GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Aristotle Flynn on February 01, 2007, 10:32:23 AM

Title: Northern Towns/villages without GAA clubs
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on February 01, 2007, 10:32:23 AM

There seems to be a fair few towns and villages in the North that don't have GAA clubs. What clubs to people from these places play for? Here's a list of some I've identified. If you moved to one of these places who would you play for? Maybe there are clubs and I've never heard of them.
Copy and paste the list and put a club against the town, if there is one.
Are there any other large towns/ villages without clubs?

Antrim
Ballycarry
Ballyclare
Ballynure
Bushmills
Carrickfergus
Carnlough
Dervock
East Belfast
Mosside
Newtownabbey
Toomebridge
Whitehead

Armagh
Blackwatertown
Brownlow
Gilford
Loughgall
Tandragee
Scrava
Markethill

Derry
Ballyronan
Tobermore
Draperstown
Portrush
Portstewart
Maghera
Moneymore

Down
Annborough
Annalong
Ballynahinch
Bangor
Comber
Donaghadee
Dromore
Hillborough
Kilkeel
Loughbrickland
Moira
Newcastle
Newtownards
Portavogie
Title: Re: Northern Towns/villages without GAA clubs
Post by: stoke the boilers! on February 01, 2007, 10:34:27 AM
Armagh
Blackwatertown - An Port Mor
Brownlow
Gilford
Loughgall
Tandragee
Scrava
Markethill - Mullabrack
Post by: baller on February 01, 2007, 10:35:39 AM
Ballinascreen is Draperstown
Post by: aontroim abu on February 01, 2007, 10:41:24 AM
toomebridge - should actually be TOOME, has a lesser known GAA club called Cargin. Maybe you have heard of them?  ;)

for what its worth most of the other towns you have mentioned in Antrim hardly have any catholics in them, never mind a GAA club
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 01, 2007, 10:42:05 AM
Antrim
Toomebridge - Cargin

Derry
Maghera - Glen
Moneymore has a club - McCrackens

Down
Kilkeel - An Riocht
Newcastle - Bryansford
St. Paul's, Hollywood serves Bangor and Newtownards
Post by: full back on February 01, 2007, 10:44:05 AM
Armagh

Bessbrook - Carrickcruppen or Shane O Neills
Post by: Donagh on February 01, 2007, 10:44:57 AM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on February 01, 2007, 10:32:23 AM

Armagh
Blackwatertown
Brownlow
Gilford
Loughgall
Tandragee
Scrava
Markethill

Where the feck is Brownlow? - you mean that wee area around Beirut/Legahory in Craigavon? If so Eire Og and St Paul's would only be a mile or two away though I couldn't see to many of the natives having an interest in the GAA.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 01, 2007, 10:51:11 AM
Annsborough - Has Annsborough not got a team. If they have folded then Aughlisnafin or Castlewellan would be the local teams.
Annalong - Glassdrumon sp?
Ballynahinch - St John's or Teconnaught
Bangor - St Pauls
Comber
Donaghadee
Dromore - Dromara???
Hillsborough
Kilkeel
Loughbrickland - Aghaderg
Moira - St Michaels Kilwarlin
Newcastle - Bryansford
Newtownards
Portavogie
Post by: johnneycool on February 01, 2007, 10:55:32 AM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on February 01, 2007, 10:32:23 AM

There seems to be a fair few towns and villages in the North that don't have GAA clubs. What clubs to people from these places play for? Here's a list of some I've identified. If you moved to one of these places who would you play for? Maybe there are clubs and I've never heard of them.
Copy and paste the list and put a club against the town, if there is one.
Are there any other large towns/ villages without clubs?

Down
Annborough
Annalong
Ballynahinch
Bangor
Comber
Donaghadee
Dromore
Hillborough
Kilkeel
Loughbrickland
Moira
Newcastle
Newtownards
Portavogie

The vast majority of East Belfast is in Down

Dundonald
Conlig
Greyabbey
Ballyhalbert
Ballywalter
Carrowdore

Is Ballygowan served by Darragh Cross?

Saintfield?
Post by: Bacon on February 01, 2007, 10:58:13 AM
Down
Annborough - Annsborough folded a few years ago. Castlewellan or Aughlisnafin
Annalong  - Longstone or Glassdrumman
Ballynahinch - Drumaness I reckon although I know lads who play for Carryduff
Bangor - St Pauls
Comber- Darragh Cross maybe?
Donaghadee - Ballycran or St Pauls?
Dromore - Banbridge, Dromara or Ballela
Hillsborough - St Michaels or Dromara
Kilkeel - An Riocht
Loughbrickland - Aghaderg/Ballyvarley
Moira - St Michaels
Newcastle - Bryansford
Newtownards - St Pauls
Portavogie - Ballygalget? If theres any one in that hole interested!

Giliford and Scarva are actually in Co Down, not Armagh. Tullylish would serve Gilford and Aghaderg/Ballyvarley Scarva
Post by: Bacon on February 01, 2007, 11:00:26 AM
Johnnycool - Ballygowan, Crossgar and Saintfield are all covered by Darragh Cross. I would have thought that your lot would claim the peninsula villages?
Post by: Will Hunting on February 01, 2007, 11:10:16 AM
Derry
Ballyronan - Loup Parish
Tobermore - maybe 'Screen, possibly Glen
Draperstown - Ballinascreen
Portrush/Portstewart - not sure about these two, maybe people from here would play for Coleraine or Magilligan/Limavady
Maghera - Glen
Moneymore - Moneymore
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 01, 2007, 11:20:43 AM
Gilford - Tullylish (Down) ??
Loughgall - The Mighty Ballyhegan Davitts (Though some choose Annaghmore/Collegeland)
Tandragee - Pontyspass??
Post by: laughinpaddy on February 01, 2007, 11:23:34 AM
Quote from: stoke the boilers! on February 01, 2007, 10:34:27 AM
Armagh
Blackwatertown - An Port Mor
Brownlow
Gilford
Loughgall
Tandragee
Scrava
Markethill - Mullabrack
Brownlow, Gilford, Tandragee and Scarva are strickly loyalist/Unionist Areas!  Should any GAA personel live close to these areas I would think that they would get a lot of abuse.  As for Loughall although a Prtestant Village I no of at least two Catholics living on the out skirts of loughall who play for the Grange. while others play for B'Heagan Annaghmore and Clonmore
Post by: nrico2006 on February 01, 2007, 11:24:43 AM
Portstewart are Coleraine Eoghain Ruadh really. Their pitch is in the Port and all there players are from there.  Surprised people were questioning whether Maghera, Toombridge or Draperstown had clubs.  As mentioned theres Cargin, Glen, and for Draperstown you'd have the likes of Ballinascreen and Desertmartin clubs
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on February 01, 2007, 11:27:02 AM
Quote from: laughinpaddy on February 01, 2007, 11:23:34 AM

Brownlow, Gilford, Tandragee and Scarva are strickly loyalist/Unionist Areas!
Brownlow is not! Eire Og play in Brownlow. The Bessbrook hurling club is called Crouigh Rua or something like taht. They have their own ground near the mill.
Post by: Ethan Edwards on February 01, 2007, 11:30:52 AM
Derry,
Upperlands
Culnady
Castlerock
Articlave
Curran

Not a Catholic In Sight
Post by: Maximus Marillius on February 01, 2007, 11:32:45 AM
Ah articlave what a wonderful little village...very homely :D :D
Post by: tommy1 on February 01, 2007, 11:38:43 AM
Donegal,
Raphoe (play with convoy or castlefin
(population of around 2,000) must be the only town of that size in the whole of REP with out a club.

St Johnston

Alot of the towns in inishowen movile, muff, and malian had no club structure before 1992. Donegals victory in 1992 launched a number of new clubs in county  
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 01, 2007, 11:44:03 AM
Quote from: stoke the boilers! on February 01, 2007, 10:34:27 AM
Armagh
As for Loughall although a Prtestant Village I no of at least two Catholics living on the out skirts of loughall who play for the Grange.

NAME & SHAME!!!  :P
Post by: Ethan Edwards on February 01, 2007, 11:44:34 AM
Max would there be any possibly of getting a team out of Tamlaght o Crilley   ;D
Post by: Maximus Marillius on February 01, 2007, 11:46:48 AM
Nathan have you ever seen the film call Brigadoon, well thats Tamlaght O crilley reminds me of....a unionists dominated little hole trapped in time.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on February 01, 2007, 12:01:12 PM
Quote from: tommy1 on February 01, 2007, 11:38:43 AM

Alot of the towns in inishowen movile, muff, and malian had no club structure before 1992. Donegals victory in 1992 launched a number of new clubs in county 
Would that be St Bridget's, Muff. The team mentioned in the thread on the old Board about unusual names?
Post by: laughinpaddy on February 01, 2007, 12:07:12 PM
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on February 01, 2007, 11:27:02 AM

Brownlow, Gilford, Tandragee and Scarva are strickly loyalist/Unionist Areas!
Brownlow is not! Eire Og play in Brownlow.
Then please explain why a police escort was called for a team wearing hoops so that they could be escorted of a soocer field after shoots were fired into the air from a neighbouring housing estate.  with chants of U.U.U.V.F!! still ringing in some of the cubs ears while they boarded their bus ???
Post by: Guillem2 on February 01, 2007, 12:09:08 PM
Antrim
Ballycarry - St Endas or Larne
Ballyclare - St Endas
Ballynure - St Endas
Bushmills - interest in the village
Carrickfergus - no idea. It has a big population so there must be some GAA members.
Carnlough - Shane O'Neill's, Glenarm
Dervock - no interest
East Belfast - there used to be clubs in East Belfast. Sean Martin's and Ballyhackamore Harps come to mind. They probably play for St Malachy's or Bredagh now.
Mosside - no interest
Newtownabbey - St Endas
Toomebridge - Cargin
Whitehead - Larne maybe? No idea really.

Is there a club in Rathfriland? That would be a fair sized town.
Post by: snatter on February 01, 2007, 12:10:25 PM
Down contingent

re
QuoteDarragh Cross serving Ballygowan, Crossgar and Saintfield

Surely Crossgar is big enough and has enough non-unionists to field a team of its own?
There was post All Ireland talk in 1991 about setting up a new club there, but Darragh Cross objected.
Have Darragh Cross had much success in getting the youth of Crossgar to play GAA in the intervening 15 years?
I wonder if more Crossgar people would play GAA if there was a club in the town, and not a village a fair bit from it?
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on February 01, 2007, 12:17:20 PM
Quote from: laughinpaddy on February 01, 2007, 12:07:12 PM

Then please explain why a police escort was called for a team wearing hoops so that they could be escorted of a soocer field after shoots were fired into the air from a neighbouring housing estate.  with chants of U.U.U.V.F!! still ringing in some of the cubs ears while they boarded their bus ???
That would have been the Parkmore Estate which is in Mandeville near Brownlow. Bad spot. The Brownlow estates such as Ardowen, Enniskeen, Westacres & Drumellan are mainly nationalist.
Post by: Bogball XV on February 01, 2007, 12:19:14 PM
BTW Portrush is not in Derry, it's Antrim and by jaysus they're welcome to it!!
Post by: jpmac on February 01, 2007, 12:19:53 PM
I would have thought most people in Crossgar would play for Teconnaught!

East Belfast would probably be served by Bredagh, St. Pauls Hollywood and to a lesser extent St. Malachy's. Don't Think Sean Martins exist anymore.
St. Pauls Hollywood have some potential catchment area although in Fairness hard work for them publising themselves in that kneck of the woods.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 01, 2007, 12:41:55 PM
Between Strabane and Derry City you have Ballymagorry, Magheramason and Newbuildings.  No GAA in either, would be killed if you were seen wearing a top in the latter 2, maybe not so much in Ballymagorry.  What about Fivemiletown on Tyrone/Fermanagh border.  Lisbellaw have a hurling team in fermanagh, but do they have a football side.  Theres bound to be plenty of villages and small towns in fermanagh that have nothing too.  What about Castlecaulfield in Tyrone, or Granville?
Post by: Lecale2 on February 01, 2007, 12:45:49 PM
Quote from: Guillem2 on February 01, 2007, 12:09:08 PM

Is there a club in Rathfriland? That would be a fair sized town.
Down Intermediate Football Champions, Drumgrath serve Rathfriland. Rathfriland had it's own team years ago until they amalgamated with Drumgrath.
Post by: screenexile on February 01, 2007, 12:48:56 PM
AFAIK most places in Derry are covered by at least one club (Tobermore/Fivemilestraight area is a contentious one between Screen and Glen). There used to be a map of the club boundaries but I can't seem to find it anymore. As for the City Well I've no clue how clubs are divided out up there but I would presume that anyone who wants access to a club has it.
Post by: laughinpaddy on February 01, 2007, 12:50:00 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 01, 2007, 12:41:55 PM
What about Castlecaulfield in Tyrone, or Granville?
If anybody in these areas who would play GAA they would more than likely play for the Clarkes
Post by: na cleirigh on February 01, 2007, 01:00:03 PM
castlecaufield play for donaghmore. as for granville, the few catholics in it would play for the clarkes.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on February 01, 2007, 01:06:45 PM
Fivemiletown - would be either Clogher or Brookeboro in Fermanagh
Lisbellaw - Don't have a football team, their footballers would play usually either for Tempo, Coa or Ennsikillen
Castlecaufield - Donaghmore
Granville - Dungannon

St.Joseph's Ederney would cover most of N.Fermanagh outside of Irvinestown, which would include Kesh and Lack
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 01, 2007, 01:12:54 PM
im shocked Lisbellaw have a hurling team.....it looks like a place where the mere mention of the GAA would result in a kneecapping.  :o
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on February 01, 2007, 02:02:21 PM
You have certainly improved my knowledge of Northern geography! There are still large areas of the country where you would have to travel miles to watch a match or join a club.
Post by: Over the Bar on February 01, 2007, 02:07:52 PM
Wouldn't it make more sense to call this Parishes without GAA clubs?
Post by: botman on February 01, 2007, 02:10:46 PM
Not really seeing as a Parish can have two clubs. Clonfeacle has two - The Moy and An Port Mor.

Benburb is without enlightenment as is Sion Mills I think!

Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on February 01, 2007, 02:16:23 PM
Lisbellaw,

now heres an interesting one.

I know that lisbellaw hurling club is infact not in lisbellaw (correct me if im wrong) but i heard that the club is called lisbellaw so that it would piss off the unGAA town called Lisbellaw.

Only what i heard.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 01, 2007, 02:18:46 PM
A few people lacking knowledge Castlecaulfield is part of Donaghmore Parish and the gaels of the village took great pride when in 2003 Brian Robinson stepped off a chambers coach with Sam Maguire and took it into his shop. Castlecaulfied has always been an integral part of the Donaghmore club both at administrative and playing level so it would be wrong to paint it one way or another.  
Post by: Over the Bar on February 01, 2007, 02:22:49 PM
My point is that there will be plenty of towns & villages without their own club but they will fall within a parish with a club, but it would be disappointing if there were any parishes without any club at all.  Anyone know of any?
Post by: Fionntamhnach on February 01, 2007, 02:27:36 PM
Quote from: Armagh Cúchulainns on February 01, 2007, 02:16:23 PM
Lisbellaw,

I know that lisbellaw hurling club is infact not in lisbellaw (correct me if im wrong) but i heard that the club is called lisbellaw so that it would piss off the unGAA town called Lisbellaw.

Only what i heard.

They recently opened their new pitch, seems to lie about 2 miles north of the village...

http://www.lisbellawhurling.com/Map/history.html
Post by: nrico2006 on February 01, 2007, 02:33:46 PM
Sion Mills is a good one, no team there but again like many examples they would go to urney, or to strabane.  Im not sure what parish sion mills is in.  It may fall into Urney or Camus, and Camus dont have a team either
Post by: Lecale2 on February 01, 2007, 02:50:37 PM
How many clubs are there in Derry city and are there any on the waterside? I know of Steelstown, Na Magha & Doire Collumcille but the must be more in a town that size?
Post by: nrico2006 on February 01, 2007, 03:03:39 PM
On top of Steelstown, Na Magha and Doire Colmcille there is Sean Dolans, Ardmore, and I think Ogra Colmcille are in the city too.
Post by: Will Hunting on February 01, 2007, 03:05:47 PM
Ogra Colmcille is Drummullan (formerly Littlebridge). I think Ardmore is just outside Derry City.

What about Coagh? Fr Rocks (Cookstown), Ballinderry, Ogra Colmcille or Moneymore??
Post by: Lecale2 on February 01, 2007, 03:10:12 PM
Didn't Littlebridge amalgamate with a team from Tyrone to form Orga Colmcille? There can't be many occasions when teams from different counties amalgamate. Can some historian from Tyrone/Derry enlighten me?
Post by: Windmill abu on February 01, 2007, 03:12:31 PM
Ogra Colmcille are Littlebridge. The Team from Tyrone you are looking for are Windmill St Patricks and We will be back
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 01, 2007, 03:19:15 PM
Ballygawley!! I guess they would go to Kileshill or clogher or Errigal ?? :D :P
Post by: Lecale2 on February 01, 2007, 03:53:19 PM
And did Windmill amalgamate with Littlebridge? Is it not unusual to have clubs from different counties joining up? Are there many from the old Windmill club area involved with Orga Columcille?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 01, 2007, 04:12:41 PM
Newtownabbey w/o a GAA club?? St Enda's have only been there 51 years methinks.
Post by: thebandit on February 01, 2007, 05:16:09 PM
Drum (Co. Monaghan) doesnt have a club, for much the same reason as the villages further North
Post by: slow corner back on February 01, 2007, 10:37:09 PM
The miltitude of gaels in dervock could join the recently founded Ballymoney GFC or if they fancied hurling the mighty glen rovers armoy would be there local club. One of our ex players now lives there, he got a heavy knock on the head as a minor and has never been right in the head since!!!
Post by: slow corner back on February 01, 2007, 10:39:28 PM
Ditto for Mosside as for Dervock,( missed them first time i checked the list). We have had one or two guys from out near mosside but as far as I know that would still be in armoy parish.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 01, 2007, 11:14:50 PM
Quote from: thebandit on February 01, 2007, 05:16:09 PM
Drum (Co. Monaghan) doesnt have a club, for much the same reason as the villages further North

Drums a black hole!

No teams in Sion Mills, Victoria Bridge, Artigarvin, Leckpatrick, Ardstraw or Bready all around Strabane.
Post by: Canalman on February 01, 2007, 11:30:30 PM
On a "slight" tangent, we have a town in Dublin with a population over 100,000 and no GAA club......Dún Laoghaire.

Can anyone beat that?????
Post by: armaghniac on February 01, 2007, 11:35:54 PM
Dún Laoghaire proper doesn't have a population anywhere near 100,000 and if you define it more broadly there are clubs like Cuala in the area.
Post by: the green man on February 01, 2007, 11:53:44 PM

Derry
Ballyronan          The loup and Ballinderry dispute here, although more would play for Loup
Tobermore         Toss up between Screen Glen and Desertmartin depending where you live
Draperstown      nothing here ;)
Portrush            Although in Antrim Eoghan Rua would facilitate
Portstewart       Ditto above, for by the Antrim bit
Maghera            [spit] Glen [wankers]
Moneymore       The Great Henry Joy McCrackens. Once famous for their pitch where the keeper kicked 'er out, and the midfielders cut it at their ankles

Post by: slow corner back on February 02, 2007, 12:04:10 AM
No team in bushmills, Coleraine/ Ballymoney probably closest. Also no team in Rathlin, difficult getting to and from matches,lol
Title: Antrim GAA clubs
Post by: rashCharacter on February 02, 2007, 12:21:05 AM
Anybody with Google Earth click on this, do the same for other Counties

http://bbs.keyhole.com/ubb/download.php?Number=779782
Post by: nrico2006 on February 02, 2007, 08:43:14 AM
QuoteNo teams in Sion Mills, Victoria Bridge, Artigarvin, Leckpatrick, Ardstraw or Bready all around Strabane.

Leckpatrick has Owen Roes and as I said earlier Sion would be catered by Urney.  Ardstraw would be catered by newton or the derg, and bready could be catered by clann na gael.  Although, there wouldnt be too many non-huns inbready or ardstraw.  People from Victoria would head to newtownstewart.  What about places around Lurgan, Armagh.  The like of Waringstown, Dollingstown etc
Post by: Lecale2 on February 02, 2007, 09:32:38 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 02, 2007, 08:43:14 AM
  What about places around Lurgan, Armagh.  The like of Waringstown, Dollingstown etc
St Michael's cover that area.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 03, 2007, 01:01:24 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 02, 2007, 08:43:14 AM
QuoteNo teams in Sion Mills, Victoria Bridge, Artigarvin, Leckpatrick, Ardstraw or Bready all around Strabane.

Leckpatrick has Owen Roes and as I said earlier Sion would be catered by Urney.  Ardstraw would be catered by newton or the derg, and bready could be catered by clann na gael.  Although, there wouldnt be too many non-huns inbready or ardstraw.  People from Victoria would head to newtownstewart.  What about places around Lurgan, Armagh.  The like of Waringstown, Dollingstown etc

The question was towns or villages without a GAA team, Sion, Victoria Bridge, Leckpatrick, Ardstraw, Bready, Magheramason, Newbuildings,etc.. HAVE not got Gaelic teams, a team a couple of miles away who would draw support doesn't count, given the question!!!
Title: Re: Antrim GAA clubs
Post by: ziggysego on February 03, 2007, 01:06:09 AM
Quote from: rashCharacter on February 02, 2007, 12:21:05 AM
Anybody with Google Earth click on this, do the same for other Counties

http://bbs.keyhole.com/ubb/download.php?Number=779782

How?
Post by: lawnseed 2 on February 03, 2007, 11:31:18 AM
what about keady biggest catholic town in armagh you'd hardly call them a club :D i hear the dwyers are lookin to regrade to intermediate ANYTHING! to win something
Post by: Onlooker on February 03, 2007, 11:49:14 AM
Surely Keady has a strong hurling team and a good hurling tradition.
Post by: deiseach on February 03, 2007, 03:53:55 PM
Quote from: baller on February 01, 2007, 10:35:39 AM
Ballinascreen is Draperstown

This cracks me up every time.
Post by: Gold on February 03, 2007, 08:26:15 PM
Boho dont have a team in Fermanagh anymore
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 03, 2007, 09:12:14 PM
Boho yerself! If theres no club in Fermanagh were u are start 1.
Post by: down-4-life on February 04, 2007, 11:41:54 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 01, 2007, 10:51:11 AM
Annsborough - Has Annsborough not got a team. If they have folded then Aughlisnafin or Castlewellan would be the local teams.
Annalong - Glassdrumon sp?
Ballynahinch - St John's or Teconnaught
Bangor - St Pauls
Comber
Donaghadee
Dromore - Dromara???
Hillsborough
Kilkeel
Loughbrickland - Aghaderg
Moira - St Michaels Kilwarlin
Newcastle - Bryansford
Newtownards
Portavogie

Where abouts in Bangor is St. Paul's?
Post by: stpauls on February 04, 2007, 01:19:30 PM
st. paul's are an amalgamation of holywood, bangor and newtownards, so would cover anyone from those areas!!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 04, 2007, 08:32:56 PM
Quote from: stpauls on February 04, 2007, 01:19:30 PM
st. paul's are an amalgamation of holywood, bangor and newtownards, so would cover anyone from those areas!!!

So St. Pauls are based in Holywood, that is not Bangor or Newtownards, those two places DO NOT have a GAA club.
This is an interesting thread but can we keep it to the point, please!
Post by: Canalman on February 04, 2007, 08:40:26 PM
No wonder the northern teams are so successful. From what I can make out the whole  of the 6 counties is covered by a GAA club.

There are massive areas of the South without any GAA, particularly in Dublin and in particular the inner city and the southern coastal strip of the County.

Many towns such as Naas,Portlaoise,Tullamore, Ennis ,Galway city etc are covered by very few GAA clubs.

Post by: Fionntamhnach on February 04, 2007, 08:50:04 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 04, 2007, 08:32:56 PM

So St. Pauls are based in Holywood, that is not Bangor or Newtownards, those two places DO NOT have a GAA club.
By that definition, there would be loads of places that have no GAA clubs, even places like Creggan, Mountfield and Rouskey in Tyrone which really are too small to keep a club going on its own, not to mention Benburb
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 04, 2007, 09:41:47 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on February 04, 2007, 08:50:04 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 04, 2007, 08:32:56 PM

By that definition, there would be loads of places that have no GAA clubs, even places like Creggan, Mountfield and Rouskey in Tyrone which really are too small to keep a club going on its own, not to mention Benburb

I think you have to be sensible about what you term a town/village.
To say that Sion Mills or New Buildings have/are served by a GAA club is a joke. The question was/is Northern Towns/villages without GAA clubs
Post by: Fionntamhnach on February 04, 2007, 09:44:40 PM
Mountfield used to have a team in the Tyrone Football league, it is nowadays split between Killyclogher and Greencastle.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 04, 2007, 09:50:52 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on February 04, 2007, 09:44:40 PM
Mountfield used to have a team in the Tyrone Football league, it is nowadays split between Killyclogher and Greencastle.

Omagh and Killyclogher both used to have Hurling teams, then didn't!
Now there is a Hurling team that represents both, but the team play in Omagh, erso Killyclogher do not have a hurling team. As Mountfield do not have a football team.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on February 04, 2007, 09:54:13 PM
The team (Camowen Gaels) I believe alternate playing home matches between Omagh and Killyclogher IIRC - even still Killyclogher field their own youth hurling teams.
Post by: doodaa on February 05, 2007, 08:37:24 AM
Portrush/Portstewart - most if not all would go play for Eoghan Rua Coleraine.
Carnlough - most would play for Shane O Neills, Glenarm just 2mins down the road.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 05, 2007, 09:36:07 AM
QuoteOmagh and Killyclogher both used to have Hurling teams, then didn't!
Now there is a Hurling team that represents both, but the team play in Omagh, erso Killyclogher do not have a hurling team. As Mountfield do not have a football team.

The team dont play in Omagh, from what I gather they play the majority of their games in Killyclogher, not Omagh. 
Post by: Doire abú on June 10, 2008, 02:29:18 AM
Bored and doing a bit of browsing through the archives. Resurrecting an old one here.
In response to the first poster...
Ballyronan - The Loup
Tobermore - No idea who Tobermore Gaels play for. Wouldn't be too many Tobermore Gaels anyway.
Draperstown - Ballinascreen.
Portrush - Not in Derry!!
Portstewart- Eoghan Rua
Maghera - Glen
Moneymore - Moneymore McCracken's

Tobermore, Drumahoe and New Buildings are probably the only town in Derry without a GAA club, for obvious reasons.

Quote from: Will Hunting on February 01, 2007, 03:05:47 PM
Ogra Colmcille is Drummullan (formerly Littlebridge). I think Ardmore is just outside Derry City.

What about Coagh? Fr Rocks (Cookstown), Ballinderry, Ogra Colmcille or Moneymore??

Coagh is in Ogra's catch,ent area officially I believe.

Quote from: Lecale2 on February 01, 2007, 03:10:12 PM
Didn't Littlebridge amalgamate with a team from Tyrone to form Orga Colmcille? There can't be many occasions when teams from different counties amalgamate. Can some historian from Tyrone/Derry enlighten me?

Yep Littlebridge (Derry) and the Windmill (Tyrone) amalgamated to form Ogra Colmcille. The Windmill of course is famous for being the dirtiest club in the history of the game. ;D ;D

Quote from: Lecale2 on February 01, 2007, 03:53:19 PM
And did Windmill amalgamate with Littlebridge? Is it not unusual to have clubs from different counties joining up? Are there many from the old Windmill club area involved with Orga Columcille?

Well the pitch is in Drummullan, so I think most people in the Windmill's hinterland (technically in the Ogra's catchment area) actually play for Ardboe, but not totally sure.

Quote from: thebandit on February 01, 2007, 05:16:09 PM

Would Protestants in the (southern) border counties not play football? Is there many Protestant towns in Monaghan anymore? There is the rumour that Clones has a Protestant majority anyway.
Post by: Pangurban on June 10, 2008, 02:46:57 AM
Ballynahinch - St John's or Teconnaugh

You are wrong 5Sams, drumaness serves Ballynahinch as they belong to the same Parish of Magheradroll
Post by: Lecale2 on June 10, 2008, 07:32:27 AM
I remember Ballynahinch having their own club but it must be 20 years ago now.
Post by: thebandit on June 10, 2008, 09:48:02 AM
Clones town has a catholic majority, but the catchment area in the west of the county would have the highest proportion of prods of any area in the 26 counties
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 10, 2008, 09:55:47 AM
What about lisburn??
Post by: stpauls on June 10, 2008, 10:04:56 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 10, 2008, 09:55:47 AM
What about lisburn??

Lisburn have a team but cannot remember their name!!
Post by: stiffler on June 10, 2008, 10:07:10 AM
Quote from: stpauls on June 10, 2008, 10:04:56 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 10, 2008, 09:55:47 AM
What about lisburn??

Lisburn have a team but cannot remember their name!!

St Patricks Lisburn

http://www.stpatricksgac.com/ (http://www.stpatricksgac.com/)
Post by: Doire abú on June 10, 2008, 10:16:57 AM
On census day (29 April 2001) there were 71,465 people living in Lisburn. Of these:

* 25.4% were aged under 16 years and 15.6% were aged 60 and over.
    * 52.1% were female and 47.9% were male.
    * 54.2% were from a Protestant background and 41.7% were from a Catholic background.
    * 4.0% of people aged 16-74 were unemployed.[3]

Jaysus they'd need to have a team considering they've 30,000 odd Catholics.
Post by: Square Ball on June 10, 2008, 10:44:08 AM
is twinbrook considered part of lisburn?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 10, 2008, 10:57:15 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on June 10, 2008, 10:44:08 AM
is twinbrook considered part of lisburn?

I think both Twinbrook and Poleglass and Lagmore are all part of Lisburn council area, would probably account for most of the Nationalists in Lisburn!
Post by: DownFanatic on June 10, 2008, 11:05:47 AM
This is slightly off the topic. Just a few years ago a new primary school was created in the Carryduff parish to accomodate the rising number of people in that area.
As we know Carryduff have a massive playing base and can field two teams in each group at underage. They also field 3 men's Senior teams.
Down the road Bredagh are very similar in that they can field a couple of teams at each grade as well as 3 men's Senior teams.
I was just wondering whether anyone thinks it could be a possibility that a new club could be formed in this area in the near future?
Post by: illdecide on June 10, 2008, 11:09:45 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 01, 2007, 11:20:43 AM
Gilford - Tullylish (Down) ??
Loughgall - The Mighty Ballyhegan Davitts (Though some choose Annaghmore/Collegeland)
Tandragee - Pontyspass??

Gilford is def Co Down and Tullylish serve that village even though they are 2 miles away in Laurencetown
Post by: Doire abú on June 10, 2008, 01:09:56 PM
The Lisburn figures only account for the town city, not the council area I think.

The figureds for the council area are:

Population - 112,900
Protestant: 62.8%
Catholic: 33.4%

Wikipedia all the way.
Post by: haranguerer on June 10, 2008, 02:26:41 PM
Quote from: Armagh Cúchulainns on February 01, 2007, 02:16:23 PM
Lisbellaw,

Only what i heard.

Dont know why its called Lisbellaw, its always confused me, and this seems the likeliest reason  ;)
A lot of their hurlers would play football for maguiresbridge (which isn't much greener) as well as the other clubs mentioned. Dont think any of the hurlers would actually say they were from lisbellaw, ballyhaise man is spot on!

Ballinamallard hasnt got a GAA club, wouldnt be much call for one either...
Post by: nrico2006 on June 10, 2008, 02:52:06 PM
I have never heard of Moira having a team.
Post by: stpauls on June 10, 2008, 03:02:38 PM
Moira don't have a team, the closest there would be St. Michael's of Magheralin.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 10, 2008, 03:05:44 PM
I know, but someone earlier tried to state Moira had a St Michaels which they don't.  Dollingstown don't have one either.  Don't think there is any in Lurgan either!
Post by: Uladh on June 10, 2008, 03:16:35 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 10, 2008, 03:05:44 PM
Don't think there is any in Lurgan either!

None worth talking about anyway...
Post by: snappiered on June 10, 2008, 03:55:15 PM
Mountfield in Tyrone. The home of a number of past and present Tyrone Inter county players. To name a few Dermot Carlin, Brian Leo Damian and Rory Meenan, Ciaran Carland + the young lad who played full back for Tyrone Minors on Sunday Daniel Gorman. All these lads play for Killyclogher.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 10, 2008, 04:38:04 PM
Not much demand for gaelic in moira!

Couldn't be bothered reading the whole lot but hopefully someone has said that brownlow is a small area in the town of craigavon (should be city) which is served by eire og
Post by: Bitta-Banter on June 10, 2008, 05:07:18 PM
Just on the Darragh Cross issue,Saintfield and Ballygowan are in the same parish as Darragh.There is virtually no Catholics left in Ballygown which is proven by the closure of the Catholic primary school in the village. Pity cos of the few catholics there were in ballygowan they always came and played for the club.Theres alotta catholics in saintfield but few play.Theres no saintfield men on the senior panel,and only a couple playing underage for the club, which is a pity.Darragh Cross would compete with teconnaught for players from Crossgar, but really it relies on people from out and around Darragh Cross.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 10, 2008, 08:56:36 PM
Fellow Gaels,
This one has gotten me thinking.

What's the largest town/village in the country with no GAA club?

I mean none at all.For example Markethill in Armagh has no club but Mullabrack would still be in the parish(I stand to be corrected on that).

I think Richill must be in with a shout?
Post by: Doire abú on June 10, 2008, 11:05:06 PM
Surely everywhere in the country is covered by a GAA club?
Post by: Donagh on June 10, 2008, 11:59:48 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 10, 2008, 02:52:06 PM

St. Michael's, Magheralin
Post by: Donagh on June 11, 2008, 12:01:22 AM
Loughgall
Post by: the green man on June 11, 2008, 12:03:54 AM
Macosquin. Not served by any GAA club as far as I'm aware.
Post by: KIDDO 4 on June 11, 2008, 01:01:25 AM
Caledon.
Post by: tyrone86 on June 11, 2008, 01:36:49 AM
Quote from: KIDDO 4 on June 11, 2008, 01:01:25 AM
Caledon.

Aghaloo takes in Aughnacloy and Caledon as far as I'm aware
Post by: nrico2006 on June 11, 2008, 09:13:44 AM
QuoteQuote from: nrico2006 on June 10, 2008, 02:52:06 PM

Yeah, but I was talking about Moira.
Post by: stiffler on June 11, 2008, 09:17:09 AM
Carrickfergus?
Post by: thebandit on June 11, 2008, 09:45:59 AM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 10, 2008, 08:56:36 PM
Fellow Gaels,
This one has gotten me thinking.

What's the largest town/village in the country with no GAA club?

I mean none at all.For example Markethill in Armagh has no club but Mullabrack would still be in the parish(I stand to be corrected on that).

I think Richill must be in with a shout?

Does Ballyhegan not cover Richill?
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on June 11, 2008, 09:49:55 AM
Carrickfergus is a large town. It must be the largest without a club but theres no way I would walk through the palce in a jersey.
Post by: passedit on June 11, 2008, 09:51:39 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 11, 2008, 01:10:43 AM
Bangor?

St.Pauls will probably start shouting but Bangor is Bangor and Holywood is Holywood.
Bangor is pretty big and I don't think they have a club.

from st pauls website

QuoteThe next milestone in the story is the foundation of the St. Paul's Gaelic Football Club in 1979. St. Paul's is an amalgamation of the Holywood, Bangor and Newtownards clubs. In 1963 the Scrabo Harps club was founded in Newtownards. The Bangor club was founded in 1963 and remained active in the Down League until 1978.

You could add Donaghadee to that list
Post by: Donagh on June 11, 2008, 10:04:29 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 11, 2008, 09:13:44 AM
QuoteQuote from: nrico2006 on June 10, 2008, 02:52:06 PM

Same parish.
Post by: stpauls on June 11, 2008, 10:26:20 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 11, 2008, 01:10:43 AM
Bangor?

St.Pauls will probably start shouting but Bangor is Bangor and Holywood is Holywood.
Bangor is pretty big and I don't think they have a club.

no, passedit got there before me!!
Post by: Guillem2 on June 11, 2008, 10:32:17 AM
So St Paul's Holywood are the only football club in that huge area of North Down, East Belfast & Ards. Youse have a big pick. Do many Ards hurlers play football with youse?
Post by: stpauls on June 11, 2008, 10:42:25 AM
Quote from: Guillem2 on June 11, 2008, 10:32:17 AM
So St Paul's Holywood are the only football club in that huge area of North Down, East Belfast & Ards. Youse have a big pick. Do many Ards hurlers play football with youse?

we might have a huge pick Guillem, but what percentage of the huge population would associate (or want to associate) themselves with the GAA, or to put it another way, are actually interested in playing with the club!!
Post by: bingobus on June 11, 2008, 10:53:44 AM
Although not in the North, Scotstown club in Monaghan covers a vast area and number of villages - They pick from the villages of Scotstown, Knockatallon, Ballinode, Tydavnet, Urbashanny (sp) and all the rural areas in between right into Monaghan Town.

They always operate very well on top of that. This year they have 2 Under 12's teams, they have a pick of 64 Under 12's without any Under 10's included. We're a town team and struggle for 20 U12's and have been starting about 4 U10's in that 20.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 11, 2008, 11:09:39 AM
QuoteQuote from: nrico2006 on Today at 09:13:44 AM

Same parish.

Fair enough but the thread is covering towns/villages and not parishes, but as previously mentioned there is probably quite a few towns with no teams that are covered by another team in the parish.  Theres also the like of Portballintrae and Bready.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 11, 2008, 11:13:19 AM
Sure there would be little or no demand for a club in moira, they would hardly start one when st micks is just down the road!
Post by: under the bar on June 11, 2008, 11:16:36 AM
Dungannon doesnt have a club worth mentioning................
Post by: Donagh on June 11, 2008, 11:19:26 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 11, 2008, 11:09:39 AM
QuoteQuote from: nrico2006 on Today at 09:13:44 AM

Same parish.

Fair enough but the thread is covering towns/villages and not parishes, but as previously mentioned there is probably quite a few towns with no teams that are covered by another team in the parish.  Theres also the like of Portballintrae and Bready.

Clubs in most counties are organised on a parish basis. Moria and Magheralin are in the same parish and so Moria has a team.
Post by: stiffler on June 11, 2008, 11:26:52 AM
There also used to be a team in Kilwarlin, however this has amalgamated with St Michaels Magheralin.
Post by: Onlooker on June 11, 2008, 11:29:03 AM
As far as I remember, George Lavery the great Down corner back on the All Ireland winning teams of 1960 and 1961 played for Kilwarlin.
Post by: Orior on June 11, 2008, 11:39:30 AM
Gilford, Co Down is that Tullylish?
Post by: stiffler on June 11, 2008, 11:45:57 AM
Is there any clubs near to Jordanstown?
Post by: Donagh on June 11, 2008, 11:59:21 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 11, 2008, 11:39:30 AM

Tullylish is in Laurencetown but takes in Gilford. But probably about time they got their own club - the population is there for it now.
Post by: passedit on June 11, 2008, 12:07:40 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 11, 2008, 11:59:21 AM

Tullylish is in Laurencetown but takes in Gilford. But probably about time they got their own club - the population is there for it now.

Gilford is in tullylish parish, there used to be two teams, Gilford and Laurencetown. One of Tullylishs main problems over the years has been their inability to entice enough gilford wans outta the pub, bookies, soccer club(in that order) onto the gaelic pitch.
Post by: behind the wire on June 11, 2008, 12:24:21 PM
Quote from: passedit on June 11, 2008, 12:07:40 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 11, 2008, 11:59:21 AM

Gilford is in tullylish parish, there used to be two teams, Gilford and Laurencetown. One of Tullylishs main problems over the years has been their inability to entice enough gilford wans outta the pub, bookies, soccer club(in that order) onto the gaelic pitch.

bring back the geraldines
Post by: stpauls on June 11, 2008, 12:37:43 PM
Quote from: stiffler on June 11, 2008, 11:45:57 AM

the nearest one would probably be St. Enda's in Glengormley.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 11, 2008, 01:28:08 PM
Quote from: stpauls on June 11, 2008, 12:37:43 PM
Quote from: stiffler on June 11, 2008, 11:45:57 AM

the nearest one would probably be St. Enda's in Glengormley.

St Endas has some size of an area to cover alright!
Post by: nrico2006 on June 11, 2008, 01:34:29 PM
We may aswell rename the thread towns or villages without GAA clubs but with GAA clubs nearby!
Post by: western exile on June 11, 2008, 02:34:03 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 11, 2008, 01:34:29 PM
We may aswell rename the thread towns or villages without GAA clubs but with GAA clubs nearby!
What is your point?   Most GAA clubs have their origins in the parish structure. And most still do. Many parishes cover more than one urban area, but the pitch and clubrooms physically can be in only one location. Just because a village is "nearby", as you put it, does not mean it should be excluded from the catchment area of the club
Post by: illdecide on June 11, 2008, 05:16:05 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 10, 2008, 03:16:35 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 10, 2008, 03:05:44 PM
Don't think there is any in Lurgan either!

None worth talking about anyway...

V Good Uladh, don't start me on how good you're club is...

Post by: illdecide on June 11, 2008, 05:19:37 PM
Quote from: stiffler on June 11, 2008, 11:26:52 AM
There also used to be a team in Kilwarlin, however this has amalgamated with St Michaels Magheralin.

you're half right. Kilwarlin would have had the catchment from Moira however they were fierce rivals with St Michaels and did not amalgamate. as far as i'm aware they sold their field and ceased to exist due to dwindling numbers (and too many prods in the area ;))
Post by: thebandit on June 11, 2008, 07:01:16 PM
Quote from: bingobus on June 11, 2008, 10:53:44 AM
Although not in the North, Scotstown club in Monaghan covers a vast area and number of villages - They pick from the villages of Scotstown, Knockatallon, Ballinode, Tydavnet, Urbashanny (sp) and all the rural areas in between right into Monaghan Town.

They always operate very well on top of that. This year they have 2 Under 12's teams, they have a pick of 64 Under 12's without any Under 10's included. We're a town team and struggle for 20 U12's and have been starting about 4 U10's in that 20.

Its an awful pity of youse..... sure you might pick up a few underage players out in the country somewhere!!!!
Post by: Aerlik on June 12, 2008, 08:37:29 AM
Ahem, the Gaels of Aghadowey were served by the mighty James Connolly's for two brief stints in the late 60's and in the early 80's.  Yours truly used to line out for them in midfield/chf in the 80's.  If any of you have been at the motorbike course there the pitch was in the middle.  It was a decent auld spot too, with good drainage.  The players were made up of Aghadowey lads and a few from Armoy, Ballymoney (oh and myself - but I don't want to explain that one...too many skeletons!).  Claim to fame was the N.Derry Junior championship in the '60s and getting to the semi of the county junior c'ship in 1984, beating Magilligan along the way and subsequently getting leathered by Limavady.  The battles with Glack and Ogra, Lissan and Coleraine stick in my mind.  Any one with a semblance of football ability were targeted.  Windmall abu there was a fella Devlin playing in the fullback line for Ogra in the '80s.  Christ almighty he was a feckin savage.  Overweight, undersized and with a beard. 

There's a rumour there's a club in Dunloy and Rasharkin  :P :P :P
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 12, 2008, 08:39:26 AM
Ballygawley.

I think there used to be a club there called St. Ciaran's, but I haven't heard of them in nearly 20 years.
Post by: feetofflames on June 12, 2008, 08:48:46 AM
It was replaced by Errigal Ciaran 3rds. 
Post by: Lecale2 on June 12, 2008, 08:52:55 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 11, 2008, 05:19:37 PM
Quote from: stiffler on June 11, 2008, 11:26:52 AM

you're half right. Kilwarlin would have had the catchment from Moira however they were fierce rivals with St Michaels and did not amalgamate. as far as i'm aware they sold their field and ceased to exist due to dwindling numbers (and too many prods in the area ;))

Kilwarlin were a force in Down football in the 60s before they amalgamated with Magheralin to form St Michael's. They returned for a few years in 1980s but packed it in again due to low numbers. Here's a link to their story http://www.downgaa.net/downgaa/clubs/stmichaels/history/history.htm (http://www.downgaa.net/downgaa/clubs/stmichaels/history/history.htm)
Post by: nrico2006 on June 12, 2008, 11:02:04 AM
QuoteQuote from: nrico2006 on June 11, 2008, 01:34:29 PM

What is your point?   Most GAA clubs have their origins in the parish structure. And most still do. Many parishes cover more than one urban area, but the pitch and clubrooms physically can be in only one location. Just because a village is "nearby", as you put it, does not mean it should be excluded from the catchment area of the club

True, but my point is look at the f**king title of the thread.

Post by: bingobus on June 12, 2008, 11:59:28 AM
Quote from: thebandit on June 11, 2008, 07:01:16 PM

Its an awful pity of youse..... sure you might pick up a few underage players out in the country somewhere!!!!

Oh change the record FFS. I was trying to make the point that these villages are large areas, far bigger than the likes of Toome anyway.
Post by: western exile on June 12, 2008, 03:31:30 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 12, 2008, 11:02:04 AM
QuoteQuote from: nrico2006 on June 11, 2008, 01:34:29 PM

True, but my point is look at the f**king title of the thread.

Then the thread is pointless !  ;D   Since GAA clubs, outside of the cities, have always been about the parish, and NOT centric to Towns/Villages per se unless the town village is centric to the parish.  There is no need for you to be pedantic / sarcastic about peoples posts when the title itself is flawed  8)
Post by: thebandit on June 13, 2008, 09:54:26 AM
Quote from: bingobus on June 12, 2008, 11:59:28 AM
Quote from: thebandit on June 11, 2008, 07:01:16 PM

Oh change the record FFS. I was trying to make the point that these villages are large areas, far bigger than the likes of Toome anyway.

As far as I can see they should really be 3/4 seperate clubs
Post by: Truth hurts on February 21, 2023, 02:02:16 PM
Still no team in Portavogie :)
Post by: FermGael on February 21, 2023, 07:15:05 PM
Ballinamallard and Kesh have had struggles fielding in recent years in Fermanagh
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 21, 2023, 07:17:46 PM
Quote from: FermGael on February 21, 2023, 07:15:05 PM
Ballinamallard and Kesh have had struggles fielding in recent years in Fermanagh

Not surprised about Kesh, its a wee loyalist stronghold, mate lives there but he's South African, not sure if he's a prod or catholic South African ;D
Post by: imtommygunn on February 21, 2023, 07:24:17 PM
Donaghadee, Bangor.

Bangor very big to not have a Gaa team. Unless it has one I don't know about.
Post by: marty34 on February 21, 2023, 07:35:45 PM
Does Fivemiletown have a GAA club near it?  I know it's on the border with Fermanagh but there's a primary school in it and a chapel..I think.
Post by: Nanderson on February 21, 2023, 07:38:03 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 21, 2023, 07:24:17 PM
Donaghadee, Bangor.

Donaghadee could be untapped potential. Wee jamie could be a future star of the GAA and we dont even know it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 21, 2023, 07:41:39 PM
Donaghadee, Bangor.

Bangor could have but wouldn't get much support, few Catholic schools but never known it to have clubs
Post by: marty34 on February 21, 2023, 07:53:23 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 21, 2023, 07:41:39 PM
Donaghadee, Bangor.

Bangor could have but wouldn't get much support, few Catholic schools but never known it to have clubs

Probably capacity to develop on there alright. If there's a couple of secondary schools in the area, plus a few primary schools, it could become the new East Belfast Gaels.

Plenty of middle class about it?

I think there's a club in Holywood.

Post by: delgany on February 21, 2023, 07:55:08 PM
Donaghadee, Bangor.

Bangor had a GAA club to 1978.
N'ards, Bangor and Holywood amalgamated in 1979 to form St.Pauls
Post by: seafoid on February 21, 2023, 08:39:32 PM
Quote from: FermGael on February 21, 2023, 07:15:05 PM
Is Ballinamallard not more of a soccer area?
Post by: SaffronSports on February 21, 2023, 08:40:11 PM
I live in Carnlough and i think my closest club across the four main codes are four different clubs.

Camogie - St John's Carnlough
Hurling - Shane Uí Néill Glenarm
LGFA - Oisin Glenariffe
Men's Football - Either Ballymena or Glenravel.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 21, 2023, 08:50:24 PM
Quote from: delgany on February 21, 2023, 07:55:08 PM
Donaghadee, Bangor.

Bangor had a GAA club to 1978.
N'ards, Bangor and Holywood amalgamated in 1979 to form St.Pauls

Feels like a big catchment area. I think st pauls are on the up and have good grounds so tapping in a bit.
Post by: Mario on February 22, 2023, 06:53:57 AM
The people of Bangor don't even know what county they are in. The top half of the ards peninsula is as far removed from anything remotely irish as you can get, people there think anything past Belfast is another world. Not surprised they don't have a gaa club
Post by: ardtole on February 22, 2023, 07:21:29 AM
It's a 41 minute drive from Ballycrans gaa pitch to St Paul's gaa club in Hollywood. I'd doubt there is another stretch of road as long in Ireland without a gaa club. There are numerous towns and villages east of this road and I'd be suprised if there will ever be gaa clubs in this region.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2023, 07:32:38 AM
Quote from: Mario on February 22, 2023, 06:53:57 AM
The people of Bangor don't even know what county they are in. The top half of the ards peninsula is as far removed from anything remotely irish as you can get, people there think anything past Belfast is another world. Not surprised they don't have a gaa club

In fairness sport isn't a big thing either, both Ards and Bangor soccer clubs are pish poor, rugby and hockey not doing well.

Marching still number one sport
Post by: ardtole on February 22, 2023, 08:11:15 AM
And pigeon racing.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2023, 08:58:24 AM
Quote from: ardtole on February 22, 2023, 08:11:15 AM
And pigeon racing.

My great uncle was mad into pigeon racing, had his own pigeon 'shack' was probably best describing it from memory, was too happy when I enter the pigeon coop and frightened his award winning birds!!

Was a big deal where I lived and the Pigeon club down the street was a big meeting area every week for all the other clubs to wheel and deal pigeons!
Post by: DownFanatic on February 22, 2023, 10:44:35 AM
There is a huge population base for St Paul's to exploit. Demographically they've a big take but this probably isn't consolidated by the cultural makeup of the area. Newtownards has St Finian's P.S. and Loughries IPS with St Mary's P.S. nearby in Comber. There is St Malachy's P.S. in Bangor along with St Comgall's P.S. in the same town. Glencraig IPS and St Patrick's P.S. are in Holywood with St Anne's P.S. in Donaghadee. There are eight primary schools alone that they could be drawing from.

Have always believed that an urban taskforce for want of a better term should be created in Down. We have most of South and East Belfast plus that whole metropolitan area of North Down. Then large towns like Newcastle, Downpatrick and Banbridge along with the 'city' of Newry. We really should be maximising our potential in all of our urban areas.
Post by: johnnycool on February 22, 2023, 11:03:18 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on February 22, 2023, 10:44:35 AM
There is a huge population base for St Paul's to exploit. Demographically they've a big take but this probably isn't consolidated by the cultural makeup of the area. Newtownards has St Finian's P.S. and Loughries IPS with St Mary's P.S. nearby in Comber. There is St Malachy's P.S. in Bangor along with St Comgall's P.S. in the same town. Glencraig IPS and St Patrick's P.S. are in Holywood with St Anne's P.S. in Donaghadee. There are eight primary schools alone that they could be drawing from.

Have always believed that an urban taskforce for want of a better term should be created in Down. We have most of South and East Belfast plus that whole metropolitan area of North Down. Then large towns like Newcastle, Downpatrick and Banbridge along with the 'city' of Newry. We really should be maximising our potential in all of our urban areas.

Loughries Integrated PS??? I'd love to see the breakdown of that wee school! Heck they've only started allowing in GDO's into Kircubbin Integrated that last few years or so.

Comber would come into the catchment area of Darragh Cross I'd have thought even though it's 10 miles or so away, but you've Ballygowan, Saintfield and all in that area with pretty decent populations.
We used to get a few underage hurlers out of Bangor/Holywood/Ards area from going to school in Knock with some of our lads, but they never stuck at it.

You've places like Carrowdore, Ballyhalbert, Greyabbey, etc etc and they wouldn't even have youth soccer teams. Heck even Ballywalter had to cancel some underage soccer games one Saturday as it was first communion on in Kircubbin and a few weeks later also had to cancel games as the Down Feile was on in Portaferry.

More into farming, motorbikes and marching.
Post by: DownFanatic on February 22, 2023, 11:06:16 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on February 22, 2023, 11:03:18 AM

Loughries Integrated PS??? I'd love to see the breakdown of that wee school! Heck they've only started allowing in GDO's into Kircubbin Integrated that last few years or so.

Comber would come into the catchment area of Darragh Cross I'd have thought even though it's 10 miles or so away, but you've Ballygowan, Saintfield and all in that area with pretty decent populations.
We used to get a few underage hurlers out of Bangor/Holywood/Ards area from going to school in Knock with some of our lads, but they never stuck at it.

You've places like Carrowdore, Ballyhalbert, Greyabbey, etc etc and they wouldn't even have youth soccer teams. Heck even Ballywalter had to cancel some underage soccer games one Saturday as it was first communion on in Kircubbin and a few weeks later also had to cancel games as the Down Feile was on in Portaferry.

Was there never any sort of tradition of Ards hurlers playing football for St Paul's at a time? I do mind Kevin McGarry and Magic Johnston throwing their lot in with Loughinisland, Brendan McGourty with Darragh Cross, Danny Toner with Saul and a few of the Ennis men with Carryduff.
Post by: johnnycool on February 22, 2023, 11:14:50 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on February 22, 2023, 11:06:16 AM

Was there never any sort of tradition of Ards hurlers playing football for St Paul's at a time? I do mind Kevin McGarry and Magic Johnston throwing their lot in with Loughinisland, Brendan McGourty with Darragh Cross, Danny Toner with Saul and a few of the Ennis men with Carryduff.

Don't recollect St Pauls ever having the misfortune of having any of our lads line out for them, there's still the odd one fúcks around with Saul or Kilcilef AFAIK.

If wee Danny is ever seen in a Saul jersey again I'll hit him a boot up the hole.. ;)

Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2023, 11:18:47 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on February 22, 2023, 11:06:16 AM

Sean Og' McGourty Ballycran, played football for St Galls, few county championships, maybe even an Ulster football title from 82 and Kilmacud Sevens titles from that period. Blaney also played a bitta football I think ;)
Post by: seafoid on February 22, 2023, 12:29:04 PM
Down is so interesting between Mickey Linden, the hurling and the other side. 
Post by: imtommygunn on February 22, 2023, 12:56:07 PM
It feels like two counties really. The ards and the rest. You could argue belfast teams / carryduff as another one too. Huge areas of it with no football and then on the flip side probably more with no hurling.
Post by: armaghniac on February 22, 2023, 01:01:42 PM
North Down should have some more possibility, apart from the 4% nationalist vote there is 36% in the middle ground. Not traditional GAA territory to be sure, but not all bonfire night territory either and some of the social structure might be like south Dublin where the GAA has managed to make inroads with the likes of Cuala or Kilmacud.
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2023, 01:13:00 PM
Jarlath will get a load of that 36% on board😉
Post by: Truth hurts on February 22, 2023, 02:18:40 PM
There is a load of places that Down GAA could be tapping into and I have said for years that these areas and primary schools should be targeted by the GPO of the county. Primary schools in Kilcoo, Burren, Mayobridge, Hilltown etc do not need as much coaching as the urban areas where there is a struggle against other sports and interests. at least we have a county board that realise the county does not stop at Castlewellan lake :)
Post by: delgany on February 22, 2023, 03:50:26 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on February 22, 2023, 02:18:40 PM
There is a load of places that Down GAA could be tapping into and I have said for years that these areas and primary schools should be targeted by the GPO of the county. Primary schools in Kilcoo, Burren, Mayobridge, Hilltown etc do not need as much coaching as the urban areas where there is a struggle against other sports and interests. at least we have a county board that realise the county does not stop at Castlewellan lake :)

Havent seen a GDO in three years! Never mind any communication or information from the GD Manager- it the waiting that kills you most!