Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lawnseed on March 06, 2011, 02:15:39 PM

Title: fer fecks sake.. MING!!!??
Post by: lawnseed on March 06, 2011, 02:15:39 PM
well now we know just how the irish voter thinks. after falling for lie after lie from bertie and co for fourteen years, then replacing fainna fail with extra strenght fine gael and guttless labour, we stick side show 'ming' in the dail the pot growing eccentric who decries fainna fail but will talk to enda. this tendency to elect cretins to represent us is akin to sending dustin to eurovision, and i'd say we are featuring alot in episodes of eurotrash showned in france/germany. it also explains why the brits have dominated us for centuries.. i mean who wouldnt kick our asses and take our stuff with 'ming' in charge.. ho hum

all we need now is david norris as president.. sweet jeezus ::)
Title: Re: fer fecks sake.. MING!!!??
Post by: Maguire01 on March 06, 2011, 02:39:25 PM
Well it takes all sorts. And you could point out a lot more TDs and ask "what were they (the voters) thinking".
Post by: lawnseed on March 06, 2011, 02:49:15 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 06, 2011, 02:39:25 PM
Well it takes all sorts. And you could point out a lot more TDs and ask "what were they (the voters) thinking".

why do we say it when the damage is done? incidently maguire i'm hearing that cavan/monaghan had the highest percentage of spoiled votes in the country, people took time to draw faces, write notes etc whats that about? are they worldly wise or are the candidates all so poor that the use of ones democratic right is not even worth exercising maybe mings all we deserve
Post by: ross4life on March 06, 2011, 02:52:58 PM
Ming is no joke he's done huge work for all the local iissues in Roscommon & will be one of the few with common sense in the Dail.

Though i can understand why the outsiders would think ming is nothing more than a pot smoking fool.

Post by: Maguire01 on March 06, 2011, 03:10:27 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 06, 2011, 02:49:15 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 06, 2011, 02:39:25 PM

why do we say it when the damage is done? incidently maguire i'm hearing that cavan/monaghan had the highest percentage of spoiled votes in the country, people took time to draw faces, write notes etc whats that about? are they worldly wise or are the candidates all so poor that the use of ones democratic right is not even worth exercising maybe mings all we deserve
I'd imagine that they didn't rate the candidates. Which is understandable. But arguably spoiling your vote is still exercising your democratic right.
Post by: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 03:41:05 PM
I read that Ming has said he has no intention of giving up growing cannabis. It'll be interesting to see how that pans out. You can't have a legislator flouting the law (well, openly I mean - take references to Haughey, Ahern, Burke, etc. as read). I don't think it will be possible for the guards to turn a blind eye. If they do, someone, somewhere is bound to make a report that they'll have to investigate.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 06, 2011, 05:51:31 PM
Ming is one of the good guys. if we had more like him we'd be better off. His guiding light in decision making seems to be what he believes is right, not what he's told to do. So what if he smokes a bit of dope? It should be legal anyway, far less dangerous than alcohol.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 06:05:45 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 06, 2011, 02:15:39 PM
well now we know just how the irish voter thinks. after falling for lie after lie from bertie and co for fourteen years, then replacing fainna fail with extra strenght fine gael and guttless labour, we stick side show 'ming' in the dail the pot growing eccentric who decries fainna fail but will talk to enda. this tendency to elect cretins to represent us is akin to sending dustin to eurovision, and i'd say we are featuring alot in episodes of eurotrash showned in france/germany. it also explains why the brits have dominated us for centuries.. i mean who wouldnt kick our asses and take our stuff with 'ming' in charge.. ho hum

Lawnseed, think you are a kilometre off on quite a few things here. For one you can not compare Enda Kenny with Bertie Ahern, even those who hate Fine Gael in the Republic will tell you that they are cut from very very different cloth, and that Kennys is the better material. I'm sorry but Enda Kenny is not a creten (by the way that is a birth defect, and it is unplesant thing to call anyone and offensive to those who suffer from it.) It is quite cheeky for you Lawnseed to make these accusations against the Irish electorate when up North you have a parliament full of ex-terrorists and bigots.
I can tell you Pearse Doherty is the only SF'r I would let near Europe and that would only be under the New Government if they decided to take a few from the opposition. At that I still wouldn't take him.

Ming Luke Flanagan, (I disagree with legalised weed) is a very intelligent man and I have heard him on national and local radio and have heard nothing to disprove that opinion. Also I am sure as much as he is willing to talk to Kenny and co, he is also going to challenge this government quite a bit.

David Norris will probably get my vote. Do you know anything about this man, he is very intelligent and one of the few usefull Senators. Many of the unenumerated rights that we have in Bunreacht na hÉireann are thanks to him. He is one of the most popular politicans in the Republic.
Post by: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 06:07:54 PM
I agree Seanie. Just wondering what will happen when a TD gets charged with breaking the law as it stands.
Post by: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 06:10:00 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 06:05:45 PMNorris ... is one of the most popular politicans in the Republic.

And an awful spoofer.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 06, 2011, 06:18:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 06:05:45 PM

Lawnseed, think you are a kilometre off on quite a few things here. For one you can not compare Enda Kenny with Bertie Ahern, even those who hate Fine Gael in the Republic will tell you that they are cut from very very different cloth, and that Kennys is the better material. I'm sorry but Enda Kenny is not a creten (by the way that is a birth defect, and it is unplesant thing to call anyone and offensive to those who suffer from it.) It is quite cheeky for you Lawnseed to make these accusations against the Irish electorate when up North you have a parliament full of ex-terrorists and bigots.
I can tell you Pearse Doherty is the only SF'r I would let near Europe and that would only be under the New Government if they decided to take a few from the opposition. At that I still wouldn't take him.

Ming Luke Flanagan, (I disagree with legalised weed) is a very intelligent man and I have heard him on national and local radio and have heard nothing to disprove that opinion. Also I am sure as much as he is willing to talk to Kenny and co, he is also going to challenge this government quite a bit.

David Norris will probably get my vote. Do you know anything about this man, he is very intelligent and one of the few usefull Senators. Many of the unenumerated rights that we have in Bunreacht na hÉireann are thanks to him. He is one of the most popular politicans in the Republic.

That's the DUP summed up well Mayo, but SF are in government in the six counties too and will keep tabs on them just as they'll keep tabs on a Dáil full of former blueshirt facists!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 06:39:17 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 06, 2011, 06:18:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 06:05:45 PM

That's the DUP summed up well Mayo, but SF are in government in the six counties too and will keep tabs on them just as they'll keep tabs on a Dáil full of former blueshirt facists!

Name one member of Fine Gael who is a former blueshirt facist, just one, no you can't can you.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 06, 2011, 06:40:47 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 06, 2011, 06:18:11 PM
Only when you say 'keep tabs on them', you mean 'cosy up with them'.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 06, 2011, 08:12:16 PM
Whats so bad about Ming?  He doesn't lead a party, he will have little say in Government but I'd say he'll get as much for Roscommon as he can.

Re: fer fecks sake.. MING!!!??  Isn't that why he was elected?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 08:39:36 PM
Well the people of Roscommon made a far saner decision in voting for Ming than those in Louth did in voting for the I was never in the I.R.A. Baron of Manor of Northstead.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 06, 2011, 08:50:42 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 08:39:36 PM
Well the people of Roscommon made a far saner decision in voting for Ming than those in Louth did in voting for the I was never in the I.R.A. Baron of Manor of Northstead.

For a fella who claims to be republican you like to use a monarchist tone...
Post by: ross4life on March 06, 2011, 08:54:25 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 06, 2011, 08:12:16 PM
Whats so bad about Ming?  He doesn't lead a party, he will have little say in Government but I'd say he'll get as much for Roscommon as he can.

Re: fer fecks sake.. MING!!!??  Isn't that why he was elected?

Absolutely nothing bad (as said already smokes hash who cares) he was without doubt the best candidate we had with the best policies I'm sure he'll work his ass off to get things done.

Shame some on the outside looking in felt it was a protest/joke vote.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 08:55:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 06, 2011, 08:50:42 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 06, 2011, 08:39:36 PM

For a fella who claims to be republican you like to use a monarchist tone...

Ya I know, I shouldn't be bigging up the Emperor of the Universe.    ;D 

If Your talking about the lad from Belfast, he didn't have to take the Baron title, all he had to do was wait until the end of this current parliament in Westminister and not put his name up for re-election. He knew the rules (or should have) before he ran for the Westminister parliament. The fact that he is a British Baron is entirely a result of his own actions.
Post by: lawnseed on March 06, 2011, 11:00:50 PM
i know we'll do away with the dail bar and put in a huge big bong for all the boys to blow ::) growing pot or using it is a crime!!!!
without getting into the legalise pot arguement here we have a newly elected td admitting to breaking the law by cultivating an illegal substance. if we turn a blind eye to this sure lets have a few granny robbers or rapists or white collar criminals. its the same old shite the nod and the wink "ah sure mings a great fella" its precisely this stuff that has the country fukd. we have tds proclaiming their allegiance to enda 'because hes from the west' so what? hes the leader of a small country and hes going to favour one side of it? sure lets have three days a week when the dail spends the its time talking about 'western issues'. this shite  has to stop!  the last election was supposed to be a watershed, a change, i'm in no doubt that ming is probably great craic and soundbite materail but no matter what he says now smart arses in the dail are going to say 'go way and have a smoke' his credibility is out the window. hes compromised
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 12:10:32 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 06, 2011, 11:00:50 PM
we have tds proclaiming their allegiance to enda 'because hes from the west' so what? hes the leader of a small country and hes going to favour one side of it? sure lets have three days a week when the dail spends the its time talking about 'western issues'. this shite  has to stop!  the last election was supposed to be a watershed, a change,

i'm in no doubt that ming is probably great craic and soundbite materail but no matter what he says now smart arses in the dail are going to say 'go way and have a smoke' his credibility is out the window. hes compromised

Well the next Taoiseach will be a Mayoman, the next Tainiste a Galwayman, the next Minister for Finance is from a stone throw across the eastern side of the Shannon and Pat Rabbitte is another Mayoman, but I can tell you that these men are no Western Politicians, they are National ones. They are not parochial in the slightest, they have the best interests of Ireland @ heart. Its a bit rich coming from you lawnseed, you think Gerrry Adams is the best thing since sliced bread, but I'm pretty sure your views are blurred by the fact that he is a 6 county man. Not sure he would have got elected anywhere in the Republic without so many 6 county blow-ins as in Louth or borderarea.

Again Ming is not a one trick pony, his views on turf cutting and on cleaning up Irish politics are quite interesting. Sure you didn't know who he was about a week ago, like Gerry still getting acclimtised to the politics of the Republic  ;) You will have to turn off the BBC NI & UTV and turn on RTE, TV3 & TG4.

Post by: thebigfella on March 07, 2011, 12:12:11 AM
i know we'll do away with the dail bar and put in a huge big bong for all the boys to blow ::) growing pot or using it is a crime!!!!
without getting into the legalise pot arguement here we have a newly elected td admitting to breaking the law by cultivating an illegal substance. if we turn a blind eye to this sure lets have a few granny robbers or rapists or white collar criminals. its the same old shite the nod and the wink "ah sure mings a great fella" its precisely this stuff that has the country fukd. we have tds proclaiming their allegiance to enda 'because hes from the west' so what? hes the leader of a small country and hes going to favour one side of it? sure lets have three days a week when the dail spends the its time talking about 'western issues'. this shite  has to stop!  the last election was supposed to be a watershed, a change, i'm in no doubt that ming is probably great craic and soundbite materail but no matter what he says now smart arses in the dail are going to say 'go way and have a smoke' his credibility is out the window. hes compromised

One point, are you on the electoral role in the south? Do you pay tax to the British or Irish government?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 12:17:00 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 07, 2011, 12:12:11 AM

One point, are you on the electoral role in the south? Do you pay tax to the British or Irish government?

No representation without taxation  :D
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on March 07, 2011, 09:02:10 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 06, 2011, 05:51:31 PM
Ming is one of the good guys. if we had more like him we'd be better off. His guiding light in decision making seems to be what he believes is right, not what he's told to do. So what if he smokes a bit of dope? It should be legal anyway, far less dangerous than alcohol.

Know the lad personally and counldn't agree more. He is an extremely astute lad with a great intellect and a good social consience. good on him.
Post by: Tubberman on March 07, 2011, 09:29:35 AM

::) You should be embarrassed
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on March 07, 2011, 11:25:17 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 07, 2011, 09:29:35 AM

At least people who disagree with him will never be dug up from bogs forty years later, not all our current TD's can say that.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2011, 11:36:11 AM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on March 07, 2011, 11:25:17 AM

At least people who disagree with him will never be dug up from bogs forty years later, not all our current TD's can say that.

Cracker of a post.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 07, 2011, 12:03:03 PM
Well said; it beggars belief that a SF apologist would have an issue with being represented by a criminal.
Post by: ross4life on March 07, 2011, 01:37:18 PM

Yup a few weeks ago he didn't know who he was
Quote from: lawnseed on February 26, 2011, 11:34:35 PM
forgive me but whats the 'ming' thing where did that come from

And now having read some tabloid newspaper that painted a evil picture of Ming you feel the need to start a thread how you suddenly think he's a bad guy?

Lawnseed i have nothing against you & in the past you had some interesting threads/topics I'm afraid this one is an embarrassement particularly those comments highlighted.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2011, 01:40:17 PM
The independents that are head scratchers for me are Mick "40mil in debt" Wallace and Shane "the Irish banks are not aggressive enough (2004)" Ross.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 02:57:06 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 07, 2011, 12:03:03 PM
Well said; it beggars belief that a SF apologist would have an issue with being represented by a criminal.
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_foJ2edyf5BE/TUByrBhr7vI/AAAAAAAADnw/eqFBZjQ5tBU/s1600/%2527Yeah-up%2Byours%2521%2527.jpg)
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 03:02:45 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 12:10:32 AM
we have tds proclaiming their allegiance to enda 'because hes from the west' so what? hes the leader of a small country and hes going to favour one side of it? sure lets have three days a week when the dail spends the its time talking about 'western issues'. this shite  has to stop!  the last election was supposed to be a watershed, a change,

i'm in no doubt that ming is probably great craic and soundbite materail but no matter what he says now smart arses in the dail are going to say 'go way and have a smoke' his credibility is out the window. hes compromised

Well the next Taoiseach will be a Mayoman, the next Tainiste a Galwayman, the next Minister for Finance is from a stone throw across the eastern side of the Shannon and Pat Rabbitte is another Mayoman, but I can tell you that these men are no Western Politicians, they are National ones. They are not parochial in the slightest, they have the best interests of Ireland @ heart. Its a bit rich coming from you lawnseed, you think Gerrry Adams is the best thing since sliced bread, but I'm pretty sure your views are blurred by the fact that he is a 6 county man. Not sure he would have got elected anywhere in the Republic without so many 6 county blow-ins as in Louth or borderarea.

Again Ming is not a one trick pony, his views on turf cutting and on cleaning up Irish politics are quite interesting. Sure you didn't know who he was about a week ago, like Gerry still getting acclimtised to the politics of the Republic  ;) You will have to turn off the BBC NI & UTV and turn on RTE, TV3 & TG4.

For a self proclaimed Irish "republican" (pull the other one), you sure are a partitionist attitude that would put even Michael Martin to shame. At least Gerry Adams and Sinn Féin are directly involved in All-Ireland politics. I note that FG's entire election manifesto contained a grand total of zero references to the six counties.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 07, 2011, 03:33:17 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 02:57:06 PM
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_foJ2edyf5BE/TUByrBhr7vI/AAAAAAAADnw/eqFBZjQ5tBU/s1600/%2527Yeah-up%2Byours%2521%2527.jpg)

Well there's a surprise.  ::)
Post by: Tubberman on March 07, 2011, 03:38:18 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 03:02:45 PM

For a self proclaimed Irish "republican" (pull the other one), you sure are a partitionist attitude that would put even Michael Martin to shame. At least Gerry Adams and Sinn Féin are directly involved in All-Ireland politics. I note that FG's entire election manifesto contained a grand total of zero references to the six counties.

Well firstly, it was a GE in the Republic of Ireland, not the island of Ireland.
Secondly, please see http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18498.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18498.0)
Thirdly, do you plan on pasting that picture of Gerry Adams every time somebody disagrees with you and you're unable to make a valid argument?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 04:14:01 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 07, 2011, 03:38:18 PM

Well firstly, it was a GE in the Republic of Ireland, not the island of Ireland.
Secondly, please see http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18498.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18498.0)
Thirdly, do you plan on pasting that picture of Gerry Adams every time somebody disagrees with you and you're unable to make a valid argument?

Well firstly, it was a General election in the 26 counties but for a party which describes itself as the United Ireland Party, is it a big stretch to imagine that it might make even a single solitary reference to the six counties in it's manifesto? Particularly when we consider that one third of the Good Friday Agreement, which was supported by the electorate in the entire 32 counties, deals with the All-Ireland Institutions?
Secondly, I'll believe it when I see it.
Thirdly, I plan on putting up that picture of Gerry Adams every time someone puts up a post which is not, as you put it "a valid argument" but rather a typical "SF are all terrorists and criminals" post. Ironic that so many in the 26 counties over the years have been telling people in the north it's time to move on let the past be the past and urging unionists to share power with SF on that basis, yet the second Gerry Adams stands for a seat in the 26 counties, suddenly the past must be dragged up at every available opportunity and the cynics and users, at every opportunity, drag up the names of seemingly the only two victims of the conflict (Jean McConville & Jerry McCabe).

Finally, neither of my posts were directed at you but thanks for your input  ::)
Post by: Billys Boots on March 07, 2011, 04:21:19 PM
QuoteThirdly, I plan on putting up that picture of Gerry Adams every time someone puts up a post which is not, as you put it "a valid argument" but rather a typical "SF are all terrorists and criminals" post.

Well you'll have to take it down immediately, as my post was nothing of the sort.  It was a retort to the comical post decrying Ming Flanagan as unworthy to serve in Government as he smokes cannabis.  Want to have another go?
Post by: thebigfella on March 07, 2011, 04:21:46 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 04:14:01 PM

Well firstly, it was a General election in the 26 counties but for a party which describes itself as the United Ireland Party, is it a big stretch to imagine that it might make even a single solitary reference to the six counties in it's manifesto? Particularly when we consider that one third of the Good Friday Agreement, which was supported by the electorate in the entire 32 counties, deals with the All-Ireland Institutions?
Thirdly, I plan on putting up that picture of Gerry Adams every time someone puts up a post which is not, as you put it "a valid argument" but rather a typical "SF are all terrorists and criminals" post. Ironic that so many in the 26 counties over the years have been telling people in the north it's time to move on let the past be the past and urging unionists to share power with SF on that basis, yet the second Gerry Adams stands for a seat in the 26 counties, suddenly the past must be dragged up at every available opportunity and the cynics and users, at every opportunity, drag up the names of seemingly the only two victims of the conflict (Jean McConville & Jerry McCabe).

Finally, neither of my posts were directed at you but thanks for your input  ::)

In the 26 counties that make up the Republic of Ireland then?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 04:25:10 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 07, 2011, 04:21:19 PM
QuoteThirdly, I plan on putting up that picture of Gerry Adams every time someone puts up a post which is not, as you put it "a valid argument" but rather a typical "SF are all terrorists and criminals" post.

Well you'll have to take it down immediately, as my post was nothing of the sort.  It was a retort to the comical post decrying Ming Flanagan as unworthy to serve in Government as he smokes cannabis.  Want to have another go?

Your post didn't mention Ming or cannabis.  You refered to the disbelief you seem to have that "a SF apologist would have an issue with being represented by a criminal." Seems fairly clear you regard SF as being criminals from that to me.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 04:26:23 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 07, 2011, 04:21:46 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 04:14:01 PM

In the 26 counties that make up the Republic of Ireland then?

At least read the full sentence before you reply.
Post by: Banana Man on March 07, 2011, 04:26:53 PM
answer me this lads, how come it's fine to lable Gerry a big bad terrorist etc but yet laud eamon gilmore as the new tanaiste in waiting, when he has more of a case to answer than gerry - I'll not hold my breath
Post by: Maguire01 on March 07, 2011, 06:08:38 PM
growing pot or using it is a crime!!!!

if we turn a blind eye to this sure lets have a few granny robbers or rapists or white collar criminals.
Two points:
a) Talk about a black and white view of the world. To equate growing a bit of hash for personal use with rape is ridiculous; and
b) Have you always had such views against criminal activity? Robbery? Racketeering? Possession of illegal weapons? Shooting/bombing? Smuggling? Laundering? Counterfeiting? Membership of illegal organisations? They're all crimes. And a lot more serious than this one.
Post by: ludermor on March 07, 2011, 06:19:24 PM
I think he is pissed off Ming isnt buying his gear from recognised republician dealers.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 06:43:10 PM
Quote from: ludermor on March 07, 2011, 06:19:24 PM
I think he is pissed off Ming isnt buying his gear from recognised republician dealers.

:D  :D  :D
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 07:56:35 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 07, 2011, 04:26:53 PM
answer me this lads, how come it's fine to lable Gerry a big bad terrorist etc but yet laud eamon gilmore as the new tanaiste in waiting, when he has more of a case to answer than gerry - I'll not hold my breath

1) Proximity. Gilmore's association with terrorists is a lot further in the past
2) Does he have a bigger case to answer? According to CAIN (http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/sutton/crosstabs.html), the Provos killed 1,711 people versus 52 killed by the Stickies.

(http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/cainsummaryofdeaths.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 07, 2011, 08:07:22 PM
It beggars belief that people voting FF or FG all their lives would have an issue with a "terrorist" being in government. 

Quote from: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 07:56:35 PM

1) Proximity. Gilmore's association with terrorists is a lot further in the past
2) Does he have a bigger case to answer? According to CAIN (http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/sutton/crosstabs.html), the Provos killed 1,711 people versus 52 killed by the Stickies.
That's alright then. 
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 08:13:05 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 07, 2011, 08:07:22 PM
It beggars belief that people voting FF or FG all their lives would have an issue with a "terrorist" being in government. 

That's alright then.

The War of Independence and Civil War was a long time ago, no current T.D., Senator, M.E.P., or Local representative of Fine Gael or Fianna Fáil fought in Civil War or where members of the Old I.R.A. or Army Comrades Association. Can you promise us none of the current representatives of Sein Féin weren't involved in terrorism?

I believe Eamonn Gilmore, I don't believe Gerry Adams.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 07, 2011, 08:15:17 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 08:13:05 PM

That's alright then.

The War of Independence and Civil War was a long time ago, no current T.D., Senator, M.E.P., or Local representative of Fine Gael or Fianna Fáil fought in Civil War or where members of the Old I.R.A. or Army Comrades Association. Can you promise us none of the current representatives of Sein Féin weren't involved in terrorism?

Both parties, like Sinn Fein, are steeped in blood.  Less of the hypocrisy.
I don't believe anyone in Sinn Fein was involved in terrorism. 
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 07, 2011, 08:18:44 PM
The rumour is tree indeed. Maybe Mayo will replace their traditional Green and Red against Armagh this Sunday with the new Blue and Red. It won't be the same. ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 08:19:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 07, 2011, 08:15:17 PM

That's alright then.

Did you have a straight face when you typed that?  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 07, 2011, 08:21:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 08:19:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 07, 2011, 08:15:17 PM

That's alright then.

Did you have a straight face when you typed that?  :D
Yes 
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 08:21:45 PM

That's alright then.

But the Old IRA and the founding members of FF and FG were terrorists and criminals too then? Or is that just for the IRA in more recent times?

And how is it FFers and FGers were telling unionism they had to move on from the past and embrace sharing power with SF, but in the 26 counties, it is FFers and FGers who are most unwilling to move on? As Gerry Adams said of dealing with many in the free state, "It's like dealing with the DUP of 20 years ago".
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 08:22:01 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 07, 2011, 08:18:44 PM
The rumour is tree indeed. Maybe Mayo will replace their traditional Green and Red against Armagh this Sunday with the new Blue and Red. It won't be the same. ;)

Politics is the only place Mayo is blue, Green & Red all the way.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 08:23:50 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 08:21:45 PM

That's alright then.

But the Old IRA and the founding members of FF and FG were terrorists and criminals too then? Or is that just for the IRA in more recent times?

And how is it FFers and FGers were telling unionism they had to move on from the past and embrace sharing power with SF, but in the 26 counties, it is FFers and FGers who are most unwilling to move on? As Gerry Adams said of dealing with many in the free state, "It's like dealing with the DUP of 20 years ago".

You see when Eamonn DeValera and his crew walked into Dáil Éireann and didn't get their heads kicked in or take out their revolvers that was when we didn't need to be forced to do things, democracy took its natural course. Took you lads a little longer.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 07, 2011, 08:24:52 PM

That's alright then.

No, that's different but he can't tell you why.

Maybe it's because it was "a long time ago" or he's stupid enough to try and argue they never killed innocent people.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 08:25:39 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 07, 2011, 08:23:50 PM

That's alright then.

You see when Eamonn DeValera and his crew walked into Dáil Éireann and didn't get their heads kicked in or take out their revolvers that was when we didn't need to be forced to do things, democracy took its natural course. Took you lads a little longer.

Maybe you could answer my questions??
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 08:29:42 PM

That's alright then.

It's not alright. But it is less bad.
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 08:32:28 PM

This old chestnut. Unionists are constitutionally obliged to deal with SF. No deals, no Executive. How do you propose forcing the parties in the south to deal with SF?
Post by: Rossfan on March 07, 2011, 08:33:55 PM
To answer the question posed in the title ...
The people of Roscommon and South Leitrim elected Ming as one of their 3 TDs.
That is our democratic right and choice and it is a very good choice too.
A decent intelligent man and a principled one ...  he only took half his salary as Mayor of Roscommon.
Post by: Groucho on March 07, 2011, 08:34:59 PM
Freddie Scappaticci (often erroneously referred to as Alfredo [1]) was accused in the Irish and British media on 11 May 2003 of being a high-level double agent in the Provisional Irish Republican Army (IRA), known by the codename Stakeknife.

Sort this f**ker out, then maybe I'll listen :o
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 08:37:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 07, 2011, 08:33:55 PM
A decent intelligent man and a principled one ...  he only took half his salary as Mayor of Roscommon.

I'll give Ming one thing. People often say "well, if you want to change things, why don't you run for office?". He's done just that, and not in the opportunistic way the likes of Shane Ross and Mick Wallace have done.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 08:54:36 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 08:32:28 PM

This old chestnut. Unionists are constitutionally obliged to deal with SF. No deals, no Executive. How do you propose forcing the parties in the south to deal with SF?

Having 14 members of Dáil Éireann, the southern parties are also constitutionally obliged to deal with SF too. Unionism fought tooth and nail and were dragged kicking and screaming into having to share power with SF to a chorus from the free state of how they need to move on from the past. My point is that the people in the free state who were saying this to unionism are behaving today in the same way unionism did ten/twenty years ago towards SF. Hypocrites. Can so many people in the 26 counties really not move on from the past while simultaneously telling unionism to do so??
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:02:41 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 08:54:36 PM
Having 14 members of Dáil Éireann, the southern parties are also constitutionally obliged to deal with SF too.

No, they are not, any more than having 20 members of Dáil Éireann obliges the other parties to deal with Fianna Fáil.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:06:13 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:02:41 PM
Having 14 members of Dáil Éireann, the southern parties are also constitutionally obliged to deal with SF too.

No, they are not, any more than having 20 members of Dáil Éireann obliges the other parties to deal with Fianna Fáil.

So they should deny SF's right to be there? SF are democratically entitled to their seats. If other parties don't like that, they are still constitutionally obliged to live with it.

P.s. Can I assume form you selective quoting of my last post, that you agree with everything else I said?
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:10:53 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:06:13 PM

So they should deny SF's right to be there? SF are democratically entitled to their seats. If other parties don't like that, they are still constitutionally obliged to live with it.

P.s. Can I assume form you selective quoting of my last post, that you agree with everything else I said?

Who is denying their right to be there? The issue is power sharing. You say "Unionism fought tooth and nail and were dragged kicking and screaming into having to share power with SF to a chorus from the free state of how they need to move on from the past". If the acid test of democracy is that everyone gets a share of power then you must think FF should get a share too, right?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:16:52 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:10:53 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:06:13 PM

Who is denying their right to be there? The issue is power sharing. You say "Unionism fought tooth and nail and were dragged kicking and screaming into having to share power with SF to a chorus from the free state of how they need to move on from the past". If the acid test of democracy is that everyone gets a share of power then you must think FF should get a share too, right?

You are doing your best to avoid my entire point here. Unionism was being told from the south that it was time to move on from the past yet the recent election campaign and the cynical use of the names of seemingly the only two victims of the conflict (in the eyes of so many in the free state media) demonstrated that these same people who urged Unionism to move on have no intention (or else no ability) to move on from the past themselves where SF are concerned.
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:22:19 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:16:52 PM
You are doing your best to avoid my entire point here. Unionism was being told from the south that it was time to move on from the past yet the recent election campaign and the cynical use of the names of seemingly the only two victims of the conflict (in the eyes of so many in the free state media) demonstrated that these same people who urged Unionism to move on have no intention (or else no ability) to move on from the past themselves where SF are concerned.

You are not comparing like with like. In the North, there are officially two electorates, so parties have no need to compete across sectarian lines. Everyone in the south is competing for the same votes so recent history is completely legitimate territory. Again, I ask how you are going to stop it being used. I get your point about politicians banging on about 'the only two victims' but that probably turned off as many people as it worked with.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:42:12 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:22:19 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:16:52 PM

You are not comparing like with like. In the North, there are officially two electorates, so parties have no need to compete across sectarian lines. Everyone in the south is competing for the same votes so recent history is completely legitimate territory. Again, I ask how you are going to stop it being used. I get your point about politicians banging on about 'the only two victims' but that probably turned off as many people as it worked with.

In the north, while communities and voters are still divided on the constitutional issue, the specific area of recent history is not even remotely as much of an issue at election times compared to in the south of late, and it has every right to be much more of an issue in the north.

The peace process is in full bloom and people are putting the past behind them to an appropriate degree. If we look back over the past few elections, north and south, the only party in the six counties which used the term "SF/IRA" at every opportunity were the Neanderthals of the TUV. In the south, every tom dick and harry was talking about "SF/IRA"/"SF criminals"/"SF terrrorists" and such usual bullshit. I can only say that it is a credit to SF that they didn't bite the bait and indulge themselves in retaliatory negative campaigning.

P.s. I hope that when you say parties in the north don't have to compete along sectarian lines, that you aren't implying that people just generally do vote along "sectarian" lines in the north. People vote along Republican/Nationalist and Unionist lines. While there are sectarians out there, it would be totally wrong to label anyone who votes along lines of Republican or Unionist politics as a sectarian. I am proudly Irish Republican and as such am totally anti-sectarian.
Post by: baoithe on March 07, 2011, 09:52:10 PM
I dont know if my tuppence worth has been mentioned previously in this thread. I've listened to this guy on the radio on a number of occasions in the last week. It has to be said he is intermittently extremely articulate and has a terrific understanding of what is wrong with local authorities and how they are run. However, on newstalk and rte last week he was very narky and even tempermental when he was pushed by his interviewers. It was rivetting but also strange. What with his temperment and the whole growing cannabis thing he is sure to be an everpresent in the media for the term of this Dail.

However no matter what sort of a headbanger he is, he has to be commended for taking half the salary on offer. I'm not sure he has a viable national policy but I'm sure he will fall in nicely with Joe Higgins' ideology.
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:54:19 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:42:12 PM
In the north, while communities and voters are still divided on the constitutional issue, the specific area of recent history is not even remotely as much of an issue at election times compared to in the south of late, and it has every right to be much more of an issue in the north.

The peace process is in full bloom and people are putting the past behind them to an appropriate degree. If we look back over the past few elections, north and south, the only party in the six counties which used the term "SF/IRA" at every opportunity were the Neanderthals of the TUV. In the south, every tom dick and harry was talking about "SF/IRA"/"SF criminals"/"SF terrrorists" and such usual bullshit. I can only say that it is a credit to SF that they didn't bite the bait and indulge themselves in retaliatory negative campaigning.

P.s. I hope that when you say parties in the north don't have to compete along sectarian lines, that you aren't implying that people just generally do vote along "sectarian" lines in the north. People vote along Republican/Nationalist and Unionist lines. While there are sectarians out there, it would be totally wrong to label anyone who votes along lines of Republican or Unionist politics as a sectarian. I am proudly Irish Republican and as such am totally anti-sectarian.

Fair point, 'sectarian' is the wrong word. I'd say that voters still divide on the national question and the need for both communities (God, I hate that word) to be involved in the Executive makes for two seperate electorates. The perverse consequence of that divide is that Shinner-bashing allowed the DUP to crush the party of Craig and Brookeborough, and as soon as they had done that it became a useless weapon! It wasn't principle that put it beyond use (ho ho) and you can be sure it'll come back should the DUP fear being outflanked by the likes of the TUV
Post by: seafoid on March 07, 2011, 10:02:03 PM
Where is the anti Ming stuff coming from? Is it FF ? 
Post by: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 10:05:20 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:54:19 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 09:42:12 PM

Fair point, 'sectarian' is the wrong word. I'd say that voters still divide on the national question and the need for both communities (God, I hate that word) to be involved in the Executive makes for two seperate electorates. The perverse consequence of that divide is that Shinner-bashing allowed the DUP to crush the party of Craig and Brookeborough, and as soon as they had done that it became a useless weapon! It wasn't principle that put it beyond use (ho ho) and you can be sure it'll come back should the DUP fear being outflanked by the likes of the TUV

Why can't we all just get along?!!  :D
(http://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/think_of_the_children_186.jpg)
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 10:08:56 PM
The people have spoken, the bastards
Post by: ross4life on March 07, 2011, 10:52:41 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 07, 2011, 10:02:03 PM

Yes they had American style campaign to blacken his name.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on March 07, 2011, 11:09:51 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 07, 2011, 10:52:41 PM

What did they do?

For the record I'm delighted he was voted in and now I hope he can show his constituency he deserved their votes.
Post by: ross4life on March 07, 2011, 11:28:44 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on March 07, 2011, 11:09:51 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 07, 2011, 10:52:41 PM

What did they do?

For the record I'm delighted he was voted in and now I hope he can show his constituency he deserved their votes.

Mostly the hash thing, FF candidates put more effort into trying to degrade Ming than tell us about what they would offer

Ming was quick on the draw.. "sure Brian Cowen smoked hash"
Post by: spuds on March 08, 2011, 12:08:56 AM
In fairness if I was from Roscommon I would also choose drugs  :)
Post by: ross4life on March 08, 2011, 12:21:28 AM
Quote from: spuds on March 08, 2011, 12:08:56 AM

The Mayo wit know's no end... Sure everytime i read/hear Mayo men saying "we will win the All Ireland" that talk has to be drug influenced?
Post by: spuds on March 08, 2011, 12:32:57 AM
Quote from: ross4life on March 08, 2011, 12:21:28 AM
Quote from: spuds on March 08, 2011, 12:08:56 AM

The Mayo wit know's no end... Sure everytime i read/hear Mayo men saying "we will win the All Ireland" that talk has to be drug influenced?
are you a minger Ross  :-*
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:14:22 AM
Who cares about the 4'th party or 5'th or 6'th grouping in the Dáil, Jesus they are full of themselves, the people choose not to vote for them.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:20:45 AM
Get over the past?????

Northerners and NI SF'rs are all Free State this, Blueshirt that, who are the hypocrites, when you can get over blaming Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil for the 1920's & 1930's we will wait another 4-7 decades to stop blaming SF-IRA for the 1960's/70's/80's/90's/00's.

Fair enough. Hypocrites.

Civil War politics is only alive and well in the 6.
Post by: seafoid on March 08, 2011, 08:52:13 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 10:08:56 PM
The people have spoken, the b**tards

The bustards
Post by: magpie seanie on March 08, 2011, 09:51:34 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:20:45 AM
Get over the past?????

Northerners and NI SF'rs are all Free State this, Blueshirt that, who are the hypocrites, when you can get over blaming Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil for the 1920's & 1930's we will wait another 4-7 decades to stop blaming SF-IRA for the 1960's/70's/80's/90's/00's.

Fair enough. Hypocrites.

I don't agree with this lad that often but he has a point here.
Post by: Tubberman on March 08, 2011, 10:07:52 AM
Quote from: hardstation on March 08, 2011, 10:04:23 AM
What exactly are you blaming on SF or the IRA in the 60s/70s/80s/90s/00s?

Oh ffs, here we go
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:28:29 AM
Get over the past?????

Fair enough. Hypocrites.

:D :D :D Jaysus Mayo this is the first election in almost a century that civil war politics didn't dictate the pace in the 26 counties! Furthermore, you just used the term "SF/IRA" as if to back up a point I made several posts ago. Even most DUP folk have stopped using that particular term. You have put yourself in the same class as that Harry Potter lookalike Willy Frazer and as Jim Allister and his TUV Neanderthals. And in an election where the economy was the big issue, it was the FG and FFers who bleated incessantly about Gerry Adams' alleged IRA past and who shamelessly used and abused the names of the (apparent) only two victims of the conflict (who are now back to being forgotten about until Election 2016). Thankfully SF's vote more than trebled despite the Neanderthals.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 10:34:59 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 07, 2011, 04:25:10 PM

Your post didn't mention Ming or cannabis.  You refered to the disbelief you seem to have that "a SF apologist would have an issue with being represented by a criminal." Seems fairly clear you regard SF as being criminals from that to me.

You're a gas man, telling people to read your posts.  If you read it again (carefully, good man) you will see that my post referred to a previous post that, as you say yourself 'mention(s) Ming or cannabis".  What seems clear to you is wrong, because I've said nowhere in my posts that I regard SF as being criminals.  Keep working on the propaganda there.   ::)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:39:37 AM
Well Nally as you may have noticed it is only a recent phenomenon for me to start using the term SF-IRA, but I have decided to use it until the childish and incessant Free Staters and Blueshirts shite stops, its not the feckn 1920's or 1930's, see my above post. Talk about living in the past. I have a question is it only Sinn Féiners that get to throw aroung the childish taunts?

Now we have people apparantly denying that the IRA or Sinn Féin have done anything wrong in the last 4 or 5 decades, ffs. I'm sure Warrington, Enniskillen, Omagh, Birmingham, Manchester, Belfast, the Gardai, the RUC, bank and security staff, the families of the dissappeared etc. wouldn't agree.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:40:59 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 10:34:59 AM

You're a gas man, telling people to read your posts.  If you read it again (carefully, good man) you will see that my post referred to a previous post that, as you say yourself 'mention(s) Ming or cannabis".  What seems clear to you is wrong, because I've said nowhere in my posts that I regard SF as being criminals.  Keep working on the propaganda there.   ::)

So I'm crazy to think that the following statement from you is an insinuation that SF are criminals? ....
Quoteit beggars belief that a SF apologist would have an issue with being represented by a criminal.

Gotcha

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:42:25 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:40:59 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 10:34:59 AM

So I'm crazy to think that the following statement from you is an insinuation that SF are criminals? ....
Quoteit beggars belief that a SF apologist would have an issue with being represented by a criminal.

Gotcha

Any word on who robbed the Northern Bank?  ;)
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:45:14 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:39:37 AM
Well Nally as you may have noticed it is only a recent phenomenon for me to start using the term SF-IRA, but I have decided to use it until the childish and incessant Free Staters and Blueshirts shite stops, its not the feckn 1920's or 1930's, see my above post. Talk about living in the past. I have a question is it only Sinn Féiners that get to throw aroung the childish taunts?

Now we have people apparantly denying that the IRA or Sinn Féin have done anything wrong in the last 4 or 5 decades, ffs. I'm sure Warrington, Enniskillen, Omagh, Birmingham, Manchester, Belfast, the Gardai, the RUC, bank and security staff, the families of the dissappeared etc. wouldn't agree.

Remind me who claimed that the IRA never did any wrong if you wouldn't mind? Interested to hear your answer to that.

P.s. The IRA of the most recent phase of the conflict, JUST LIKE THE OLD IRA, did carry out wrong acts. Could you name any armed campaign anywhere where a protagonist did not carry out wrong acts? That doesn't mean their campaigns were not justified in my view.

As for SF throwing childish taunts, it seemed to me that SF were the only party who were not indulging in negative campaigning in the face of non-stop childish taunts and groundless accusations about events 30 odd years ago.

P.P.S. If by Omagh, you are referring to the Omagh bomb, get your facts straight before you start spouting falsehoods about events in my nearest town.
Post by: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 10:45:38 AM

I for one would love an answer to hardstations question
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:46:12 AM
By the way I get a distinct impression that Luke Flanagan is in disagreement with the new coalition re the banking crises, that does not take from the fact that he is an intelligent man. He held his hands up yesterday to say he was no economic expert, but there is a panel of 4 or 5 ecnomists he has been following and has found them to have been generally on the ball so far, until they are disproved he tends to agree with them.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 10:48:27 AM

Since when is 'a criminal' 'criminals'?  Even in Nally Stand-world?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:49:22 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 10:45:38 AM

Nally, this seems to give the impression that there are a few people in doubht.

O scratch Omagh, apologies, but its a shame I couldn't scratch the rest from the record isn't it  >:(
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:53:48 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:49:22 AM

O scratch Omagh, apologies, but its a shame I couldn't scratch the rest from the record isn't it  >:(

Could you reply to my full post instead of just a few bits of it? Good man.

Chiefly: WHO claimed the IRA never did anything wrong?

And: If you are so vocally opposed to the IRA, can I therefor assume you are similarly opposed to the IRA of the early 20th Century? (They did after all fight for the same ideals, and did both carry out certain wrong acts (robberies, disappearings, sectarian killings)?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:55:10 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2010/0626/1224273343794.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2010/0626/1224273343794.html)

I see common ground between Luke and the new government on Health Care reform. He also is right that Bord na Mona is a bigger threat to Irish raised bogs than traditional bog cutting, where the bog fauna grows back every year.

From Ming the Merciless to Ming the Mayor
Mayor Ming: Cllr Luke Flanagan of Castlerea.Photograph: Mick McCormackIn this section »

Roscommon councillors will make Luke 'Ming the Merciless' Flanagan mayor of the county on a platform of health reform rather than his usual campaign to legalise cannabis

HE HAS BEEN described as a shaven-headed Charles Stewart Parnell and the epitome of persistence, and on Monday he will become mayor of his native county (in effect, Cathaoirleach of Roscommon County Council). "Barring hiccups, of course – you know anything can happen in politics," says Luke "Ming the Merciless" Flanagan.

And the independent Roscommon councillor, who is best known for his shaven head, beard and sideburns, and his Flash Gordon comic-strip character middle name, has already ensured that anything can happen during his 13-year political career in the west.

Written off many times as a Monster Raving Loony Party-style eccentric, Flanagan has a commitment to social justice extending beyond his long-running campaign to legalise cannabis.

As he points out, it was a health issue that led to the effort to elect him Roscommon town's first citizen. An alliance of Fine Gael, Sinn Féin and independent councillors vehemently opposes the downgrading of Roscommon County Hospital. "Fianna Fáil has had the rug pulled from under them on this one," Flanagan says. A pact agreed by the alliance means he should hold the mayoral chain this year, with Fine Gael taking it for the next three.

Flanagan freely admits that "personal experience" provides much of his political focus. When his late mother, Lily, was diagnosed with cancer he had a taste of the health services – and didn't like what he saw. "At the same time, my father-in-law would not be alive today if it wasn't for the treatment he got in Roscommon," he adds.

In 1997 his experience with the law drove him to run in the general election, on a ticket urging the legalisation of cannabis and as a protest candidate against his landlord, Fianna Fáil TD Frank Fahey. Flanagan got 548 votes.

Early in 1998 he presented himself at Mill Street Garda Station in Galway, having been convicted for possessing cannabis and having refused to pay the £150 fine. To his chagrin he learned his father, Luke, had paid the fine. "My mother put him up to it," Flanagan says, remembering his mother's quote in this newspaper that "I wouldn't like my son to go to prison." His father was dubbed Ming the Merciful from then on.

Luke jnr had his way later that year, however, when he served nine days of a 15-day sentence in Loughan House open prison, in Co Cavan, for refusing to pay a fine imposed for breach of the Litter Pollution Act.

He ran in the 1999 European elections, polling a respectable 5,000 votes in Connacht-Ulster, and in 2001 he made headlines again when he sent 200 cannabis cigarettes to members of the Oireachtas, as part of his campaign to legalise cannabis.

In the 2004 local elections he topped the poll in Roscommon, and was re-elected on the first count last June.

Now the father of two children,aged five and seven, he has spoken out about the influence of the drinks lobby, about cuts to a teenage health initiative in his area and, most recently, about the rights of turf-cutters affected by the EU-led ban on harvesting in 32 raised bogs.

Again, this is an issue that touches him personally. "My grand-uncle Harry Fleming cut the same area of bog for 67 years, and my father after him, and now me," he said. "When we didn't have much money at home it was the turf that my father took in on his Ferguson tractor that kept us in clothes and insured the Hillman Hunter." He believes that if the EU and the Minister for the Environment, John Gormley, are interested in protecting raised bogs, they would first "repair the damage done by Bord na Móna".

Flanagan intends to run for the Dáil again, and, like his comic-book hero, he doesn't give up easily. "And watch out for my T-shirt at the Connacht senior final," he says. "It's something to do with Nama."

Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 10:57:43 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:55:10 AM
His father was dubbed Ming the Merciful from then on.

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:58:11 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:53:48 AM

And: If you are so vocally opposed to the IRA, can I therefor assume you are similarly opposed to the IRA of the early 20th Century? (They did after all fight for the same ideals, and did both carry out certain wrong acts (robberies, disappearings, sectarian killings)?

ffs sake read the posts I have quoted, its clear that some people do not think it is bloody obvious that they did alot of evil stuff. By the way this is a thread about Luke Ming Flanagan, are SF that narcissistic?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:59:13 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 10:48:27 AM

Jaysus keep squirming...

So if you are shocked that "a SF apologist would have an issue with being represented by a criminal" does that not suggest that all SF voters support criminals? If you meant one SF criminal individual, would you not then say that it shocks youu that "an apologist for a certain SF member would have an issue with being represented by a criminal?"

Jaysus man, if you want to call SF criminals, then tear away, but don't start denying that its what you meant. Have the courage of your convictions or else admit you were simply spouting sh1te that you don't actually believe to be true when you stated :
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:59:24 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 10:57:43 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:55:10 AM
His father was dubbed Ming the Merciful from then on.

Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 11:02:39 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 10:58:11 AM

For ffs sake read the posts I have quoted, its clear that some people do not think it is bloody obvious that they did alot of evil stuff. By the way this is a thread about Luke Ming Flanagan, are SF that narcissistic?

You seemed happy enough to talk about SF up until now. Is it only a problem when I ask you questions you can't answer?

You'd make some politician. Masterful avoiding of the question. Let's try for a specific set of answers this time though:
1. You stated that there were people here who were "apparantly denying that the IRA or Sinn Féin have done anything wrong in the last 4 or 5 decades". Just tell me then, WHO claimed the IRA never did anything wrong? Just give me a name or wuote to back it up, it's all I ask.

2. If you are so vocally opposed to the IRA, can I therefor assume you are similarly opposed to the IRA of the early 20th Century? (They did after all fight for the same ideals, and did both carry out certain wrong acts (robberies, disappearings, sectarian killings)?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 11:09:35 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 11:02:39 AM

For ffs sake read the posts I have quoted, its clear that some people do not think it is bloody obvious that they did alot of evil stuff. By the way this is a thread about Luke Ming Flanagan, are SF that narcissistic?

You seemed happy enough to talk about SF up until now. Is it only a problem when I ask you questions you can't answer?

You'd make some politician. Masterful avoiding of the question. Let's try for a specific set of answers this time though:
1. You stated that "people apparantly denying that the IRA or Sinn Féin have done anything wrong in the last 4 or 5 decades". Just tell me then, WHO claimed the IRA never did anything wrong? Just give me a name or wuote to back it up, it's all I ask.

2. If you are so vocally opposed to the IRA, can I therefor assume you are similarly opposed to the IRA of the early 20th Century? (They did after all fight for the same ideals, and did both carry out certain wrong acts (robberies, disappearings, sectarian killings)?

1. Are you blind look at my previous quotes. Read the entire thread carefully again.

2. My points about the IRA & Sinn Féin were in reference to the constant references to the Blueshirts and Free Staters.

Its also a shame that a certain party were taking rival election posters down during the GE, still struggling with democracy it seems.

Back to Ming.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 11:16:11 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 11:09:35 AM

1. You stated that "people apparantly denying that the IRA or Sinn Féin have done anything wrong in the last 4 or 5 decades". Just tell me then, WHO claimed the IRA never did anything wrong? Just give me a name or wuote to back it up, it's all I ask.

1. Are you blind look at my previous quotes. Read the entire thread carefully again.

2. My points about the IRA & Sinn Féin were in reference to the constant references to the Blueshirts and Free Staters.

Its also a shame that a certain party were taking rival election posters down during the GE, still struggling with democracy it seems.

Back to Ming.

Mayo, just for the sake of putting the issue to bed, give me one specific answer to each specific question because you have repeatedly avoided answering both specifically. I'm not asking much of you there.

1. You stated that there were "people apparantly denying that the IRA or Sinn Féin have done anything wrong in the last 4 or 5 decades".
WHO claimed the IRA never did anything wrong?  Just give me a name or quote to back it up, it's all I ask.

Post by: magpie seanie on March 08, 2011, 11:18:42 AM
I think someone needs to lock this thread and let it float off into the ether...
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:23:04 AM

Anogther old chestnut, although one I have a lot of sympathy with. I can understand the fury of Nationalist up North throughout the Troubles at being lectured by southern politicians about murder and terror against the Brits from the security of the land carved out by murder and terror against the Brits. However, I can easily distinguish between the legitimacy of waging a campaign against RIC men and waging a campaign against the Guards. That, if nothing else, represents a big difference between the two
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 11:28:00 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:23:04 AM

Anogther old chestnut, although one I have a lot of sympathy with. I can understand the fury of Nationalist up North throughout the Troubles at being lectured by southern politicians about murder and terror against the Brits from the security of the land carved out by murder and terror against the Brits. However, I can easily distinguish between the legitimacy of waging a campaign against RIC men and waging a campaign against the Guards. That, if nothing else, represents a big difference between the two

The IRA waged a campaign against the guards?
Post by: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 11:37:27 AM

you were actually going well there until the bit in bold lad
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:46:21 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 11:28:00 AM

The Guards were legitimate targets, if you want to be precise
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:46:58 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 11:37:27 AM

Translation: you liked what I said until you read something you didn't like
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:51:01 AM
I'd note in passing that one of the funny (in the gallows sense) things about the Troubles is how both sides of the conflict accept that bad things happened in general without ever accepting that anything specific was bad.
Post by: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 11:53:40 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:46:58 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 11:37:27 AM

Translation: you liked what I said until you read something you didn't like

not at all, don't presume what i think, i would like you to show where the IRA declared open war on the guards - this should be good
Title: Sinn Féin Vanity Thread
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 11:55:23 AM
New thread set up for anyone who wishes to talk about Luke Flanagan as opposed to one of the smallest political parties in the Dáil.
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:56:53 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 11:53:40 AM
not at all, don't presume what i think, i would like you to show where the IRA declared open war on the guards - this should be good

I clarified that. The Guards were legitimate targets. And you know what? I didn't like that then and I don't like it now
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 11:57:42 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:46:21 AM

Who is doing yoir research for you?
IRA Vols were forbidden from engaging in any form of confrontation with the Guards and did not regard them as legitimate targets.
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:58:18 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 11:57:42 AM

IRA Vols were forbidden from engaging in any form of confrontation with the Guards and did not regard them as legitimate targets.

So when unarmed Guards died, that was just one of those things
Post by: Bogball XV on March 08, 2011, 11:59:00 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 08, 2011, 11:18:42 AM
I think someone needs to lock this thread and let it float off into the ether...
It's all getting a bit repetitive isn't it.  I think there's a few lads on here who maybe think they're in some way furthering SF's cause or putting across SF's arguments, but they're not doing much of a job of converting hearts or minds. 

As for Luke, I wasn't a fan pre-election, but on hearing him several times since then, I think he's well worth having in there.  Hopefully he'll fulfill his potential, btw, I'd say he's close enough to SF on many policies too, of course some supporters can't see past his use of illegal substances, but that shouldn't be a bar to them talking to him.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 11:59:57 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 11:58:18 AM

Perhaps it was Collateral damage or friendly fire.
Post by: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 12:04:34 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 08, 2011, 11:59:00 AM
It's all getting a bit repetitive isn't it.  I think there's a few lads on here who maybe think they're in some way furthering SF's cause or putting across SF's arguments, but they're not doing much of a job of converting hearts or minds. 

As for Luke, I wasn't a fan pre-election, but on hearing him several times since then, I think he's well worth having in there.  Hopefully he'll fulfill his potential, btw, I'd say he's close enough to SF on many policies too, of course some supporters can't see past his use of illegal substances, but that shouldn't be a bar to them talking to him.

I for one am not trying to further anything, but when bullshit like what deiseach has posted goes up about a war with the guards i will challenge it, which you still have anwered btw deiseach
Title: Re: Sinn Féin Vanity Thread
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:06:07 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 11:55:23 AM
New thread set up for anyone who wishes to talk about Luke Flanagan as opposed to one of the smallest political parties in the Dáil.

There was a time I respected you as a poster. Don't ruin it by cowardly actions like hiding from questions about what you posted.

1. You stated that there were "people apparantly denying that the IRA or Sinn Féin have done anything wrong in the last 4 or 5 decades".
WHO claimed the IRA never did anything wrong? Just give me a name or quote to back it up, it's all I ask.

Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:07:42 PM

It's a long way from the IRA "waging war" on the Gardaí isn't it though? And it's no more "one of those things" than unarmed victims of the Old IRA were "one of those things" when looked through the rose tinted glasses of the Mayo's of this world.
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 12:08:34 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 12:04:34 PM

I for one am not trying to further anything, but when bullshit like what deiseach has posted goes up about a war with the guards i will challenge it, which you still have anwered btw deiseach

I have answered. I clarified that Guards were legitimate targets. I do not accept statements that they were not because out in the real world unarmed Guards, who could not possibly represent a threat to an armed Volunteer on active service, were killed. To say otherwise is to engage in weasel words.
Post by: Franko on March 08, 2011, 12:14:06 PM
Get over the past?????

Fair enough. Hypocrites.

Hold on a second.  The reason that 'northerners' continue to mention this is because, unlike yourself, who has the luxury of living on the 'correct' side of the treaty divide, the fact that I pay my tax to the British exchequer means that Civil War politics is very much in the present to me.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:18:54 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:07:42 PM

It's a long way from the IRA "waging war" on the Gardaí isn't it though? And it's no more "one of those things" than unarmed victims of the Old IRA were "one of those things" when looked through the rose tinted glasses of the Mayo's of this world.

Does not legitimise it in one way, however that was the 1920's and this is 2011. You are not comparing like with like, not becasue of the activities of the Old or Provisional IRA (despite the Provos caused alot more civilian deaths) but due to the fact you would find it hard to find a FG or FF member who was involved in terrorism, I'm not so sure it would be as difficult with Sein Féin.

Also the Old IRA, Die Hards and National Army while committing heinous acts, their raison d'etre was defeat of the enemy as opposed to the Provos which seemed to be death, destruction and terror. The Provos claimed to fight for a cause, but to most people outside the rose tinted Provo family it came across as hate fueled mayhem.

But again, why are the people of the 26 counties accused by our northern cousins of living in the past, when it is clearly the people of the 6 who are obsessed about events that happened nearly a century ago. Of course I must be a Blueshirt facist because in the ever so recent 1930's  ::) a tiny tiny tiny minority of one of the many groups that went on to form Fine Gael indulged in childish Roman salutes in an ex-army association set up to defend desenters against IRA mobs who attacked political rallies of those that dare disagree with them, while Dev used the National Army to protect his party followers and left the rest at the mercy of the RA.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:21:48 PM
Quote from: Franko on March 08, 2011, 12:14:06 PM
Get over the past?????

Fair enough. Hypocrites.

Hold on a second.  The reason that 'northerners' continue to mention this is because, unlike yourself, who has the luxury of living on the 'correct' side of the treaty divide, the fact that I pay my tax to the British exchequer means that Civil War politics is very much in the present to me.

So if it is important, and we are all part of the Irish nation, I can assume it is legitimate for FG, FF, and everyone else in the Republic to indulge in Civil War politics and therefore not legitimate for Sinn Féin or Gerry Adams to bitch on about it like a broken record.

(Personally I disagree that is important, but thanks for the get out of Gaol card for future reference)
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:23:20 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 12:08:34 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 08, 2011, 12:04:34 PM

I have answered. I clarified that Guards were legitimate targets. I do not accept statements that they were not because out in the real world unarmed Guards, who could not possibly represent a threat to an armed Volunteer on active service, were killed. To say otherwise is to engage in weasel words.

So do you believe that for the Old IRA; unarmed men, women and children were legitimate targets? They did deliberately kill a number of them after all. They didn't represent a threat. Can I deduce from this that you hold the Old IRA in equal distain as you hold the IRA of more recent times in?

*Note how I stated that they "Killed a number of them" rather than said they "waged war on them" as the PIRA apparently did on the Guards if your sensationalism was to have went unchecked.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:25:17 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:18:54 PM

Does not legitimise it in one way, however that was the 1920's and this is 2011. You are not comparing like with like, not becasue of the activities of the Old or Provisional IRA (despite the Provos caused alot more civilian deaths) but due to the fact you would find it hard to find a FG or FF member who was involved in terrorism, I'm not so sure it would be as difficult with Sein Féin.

Also the Old IRA, Die Hards and National Army while committing heinous acts, their raison d'etre was defeat of the enemy as opposed to the Provos which seemed to be death, destruction and terror. They claimed to fight for a cause, but to most people outside the rose tinted Provo family it came across as hate fueled mayhem.

But again, why are the people of the 26 counties accused by our northern cousins of living in the past, when it is clearly the people of the 6 who are obsessed about events that happened nearly a century ago. Of course I must be a Blueshirt facist because in the ever so recent 1930's  ::) a tiny tiny tiny minority of one of the many groups that went on to form Fine Gael indulged in childish Roman salutes in an ex-army association set up to defend desenters against IRA mobs who attacked political rallies of those that dare disagree with them, while Dev used the National Army to protect his party followers and left the rest at the mercy of the RA.

The majority of IRA attacks were on British security forces Mayo but its hard to beat sensationalism isn't it?
While I have you here, could you maybe tell me who it was who said that the IRA didn't do any wrong, and maybe a quote to back up your claim? Thanks.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:26:55 PM
Can this threads name be changed to, Well we where going to talk about Luke Flanagan but Sinn Féin wanted to make it all about themselves again.

You would think they won 100 Dáil seats in the GE, talk about the hype  :D
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:31:26 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:26:55 PM
Can this threads name be changed to, Well we where going to talk about Luke Flanagan but Sinn Féin wanted to make it all about themselves again.

You would think they won 100 Dáil seats in the GE, talk about the hype  :D

Or maybe the "How many times must Mayo be asked to back up a claim he makes before he actually does so Thread"
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 12:32:16 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:23:20 PM
So do you believe that for the Old IRA; unarmed men, women and children were legitimate targets? They did deliberately kill a number of them after all. They didn't represent a threat. Can I deduce from this that you hold the Old IRA in equal distain as you hold the IRA of more recent times in?

*Note how I stated that they "Killed a number of them" rather than said they "waged war on them" as the PIRA apparently did on the Guards if your sensationalism was to have went unchecked.

I've outlined a substantive difference between the Old IRA and the Provos. Even if all other things were equal, I think I can use that to explain why I am less disdainful of the Old IRA than the Provos
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:33:43 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:25:17 PM

Also the Old IRA, Die Hards and National Army while committing heinous acts, their raison d'etre was defeat of the enemy as opposed to the Provos which seemed to be death, destruction and terror. They claimed to fight for a cause, but to most people outside the rose tinted Provo family it came across as hate fueled mayhem.

1. The majority of IRA attacks were on British security forces Mayo but its hard to beat sensationalism isn't it?

2. While I have you here, could you maybe tell me who it was who said that the IRA didn't do any wrong, and maybe a quote to back up your claim? Thanks.

1. (http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00162/enniskillen1987_162430t.jpg)
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/tv/images/programmes/poppybomb.jpg)
(http://www.irishhistorylinks.net/History_Links/Enniskillen.jpg)

Comes across like denial to me, but sure maybe I took them up wrong, I wonder am I the only one who would take this up as implied denial.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:36:32 PM
Is it ok if I go have my dinner now?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:36:48 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 12:32:16 PM

I've outlined a substantive difference between the Old IRA and the Provos. Even if all other things were equal, I think I can use that to explain why I am less disdainful of the Old IRA than the Provos

Right so the PIRA having killed i think 6 Guards. And this is how you distinguish the two campaigns? So then the life of a gaurd is more precious than an unarmed civilian? The Old IRA killed more civilians than the PIRA did Guards.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:39:28 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:33:43 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:25:17 PM

1. The majority of IRA attacks were on British security forces Mayo but its hard to beat sensationalism isn't it?

2. While I have you here, could you maybe tell me who it was who said that the IRA didn't do any wrong, and maybe a quote to back up your claim? Thanks.

1. (http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00162/enniskillen1987_162430t.jpg)
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/tv/images/programmes/poppybomb.jpg)
(http://www.irishhistorylinks.net/History_Links/Enniskillen.jpg)

Comes across like denial to me, but sure maybe I took them up wrong, I wonder am I the only one who would take this up as implied denial.

So posting three photos of immoral IRA attacks is supposed to refute my claim that most attacks were on british security forces then? Have you nothing other than sensationalism and generalisations to offer??

And did Hardstation say the IRA never did anything wrong?? I would appreciate a direct quote, not something you think implies something somehow.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:43:29 PM
Holy Shit on a stick Nally Stand you are harder work than a brick wall.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:44:40 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:43:29 PM
Holy Shit on a stick Nally Stand you are harder work than a brick wall.

And you, my question dodging friend, are as stubborn as one!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:46:40 PM
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/manchester/content/images/2006/06/15/bomb_site_370x290.jpg)

Manchester 1996, legitimate target??????????
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:49:23 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:46:40 PM
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/manchester/content/images/2006/06/15/bomb_site_370x290.jpg)

Manchester 1996, legitimate target??????????

Might I once again ask you, have you anything other than pictures of specific acts or do you rely on sensationalist generalisations? The IRA carried out thousands of attacks. The vast majority of which were on british security forces. Do your four photos disprove this?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:49:33 PM
(http://www.moneyforyourstories.com/images/stories/ball0001.jpg)

Warrington????
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:50:50 PM
(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00025/Fred_Hoare_Bomb_Roy__25323s.jpg)

Belfast?????
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:52:39 PM
(http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTvpCd41hHQChZKd0ohneH4xAmqkw1HNFQIT3CNDNmZXRpNwkAt&t=1)

Birmingham ??????
Post by: thebigfella on March 08, 2011, 12:53:17 PM
Quote from: Franko on March 08, 2011, 12:14:06 PM
Get over the past?????

Fair enough. Hypocrites.

:D Not sure that is true at the moment.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 12:54:20 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:59:13 AM

Jaysus keep squirming...

So if you are shocked that "a SF apologist would have an issue with being represented by a criminal" does that not suggest that all SF voters support criminals? If you meant one SF criminal individual, would you not then say that it shocks youu that "an apologist for a certain SF member would have an issue with being represented by a criminal?"

Jaysus man, if you want to call SF criminals, then tear away, but don't start denying that its what you meant. Have the courage of your convictions or else admit you were simply spouting sh1te that you don't actually believe to be true when you stated :

You really are a sad little bully - they'll love you in Connolly House.  Go on and work yourself up into a pretend lather about that.  What can you possibly interpret from that sentence - I know, everyone in Connolly House loves bullies, and all little bullies are sad, and all sad bullies are little.  Is there a course on stupidity you have to do to become a Shinner?  Jaysus.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:55:00 PM
Gerry McCabe ??????
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:56:38 PM
Might I once again ask you, have you anything other than pictures of specific acts or do you rely on sensationalist generalisations? The IRA carried out thousands of attacks. The vast majority of which were on british security forces. Do your photos disprove this? If there was similar media coverage to provide us with photos of immoral Old IRA attacks, would that be enough to change your mind about them, or are your rose tinted glasses just too comfortable?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:57:36 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 12:54:20 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 10:59:13 AM

Jaysus keep squirming...

You really are a sad little bully - they'll love you in Connolly House.  Go on and work yourself up into a pretend lather about that.  What can you possibly interpret from that sentence - I know, everyone in Connolly House loves bullies, and all little bullies are sad, and all sad bullies are little.  Is there a course on stupidity you have to do to become a Shinner?  Jaysus.

Personal abuse out of the system? Could you answer me now then?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:59:37 PM
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/02/27/article-0-087FDC40000005DC-134_468x421.jpg)

(http://po4ep.s3.amazonaws.com/785/l/6452485.jpg)

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38514000/jpg/_38514407_horses238.jpg)

(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00025/bloody_25946t.jpg)

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1555000/images/_1556311_canary_pa_300.jpg)

London ??????
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 01:00:56 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 12:36:48 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 12:32:16 PM

Right so the PIRA having killed i think 6 Guards. And this is how you distinguish the two campaigns? So then the life of a gaurd is more precious than an unarmed civilian? The Old IRA killed more civilians than the PIRA did Guards.

I didn't say I thought all other things were equal. It really would require an essay to get across the nuances of the differences between the Troubles of the 1920's and the Troubles of the 1960-90's. The nature of the forces arrayed against the respective IRAs is one of them. The nature of the mandate is another (1918 election v minority support even among Northern Nationalists). But you make a very good point. What is the difference between shooting some innocent Protestant in the 1920's and one in the 1970's? The answer is 'none', and I can understand the rage of Northern Nationalists at the arbitrary way politicians can distinguish between the two
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:02:26 PM
Not to mention all the innocent Irish people living in Britain who got a good hiding thanks to these activities.

"A picture is worth a thousand words"
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:03:48 PM
Might I once again ask you, have you anything other than pictures of specific acts or do you rely on sensationalist generalisations? The IRA carried out thousands of attacks. The vast majority of which were on british security forces. Do your photos disprove this?

You remind me of the mule
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EhQVo7lWS8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EhQVo7lWS8)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:10:11 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:03:48 PM
Might I once again ask you, have you anything other than pictures of specific acts or do you rely on sensationalist generalisations? The IRA carried out thousands of attacks. The vast majority of which were on british security forces. Do your photos disprove this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EhQVo7lWS8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EhQVo7lWS8)

It is my opinion that I have satisfactorly dealth with this question. You can't use force to change a persons opinions. 26 County politics is going to be a very frustrating experience for Sinn Féin, I can see it all now  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:11:17 PM
I love the way SF'rs can just quickly scroll past those pictures while I'm sure they make everyone else sick.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 08, 2011, 01:14:52 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:11:17 PM
I love the way SF'rs can just quickly scroll past those pictures while I'm sure they make everyone else sick.

YOUR A TUBE!
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:15:59 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:10:11 PM

It is my opinion that I have satisfactorly dealth with this question. You can't use force to change a persons opinions. 26 County politics is going to be a very frustrating experience for Sinn Féin, I can see it all now  ;)

You haven't dealt with it. You just put up a few pictures which demonstarate the minority of IRA attacks. I could put up pictures of Old IRA innocent victims and claim that the Old IRA were hence murderous criminals and thugs and terrorists but I then would be misleading and misrepresenting the truth. Do your pictures disprove my point that the vast majority of IRA attacks were on British security forces or are you deliberately being sensationalist???

You truely are making an awful clown of yourself here Mayo.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:19:10 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on March 08, 2011, 01:14:52 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:11:17 PM

YOUR A TUBE!

Smashing and enlightened contribution. I guess you vote SF, would I be correct?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:20:35 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:15:59 PM

You haven't dealt with it. You just put up a few pictures which demonstarate the minority of IRA attacks. I could put up pictures of Old IRA innocent victims and claim that the Old IRA were hence murderous criminals and thugs and terrorists but I then would be misleading and misrepresenting the truth. Do your pictures disprove my point that the vast majority of IRA attacks were on British security forces or are you deliberately being sensationalist???

Perhaps I am making a clown of myself, but I'm sure there are quite a few people on here who might say the same about your posts on this thread.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:25:37 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:20:35 PM

Perhaps I am making a clown of myself, but I'm sure there are quite a few people on here who might say the same about your posts on this thread.

That's for them to decide, but while they do, could you answer my question or need I ask you every questio a dozen times first?

You just put up a few pictures which demonstarate the minority of IRA attacks. I could put up pictures of Old IRA innocent victims and claim that the Old IRA were hence murderous criminals and thugs and terrorists but I then would be misleading and misrepresenting the truth. Do your pictures disprove my point that the vast majority of IRA attacks were on British security forces or are you deliberately being sensationalist???
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:29:02 PM
Look at the pictures and you will see why you won't be within an asses roar of government in the Republic any time soon. They are what the electorate of the Republic remember when they see the word Sinn Féin beside a candidates name.
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2011, 01:31:54 PM

In my opinion you most definitely haven't.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:37:10 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2011, 01:31:54 PM

In my opinion you most definitely haven't.

Thats your right newbie!!!  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:39:48 PM
To think this was supposed to have been a thread about Luke "Ming" Flanagan, seems to have got hijacked lost along the way.
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2011, 01:44:02 PM
Indeed it is. I'm no lover of SF or defender of the IRA but your debating over the last couple of pages has been poor. NS made a simple point that the majority of the IRA's attacks were on British security forces (Whether this was moral or not is another question). Instead of pointing to a source showing something to contradict this you have put up emotive pictures to try and slip away from his point. He never said all the attacks were against the seciurity forces. If he had your pictures may have had a relevance. But again considering he didn't, their pointless. 
Post by: Tubberman on March 08, 2011, 01:47:13 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:25:37 PM

That's for them to decide, but while they do, could you answer my question or need I ask you every questio a dozen times first?

You just put up a few pictures which demonstarate the minority of IRA attacks. I could put up pictures of Old IRA innocent victims and claim that the Old IRA were hence murderous criminals and thugs and terrorists but I then would be misleading and misrepresenting the truth. Do your pictures disprove my point that the vast majority of IRA attacks were on British security forces or are you deliberately being sensationalist???

And what point are you trying to make by repeating that over the last 5 or so pages?
That it's ok to kill 100 innocent civilians for example, as long as you kill 101 security forces?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:47:23 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2011, 01:44:02 PM
Indeed it is. I'm no lover of SF or defender of the IRA but your debating over the last couple of pages has been poor. NS made a simple point that the majority of the IRA's attacks were on British security forces (Whether this was moral or not is another question). Instead of pointing to a source showing something to contradict this you have put up emotive pictures to try and slip away from his point. He never said all the attacks were against the seciurity forces. If he had your pictures may have had a relevance. But again considering he didn't, their pointless.

I seem to forget where I actually said any different, if you find it, can you qoute me, because I seem to have forgotten where I said otherwise.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:51:35 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:29:02 PM
Look at the pictures and you will see why you won't be within an asses roar of government in the Republic any time soon. They are what the electorate of the Republic remember when they see the word Sinn Féin beside a candidates name.

Did you not say a few pages back that it is the people in the north living in the past and not those in the 26??
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:53:50 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:51:35 PM

Did you not say a few pages back that it is the people in the north living in the past and not those in the 26??

I personaly remember the atrocities of the 1980's onwards, can you remember the 1920's?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:54:26 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 08, 2011, 01:47:13 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:25:37 PM

And what point are you trying to make by repeating that over the last 5 or so pages?
That it's ok to kill 100 innocent civilians for example, as long as you kill 101 security forces?

I'm mentioning it to challenge Mayo's photographic sensationalism. And did the IRA only kill one more non civilian than civilian? Or are you just being sensationalist too? If the actualy number difference isn't the point as civilians still lost their lives, then surely the PIRA and Old IRA deserve equal criticism?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:55:22 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:53:50 PM

I personaly remember the atrocities of the 1980's onwards, can you remember the 1920's?

You can't remember the atrocities of the 20's either. Which probably explains why you look at that time through such rose tinted glasses.

P.S. Do you remember the british army smashing through your house, laughing as they did so, before moving on to the next house? I do.
Post by: spuds on March 08, 2011, 01:55:53 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 12:36:32 PM
Is it ok if I go have my dinner now?
Are you Jackie Healy Rae ?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:59:42 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 01:55:22 PM

You can't remember the atrocities of the 20's either. Which probably explains why you look at that time through such rose tinted glasses.

P.S. Do you remember the british army smashing through your house, laughing as they did so, before moving on to the next house? I do.

I remember a Northerner getting sick on my doorstep singing RA songs, does that count?
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2011, 02:00:16 PM

Also the Old IRA, Die Hards and National Army while committing heinous acts, their raison d'etre was defeat of the enemy as opposed to the Provos which seemed to be death, destruction and terror. The Provos claimed to fight for a cause, but to most people outside the rose tinted Provo family it came across as hate fueled mayhem.

I'd say it was the above highlighted line that got NS back up. As the majority of attacks were on the British security forces it could be argued that they were equally as involved at defeating the enemy as the "old IRA". Therefore it would be hard to accept the acts of one  and not the other.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 02:02:20 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 01:59:42 PM

I remember a Northerner getting sick on my doorstep singing RA songs, does that count?

Yes, that is much much worse than armed foreign soldiers laughing as they smash up your family home, and then move on to your neighbours. Much worse. You must have spent minutes cleaning up that vomit?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 02:03:44 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2011, 02:00:16 PM

I'd say it was the above highlighted line that got NS back up. As the majority of attacks were on the British security forces it could be argued that they were equally as involved at defeating the enemy as the "old IRA". Therefore it would be hard to accept the acts of one  and not the other.

Ya didn't really come across that way to the rest us. Talk about him being allowed to read stuff into things, but he harangues me for 5 or 6 pages for the same.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64lBTR8JxUc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64lBTR8JxUc)   ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on March 08, 2011, 02:04:17 PM
And this has what to do with Ming now? Jaysus, this is an all time record tangent.

Blueshirts and Shinners can't see eye to eye shocker. I hope we don't have a thread for all of these 'discussions'  :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 02:07:35 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 08, 2011, 02:04:17 PM
And this has what to do with Ming now? Jaysus, this is an all time record tangent.

Blueshirts and Shinners can't see eye to eye shocker. I hope we don't have a thread for all of these 'discussions'  :D

Now now AZOffaly, I can't call them Sein Féin-I.R.A. but you can call me a Blueshirt,  :'(  :D You obviously had the good sense to avoid reading the thread.
Post by: seafoid on March 08, 2011, 02:30:23 PM
A great post by Ed Moloney 
http://thebrokenelbow.com/

Sinn Fein would have to grow and develop – and be led – like a normal political party. The problem for Sinn Fein is that it is not a normal political party. It came to life as an offshoot of the IRA and it continues to behave, particularly in the way it handles its internal affairs, as an offshoot of the IRA, where obedience to an all-controlling leadership comes before all else.
The symptoms of this were visible in the years after the 2007 electoral setback with a series of resignations from party ranks in both parts of Ireland – perhaps twenty in all – and most damagingly in Dublin. Perhaps the most telling of these was the defection of Dublin councillor Killian Forde to the Labour Party in January 2010, a rising star who many predicted would go far. He chose his words carefully when he resigned but their import was unmistakable:

"The leadership of the party appeared to not recognise or were unwilling to accept that changes are long overdue. These changes were essential to transform the party into one that values discussions, accommodates dissent and promotes merit over loyalty and obedience. It is only logical that if you disagree with the direction of the party and are unable to change it there is no option but to leave."

He didn't put a name to the problem but we all know who he was talking about. Last week Gerry Adams was chosen as leader of the new, expanded Sinn Fein group in the Dail, replacing the dull but dependable Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin. He was picked for the job in the same way as Sadam Hussein was in Iraq, Hosni Mubarak in Egypt and Josef Stalin in Soviet Russia, with no rival or dissent worthy of the name and success absolutely assured. His selection has to be ratified by the Sinn Fein Ard Comhairle and it surely will be, as all his wishes have been.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 08, 2011, 02:33:27 PM
Seafoid? Do we really want another 'normal' political party? I think the normal parties are hardly the templates for the ideal political system. (I realise I'm sounding like I'm defending Sinn Féin here).
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2011, 02:40:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 08, 2011, 02:30:23 PM
A great post by Ed Moloney 
http://thebrokenelbow.com/

Sinn Fein would have to grow and develop – and be led – like a normal political party. The problem for Sinn Fein is that it is not a normal political party. It came to life as an offshoot of the IRA and it continues to behave, particularly in the way it handles its internal affairs, as an offshoot of the IRA, where obedience to an all-controlling leadership comes before all else.
The symptoms of this were visible in the years after the 2007 electoral setback with a series of resignations from party ranks in both parts of Ireland – perhaps twenty in all – and most damagingly in Dublin. Perhaps the most telling of these was the defection of Dublin councillor Killian Forde to the Labour Party in January 2010, a rising star who many predicted would go far. He chose his words carefully when he resigned but their import was unmistakable:

"The leadership of the party appeared to not recognise or were unwilling to accept that changes are long overdue. These changes were essential to transform the party into one that values discussions, accommodates dissent and promotes merit over loyalty and obedience. It is only logical that if you disagree with the direction of the party and are unable to change it there is no option but to leave."

He didn't put a name to the problem but we all know who he was talking about. Last week Gerry Adams was chosen as leader of the new, expanded Sinn Fein group in the Dail, replacing the dull but dependable Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin. He was picked for the job in the same way as Sadam Hussein was in Iraq, Hosni Mubarak in Egypt and Josef Stalin in Soviet Russia, with no rival or dissent worthy of the name and success absolutely assured. His selection has to be ratified by the Sinn Fein Ard Comhairle and it surely will be, as all his wishes have been.

Great post my eye. It could be completely reversed by someone who wanted to defend SF. They could highlight the strong leadership, lack of friction between members etc as a strength of SF.

Then to link Hussein, Mubarak and Stalin with SF on such a weak point just looks agenda driven.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 02:44:06 PM
When it comes to writing an impartial analysis of SF I wouldn't pay much heed on Ed. His "parallels" of Adams with Mubarak and Sadam Hussein says it all as far as his view is concerned. And dragging back the long gone issue of Killian Forde? Honestly! And Forde was just another careerist politician who saw a better pasture in Labour (whom he moved to after claiming that SF were moving to much to the centre - there's logic for you) and who despite having been elected as a SF Councillor, then refused to vacate his seat, won on a SF ticket. I hope this heroic leftist is happy in bed with FG now.
Post by: seafoid on March 08, 2011, 02:44:18 PM
AZ

I think obergrupperführer McDowell might be looking into starting something new  There may be a big reshaping of politics now that FF is toast.  If Labour arse up being in Government there may be some interesting stuff happening on the left.
I agree that the 3 main parties don't have much to offer but let's see how the new Government gets on.

The SF organisational model is out of date. They do have some interesting policies though.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 02:46:30 PM
Yes, Moloney has a 'history' with the Republican movement, in much the same way as Nally Stand has a 'history' with the British Army.  Is Moloney going to be allowed to express his 'agenda-driven' thoughts on the matter, like we're expected to allow Nally Stand to do? 
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 02:52:50 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 02:46:30 PM
Yes, Moloney has a 'history' with the Republican movement, in much the same way as Nally Stand has a 'history' with the British Army.  Is Moloney going to be allowed to express his 'agenda-driven' thoughts on the matter, like we're expected to allow Nally Stand to do?

Of course he is allowed, I am openly pro-SF. I am merely highlighting that what Seafoid refers to as a good article, is one written by a man with a vested anti SF agenda.

(Oh and you still haven't answered my previous question  :-X )
Post by: Puckoon on March 08, 2011, 02:53:16 PM
Interesting name for the blog he wrote that piece on. Broken elbow. Hmmm.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 02:56:33 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 02:52:50 PM

He thinks hes Vincent Browne.
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2011, 02:56:52 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 08, 2011, 02:46:30 PM

I'd expect both NS and Moloney to be allowed to express their opinions. But i'd also expect that people would be allowed to challange them if they disagree.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 02:57:19 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 02:56:33 PM

Who asked you Joan?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 03:01:05 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 02:57:19 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 02:56:33 PM

Who asked you Joan?

:D A good man, Nally. Glad to see you haven't lost your sense of humour.
Post by: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 03:06:37 PM
Of course he is allowed, I am openly pro-SF. I am merely highlighting that what Seafoid refers to as a good article, is one written by a man with a vested anti SF agenda.

You say it like it's a bad thing ;)
Post by: Nally Stand on March 08, 2011, 03:12:33 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 08, 2011, 03:06:37 PM

You say it like it's a bad thing ;)

Being openly pro-SF? No no no, that's a good thing!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 08, 2011, 03:13:57 PM
On yet another tangent, did anyone catch this on radio? It's amazing how surprised Conor Lenihan is when he gets abuse. They sound disgusted. What did they think would happen? Eejits.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-conor-lenihan-charlie-oconnor-irish-general-election-2011.html (http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-conor-lenihan-charlie-oconnor-irish-general-election-2011.html)

Actually the more I listen to this, the angrier I get. Lenihan is a smug, condescending little pr1ck.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 08, 2011, 03:16:21 PM

Great Post! Mayo hasn't a clue.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2011, 05:12:23 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on March 08, 2011, 03:16:21 PM

Great Post! Mayo hasn't a clue.

Radda yadda yadda
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 08, 2011, 05:35:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 08, 2011, 03:13:57 PM
On yet another tangent, did anyone catch this on radio? It's amazing how surprised Conor Lenihan is when he gets abuse. They sound disgusted. What did they think would happen? Eejits.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-conor-lenihan-charlie-oconnor-irish-general-election-2011.html (http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-conor-lenihan-charlie-oconnor-irish-general-election-2011.html)

Actually the more I listen to this, the angrier I get. Lenihan is a smug, condescending little pr1ck.

I've been in the same room as Lenihan a couple of times, you can smell the shite coming out of him, turns my stomach.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 10, 2011, 10:28:08 AM
I would prefer men like Ming to be standing and getting elected to Stormont in a few weeks time rather than have more Sinn Fein/IRA terrorists and hangers on stuffing the place.
Post by: Hardy on March 10, 2011, 10:34:35 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 10, 2011, 10:28:08 AM
I would prefer men like Ming to be standing and getting elected to Stormont in a few weeks time rather than have more Sinn Fein/IRA terrorists and hangers on stuffing the place.

Tick ... tick ... tick ...
Post by: Nally Stand on March 10, 2011, 10:40:09 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 10, 2011, 10:34:35 AM

More like....
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_A0LdpHWkzfQ/TFwmN07RydI/AAAAAAAAAHE/xwMOWfqjQSA/s1600/Yawn-726829.png)
Post by: omagh_gael on March 10, 2011, 10:43:30 AM
All I know Nally is that Omagh town centre would be a safer place without the carmen provos starting off fights every weekend. Keep your fists to the old charm inn.  :D
Post by: Nally Stand on March 10, 2011, 10:45:45 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 10, 2011, 10:43:30 AM
All I know Nally is that Omagh town centre would be a safer place without the carmen provos starting off fights every weekend. Keep your fists to the old charm inn.  :D

GOOD ONE!!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 10, 2011, 12:13:55 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 10, 2011, 10:34:35 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AI_EOPG5sWo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AI_EOPG5sWo)

Ya it would be great to see Stormant full of men like Ming, I bet he would garner support from all traditions in the North, thats the type of politician and parties they need in the 6 counties.