The Official Olympics Thread (with the consent of the Chinese Gov.)

Started by Gaoth Dobhair Abu, August 05, 2008, 11:09:25 AM

I didn't see O'Toole's comments, nor Coughlan's rebuttal of them, but I'm probably in the same boat as O'Toole. It's a pity, as I'd love to be able to acclaim someone who's just done that, but even with Phelps I have doubts.

And to be fair to them, there isn't a shred of evidence about them, so I'm probably being unfair, but the last 20 years have just destroyed my faith in top level Olympic Athletes. Some of the stories I've heard from friends of mine in Athletic circles about the squeaky clean British athletes would make you gasp as well, but I'm not naming names because it could be all rubbish.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 12:52:43 PM
You're probably right. And I think Bolt and Phelps have not been under any sort of cloud as far as I'm aware. The unsettling thing for me, which may be baseless, is that the last time I was so blown away by a 100 metre sprint at the olympics was back in 1988 in Seoul when Ben Johnson looked just as comfortable as Bolt did, although not as fast (I think). Remember the finish to that race? Same sort of thing, if I recall correctly, Johnson looking over at Lewis and Christie (I think) and almost easing up crossing the line.

Edit: This is the finish I mean. It just looks too similar for me *not* to have bad memories/doubts.....

In fairness AZ there was very little between the top 3 or 4 before the 1988 final whereas the other night the other athletes knew unless Bolt pulled a hamstring they were running for silver. For me his semi run was equally as impressive, he ran 9.85 and "shut it down" as Michael Johnson would say, 30 metres out and was cantering towards the line.If someone had come from say running 9.99 or 10 seconds continually in their career or did as Michelle Smith did (some of the myopia towards her on this board due to her nationality is ridiculous) then broke world records and won several golds you have to wonder, not sure that is the case for Bolt. Make them all take the same steroid then we will know who is the best........

Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 18, 2008, 09:48:48 AM
Anyone see the deabte on RTE last night, Gary O'Toole reckoned all the 100m athletes are on something, even had a pop at Irish schools rugby, great viewing altogether...

He said that the supplements some schools rugby players are taking would be illegal in the olympics, fair enough point.

Mentalman

Like a few here I'm naturally sceptical unfortunately but willing to give the benefit of any doubt I may have, so until proven otherwise good on both Phelps and Bolt, sensational stuff.

As for O'Toole vs Coughlin, I take everything Eamonn says with a pinch of salt, given his penchant for self aggrandisement. He's been scoring points off O'Toole all week, because Gary wasn't a "great" athlete like Eamonn, so what would he know about it, is more or less his attitude. How many times did he mention his book last night? Heard him on the radio Sunday, saying that while our kayaker would be disappointed not to get bronze, he paddled above himself, whereas for him, Coughlin, 4th was nowhere, as was 3rd or 2nd as he was a top athlete and should have had more medals - blow hard.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Eamon Coughlan is insufferable in my opinion. I can't stand listening to him. He reminds me of George Best whenever Bestie was asked about any of the modern players. 'Couldn't hold a candle to me', basically was the gist of it. He may have been right, but no need to say it.

As for Coughlan, he was a very good athlete, especially indoor in the States, but was he a 'great' Athlete. I don't think so.

Athenry's Paul Hession just won his quarter final heat in the 200m with a time of 20.32.  Great result and really hope he can get a first four finish in the semi and make the final.  Making the semi is a big achievement; making the final would be absolutely massive...............

QuoteAs for Coughlan, he was a very good athlete, especially indoor in the States, but was he a 'great' Athlete. I don't think so.

He missed out on medals in two Olympic finals, either through bottling it or professional incompetence - does he outline those features in his book?  Great athlete my arse.

I take it that Gary OToole was questioning Phelps's  achievements.
By Gary's criteria it's an Inspector Clouseau state of alert, no one is ruled out,  everybody is ruled in as suspect.

If anyone has an issue and that  extreme level of doubt then imo don't watch the games, don't even read about them.

The black irony is in the adverts during the Olympic coverage. There is an advert for a popular painkiller involving a rower in a coxless 4.
The comment from the rower is something like  "I don't want to let myself down or my teammates down"
WTF is that all about?
This drug is Analgesic as in prescribed for numbing muscle  and related pains.

I suppose there's some doubt, Billy, about the lads who beat him. I'd say Coughlan is sure they are on drugs. On balance though, I'd agree with you. I don't think outdoor suited him. If the Olympics were held in a gym in Boston, he'd probably have a few gold medals. (Alternatively, no one else gave a shite, and if they did he'd not even have what he has).

Quote from: Main Street on August 18, 2008, 01:48:14 PM
I take it that Gary OToole was questioning Phelps's  achievements.
By Gary's criteria it's an Inspector Clouseau state of alert, no one is ruled out,  everybody is ruled in as suspect.

If anyone has an issue and that  extreme level of doubt then imo don't watch the games, don't even read about them.

The black irony is in the adverts during the Olympic coverage. There is an advert for a popular painkiller involving a rower in a coxless 4.
The comment from the rower is something like  "I don't want to let myself down or my teammates down"
WTF is that all about?
This drug is Analgesic as in prescribed for numbing muscle  and related pains.

Are you being sarcastic? If not, then the answer is no. From reading the lads above, he is fairly sure Phelps is clean because he 'knows his background'.

QuoteI suppose there's some doubt, Billy, about the lads who beat him.

I dunno AZ, John Walker (in 76) isn't under suspicion, is he - Coghlan let him get away on the back straight, and got himself boxed in; pure incompetence.  And in 1980 I don't think Yifter was under suspicion either.  The only suspicion I have is that Eamonn's gob was/is more talented than his legs.  And yes, he was good indoors, during the winters, when the serious athletes weren't competing at their peak.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 01:50:11 PM
Are you being sarcastic? If not, then the answer is no. From reading the lads above, he is fairly sure Phelps is clean because he 'knows his background'.
I am being sarcastic.

We are to take Gary's word that Phelps is clean but we are not to take Cloughlin and Kiernans word that Bolt is clean. ???

Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on August 18, 2008, 01:45:46 PM
Athenry's Paul Hession just won his quarter final heat in the 200m with a time of 20.32.  Great result and really hope he can get a first four finish in the semi and make the final.  Making the semi is a big achievement; making the final would be absolutely massive...............

Yeah, it was a funny race, the american wasnt going full pelt nor was the other lad who qualified. Well done to Paul all the same, hope he can make it to the final. Bolt is in his semi-final heat so it will be a tough one.

stevo-08

Quote from: Main Street on August 18, 2008, 02:14:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 01:50:11 PM
I am being sarcastic.

We are to take Gary's word that Phelps is clean but we are not to take Cloughlin and Kiernans word that Bolt is clean. ???

Yea, that pretty much sums it up Main Street. Some double-standards being used by Gary!!! One of his arguements was that drug taking is absolutely rampant in athletics but not so in swimming. So Phelps must be clean and Bolt riddled with drugs  ::) ::)

To be fair, I can understand the scepticism about Bolt, it was an unbelievable run. But as you say, if people are that doubtful & cynical about the athletes, then why bother watch the olympics....

Off The Fence