All Ireland Senior Hurling Final - Port Láirge vs Cill Chainnigh - 7/09/2008

Started by dodo, August 17, 2008, 07:10:53 PM

Reillers

I didn't say they wont superb, I said they were great about 500 times over since the final, that it's the closest thing to perfection I've seen in the game, but I don't think they can replicate that again, I think as fantastic as KK are and they were bloody fantastic, Waterford were that bad, Cork, Tipp, hell Galway even would have given them a better run out then Waterford did.
I don't think they'll win it next season, I didn't say Cork would either, I actually said that Cork will need a season to get back on track. It's my oppinion for no other reason then a feeling that I don't think they'll win the AI.
I think someone needs to step up next season, I think Cork might do it, for pride more then anything. But it might be a season too soon, but I think I hope that the kids on the wings will be brought in, and there's some very good players there, but if that's the case there might be a bit too much inexperience there, we'll go in to win it all right but it might come a season too soon. I think a lot will be depending on how the League goes really and if we play our players who are there waiting to be played, but of course aren't getting a run in. I think we'll be a challenge next season, we might even get to the final, but it depends really on the team that'll be played. We've players there that are just waiting, just waiting to have a run in the team, it's up to the manager to play them, they didn't get enough of a chance last season because we were playing catch up because of the strike but hopefully this will be their year. 

I said back in at the start of the season that Waterford would be in the final and I got fierce looks saying it would be Tipp, I said Tyrone would be in the final as well, and I was again told that the chances of that were pretty slim.
I think KK wont win it next season, they can't and wont ever play that good again, with all due respect to them, they can't repeat that preformance, it's nothing to do with how good they are. It'd be impossible, they wont be against a team as poor as Waterford were in the final again for awhile anyway. And I think that that was their peak, teams peak, that was it, they look and are fantastic but all teams have a curve, I think tops there's only maybe a season or two left in them, it's something that happens to all teams and that's something even Cody can't fix. IF they can replicate that again then they've way too much time on their hands and Leinster needs a fast dramatic make over.

glens73

Quote from: Reillers on September 09, 2008, 08:21:14 PM
I didn't say they wont superb, I said they were great about 500 times over since the final, that it's the closest thing to perfection I've seen in the game, but I don't think they can replicate that again, I think as fantastic as KK are and they were bloody fantastic, Waterford were that bad, Cork, Tipp, hell Galway even would have given them a better run out then Waterford did.
I don't think they'll win it next season, I didn't say Cork would either, I actually said that Cork will need a season to get back on track. It's my oppinion for no other reason then a feeling that I don't think they'll win the AI.
I think someone needs to step up next season, I think Cork might do it, for pride more then anything. But it might be a season too soon, but I think I hope that the kids on the wings will be brought in, and there's some very good players there, but if that's the case there might be a bit too much inexperience there, we'll go in to win it all right but it might come a season too soon. I think a lot will be depending on how the League goes really and if we play our players who are there waiting to be played, but of course aren't getting a run in. I think we'll be a challenge next season, we might even get to the final, but it depends really on the team that'll be played. We've players there that are just waiting, just waiting to have a run in the team, it's up to the manager to play them, they didn't get enough of a chance last season because we were playing catch up because of the strike but hopefully this will be their year. 

I said back in at the start of the season that Waterford would be in the final and I got fierce looks saying it would be Tipp, I said Tyrone would be in the final as well, and I was again told that the chances of that were pretty slim.
I think KK wont win it next season, they can't and wont ever play that good again, with all due respect to them, they can't repeat that preformance, it's nothing to do with how good they are. It'd be impossible, they wont be against a team as poor as Waterford were in the final again for awhile anyway. And I think that that was their peak, teams peak, that was it, they look and are fantastic but all teams have a curve, I think tops there's only maybe a season or two left in them, it's something that happens to all teams and that's something even Cody can't fix. IF they can replicate that again then they've way too much time on their hands and Leinster needs a fast dramatic make over.

KK could play at 80% of Sunday's level and will still win it next year. They don't need to play as good as that again to win another AI.  A season or two left in them, you're joking aren't you, with young lads like Tommy Walsh, Cha, TJ Reid to name but 3. They have year in them. They change their team so seamlessly each year.

Never mind a Leinster makeover, if you put KK into Munster for a year or two everybody would be saying it's farcical like they are saying about Leinster as KK would walk it. It's up to everybody else to match the standard set by KK, and I can't see them being beat for a long time. They haven't lost a championship match since '05. I think only Cork or Tipp can hope to push them within 10 points, Galway have the hurlers but not the resolve (Joe Canning and one or two others aside)

Quote from: Reillers on September 09, 2008, 08:21:14 PM

Good picking but are Waterford now officially the 2nd best team in Ireland. If they are, then Kilkeeny will win it next year again.

Reillers

Does that mean Limerick was the second best team last season. I don't think so.
Waterford despite getting to the final weren't that good. One of the reasons I picked them to get in the final was because it was just obvious, everyone expected Tipp, everyone wrote off Waterford completley, after firing for the past 2 seasons. When it came down to it last season or so, they didn't live up to expectations or they believed what they read, I don't know, but the media had them pinned as their cover boys, as their favorites, they had so much pressure on them, this season they just fell off the media radar but they still wanted it as badly, if not more then before.

People say it should have been a Waterford Kilkenny final last season, maybe it should have I don't know, we would have definitly gotten a better game, Waterford might have even won. But this season they weren't that good, they got to the final all right by they weren't as good as they were last season by a long shot. SO no, I think the best team in Ireland is KK, the second best, I'd say Cork, but I don't know, it's a matter of oppinion. But not Waterford, not as good as they were, which is a pitty, would have been a good final.

can you send me some of the stuff you're taking Reillers. Maybe I can self delude myself into thinking that i've got the wealth of Abu Dhabi, look like james dean and am married to Gisele. !
Waterford were shite but cork can't get withing 8-9 of them and they are the second best, the rest aren't going to magically get better in 12 months. Hurling more tha any other game takes years to improve. Of the top 12 counties we can at this stage dismiss the claims of laois,dublin,antrim,offaly,wexford,limierick,clare,waterford,galway in my view. leaving cork, tipp and kilkenny. Cork will always give the cats a game but i can't see them beating the cats next year and I don;t think tipp are a s good as people think they are. Only Cork could break this cats team but it definitely won;t be next year or the year after in my view. maybe in 3 years they can.

youngfella

Pull hard and early

Reillers

can you send me some of the stuff you're taking Reillers. Maybe I can self delude myself into thinking that i've got the wealth of Abu Dhabi, look like james dean and am married to Gisele. !
Waterford were shite but cork can't get withing 8-9 of them and they are the second best, the rest aren't going to magically get better in 12 months. Hurling more tha any other game takes years to improve. Of the top 12 counties we can at this stage dismiss the claims of laois,dublin,antrim,offaly,wexford,limierick,clare,waterford,galway in my view. leaving cork, tipp and kilkenny. Cork will always give the cats a game but i can't see them beating the cats next year and I don;t think tipp are a s good as people think they are. Only Cork could break this cats team but it definitely won;t be next year or the year after in my view. maybe in 3 years they can.
Did you read my post at all?? I said that Waterford were shite, that IN MY OPINION Cork were second best but that was a matter of oppinion and now all you've done is parrot me.
Well done.

its the typical begrudging shite that emanates from Cork reillers. Your noses are out of joint that Kilkenny have produced a team that its better than anything you've ever have.
I would quite happily put my mortage on kilkenny winning the next 2 all-irelands, and as for "they won't win it next year" , who will then? Only kilkenny can lose next year's all-ireland and that won't happen with cody in charge. with minor and intermediate all-irelands in the bag and the 21 final to come yet, its a fanciful notion to think that the cats will be beaten next year when 9 of the 12 teams can be dismiissed as having absolutely no chance next year and the conveyor belt of talent  they have.

Realistically only Tipp could stop them in a few years IF everyone of their star minors comes through, which probably won;t happen as Tipp has a brutal record of bringing players through. Cork will give them a game but again won't beat them unless there is a drastic influx of forwards. The reality is TJ Reid who can't get on the Kilkenny team is beter than any of the young Cork forwards like Naughton, Horgan or Cronin. Unless Cork find 3 Joe Deane's in his prime in the next 9 months they can scratch off the next couple of years.

Reillers

Quote from: INDIANA on September 10, 2008, 08:48:37 PM
its the typical begrudging shite that emanates from Cork reillers. Your noses are out of joint that Kilkenny have produced a team that its better than anything you've ever have.
I would quite happily put my mortage on kilkenny winning the next 2 all-irelands, and as for "they won't win it next year" , who will then? Only kilkenny can lose next year's all-ireland and that won't happen with cody in charge. with minor and intermediate all-irelands in the bag and the 21 final to come yet, its a fanciful notion to think that the cats will be beaten next year when 9 of the 12 teams can be dismiissed as having absolutely no chance next year and the conveyor belt of talent  they have.

Realistically only Tipp could stop them in a few years IF everyone of their star minors comes through, which probably won;t happen as Tipp has a brutal record of bringing players through. Cork will give them a game but again won't beat them unless there is a drastic influx of forwards. The reality is TJ Reid who can't get on the Kilkenny team is beter than any of the young Cork forwards like Naughton, Horgan or Cronin. Unless Cork find 3 Joe Deane's in his prime in the next 9 months they can scratch off the next couple of years.

Where the f**k are you getting all this from, what did I actually say. Anything that might have remotely pissed you off was my oppinion, and I even said that it was MY OPINION.

Don't know what you're getting so wound up about, I said nothing.

youngfella

Back to the game. Just downloaded and watched the game http://www.bitdig.com/torrent/tv-shows/download-1354816/GAA-All-Ireland-Hurling-Final-Kilkenny-V-Waterford-7th-Sept-08.htmll.

Christ it was powerful, them cats are rutless everyone one them singing from the same sheet! I dont what more i can say about them there just unreal.
Pull hard and early

barryhatrick

"its the typical begrudging shite that emanates from Cork reillers"

I have to take issue with this one. I am also from Cork and I am as bewildered by the lack of understanding and objectivity shown in some of Reillers posts as anyone else. Kilkenny are awesome! They will surely go on to break records and create a dynasty that will be hard to match. That is the feeling among 99% of rebel fans including the die hards. Obviously every county has gobshites but this is the exception and certainly ot the rule. In general the rebel supporters have been gracious in accepting that this kk team is a notch above the rest of us. No flukes/no excuses and certainly no begrudgery here.

Are you sure you are from Cork barry? :D

Ah no, in all seriousness, what I find with Cork people is they are very confident of themselves and their team, but when they get beaten, they are very generous losers. In fairness to Reillers, I think he has said that Kilkenny were savage. He just isn't ready to concede that they are unbeatable. I admire that, and I think he might be right. There's always a chance someone will catch Kilkenny on an off day, and it's very premature in my opinion to be talking about 3 years down the line.

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 12, 2008, 11:20:36 AM
what I find with Cork people is ... when they get beaten, they are very generous losers.

You'd find few Meath people to agree with that AZ.

Just my experience Hardy. I think that Meath team got all sorts of feathers ruffled. That was an unsually spiteful relationship between themselves and Cork in 87-90.

Ah I know - we can all only go on our experiences and to be honest, the Corkonians aren't that bad when you've got over the first fifteen years of living amongst them. It's just that their reaction to being beaten in the AIF of '88 was the furthest thing from being generous losers that I can think of. That's just what made me give a little splutter when I saw that phrase in your post.

It would be well forgotten at this stage, from my point of view, if they'd just drop it, but I still get it nearly every time I'm introduced as a Meathman down here. Mostly it's banter, but not always.