Will anyone inn Fianna Fail shout stop?

Started by Leo, February 22, 2008, 05:07:17 PM

Quote from: Son_of_Sam on March 03, 2008, 01:46:27 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on March 02, 2008, 07:49:18 PM
No. They are in favour of a united Ireland within in the Union of Ireland England Scotlant and Wales. Hence - Unionists.

Thats UTTER BULLSHIT. Fine Gael are for a United Ireland, with the agreement of the Majority of the people of the Republic in one Constitutional Referendum & with the agreement of the Majority of the the people of Northern Ireland in a second Constitutional Referendum. Fine Gael Party & Voters do not believe it is correct to enforce Re-Unification against the will of either the majority of the people North or South, neither do they agree with enforcing Unionism on the majority.

Zap as you are obviously NOT a Democrat this concept will be very hard for you to understand. Not all Nationalists or Republicans share your belief in either Militant or Bullyboy Nationalism.

There will be a United Ireland it WILL HAPPEN, but Fine Gaelers & many Fianna Failers & others are willing to wait until it is the will of the people not the result of force. If we where to take it by force we would be no better than the Invader.

How do you get the opinion I am not a democrat? That is the lowest form of debate. I am not a Nationalist!! I do not believe in bullyboy tactics or unnecessary Militarism.

As I said I know FG are in favour of a United Ireland. I also know they are in favour of a United Ireland within a British - Irish Union, making them Unionists.

If FG and FF where serious about there United Ireland ambitions then the would try to convince the people of this and that it is the right thing to do.

Take for example the Lisbon Treaty. FF and FG want the people to vote Yes in the Treaty. They will spend a lot of money and work very hard to get the support needed to do it. They are NOT "willing to wait until it is the will of the people not" but will put their opinion out into the public and try to convince them to vote yes. If they put half as much effort into their United Ireland ambitions then I might be convinced that they are serious. Politics is not about waiting for the people to decide but trying to encourage them to decide and giving them the opportunity to decide.

Fishead Sam
i always find that when you type in capitals you get your point accross better.

Remember this rant you had a few months ago?
''T.FERON despite your lack of knoweledge of the Southern mind, we are obviouly fearfull of a similar disaster put on West Germany by having to accomodate East Germany, we are ALL REPUBLICANS, but your defination SCARES THE SHIT OUT OF US, we donn't want a right wing Catholic Regeime, or a left wing Communist Republic, we want our Country, to be honest if you want to join we REFUSE TO CHANGE, all you Republicans camn down, all you Unionists cop the f**k on.

Why should we change, we have a great fucken Country. You all become like us or Im not interested.This is MY COUNTRY, & I AM PROUD OF IT.''

I must say Sam that is very democratic of you

QuoteThe only problem is that the Revenue do not issue statements about their dealings with anyone's tax affairs.  There is no way that any Revenue official would inform a journalist that they were going to investigate any taxpayer.

Sorry, Onlooker, at the start I thought you were on a bit of a wind up. I now know you are being dead serious, so that's okay by me.
The first sentence of the above quote is correct but your second assertion I'm afraid is very off the mark. There are plenty of ways to do this very thing and the Revenue Commissioners are not the only ones to adopt this approach.
We have probably the most restrictive libel laws in the western world and journalists have to be very careful in what they choose to report.
If a variety of media come out with a statement like the one we are referring to, you can be certain all of them are very confident of the reliability of the 'leak,' and very importantly, that the action being mentioned is going to happen very soon.
All journalists, especially Pol Corrs guard their particular sources very carefully and if so many come out with such a statement at the same time, it can only mean that the investigation has already begun, so as to forestall the likelihood of a libel suit by the aggrieved party.
Remember the huge bank robbery in Belfast some years back?
Some time later, the Gardai caught up with a man they "wished to help them with their inquiries," in a house in a remote part of Kerry, or possibly West Cork- I don't exactly recall the location now.
Okay?
There was widespread media coverage of this at the time and it was also reported that the house in question was owned by a well-known IRA supporter in Dublin and that he used to rent the house out to holiday makers. Furthermore it was also reported that Revenue proposed to investigate this as he had not reported the extra source of income to the relevant authorities.
Where did the media get this information from?
Informed leaks come from all quarters and at times this device of reporting confidential matters backfires somewhat. Geraldine Kennedy of The Irish Times  had a littler spot of bother some time ago in this regard and so did Brendan Howlin of the Labour Party in relation to information he released in the Dail concerning the McBrearty case in Donegal.
In both cases the Gardai wanted to locate the source of the leaks and threatened prosecution in both instances if the sources were not handed over to them.
Using leaked information can be a risky business for both journalists and politicians alike. I guess but the fact is they frequently use such leaks and choose to run the risk of possible libel action means they are confident of the genuineness of their sources..
HTH.

17 days have passed since the last post here. Anymore developments on the issue?;D

I see the Bert has excelled himself in cowardice by sending his once £66 a week Secretary to tell fables for him to the Tribunal.
What a craven cnut he is
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Now the Sterling has deposits have come into play things should get very interesting . He really messed the secratary about

FF Cllf Tommy Murphy has said Bertie Ahern should resign :o

Is the the stop you where looking for Leo?

I must say I had a wee laugh at son of sam / fisheads comments about FG being nationalists.

One of the reasons I wouldnt vote FG is that this is quite obviously not true.

I'd say any FG TD's reading this thread will be cringing at his comments.

Leo

Quote from: Zapatista on March 21, 2008, 01:34:33 PM
FF Cllf Tommy Murphy has said Bertie Ahern should resign :o

Is the the stop you where looking for Leo?

The longest journey starts with a single step, so whoever Tommy Murphy is, he has started the inevitable journey.This whole tawdry affair is a black stain on the heart of the nation, not just FF. Sadly, when the rest of FF join this journey they will go so far, but not all the way to Damascus as was demonstrated with Haughey previously.

It might be a nice irony if his protegee,Bertie, hangs around long enough to be at Croke Park in September for the presentation of the Tommy Murphy Cup.

In the meantime it would be good if some journo with time on their hands would set out line by line the various sums involved, Bertie's different explanations/versions (RTE, Dail, doorstep, Tribunal), and "The balance of probabilities" (ie, what the real evidence points to).

Time also for the Fraud Squad & Banking Regulator to go into AIB and turn up the records from just 14 years ago that they have so far failed to produce. When did they buy their computer, for God's sake? Isn't just a few years ago they were forced to repay millions in FX overcharges to thousands of customers and were able to do so within days from their records? The small building society has its records but AIB O'Connell Street doesn't? Hmmm.....
Fierce tame altogether

Quote from: Leo on March 21, 2008, 02:11:52 PM
so whoever Tommy Murphy is, he has started the inevitable journey.

He is a Cllr in Louth apparently.Ye wanna her the FFers texting into newstalk to say how bad a Cllr he is ;D

Quote from: Zapatista on March 21, 2008, 02:23:45 PM
Quote from: Leo on March 21, 2008, 02:11:52 PM
so whoever Tommy Murphy is, he has started the inevitable journey.

He is a Cllr in Louth apparently.Ye wanna her the FFers texting into newstalk to say how bad a Cllr he is ;D

If it was any other country Bertie would have been ran long ago. And I'm a FF voter.

By placing loyalty above integrity and refusing to act in the face of mounting evidence of dishonesty, Brian Cowen has demonstrated his unfitness to lead the party, yet alone the Country. Fianna Fail will need to skip a generation  when they appoint their next leader, to have any chance of restoring credibility.

Now we have the PDs and Greens looking for an explanation. While I welcome this it is too late for them to save face. It has been clear to us all for a long time that BA is corrupt and it has been clear to them for the same length of time.

I'm not sure who the FF minister was who just said on the radio that it's a matter for FF to deal with is, but he disgusts me. It goes to show the arrogance of FF and how they treat the offices they hold as their own and not the peoples. Republicans? I think not! This is a matter for the Nation. It is quite clear FF will not deal with it.

Mentalman

Quote from: Zapatista on March 27, 2008, 06:29:59 PM
Now we have the PDs and Greens looking for an explanation.

I'd love to hear Michael McDowells perspective on latest development, much as I dislike the guy. After famously "marching his soldiers up to the top of the hill" prior to the election over fresh information given to him, but then being forced to backdown by the country and western brigade of his own party, and now all this comes out. The irony of it all was that was the very move that insured their near implosion in the general election. Now they are coming a bit late to the party. I don't think they realised that the whole "conscience of Fianna Fáil" thing was a mojor reason voters gave their candidates 2nd or 3rd preferences.

As for the Greens, well let's just say they waited for the PDs to ask the questions first before they budged, which is probably smart politics by them, it might be early enough in this governments life that they won't be punished in the next election.

"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

McDowell might be Berties Defence lawyer in the up coming criminal case against Ahern for Perjury, Tax Fraud, Recieving money by fraudulent purposes etc....