An Lú vs Tír Eoghain 19/07/2008

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, June 16, 2008, 08:27:29 PM

Louth should only been allowed to play the game at home if they agreed to give Tyrone at least 3000 tickets, its Louth who are restricting the capacity by the playing the game in a venue not fit for it. Louth fans point to that first game in 06 for Tyrone not having a big support but even that day at 3.30 on a Saturday there was 3 or 4000 Tyrone fans there. For the replay there was around 10000 Tyrone supporters. 1800 is not enough tickets for a county like Tyrone. For the ulster championship some clubs sold up to 300 tickets. Fair enough only half those at best would want to go to this game but how do the clubs decide who gets the 30 or 40 tickets on offer. Its not like an all Ireland final were the fans in question involve a lot of glory supporters.

Should make for good craic though about some of the clubs in Tyrone when theyre deciding who gets the 30 or 40 tickets on offer.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 04, 2008, 09:30:25 AM
QuoteQuick ML, get these wee clippings on to the team, they would look well on the dressing room wall.

Indeed. Their arrogance is quite breathtaking really, considering what happened in 2006.

Then again, they blamed that close shave on injuries  ::) so they still dont rate Louth as a proper challenge. I wonder will this hubris be their undoing.

The obsession continues!
Which was worse 03 or 05, you've never answered?

QuoteThe obsession continues!
Which was worse 03 or 05, you've never answered?

your the lads talking about "relishing" a meeting with Kerry before you have gotten past Louth so I think the obsession is entirely yours.

I just think it smacks of the nouveau arrogance of Tyrone that you are discounting a county that has more AI than you and that won the AI almost a full half-century before you did. I think this complacency has been Tyrones undoing the last two years, much more so than these injuries you are always bleating on about.

QuoteI think this complacency has been Tyrones undoing the last two years, much more so than these injuries you are always bleating on about.

Can hardly compare to the bleating from Spillane an the rest of ye when we gave yis the hiding of yer lives in 03 and 05!   ;D :D ;D :D

No further injuries picked up at the weekend? Whats the injury situation like now? We could have close to a full panel for next week if things stay as they are now.

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 07, 2008, 05:36:28 PM
No further injuries picked up at the weekend? Whats the injury situation like now? We could have close to a full panel for next week if things stay as they are now.

Mulligan and Mulgrew both played for Cookstown but apparently weren't on top form - Mulligan never scored.

After 4 months out I suppose a poor performance wouldnt be a shock.

Exactly TD, and that game will have done them nothing but the power of good. Looks like we've been lucky with injuries, of lack thereof.

If we had a fully fit squad what team would anyone pick? Id go with the following:
McConnell
McGee
Joe McMahon
PJ Quinn
Ricey
Gormley
Jordan
Justy McMahon
McGinley
Dooher/Mellon/Tommy McGuigan/Mulgrew (based on form)
Brian McGuigan
Sean Cavanagh
Penrose
Colm Cavanagh
Mugsy (doubt he'll be fit to play 70 minutes)

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2008, 08:44:14 PM
Exactly TD, and that game will have done them nothing but the power of good. Looks like we've been lucky with injuries, of lack thereof.

Always the optomists are you two lads  !  ;)

Quote from: orangeman on July 07, 2008, 09:47:41 PM

Something you'll never be accused off! Seriously, what do you expect from a player who has been out injured for 4 months and has only a week or 2 training behind him in his first game back? Reports suggest Brain McGuigan had a good game yesterday, would love to see him playing well against Louth.

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 07, 2008, 09:52:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 07, 2008, 09:47:41 PM

Something you'll never be accused off! Seriously, what do you expect from a player who has been out injured for 4 months and has only a week or 2 training behind him in his first game back? Reports suggest Brain McGuigan had a good game yesterday, would love to see him playing well against Louth.

I just think I'm more of a realist - there's nothing wrong with dreaming but how do expect Mulligan to start IC football in 12 days time if he struggled during a club game ?

Brian played very well yesterday and would love to see him return to the form of old.

Quote from: orangeman on July 07, 2008, 10:09:43 PM
I just think I'm more of a realist...

Realistically, how pessimistic were you in 2005 after the fall to Wexford?