Mayo Season Review 2008 - O'Mahony Confirmed for Another Year

Started by Barney, August 03, 2008, 07:49:19 PM

who do all you JOM critics want as manager, He is not above critisism especially for 2007, however look at the alternatives;

Maughan, a complete and utter failure, who obviosuly has a huge ego and little personel skills, and add to that his imcompetence tactically.

Pat Holmes/ Noel Connolly, unproven, however Pat holmes did manage Mayo for two years, one in which we were beaten by Sligo in connacht c/ship. Not sure what they offer that JOM does not.

Peter Forde, not exactly Mr. personality, has a tendency to rub a lot of players the wrong way judgeing from reports from Sligo and Galway. Is he the type of manager that wil nuture along new talent , my guess is no.

However, if I were the Mayo county board , I would insist that JOM takes control for two years as one year right now is a joke especially in the face of a major rebuilding.

Quote from: joemamas on August 16, 2008, 07:50:14 PM
who do all you JOM critics want as manager, He is not above critisism especially for 2007, however look at the alternatives;

Maughan, a complete and utter failure, who obviosuly has a huge ego and little personel skills, and add to that his imcompetence tactically.

Pat Holmes/ Noel Connolly, unproven, however Pat holmes did manage Mayo for two years, one in which we were beaten by Sligo in connacht c/ship. Not sure what they offer that JOM does not.

Peter Forde, not exactly Mr. personality, has a tendency to rub a lot of players the wrong way judgeing from reports from Sligo and Galway. Is he the type of manager that wil nuture along new talent , my guess is no.

However, if I were the Mayo county board , I would insist that JOM takes control for two years as one year right now is a joke especially in the face of a major rebuilding.

Just on the Maughan business, yeah he screwes up tactically a couple of times in big days but Johnno does it on smaller stages. Maughans record and achievements as mayo senior manager is way superior to Johnno´s . What Lennon said about Elvis could be borrowed here. ´Before Maughan there was nothing´

As for ego, personality etc etc Johnno would easily hold his own.

go home mrs o mahony your son is well past his best before date and if someone on the county board had the balls and good of the mayo football ay heart they'd tell him so .
no reappraisal necessary on todays events. much as it pains me to say it but i told you so last week.
hope you all  heeded me and ran down to paddy powers  ,
I of course didn't as i don't hold with that sort of thing                       

Quote from: ildanach on August 16, 2008, 07:19:48 PM
jom got the tactics right with tyrone. pillar didn't. if we had been playing the dubs today we could have won had they played that poorly. However ifs dont win all irelands. But we are obviously not as bad as some have said over the last few weeks

I will go 50% of the way with you on the first sentence.
JOM has the backs much better organised than he had in Castlebar and it showed. Credit is due to him here.
But a major point I have been annoying everyone here about is my belief that a good manager will strive to get the best out of his players; he can only do so much but he can and should have a big input into what goes on out on the field.
What about the forwards?  There was no sign of a game plan here; it seems everyone was left to fend for himself. I won't go on again about the failure to react when Mayo's approach was clearly not working and that Tom Parsons wasn't moved in to the edge of the square until it was too late. I very much doubt that Mickey Harte would have been so slow to react.
I also agree that Mayo are not as bad as they appeared to be over the last two games.
That's what bugs me. With a little bit of cuteness on the sideline, we could have done a lot better.

Quote from: rosnarun on August 17, 2008, 12:02:14 AM

go home mrs o mahony your son is well past his best before date and if someone on the county board had the balls and good of the mayo football ay heart they'd tell him so .
no reappraisal necessary on todays events. much as it pains me to say it but i told you so last week.

Rosnarun,

your a jackass, its time to go back to hogan stand. That is about your level of intelligence.

What is your alternative.

Quote from: joemamas on August 17, 2008, 03:27:24 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 17, 2008, 12:02:14 AM

Rosnarun,

your a jackass

It's hard to argue with your logic. ;D

The level of performance by Tyrone yesterday is in no way comparable to the level they performed to against Mayo.

JOM had his tactics spot. The players just didn't push home the deal. It appears that Pillar didn't even have a look at the video.

We have competed with Tyrone over the years. If our players had their work ethic and mental strength we would be a much better team.

Nobody appears to be calling for the managers head in Mayo. Supporters are making constructive comments about failures. He is not immune to criticism and is getting a far fairer chance than most who have hold the job. Seeing that he looks like he will stay on a bad league should not lead to howls for his head before the championship. Once he confirms he is staying on he should have the full support of all and review his performance critically next Summer.

Quote from: Barney on August 17, 2008, 09:45:43 AM
The level of performance by Tyrone yesterday is in no way comparable to the level they performed to against Mayo.

JOM had his tactics spot. The players just didn't push home the deal. It appears that Pillar didn't even have a look at the video.

We have competed with Tyrone over the years. If our players had their work ethic and mental strength we would be a much better team.

Nobody appears to be calling for the managers head in Mayo. Supporters are making constructive comments about failures. He is not immune to criticism and is getting a far fairer chance than most who have hold the job. Seeing that he looks like he will stay on a bad league should not lead to howls for his head before the championship. Once he confirms he is staying on he should have the full support of all and review his performance critically next Summer.

I dunno Barney. As I ve said before i would not like next years league to be a series of auditions. If so you may write off 09 Championship right now. You ll find Galway will play as many of this years Championship team in as many matches as they can in the league next spring and end up with a settled team to smack us aside in Salthill if we dont have a solid unit developed by then. We can only do this if we tog our strongest team available for every league match. have MacDonald involved from March onwards and try to integrate a couple of new players and get rid of the baggage that will never measure up and have been given too many chances already. Our 09 backs will still be a selection from Heaney, Nallen Higgins etc with maybe a McLoughlin or a Cafferkey pushing - but there is no ready made full backs out there so there is no point in the nonsense selections of the last 2 Springs. If we put as much effort into developing Barry Moran and O Se the younger into full forward line options we may get more reward than wasting time looking for the perfect fullback. The absence of a classic fullback not hindering Tyrone s or Kerry s progress.

moyside I agree 110% about experimentation in the league. I would hope that at least 10 -12 of the team starting our first league game will be good enough to be there come the first championship game. Mind you this was the position taken in year 1 with JOM and back-fired badly. Really all I believe is that once re-appointed he gets full support throughout next year with no sniping.

2009 sees Connacht/Leinster on the one side of the draw. We seem a million miles away from winning an all Ireland and we probably are but Galway will be thinking that way, why shouldn't our lads go and make one almight effort.

Ever since he came back to the job in 2006, I have had some sympathy for the manager. It goes without saying that he is trying to do his best and, human nature being what it is, he is far more likely to get a boot up the bum than a clap on the back from those around him.
But that is as far as I can go; the man is a consenting adult and he knew what he was taking on when he took over the reins.

QuoteHe is not immune to criticism and is getting a far fairer chance than most who have hold the job.

I'd agree with both points here: Is the state of Mayo football better or worse since he took over almost two years ago?  He took on the job for three years. Can he possibly do any better next year what with time ticking away and having a strained relationship with the county board?
Back in 2006, before the final Jack O'Connor had major problems with Dara O'Se and the Gooch. He played Declan O'Sullivan when most Kerry people felt he did not deserve a starting place. He knew O'Sullivan had the beating of James Nallen, so he stuck him in, thereby depriving Cooper of the captaincy.  O'Se it seems is an awkward hoor at the best of times but O'Connor did what he felt was best for Kerry football.
He didn't refer to his problems in any way until he hinted at them when his book came out.
Contrast that with the way JOM handled Ciaran Mac; could anyone say Mayo was better served by Mac's absence?
have MacDonald involved from March onwards and try to integrate a couple of new players and get rid of the baggage that will never measure up and have been given too many chances already.

Is that really likely to happen? ;D ;D

kevmy

I'd certainly agree that a more settled team towards the end of the league would be a good thing. However some experimentation is needed. FF and FB and I'd like to see Barrett and a couple of more backs tried out.

As regards Mac he's not going to get better and great player and all that he is bringing him back in now would not be a step forward. Sooner or later we were going to have to go without him, it was always going to be painful but I feel now that the break is made we must carry on without him.

When a team is pretty much sorted I think a more aggressive attitude is needed in some aspects from midfield up. More harrying of the opposition backs, just look at Tyrone the last day. Also the messing around with ball in our backline has to be cut out it seemed to be gone for a few years but has sneaked back in over the last couple of years.

If someone could dig up another scoring forward and post him to J O Mahony, Fine Gael House, Ballgh, Co Ross then I'd be fairly happy as well.

On a side note before the Tyrone game the Mayo lads were warming up into the hill and since I was down that end of the pitch I was keeping a close eye on them, trying to see who would start, who was looking up for it etc. One big thing I noticed was Conoreen taking frees of the ground. He took a couple from the edge of the D and they were sailing over. I wouldn't have much faith in him putting them over from there out of the hands so maybe if Johnno told him to go back to the drawing board and take them off the ground for a few months over the winter to see how he'd get on.

By the way I'm pleased enough the way most posters aren't wildly calling for JOM's head, just because previous managers got shafted and thrown out is no good reason why it should happen to him

Bomber2312

I think in fariness to JOM, he tried his best to have a settled team for the league however, through injuries and poor play the team had to change....

during the league, he had a consistant 4 of six defenders(heaney, Howley, higgins,Cuniffe) and four of six forwards(dillon, moran, o'malley, mortimer)....parsons and Mac at midfield and clarke in goal the prob was that injury robbed us of a couple of key players....whilst some of the players who did well in the league (AOM,Conroy and Boyle) got roasted versus galway.
I think JOM knows his strongest team...i dont think he has had the opertunity to field this team once in his two years in charge!

Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 18, 2008, 10:45:56 AM
Ever since he came back to the job in 2006, I have had some sympathy for the manager. It goes without saying that he is trying to do his best and, human nature being what it is, he is far more likely to get a boot up the bum than a clap on the back from those around him.
But that is as far as I can go; the man is a consenting adult and he knew what he was taking on when he took over the reins.

QuoteHe is not immune to criticism and is getting a far fairer chance than most who have hold the job.

I'd agree with both points here: Is the state of Mayo football better or worse since he took over almost two years ago?  He took on the job for three years. Can he possibly do any better next year what with time ticking away and having a strained relationship with the county board?
Back in 2006, before the final Jack O'Connor had major problems with Dara O'Se and the Gooch. He played Declan O'Sullivan when most Kerry people felt he did not deserve a starting place. He knew O'Sullivan had the beating of James Nallen, so he stuck him in, thereby depriving Cooper of the captaincy.  O'Se it seems is an awkward hoor at the best of times but O'Connor did what he felt was best for Kerry football.
He didn't refer to his problems in any way until he hinted at them when his book came out.
Contrast that with the way JOM handled Ciaran Mac; could anyone say Mayo was better served by Mac's absence?
have MacDonald involved from March onwards and try to integrate a couple of new players and get rid of the baggage that will never measure up and have been given too many chances already.

Is that really likely to happen? ;D ;D

Not likely. If Mickey Harte picked his team using a calender as the basis of selection Brian Dooher would nt be considered for selection. Back from a serious injury at 33 and straight into the team when fit again. I wonder did he have to attend a trial match? It amazes me how some people are happy to leave McDonald behind before we actually have to. We ll be long enough without having the option of having him.

Quote from: Bomber2312 on August 18, 2008, 11:53:41 AM
I think in fariness to JOM, he tried his best to have a settled team for the league however, through injuries and poor play the team had to change....

during the league, he had a consistant 4 of six defenders(heaney, Howley, higgins,Cuniffe) and four of six forwards(dillon, moran, o'malley, mortimer)....parsons and Mac at midfield and clarke in goal the prob was that injury robbed us of a couple of key players....whilst some of the players who did well in the league (AOM,Conroy and Boyle) got roasted versus galway.
I think JOM knows his strongest team...i dont think he has had the opertunity to field this team once in his two years in charge!

Maybe so but he clearly saw Conroy, Boyle and Austin as part of his strongest team. Does that fill you with confidence as to how he might see his strongest team again next Summer come championship?

Frank Casey

Feel free to tell me to mind my own (kerry) business but do any of the Mayo lads feel that JOM is in anyway compromised by his political day job? Is there a danger in a man who's crust is in the gift of the people dealing with hard decisions. In particular in squad formation. I'm not suggeting this because of anything that I've heard or anything but lets be honest there have been other politicos who've made decisions for funny populist reasons.
KERRY 3:7