Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 17, 2012, 11:41:42 AM
And Ballybay there for the taking too in the Final.  Hard luck! At least you feckers won't stop my one true love from 3 in a row this time!

Anyway, I expect there will very very little chanting in Anfield at the weekend, I think from a Liverpool point of view last week has lifted such a weight of the shoulders of the fans that I really think they will move away from that and there will be a major move among the main group of them to stop anything developing.  As for United, there won't be enough of them there to start anything and I think similarly they would be drowned out very quickly.

Final will be tight - a defensive, cynical team against a young, attacking team. A sign of times we'd not even of been thinking about Ulster at any stage this year! Its all your now!

Yeah, I would imagine that self policing in the grounds will be on the rise and prevent much been sung. It will be no love in though  :)

Quote from: EC Unique on September 17, 2012, 10:39:32 AM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/manchester-united-and-liverpool-to-issue-joint-1327322
I'm sure 95% of fans don't want these chants and should let it be known.
Ive seen cliams that Utd has a fanbase of 75 million worldwide, that only leaves 3.75million fans supporting the chants....

Quote from: Jonah on September 15, 2012, 07:54:59 PM
Just reading about some Man U 'fans' chanting horrible things about Hillsborough today.
It's a disgrace these idiots are let into the ground.
Some people really are scum.

Far be it from me to defend soccer fans etc but was talking to a mate that was at the game and he mentioned this. He says they were chanting some song about Suarez and what was reported in newspapers was bollix. Wouldnt be the first time.

Quote from: maddog on September 17, 2012, 12:14:44 PM
Just reading about some Man U 'fans' chanting horrible things about Hillsborough today.

Far be it from me to defend soccer fans etc but was talking to a mate that was at the game and he mentioned this. He says they were chanting some song about Suarez and what was reported in newspapers was bollix. Wouldnt be the first time.

Oh right, so the entire club heard the chants wrong too. Your friend should look to himself.

Quote from: ludermor on September 17, 2012, 12:12:40 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on September 17, 2012, 10:39:32 AM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/manchester-united-and-liverpool-to-issue-joint-1327322
I'm sure 95% of fans don't want these chants and should let it be known.
Ive seen cliams that Utd has a fanbase of 75 million worldwide, that only leaves 3.75million fans supporting the chants....

Quote from: deiseach on September 17, 2012, 12:24:13 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 17, 2012, 12:14:44 PM

Oh right, so the entire club heard the chants wrong too. Your friend should look to himself.

Only saying what i heard Deiseach, why would the guy in question need to look at himself, if he didnt hear it himself and wasnt chanting it himself (which i know for a fact he wouldnt be) then he has nothing to answer. If anyone was chanting about Hillsborough then they are as bad as the morons doing the plane actions. Same assholes different club badge.

Quote from: maddog on September 17, 2012, 12:42:15 PM
Only saying what i heard Deiseach, why would the guy in question need to look at himself, if he didnt hear it himself and wasnt chanting it himself (which i know for a fact he wouldnt be) then he has nothing to answer. If anyone was chanting about Hillsborough then they are as bad as the morons doing the plane actions. Same assholes different club badge.

Er, if he didn't hear it then how does he know what or wasn't chanted? He's kidding himself that Man Utd fans would never engage in that kind of behaviour and that's why he needs to look to himself.

Quote from: onefaircounty on September 17, 2012, 08:22:27 AM

They are scum and that's going to be the case on Sunday from elements of both fans.

Howeverm the most disappointing was the embarassing position from the Man United Supporters Trust who tried to pass it off as having nothing to do with Hillsborough. Only an absolute idiot blinded by the United PR machine would swallow that (Nrico maybe).

What MUST said was accurate. Your representation of what they said is very misleading. Then to somehow link MUST and "the United PR machine" shows a really poor comprehension of things relating to Manchester United.

onefaircounty

Quote from: magpie seanie on September 17, 2012, 01:03:27 PM
Quote from: onefaircounty on September 17, 2012, 08:22:27 AM

They are scum and that's going to be the case on Sunday from elements of both fans.

Howeverm the most disappointing was the embarassing position from the Man United Supporters Trust who tried to pass it off as having nothing to do with Hillsborough. Only an absolute idiot blinded by the United PR machine would swallow that (Nrico maybe).

What MUST said was accurate. Your representation of what they said is very misleading. Then to somehow link MUST and "the United PR machine" shows a really poor comprehension of things relating to Manchester United.

"We did hear the usual anti-Liverpool chants at the match today but we're pleased to say, despite some reports to the contrary, there was nothing that was specifically referencing Hillsborough."

Very misleading indeed. 

I think MUST were quite clear in their condemnation of Hillsborough chants. I hope Liverpool fans take note.

onefaircounty

Quote from: deiseach on September 17, 2012, 01:23:47 PM
I think MUST were quite clear in their condemnation of Hillsborough chants. I hope Liverpool fans take note.

My point was that their attempts to say the chanting was not Hillsborough related was embarassing.

Carrick's performances last season are over-rated.  He barely ever gets near the England team ffs, which is where you would at least expect a United first teamer to be if eligible.

Quote from: onefaircounty on September 17, 2012, 01:28:03 PM
My point was that their attempts to say the chanting was not Hillsborough related was embarassing.

They said there were no direct references to Hillsborough, which strictly speaking was correct. I suppose you could also argue that monkey chants are not direct references to black players, but in the overall context of MUST's statement I am inclined to be generous

Quote from: deiseach on September 17, 2012, 01:00:52 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 17, 2012, 12:42:15 PM

Er, if he didn't hear it then how does he know what or wasn't chanted? He's kidding himself that Man Utd fans would never engage in that kind of behaviour and that's why he needs to look to himself.

This guy attends most of Utds home matches and has done for about the last 20 years. Id say he is well able to judge what UTD fans are capable of chanting and would not defend them had he heard. He heard them chant something about Suarez nothing else.

Quote from: maddog on September 17, 2012, 02:15:02 PM
This guy attends most of Utds home matches and has done for about the last 20 years. Id say he is well able to judge what UTD fans are capable of chanting and would not defend them had he heard. He heard them chant something about Suarez nothing else.

Oh right, so he DID hear the chants, and he looked into their hearts and knew what was there. Bless