John Terry

Started by Dinny Breen, May 22, 2008, 02:26:42 PM

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvlsEbcZq98)

There is some serious character assasination going on here. This spiting incident that an Arsenal fan has seen fit to start a new thread about is inconclusive, and no-one has made a complaint about including Tevez! Remember this is the same Tevez that took no time to accuse Chelsea ground staff of racism a few weeks back! I see nothing in that footage bar maybe JT calling Tevez a wee c**t or whatever.

That Spurs incident is a load of balls too. FFS the media in the UK don't do cover ups. If them hoors had an inkling of a story they'd be on it. In addition King has denied the incident occured, and the two of them grew up playing for the some youth side at Senrab.

I agree the video on here is extremely inconclusive.

The battle to be London's first Euro winners continues!

Although I felt bad v Barca in 06, it must hurt more for Chelsea fans given that they were the better team on the night, and over this last 6 weeks.

Quote from: ONeill on May 23, 2008, 12:12:20 AM
I agree the video on here is extremely inconclusive.

The battle to be London's first Euro winners continues!

Although I felt bad v Barca in 06, it must hurt more for Chelsea fans given that they were the better team on the night, and over this last 6 weeks.

Yip...it was one of my thoughts last night, that it's strange that one of Europe's biggest cities has never won the EC/CL.

It hurt alright. I think our defence, and midfield is as good as there is. Our striker is too, but he can feck off. It's the wide man that have let us down I think. Joe Cole only does it once every three or four games, I pray Malouda is having a first season a la Hleb, and for SWP see Joe Cole.

Contrast this with Ronaldo's impact as a wide player.

Sums him up pretty well:

For some years, I've had two distinct opinions of John Terry the player.

On the one hand, he's undoubtedly the best central defender in the EPL—strong, determined, and skilled.

Terry's understanding of the game surpasses his years, and Chelsea have him and Jose Mourinho to thank for their best seasons in over fifty years.

Terry is passionate too, and wears both his club and England shirts with pride.

What more is there to say?

Quite a bit, actually.

John Terry is all of the above—but he's also reckless, shameless, and directly defiant in the face of match officials.

What I say next I say seriously, and not without considerable regard for the delicacy of the situation:

Terry's attempt to snatch the yellow and red cards from the hand of referee Mike Dean in Chelsea's loss to Manchester United makes me question whether he deserves the England captaincy.

Given how many impressionable youngsters saw the match, Terry should at the very least be punished immediately.

I raise this issue in light of England's current standing in global matters: We're seen as hooligans—rude, crude, and uneducated, both in sport and in politics.

Our national teams represent, or at least are supposed to represent, the best of this country—to show the real England. I'm not sure Terry is fit to lead one.

As it stands, it's no wonder more and more football referees are leaving the profession. I'm a referee myself, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

The players get away with murder on the field, and do their best to intimidate officials in order to gain an advantage. That's Terry's specialty—match after match, he does his best to unsettle the referees and linesmen.

I have nothing but the greatest sympathy for Mike Dean. Why even bother, I ask, if someone is going to snatch your cards—your last defence—out of your hand?

I've found myself uneasy watching England with Terry at the head—because the image we want is of a Hero, not of a thug who bullies others for his own gain.

That's not the real England. We have to stamp out the likes of Terry before we lose our self respect, and the one thing that makes English football special:

The ability to call ourselves "fair."

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2903-European_Football-Chelsea-Manchester_United-Terry_fit_for_Captaincy_-161007

John Terry is all of the above—but he's also reckless, shameless, and directly defiant in the face of match officials.

He's a disgrace - whoever made him England captain should be ashamed of themselves !

Oh believe me orangeface Steve McLaran knows and regrets.

Quote from: rrhf on May 23, 2008, 10:52:16 AM
Oh believe me orangeface Steve McLaran knows and regrets.

Regrets holding up that umbrella more Id say !  ;) :D :D ;D ;D

Shrewdness

Quote from: ONeill on May 23, 2008, 01:02:48 AM
Sums him up pretty well:

For some years, I've had two distinct opinions of John Terry the player.

On the one hand, he's undoubtedly the best central defender in the EPL—strong, determined, and skilled.

Terry's understanding of the game surpasses his years, and Chelsea have him and Jose Mourinho to thank for their best seasons in over fifty years.

Terry is passionate too, and wears both his club and England shirts with pride.

What more is there to say?

Quite a bit, actually.

What I say next I say seriously, and not without considerable regard for the delicacy of the situation:

Terry's attempt to snatch the yellow and red cards from the hand of referee Mike Dean in Chelsea's loss to Manchester United makes me question whether he deserves the England captaincy.

Given how many impressionable youngsters saw the match, Terry should at the very least be punished immediately.

I raise this issue in light of England's current standing in global matters: We're seen as hooligans—rude, crude, and uneducated, both in sport and in politics.

Our national teams represent, or at least are supposed to represent, the best of this country—to show the real England. I'm not sure Terry is fit to lead one.

As it stands, it's no wonder more and more football referees are leaving the profession. I'm a referee myself, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

The players get away with murder on the field, and do their best to intimidate officials in order to gain an advantage. That's Terry's specialty—match after match, he does his best to unsettle the referees and linesmen.

I have nothing but the greatest sympathy for Mike Dean. Why even bother, I ask, if someone is going to snatch your cards—your last defence—out of your hand?

I've found myself uneasy watching England with Terry at the head—because the image we want is of a Hero, not of a thug who bullies others for his own gain.

That's not the real England. We have to stamp out the likes of Terry before we lose our self respect, and the one thing that makes English football special:

The ability to call ourselves "fair."

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2903-European_Football-Chelsea-Manchester_United-Terry_fit_for_Captaincy_-161007

i don't agree that Terry is now the best central defender in Prem. I believe Vidic is as good, if not better.

Up to last night, Terry was still reported as being ''inconsolable''. However, he has found time to deny spitting at Tevez, saying he would never do that, and it's not his style.

Lads i cant stick Terry either but some of the stuff on here is typical Gaa Board outrage, and it is pretty inconclusive that he gobbed on Tevez.

Quote from: Minder on May 23, 2008, 11:23:04 AM
Lads i cant stick Terry either but some of the stuff on here is typical Gaa Board outrage, and it is pretty inconclusive that he gobbed on Tevez.

he is still a w**ker either way.

I'll give him the benefit of the doubt on "snotgate" so. I withdraw my earlier comment. It also seems more likely to me than not that the "lippy black monkey" story is not completely true. There are a lot of things I perceive about him that I don't like but at the same time he is an excellent player and has guts. Lets not kick him when he's down.

Maximus Marillius

This thread falls into the puke footbll category. Not one ye know the man at all....shame! If the comments being posted were all about his football ability, fine, but unfortunately its not!

Boys fair play to you for 3 of the last 4 comments. I was reading through everything here in totally disbelief.

Some of the stuff written on this thread is the stuff of a gutter tabloid hack. Geez one of you even criticises him for denying it!!

John Terry is no mother Theresa, but he is fair from the devil incarnate. Terry has come out earlier this season and stated that he needs to be aware of Chelsea's and his approach to referees. The fella stated that he was very conscious of the PR implications, and the sporting ones, and wanted to improve it. He has, the team has work to do. Look at a few weeks back and the images of Terry holding Ferdinand back in the league game, as England's new captain lost all self control (Off the pitch as well).

People hold this court case issue with Terry against him too. The one involving the bouncers. Again, the fella was found not guilty. If you seen the video that the prosecution used, it escapes me why he even went to court. Again Terry has been tarred by this incident.

On the field, I would hardly call him a thug too. Hard, but no thug. IIRC he has been sent off twice in his England and Chelsea career. Couple this with his never say die attitude. He may pick up big cash (Anything over 15k a week is too much in my opinion for ANY player), but he puts the effort in. Ten days ago the fella dislocated his elbow. Remember him with the face mask last year, or getting the boot to the head by Diaby. How many players bounce back from injury as quick or as often as he has. If the rumours are true we will see what JT has done for Chelsea when he has retired.

A loc of years back I was coming out of SB, when a wee lad aged 7 or 8 fell to the ground taking a fit. Terry seen it from a distance, ran to the lad and administered first aid. He took off his club blazer and turned the lad over, using the blazer as a support. He then phoned the Chelsea physio and doctor on his mobile, and organised the first aid support. When help arrived he asked the wee boy's mother for his number, and cleared. I assume he was going to check up on him hence the number, and I'd say he cleared as he knew his actions would expose the wee lad's privacy if the media had've appeared.

I have the photos if you need proof of the above.

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2008, 12:12:08 PM
Boys fair play to you for 3 of the last 4 comments. I was reading through everything here in totally disbelief.

Some of the stuff written on this thread is the stuff of a gutter tabloid hack. Geez one of you even criticises him for denying it!!

John Terry is no mother Theresa, but he is fair from the devil incarnate. Terry has come out earlier this season and stated that he needs to be aware of Chelsea's and his approach to referees. The fella stated that he was very conscious of the PR implications, and the sporting ones, and wanted to improve it. He has, the team has work to do. Look at a few weeks back and the images of Terry holding Ferdinand back in the league game, as England's new captain lost all self control (Off the pitch as well).

People hold this court case issue with Terry against him too. The one involving the bouncers. Again, the fella was found not guilty. If you seen the video that the prosecution used, it escapes me why he even went to court. Again Terry has been tarred by this incident.

On the field, I would hardly call him a thug too. Hard, but no thug. IIRC he has been sent off twice in his England and Chelsea career. Couple this with his never say die attitude. He may pick up big cash (Anything over 15k a week is too much in my opinion for ANY player), but he puts the effort in. Ten days ago the fella dislocated his elbow. Remember him with the face mask last year, or getting the boot to the head by Diaby. How many players bounce back from injury as quick or as often as he has. If the rumours are true we will see what JT has done for Chelsea when he has retired.

A loc of years back I was coming out of SB, when a wee lad aged 7 or 8 fell to the ground taking a fit. Terry seen it from a distance, ran to the lad and administered first aid. He took off his club blazer and turned the lad over, using the blazer as a support. He then phoned the Chelsea physio and doctor on his mobile, and organised the first aid support. When help arrived he asked the wee boy's mother for his number, and cleared. I assume he was going to check up on him hence the number, and I'd say he cleared as he knew his actions would expose the wee lad's privacy if the media had've appeared.

And what ???

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2008, 12:12:08 PM

He could have been looking a night out with her !  ;) ;)