Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 - Galway, Armagh, Derry, Westmeath

Started by GAABoardMod5, May 13, 2024, 01:06:48 AM

Truthsayer

Brendan

Derry Facebook ahve the comments turned off they know there is going to be a backlash against the Tyrone man  :-X

There's two Mayo lads consistently posting that teams are at a serious disadvantage if they have to play one game a week. What absolutely nonsense!!

Playing last week did Armagh zero harm and Derry getting an extra week off did them no good.

Derry need a reset. If I was Harte, for the Westmeath game I'd say here are my best 15, but I'm going to deliberately leave 5 of them on the bench (mostly Glas lads ), give other lads a chance, and have a mighty bench.

Great performance,  factor in Derry on free fall,  but as good as I've seen them play in years. Concern might be that it's too much too early. 

Well done all involved,  particularly management. Got the match ups right and made changes at the right time.

statto

Quote from: Hound on June 02, 2024, 05:59:31 PMThere's two Mayo lads consistently posting that teams are at a serious disadvantage if they have to play one game a week. What absolutely nonsense!!

Playing last week did Armagh zero harm and Derry getting an extra week off did them no good.

Derry need a reset. If I was Harte, for the Westmeath game I'd say here are my best 15, but I'm going to deliberately leave 5 of them on the bench (mostly Glas lads ), give other lads a chance, and have a mighty bench.
There's significant drop off between the starting players today for Derry and what they have in reserve.This is a knock out championship game against a team who pushed Galway all the way today, I don't think Derry can afford to do that Westmeath in two weeks isn't a gimme for a team who's on the floor.

statto

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 02, 2024, 06:01:39 PMGreat performance,  factor in Derry on free fall,  but as good as I've seen them play in years. Concern might be that it's too much too early. 

Well done all involved,  particularly management. Got the match ups right and made changes at the right time.
Putting three big men grimley O Neill crealey across the middle great call and helped to completely dominate kickouts.Delighted for big Niall given the personal tragedy he's went through a few months back.

Quote from: Hound on June 02, 2024, 05:59:31 PMThere's two Mayo lads consistently posting that teams are at a serious disadvantage if they have to play one game a week. What absolutely nonsense!!

One of them (Mayo)is myself and it totally holds up, especially if you had an intense game the week before. I know as a Dublin follower you have hardly ever experienced this and thus oblivious to the affects.

Wouldn't call it nonsense but today highlights that Armagh are motoring nicely while Derry are in bad shape mentally and physically at moment, that Donegal match and manner of defeat has been a big turning point for them.

McGeeney just now confirmed the ACL injury for Ciaran Mackin hopefully a full and speedy recovery for him.

Derry bollixed for the year. Am surprised all the issues in Portugal never got outside the county. Not sure if it was showing it on tv, but the Armagh men were taking turns to rattle McFaul from the minute he came on

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 02, 2024, 06:15:44 PMDerry bollixed for the year. Am surprised all the issues in Portugal never got outside the county. Not sure if it was showing it on tv, but the Armagh men were taking turns to rattle McFaul from the minute he came on

And he fell for it hook, line and sinker, the eejit.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 02, 2024, 06:15:44 PMDerry bollixed for the year. Am surprised all the issues in Portugal never got outside the county. Not sure if it was showing it on tv, but the Armagh men were taking turns to rattle McFaul from the minute he came on
Derry ones doing the same to ONeill

It was a strong performance from
Armagh which augurs well for the season .
We have a fair few coming into form .
If we get over Galway we could get to a semi final .

downtown

Well done Armagh , great win .. bossed the game from start to finish . Good momentum built up now going into the Galway game which we can Hfully win.

Special mention for niall Grimley ... outstanding , has to be close to morn on that performance . Delighted for himself and the family after that

Onwards and upwards , up armagh

Great win for Armagh, especially considering the double blow of losing Mackin & Murnin, hopefully murnin makes it back sharpish. Was good to see Ross McQuillan getting some serious game time ( due to an unfortunate injury to McGrane), McQuillan's pace increased the pressure more.

Ben Crealey was awesome and would've been my MOTM, criminally underrated MFer. A lot of excellent performances throughout the pitch, amazing to think it's taken this long to give Rian O'Neill his preferred role in midfield, he's revelling in it and I think it's helping Turbit that he's not in on top of him all the time. Turbitt and Conaty both excellent, Derry defence there for the taking all day. Aaron McKay is just so solid every single game, he is our barely noticed bedrock - I pray he stays fit & healthy.

All not good in the penaltykickchamps camp by the looks of it. Strength in depth is non existent but some superstar players made to look extremely ordinary all day -  but that's probably doing ourselves a disservice, we were just much better everywhere.

Quote from: tyrone08 on June 02, 2024, 05:47:37 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 02, 2024, 05:39:45 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 02, 2024, 05:38:09 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 02, 2024, 05:25:39 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on June 02, 2024, 05:24:20 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 02, 2024, 04:43:09 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on June 02, 2024, 04:09:05 PMHope all the Armagh lads getting stuck into McKinless last day out recognise what Mackin just did to Glass.

Surely the Derry man pushed Mackin into Glass?
;D  ;D  ;D That's a cracker

It'll be enough for the CCCC...

Absolutely. Ridiculously stupid from Murray and nothing will come of it.

McFaul was acting the **** from the moment he came on.

Should McCaul be allowed to play given the stuff he was at off the field? He seems to have got off lightly compared to Gallagher.

Horrible man. Showed it immediately as soon as he stepped on the pitch.
Awk not really. Getting stuck in and Grimley didn't back off, lighter job would have suited McFaul to be honest.

Estimator

Absolute shambles of a performance.
Goals win games, that's 9 conceded and 0 scored in 3 Championship games.
People in the crowd still blaming Lynch despite the fact the ball is being turned over inside the opposition 45.
First two goals were criminal mistakes from McCloskey and Rogers.
Two weeks to the Westmeath game, wouldn't be surprised to see a few more defections.
Ulster League Champions 2009