On Saturday
London v Roscommon, McGovern Park, Ruislip, 2:30pm

On Sunday
New York v Galway, Gaelic Park, 8pm Irish time
Mayo v Sligo,Machale Park, 3.30pm

The matches in London and New York will be streamed live on GAA+

Semi finals
April 20th Galway/New York v Roscommon/London at 4pm in Pearse Stadium
April 19th Leitrim v Mayo/Sligo  4:30pm in Markievicz Park/ Carrick on Shannon.

Final  4th May at 4pm

Galway going for 4 Connacht titles in a row something they haven't done since the 60s which was that Great Galway team that won three All Ireland titles in a row. 

Championship week is upon us. Mayo v Sligo in Castlebar. I have mixed feelings on our chances tbh. Kerry curtailed Mayo's pace well today but I don't see Sligo doing as good a job. They run a lot of forward attacks through Hession coming out of defence and they use McLaughlins pace to break lines and create space. They don't really have any markee great footballers anymore, its all about athleticism and pace with Mayo nowadays. O Shea causes us problems, McGuinness usually isn't able to handle him. He will need help as I haven't seen us stop his physicality before. The space in front of the FB lines needs to be covered somewhat. Ruane too is a danger from midfield. Ryan O Donoghue who had a quiet enough game yesterday will take a lot of watching. I don't know if McNamara or Lyons can handle him tbh especially if he gets good ball. If we can put Mayo under pressure you have a chance but I honestly don't know if we will. We've beaten there u20s last 3 years and that should count for something in terms of belief but Mayo have hammered us recently at senior so there is mentality damage there. Mayo will not respect Sligo so they will push forward a lot more than yesterday and push the gain line, if we are clever we can funnel their speed into traps.

For us Cummins being injured recently concerns me as I don't see him being 100% and he already lacks pace, great going forward but he will leave the full backs exposed and he won't mark his man. They'll start him even on one leg which I don't agree with but I hope he is fully fit.

We need Mulligan and O Connor to get some sort of parity in midfield. This Sligo team should be built on winning breaks and short kick outs. Mayo's forwards are very good at pressing and tackling defenders coming out of defence. We need to be careful but confident enough to pass it forward. I'd say Spillane and Hession will battle it out, hopefully we can have him to do some defending. Murphy can definitely do damage to those Mayo backs but will struggle to find separation, Mayo rotated 3 on Clifford all day and limited him well enough in fairness. For me we need Lally to find form, we need a confident Lally firing on all cylinders, winning ball and running at Mayo. If he can't find form he probably won't start. Hoping McLoughlin for us can find separation and be in scoring positions. I expect a big game from Towey, Mullen and Cox for us. Eddie needs to back himself if O Shea goes in FF and play on the front foot. I really hope the Sligo players exude the body language of belief and trust in themselves and not of fear.

Championship is different and any weaknesses will be exposed. I have a fair idea of ours but we will see for ourselves on Sunday. Its a great test for all involved, hopefully we can rise up to meet it. And if we have a lead late on lads, hopefully we keep the ball moving but have cover behind the ball too. We need to watch the momentum swings too. I wish going into this I trusted Management to get the tactics, match ups and team selection right but Sunday is a chance to build that trust and the people of Sligo who are ambitious and who are not happy with mediocrity or morale victories are owed a hell of lot better than the last 10 years at senior and deserve a big statement senior win. If McEntee and Keane are so bloody good after 5 and 7 years, then now is the time to show us. You've had enough time. All the best to Sligo players and management.

Galway starting 15 & subs vs New York for Sunday.

1. Conor Flaherty (Claregalway)
2. Jonathan McGrath (Caherlistrane)
3. Seán Fitzgerald (CLG Bhearna)
4. Jack Glynn (Claregalway)
5. Kieran Molloy (CorofinGAA)
6. Seán Kelly - Capt (Mhaigh Cuilinn)
7. Cian Hernon (CLG Bhearna)
8. Matthew Tierney (Oughterard)
9. John Maher (Salthill Knocknacarra)
10. Matthew Thompson (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
11. Cillian McDaid (Monivea/Abbey)
12. Daniel O'Flaherty (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
13. Brian Mannion (Tuam Stars)
14. Robert Finnerty (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
15. Finnian Ó Laoí (An Spidéal)

Subs
16. Connor Gleeson (Dunmore MacHales)
17. Seán Ó Maoilchiaráin (CLG Oileáin Árann)
18. Billy Mannion (Mountbellew Moylough)
19. Jack O'Neill (St. James)
20. Diarmuid Kilcommins (Annaghdown)
21. Paul Conroy (St. James')
22. Céin D'Arcy (Boden)
23. Liam Ó Conghaile (An Spidéal)
24. Cathal Sweeney (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
25. Patrick Egan (Corofin)
26. Sam O'Neill (St. James')

Comer,Shane Walsh,McHugh,Silke,John Daly,Heaney among those sitting out this game.

Roscommon team to play London.

Conor Carroll (Oranmore-Maree)
Pearse Frost (St Brigids)
John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)
David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
Ruaidhri Fallon (St Brigids)
Colm Neary (Strokestown)
Dylan Ruane (Michael Glaveys)
Eddie Nolan (St Brigids)
Keith Doyle (St Dominics)
Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael)
Enda Smith (Boyle)
Ben O'Carroll (St Brigids)
Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleachs)
Cian McKeon (Boyle)
Ciarain Murtagh (St Faithleachs)

Subs

Aaron Brady (Elphin)
Niall Higgins (Navan)
Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Shane Killoran (Elphin)
Declan Kenny (Padraig Pearses)
Conor Hand (St Brigids)
Shane Cunnane (St Brigids)
Cathal Heneghan (Michael Glaveys
Senan Lambe (Roscommon Gaels)
Conor Cox (Éire Óg)
Donie Smith (Boyle)

Mayo team to play Sligo on Sunday.

Colm Reape Knockmore
Jack Coyne Ballyhaunis
Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mitchels
Enda Hession Garrymore
Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
David McBrien Ballaghaderreen
Stephen Coen Hollymount Carramore
Jack Carney Kilmeena
Matthew Ruane Breaffy
Davitt Neary Breaffy
Darren McHale Knockmore
Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers
Aidan O'Shea Breaffy
Frank Irwin Ballina Stephenites
Ryan O'Donoghue Béal an Mhuirthead

SUBS:

16. Adrian Phillips Ballyhaunis
17. Conor Reid Moy Davitts
18. Diarmuid O'Connor Ballintubber
19. Dylan Thornton Ballina Stephenites
20. Eoghan McLaughlin Westport
21. Fergal Boland Aghamore
22. Fenton Kelly Davitts
23. Niall Coggins Crossmolina Deel Rovers
24. Paul Towey Charlestown Sarsfields
25. Sean Morahan Castlebar Mitchels
26. Shairorze Akram Ballaghaderreen

Sligo team

Daniel Lyons – Shamrock Gaels
Evan Lyons – Shamrock Gaels
Eddie McGuinness – Tubbercurry
Paul McNamara – St. John's
Brian Cox – Calry St. Joseph's
Nathan Mullen – Coolaney Mullinabreena
Luke Towey – St. Molaise Gaels
Canice Mulligan – St. Pat's
Paddy O'Connor – Kilmacud Crokes Dublin
Ross Doherty – Coolera Strandhill
David Quinn – Shamrock Gaels
Alan Reilly – Curry
Alan McLoughlin – St. Molaise Gaels
Niall Murphy – Coolera Strandhill
Pat Spillane – St. Jude's Dublin

Strong looking Galway squad especially when you see the lads being rested.
Rossies should have enough for London but that 2nd half display against Monaghan was very unconnvincing. I definitely felt watching it that once the Monaghan goal went in Roscommon as a team pretty much said (right, forget this lark. We have a championship game next week) Similarly it's hard to know what to make of Mayo's performance - they didn't look overly bothered in the Kerry game - I wouldn't be surprised if come Sunday evening the general consensus is that they were targeting the championship. Have a soft spot for Sligo so would like to see them going well. Only the start of April and Championship is upon us - like a lot of others still not rightly used to it.

Routine 2-26 to 0-13 win for Roscommon over in London this afternoon. 12 different scorers and Ben O'Carroll coming into form a bonus

Match Mayo never looked like losing as Sligo kept plugging away but conceding 2-17 at home to a team while decent they didn't get out of div 3 shows how much improving Mayo needs if they have plans to win Connacht.

If Galway are planning for bigger things it could leave  Ros and Rhubarbs fighting for Nestor.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Competitive first half from New York.  New York 0-12 Galway 1-12.

Shite Galway performance in the first half.
Few lads who got starts shown to most likely not be up to this level (a Mannion & O'Laoi for example).
Hope John Maher is okay.

Quote from: galwayman on April 06, 2025, 08:56:44 PMShite Galway performance in the first half.
Few lads who got starts shown to most likely not be up to this level (a Mannion & O'Laoi for example).
Hope John Maher is okay.

Maher would be a big loss.
Galway very unimpressive in the first half.
New York look to have run out of puff a bit in the 2nd half.

All too easy for Galway 2nd half. FT New York 0-20 Galway 3-28

There were a lot of positives and learnings to take from today game for Sligo but like Galway last year, Mayo were there for the taking today and we can't just keep getting close and losing indefinitely especially when teams aren't at their best. We have to find the ambition to wining. As mentally strong as we showed Mayo upped it when needed to keep us at arms length, its just a pity Spillane didn't bury his goal chance as I felt closer proximity on the score earlier could have spooked Mayo and sparked us. The late score just came too late and inside the arc but how we let O Shea win that last kickout when we were favorites to win it.

Winning kickouts is our main issue. We are smaller but shouldn't that mean sharper to win breaks. We need to find a way to win Kickouts. Effectively you are asking a natural HB and forward to play Midfield which we don't really have any other options right now.

Towey, Lally, Murphy, McLoughlin, Spillane all showed very well at various stages. Look there were a few out of their depth but fair play to all. Fair play to Lally especially who seemed to struggle throughout the league, he showed serious courage there today. He never stopped pushing the gainline. I liked the energy of the subs.

Especially after early openness the defence did well to settle and create turnovers. As a unit they did a lot of good stuff although Mayo got their scores much easier than us.

Management had us well prepared and team are playing for them but given this trend throughout the year why the early season poorness? If we could address that there would be very little criticism. I liked Aaron Kernans interview after the game, you could tell he was disappointed more than proud and that's how it should be.

On to the Tailtean cup now which for me we have to win outright. We are good enough and we have to start winning big games against top 20 teams. It is a good starting point that we are competitive in Connacht at senior again but we need to be more ruthless.

Watching Roscommon and Galway both were well below par in the 1st half of both matches but I doubt they will go down to that level again v better opposition.

3 results as expected, 2 routine wins and Sligo save face.
Not much excitement around.

Apart from Longford v Wicklow not much excitement any where else either.
15k in Ballybofey, 9k in Castlebar.
Was there 15k in total at the other 7 games?

Anyway on the Easter weekend.
Ros might put it up to Galway while Carrick might make some money if the Rhubarb army bothers to turn up for a turkey shoot.

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Cortoon

John Maher's injury is annoying because of the surface they're expected to play on in New York.
Galway will still have plenty to spare over Roscommon the next day.