How much would you spend on a wedding present?

Started by pintsofguinness, October 15, 2008, 09:48:19 PM

Candyman

Anyone who wants to make money from their wedding and budgets accordingly to do so is a complete tool!!!
Im getting married in 2028 so i've plenty of time to save... lol  ;)

kinghen

Quote from: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 10:10:43 AM
Anyone who wants to make money from their wedding and budgets accordingly to do so is a complete tool!!!
Im getting married in 2028 so i've plenty of time to save... lol  ;)

just for the record, i wasnt saying that this is how i would go about doing things, was merely stating that when you look at the figures it might be possible to cover your costs! I agree that anyone that is looking to make money out of their wedding day is an ass hole! but i still think that giving something to cover the cost of your own meal is courteous even if it shouldnt be "expected"

Yes I Would

Quote from: full back on October 16, 2008, 08:55:34 AM
Think 'Yes I Would' is getting married in December (said he was going on honeymoon in Dec).

Have you a wedding list or are you looking for the green back?
How many from the board are invited? (Dont ask pog, he will get you feck all)

Yes Full Back the big day is looming, although if Downgirl keeps sending me those nudey pics i will have a big decison to make over the next few weeks.
Think 240 invited, expecting about 200 to show considerimg the times we are in and the time of year.
No wedding list provided with CPO (Cash presents Only) very much prefered. Ive been forking out £120 stg this past 3 or 4 years and just assumed that this was now the going rate. Some people will no doubt give a few quid more or a few quid less, so it should even itself out.  
Remember its not about the money its about the lifetime commitment to the woman you love!!

Jeez i hope to god none of the shower that be on here are going although you just wouldnt know.
By the way if anyone wants to offer a monetary donation as a present PM me and i will provide my bank details.

Give betwen €150 and €200 yo yo's for a wedding thankfully most of the lads are married at this stage, i'd nearly prefer a court summons rather than a wedding invite at this stage its gone so expensive  ;)

Any chance of sending a few of them nudey pics 'yes I would' ?

Do you think the time of year has a bearing on the presents you give to people?

BTW, where is the wedding? If it is in 'Mexico' the exchange rate has fcuked you :-\

Quote from: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 09:32:59 AM
I'll see ye Sunday sure in the Green & Gold!!  ;)

Im not a Green and Gold man, I'll be watching as a neutral

Candyman

If someone fairly close was odd enough to get married at a very small ceremony and not invite you would you still get them a present?

I believe no is the correct answer  ;)

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 02:49:46 PM
If someone fairly close was odd enough to get married at a very small ceremony and not invite you would you still get them a present?

Fcuk thats a bit rough Tony, they must hate you.........

Quote from: Minder on October 16, 2008, 02:51:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 02:49:46 PM

Fcuk thats a bit rough Tony, they must hate you.........
No they're just a bit odd. I have a feeling someone is after the groom! Saves me a few hundred quid anyway which they wouldn't have deserved anyway.

IF you are in it for the dough then invite loads of people that you know won't go.  Senior bosses, CEO, local MP, MEP, Vice Chancellor of Queens, Mary McAleese, The Lord Viceroy of India etc,

Quote from: Yes I Would on October 16, 2008, 10:17:02 AM
Think 'Yes I Would' is getting married in December (said he was going on honeymoon in Dec).

Yes Full Back the big day is looming, although if Downgirl keeps sending me those nudey pics i will have a big decison to make over the next few weeks.
Think 240 invited, expecting about 200 to show considerimg the times we are in and the time of year.
No wedding list provided with CPO (Cash presents Only) very much prefered. Ive been forking out £120 stg this past 3 or 4 years and just assumed that this was now the going rate. Some people will no doubt give a few quid more or a few quid less, so it should even itself out.  
Remember its not about the money its about the lifetime commitment to the woman you love!!

Jeez i hope to god none of the shower that be on here are going although you just wouldnt know.
By the way if anyone wants to offer a monetary donation as a present PM me and i will provide my bank details.

Hullo.  My Name is Prince Comere G'wan Feck from Hoomalooma in Nigeria.

Me got $600million tied up in bank shares that me and you split 50:50.  All I need is your bank account details, yo mammas maiden name, your passport number and what colour of kecks your wearing.

Maiden1

Had about 200 at our wedding.  We had been saving for a few years so had it paid for before the wedding.  Not sure if we broke even but had about 10k in the back pocket for the honeymoon in Vegas    :D
There are no proofs, only opinions.

people who I like and who aren't actually inviting me for my present would get plenty.
My cousin got married a while back, 300 or soemthing at his wedding, he'd hardly say hello to me if he met me in the street but I was invited to his  ::)  He didn't even get one of those return cards.

QuoteAnywhere between £100-£140 in the occupied 6.  Down in Mexico, its between 150 and 200 yoyo's
If it's not family (that you like) or a close friend I think that's ridiculous.

I am getting married tomorrow, had planned "the big day" for September '09 but couldnt justify the outlay or hassle. Having 2 witnesses at the chapel then going for something to eat afterwards in Nicks Warehouse in Belfast. Usually you have to give at least 3 mths notice to get married but the priest said he would make an exception as he agreed with the way we were doing things. He said he hates seeing young couples getting into debt over the head of one day. He also said if he told a couple that the previous wedding he did had a smoke machine at the front door and the bride walked through it up the aisle the couple would want one............The secrets out