Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, July 20, 2016, 08:57:20 AM

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 02, 2016, 09:01:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 02, 2016, 08:54:56 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 02, 2016, 08:25:18 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 02, 2016, 05:37:39 PM
Yellowcard what county man are you?

Most worrying aspect to reading all the analysis /predictions on this game is not one neutral on tv/radio/paper fancies our bucks to pull off thier sixth q/f victory on the bounce.

How many provincial winners have Mayo beaten in the last five years?

Dunno about Provincial winners, but we beat the reigning All-Ireland Champions in 2011, 2012 & 2013. We drew and lost the replay with the eventual winners in 2014 and 2015.

In all seriousness, how the feck have you lads not managed to win the All Ireland in at least one of those years??
Because the All Ireland winners those years was the best teams??

Quote from: seafoid on August 02, 2016, 09:14:25 PM
Tyrone have been poor enough over the last 5 years. Why is this year supposed to be different? Weren't the Ulster champions in the form of Monaghan dumped out at quarter final stage in 2014 and 15?

Galway have been shite for years and beat Mayo to win a Connacht title - go figure! Improvement can occur! By the way it was Tyrone who dumped Monaghan last year and have been in the last 4 in two of the last three years. Again, someone with your fascination of Tyrone football would be blind not to see the upward trend.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 02, 2016, 09:12:04 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 02, 2016, 08:54:56 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 02, 2016, 08:25:18 PM

Most worrying aspect to reading all the analysis /predictions on this game is not one neutral on tv/radio/paper fancies our bucks to pull off thier sixth q/f victory on the bounce.

How many provincial winners have Mayo beaten in the last five years?

Dunno about Provincial winners, but we beat the reigning All-Ireland Champions in 2011, 2012 & 2013. We drew and lost the replay with the eventual winners in 2014 and 2015.
Cork,Dublin,Donegal and only Dublin were provincial winner that year.

In 2013 Tyrone had knocked out the Ulster champions in the qf, so we didn't get to play any provincial champs until the final. But we beat the team that had knocked out the Ulster champs.

Most teams getting to a final will probably beat only 1 provincial champ, and probably 2 provincial champs to win the AI, assuming you are Provincial Champions yourself. This year could have been a rare chance for us to play 3 of the 4 provincial champs, but Galway blew that one for us.  :D

Quote from: seafoid on August 02, 2016, 09:14:25 PM
Tyrone have been poor enough over the last 5 years. Why is this year supposed to be different? Weren't the Ulster champions in the form of Monaghan dumped out at quarter final stage in 2014 and 15?

Give it a rest FFS.

2013: AISF
2015: U21 AIW & AISF
2016: Unbeaten (so far)

But but Donegal could of easily have won the ulster final. I can understand the upward trajectory context about tyrone, its just hard to fathom why public opinion is so high on tyrone and so negative about Donegal.

If we beat tyrone how do people explain it ? Im being genuine when i ask this . People are leaving out one equation when predicting this game and thats the part that annoys a little. If mayo have been holding back and are about to unleash a monster of a game like 14/15 level we will beat Tyrone imo. Its a big if obviously but i do believe it should be followed by a tyrone win prediction.

I don't doubt that a Mayo win is possible larryin89, but we can only take the most recent form lines into account... though having said that the hyperbole in some quarters may be OTT. It won't be easy for either team, in victory.

Quote from: larryin89 on August 02, 2016, 10:52:16 PM
But but Donegal could of easily have won the ulster final. I can understand the upward trajectory context about tyrone, its just hard to fathom why public opinion is so high on tyrone and so negative about Donegal.

If we beat tyrone how do people explain it ? Im being genuine when i ask this . People are leaving out one equation when predicting this game and thats the part that annoys a little. If mayo have been holding back and are about to unleash a monster of a game like 14/15 level we will beat Tyrone imo. Its a big if obviously but i do believe it should be followed by a tyrone win prediction.

I think you are deliberately missing the point that nearly every Tyrone poster has said that they are very concerned about this game and, bar a bit if banter, are giving Mayo plenty of respect. You lads seem to want to paint a picture of everyone writing you off etc, which isn't what is happening. If Mayo win then they still are, what they have been for the last few years, a very good team and Tyrone aren't at that level just yet. That, however, doesn't mean that all the comments about Tyrone's progress isn't valid. Mayo have been operating at a higher level than Tyrone for a number of years but I think many people feel that the Galway defeat (one that wouldn't have happened in previous years) was a sign, rightly or wrongly, that they may just be slipping. This form has been franked by less than impressive qualifier performances. So a downward Mayo curve may be meeting an upward Tyrone one.....its just at which point they will meet. Tyrone fans, more than most, know what a run through the qualifiers can do for a team, so don't think for one minute they will be taking this game lightly. Saturday will answer all the questions.

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 02, 2016, 11:23:00 PM

I think you are deliberately missing the point that nearly every Tyrone poster has said that they are very concerned about this game and, bar a bit if banter, are giving Mayo plenty of respect. You lads seem to want to paint a picture of everyone writing you off etc, which isn't what is happening. If Mayo win then they still are, what they have been for the last few years, a very good team and Tyrone aren't at that level just yet. That, however, doesn't mean that all the comments about Tyrone's progress isn't valid. Mayo have been operating at a higher level than Tyrone for a number of years but I think many people feel that the Galway defeat (one that wouldn't have happened in previous years) was a sign, rightly or wrongly, that they may just be slipping. This form has been franked by less than impressive qualifier performances. So a downward Mayo curve may be meeting an upward Tyrone one.....its just at which point they will meet. Tyrone fans, more than most, know what a run through the qualifiers can do for a team, so don't think for one minute they will be taking this game lightly. Saturday will answer all the questions.

Sickening arrogance from Tyrone supporters, I hope Rochford has this plastered up all over the walls on Saturday

Its definitely a paradox but I heard there are two separate research teams, one in Cambridge on in Princeton working on quantum models to explain it if it does actually happen. I heard they are struggling tho..

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2016, 11:42:08 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 02, 2016, 11:23:00 PM

Sickening arrogance from Tyrone supporters, I hope Rochford has this plastered up all over the walls on Saturday

I hope his preparation has more to it than that!

blast05

There is no form guide for Mayo. All we can say from championship games this year is that Mayo haven't been able to switch-on and play at a higher level when needed.... I.e.: they start at (well) less than 100% (cos they think that level would be good enough) and can't turn it up to 100% when required (Galway game) or think they have done enough and then can't turn the 'tap' back on when required (Westmeath game). We know absolutely nothing else and yet huge assumptions being made on the back of this.

Lamh Dhearg Alba

2 point winning margin maybe doesn't tell the whole story as far as that point is concerned. A feature of Donegal's wins over Tyrone in recent years was them taking control of the game in the second half. Tyrone wilted in those games, they couldn't cope when Donegal kicked (or indeed, handpassed) on for home. This year Donegal had Tyrone just where they wanted them at half-time, 3 points down and looking all at sea even earlier than in the previous games. Couple of key men black carded too. Donegal came out and hit a point straight away. From there on in Tyrone outscored them 0-9 to 0-3. Donegal looked the lost team at times in the half. A very dramatic transformation from the last few games and one that you would think would energise Tyrone and could demoralise Donegal.

For what it's worth I do think Tyrone are overhyped based on what they have done so far, the media want somebody to offer Dublin  a challenge so Tyrone are being talked up.

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 02, 2016, 08:53:32 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on August 02, 2016, 08:26:38 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 02, 2016, 07:57:44 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 02, 2016, 06:50:29 PM

The experts tend to congregate. I wouldn't pay much attention to them.

Agreed. In fact it worries me that they all think Tyrone will win.

They must be reading the comments of the Tyrone posters here. They must be getting carried away with all the hype that is telling us that a team who conceded 18 points to a tired Kerry team last year has suddenly turned into the most formidable defensive unit ever assembled.

Mayo lads on here were talking of 3 in a row All Irelands a few years ago.

Yep. That was probably me - and me only! And only for a craven ref. and that Limerick charade I probably would have been right!
I clearly stated that I thought we would lose 3 AIs in a row which we probably would have if we had got over Kerry. Not a bad call after losing the 2012 one. You can spin it another way if you want of course if it makes you feel better about next weekend. But I m sure you know the difference between predicting getting to and losing 3 AIs and actually winning them!! Actually, with a stable management set-up last 6 years, we could be going for a five in a row of losses! Now that consistency.

Mayo consistency is admirable.
The smart man's argument is that Mayo not Tyrone are the real time on the up.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 03, 2016, 01:01:16 AM
Mayo consistency is admirable.
The smart man's argument is that Mayo not Tyrone are the real time on the up.

Why so?