An Lú vs Tír Eoghain 19/07/2008

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, June 16, 2008, 08:27:29 PM

passedit

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 18, 2008, 06:35:24 PM
Quote from: amigo on June 18, 2008, 10:22:28 AM
He wasnt looking so sharp on Saturday night when i saw him at the Beach Party in Portrush!! ;)

Surely that has to be a joke? You'd like to think one the senior players in the squad wouldnt miss a championship match for this even if he wasnt fit to play.

Are we to assume that Mulligan's weekend rehabilitation programme means that he has been suffering not from a damaged hamstring but, like stevie O Neill, a fractured relationship with the bearded one?
Don't Panic

amigo

He wasnt looking so sharp on Saturday night when i saw him at the Beach Party in Portrush!! ;)

Surely that has to be a joke? You'd like to think one the senior players in the squad wouldnt miss a championship match for this even if he wasnt fit to play.

No Joke. I couldn't believe it when i seen him !

Quote from: passedit on June 18, 2008, 07:18:05 PM

Are we to assume that Mulligan's weekend rehabilitation programme means that he has been suffering not from a damaged hamstring but, like stevie O Neill, a fractured relationship with the bearded one?

Jesus forgives.

Quote from: Zapatista on June 19, 2008, 01:23:56 PM
Quote from: passedit on June 18, 2008, 07:18:05 PM

Jesus forgives.

Jesus forgives but the Tyrone supporters don't !  ;)

Was saddened to hear that Mickey took some serious abuse after the game on Saturday from a sizeable crowd of our own supporters, the details of which were relayed to me from a Down backroom member. I suppose it's a mixture of jealousy and ignorance.

It's ok to express your view that Mickey, in your opinion, should step down as long as it's rational and honest. But the above is sad to hear and I feel ashamed of our own. Harte is a legend due to his unprecedented success at underage and delivering the Holy Grail twice, the second of which gave us some of our greatest days. He has given everything to Tyrone as a manager since 1993.

In my opinion he should see this year out and then step down in order to inject some freshness. Perhaps the Meath game was the perfect time.

The 2003 and 2005 team / squad has been decimated due to death, injury and retirements, none of which can be attributable to MH - ok maybe he should have revamped his backroom team and maybe he is too loyal to some of his older guys and matbe he should have tried out new people - but overall MH has served Tyrone football well and I like O'Neill am saddened but not surprised to hear of the abuse that some so called supporters fired in MH's direction last Saturday night - I'm sure these were the same people who were back slapping in 2003, 2005 and last July in Clones !

..probably trotted out the line, we pay our money at the gate so we can,   rubbish...  I like manners in anyone at any level in whatever they do and i think bad manners should never be tolerated.  Pete Mc Grath ironically suffered the same fate in Down. 

listen it undoubtedly it time for a freshen up of the training methodology and potentially the management,  if only because it looks and feels like we are at the end of a cycle in a playing sense. 
Any strategy is only as good as the players implementing it and playing styles should move with the times.
Theres also a certain amount of rumours circulating about Hartes relationship with key players past and present.  This concerns me more than anything. 
All this rumour mongering does not help Tyrone.
My feeling is that I wouldnt expect any more from Tyrone for the next couple of years , and we may need a rebuilding process and the type of man who can do that.  If Mickey seriously wished to  undertake that process I would have to give him my full support. 

Quote from: rrhf on June 20, 2008, 12:37:13 PM
..probably trotted out the line, we pay our money at the gate so we can,   rubbish...  I like manners in anyone at any level in whatever they do and i think bad manners should never be tolerated.  Pete Mc Grath ironically suffered the same fate in Down. 

listen it undoubtedly it time for a freshen up of the training methodology and potentially the management,  if only because it looks and feels like we are at the end of a cycle in a playing sense. 
Any strategy is only as good as the players implementing it and playing styles should move with the times.
Theres also a certain amount of rumours circulating about Hartes relationship with key players past and present.  This concerns me more than anything. 
All this rumour mongering does not help Tyrone.
My feeling is that I wouldnt expect any more from Tyrone for the next couple of years , and we may need a rebuilding process and the type of man who can do that.  If Mickey seriously wished to  undertake that process I would have to give him my full support. 

This morning's Irish News tells how Meath under Sean Boylan were allowed to rebuild after lean spells and glory came along after that - MH is now the longest serving manager and to be honest I don't think he's going too far in the near future. There won't be too many looking to take over and as I said before, the job is his until HE decides he doesn't want it anymore.

Star Spangler

Nobody will do a better job than Mickey Harte so anyone who thinks a change of the guard will improve our chances need to think again.  If Mickey wants to stay on he's more than welcome afaik.  He is the best manager we have ever had by a long way and probably will ever have.  We'll rue the day he decides he's had enough - mark my words.

Quote from: Star Spangler on June 20, 2008, 03:11:10 PM
Nobody will do a better job than Mickey Harte so anyone who thinks a change of the guard will improve our chances need to think again.  If Mickey wants to stay on he's more than welcome afaik.  He is the best manager we have ever had by a long way and probably will ever have.  We'll rue the day he decides he's had enough - mark my words.

That's the problem SS - I don't think we recognise that MH is a good manager  the team have broken up through injury etc etc - nothing lasts forever !

Generally in life, we only miss somebody when they're gone.

D4S

At the time Pete McGrath left the Down setup there were many who said good riddance...and I for one felt saddened that he would be remembered for that instead of bringing 2 allirelands in 91+94.  Gladly though a few years on, that is not at all the truth, and he has now the utmost respect from I would say 99% of people in Down (although I haven't carried out a survey)!

You'll never please all of the people all of the time....but if you can please most of the poeple most of the time then fair play! Mickey Harte has done enough for Tyrone football to be given a shot at rebuilding a 2nd Tyrone team.   If he fails there will be the begrudgers but in the long term he will always be remembered in Tyrone for the 2003+2005 successes!
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

Quote from: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 10:07:27 AM
Was saddened to hear that Mickey took some serious abuse after the game on Saturday from a sizeable crowd of our own supporters, the details of which were relayed to me from a Down backroom member. I suppose it's a mixture of jealousy and ignorance.

It's ok to express your view that Mickey, in your opinion, should step down as long as it's rational and honest. But the above is sad to hear and I feel ashamed of our own. Harte is a legend due to his unprecedented success at underage and delivering the Holy Grail twice, the second of which gave us some of our greatest days. He has given everything to Tyrone as a manager since 1993.

In my opinion he should see this year out and then step down in order to inject some freshness. Perhaps the Meath game was the perfect time.

And we often have the audacity to accuse the Dubs of soccer style supporting. :-X

Quote from: Zapatista on June 20, 2008, 04:55:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 10:07:27 AM

And we often have the audacity to accuse the Dubs of soccer style supporting. :-X

Fair enough point, but I think you'll find there were only a few morons shouting abuse - the vast majority of Tyrone fans would never indulge in that shite !

I know OM I just wanted to use the word 'audacity' in a sentence :D