April Fools

Started by Mickey Linden, April 01, 2008, 10:45:44 AM

They were building a new fancy brick bus stop outside omagh academy when i was 14. Iasked my old man what it was. "A new burger king" he says.  "Its awful small" says I. "They are driving the burgers down from belfast every half hour for orders" was his reply.

I bought it - told everyone I knew. :-\

He is an awful hewer for that kind of thing. Recently told my brother (law student) that asda was closing down and becomming a snooker ball factory...feckin eejit bought that as well. I wont be answering the phone to him today.

My favourite april fools was in the sun - neil ruddocks "predator" headband - for more powerful, swervier headers!

Leo

Fell for this one myself so posted it earlier but everyone has had more sense, although I heard one county officer was going ballistic he hadn't been consulted!

"Army Bands for Esler Park

The agreement entered into between Down GAA and Newry & Mourne Council for the use of Esler Park for concerts and other events will result in the massed bands of the British army participating in a multi-cultural concert at the venue in July.

Sponsored by Ford, and themed "The Anglo-Celtic Experience", the ambitious project will see an all-day outdoor concert featuring the very best of Irish, Scottish, Welsh & Breton folk artistes alongside the Pipes & Drums of the Scottish Highland, Queens Own Fusiliers and Green Jacket regiments.

Promoter Pol O'Frial, on behalf of Celtic Showcase Management who are hosting the event, said: "The current political climate makes it possible to bring together in harmony these diverse cultures, some with a political dimension, for the first time. We chose Newry because of its strategic frontier location and the incentives received from the local authority and governments, north & south."

More information, including the preliminary line-up of acts, and advance tickets can be accessed on www.ford1.demon.co.uk."
Fierce tame altogether

Seen the Irish Star today said that Maradona was going to be training with Tyrone.   ::)

Suppose he was fond of diving as well, maybe he could pick some tricks up from the Tryone lads.

QuotePol O'Frial

Christ, that's so bad it can barely be classified as an anagram!

Quote from: hardstation on April 01, 2008, 05:13:19 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 01, 2008, 05:07:45 PM
Seen the Irish Star today said that Maradona was going to be training with Tyrone.   ::)

Suppose he was fond of diving as well, maybe he could pick some tricks up from the Tryone lads.
And there was me expecting to read a post about Captain Kennedy being let back into Deis Roc because the band that hammered the shite out of them in the last round were disqualified for miming.
Ah well....

:D Or disqualified for bein shite!!!  (just kidding)

dodo

This one was class

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=aaSLNBOphpE

Not sure it was april fools though.

Apple Top

Today FM had as a main news item all morning that Roy Keane had a bust up with Nial Quinn and resigned!

SammyG

Thought Mr Fearon would enjoy this one.

only a matter of time

that was funny- Come to Glasgow and we'll set about ye

Overthebar!

anyone caught out the day? my ma near got me with one about how a letter arrived for penalty points. had heard on the wireless two seconds before that it was april fools but still nearly fell for it!