Tyrone v Down Ulster Championship First Round 8th June 2008

Started by To whom it may concern, April 14, 2008, 12:39:46 PM

Quote from: hardstation on June 08, 2008, 10:57:39 PM
Jesus. Belfast must have been like a ghost town today.

Not used to daylight GAA up there ;)

Quote from: hardstation on June 08, 2008, 10:57:39 PM
Jesus. Belfast must have been like a ghost town today.
It's a wonder yous didn't go home to your houses cleared out.

winsamsoon

Lads in  all seriousness this square ball rule is a joke. Gordons goal was a perfectly good goal . It is time the square ball rule was removed as it serves no purpose whatsever.
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

Quote from: ONeill on June 07, 2008, 09:21:01 PM
Ok, prediction time - I'm plumping for a draw

Tyrone 0-13
Down 2-7

Well done, and close with the points scored each too.

Quote from: ONeill on June 02, 2008, 07:37:20 PM
If Mickey Harte starts a fit Sean Cavanagh at full forward, I'll run from Brocagh to Sion Mills naked...

Well?!  ;)

So, just have a player stand on top of the keeper all game and lump the ball up to him. He should break even and score 7 goals.

Crumbs of comfort for Tyrone is that the Derry game in '03 and the Cavan game on '05 were just as pessimistic.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 08, 2008, 11:15:10 PM

If Mickey Harte starts a fit Sean Cavanagh at full forward, I'll run from Brocagh to Sion Mills naked...

Well?!  ;)

I stand by that. Sean was clearly unfit/injured.

Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2008, 11:18:22 PM
I'd agree, he wasn't quite at himself.

Good call on Mc Cumiskey, he'll need to be curtailed somehow on Saturday.

Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2008, 11:18:22 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 08, 2008, 11:15:10 PM

Well?!  ;)

O'Neill it's just typical East Tyrone discrimination against West and North Tyrone Clubs. Why stop at Sion Mills? What's wrong with shaking it loose into Strabane, and out into Leckpatrick?

Actually....your fine where you are.

Quote from: hardstation on June 08, 2008, 11:27:36 PM
Norf, your club should be expecting a heavy fine. The litter around Healy Park was a disgrace.

We never threw a bit. We employed our U8s to lift it all again...recycling you see!

Psstttt....wanna buy a ticket?

I'll talk about the game in the morning....but I just want to thank all the Down lads on this board who bought raffle tickets for the Harps Car draw today in Omagh....Yis know who yiz are lads...thanks a million and we hope to return the favour at some stage :)

A big hearted fighting display from Down, not aided in any way by the ineptitude of the Down Management Team. Having gone with the wrong selection initially, they were woefully slow to respond to the obvious deficiences. Murphy, Mc Comisky,and Rogers should have been introduced earlier.Possibly Gordons best ever game in a Down Jersey, lets pray for a repeat performance next week. Bennys handling was disappointing today, expect a big game from him next week. With the confidence gained from today, i would be confident of a win in Newry, hopefully we will start with the fifteen who finished today, this is our best team

Quote from: Pangurban on June 08, 2008, 11:42:33 PM
A big hearted fighting display from Down, not aided in any way by the ineptitude of the Down Management Team. Having gone with the wrong selection initially, they were woefully slow to respond to the obvious deficiences. Murphy, Mc Comisky,and Rogers should have been introduced earlier.Possibly Gordons best ever game in a Down Jersey, lets pray for a repeat performance next week. Bennys handling was disappointing today, expect a big game from him next week. With the confidence gained from today, i would be confident of a win in Newry, hopefully we will start with the fifteen who finished today, this is our best team

I thought Down management rang the changes ealry on and they all worked - what more do you want ?

Good game and a good comeback from Down that noone could have seen happening when Tyrone were 7 points up. Thought Colm Cavanagh should have went for a 3rd Tyrone goal but he took the easy option and fisted the point. If that 3rd goal had of went in it would have been game over.
Down have a chance if their midfield repeat today's heroics but if Tyrone cut loose with quick passing to set up goal chances they could tank Down.

Wasnt McGuigan's handpass for McCullough's goal sublime --dropped the shoulder to the left but handpassed the ball to his right with his left hand--class.

Quote from: Gold on June 08, 2008, 11:53:55 PM
Good game and a good comeback from Down that noone could have seen happening when Tyrone were 7 points up. Thought Colm Cavanagh should have went for a 3rd Tyrone goal but he took the easy option and fisted the point. If that 3rd goal had of went in it would have been game over.
Down have a chance if their midfield repeat today's heroics but if Tyrone cut loose with quick passing to set up goal chances they could tank Down.

Wasnt McGuigan's handpass for McCullough's goal sublime --dropped the shoulder to the left but handpassed the ball to his right with his left hand--class.

That was as good a goal as you'll see scored this year. Mc Guigan's pass was pure class - the finish was top drawer.

amallon

Well done to Down on their come back, I thought we were going to get an awful hiding at one stage.  Fiar play to the management their substitutions worked a treat and the boys coming on had massive points to make and they made them fairly emphatically.  It will be hard to leave Murphy and Ambrose out the next day.  I hope he can resist the temptation to start McComiskey, he is a bit young yet and will be better being sprung from the bench.

I'd disagree with lads in favour of getting rid of the sqaure ball rule, its their to protect keepers from teams putting 3 full fowards in the square and driving high balls in on top of the keeper. 

I think we can get the better of Tyrone in the next game, but we can't afford another start like we had yesterday. 

The face is burnt off me, the sweat was coming off me just standing watching it what must it have been like for the players.  Healy park is a fine ground.  Did anyone get the attendance?
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.