Irish mercenaries, unionist coat trailers and the Bard of Dunclug

Started by Donagh, October 08, 2008, 11:58:43 AM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2008, 12:41:47 AM
I got your message and pm. Heading to the pit now. It's alright for a boy like you...

Die mother f**ker

After being told of McSparrans comments today (some of us still don't buy that rag John after they shit all over the funeral of an Antrim gael, do you not remember?, but enough of that)  I tried to call Mr Armstrong with a view to deleting this thread if I got a reasonable explanation. Neither of the numbers Mr Armstrong provided nor the UUP offices were answering.

I'm not surprised that unionist politicians hold such opinions but I'm disgusted that when exposed the so called independent media don't hold them to account. Fair play to the Belfast Tele, the paper that wouldn't put a GAA story on the back page, is the one that asks the most probing questions.

Quote from: Minder on October 12, 2008, 12:51:38 AM
What Antrim gael Donah?

Best not brought up again in detail Minder but the IN cynically cast the sins of the father onto the son (at his wake). They never forgave Dinny Cahill for making a principled stand against them by refusing interviews.   

Quote from: Donagh on October 12, 2008, 01:17:50 AM
What Antrim gael Donah?

Best not brought up again in detail Minder but the IN cynically cast the sins of the father onto the son (at his wake). They never forgave Dinny Cahill for making a principled stand against them by refusing interviews.   

PM then Donagh, im intrigued

Quote from: Minder on October 12, 2008, 01:19:35 AM
Quote from: Donagh on October 12, 2008, 01:17:50 AM
What Antrim gael Donah?

PM then Donagh, im intrigued

Sent

sledge hammer

bignifanatic your attempts to support mr armstrong are pathetic. to say anyones death ould 'cause me great pleasure' is sick to say the least. how you try to make out that he somehow 'didn't really mean it' is a bit disgusting. it is clear from mr armstrongs previous posts what his agenda is (was) on this board, to me and many others it isnt really capable of being defended.

but thats right, neil isnt a bad lad. we should just forget about it and leave him alone. (by the way, i could see the outrage there would be had an sdlp elected representative made the comments)

mr armstrong is a bigot belonging to a bygone age and your attempts to appease the situation are laughable to say the least.

the only problem with i have with this board at the minute is that the mods havent been acting in a transparent nature.

Quote from: Donagh on October 12, 2008, 12:48:06 AM
I'm not surprised that unionist politicians hold such opinions but I'm disgusted that when exposed the so called independent media don't hold them to account. Fair play to the Belfast Tele, the paper that wouldn't put a GAA story on the back page, is the one that asks the most probing questions.
What probing questions did the Belfast Tele ask?

They do now.

Quote from: Main Street on October 12, 2008, 12:58:13 PM
What probing questions did the Belfast Tele ask?

See here:

Quote from: red hander on October 10, 2008, 10:39:41 AM
From today's Belfast Telegraph:

Councillor denies forum slur
I've been set up says Ulster Unionist over offensive comments on GAA website

BY LESLEY-ANNE HENRY
lhenry@belfasttelegraph.co.uk

AN ULSTER Unionist councillor today denied posting offensive comments on a GAA discussion forum.
Neill Armstrong, a member of Ballymena Council, claimed an opportunist used his name and password to post the abusive remarks during an online conversation about next month's Royal Irish Regiment parade.
The discussion, entitled 'Irish mercenaries and unionist coat trailers', took place on the gaaboard.com website on Wednesday afternoon.
At about 3.20pm a controversial comment was posted from Mr Armstrong's username "The bard of dunclug". It read: "It's a real pity that the Army whilst they were in Northern Ireland hadn't taken some of the recent contributors to his thread out and killed them, that would have caused me real pleasure."
The post was in response to a previous comment which read: "As for the loyal Irish soldiers having a parade in Belfast, that is disgusting and unacceptable, the Parades Commission is toothless for the most part."
Just over half an hour later, at 4.01pm, Mr Armstrong intervened to say that someone had sabotaged his web address.
Mr Armstrong, a public representative of eight years experience, admitted he had been logged on to the Gaelic sports site earlier in the day, but said he had "forgotten to log out properly".
He wrote: "Hi, this is Neil Armstrong — it has been reported to me that someone has been using my name and password to type comments on the forums and first and foremost I never typed these comments. I must have left the general discussion page open when I left a computer I was using. I strongly condemn anybody who wishes violence on anybody and I would condemn anybody who has made these remarks. Neill."
Speaking to the Belfast Telegraph, Mr Armstrong said he had been set up and that his reputation had been "run into the ground and covered in muck" by the incident.
"I just didn't log off. I fully expected to be dragged through the coal. It was a simple error. People just believe the absolute worst of you. I am absolutely gutted. I really am. I have got up and I have said anybody on the noticeboard who wants to contact me, can. All I ask is to be judged on what I have done over the last eight years.
"I have gone on the noticeboard when someone told me what was said and I have condemned it unreservedly.
"This is what really aggravates me, if I had wanted to say something really controversial, I could be doing that every five minutes on it, couldn't I? This is what irks me because no matter what I say or do, I am an Ulster Unionist councillor, therefore I am going to be guilty anyway aren't I?
"I am hurt and disappointed. I am not trying to hide anything. This has broken my heart."
Mr Neill declined to say where he had been using the computer.
"I don't know who you contact about these sorts of things. The reality is if I contact a solicitor and people put these things on the board, what can you do?"
"I am taking steps and when I get the person who did it, I will give his or her name and I will get this sorted. But I am not really at liberty to give away the address. All I am saying is just give me a fair crack of the whip."

Thanks Maguire but I don't see the probing questions asked, that Donagh referred to, in the article.

Quote from: sledge hammer on October 12, 2008, 11:55:17 AM
bignifanatic your attempts to support mr armstrong are pathetic. to say anyones death ould 'cause me great pleasure' is sick to say the least. how you try to make out that he somehow 'didn't really mean it' is a bit disgusting. it is clear from mr armstrongs previous posts what his agenda is (was) on this board, to me and many others it isnt really capable of being defended.

but thats right, neil isnt a bad lad. we should just forget about it and leave him alone. (by the way, i could see the outrage there would be had an sdlp elected representative made the comments)

mr armstrong is a bigot belonging to a bygone age and your attempts to appease the situation are laughable to say the least.

the only problem with i have with this board at the minute is that the mods havent been acting in a transparent nature.

Grand so, you'll have no problem then with the Mods putting your name as the legally responsible owner of this site then? For trivial legal reasons and the like.

usual oul sihte but this time one was caught out.
two apologists (one the usual suspect nifan) were 'making the case' that it may very well have been someone else that posted this after the sectarian mr armstrong had 'left his computer unattended'.
While this is 'possible'  - the one escape chance that armstrong and nifan & bignifan cling to - its highly unlikely.
Even if it was, it does not clear the guy from his previous sectarian bigoted posts on here.
he was consistent in his sectarian bile previously (while demonstrating a half witted grasp of reality) so the contentious post
is hard to dismiss as the work of another person.

it was easy for the bard to hide behind his computer screen making such threats and bigoted comments, until his stupidity caused his cloak of anonimity to fall !

as for these claims that moderators 'have doubts whether it was he or not' thats bollix - the mods have said they didnt know - effectively as they had not conducted any admin query on the origins of the post ip address etc so couldnt say either way - that does not say they have doubts or that there is any proof yet leading us to believe that the ip add was or was not belonging to armstrong.
compelling electronic evidence against him to be honest I'd say - despits what the usual apologist/'equalisers'  are trying to water down and claim ! ::)

dodgy umpire

when i exit from this forum and go back to it several hours later, i am still logged in under my account, so it is possible that this is what has happened to neil armstrong. however it is more likely that armstrong left the comment himself as bignifanatic said he did and i think it was o'neill gave us a list of previous comments of a similar nature (though not as extreme) left by the bard
The Boys in Red and Black are back