Donegal V Derry, June 1st

Started by J70, May 19, 2008, 07:20:53 PM

Quoteso he basically agreed that Doherty should get suspended for a month

I don't recall that, and that's why I was annoyed.  Maybe you dreamt it screenexile!!

Doire abú

Never listen to a Screen man on the rip.  :P :P

Quote from: the green man on June 02, 2008, 10:29:21 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 02, 2008, 10:26:47 AM
Nah it still doesn't work... it's them BT bastards with their feckin UK ip addresses!

I emailed RTE there, wanting to know demanding to know, why we are excluded from watching it.

Think you have to phone your ISP or something. Funny thing is it was working up to this week.

Quote from: Billys Boots on June 02, 2008, 11:09:44 AM
Quoteso he basically agreed that Doherty should get suspended for a month

I don't recall that, and that's why I was annoyed.  Maybe you dreamt it screenexile!!

Well he said "it was on the lower end of striking"... I took that to mean he agreed Doherty struck which in turn would mean he acknowledged the punishment that would accompany that.

QuoteWell he said "it was on the lower end of striking"... I took that to mean he agreed Doherty struck which in turn would mean he acknowledged the punishment that would accompany that.

Well I don't speak Derriere, so I'll have to take your word for it.  :P

Doherty deserved to walk, penalty 100% correct, he was fouled inside the box, Paddy Bradley has a face like a child sucking a wasp, but we failed to deal with him. Referee had a f**king dreadful game (apart from calling the penalty decision correctly), Derry men going down like Italian primadonna soccer players great tactics Crozier - the Walter Smith of gaelic football lets play for the foul!!
Donegal backs lost their shape badly in the last ten minutes, but overall we won more kickouts, breaking balls and scored more points from play, Derry of course scored 9 points from frees to our 3!

I'm absolutely gutted, but not dispondant, as Cass can have his wedding and we will regroup for the qualifiers and produce more disciplined displays. Murphy great prospect for the future, McFadden had an outstanding game, disappointed with the McGees inability to cope with the Bradley's.

On yesterdays performance Derry will be winning nothing this Summer. Anti-football.

That'll do me alright Billy!

As for this Bradley diving thing I'll have to have another look at it on Setanta but from what I saw he had the beating of his man every time and he was getting fouled more often that not but in fairness I was at the wrong end for the 2nd half so I didn't have a great view of our last few frees, when I get a decent look at it I'll say more about it.

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 02, 2008, 11:44:14 AM
Doherty deserved to walk, penalty 100% correct, he was fouled inside the box, Paddy Bradley has a face like a child sucking a wasp, but we failed to deal with him. Referee had a f**king dreadful game (apart from calling the penalty decision correctly), Derry men going down like Italian primadonna soccer players great tactics Crozier - the Walter Smith of gaelic football lets play for the foul!!
Donegal backs lost their shape badly in the last ten minutes, but overall we won more kickouts, breaking balls and scored more points from play, Derry of course scored 9 points from frees to our 3!

I'm absolutely gutted, but not dispondant, as Cass can have his wedding and we will regroup for the qualifiers and produce more disciplined displays. Murphy great prospect for the future, McFadden had an outstanding game, disappointed with the McGees inability to cope with the Bradley's.

On yesterdays performance Derry will be winning nothing this Summer. Anti-football.

What an embittered post!! Can you not admit after Derry's second half performance they deserved to go through? Donegal just didn't have that killer instinct

::) ::) ::) ::) Is that you wee Martin??

As for Anti football I think you'll find Derry got 3 of the best points yesterday and played some excellent football in the 2nd half... as for quoting Derry's 9 points from frees to your 3 well it's hardly Derry's fault that McFadden and Murphy missed their share... bring back Tony Boyle he might have kicked them for ye!!!

OakLeaf

Bitter! I'm sure Paddy won't be too worried about the likes of you.

Donegal done plenty of pulling and dragging so its not unreasonable that they'd give away plenty of frees. You boys also got plenty of soft frees, but I suppose you've blanked those out?

It always make me laugh when I hear this nonsense about scores from play versus those from frees. They count exactly the same you know.

Nothing bitter about my post, was giving my opinion on the match, and my views on some of the players/incidents.
If you don't like them - I really couldn't give a shite!

And I stand by what I said.  ;)

OakLeaf

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 02, 2008, 12:17:14 PM
Nothing bitter about my post, was giving my opinion on the match, and my views on some of the players/incidents.

Yep, like I said .. bitter  ;)

the green man

GDA, what's your view on Kavannagh strangling Diver over by the sideline?

How did Mc Fadden miss that 14/21 yd free ? He scores the hard ones and misses the easy ones ?

I thought the Mc Gees were awful yesterday -

Donegal seemed to lose the plot in the second half - In my opinion Donegal were more than a match but failed to convert in the second half - the miss by Mc Fadden was huge.

I wouldn't agree that Derry won't win anything this summer - they'll win Ulster at least.

Quote from: the green man on June 02, 2008, 12:21:37 PM

GDA, what's your view on Kavannagh strangling Diver over by the sideline?

Didn't see it.  ;) :D