Leinster Senior Championship 2026

Started by Dunneroyal, April 05, 2026, 10:18:25 AM

Kildare were so flat in the league match and I know it's only the league, but they will be stronger and quicker on the harder ground. I'd call it to say they are 5+ a better outfit.

I don't know why I had it in my head that Fenton might come back, but the Sunday Game announcement was a curveball! With all the Ger Brennan craic and them not really flying, I'd fancy Louth a bit more.

They were missing a lot of lads in that last league game, so if they get them back they are a solid outfit who are more settled than the Dubs.

On second thoughts from an earlier post I'd prefer the Louth v Meath pairing again and the colour it will bring.

Half time Offaly 0-8 Laois 2-7

Anothet 1-1 for Laois to lead by 9 points now. 2,841 the attendance

Result Offaly 0-12 Laois 3-12

Bad year to date for the Biffos!
That's them and London in the TC.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Great win. Always good to beat the BIFFOS.
Nordie Tayto is shite

pjm

Most famous Biffo getting a hole in one makes up for loss

Dunneroyal

Said Offaly were bad. Kildare may improve on better ground (if we get it ) but honestly I don't think they will bother this Meath team
Hon the royal

Quote from: laoislad on April 11, 2026, 08:22:13 PMGreat win. Always good to beat the BIFFOS.
Obviously not too  many of ye too bothered 2,841 attendance!
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Whats happened Offaly? Looked like a team ready to push on from what I saw of them in last years league, but results have ben awful since. Have injuries been that bad?

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 12, 2026, 08:26:33 AMWhats happened Offaly? Looked like a team ready to push on from what I saw of them in last years league, but results have ben awful since. Have injuries been that bad?

Yes and No. Injuries have been a big feature. A less depleted squad perhaps could have survived the Div 3 drop.

Other than that, I believe the Mickey Harte bounce of 2025 has worn off. The underlying issue was the unpopularity of 2024 manager Declan Kelly who had a poor stint that year - losing badly to London on top of growing disgruntlement in the dressing room.
He was untenable going forward as the sole manager, so appointing Harte as the joint manager put a lid on this bubbling saucepan.

Whatever sauce Mickey was bringing to the picnic last year is not being brought this year. The mood in the camp doesn't seem good.
Yesterday it came home to roost.

The defence looked in huge trouble at times. Ball watching, slow reactions. Players switching off and allowing Leix forwards steal several yards before any response. The margin could have been far worse. A more clinical opposition would have gone to town.

At the other end, Offaly had plenty of possession, but too many single man drives ending up in a square pass, or a turnover. There was little clever inter play.
Either advanced attacking play wasn't worked on in training - or it was and the players ignored the advice - or else the players have become very poor players in 2026?

Worryingly, some of the normally quicker Offaly players looked dead-legged and lethargic. Take pace out of a team already small in height and that spells trouble.

Right now my feeling is that it's a pity Offaly have to limp onwards into the TC. This would have been an appropriate time to sign off with a management set up that had a productive 2025, but has now reached the end of the road

Twice last year Offaly outplayed and outsmarted Kildare in the league, but by the time of the championship Kildare had some stronger men back and sat a lad on Egan who had destroyed us.
That did the trick and this year they were way off us. Teams have figured them out a bit more and you can't afford to lose anyone.
Good luck in the TC and hope to see you bounce back. Going by what you are saying if ye kept Mickey and got lads back there is still young team with potential there.

Half-time Longford 1-8 Westmeath 5-9

Big enough win for Wicklow. Goes against league form but thought they might win that one.

Results

Longford 1-16 Westmeath 5-25
Carlow 1-7 Wicklow 2-15

Dunneroyal

Ahh the annexed part we play. Always love it.
Hon the royal

Westmeath can't be underestimated. While I fancy us to beat them, they can score goals and our full back line get exposed at times.

Ronan Jones is back fit and gives us another option off the bench. Costello not fit yet so won't feature.