Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 03:22:28 PM

Poll
Question: Worst ever Irish person
Option 1: Bertie Ahern votes: 20
Option 2: Charlie McGreevy votes: 0
Option 3: Brian Cowen votes: 1
Option 4: Charlie Haughey votes: 4
Option 5: Pee Flynn votes: 0
Option 6: Sean Fitzpatrick votes: 1
Option 7: Dermot MacMurrough votes: 3
Option 8: William Joyce votes: 0
Option 9: Mary Harney votes: 2
Option 10: Catholic Church votes: 6
Option 11: Gerry Adams votes: 12
Option 12: Ian Paisely votes: 13
Option 13: Brendan Smith votes: 10
Option 14: Basil Brooke votes: 1
Option 15: James Craig votes: 0
Option 16: Leonard MacNally votes: 0
Option 17: D.P. Moran votes: 0
Option 18: Edward Carson votes: 3
Option 19: Arthur Griffith votes: 0
Option 20: Conor Cruise O Brien votes: 1
Option 21: Jackie Healy Ray votes: 0
Title: Worst Irish person in History
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 03:22:28 PM
RTE ran the greatest Irish person ever. Who would get the vote for the worst Irish person in History.
Title: Re: Worst Irish person in History
Post by: The Worker on December 05, 2010, 03:35:55 PM
david healy
Post by: ziggysego on December 05, 2010, 03:49:57 PM
I didn't realise the Catholic Church was a person.
Post by: muppet on December 05, 2010, 03:53:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 05, 2010, 03:49:57 PM

I didn't think it was technically Irish either, although we could make money if we marketed ourselves as the 'Holy Land'.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 05, 2010, 04:05:17 PM
Why is Gerry Adams up there?
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:07:00 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 05, 2010, 04:05:17 PM

Quite simple really he is Leader of a party that is the political wing of a terrorist organisation that were involved in the deaths of over 3500 people. An organisation that set back the unification of Ireland by generations.
Post by: ziggysego on December 05, 2010, 04:07:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 05, 2010, 03:53:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 05, 2010, 03:49:57 PM

I didn't think it was technically Irish either, although we could make money if we marketed ourselves as the 'Holy Land'.

Worked out well for south Belfast didn't it ;)
Post by: ziggysego on December 05, 2010, 04:09:50 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:07:00 PM

Quite simple really he is Leader of a party that is the political wing of a terrorist organisation that were involved in the deaths of over 3500 people. An organisation that set back the unification of Ireland by generations.

No, over 2000 people. I know that's still a high number.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 05, 2010, 04:11:20 PM

(http://static.flickr.com/42/98940098_452335c6f7_m.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on December 05, 2010, 04:16:16 PM
Louis Walsh for crimes against music, Miriam O'Callaghan for crimes against broadcasting, Tom Cruise in Far And Away, Paul McShane for allowing Henry to ghost in.

Ohh also forgot... my ex-girlfriend & no I'm not texting you back yeah Auld bitch.
Post by: ONeill on December 05, 2010, 04:28:45 PM
Tony Cascarino
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 05, 2010, 04:31:14 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 05, 2010, 04:16:16 PM
Louis Walsh for crimes against music, Miriam O'Callaghan for crimes against broadcasting, Tom Cruise in Far And Away, Paul McShane for allowing Henry to ghost in.

Ohh also forgot... my ex-girlfriend & no I'm not texting you back yeah Auld bitch.
How old are we talking?
Post by: andoireabu on December 05, 2010, 04:31:33 PM
Big Ian
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 05, 2010, 04:36:31 PM
No blueshirts up there I see.

How about Michael Collins, he was directly responsible for 100's if not 1000's of deaths.

Idiotic thread laced in the bias of a Fine Gael puppet.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 05, 2010, 04:37:11 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 05, 2010, 04:11:20 PM

(http://static.flickr.com/42/98940098_452335c6f7_m.jpg)
Hardly the worst. Insignificant.
Post by: muppet on December 05, 2010, 04:43:21 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 05, 2010, 04:36:31 PM

How about Michael Collins, he was directly responsible for 100's if not 1000's of deaths.

I don't agree with is that he is an FG puppet, that would suggest someone is in charge. I don't think anyone is home there.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:46:58 PM

Sure wasnt he a member of Cumann na nGaedheal, he was never part of Fine Gael. Indeed he was assassinated before they even came into existence.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:48:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 05, 2010, 04:43:21 PM

I don't agree with is that he is an FG puppet, that would suggest someone is in charge. I don't think anyone is home there.

would you ever get a life you sad act and be a bit of man besides anonymously insulting someone on the internet.
Post by: armaghniac on December 05, 2010, 04:52:36 PM

I think motivation has to come into play. Collins fought against people opposed to Irish democracy.

And while it is a nonsense thread, Cowan is merely the outworking of process started by one C. J. Haughey.
Post by: ross4life on December 05, 2010, 05:03:41 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 05, 2010, 04:31:14 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 05, 2010, 04:16:16 PM

How old are we talking?

Slang word though...One of those that would make you go grey or pull one's hair out!

Post by: muppet on December 05, 2010, 05:07:23 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:48:25 PM

would you ever get a life you sad act and be a bit of man besides anonymously insulting someone on the internet.

Of all people on this site you can't say that.

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 22, 2010, 06:36:29 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 22, 2010, 06:32:51 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 22, 2010, 06:24:24 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 22, 2010, 06:13:19 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on November 22, 2010, 06:04:57 PM
Would the fool who said "the thought of Enda Kenny running the country worries me" like to with draw the comment. Coming after Fianna Fail and the PDs bankrupted the country it makes them look stupid. How can Inda and Ring make things any worse.

Fianna FAILures always like to play the man not the ball. Enda gets attacked based on personality, personality politics is whats got us where we are. You will not meet a more affable and honest man. To be honest I have yet to meet anyone say he wasn't good craic in person, thats come from SF & FF friends I have introduced to him when they down visiting me in Castlebar or have met him elsewhere themselves.

I know plenty of Derrycoosh people (His townland in Islandeady beside the keywest pub) that wouldnt agree with you at all.

Yes Michael.  ::)

Kenny has many weaknesses, but away from politics he is a nice guy. It is very easy to bravely post anonymously that his neighbours don't like him, but you won't find anyone from Castlebar to agree with you, even a Flynn.

I'll find plenty of people in Castlebar to agree with me. He is not half the Gentlemen his father Henry Kenny was. Now he was a man of the people. I must point out that Enda Kenny is from the Castlebar side of Islandeady and not the Westport side.

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 12, 2010, 01:00:23 PM
For the attention of the all the barstoolers who support English teams on here. The FAI cup final is down for the Aviva stadium. Shamrock Rovers V Sligo rovers. Over 25,000 have been sold so far and the tickets are only €10 for adults and €5 for kids. So why not support an Irish team for a change and head along. You wont get better value then that for a chance to see a match in the Aviva.

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 07, 2010, 03:02:00 PM
Ballintubber are playing fast open exciting football. It makes a massive difference when you play a footbal side interested in playing the game and not a hatchet style team such as Castlebar Mitchels.

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on October 26, 2010, 04:10:31 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on October 26, 2010, 01:23:57 PM
PTSG you are a disgrace to the name you use as your handle. To call Castlebar a disgrace given all that has happened is the lowest of the low. You know well that those lads could not be right and to do what you have done says all we need to know about you. With a bit of luck you'll f**k off away from here because you are, as Muppet rightly says, beneath contempt.

You can go and f**k off if you think i'm leaving. You along with your sc**bag colleague who uses such things to have a dig at some one else.

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on October 16, 2010, 09:16:04 PM
You manc's and scouscers are always having a go at each other.

All your Irish passports should be collected and burned on bonfires night.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 05, 2010, 05:09:53 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:46:58 PM

Sure wasnt he a member of Cumann na nGaedheal, he was never part of Fine Gael. Indeed he was assassinated before they even came into existence.

Where's Franco's fascist puppet Eoin O'Duffy?

(http://www.indymedia.ie/attachments/dec2006/oduffyirdailymail03dec06.gif)
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 05, 2010, 06:16:25 PM
Some other possiblities here.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14796.msg706071#msg706071 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14796.msg706071#msg706071)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 05, 2010, 06:20:24 PM
Will Ziggy compile this thread and send it to Bertie on it's completion.
Post by: Redhand Santa on December 05, 2010, 06:40:37 PM
Ireland
Post by: omagh_gael on December 05, 2010, 07:24:13 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on December 05, 2010, 06:40:37 PM
Ireland

Stephen?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2010, 08:26:23 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 05, 2010, 05:09:53 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:46:58 PM

Where's Franco's fascist puppet Eoin O'Duffy?

(http://www.indymedia.ie/attachments/dec2006/oduffyirdailymail03dec06.gif)

No way Collins should be on a list of the worst, but Eoin O'Duffy is defo up there.
Post by: gallsman on December 05, 2010, 08:28:57 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2010, 08:26:23 PM
No way Collins should be on a list of the worst, but Eoin O'Duffy is defo up there.

The entire selection process is subjective.
Post by: haze on December 05, 2010, 08:37:48 PM
Can't even spell McCreevy.. Such a stupid thread. To have a man as evil as Brendan smith beside some of those up there is just wrong
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2010, 09:08:33 PM
Quote from: haze on December 05, 2010, 08:37:48 PM
Can't even spell McCreevy.. Such a stupid thread. To have a man as evil as Brendan smith beside some of those up there is just wrong

True but some of the others have hurt more lifes than Smith.
Post by: Declan on December 05, 2010, 09:16:49 PM
No mention of Larry Dunne, Martin Cahill, John Gilligan etc?.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 05, 2010, 09:17:42 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:48:25 PM

Says the man who started a thread to discuss who is Ireland's worst person.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 05, 2010, 09:23:22 PM
1st Duke Of Wellington

"Being born in a stable does not make one a horse"
Post by: Nally Stand on December 05, 2010, 09:29:12 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 05, 2010, 04:07:00 PM

How can you expect to be taken seriously with complete sensationalist propaganda like that? You clearly have no f***ing idea what you are talking about or you would know that there were approx 3,500 victims, unless of course you are trying to claim that the IRA were the only ones to kill anybody? Collusion by the british government with loyalists is believed to be behind in the region of 700-1000 murders. Should someone like Ronnie Flanagan not make your little list then?

Nothing like talking pure and absolute sh1te when you haven't a clue what you're talking about though is there?

Oh, and were the Old IRA or the IRB all terrorists too by the way? Or is it only those who used the same tactics to fight for the same goal but who were in the six counties, who can be called "terrorists"? Or, as someone else says, should someone like Michael Collins make your little list too? Being a leader of a "terrorist organisation" and all?
Post by: comethekingdom on December 05, 2010, 09:37:24 PM
How would big Ian like being classed as 'Irish'???
Post by: Nally Stand on December 05, 2010, 09:42:11 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on December 05, 2010, 09:37:24 PM
How would big Ian like being classed as 'Irish'???

Never mind that, he'll hate Catholics even more now that, according to this thread at least, the Catholic Church is actually Irish (and a person).
Post by: Maguire01 on December 05, 2010, 09:45:28 PM
Also:
QuoteQuestion: Worst ever Irish man 
and
QuoteMary Harney
Now she's no beauty, but...
Post by: bcarrier on December 05, 2010, 10:01:19 PM
this fecker is up there

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_jiiZWPdpMbY/S7EV03N9OBI/AAAAAAAACPs/6cP7RM5hTGE/s320/Kitchener.jpg)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2010, 10:04:41 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 05, 2010, 09:23:22 PM
1st Duke Of Wellington

He never said that, Daniel O'Connell said he said it and it has become popular myth.
Post by: bcarrier on December 05, 2010, 10:34:54 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2010, 10:04:41 PM
1st Duke Of Wellington

He never said that, Daniel O'Connell said he said it and it has become popular myth.

FFS.Were you there ? Sounds like british dirty tricks,  the news according to Punch. Daniel O'Connell tells lies and Wellington is an Irish hero. :P. Their actions would suggest DOC was a fairer man.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 01:32:36 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on December 05, 2010, 10:34:54 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2010, 10:04:41 PM
1st Duke Of Wellington

FFS.Were you there ? Sounds like british dirty tricks,  the news according to Punch. Daniel O'Connell tells lies and Wellington is an Irish hero. :P. Their actions would suggest DOC was a fairer man.

FFS Yourself. He said it in the Court, O'Connell suggested that it was like something the Duke would say as opposed to him saying he said it or as opposed to any record of the Duke of Wellington saying it. O'Connell is recorded as saying it in the Court.
Post by: ballinaman on December 06, 2010, 02:15:34 AM
PSTG
Post by: Hereiam on December 06, 2010, 09:22:43 AM
(http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTTLX9ueIBmWUfmv8awh5JoABYKTB1atarLtDgpmzR1JFS8ZdmV)

Hugh Ó Neill the ole yella bastard. Should have stood his ground.
Post by: bcarrier on December 06, 2010, 09:25:00 AM
Having researched the Wellington matter for 2 minutes on wikipedia I concede that the quote appears to be dubious .

Still it is a strange that there are two slightly different quotes attributed to O'Connell on the same day

Quote# The poor old Duke! what shall I say of him? To be sure he was born in Ireland, but being born in a stable does not make a man a horse.

* Daniel O'Connell, in a speech (16 October 1843), as quoted in Shaw's Authenticated Report of the Irish State Trials (1844), p. 93

# No, he is not an Irishman. He was born in Ireland; but being born in a stable does not make a man a horse.

* Daniel O'Connell during a speech (16 October 1843), as quoted in Reports of State Trials: New Series Volume V, 1843 to 1844 (1893) "The Queen Against O'Connell and Others", p. 206

But as Franklin might have said "Believe none of what you hear and half of what you see."

Post by: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 09:33:04 AM

well said myles plus he was linked to even more after the partition of Ireland, if he had not signed us over like lambs to the slaughter the troubles would not have started as the unionists would not have had a manufactured majority in a gerrymandered state to deny nationalists basic civil rights, so if your going to do a poll at least have the decency to hide your civil war blinkers
Post by: Canalman on December 06, 2010, 09:53:09 AM
As mentioned earlier that proud son of Kerry Lord Kitchener must be in with a shout.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 11:26:38 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 09:33:04 AM

well said myles plus he was linked to even more after the partition of Ireland, if he had not signed us over like lambs to the slaughter the troubles would not have started as the unionists would not have had a manufactured majority in a gerrymandered state to deny nationalists basic civil rights, so if your going to do a poll at least have the decency to hide your civil war blinkers

What will you nordies come out with next. You blame your own savagery on Michael Collins! Nally stand apologies your right it wasnt 3500 it was only a mere 2000 people that Sinn Fein/IRA were responsible for the deaths of.
Post by: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 11:35:44 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 11:26:38 AM

What will you nordies come out with next. You blame your own savagery on Michael Collins! Nally stand apologies your right it wasnt 3500 it was only a mere 2000 people that Sinn Fein/IRA were responsible for the deaths of.

Did collins sign the treaty to divide Ireland in 2, yes or no?
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 11:44:28 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 11:35:44 AM

You mean the treaty that was ratified by Dail Eireann democratically. Michael Collins was one of the negotiators along with others such as Arthur Griffin the founder of Sinn Fein! amazing isnt it the founder of Sinn Fein negotiated a treaty to split Ireland in two and his party later lead a murderous campaign to further reinforce the partition of Ireland for generations.
Post by: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 11:46:02 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 11:44:28 AM

You mean the treaty that was ratified by Dail Eireann democratically. Michael Collins was one of the negotiators along with others such as Arthur Griffin the founder of Sinn Fein! amazing isnt it the founder of Sinn Fein negotiated a treaty to split Ireland in two and his party later lead a murderous campaign to further reinforce the partition of Ireland for generations.

so we are agreed that collins signed over the north?
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 11:48:26 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 11:46:02 AM

Arthur griffin as chief negotiate signed over the north.
Post by: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 11:56:32 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 11:48:26 AM

how could he have if you said it was done democratically by vote in the Dail, you are contradicting yourself. Fact of the matter is that Collins was sent over by Devalera, he negotiated the treaty, he then led the Irish Army against those that opposed the treaty and faced them down because they dared not to let northern nationalists die in a pogrom state.

Must be great living out in Mayo where the only time you seen orangemen was when they came to help Capt. Boycott. Fact of the matter is he left us to rot in the north and if it was available for your poll he would get my vote every time.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 12:01:42 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 11:56:32 AM

how could he have if you said it was done democratically by vote in the Dail, you are contradicting yourself. Fact of the matter is that Collins was sent over by Devalera, he negotiated the treaty, he then led the Irish Army against those that opposed the treaty and faced them down because they dared not to let northern nationalists die in a pogrom state.

Must be great living out in Mayo where the only time you seen orangemen was when they came to help Capt. Boycott. Fact of the matter is he left us to rot in the north and if it was available for your poll he would get my vote every time.

Up on the list so but I think it is a nonsense.
Post by: glens abu on December 06, 2010, 12:08:57 PM
 :D :D Who the fuk is Arthur Griffin ::)
Post by: ziggysego on December 06, 2010, 12:11:24 PM
Peter and Banana Man are giving me a quare laugh this morning.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 12:12:22 PM

I suggest you actually read the Treaty debates: http://historical-debates.oireachtas.ie/en.toc.D.T.html (http://historical-debates.oireachtas.ie/en.toc.D.T.html)

Everyone with half a brain knew before the Treaty negotiations even began that a republic was never going to be on the table and that some form of partition was inevitable. The establishment of the Boundary Commission under the terms of the Treaty lead most to believe that the transfer of land from the Northern Irish state to the Free State would eventually leave NI as too small an entity to remain on its own. If Collins had been alive in 1925 when the Boundary Commission commenced it's safe to say it wouldn't have turned into the farce that it was with MacNeil getting the run around and the report eventually never getting published.

The Civil War was fought mainly over the issue of 'dominion status' as represented by the oath of allegiance (which ironically De Valera managed to remove from the constitution when he came to power in the 1930s).
Post by: muppet on December 06, 2010, 12:13:42 PM

He doesn't speak for us. In fact he doesn't even seem to speak for FG either. I'd say he is a Michael Ring man.
Post by: Bogball XV on December 06, 2010, 12:16:47 PM
Quote from: glens abu on December 06, 2010, 12:08:57 PM
Peter's irish dad?
Post by: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 12:25:38 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 12:12:22 PM

I suggest you actually read the Treaty debates: http://historical-debates.oireachtas.ie/en.toc.D.T.html (http://historical-debates.oireachtas.ie/en.toc.D.T.html)

Everyone with half a brain knew before the Treaty negotiations even began that a republic was never going to be on the table and that some form of partition was inevitable. The establishment of the Boundary Commission under the terms of the Treaty lead most to believe that the transfer of land from the Northern Irish state to the Free State would eventually leave NI as too small an entity to remain on its own. If Collins had been alive in 1925 when the Boundary Commission commenced it's safe to say it wouldn't have turned into the farce that it was with MacNeil getting the run around and the report eventually never getting published.

The Civil War was fought mainly over the issue of 'dominion status' as represented by the oath of allegiance (which ironically De Valera managed to remove from the constitution when he came to power in the 1930s).

To be honest Donnelly I don't even know what you are trying to say. You start of by firing a broadside at me telling me to actually read the treaty debates, as if I had referred to them at some point when I haven't. Then as you continue to talk you back up what I say in that the treaty divided the island and left us in the north on our own. So are you disagreeing or agreeing, do you even know?
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 12:28:48 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 06, 2010, 12:13:42 PM

He doesn't speak for us. In fact he doesn't even seem to speak for FG either. I'd say he is a Michael Ring man.

Imagine two Castlebar men up on the list of Irelands worst. There could be a good few more names on that list. At the races of Castlebar, the natives hid in their houses while the men of  Aughagower, Kilalla and the rest of Mayo fought for Irelands freedom along with the French. Do you know why you got the name fisheads?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 06, 2010, 12:30:04 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 06, 2010, 12:11:24 PM
Peter and Banana Man are giving me a quare laugh this morning.

Who, Peter Soldout the Grate? ;)

I reckon that given his reluctance to put that fascist, alcoholic and homosexual founder of Fine Gael up on his list he's actually the b**tard son of O'Duffy! :D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 12:35:51 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 12:25:38 PM

To be honest Donnelly I don't even know what you are trying to say. You start of by firing a broadside at me telling me to actually read the treaty debates, as if I had referred to them at some point when I haven't. Then as you continue to talk you back up what I say in that the treaty divided the island and left us in the north on our own. So are you disagreeing or agreeing, do you even know?

You stated that Collins "led the Irish Army against those that opposed the treaty and faced them down because they dared not to let northern nationalists die in a pogrom state."

That is simply not true as the majority of those who fought on the anti-Treaty side in the Civil War were opposed to the oath rather than partition. Partition was not the issue (because of the Boundary Commission's establishment) which you would realise if you actually read the Treaty debates.

To say that Collins "signed away the North" is nonsense. How can the man be blamed for the failure of the Boundary Commission when he was dead long before 1925?
Post by: muppet on December 06, 2010, 12:42:51 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 12:28:48 PM

Imagine two Castlebar men up on the list of Irelands worst. There could be a good few more names on that list. At the races of Castlebar, the natives hid in their houses while the men of  Aughagower, Kilalla and the rest of Mayo fought for Irelands freedom along with the French. Do you know why you got the name fisheads?

Good grief. Have you even left primary school yet?

Grow up you fool.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 12:48:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 06, 2010, 12:42:51 PM

Grow up you fool.

This looks like a case of the kettle calling the pot black.
Post by: LeoMc on December 06, 2010, 12:51:55 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on December 06, 2010, 12:16:47 PM
Quote from: glens abu on December 06, 2010, 12:08:57 PM
Peter's irish dad?
Post by: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 12:53:35 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 12:35:51 PM

You stated that Collins "led the Irish Army against those that opposed the treaty and faced them down because they dared not to let northern nationalists die in a pogrom state."

That is simply not true as the majority of those who fought on the anti-Treaty side in the Civil War were opposed to the oath rather than partition. Partition was not the issue (because of the Boundary Commission's establishment) which you would realise if you actually read the Treaty debates.

To say that Collins "signed away the North" is nonsense. How can the man be blamed for the failure of the Boundary Commission when he was dead long before 1925?

Don't agree with you on this. You want me to read the treaty debates and take that as a fair representation of the majority of those who fought in the civil war.

You are holding up this Boundary Commission as if it would have been the saviour for everyone, it was a cop out. You think Collins could have negotiated taking more land from the Unionists and British Govt, I would love to know why you are putting so much faith in a fella who's track record (i.e. the original treaty) was at best poor.

When the south realised it might actually result in losing more land they pulled out. The boundary commission was never going to amount to anything and to use this to deflect from him signing is over is absolute nonsense.
Post by: muppet on December 06, 2010, 12:55:44 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 12:48:11 PM

Grow up you fool.

It would to you. You insult anyone here who doesn't see things your way, then take deep offense when it comes back your way. This might be hard for you but Michael Ring is not that popular nationally.

You have run away before only to come as annoying as before. You lecture everyone on your view on history without providing any links or references to back up your nonsense.

Many posters would get the benefit of the doubt from most here, but not you. Back up your claims with links or don't bother.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 01:02:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 06, 2010, 12:55:44 PM

Grow up you fool.

It would to you. You insult anyone here who doesn't see things your way, then take deep offense when it comes back your way. This might be hard for you but Michael Ring is not that popular nationally.

You have run away before only to come as annoying as before. You lecture everyone on your view on history without providing any links or references to back up your nonsense.

Many posters would get the benefit of the doubt from most here, but not you. Back up your claims with links or don't bother.

I suppose Inda kinny is or Beverley Cooper Flynn or Charlie haughey or any other disaster that ever came from Castlebar. Here is my link to back up Inda Kinny is from castlebar.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enda_Kenny

Am I writing a thesis that I have to reference everything.
Post by: muppet on December 06, 2010, 01:06:48 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 01:02:38 PM

Grow up you fool.

I suppose Inda kinny is or Beverley Cooper Flynn or Charlie haughey or any other disaster that ever came from Castlebar. Here is my link to back up Inda Kinny is from castlebar.

You don't reference anything.

Try this for your knowledge of history. This thread has already been done, last year.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14796.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14796.0)
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 01:09:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 06, 2010, 01:06:48 PM

Grow up you fool.

Try this for your knowledge of history. This thread has already been done, last year.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14796.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14796.0)

Then let the thread die. Or are you pathetic enough so as you will have the final word?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 01:10:06 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 12:53:35 PM

Don't agree with you on this. You want me to read the treaty debates and take that as a fair representation of the majority of those who fought in the civil war.

You are holding up this Boundary Commission as if it would have been the saviour for everyone, it was a cop out. You think Collins could have negotiated taking more land from the Unionists and British Govt, I would love to know why you are putting so much faith in a fella who's track record (i.e. the original treaty) was at best poor.

When the south realised it might actually result in losing more land they pulled out. The boundary commission was never going to amount to anything and to use this to deflect from him signing is over is absolute nonsense.

We'll agree to disagree then.

I would maintain that Collins would feature prominently on this list had the Treaty not been signed. Do you think the threat of 'terrible and immediate war' from Lloyd George was a bluff? The British had lost nearly a million men in the preceeding decade - do you think they would have given a second thought about wiping out the Irish?

I'll ask one final question. If partition was such a big issue for those on the anti-Treaty side at the time then why was most of the fighting in the Civil War concentrated in Kerry, West Cork and Limerick - three counties that are not exactly close to the six disputed counties in the north?
Post by: Orior on December 06, 2010, 01:23:06 PM
The vote just looks like a bandwagon to bash Bertie, and thats down to the current economic climate.

Worst person in my book is Conor Cruise O'Brien.
Post by: muppet on December 06, 2010, 01:26:00 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 01:09:37 PM

Grow up you fool.

Then let the thread die. Or are you pathetic enough so as you will have the final word?

::) ::)

Here, I'll try to get into the spirit of your posts. 

Try this, if you post again you are a big girl's blouse.
Post by: Bogball XV on December 06, 2010, 01:48:38 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 06, 2010, 01:23:06 PM
The vote just looks like a bandwagon to bash Bertie, and thats down to the current economic climate.

You're probably right, those of us who blame him for the depression are probably giving him far too much credit.  I truly don't think he had any idea about what was going on, he left it to his advisers and senior civil servants to handle.  As long as he was in a position to hand out a few quid to someone and win another vote or two he was delighted.
He may have been a liar, a tax-evader and a perjurer, but I'd say there's many's an irishman guilty of the above 3 crimes.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 01:49:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 06, 2010, 01:26:00 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 01:09:37 PM

Grow up you fool.

::) ::)

Here, I'll try to get into the spirit of your posts. 

Try this, if you post again you are a big girl's blouse.

(http://www.motifake.com/image/demotivational-poster/1001/are-you-a-big-girls-blouse-nice-demotivational-poster-1264701708.jpg)
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 01:54:09 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 06, 2010, 01:23:06 PM

Worst person in my book is Conor Cruise O'Brien.

No this thread is just a bandwagon to bash PSTG.
Post by: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 01:57:09 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 01:10:06 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on December 06, 2010, 12:53:35 PM

We'll agree to disagree then.

I would maintain that Collins would feature prominently on this list had the Treaty not been signed. Do you think the threat of 'terrible and immediate war' from Lloyd George was a bluff? The British had lost nearly a million men in the preceeding decade - do you think they would have given a second thought about wiping out the Irish?

I'll ask one final question. If partition was such a big issue for those on the anti-Treaty side at the time then why was most of the fighting in the Civil War concentrated in Kerry, West Cork and Limerick - three counties that are not exactly close to the six disputed counties in the north?

I can accept that from the perspective of someone in the 26 counties had collins not signed it you would want him on the list. I am looking at it from the perspective of someone in the 6 counties and that is why I believe he should be on it. It's all about empathy and putting yourself in the other's shoes.

I don't see how proximity to the border would determine anyone's outlook on a national question.  By that rationale you are arguing that the onus is on people in the border counties to fight for fellow countrymen because they live a few miles closer. Just because they reside in south munster doesn't equate to their concerns for fellow countrymen carrying less weight.
Post by: mannix on December 06, 2010, 02:41:02 PM
 Bertie ahern will go down,rightly or wrongly as the one that allowed the pouring of petrol on the fire.
Post by: ziggysego on December 06, 2010, 04:56:50 PM
Reeling in the Years 2006

Go to 5:11.

Bertie Ahern speaking about Financial warnings...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8n3n2sFdIrs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8n3n2sFdIrs)
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 06, 2010, 05:06:50 PM
Can ye add Peter Canavan or Mickey Harte to the list so us downtrodden Kerry folk have something to vote on
Post by: ziggysego on December 06, 2010, 05:07:51 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on December 06, 2010, 05:06:50 PM
Can ye add Peter Canavan or Mickey Harte to the list so us downtrodden Kerry folk have something to vote on

Only if we can vote for Pat Spillane
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:20:14 PM

Jesus your some pain in the hole, you know what the people of Westport where doing, yat thats right being British as those Mayo 4-West Brit-Planters always have been and always will be. No son your Covies hid in their mud huts, while Castlebar became the Capital of the Irish Republic.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 05:35:10 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:20:14 PM

Jesus your some pain in the hole, you know what the people of Westport where doing, yat thats right being British as those Mayo 4-West Brit-Planters always have been and always will be. No son your Covies hid in their mud huts, while Castlebar became the Capital of the Irish Republic.

The town was in existence for a massive 18 years when the races of Castlebar occurred and had a grand population of 500 at the time. I never did explain how the term fish heads came about for the people of Castlebar. It was first coined because the Fishheads are so ignorant of 'the ways of the sea' and seafood in general that they'd even eat/ate the head of the fish (jaws'n'all) when presented with it. That of course as the years went by extended into other areas also most notbaly Pee Flynn et al. This youtube video explains it in more detail.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKDtUzRIG6I&feature=fvw

(http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20060825133450/uncyclopedia/images/b/bf/Fishead.JPG)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:41:56 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 05:35:10 PM

The town was in existence for a massive 18 years when the races of Castlebar occurred and had a grand population of 500 at the time. I never did explain how the term fish heads came about for the people of Castlebar. It was first coined because the Fishheads are so ignorant of 'the ways of the sea' and seafood in general that they'd even eat/ate the head of the fish (jaws'n'all) when presented with it. That of course as the years went by extended into other areas also most notbaly Pee Flynn et al. This youtube video explains it in more detail.

(http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20060825133450/uncyclopedia/images/b/bf/Fishead.JPG)

Is that the second town after you bent over and let a landlord relocate you all down the road. You couldn't even fight to keep your homes, while we fought for Ireland. Also we founded the Land League, ya we did, Ms Westport.
Post by: ross4life on December 06, 2010, 05:48:16 PM
I always thought the fish-heads thing was a famine thing? Westport (fishing town) threw the fish-heads into their neighbours to feast on?? but PSTG must be right  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:49:37 PM
Castlebar - Capital of the Irish Republic.
Castlebar - Founding of the Land League.
Castlebar - 27 County Titles.

Westport - Relocated at the Whim of a Landlord.
Westport - Regulary Floods.
Westport - 0 County Titles.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 05:51:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:41:56 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 05:35:10 PM

Is that the second town after you bent over and let a landlord relocate you all down the road. You couldn't even fight to keep your homes, while we fought for Ireland. Also we founded the Land League, ya we did, Ms Westport.

The founding meeting of the Mayo Tenants Defence Association in Castlebar, County Mayo The first meeting to developed a National land league was held in Claremorris The meeting to set up the national land league was held in Castlebar a few months after this by Michael Davitt (Straide) James Daly (Westport) John O Connor (Ballinasloe) Thomas Brennan (Co.Meath) Tom Kettle (Dublin) The Castlebar connection so far seems to be just Location also. "As already mentioned in this thread being born in a stable does not make one a horse"
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 05:52:29 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:49:37 PM
Castlebar - Capital of the Irish Republic.
Castlebar - Founding of the Land League.
Castlebar - 27 County Titles.

Westport - Relocated at the Whim of a Landlord.
Westport - Regulary Floods.
Westport - 0 County Titles.

26 of those county titles are discounted due to the lack of any native Castlebar people on them.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:52:56 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 06, 2010, 05:48:16 PM
I always thought the fish-heads thing was a famine thing? Westport (fishing town) threw the fish-heads into their neighbours to feast on?? but PSTG must be right  ;)

It is a famine thing, the British (Covies) where allowed fish in the sea, they sold fish heads to the Irish (Castlebar people) who surivied the famine to build a much bigger and better town called Castlebar than the little suburb by the sea known as Westport.

The people of Galway choked Herons and everyone will agree thats a pretty fine city.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:56:26 PM
PSTG, you make me pray for Global Warming.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 05:59:58 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 05:56:26 PM

What if another famine comes along? how will you survive it without us in Westport?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 06:01:24 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 05:59:58 PM

What if another famine comes along? how will you survive it without us in Westport?

Bit slow there aren't we PSTG, we will have our own coast then.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 06:06:16 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 06:01:24 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 05:59:58 PM

Bit slow there aren't we PSTG, we will have our own coast then.

Did I not already give you the definition of "Fish heads"
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 06, 2010, 06:15:28 PM
Poor Peter is confused. One minute he's from Westport, the next minute he's an Islandeady man. Identity crisis. Leave him alone guys. We were all taught that we shouldn't pick on those less fortunate than us.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 06:17:05 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 06, 2010, 06:15:28 PM
Poor Peter is confused. One minute he's from Westport, the next minute he's an Islandeady man. Identity crisis. Leave him alone guys. We were all taught that we shouldn't pick on those less fortunate than us.

Islandeady?

I must say this is hillarious.

The Castlebar simpletons attacking from one side
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSFDd-v7Pic

The Ballina scum from the other.  http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=11444:ballina-raid-uncovers-massive-display-of-wealth&catid=23:news&Itemid=46

Thank God for Westport and its hinterland It gives Mayo some degree of respectability.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 06, 2010, 06:26:54 PM
We really are fucked if you are the paragon of respectibility  :D
Post by: ross4life on December 06, 2010, 06:38:04 PM
Did PSTG miss out on one of the key Mayo stories of recent years?

(http://www.regrettheerror.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/belmullet.jpg)
Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 06:41:50 PM

How many deaths were Michael Collins responsible for then? Why was he not a "southern savage" and a "terrorist"?

As I already asked, if those in the six counties who used physical force tactics for a political aim, in your eyes were just "savages" and "terrorists", why then were those who used the same tactics for the same political objective for the now freed 26 counties then freedom fighters and heros?

And final question, did you not know that there were 3500 victims (approx) in the northern conflict or were you quite deliberately using lies and sensationalism to chat sh1te when you claimed the IRA were responsible for "3500 deaths"?

You, my friend, are everything that is wrong with Ireland today. Fight for freedom in the south from a repressive regime and you're a hero. Do the same in the north to attain freedom from a much more oppressive regime once the south is free and you're just a "savage" and a "terrorist". Quick to forget your own history aren't you? You wouldn't have your bit of freedom now if it weren't for the tactics which you now describe as "savagery" and "terrorism".

Clown.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 06:53:05 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 06:41:50 PM

How many deaths were Michael Collins responsible for then? Why was he not a "southern savage" and a "terrorist"?

As I already asked, if those in the six counties who used physical force tactics for a political aim, in your eyes were just "savages" and "terrorists", why then were those who used the same tactics for the same political objective for the now freed 26 counties then freedom fighters and heros?

And final question, did you not know that there were 3500 victims (approx) in the northern conflict or were you quite deliberately using lies and sensationalism to chat sh1te when you claimed the IRA were responsible for "3500 deaths"?

You, my friend, are everything that is wrong with Ireland today. Fight for freedom in the south from a repressive regime and you're a hero. Do the same in the north to attain freedom from a much more oppressive regime once the south is free and you're just a "savage" and a "terrorist". Quick to forget your own history aren't you? You wouldn't have your bit of freedom now if it weren't for the tactics which you now describe as "savagery" and "terrorism".

Clown.

Michael Collins never bombed pubs or butchers where innocent people were, he never gave a false bomb warning forcing people to be directed straight past the real bomb such as in Omagh. He never killed children like in Warrington. he never got involved in racketeering, bank robbery, fuel laundering, and kidnapping. So its like comparing chalk and cheese.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 06:54:18 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 06, 2010, 06:38:04 PM

Well it is a castlebar paper. You would not see stuff like this in the Mayo news.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 07:01:08 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 06:54:18 PM

Well it is a castlebar paper. You would not see stuff like this in the Mayo news.

Its a Galway paper, ya tool.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 07:03:58 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 07:01:08 PM

Mayo advertiser, based Market Square Castlebar.

http://www.facebook.com/MayoAdvertiser

Were you not just saying that the Land league was formed by Castlebar because of the meetings were held there even though the founding members were from outside Castlebar?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 07:09:53 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 07:03:58 PM

Mayo Advertiser is part of the Advertiser/Galway Advertiser http://www.advertiser.ie/ (http://www.advertiser.ie/)

How is the Soccer going?
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 07:15:17 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 06, 2010, 07:09:53 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 07:03:58 PM

Mayo Advertiser is part of the Advertiser/Galway Advertiser http://www.advertiser.ie/ (http://www.advertiser.ie/)

How is the Soccer going?

So its not based in Castlebar?
Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 07:49:17 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 06:53:05 PM

Clown.

Michael Collins never bombed pubs or butchers where innocent people were, he never gave a false bomb warning forcing people to be directed straight past the real bomb such as in Omagh. He never killed children like in Warrington. he never got involved in racketeering, bank robbery, fuel laundering, and kidnapping. So its like comparing chalk and cheese.

And those activities were ALL the IRA did? Or is this more sensationalism? Considering that the PIRA had a rate of Civilian to Combatant deaths that would compare favourably to that of ANY armed group, then have you any argument not based on sensationalist lies?
By "chalk and cheese" do you then mean that those who fought in the south never carried out attacks where civilians were killed either deliberately or by accident? Maybe you should read In The Year of Disappearances:Political Killings in Cork 1921-22 by Gearoid Murphy which details how the Cork No 1 Brigade, were responsible for the abduction, torture amd murder of seventy-three civilian members of the minority Protestant community of Cork city and its surroundings. It tells how Martin Corry used a burial vault in Kilquane graveyard as a prison, prior to taking their victims for killing and burial in Carroll's Bog, Knockraha, near Watergrassmill. The dead included three teenage boy scouts who accidentally found an IRA arms dump at Mount Vernon in April 1921 who, like many of the other victims, were disappeared. I thought you said those who fought in the south didn't kill children or disappear people? The book also tells how other  targets included Freemasons, YMCA members and Protestant Boy Scouts, Methodists and other low-church Protestants.
At least a further twelve individuals from non-Protestant backgrounds were also killed and secretly buried by the brigade. You also say they didn't carry out racketeerings or robberies. Maybe you should also read "The IRA and It's Enemies" by Peter Hart who noted how from March 29th - April 19th that 323 Post Offices were robbed and the Great Western Railway was repeatedly robbed by the IRA which repeatedly denied responsibility. I could sadly go on all day. Both campaigns were using the same method to achieve the same goal. The point is that to claim that those who fought in the south in the Tan War were squeeky clean and those who fought in the six counties were just blood thirsty savages is a mindset that is nothing short of laughably stupid. You simply cannot pick and choose which was justified and which wasn't based on some pathetic idea of differences like yours.

Oh and, you didn't answer my other question so I'll ask again:
Did you not know that there were 3500 victims (approx) in the northern conflict or were you quite deliberately using lies and sensationalism when you claimed the IRA were responsible for "3500 deaths"?

(It's a bit of a joke that I'm trying to debate this with someone who thinks that "SF/IRA" were behind the Omagh bomb.)
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 08:03:30 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 07:49:17 PM

Clown.

And those activities were ALL the IRA did? Or is this more sensationalism? Considering that the PIRA had a rate of Civilian to Combatant deaths that would compare favourably to that of ANY armed group, then have you any argument not based on sensationalist lies?
By "chalk and cheese" do you then mean that those who fought in the south never carried out attacks where civilians were killed either deliberately or by accident? Maybe you should read In The Year of Disappearances:Political Killings in Cork 1921-22 by Gearoid Murphy which details how the Cork No 1 Brigade, were responsible for the abduction, torture amd murder of seventy-three civilian members of the minority Protestant community of Cork city and its surroundings. It tells how Martin Corry used a burial vault in Kilquane graveyard as a prison, prior to taking their victims for killing and burial in Carroll's Bog, Knockraha, near Watergrassmill. The dead included three teenage boy scouts who accidentally found an IRA arms dump at Mount Vernon in April 1921 who, like many of the other victims, were disappeared. I thought you said those who fought in the south didn't kill children or disappear people? The book also tells how other  targets included Freemasons, YMCA members and Protestant Boy Scouts, Methodists and other low-church Protestants.
At least a further twelve individuals from non-Protestant backgrounds were also killed and secretly buried by the brigade. You also say they didn't carry out racketeerings or robberies. Maybe you should also read "The IRA and It's Enemies" by Peter Hart who noted how from March 29th - April 19th that 323 Post Offices were robbed and the Great Western Railway was repeatedly robbed by the IRA which repeatedly denied responsibility. I could sadly go on all day. Both campaigns were using the same method to achieve the same goal. The point is that to claim that those who fought in the south in the Tan War were squeeky clean and those who fought in the six counties were just blood thirsty savages is a mindset that is nothing short of laughably stupid. You simply cannot pick and choose which was justified and which wasn't based on some pathetic idea of differences like yours.

Did you not know that there were 3500 victims (approx) in the northern conflict or were you quite deliberately using lies and sensationalism when you claimed the IRA were responsible for "3500 deaths"?

(It's a bit of a joke that I'm trying to debate this with someone who thinks that "SF/IRA" were behind the Omagh bomb.)

Of course they were responsible. If the IRA/Sinn Fein didnt carry out their savagery would the other 1500 people of been killed. No they wouldnt so they are partly responsible.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 08:03:59 PM
Saturday 27 June 1970

Major Gun Battle in Belfast

There was serious rioting in Belfast involving Protestants and Catholics. During the evening groups of Loyalist rioters began to make incursions into the Catholic Short Strand enclave of east Belfast. Catholics in the area believed that they were going to be burnt out of their homes and claimed that there were no British Army troops on the streets to protect the area. Members of the Irish Republican Army (IRA) took up sniping positions in the grounds of St Matthew's Catholic Church and engaged in a prolonged gun battle with the Loyalists. This was the most significant IRA operation to date. Across Belfast seven people were killed of whom five were Protestants shot by the IRA.

Friday 3 July 1970

Falls Road Curfew

Beginning in the afternoon, the British Army carried out extensive house searches in the Falls Road area of Belfast for members of the Irish Republican Army (IRA) and IRA arms. A military curfew was imposed on the area for a period of 34 hours with movement of people heavily restricted. The house searches lasted for two days and involved considerable destruction to many houses and their contents. During the searches the army uncovered a lot of illegal arms and explosives. However the manner in which the searches were conducted broke any remaining goodwill between the Catholic community and the British Army. During the period of the curfew there were gun battles between both wings of the IRA and the Army. Four people were killed in the violence one of them deliberately run over by an Army vehicle.

Tuesday 11 August 1970

Two Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC) officers were killed by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) when they set off a booby trap bomb planted in a car near Crossmaglen, County Armagh.

Saturday 6 February 1971

First Soldier Killed The Irish Republican Army (IRA) shot and killed Gunner Robert Curtis, the first British soldier to die during the current conflict. Bernard Watt (28), a Catholic civilian, was shot and killed by the British Army (BA) during street disturbances in Ardoyne, Belfast. James Saunders (22), a member of the IRA, was shot and killed by the British Army during a gun battle near the Oldpark Road, Belfast

Tuesday 9 February 1971

Five men, two of them British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) engineers the others construction workers, were killed near a BBC transmitter on Brougher Mountain, County Tyrone in a landmine attack carried out by the Irish Republican Army (IRA). It was believed that their vehicle was mistaken for a British Army (BA) Landrover.

Friday 26 February 1971

Two Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC) officers, Cecil Patterson (45) and Robert Buckley (30), were shot and killed by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) while on a mobile patrol in the Ardoyne area of Belfast.

Wednesday 10 March 1971

Dougald McCaughey (23), Joseph McCaig (18) and John McCaig (17), all three members of the Royal Highland Fusiliers (a regiment of the British Army; BA), were killed by members of the Irish Republican Army (IRA). The soldiers were off-duty and lured from a pub where they had been drinking. Their bodies were found at Squire's Hill, in the Ligoniel area of Belfast. [There was widespread condemnation of the killings and increased pressure on Chichester-Clark, then Northern Ireland Prime

Sunday 11 July 1971

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) exploded a number of bombs in the centre of Belfast injuring a number of people. [A number of commentators saw these bombs as an attempt to increase tension and confrontations between the two main communitiesinister, to take a tougher line on security in the region.]

Wednesday 1 September 1971

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) exploded a series of bombs across Northern Ireland injuring a number of people

Thursday 2 September 1971

There were further Irish Republican Army (IRA) bombs across the region including one in Belfast which wrecked the headquarters of the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP). The explosions resulted in further injuries to a number of people.

Wednesday 29 September 1971

Two Protestant civilians, Alexander Andrews (60) and Ernest Bates (38), were killed in an explosion at the Four Step Inn on the Shankill Road in Belfast, no group claimed responsibility but it was believed to be the responsibility of the Provisional Irish Republican Army (IRA).

Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 08:05:32 PM
Wednesday 27 October 1971

David Tilbury (29) and Angus Stevens (18), both members of the British Army (BA), were killed by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) during an attack on their observation post in Rosemount, Derry. Ronald Dodds (34), a Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC) officer, was shot dead by the IRA near Toome, County Antrim. David Powell (22), a member of the British Army, was killed by a landmine planted by the IRA at Kinawley, County Fermanagh.

Sunday 31 October 1971

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) explode a bomb at the Post Office Tower in London.

Monday 1 November 1971

Stanley Corry (28) and William Russell (31), both members of the Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC), were shot dead by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) in the Andersonstown area of Belfast.

Tuesday 2 November 1971

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) exploded two bombs on the Ormeau Road in Belfast, one at a drapery shop and the other at the Red Lion bar, and killed three Protestant civilians; John Cochrane (67), Mary gemmell (55) and William Jordan (31).

Saturday 27 November 1971

Two Customs officials, Ian Hankin (27) a Protestant and James O'Neill (39) a Catholic, were shot by an Irish Republican Army (IRA) sniper who fired upon a British Army (BA) patrol investigating a bomb attack on a Customs Post near Newry, County Armagh

Friday 10 December 1971

Kenneth Smyth (28), a Ulster Defence Regiment (UDR) member, and Daniel McCormick (29), a former UDR member, were killed by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) near Strabane, County Tyrone.

Saturday 11 December 1971

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) killed four Protestant civilians in a bomb attack on a furniture shop on the Shankill Road in Belfast. Two of those who were killed in the explosion were children. The dead were: Hugh Bruce (70), Harold King (29), Tracey Munn (2) and Colin Nicholl (1).

Sunday 12 December 1971

John (Jack) Barnhill, then a Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) member of the Northern Ireland Senate, was shot dead by the Official Irish Republican Army (OIRA) at his home in Strabane. He was the first politician to be killed in the current conflict.

Monday 3 January 1972

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) exploded a bomb in Callender Street, Belfast, which injured over 60 people.

Thursday 27 January 1972

Two Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC) officers, Peter Gilgun (26) and David Montgomery (20), were shot dead in an attack on their patrol car in the Creggan Road, Derry. The British Army and the Irish Republican Army (IRA) were engaged in gun battles near Forkhill, County Armagh. British troops fired over 1,000 rounds of ammunition.

Wednesday 2 February 1972

British Embassy Destroyed

The funerals of 11 of the dead of 'Bloody Sunday' took place in the Creggan area of Derry. Tens of thousands attended the funeral including clergy, politicians from North and South, and thousands of friends and neighbours. Throughout the rest of Ireland prayer services were held to coincide with the time of the funerals. In Dublin over 90 per cent of workers stopped work in respect of those who had died, and approximately 30,000 - 100,000 people turned out to march to the British Embassy. They carried 13 coffins and black flags. Later a crowd attacked the Embassy with stones and bottles, then petrol bombs, and the building was burnt to the ground.

Tuesday 22 February 1972

Aldershot Barracks Bomb

The Official Irish Republican Army (OIRA) exploded a bomb at Aldershot military barracks, the headquarters of the Parachute Regiment, killing seven people who were mainly ancillary staff. A Catholic padre was among the dead. [This bomb was thought to be an attempted retaliation against the regiment who had carried out the 'Bloody Sunday' killings.]

Friday 25 February 1972

There was an attempted assassination of John Taylor, then Minister of State for Home Affairs, who was shot a number of times. The Official Irish Republican Army (OIRA) later claimed responsibility.

Saturday 4 March 1972

The Abercorn Restaurant in Belfast was bombed without warning. Two Catholic civilians were killed and over 130 people injured. The Irish Republican Army (IRA) did not claim responsibility for the bomb but were universally considered to have been involved.

Monday 20 March 1972

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) exploded a car-bomb in Lower Donegall Street, Belfast bomb, which killed 6 people and injured approximately 100 others. Two of those killed were Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC) officers who were trying to evacuate people from the area. Another of those killed was a member of the Ulster Defence Regiment (UDR) and the rest were Protestant civilians.

Friday 14 April 1972

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) exploded 23 bombs at locations all over Northern Ireland.

Wednesday 10 May 1972

An Irish Republican Army (IRA) bomb started a fire that destroyed the Belfast Co-operative store.

Wednesday 17 May 1972

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) opened fire on workers leaving the Mackies engineering works in west Belfast. [Although the factory was sited in a Catholic area it had an almost entirely Protestant workforce.]

Friday 26 May 1972

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) planted a bomb in Oxford Street, Belfast which killed a 64 year old woman. In the Republic of Ireland the Special Criminal Court was re-instituted to deal with crimes arising out of the Northern Ireland conflict. As part of the measures trial by jury was suspended.

Friday 2 June 1972

Two British Army soldiers were killed in a land mine attack by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) near Rosslea, County Fermanagh.

Sunday 18 June 1972

Three members of the British Army were killed by an Irish Republican Army (IRA) bomb in a derelict house near Lurgan, County Down.

Saturday 24 June 1972

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) killed three British Army soldiers in a land mine attack near Dungiven, County Derry.

Sunday 9 July 1972

Five Catholic civilians were shot dead by the British Army in the Ballymurphy area of Belfast. Three Protestants, one of whom was a member of the Territorial Army, were found shot dead in Little Distillery Street, Belfast. They were shot by Republican paramilitaries. Also in Belfast a Catholic man was shot dead by the British Army and a Protestant man was shot dead by Republican paramilitaries. A member of the Ulster Defence Association (UDA) was shot dead by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) in Belfast.

Friday 14 July 1972

Six people were shot and killed in separate incidents in Belfast. Three were British Army soldiers, two were members of the Irish Republican Army (IRA) and one was a Protestant civilian.

Monday 31 July 1972

The Irish Republican Army (IRA) exploded three car bombs in Claudy, County Derry killing six people instantly while a further three people died of their injuries over the next 12 days. Five of those who were killed were Protestant civilians while the other four were Catholic civilians.

Saturday 2 September 1972

The headquarters of the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP), in Glengall Street, Belfast, was severely damaged by a bomb.

Sunday 14 January 1973

Two Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC) officers were killed in Derry by a booby-trap bomb attached to their car by the Irish Republican Army (IRA).

Tuesday 20 February 1973

Two members of the British Army were shot dead by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) in an attack in Cupar Street, Belfast.

Sunday 25 February 1973

A Catholic boy, Gordon Gallagher (9), was killed by a booby-trap bomb that had been planted by the Irish Republican Army (IRA) in Leenan Gardens, Derry.

Tuesday 27 February 1973
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 08:07:24 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tDLXVNr3rc&feature=related

Post by: mylestheslasher on December 06, 2010, 08:36:42 PM
Peter the crux of the debate is that you said the Provisional IRA under Gerry Adams was responsible for acts (murders of innocents etc) that the "old" IRA under Collins never did. This has been discredited quite well in a previous post. What is the purpose of you writing two posts worth of stuff on the provos? Your statement that the old IRA was some saintly organisation compared to the Provos is wrong is it not? I have news for you Peter, no war is clean nor without its innocent victims, which is what makes war a terrible terrible thing.
Post by: ballinaman on December 06, 2010, 08:37:55 PM
Can i nonimate PSTG again? Thanks :D
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 08:50:42 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 06, 2010, 08:36:42 PM
Peter the crux of the debate is that you said the Provisional IRA under Gerry Adams was responsible for acts (murders of innocents etc) that the "old" IRA under Collins never did. This has been discredited quite well in a previous post. What is the purpose of you writing two posts worth of stuff on the provos? Your statement that the old IRA was some saintly organisation compared to the Provos is wrong is it not? I have news for you Peter, no war is clean nor without its innocent victims, which is what makes war a terrible terrible thing.

I never made the Old IRA out to be saints. However they looked like saints in comparison to the Provisonal IRA and the stuff they carried out. Racketeering fuel smuggling etc and most of it to line their own pockets. Nally was making out the deaths of Children and the bombing of pubs, butchers etc as legitimate acts of war. Absolute nonsense. Clearly some people agree with me look at the amount of votes that gerry Adams has received.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 08:57:09 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 08:03:30 PM

Clown.

Of course they were responsible. If the IRA/Sinn Fein didnt carry out their savagery would the other 1500 people of been killed. No they wouldnt so they are partly responsible.

Well if you are going by that logic, then Michael Collins and the free staters are also partially responsible for omagh as they caused partition which led to the existence of the Old IRA which then became the Official IRA which then split, which led to the PIRA which then split and caused the RIRA which finally was the ones who carried out the Omagh bombing. FFS stop chatting sh1te for one minute  ::)

How about talking some damn sense for a second Peter. Re-read my last post and offer something constructive by way of debate or else don't write anything. You are making a laughing stock of yourself.

You claimed that the IRA of the Tan War did not kill innocent people/children/disappear people etc. I provided proof that they did. Is posting a link to a video about the Warrington Bomb supposed to distract people from that or something via use, once again, of sensationalism i place of rationality?? Bearing in mind that I demonstrated that the IRA of the Tan War carried out many many attacks on civilians, HOW CAN YOU CLAIM ONE WAR WAS JUSTIFIED WHEN ANOTHER WASN'T IF BOTH CAMPAIGNS INCLUDED THE DEATHS OF CIVILIANS, BOTH ACCIDENTALLY AND DELIBERATELY? For once, show some courage to answer a question when I ask you it please.

Which reminds me, I need to ask you this for a THIRD time, saying as you have ignored the question twice already:

And further to your post below, could you also point out where I stated that the targeting of children was a legitimate act of war? I have never said any such thing. I stated that in wars, many civilians will be victims. To pretend that is more true of the IRa of the 20's and the modern IRA is simply lies.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 09:08:15 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 08:57:09 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 08:03:30 PM

Clown.

Well if you are going by that logic, then Michael Collins and the free staters are also partially responsible for omagh as they caused partition which led to the existence of the Old IRA which then became the Official IRA which then split, which led to the PIRA which then split and caused the RIRA which finally was the ones who carried out the Omagh bombing. FFS stop chatting sh1te for one minute  ::)

How about talking some damn sense for a second Peter. Re-read my last post and offer something constructive by way of debate or else don't write anything. You are making a laughing stock of yourself.

You claimed that the IRA of the Tan War did not kill innocent people/children/disappear people etc. I provided proof that they did. Is posting a link to a video about the Warrington Bomb supposed to distract people from that or something via use, once again, of sensationalism i place of rationality?? Bearing in mind that I demonstrated that the IRA of the Tan War carried out many many attacks on civilians, HOW CAN YOU CLAIM ONE WAR WAS JUSTIFIED WHEN ANOTHER WASN'T IF BOTH CAMPAIGNS INCLUDED THE DEATHS OF CIVILIANS, BOTH ACCIDENTALLY AND DELIBERATELY? For once, show some courage to answer a question when I ask you it please.

Which reminds me, I need to ask you this for a THIRD time, saying as you have ignored the question twice already:

And further to your post below, could you also point out where I stated that the targeting of children was a legitimate act of war? I have never said any such thing. I stated that in wars, many civilians will be victims. To pretend that is more true of the IRa of the 20's and the modern IRA is simply lies.

I answered your question about the 3500 deaths already. Yes your an IRA/Sinn Fein apologist trying to use the most non de script argument in order to justify the smuggling of Fuel, fags, Drugs and the killing of innocents on a Large scale. The tan war was nearly 90 years ago. I dont know what went on then but I'm pretty confident that the tan war didnt have the savagery that existed in the "Volunteers" of the Provisonal IRA. Just one question for you. Are you trying to justify the Provisonal/Real/Official campaign in Northern Ireland and beyond? If you are they are saying that the targetting of children and innocents was a legitimate act of war. To finish off I dont even even think its justified to call it war. War is carried out by men not by cowards who hide behind a balaclava.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 06, 2010, 09:11:10 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on December 06, 2010, 08:37:55 PM
Can i nonimate PSTG again? Thanks :D
If there was a most annoying irish person in history competition he'd certainly be up there...
Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 09:11:33 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 08:50:42 PM
Clearly some people agree with me look at the amount of votes that gerry Adams has received.

Gerry Adams repeatedly receives one of the highest personal votes in Ireland  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 06, 2010, 09:13:03 PM
I wish you'd stop responding to every WUM on the board.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 09:14:53 PM
Maybe you should also read "The IRA and It's Enemies" by Peter Hart who noted how from March 29th - April 19th that 323 Post Offices were robbed and the Great Western Railway was repeatedly robbed by the IRA which repeatedly denied responsibility.

Nally, I'm surprised that a republican like yourself would reference the late Peter Hart's work. The guy's history is highly dubious to say the least. His take on the Kilmichael Ambush for instance has been largely discredited by Meda Ryan in her study of Tom Barry.

I'd agree to a large extent with most of your points regarding the War Of Independence but I find it strange that you would cite Hart to back up your argument.

Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 09:28:56 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 09:14:53 PM
Maybe you should also read "The IRA and It's Enemies" by Peter Hart who noted how from March 29th - April 19th that 323 Post Offices were robbed and the Great Western Railway was repeatedly robbed by the IRA which repeatedly denied responsibility.

Nally, I'm surprised that a republican like yourself would reference the late Peter Hart's work. The guy's history is highly dubious to say the least. His take on the Kilmichael Ambush for instance has been largely discredited by Meda Ryan in her study of Tom Barry.

I'd agree to a large extent with most of your points regarding the War Of Independence but I find it strange that you would cite Hart to back up your argument.

I am well aware but I do so in order to make a point which is that I am capable, as a republican, of totally accepting that the IRA of the Tan War carried out some completely horrendous acts yet I still regard their general campaign as having been totally legitimate and justifiable, and hence I am also not so two faced to say anything different about the campaign of the PIRA. To set one moral standard for one campaign and a different moral standard for another, or to pretend that both organisations operated on different morals, like PSTG is doing is simply pathetic.

That is my only point.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 09:33:02 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 09:28:56 PM

I am well aware but I do so in order to make a point which is that I am capable, as a republican, of totally accepting that the IRA of the Tan War carried out some completely horrendous acts yet I still regard their general campaign as having been totally legitimate and justifiable, and hence I am also not so two faced to say anything different about the campaign of the PIRA. To set one moral standard for one campaign and a different moral standard for another, or to pretend that both organisations operated on different morals, like PSTG is doing is simply pathetic.

That is my only point.

Do you think the provisional IRA tactics were justified Yes or No simple answer
Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 09:37:41 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 09:08:15 PM
I answered your question about the 3500 deaths already. Yes your an IRA/Sinn Fein apologist trying to use the most non de script argument in order to justify the smuggling of Fuel, fags, Drugs and the killing of innocents on a Large scale. The tan war was nearly 90 years ago. I dont know what went on then but I'm pretty confident that the tan war didnt have the savagery that existed in the "Volunteers" of the Provisonal IRA. Just one question for you. Are you trying to justify the Provisonal/Real/Official campaign in Northern Ireland and beyond? If you are they are saying that the targetting of children and innocents was a legitimate act of war. To finish off I dont even even think its justified to call it war. War is carried out by men not by cowards who hide behind a balaclava.

You didn't answer my question about the number of victims. You simply stated that you accepted your figure was inaccurate. My question was about why it was inaccurate. So I will now ask it for the FOURTH time:

And as for your question in your previous post: Is that supposed to be a difficult question?
I believe that, exactly like the Tan War, the PIRA's campaign was entirely legitimate and justified. I also believe that like the Tan War, (and EVERY other war I've ever heard of) some tactics used were unjustified and immoral. This does not necessarily mean the entire conflict was unjustified and immoral. If you believe otherwise, then how could you defend the legitimacy of ANY WAR EVER considering that any war will have many examples of innocents being killed unjustifiably?
Post by: Tonto on December 06, 2010, 09:39:34 PM

If you're calling Peter Hart's work 'dubious' because he was contradicted by Meda Ryan you are making a very questionable point.  I'm fairly sure that Meda Ryan is related in some way to Tom Barry, the leader of the IRA flying column who carried out the Kilmichael Massacre. Who is most likely to be biased?
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 09:48:25 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 09:37:41 PM

You didn't answer my question about the number of victims. You simply stated that you accepted your figure was inaccurate. My question was about why it was inaccurate. So I will now ask it for the FOURTH time:

And as for your question in your previous post: Is that supposed to be a difficult question?
I believe that, exactly like the Tan War, the PIRA's campaign was entirely legitimate and justified. I also believe that like the Tan War, (and EVERY other war I've ever heard of) some tactics used were unjustified and immoral. This does not necessarily mean the entire conflict was unjustified and immoral. If you believe otherwise, then how could you defend the legitimacy of ANY WAR EVER considering that any war will have many examples of innocents being killed unjustifiably?

FOR THE THIRD TIME I ANSWERED YOUR QUESTION ON THE 3500 VICTIMS. I SAID SINN FEIN/IRA BY THEIR ACTIONS WERE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE OTHER 1500 DEATHS.

Your justfying a terrorist campaign hence you are the lowest of the low. It wasnt a war it was scumbags lining their pockets and taking advantage of an awful situation. What did PIRA acheive exactly besides its members becoming incredibly wealthy? 30 years of arnachy? setting back the unification of Ireland by generations, alienating a majority of the population of Northern Ireland away from anything remotely Irish. The high jacking of the Irish flag athem and language. How ever the PIRA started out it certainly turned into a criminal  gang towards the end.

Was the robbing of Irish banks post offices justified. Was the murder of Gardai justified. Was the Northern bank robbery justified.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 09:50:25 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 09:48:25 PM

FOR THE THIRD TIME I ANSWERED YOUR QUESTION ON THE 3500 VICTIMS. I SAID SINN FEIN/IRA BY THEIR ACTIONS WERE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE OTHER 1500 DEATHS.

Your justfying a terrorist campaign hence you are the lowest of the low. It wasnt a war it was scumbags lining their pockets and taking advantage of an awful situation. What did PIRA acheive exactly besides its members becoming incredibly wealthy? 30 years of arnachy? setting back the unification of Ireland by generations, alienating a majority of the population of Northern Ireland away from anything remotely Irish. The high jacking of the Irish flag athem and language. How ever the PIRA started out it certainly turned into a criminal  gang towards the end.

Was the robbing of Irish banks post offices justified. Was the murder of Gardai justified. Was the Northern bank robbery justified.

It's like debating with a child. Did I not provide you with evidence of robberies, including of hundreds of post offices in a three year period carried out by the Old Cork Brigade? Grow up. Hypocrite.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 06, 2010, 09:52:11 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 09:50:25 PM

It's like debating with a child. Did I not provide you with evidence of robberies, including of hundreds of post offices in a three year period carried out by the Old Cork Brigade? Grow up. Hypocrite.

Took you a long time to realise that Nally.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 06, 2010, 09:53:44 PM

Were they not financial institutions of the British state? which is better robbing the financial institutions of the British state or robbing the financial institutions of the state you want to unite in a Republic with. Anyway there will never be a United Ireland not in our life times anyway best to keep the savagery behind the border.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 09:58:29 PM
Quote from: Tonto on December 06, 2010, 09:39:34 PM

If you're calling Peter Hart's work 'dubious' because he was contradicted by Meda Ryan you are making a very questionable point.  I'm fairly sure that Meda Ryan is related in some way to Tom Barry, the leader of the IRA flying column who carried out the Kilmichael Massacre. Who is most likely to be biased?

Meda Ryan's work came after Peter Hart's and she is not the only historian to have discredited Hart's version of the Kilmichael Ambush.

Hart claimed to have interviewed veterans of the ambush who said that no 'false surrender' took place from the Auxiliaries and that Barry ordered his men to wipe them out. Ryan has shown that all the veterans of the ambush were dead before the time that Hart claimed to have conducted his interivews.

Also, the document that Hart claimed was compiled by Barry in the aftermath of the ambush is now widely accepted to be a forgery by most historians including Ryan and Barry Murphy.

This is not to say that all of Hart's history of the War Of Independence is questionable but his take on Kilmichael is clearly flawed. Even the Auxiliary commander in Ireland (Crozier) acknowledged the 'false surrender' in his account of the war - Ireland For Ever (1932).
Post by: Tonto on December 06, 2010, 10:33:04 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 06, 2010, 09:58:29 PM
Meda Ryan's work came after Peter Hart's and she is not the only historian to have discredited Hart's version of the Kilmichael Ambush.

Hart claimed to have interviewed veterans of the ambush who said that no 'false surrender' took place from the Auxiliaries and that Barry ordered his men to wipe them out. Ryan has shown that all the veterans of the ambush were dead before the time that Hart claimed to have conducted his interivews.

Also, the document that Hart claimed was compiled by Barry in the aftermath of the ambush is now widely accepted to be a forgery by most historians including Ryan and Barry Murphy.

This is not to say that all of Hart's history of the War Of Independence is questionable but his take on Kilmichael is clearly flawed. Even the Auxiliary commander in Ireland (Crozier) acknowledged the 'false surrender' in his account of the war - Ireland For Ever (1932).
Fair enough although I'm not sure that Ryan and Murphy constitutes "wide acceptance" that Barry's original statement (which doesn't mention a false surrender) was a forgery.  And if Crozier acknowledged the 'false surrender' this is hardly surprising when it became the accepted view for over 70 years.  And anyway, the coroners report at the time stated that many of the soldiers killed had been shot several times, some from point blank range.  So even if there WAS a false surrender (which, let us remember, is open for debate) then the manner that young men were murdered is hardly justified.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 06, 2010, 10:35:32 PM
It's like debating with a child.

And you made him go and remove his Da O'Duffy from his list!  :D
Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 10:51:38 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 06, 2010, 10:35:32 PM

:D :D Must be making room for Enda Kenny or Michael Collins then!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 07, 2010, 12:18:03 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 10:51:38 PM

For crimes against the Nation, being from Islandeady/Castlebar  :D
Post by: seafoid on December 07, 2010, 09:21:02 AM
No business people in there. William Martin Murphy.
Post by: Banana Man on December 07, 2010, 09:42:12 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2010, 10:51:38 PM

No he had michael collins up and pulled it, typical u turn ::)
Post by: Olly on December 07, 2010, 10:07:58 AM
Finn McCool

He lifted a bit lump out of Ireland and threw it into the Irish Sea with no regard for the people of the land living on it. There's a strong argument that Antrim would've won more All-Ireland titles at all codes had they still the land where Lough Neagh still stands. The people who were on the piece of land that now is Isle of Man were so manically frightened at being flung in the air that they must've bitten the tails off all the cats in the ensuing pandemonium.
Post by: Bogball XV on December 07, 2010, 10:46:20 AM
Quote from: Olly on December 07, 2010, 10:07:58 AM
Finn McCool

He lifted a bit lump out of Ireland and threw it into the Irish Sea with no regard for the people of the land living on it. There's a strong argument that Antrim would've won more All-Ireland titles at all codes had they still the land where Lough Neagh still stands. The people who were on the piece of land that now is Isle of Man were so manically frightened at being flung in the air that they must've bitten the tails off all the cats in the ensuing pandemonium.

Why would Antrim have any more claim to that land than the any of the other bordering counties?  Is it because the northwest is in antrim, so the motorcycling tradition of Isle of Man proves the connection?
Post by: ludermor on December 07, 2010, 05:04:56 PM
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2056109496

Looks like Peter was copying threads from another site, no harm in that but you would think he would  acknowledge  it.