on June 05, 2011, 11:16:39 AM
Hello everyone,

Lovely day for a game of football ;)

Anyone else hearing the rumour about a certain Tyrone player  copying a certain Man Utd player :o
Post by: Redhand Santa on June 05, 2011, 11:36:18 AM
Great 1st post. Is this really the place for this sort of nonsense?

Terrible day for a game of football. Could certainly help to even things up. Will be interesting to see what sort of shape Tyrone are currently in! If struggling there's certainly a strong bench to call on.
Post by: haranguerer on June 05, 2011, 11:43:56 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on June 05, 2011, 11:36:18 AM

Yes
Post by: Rois on June 05, 2011, 11:45:34 AM
Passed up stand tickets to enjoy the sun on the terrace  :-\

Post by: tyroneman on June 05, 2011, 11:51:36 AM
QuoteTerrible day for a game of football. Could certainly help to even things up

Tyrone were pretty decent in worse weather against Dublin a few years back. I wouldn't worry about the rain too much.

QuoteAnyone else hearing the rumour about a certain Tyrone player  copying a certain Man Utd player

This type of thing is not on. Every year there will be rumours about players, some true, some not. They are however ordinary decent folk for the most part and deserve to have this sort of nonsense kept off internet forums.

Post by: tyroneman on June 05, 2011, 11:59:34 AM
On a side note if you look at the bench and add in a few more absentees.......

Devine

McCaul                                   Justin                           PJ

McNabb                                 Red Sean                       Carlin

McKenna                                  Hub

Joe                                        Coney                          Colm

Mugsy                                    Tommy                         Enda

Not a bad aul team............
Post by: GTB on June 05, 2011, 12:41:02 PM
Totally right guys very immature of me - if a man wants to get a hair transplant so be it! I'm just jealous wishing I could afford the same myself :P

Anyway it will be like the two teams are still playing the national league with that kind of day, it will be interesting to see the Monaghan approach to this game, lets hope its good hard football!

Post by: Denn Forever on June 05, 2011, 02:20:33 PM
Is this game live on TV?  BBC2 are showing the tennis and I assume RTE/TV3 are showing the Dublin game.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 05, 2011, 02:23:39 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 05, 2011, 02:20:33 PM
Is this game live on TV?  BBC2 are showing the tennis and I assume RTE/TV3 are showing the Dublin game.

Only coverage is deffered on bbc2 at 7pm.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 02:23:55 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 05, 2011, 11:59:34 AM
On a side note if you look at the bench and add in a few more absentees.......

Devine

McCaul                                   Justin                           PJ

McNabb                                 Red Sean                       Carlin

McKenna                                  Hub

Joe                                        Coney                          Colm

Mugsy                                    Tommy                         Enda

Not a bad aul team............

hve to agree with you when you put it like that, would beat most teams

Quote from: Denn Forever on June 05, 2011, 02:20:33 PM

deferred at 7PM
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on June 05, 2011, 03:34:59 PM
Radio coverage?
Post by: Atticus_Finch on June 05, 2011, 03:47:40 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8437990.stm
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2011, 03:52:43 PM
1-4 to 0-5 Tyrone
Post by: GalwayBayRedHand on June 05, 2011, 03:58:23 PM
it is on radio at Q101 at
http://www.q101west.fm/portal/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=155&Itemid=54
Post by: rrhf on June 05, 2011, 04:40:55 PM
Early shower for big dick
Post by: rrhf on June 05, 2011, 05:01:09 PM
Decisions on dooher and harte could be costly
Post by: new devil on June 05, 2011, 05:03:39 PM
Score? how long left?
Post by: The Worker on June 05, 2011, 05:05:35 PM
who got the line?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 05, 2011, 05:09:16 PM
Tyrone won 1-13 to 1-11

*Correct lamh dhearg my mistake.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on June 05, 2011, 05:16:58 PM
1-13 to 1-11. Plenty of work to be done for the next day.
Post by: Rois on June 05, 2011, 05:32:04 PM
Let me be the first to say it, Brian Dooher should not have been allowed to stay on the pitch for the entire match. Did more bad than good.
What happened Sean Cav in the second half??
McGuigan a bright spark though. Jordan also would have been a big loss if he hadn't been there.
Inconsistent ref, wet weather and plain bad football from both made it an ugly game to watch.
Post by: orangeman on June 05, 2011, 07:01:00 PM
It will be a very, very sad day that these Tyrone lads who have been around Mickey Harte from 1997 onwards hang up the boots and I know I'm biased but Brian Mc Guigan has been and still is an an out and out genius, one of the best footballers of at least his generation and who is playing some phenomenal football this year.

Other men who were earlier in the year after a relatively speaking insignificant league defeat labelled as being too old and over the hill excelled today and showed that whilst form may be temporary, class is permanent.

What an absoloute joy it has been to have lived through the times that Mickey and this team have provided.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 05, 2011, 07:09:08 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on June 05, 2011, 05:31:17 PM
Interesting accusation from the Monaghan manager about the referee during his interview with Radio Ulster, a poor bit of interviewing not to follow up such a comment.

What accusation did he make? Something to do with Mugsy's 'challenge' on Walshe? Although I didn't see exactly what happened there I'm pretty sure the ref was communicating to the players that him nor the linesman seen it.

Think you're a bit harsh on the game there Rois. I thought it was enjoyable considering the conditions which were horrendous. Never been at a game with such an amount of rainfall. On that note, fair play to the groundsmen the pitch was in 1st class condition. From where I was there appeared to be no standing water at all and although very slippy the surface remained firm.

You're on the money re Dooher Rois. I counted five continuous posessions given away by Dooher in the 2nd half alone. He contributed very little from open play and got turned over quite a bit. Couldn't believe that he lasted the full 70. BTW I'm not saying
he's finished but he clearly isn't a 70 minute man any longer, especially with guys like Coney etc chomping at the bit to get experience.

I will post more later but to finish off on a high, congrats to Mark Donnelly and Stephen O'Neill who both put in great shifts with SoN scoring a couple of classics and Sparkies direct running causing all sorts of bother.

1st prize in the silliest man in Healy park has to go to Dick Clerkin. What the he'll was he thinking? Fair enough you can give your opponent a bit of a wrestle/roughing up to let him know you're there but Dick took the biscuit by doing this over and over directly in frot of the officials and his thinking for second yellow defies logic. Bad form for a captain.
Post by: aontroim on June 05, 2011, 08:03:57 PM
Healy Park looks like it needs a good dose of 20-10-10 to green it up a bit (despite the amount of shite that was played on it today  :D)
Post by: tyroneman on June 05, 2011, 08:11:51 PM
Well. What a curates egg of a game.

Tyrone were sublime playing early ball into SoN and Donnelly who both roasted their men all day long. When we started the possession play however we slowed the game down way too much and let Monaghan regroup and turn us over.

Packie 6 - poor kickouts not a lot else to do
Swift - 7 decent. Did what he had to. Little fuss
McCarron 5 - ticked early and hooked soon after.
Ricey 7 - swept up well broke up the field as often as he could solid.
Davy 6  - poor. Not involved enough. Turned over too easily
Block 8 - immense.
Jordan 7 - productive tidy and played a solid game.
Cass 6 - nothing spectacular
Sean 7 - started well and faded in second half, poor free taking at times
Dooher 5 - really poor by his standards. Slow and gave the ball away more than anyOne else. Fair play he always wanted it but just a bad day at the office. Pace gOne.
Brian 8 - first class. Involved in everything good
Penrose 6 - another quiet day. Shocking bad penalty. Rightly subbed
SoN 8 - excellent. Won everything hit into him and scored some sublime points off either foot
Donnelly 8 - excellent also great turns and a good burst of speed. Should keep his place. Will be a disgrace if he doesn't
Harte 5 - oh dear.  Poor. 2 good 45s but overall awful. Backed out of tackles and what was he thinking when ball in hand,  20 yards out, no defenders and he simply panics and kicks high and wide.

Carlin 5 - poor. Should have just let ball go out of play but kept it in and penalty resulted
Colm 7 -  did well enough. Won ball and used it intelligently into the forwards.
Hub 6 -  solid but not a big impact
Red Sean 6 - ok. Nothing spectacular.
Mugsy 7 - good impact. Composed.

Ref was poor today. Inconsistent, never let play flow and gave frees for nothing all day long. Poor decisions too such as Jordan gettting clipped by Golloghy and gets a yellow while Golloghy gets subbed off and no card. Also booked Penrose for simulation when he was clearly smacked in the face. 1 yard from the ref.

Tyrone made very hard work of it but were always the better team. If Penrose had bagged the penalty. Game over early but hey ho. Good to have plenty to work on I guess.

Have to say Monaghan set their stall out early with the dirt. Clerkin can have NO complaints. Got away with murder behind the refs back on Cavanagh. All over the pitch they were digging off the ball with no interest in playing football.
Post by: hsthompson on June 05, 2011, 08:29:34 PM
Monaghan's two corner backs were only interested in mouthing and slapping, fair play to the forwards for not reacting. They looked pretty pathetic with their behaviour
Post by: imtommygunn on June 05, 2011, 08:32:12 PM
Brian McGuigan looks seriously strong there - breaks every tackle. O'Neill still some player too - be interesting to see what he does on a drier day.

Monaghan's no. 2 looks like a sc**bag and no. 4 not far behind them. Seem very reliant on 3 or 4 players.

Funniest moment had to be Sean Cavanagh claiming to the ref about the Monaghan no. 12 diving- pot kettle black sean...

Doubt, even though Tyrone slowed up second half, anyone will beat them in ulster.
Post by: Doohicky on June 05, 2011, 08:34:18 PM
Looking likely that Mugsy will get away with with his slap.

Doesn't seem to have been caught on camera.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 05, 2011, 08:37:11 PM
Tyrone's goal was a funny one - if O'Neill hadn't been taken out he;d have been given the ball back and was covered... Monaghan taking him out backfired.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 05, 2011, 08:43:41 PM
Quote from: Doohicky on June 05, 2011, 08:34:18 PM

It's a strange one as himself and Walshe had a warm embrace on the final whistle. I suppose what happens on the pitch stays there. From where I was Mone can have no compliants, plus he did it right in front of the officials.

Monaghan have taken the dark arts to a new level. I know it might be a bit hypocritical when we have Ricey acting the buck but about half the Monaghan men were continually slabbering/digging especially their No 2 on SoN. Although funny watching O'Neill looking quite perplexed by all his attention.
Post by: RandyDupree on June 05, 2011, 08:46:18 PM
How come there were at least 3 occasions of men being caught around the neck, one of which resulted in a straight red but another one were no card was issued except to penrose who was the person fouled?
Post by: tyroneman on June 05, 2011, 08:52:30 PM
QuoteInsert Quote
How come there were at least 3 occasions of men being caught around the neck, one of which resulted in a straight red but another one were no card was issued except to penrose who was the person fouled?

Because the ref was very very poor and totally inconsistent today. Simples.

I always worry when a ref signals a penalty by running to the spot and doing a little hop, skip and jump before flinging his arms wide.
QuoteMonaghan have taken the dark arts to a new level. I know it might be a bit hypocritical when we have Ricey acting the buck but about half the Monaghan men were continually slabbering/digging especially their No 2 on SoN. Although funny watching O'Neill looking quite perplexed by all his attention.

I have seen the red mist descend on SoN before and no doubt Monaghan were trying to provoke a reaction. Shame they had to resort to that sort of sh@te from the first whistle.

Post by: GTB on June 05, 2011, 08:53:42 PM
To be fair to Dooher I thought he led by example and was a calming influence in some hot headed occasions, some amount of slobbering from some of the Monaghan backs more interested in the wind up than in playing football.

Brian Mc was immense for me today so too Gormely and SON, did anony else think Jordan looked a bit laboured - is he carrying an injury does anyone know?
Post by: Main Street on June 05, 2011, 09:14:17 PM
Interesting accusation from the Monaghan manager about the referee during his interview with Radio Ulster, a poor bit of interviewing not to follow up such a comment.
McEneaney didn't say anything of note on BBCNI post match interview.
Congratulations to Tyrone, once they got a grip on the game, their lead was not really put under pressure, even though I think Monaghan will take more out of that game.
Stupid tackle by Dessie Mone late on, which he regretted immediately. Pity if he's out of the next game, probably has a few previous as well :)
O'Neill is an exquisite footballer, put him in isolation until the next game. I don't understand the moaning about Dooher from the Tyronies. He is a still a class act, a leader and will get sharper. Trust in Mickey Harte.
Once Clerkin got the red, the Monaghan task was a write off, but I'm pleased about the way we tried to play and we were not hammered.

Post by: Orangemac on June 05, 2011, 09:21:52 PM
Monaghan can be pleased with their reaction to the sending off. Although they never really looked like they could save the game they kept going to the end. Hughes and Walshe in particular had great games in the 2nd half. Tommy Freeman fit could have made a big difference.

Tyrone will be disappointed the way they finished the game. Last 2 championship games they haven't finished well.
Great to see a couple of flashes of SON brilliance though. Also thought Peter Harte was playing reasonably well and didn't deserve to get hauled ashore.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 05, 2011, 09:33:07 PM
Decent enough result for a new team, although plenty left to do. Very difficult conditions today and both teams made loads of mistakes and gave away possession unnecessarily.

Clerkin getting the line was a big blow and i'm sure he'll be very dissappointed. Can't blame the ref for either sending off really, although otherwise he was brutal. Penrose shouldn't have got a yellow card, but neither should he have had a penalty. Also, I don't think the player who fouled Huighes when he was in on goal in the first half even got a yellow card - strange given that they were being thrown around like confetti.

As for Dooher, he still has a decent enough engine, but he gave away possession unnecessarily on a number of occassions. As a captain however, he's a  class act with a cool head and calmed down a number of the younger players on a couple of occassions.

We weren't expected to win today and a two point defeat isn't a terrible result. Depending on the draw we could get a bit of a run through the qualifiers.

What a brutal afternoon though - soaked to the skin - it was a long drive home!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2011, 09:35:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 05, 2011, 09:14:17 PM
McEneaney didn't say anything of note on BBCNI post match interview.
Congratulations to Tyrone, once they got a grip on the game, their lead was not really put under pressure, even though I think Monaghan will take more out of that game.
Stupid tackle by Dessie Mone late on, which he regretted immediately. Pity if he's out of the next game, probably has a few previous as well :)
O'Neill is an exquisite footballer, put him in isolation until the next game. I don't understand the moaning about Dooher from the Tyronies. He is a still a class act, a leader and will get sharper. Trust in Mickey Harte.
Once Clerkin got the red, the Monaghan task was a write off, but I'm pleased about the way we tried to play and we were not hammered.
If any other player gave away possession like Dooher they'd have got the gaff early in the second half.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 05, 2011, 09:55:55 PM
Correct Tony but as others have mentioned, which I should have, was his influence on others around him. He lead by example when the tempers flared.

Think that game will do us the world of good, a real hard hitting proper championship game will set us up nicely for the semi.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2011, 10:37:37 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 05, 2011, 05:32:04 PM
Let me be the first to say it, Brian Dooher should not have been allowed to stay on the pitch for the entire match. Did more bad than good.

Ah Rois, give the Clannsmen a break now and again!  ;)

Due to impeccable planning on my own part, missed the downpour game, but it would seem that he played a captain's part.
Post by: Rois on June 05, 2011, 10:45:54 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2011, 10:37:37 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 05, 2011, 05:32:04 PM

Ah Rois, give the Clannsmen a break now and again!  ;)

Due to impeccable planning on my own part, missed the downpour game, but it would seem that he played a captain's part.

Ach that's true but he was guilty near the end of giving away a point that brought Monaghan closer.  And it was the first thing Pops and I said to each other afterwards.  But as someone said, it was a case of "bad day at the office" more than anything more serious. 
Post by: From the Bunker on June 05, 2011, 10:46:24 PM
Quote from: RandyDupree on June 05, 2011, 08:46:18 PM

Yeah, the referee was so inconsistent, really he probably started off thinking this was the way to sort the problem and at some stage thought if i stick consistently with this there will be no one on the pitch!
Post by: ONeill on June 05, 2011, 11:51:58 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 05, 2011, 08:11:51 PM

Packie 6 - poor kickouts not a lot else to do
Swift - 7 decent. Did what he had to. Little fuss
McCarron 5 - ticked early and hooked soon after.
Ricey 7 - swept up well broke up the field as often as he could solid.
Davy 6  - poor. Not involved enough. Turned over too easily
Block 8 - immense.
Jordan 7 - productive tidy and played a solid game.
Cass 6 - nothing spectacular
Sean 7 - started well and faded in second half, poor free taking at times
Dooher 5 - really poor by his standards. Slow and gave the ball away more than anyOne else. Fair play he always wanted it but just a bad day at the office. Pace gOne.
Brian 8 - first class. Involved in everything good
Penrose 6 - another quiet day. Shocking bad penalty. Rightly subbed
SoN 8 - excellent. Won everything hit into him and scored some sublime points off either foot
Donnelly 8 - excellent also great turns and a good burst of speed. Should keep his place. Will be a disgrace if he doesn't
Harte 5 - oh dear.  Poor. 2 good 45s but overall awful. Backed out of tackles and what was he thinking when ball in hand,  20 yards out, no defenders and he simply panics and kicks high and wide.

I'd query a couple of those ratings. I didn't think Donnelly did himself justice today going by his NFL performances. I thought he looked nervous quite early on and sometimes looked to offload as quickly as possible. I was glad to see Mickey give him 70 mins but wasn't particularly impressed with his positioning at times. I think you're a bit harsh on Peter Harte. Conditions were horrendous but I still think he put in a decent shift and was central to the Tyrone goal. he did rush an effort but did well to retain possession when the ground almost swallowed the ball up.

As for Dooher - those 70 mins will do him the world of good. You can bleep test all you want but finding a pass at 100mph with some big hallion from Scotstown breathing down your neck is a different thing altogether. Good to see him there though and I think Mickey was thinking more long term with a few players, leaving them on the field. I also thought Penrose did alright and would probably have withdrawn Donnelly before him.

Brian McGuigan - what can you say? How many times did he ghost past players one-on-one. Also, he seems to be getting fitter by the year.

All-in-all - it was a first round game. In '03 they scraped past Derry after a dour drawn game. In '05 they beat Down in a similar game to today - soaking - and it took Canavan's introduction to win that game. In '08 it was a very average show in Omagh against Down. Cobwebs brushed off - onwards and upwards.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2011, 11:57:58 PM
Thank you ONeill, I shan't seek a better synopsis (with due credit to tyroneman in the first instance).
Post by: rrhf on June 06, 2011, 07:21:24 AM
Survived! But as we are picking on form there ll be a couple of guys won't start the next day.  How good is it to continually beat a team that tries to kick you round the field year on year.  Mc guigan was class as was Gormley and O Neill,  Donnelly, Cavanagh, Jordan all very strong.  Mulligan looked sharp in there.  Davey and Dooher were miles off yesterday, not picked on current form after all.       
Post by: nrico2006 on June 06, 2011, 08:27:37 AM
Good to get the first game of the year out of the way.  Easy to pick on Dooher regarding loosing the ball, but when you look at the number of possessions he has compared with most other players in the team then it is expected that he gives away a higher percentage of ball than the rest, although yesterday he did give away more than you would expect (put that down to the weather).  The other thing was that the only man on the pitch who looked like he had a bit of speed was Brian McGuigan.  He was playing well in the League and I thought it might have just been a false dawn, but on yesterdays performance it looks like we have got some of the old pre-injury BMcG back. 

On another note, that number 2 from Monaghan is a tube.  Everytime there were some handbags going on he was either the cause or found reason to go and start pushing someone, on top of the slabbering he was at to SON.
Post by: haranguerer on June 06, 2011, 08:29:41 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 05, 2011, 11:43:56 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on June 05, 2011, 11:36:18 AM

Yes

Cheers for the abusive pm Final Whistle. I should have taken into consideration that people of your limited capacity may not have understood that when I quoted a question I was replying to it. As we have seen in recent events, the internet is exactly the place for such nonsense - it was a jokey reply to the q. In future I'll try to remember to put smileys in so you can look at the wee pictures and get a better idea of the tone of the answer, as it appears clear you dont have the ability to work this out for yourself.
Post by: Club Rossa on June 06, 2011, 08:51:22 AM
Tyrone have plenty of work to do ahead of the semi final but i think they will be reasonably happy with how things went yesterday.Conditions were absolutely atrocious and they were up against a resolute Monaghan team that was never going to make it easy for them.
I thought Brian McGuigan and Stephen O'Neill were the pick of the forwards,Brian is in great shape and is probably playing his best football since 2005.Gormley was solid at the back and Ricey had a good enough game too.I hope the McMahon brothers will be ready for the semi final to tighten up the defence.
Post by: EC Unique on June 06, 2011, 09:45:14 AM
Tyrone did the job but people need to remember they played a fair bit of the game with an extra man and still only won by 2 points. Lots of work needed I think.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 09:48:36 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 05, 2011, 08:32:12 PM
Brian McGuigan looks seriously strong there - breaks every tackle. O'Neill still some player too - be interesting to see what he does on a drier day.

Monaghan's no. 2 looks like a sc**bag and no. 4 not far behind them. Seem very reliant on 3 or 4 players.

Funniest moment had to be Sean Cavanagh claiming to the ref about the Monaghan no. 12 diving- pot kettle black sean...
Doubt, even though Tyrone slowed up second half, anyone will beat them in ulster.

Funny enough but definitely the funniest moment in my eyes was on the telly - the block and finlay pushing each other and looking like they were going to box and then the final whistle goes and immediately both put out there hands to shake! thought it was hilarious!!! Anyone else see this?
Post by: nrico2006 on June 06, 2011, 09:51:09 AM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 09:48:36 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 05, 2011, 08:32:12 PM

Funny enough but definitely the funniest moment in my eyes was on the telly - the block and finlay pushing each other and looking like they were going to box and then the final whistle goes and immediately both put out there hands to shake! thought it was hilarious!!! Anyone else see this?

Aye, seen that at the end.  Funny. 
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 09:51:46 AM
I hate to say I told you so but Davy Harte and Brian Dooher don't deserve a first 15 jersey.
Looks like Mark Donnelly and SON could be a good combination inside this year although Donnelly could take on the shot himself sometimes instead of being so unselfish!
Sean Cavanagh will grow in mid field and if he cuts out the yapping he'll be twice the footballer this year and give Tyrone a better chance of september football!
Post by: bloodybreakball on June 06, 2011, 09:52:02 AM
Funny enough but definitely the funniest moment in my eyes was on the telly - the block and finlay pushing each other and looking like they were going to box and then the final whistle goes and immediately both put out there hands to shake! thought it was hilarious!!!

ahhh that was fairly funny, what burns said after the match was brave and funny too. somebody already posted it there. "dick ride the donkey a bit close to the tail"
Post by: rrhf on June 06, 2011, 10:45:09 AM
What did we make of the replacements
Post by: Main Street on June 06, 2011, 11:15:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2011, 09:35:27 PM
If any other player gave away possession like Dooher they'd have got the gaff early in the second half.
I don't know exactly what you are trying to say there but it sounds like a load of Baloney.
What have you been watching these past years, have you not learnt anything?
I see why Mickey Harte needs the Sam Maguire so bad, it's about the only thing that compensates for having to explain such a glaringly obvious tactic in playing Dooher all the game.
Heavy lies the crown

Jesus wept and I'm speechless.

Quote from: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 09:51:46 AM
I hate to say I told you so but Davy Harte and Brian Dooher don't deserve a first 15 jersey.

The whining never stops

Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 12:10:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 06, 2011, 11:15:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2011, 09:35:27 PM
I don't know exactly what you are trying to say there but it sounds like a load of Baloney.
What have you been watching these past years, have you not learnt anything?
I see why Mickey Harte needs the Sam Maguire so bad, it's about the only thing that compensates for having to explain such a glaringly obvious tactic in playing Dooher all the game.
Heavy lies the crown

Jesus wept and I'm speechless.

The whining never stops

Maybe its a reflection of Tyrone's success compared to other counties I could name, that we call it like it is and that past reputation should count for nothing and if your not playing well get out as we're here to win not reminisce!!!  ;D
Post by: Mr. Nakata on June 06, 2011, 01:07:44 PM
Subs were interesting. McCarron was unlucky but that's the way it goes, yellow on the danger man=straight off. Colm for Petey Harte I found strange. I thought the young lad had a quiet opening 15 or 20 but eventually started to warm to the task. I thought taking him off so early in the 2nd half was harsh. Carlin made a few basic errors which cost us. Ruthless from the beard to take off a sub, but no complaints there. Penrose getting the hook was strange as well. He's now one of our key attackers but I suppose his head had dropped after missing the pen. A lot of his tackling was penalized as well which I think wouldn't have been on a dry day. The biggest mystery for me was how Davy and Dooher lasted the 70. When red sean warmed up to come on we were saying there goes Davy, but alas, the number 5 appears to be undroppable. I am not a Davy hater by the way, I just think sometimes like yesterday, he looks completely lost. With regards Dooher, Harte refused to take him off against the Dubs and did so again yesterday. It's as if it will be pschologically damaging to the team to have the skipper hauled ashore. Loyalty to his men again. Same old discussion.....
Post by: INDIANA on June 06, 2011, 01:29:06 PM
Quite impressed with Tyrone last night watching them.

Look a lot better then last year anyway.

Wouldnt have them in Cork's bracket though.
Post by: DCR on June 06, 2011, 01:30:03 PM
Saw Petey Harte pulling back on a couple of occasions yesterday. Does he have a problem?
Post by: Tommo2 on June 06, 2011, 01:32:43 PM
Quote from: DCR on June 06, 2011, 01:30:03 PM
Saw Petey Harte pulling back on a couple of occasions yesterday. Does he have a problem?

Doe "pulling back" also mean "pulling out"?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 01:55:17 PM
Also meant to say earlier were Monaghan not one of the dirtiest outfits you've seen in a while? Think it was a bit rich Monaghan manger complaining about the ref - if anything he was worse to Tyrone I thought!
Post by: EC Unique on June 06, 2011, 02:54:31 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 01:55:17 PM
Also meant to say earlier were Monaghan not one of the dirtiest outfits you've seen in a while? Think it was a bit rich Monaghan manger complaining about the ref - if anything he was worse to Tyrone I thought!

They are an inferior footballing team so thought rough stuff would help even it out a bit. They always seem to try this but fail to see that it does not work.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 06, 2011, 03:08:26 PM
Monaghan have been dirty ever since Banty took over and that type of play is still prevalent with them now.
A poor side with only a couple of top players in Hughes and Finlay. Withouth Tommy Freemen they wont get scores and I can see them gettin beat the next time out too.
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 06, 2011, 03:14:39 PM
Monaghan knew they did not have the scoring potency to outscore Tyrone, went for the physical approach and it backfired.
Post by: rrhf on June 06, 2011, 03:20:06 PM
To be honest, I hate to see this levelled at great servants, particularly in my eyes Tyrones greatest ever servant.  I look at what has been said and if the 70 minutes brings them closer to the rest of the pack then it can be justified, as long as the young players who were bypassed are also given a chance to be brought up to speed.  I mean if Ronan Mc Nabb had a game like Davy yesterday he would be slaughtered, if Kyle Coney played like Dooher yesterday he wouldnt get another jersey - my point is lay off all these guys.  But whilst we give the older heads tha chances we must remember the young players deserve the chances and perhaps need to experience these games even more than the old "fogies" to get them up to speed. All in all Tyrone werent outstanding yesterday but today Im reasonably content that if we invest in a little more youth alongside our exceptional "fogies" we can challenge again.   
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 04:12:21 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 06, 2011, 03:20:06 PM
To be honest, I hate to see this levelled at great servants, particularly in my eyes Tyrones greatest ever servant.  I look at what has been said and if the 70 minutes brings them closer to the rest of the pack then it can be justified, as long as the young players who were bypassed are also given a chance to be brought up to speed.  I mean if Ronan Mc Nabb had a game like Davy yesterday he would be slaughtered, if Kyle Coney played like Dooher yesterday he wouldnt get another jersey - my point is lay off all these guys.  But whilst we give the older heads tha chances we must remember the young players deserve the chances and perhaps need to experience these games even more than the old "fogies" to get them up to speed. All in all Tyrone werent outstanding yesterday but today Im reasonably content that if we invest in a little more youth alongside our exceptional "fogies" we can challenge again.   

I agree. I was just pointing out that I thought that D Harte and B Dooher are no longer starting players. I hate the whole thing when you criticise Dooher et al you get the how many all irelands do you have look at all he's done for our county etc etc. I'm all for playing the likes of McGuigan, Gormley, Jordan i'm not one for saying lets get rid of them all!!! If they're playing well like the three boys mentioned yesterday i'm all for it! However its a long time since i got the feeling dooher was playing well and even longer for davy harte!!
Post by: Over the Bar on June 06, 2011, 06:51:13 PM
QuoteI hate to say I told you so but Davy Harte and Brian Dooher don't deserve a first 15 jersey.

It's a pity Mickey Harte doesn't have the likes of you in his back room team then to keep him right then.   ::)   Obviously MH doesn't have a clue who is best team for the day are.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 06, 2011, 06:51:34 PM
In response to the numerous posts on Monaghan being dirty...

Kerry and Monaghan share first place in the GAA's 'fair play' index under the points system established for the league
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/kingdom-rise-in-fair-play-list-2620707.html

I don't have the full rankings after 7 games of the league, but after 6, Tyrone were in 22nd place.
http://www.hoganstand.com/Football/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=145924

Also, from yesterday's match - Frees: Tyrone 23 Monaghan 37. Yellow cards: Tyrone 8 Monaghan 6. Red Cards: Tyrone 0 Monaghan 2.
And whilst most Tyrone people will argue that Monaghan's red cards were deserved, Kevin Hughes got a yellow card for a tackle very similar to Mone's. And Owen Mulligan could well have landed himself a red card for his swing at Walshe.

Now i'm not claiming Monaghan are whiter than white by any means, but some people need to take the blinkers off.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 06, 2011, 06:53:11 PM
Interesting comment from Darren Hughes:
"I'll not repeat what he said to me in the first half, the referee shouldn't be saying that!" Hughes claimed, querying why Joe McQuillan (the original appointee) was taken off the game.
Post by: Over the Bar on June 06, 2011, 07:13:19 PM
I'd hazard a guess that the ref said something like "If your team came here to play football rather than hitting players off the ball it might fit you better"
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 06, 2011, 07:35:11 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 06, 2011, 06:51:13 PM
QuoteI hate to say I told you so but Davy Harte and Brian Dooher don't deserve a first 15 jersey.

It's a pity Mickey Harte doesn't have the likes of you in his back room team then to keep him right then.   ::)   Obviously MH doesn't have a clue who is best team for the day are.

I knew there'd be one!!!! see my post above yours!!!  ::)
Post by: tyronebhoy on June 07, 2011, 03:27:47 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 06, 2011, 06:51:34 PM
Also, from yesterday's match - Frees: Tyrone 23 Monaghan 37. Yellow cards: Tyrone 8 Monaghan 6. Red Cards: Tyrone 0 Monaghan 2.
And whilst most Tyrone people will argue that Monaghan's red cards were deserved, Kevin Hughes got a yellow card for a tackle very similar to Mone's. And Owen Mulligan could well have landed himself a red card for his swing at Walshe.

Now i'm not claiming Monaghan are whiter than white by any means, but some people need to take the blinkers off.

When you consider that Martin Penrose received a yellow card after being slapped when it should have went the other way and the monaghan player who escaped a card due to being subbed, the card tally should have been reversed.

Not sure why there were so many more fouls given against Tyrone.

For Owen Mulligan, see Darren Hughes who also had a swing at a Tyrone player that went un-punished.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 07, 2011, 06:44:52 PM
Quote from: tyronebhoy on June 07, 2011, 03:27:47 PM

When you consider that Martin Penrose received a yellow card after being slapped when it should have went the other way and the monaghan player who escaped a card due to being subbed, the card tally should have been reversed.

For Owen Mulligan, see Darren Hughes who also had a swing at a Tyrone player that went un-punished.
We can argue all day over individual red and yellow cards - my point was just to dispell the myth that Monaghan were shockingly dirty whilst Tyrone were whiter than white.

Also, the idea that Monaghan dodged a card by making a substitution is utter crap - that was just Sidebottom going off on a tangent. If a ref wants to give a card, you can't escape it like that.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 08, 2011, 08:38:31 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 07, 2011, 06:44:52 PM

We can argue all day over individual red and yellow cards - my point was just to dispell the myth that Monaghan were shockingly dirty whilst Tyrone were whiter than white.

Also, the idea that Monaghan dodged a card by making a substitution is utter crap - that was just Sidebottom going off on a tangent. If a ref wants to give a card, you can't escape it like that.

The substitution saved the player from receiving a card.  He was the agressor and if the victim (in this case Jordan) got a yellow then Gollogy would have got at least a yellow.
Post by: Bingo on June 08, 2011, 10:44:34 AM
Way big over reaction to Monaghans "dirt" on this thread, its actually sad really. Sure Monaghan are no angels but this so called dirt wasn't anything near the level that its made out to be. It was a dirty day for football, Monaghan were complete underdogs playing in Omagh, Tyrone beat them  out the gate last year in a one sided Ulster final. FFS what do you's expect, Monaghan to try and outplay Tyrone? Of course Monaghan were going to try and get in the faces of their opponents and try to stop them playing but it was nowhere on the level that was out and out dirt ie Meath on Tyrone in Croker in the past.

Some people in Tyrone have short memories. Its also the case that if you expect your opponents to dive and try and win frees, give them something to dive about.

At the end of the day, a very inexperienced Monaghan team, playing over half the game with 14 men, closed the gap to 2 points based on last years display.

Maybe they many posters on here are more focused on Monaghans dirt to paper over the cracks in their own teams display?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 08, 2011, 10:49:19 AM
Quote from: Bingo on June 08, 2011, 10:44:34 AM
Way big over reaction to Monaghans "dirt" on this thread, its actually sad really. Sure Monaghan are no angels but this so called dirt wasn't anything near the level that its made out to be. It was a dirty day for football, Monaghan were complete underdogs playing in Omagh, Tyrone beat them  out the gate last year in a one sided Ulster final. FFS what do you's expect, Monaghan to try and outplay Tyrone? Of course Monaghan were going to try and get in the faces of their opponents and try to stop them playing but it was nowhere on the level that was out and out dirt ie Meath on Tyrone in Croker in the past.

Some people in Tyrone have short memories. Its also the case that if you expect your opponents to dive and try and win frees, give them something to dive about.

At the end of the day, a very inexperienced Monaghan team, playing over half the game with 14 men, closed the gap to 2 points based on last years display.

Maybe they many posters on here are more focused on Monaghans dirt to paper over the cracks in their own teams display?

Well said!!!
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2011, 06:13:16 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 08, 2011, 08:38:31 AM

The substitution saved the player from receiving a card.  He was the agressor and if the victim (in this case Jordan) got a yellow then Gollogy would have got at least a yellow.
And the ref could still have given one - that's my point. You can't dodge a card by being substituted, otherwise Monaghan would have subbed Clerkin as soon as the ref came near him for the second yellow. It doesn't work like that.
Post by: babarino on June 08, 2011, 11:14:51 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 05, 2011, 08:43:41 PM
Quote from: Doohicky on June 05, 2011, 08:34:18 PM

It's a strange one as himself and Walshe had a warm embrace on the final whistle. I suppose what happens on the pitch stays there. From where I was Mone can have no compliants, plus he did it right in front of the officials.

Monaghan have taken the dark arts to a new level. I know it might be a bit hypocritical when we have Ricey acting the buck but about half the Monaghan men were continually slabbering/digging especially their No 2 on SoN. Although funny watching O'Neill looking quite perplexed by all his attention.

What are you banging on about? O'Neill was easily giving as good as he was getting. BBC NI sticking up for their wee 6 mates with their camera angles and Silly Sidebottom commentary doesn't take away from it. I was metres away from the pair of them. He was also the first line of draggers in the Tyrone Rugby League slow down the offence and got away with it. O'Neill up against a rookie playing the victim of foul play rings a bit hollow.
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2011, 11:24:00 PM
I didn't see much dirt from Monaghan at all. Witness far worse from Cavan, Armagh and Johnny McBride.

Mark Donnelly - I thought he had a very average game going by his NFL performances. However, having watched it again, I was perhaps harsh. He showed well in possession and, albeit hasty in releasing the ball, did a lot of things right.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 08, 2011, 11:32:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2011, 11:24:00 PM
I didn't see much dirt from Monaghan at all. Witness far worse from Cavan, Armagh and Johnny McBride.

Mark Donnelly - I thought he had a very average game going by his NFL performances. However, having watched it again, I was perhaps harsh. He showed well in possession and, albeit hasty in releasing the ball, did a lot of things right.

Dont forget Tyrone.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 09, 2011, 08:36:02 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 08, 2011, 06:13:16 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 08, 2011, 08:38:31 AM

And the ref could still have given one - that's my point. You can't dodge a card by being substituted, otherwise Monaghan would have subbed Clerkin as soon as the ref came near him for the second yellow. It doesn't work like that.

In hindsight it is clear that the referee could have still given him one, but at that instant in the middle of the game that substitution basically threw the referee.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 09, 2011, 10:23:50 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2011, 11:24:00 PM

Think his performance was well above average and that the only criticism would be that he wasn't selfish enough. Then again I have always counted that a good trait in a footballer whilst alot of the time this type of thing goes unnoticed by people who go straight to the scorers in a match report.

Do you think he'll retain his jersey for the semi?
Post by: omagh_gael on June 09, 2011, 10:37:44 AM
Theres not a chance that Donnelly will lose his starting place. He was excellent throughout, encouraging to have another ball winner in the FF line.

I'd imagine that there won't be any changes to first XV as Harte is usually reluctant to change a winning line up unless injuries come into play. Although Hughes, Mulligan and the McMahons (if fit) are bound to be pushing hard for a starting place. With P Harte's jersey the most vulnerable.
Post by: Bingo on June 09, 2011, 10:42:51 AM
The ref not giving the card to Gollogy is one of the flaws of the GAA card system, ref may well have been going to card him but seen he want off in the big delay, thought "sod that its a wet day and I'm not running away over there to give him a yellow it matters none". Of course if this was his attitude he may have paid if Gollogy came back on as sub later in game.

A player can get booked in every game he plays and doesn't have to worry about it.

I hear Tommy Freemans much publicised move to New York blew up in his face as he was stopped at emigration and turned back!
Post by: ONeill on June 09, 2011, 11:34:51 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 09, 2011, 10:37:44 AM
Theres not a chance that Donnelly will lose his starting place. He was excellent throughout, encouraging to have another ball winner in the FF line.

I'd imagine that there won't be any changes to first XV as Harte is usually reluctant to change a winning line up unless injuries come into play. Although Hughes, Mulligan and the McMahons (if fit) are bound to be pushing hard for a starting place. With P Harte's jersey the most vulnerable.

There's no way Mickey won't start a fit Joe McMahon.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 09, 2011, 11:37:27 AM

Reckon he should make a few changes:
Justy for McCarron
Joey for Davy
Mulligan for Dooher
Post by: omagh_gael on June 09, 2011, 12:46:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 09, 2011, 11:34:51 AM

There's no way Mickey won't start a fit Joe McMahon.

That's probably correct but Harte rarely deviates from a winning formula. However, based on the minor surprises in the first 15 from the Monaghan game, perhaps Mickey is starting to move towards choosing the team based on form in training. Maybe this is where Joe would get his starting spot back.

If I had to bet now i'd still wager that the same team will be named for the Cavan/Donegal game.
Post by: bustsummoves on June 09, 2011, 03:25:44 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on June 09, 2011, 11:37:27 AM

Reckon he should make a few changes:
Justy for McCarron
Joey for Davy
Mulligan for Dooher

I agree with davy being dropped, and maybe Dooher cant play a full game anymore. Don't think McCarron will lose his place, according to reports justy is far off the pace and I thought McCarron was very unlucky and harsh getting booked sunday ie led to him being subbed.. Would of being interesting battle v mcmanus if he would of stayed on.

Big Joe will be in the running for a start the next day you would think
Post by: Any craic on June 09, 2011, 04:37:58 PM
Here's a few clips from Sunday's game, a few angles you might not have seen and you might even spot yourself in the crowd shots.. http://bit.ly/kiRbga (http://bit.ly/kiRbga)
Post by: Maguire01 on June 17, 2011, 06:17:38 PM
Academic now, but I see that Clerkin's second yellow card was overturned on appeal.
Post by: tyroneman on June 17, 2011, 07:10:10 PM
Shame the people hearing the appeal can't review Clerkin pulliing, pushing and draggin Cavanagh all over the pitch behind the referee's back............................
Post by: Maguire01 on June 17, 2011, 10:48:12 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 17, 2011, 07:10:10 PM
Shame the people hearing the appeal can't review Clerkin pulliing, pushing and draggin Cavanagh all over the pitch behind the referee's back............................
Nor did they review Owen Mulligan's 'incident'. We could pick examples all day long.
Post by: LeoMc on June 17, 2011, 10:53:25 PM
game is over.