Soccer more popular than Gaelic

Started by Feckitt, June 21, 2007, 01:54:34 PM

Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2007, 04:09:31 PM
Should I go and show myself to the priests?

That has led many a man down a very dark path hardy...

I must be one of the strange ones.  I am actively involved in my club, PRO and occassionally help my brother train the under 10's.  Go to all the matches etc, but to be honest I would always put my county first and would have assumed most do because alot of friends and family do.

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: Spiritof98 on June 21, 2007, 04:03:03 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 21, 2007, 03:49:51 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 21, 2007, 02:37:53 PM

Never understood people who have more allegience to their county than their club. around armagh those people are usually teenagers and their mothers and eejits who never had any interest in football of any kindtil 2002.

I think (maybe Im wrong) Townies like myself tend to be more County Orientated and lads from the Country tend to be more Club Oriented. Clubs in general but not exclusivly tend to have smaller bases in the towns, yet the towns are full of GAA fanatics who often ignore the town team 90% of the time, I would be more a County man myself, but whenever I go to Mitchells matches I notice at home games more than often we are outnumbered by a parish of 20 people (exageration of course)

Have to say I disagree with that, I would bet 99% of active club members at my club would rather the club achieve success than the county, not saying they don't follow the county but the club is were their heart and soul is.

You dont actually say if you are small town big town or country or even large city yourself, so club may mean different things in different places. I actually have to say I get a better club feal from the club I am a member of in Dublin than my old home club, maybe its just lost contact. But I always noticed lads from the country tend to be far more pasionate about their club, but not necessarrily more knowlegable, or play more or even attend more games or life any more or less revolving around the GAA.

Spiritof98

Armagh Harps from the might big smoke in Armagh City, one of the biggest clubs in the county
I'll go back if Marsdens back

98 just out of interest then who are Armagh Cuchulianns

Surely then Hardy you'd be cheering on the langers once the Royals are out of contention!!! ;)

You can't imagine how impossible that would be!

QuoteThat has led many a man down a very dark path hardy...

You're right :o

What about poor souls myself who actively support two counties ???

Quote from: thebandit on June 21, 2007, 05:52:41 PM

you sir, should be put in a bag as every unwanted litter is and weighted tight til a heavy rock....

I agree how can you actively support 2 counties.  I remember shedding a genuine tear when Mc Geeney walked the steps, and as I stood there cheering on the tangerine party a fellow Tyrone man beside me told me to catch myself on and get out of the ground before the rabble.  As I travelled under bridges through Dundalk that day and into Newry I was probably the first car home.  I waved and beeped my car horn and the crowds cheerd and waved flags in my direction.  I must have been 5 minutes before any car.  I was like a soldier returning from the war - as brave and travelled an Armagh man as could be.  I took all the street plaudits for Armaghs win, surely - I wasnt going to tell the lads I was a Tyrone man who had nipped off early, I didnt want to ruin anything, but when I crossed the border into the Moy My cheeks turned rosy and I satrted to breathe again.  I was back in Gods county - Like any Tyrone man - who knew what was going to happen - if we could ever reach or even surpass those great heights that Armagh had, but one thing was for sure I had my own county and I was going to keep the faith. Total faith!
(apologies to any Armagh folk who hung over bridges and waved flags at me with my fist bating the top of the motor - as opposed to being an Armagh war veteran I was a Tyrone man trying to get ahead of the traffic.)   

Quote from: rosnarun on June 21, 2007, 04:33:03 PM
98 just out of interest then who are Armagh Cuchulianns

That would be the Armagh city hurling club?

Having moved away from home at 18 and having been travelling from home to home all over the joint in more than one country I have more of an allegiance to the county than to any club. I find it hard to believe than some find it hard to believe people can have that priority to their county. Feckin bumpkins.

I was born under a wandering star.

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: ONeill on June 21, 2007, 09:24:24 PM
Having moved away from home at 18 and having been travelling from home to home all over the joint in more than one country I have more of an allegiance to the county than to any club. I find it hard to believe than some find it hard to believe people can have that priority to their county. Feckin bumpkins.

I was born under a wandering star.

I might have the same reason, 8 years living in County Galway 5 in County Dublin, really makes your County Identity really come out in ya especially as the only Mayoman in the Village (went to national school in the Heart of Galway football - Tuam) Back in the late 1980's I was the only child happy on the monday after Mayo bate Galway as was always the case the few years I lived there, really made me hard-core Mayoman living in Tuam from the age of 4-7, it was a case of Assimilate or Retaliate, I retaliated by drawing Green & Red on everything I owned. Lived in Galway in College too, but that was during the 2 All-Ireland wins & 1 loss period not a good time to be a Mayomad fan in Galway at least Peter Ford gave us the League to gloat over for a few weeks, we really clung to the ladies victories & of course the exploits of Crossmollina (not my own club). I actually had my Mayoflag held ransom for a few weeks, I actually got really really really really irate about it not the cost of the flag but the fact that someone from the Midlands dare remove it from our Mayo occupied house in Galway City. I actully had money stolen around the same time and never got to annoyed & I was broke @ the time. Sorry thats a tangent. Lived in Dublin & being constantly called Culchie this & Culchie that made every victory over the Dubs so so so sweet.
I know thats a bit of a meandering minds thought process, my point is if I had held on to the notion of the Mitchells rather than Mayo most non-hardcore GAA fans @ the age of the 4-7 would have said "the fck wot now?!?"

Admittedly the town went nuts in 1994 when Castlebar Mitchells got to the Final V Nemo Rangers, what a slaughter.  :'(  :'(  :'(  :'(

I remember the train took until after 1 am to get back to town, coz nearly everyone was pissed & repeatly pulling the emergancy cord.

Quote from: Uladh on June 21, 2007, 06:19:05 PM

you sir, should be put in a bag as every unwanted litter is and weighted tight til a heavy rock....
[/quo

I was brought up supporting the oul lad's county (we only live 2 miles from the county boundary)

But as I got older I got more involved in the local club, I play, serve on the committee and coach underage teams. I am also on a county sub-committee. Therefore I feel well entitled to support the county.

That will never make me renounce the county I was brought up supporting though.  

Quote from: thebandit on June 21, 2007, 09:42:24 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 21, 2007, 06:19:05 PM

I was brought up supporting the oul lad's county (we only live 2 miles from the county boundary)

But as I got older I got more involved in the local club, I play, serve on the committee and coach underage teams. I am also on a county sub-committee. Therefore I feel well entitled to support the county.

That will never make me renounce the county I was brought up supporting though.  

Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2007, 04:09:31 PM
There's another category - I belong to it. I've been gone from my native locality for over 25 years, so I've lost effective contact with my home club. Of course, I still like to see them do well, but I'm not in regular contact, rarely get to see their games, wouldn't know the players etc.

I just can't give the same level of allegiance to the club I'm a runner-in to. The depth of feeling wouldn't (couldn't) be there. The young lad is a player, but I don't get directly involved.

I'm just wandering in the desert, really and I miss the passionate involvement with a club, completely understand the lads here who have it and envy them for it. But at this stage, for me, an All-Ireland for Meath would mean much more than a county championship for either of "my" clubs.

Should I go and show myself to the priests?

Same with myself. If you no longer live around home, and you don't travel home to play for the club, you lose touch, plain and simple. I chose to play soccer from my late teens onward because I was better at it (I didn't say good, just better!), so I never joined any other GAA club either. As a result, I  have nowhere near the interest in club football that I would have in the county team.