John Terry

Started by Dinny Breen, May 22, 2008, 02:26:42 PM

i have to say lads that as a footballer i actually like JT.  He is hard as nails and goes for everything near him.  The sight of him just clearing the opposition out of the way to get his head to the cross first, speaks volumes for his determination.  There is many a team around the world which lacks this...

Alright he can slabber at ref´s from time to time but no worse that players like Rooney, who seem to be getting away with this without criticism.  Rooney obviously didnt play much football in the final but i bet his mouth was sore after (as i´m sure others were too eg J Cole, Drogba, etc)

he is just one of those players that I cannot stand, it doesn't matter what way you try and paint him, i didn't like him before this game and still have the same opinion, only other footballer that i dislike as much is Denis Wise, i disliked him long be for he went to Chelsea.

Quote from: lurganblue on May 23, 2008, 01:00:55 PM
i have to say lads that as a footballer i actually like JT.  He is hard as nails and goes for everything near him.  The sight of him just clearing the opposition out of the way to get his head to the cross first, speaks volumes for his determination.  There is many a team around the world which lacks this...

Alright he can slabber at ref´s from time to time but no worse that players like Rooney, who seem to be getting away with this without criticism.  Rooney obviously didnt play much football in the final but i bet his mouth was sore after (as i´m sure others were too eg J Cole, Drogba, etc)

He is no doubt a hard foorballer but this snatter business isn't on and the allegations of rascism will follow him everywhere.

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2008, 12:12:08 PM
Boys fair play to you for 3 of the last 4 comments. I was reading through everything here in totally disbelief.

Some of the stuff written on this thread is the stuff of a gutter tabloid hack. Geez one of you even criticises him for denying it!!

John Terry is no mother Theresa, but he is fair from the devil incarnate. Terry has come out earlier this season and stated that he needs to be aware of Chelsea's and his approach to referees. The fella stated that he was very conscious of the PR implications, and the sporting ones, and wanted to improve it. He has, the team has work to do. Look at a few weeks back and the images of Terry holding Ferdinand back in the league game, as England's new captain lost all self control (Off the pitch as well).

People hold this court case issue with Terry against him too. The one involving the bouncers. Again, the fella was found not guilty. If you seen the video that the prosecution used, it escapes me why he even went to court. Again Terry has been tarred by this incident.

On the field, I would hardly call him a thug too. Hard, but no thug. IIRC he has been sent off twice in his England and Chelsea career. Couple this with his never say die attitude. He may pick up big cash (Anything over 15k a week is too much in my opinion for ANY player), but he puts the effort in. Ten days ago the fella dislocated his elbow. Remember him with the face mask last year, or getting the boot to the head by Diaby. How many players bounce back from injury as quick or as often as he has. If the rumours are true we will see what JT has done for Chelsea when he has retired.

A loc of years back I was coming out of SB, when a wee lad aged 7 or 8 fell to the ground taking a fit. Terry seen it from a distance, ran to the lad and administered first aid. He took off his club blazer and turned the lad over, using the blazer as a support. He then phoned the Chelsea physio and doctor on his mobile, and organised the first aid support. When help arrived he asked the wee boy's mother for his number, and cleared. I assume he was going to check up on him hence the number, and I'd say he cleared as he knew his actions would expose the wee lad's privacy if the media had've appeared.

I have the photos if you need proof of the above.

You shouldn't be so dismissive of the sligomans comments.

Quote from: orangeman on May 23, 2008, 12:49:29 PM
Boys fair play to you for 3 of the last 4 comments. I was reading through everything here in totally disbelief.

Some of the stuff written on this thread is the stuff of a gutter tabloid hack. Geez one of you even criticises him for denying it!!

John Terry is no mother Theresa, but he is fair from the devil incarnate. Terry has come out earlier this season and stated that he needs to be aware of Chelsea's and his approach to referees. The fella stated that he was very conscious of the PR implications, and the sporting ones, and wanted to improve it. He has, the team has work to do. Look at a few weeks back and the images of Terry holding Ferdinand back in the league game, as England's new captain lost all self control (Off the pitch as well).

People hold this court case issue with Terry against him too. The one involving the bouncers. Again, the fella was found not guilty. If you seen the video that the prosecution used, it escapes me why he even went to court. Again Terry has been tarred by this incident.

On the field, I would hardly call him a thug too. Hard, but no thug. IIRC he has been sent off twice in his England and Chelsea career. Couple this with his never say die attitude. He may pick up big cash (Anything over 15k a week is too much in my opinion for ANY player), but he puts the effort in. Ten days ago the fella dislocated his elbow. Remember him with the face mask last year, or getting the boot to the head by Diaby. How many players bounce back from injury as quick or as often as he has. If the rumours are true we will see what JT has done for Chelsea when he has retired.

A loc of years back I was coming out of SB, when a wee lad aged 7 or 8 fell to the ground taking a fit. Terry seen it from a distance, ran to the lad and administered first aid. He took off his club blazer and turned the lad over, using the blazer as a support. He then phoned the Chelsea physio and doctor on his mobile, and organised the first aid support. When help arrived he asked the wee boy's mother for his number, and cleared. I assume he was going to check up on him hence the number, and I'd say he cleared as he knew his actions would expose the wee lad's privacy if the media had've appeared.

And what ???

In fairness that was a pretty decent thing to do. There's many a footballer wouldn't have taken much notice.

I have to say It would be hard to comment to much on Terry of the field as I know nothing about him. But I have to say he annoys me when he's on the pitch. Not sure why he annoys me so much. I know the yapping at the ref doesn't help but there's many a player does that without me taking a strong dislike for them. It's prob cause he's so passionate about both Chelsea and England, much like Neville that he just winds me up.

Quote from: Shrewdness on May 23, 2008, 11:00:43 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 23, 2008, 01:02:48 AM
Sums him up pretty well:

For some years, I've had two distinct opinions of John Terry the player.

On the one hand, he's undoubtedly the best central defender in the EPL—strong, determined, and skilled.

Terry's understanding of the game surpasses his years, and Chelsea have him and Jose Mourinho to thank for their best seasons in over fifty years.

Terry is passionate too, and wears both his club and England shirts with pride.

What more is there to say?

Quite a bit, actually.

John Terry is all of the above—but he's also reckless, shameless, and directly defiant in the face of match officials.

What I say next I say seriously, and not without considerable regard for the delicacy of the situation:

Terry's attempt to snatch the yellow and red cards from the hand of referee Mike Dean in Chelsea's loss to Manchester United makes me question whether he deserves the England captaincy.

Given how many impressionable youngsters saw the match, Terry should at the very least be punished immediately.

I raise this issue in light of England's current standing in global matters: We're seen as hooligans—rude, crude, and uneducated, both in sport and in politics.

Our national teams represent, or at least are supposed to represent, the best of this country—to show the real England. I'm not sure Terry is fit to lead one.

As it stands, it's no wonder more and more football referees are leaving the profession. I'm a referee myself, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

The players get away with murder on the field, and do their best to intimidate officials in order to gain an advantage. That's Terry's specialty—match after match, he does his best to unsettle the referees and linesmen.

I have nothing but the greatest sympathy for Mike Dean. Why even bother, I ask, if someone is going to snatch your cards—your last defence—out of your hand?

I've found myself uneasy watching England with Terry at the head—because the image we want is of a Hero, not of a thug who bullies others for his own gain.

That's not the real England. We have to stamp out the likes of Terry before we lose our self respect, and the one thing that makes English football special:

The ability to call ourselves "fair."

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2903-European_Football-Chelsea-Manchester_United-Terry_fit_for_Captaincy_-161007

i don't agree that Terry is now the best central defender in Prem. I believe Vidic is as good, if not better.

Up to last night, Terry was still reported as being ''inconsolable''. However, he has found time to deny spitting at Tevez, saying he would never do that, and it's not his style.

He isn't even the best defender at Chelsea, Carvalho is better by a long way.

Quote from: orangeman on May 23, 2008, 12:49:29 PM

And what ???

Is it not obvious? The crap people have spouted on here is all innuendo and rumour. However 90% of you take this sh**e to villify the man. However the incident where he played the good samaratin is fact, but I am not allowed to use that to defend his nature?

I can understand people saying they don't like Terry but don't know why to a degree. Take him out of the Chelsea jersey, and put a Liverpool or Manc one on him, and perhaps I'd agree. However I would admire the man, the same way I do Gerard, Carragher and Gary Neville.

doire na raithe

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2008, 07:20:04 PM
Take him out of the Chelsea jersey, and put a Liverpool or Manc one on him, and perhaps I'd agree. However I would admire the man, the same way I do Gerard, Carragher and Gary Neville.

Do you have a fettish for hateful English c***ts?

Shrewdness

Word is that UEFA are launching a probe of their own into the ''alleged '' spitting incident.

They will be studying the reports of the referee and the official match delegate.

Apparently, if neither report mentions it, they will review the video evidence of the incident themselves, before deciding what, if any , action to take.

Was it just me or did anyone else see Hargreaves push the ref into a Chelsea player during the melee????

Shrewdness

I was in such a state watching it, but now that you mention it :o

Actually, with all the criticism of Terry, he did United a big favour apart from missing the penalty.

When Drogba slapped Vidic, Vidic responded in a manner that suggested he was up for a slapping match until Terry wrestled him away. In the heat of the moment, who knows how Vidic was going to respond.

Terry is a tr**p.  What else do you expect from a pig but a grunt??  And what official response do you get from Chelsea themselves?? They say that Tevez has to prove that Terry snotted on him for them to comment or take it further.   For the past few seasons the Chelsea mgt team, backroom staff, directors, players etc have behaved like corner-boys invited to dinner who then shit on the hosts floor. 

Thats what happens when the right-wing teams, with bigots and racists thick among their ranks get elevated to the top through money alone.   Abramovic might just as well have spent his money buying Linfield, Rangers or Millwall.   

Quote from: Over the Bar on May 23, 2008, 10:05:46 PM
Terry is a tr**p.  What else do you expect from a pig but a grunt??  And what official response do you get from Chelsea themselves?? They say that Tevez has to prove that Terry snotted on him for them to comment or take it further.   For the past few seasons the Chelsea mgt team, backroom staff, directors, players etc have behaved like corner-boys invited to dinner who then shit on the hosts floor. 

Thats what happens when the right-wing teams, with bigots and racists thick among their ranks get elevated to the top through money alone.   Abramovic might just as well have spent his money buying Linfield, Rangers or Millwall.   

Now that is a dunphyesque spake if ever there was one.

Terry is a hell of a player. He is also a dirty hoor.

There is no proof he 'snotted' on anyone at this juncture so to me it didnt happen until proven otherwise.

Like everyone else there is good and bad in him.

Aye, the right wing are to blame for everything. :-\

Quote from: Over the Bar on May 23, 2008, 10:05:46 PM

Why is he a tr**p OTB? Give me some substance to why you have left us with this profound statement.

Why would Chelsea give an official statement about Terry not snotting on Tevez? Should they give one about Carvalho not striking Van Der Sarr, or Sidwell not kicking Vidic?

Who are the bigots and racists in Chelsea's ranks OTB?

I'll be honest lads, I can be as rose tinted, and paranoid to the hilt when it comes to football and Chelsea in particular but I this is a thread full of people chatting shite without any real substance. In fact it disapoints me, as generally people on this board were fair 95% of the time in various topics.

Norf, no stirring here, but what do you think Terry is doing in that video? In my opinion it certainly appears as if he blows through his nose at Tevez, and Tevez appears to wipe at his hair/neck.

Now maybe his nose was dry or something, and there was no snot there, in which case, what was he doing? Trying to provoke Tevez into hitting him or something?

I'm just giving my opinion from that clip, and I noticed it on the night as well.