Dublin v Kerry all ireland SF

Started by anportmorforjfc, August 12, 2007, 03:35:27 PM

I'm really interested to see what our plan is for Donaghy. The only plan I can think of that mighh have some element of success is damage limitation. Accept that Donaghy will win the high balls, let him have it, but don't let him goalside, and try to reduce his options by marking the corner forwards and the runners tightly. If McConnell challenges for the 50/50s and loses, then Kerry will likely be in on goal.

Sounds ideal but a recipe for disaster. If you're going to allow Donaghy to have some level of success you'll have a cavalcade of runners waiting for a lay-off. You need to compete with Kieran, on the edge of legality, and have enough support to pick up the breaking ball as Monaghan did. Kerry's only goal came from a defender's mistake. Ideally, prevent the ball coming in but easier said than done.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 15, 2007, 12:09:50 AM
QuoteWho in Tyrone ended up with his arm in a sling after the Monaghan game?

Genuinely getting injured is no shame..going down repeatedly would indicate some level of softness dont you think ?..... unless <shock, horror> they were just trying to waste time

.....no !! never!!...sorry, how could I think such a thing.

So what about Donaghy, Dara O'Sé, Gooch, Marc O'Sé, jeez I lost count of the times the Kerry lads were prostrated on the deck against Monaghan. Just trying to give you a little neutral perspective here, and this is not an anti-Kerry diatribe.

I now think Spillanes mask has finally slipped entirely off his face to reveal his arse.  His comments in that rag last Sunday were tantamount to promoting xenophobia in the GAA.  He is not selling our games, hes selling his own lies and hes polarising many northern counties not just Tyrone and Armagh.  He is a disgrace, I have went to matches and received hostile reactions as a Tyrone Fan from other counties supporters who are simply repeating what this asshole has been drumming up since August 2003.  I am wqatching no more Sunday game until that asshole is taken off it.  How dare he besmirch the name of our county and our province?
An spalpin fanach rules.      

Quote from: rrhf on August 15, 2007, 09:51:23 AM
I have went to matches and received hostile reactions

Well at least you have came home safely.

Hardy, Its creeping in Im tellin ye.

just ignore spillane rrhf, i stopped buying that paper he writes for ages ago i can't suffer the sunday game because of the tool.Sure even his own mother can't stand him ;)

Ive a bee in my bonnet about him and his lies, hes definitely going to get a very public roading from RTE one of these days and I for one will laugh at the hoor.  I think rather than accept his views there should be more protest ants from the North commenting on this. 

Quote from: rrhf on August 15, 2007, 10:25:54 AM
Ive a bee in my bonnet about him and his lies, hes definitely going to get a very public roading from RTE one of these days and I for one will laugh at the hoor.  I think rather than accept his views there should be more protest ants from the North commenting on this. 

what has this to do with religion rrhf ;)

For heavens sake would you quit your whinging

Dubs for Sam I wish you luck, but for your own sake I hope youse dont beat Kerry, Everyone will hate ye.

Sure everyone hates us anyway - we might as well give them a reason to hate us...

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 15, 2007, 12:09:50 AM
QuoteWho in Tyrone ended up with his arm in a sling after the Monaghan game?

Genuinely getting injured is no shame..going down repeatedly would indicate some level of softness dont you think ?..... unless <shock, horror> they were just trying to waste time

.....no !! never!!...sorry, how could I think such a thing.

Mike. I think you're been a bit Spillane like and trying to be unfair for the sake of it.

I don't think Monaghan lay down or tried to waste time with injuries. Talking to Dermot McArdle last night, his shoulder injury from Coppers fould in the corner is giving him bother and he may not make our club championship game on Sunday week. Tommy Freemans injury was clear to see for everyone as he slide off the pitch and Gary McQuaid has struggled with back injuries iin the past.

I can't think of any other times where Monaghan lay down. Remember there was only 3 mins of injury time plus when Monaghan win a free you'll note that its part of there plan to move it immediately and they done this repeated on Sunday.

As had been said it was a physical game. If it was Hurling we'd be raving about these madmen with sticks tearing into each other. Let the footballers have a bit of contact. I've heard no complants from the Kerry squad, only actual credit for a tough game.

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 15, 2007, 10:33:57 AM

Sure everyone hates us anyway - we might as well give them a reason to hate us...

ah we don't hate ye Dfs you just think we do ;) siege mentality and all that

Were Monaghan dirty ? I thought it was a good game but a lot of posters are saying that they were dirty ??