Connacht senior football final Galway v Roscommon July 10th

Started by giveballaghback, June 18, 2016, 09:46:19 PM

Manning18

Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 18, 2016, 03:43:17 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 18, 2016, 03:31:31 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 18, 2016, 02:54:57 PM
One game at a time now, we'll be favourites to make a semi given we'll play one of Clare/Tipp or Derry. Whatever happens I think KW will find it easier finding everyone to commit this winter, the bench is a bit thin on quality although I'm sure that will be rectified going forward.

Yeah we don't have a whole pile on the bench really. Walsh pretty much has to stick to his starting 15 plus the couple guys that have been coming off the bench for him. That's where the lads over in the US this Summer would come in handy. Stick in the likes of Lundy, O'Curraoin, Duane, etc and a few others and the depth would be there to make changes if needed.

We're certainly very thin squad wise although I'm optimistic that will change and i'm sure we'll find a couple of players in next years league along with the lads coming back.

I was surprised Cathal Sweeney didn't come on yesterday considering he was probably Galway's best player last summer. I'm far from convinced by his brother though.

We're possibly not as bad as we might think, although if that Cathal Sweeney news is true it might hurt a bit. Himself and Hanley can cover the FB line (Kyne moving to corner if hanley goes full). Hanley is still a decent player despite his struggles vs Mayo. One player i'm delighted to see back in the fold is Paul Varley. He had an excellent 2014 at wing back. Not convinced by the other Sweeney either but Adrain Varley is a very good option and Hoare is solid. Add in the emerging Peter Cooke (bit young yet) and former starter Sean Denvir and its not bad. We're very light at midfield though certainly

Quote from: Manning18 on July 18, 2016, 04:13:05 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 18, 2016, 03:43:17 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 18, 2016, 03:31:31 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 18, 2016, 02:54:57 PM
One game at a time now, we'll be favourites to make a semi given we'll play one of Clare/Tipp or Derry. Whatever happens I think KW will find it easier finding everyone to commit this winter, the bench is a bit thin on quality although I'm sure that will be rectified going forward.

Yeah we don't have a whole pile on the bench really. Walsh pretty much has to stick to his starting 15 plus the couple guys that have been coming off the bench for him. That's where the lads over in the US this Summer would come in handy. Stick in the likes of Lundy, O'Curraoin, Duane, etc and a few others and the depth would be there to make changes if needed.

We're certainly very thin squad wise although I'm optimistic that will change and i'm sure we'll find a couple of players in next years league along with the lads coming back.

I was surprised Cathal Sweeney didn't come on yesterday considering he was probably Galway's best player last summer. I'm far from convinced by his brother though.

We're possibly not as bad as we might think, although if that Cathal Sweeney news is true it might hurt a bit. Himself and Hanley can cover the FB line (Kyne moving to corner if hanley goes full). Hanley is still a decent player despite his struggles vs Mayo. One player i'm delighted to see back in the fold is Paul Varley. He had an excellent 2014 at wing back. Not convinced by the other Sweeney either but Adrain Varley is a very good option and Hoare is solid. Add in the emerging Peter Cooke (bit young yet) and former starter Sean Denvir and its not bad. We're very light at midfield though certainly

Agreed on Paul Varley, thought he had a very promising 2014 so was delighted to see him back yesterday. I'm not keen on Hoare, don't think he's up to this level either.

Cathal Sweeney is out for the rest of the season. Injured his shoulder again during the week. Getting surgery this time I believe.

Half of Roscommons scores came from their subs yesterday, if ever there was evidence the wrong starting team was picked then that was it.

Quote from: seafoid on July 18, 2016, 07:40:15 AM
Declan Kyne, the Galway fullback, is getting rave reviews from a few journos.
The Ulster final is being pilloried as well.  Fancy Dan football is very easy on the eye.

Also I don't think the Rossies are shite.  Galway are quite good.
He has come on in leaps and bounds since the league finished up - I really didn't think he did enough earlier in the year but Christ Almighty has he risen to the task in the past few games, crowd love him too!  Over thirty years since the last Clonbur man filled the same jersey!!

Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on July 18, 2016, 05:53:27 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 18, 2016, 07:40:15 AM
Declan Kyne, the Galway fullback, is getting rave reviews from a few journos.
The Ulster final is being pilloried as well.  Fancy Dan football is very easy on the eye.

Also I don't think the Rossies are shite.  Galway are quite good.
He has come on in leaps and bounds since the league finished up - I really didn't think he did enough earlier in the year but Christ Almighty has he risen to the task in the past few games, crowd love him too!  Over thirty years since the last Clonbur man filled the same jersey!!

You should have heard Marty Morrisey yesterday on the radio. He said there is always something special when Galway footballers come to Croke Park. He cited 2008 as proof.

I am not having a go at Galway here, just the media adherence to stereotypes.

Duine Eile

Quote from: muppet on July 18, 2016, 06:42:31 PM
You should have heard Marty Morrisey yesterday on the radio. He said there is always something special when Galway footballers come to Croke Park. He cited 2008 as proof.

I am not having a go at Galway here, just the media adherence to stereotypes.
I really hope they blow whoever they get off the park in the quarter final, if it only stops all this stupid talk about the game in the rain in 2008 it'll be well worth it. 

The media has an influence over the bookies. Galway 5th favs now for Sam.

An Fhairche Abu

Muppet - Sure no one knows better than ourselves about how bad we've been the past 15 years in Croke Park (and everywhere else in fairness, so many 1 point championship defeats), there's very few of those CP games that we were even in with a shout of winning, 2005 versus a moderate enough Cork is one that should have been put away but outside of that...
Some stereotypes are worn out but the media in general have excoriated Galway football over the past few years and the Galway football followers are some of the most realistic and grounded in the country, we don't get carried away too easy, Marty coming out with tired crap is just another RTE employee who is terrible at their job, RTE's GAA coverage is the laziest, lowest common denominator stuff going. Listening to the Marty Squad on the way back home from Salthill after the drawn Connacht Final, absolutely appalling crap.

Galway will have every chance to change that CP record in the Q-final in two weeks time though, to second Duine Eile, I hope we absolutely bury whoever we are playing.

Samforever

Marty just opens his mouth and words come out with no rhyme or reason to them or even in the right order. If you examine what he says it amounts to sweet FA. His preamble as he goes through the line ups in shocking. Every player in every position is the best in the country week after week. Lazy inept drivel

Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 18, 2016, 07:20:21 PM
Muppet - Sure no one knows better than ourselves about how bad we've been the past 15 years in Croke Park (and everywhere else in fairness, so many 1 point championship defeats), there's very few of those CP games that we were even in with a shout of winning, 2005 versus a moderate enough Cork is one that should have been put away but outside of that...
Some stereotypes are worn out but the media in general have excoriated Galway football over the past few years and the Galway football followers are some of the most realistic and grounded in the country, we don't get carried away too easy, Marty coming out with tired crap is just another RTE employee who is terrible at their job, RTE's GAA coverage is the laziest, lowest common denominator stuff going. Listening to the Marty Squad on the way back home from Salthill after the drawn Connacht Final, absolutely appalling crap.

Galway will have every chance to change that CP record in the Q-final in two weeks time though, to second Duine Eile, I hope we absolutely bury whoever we are playing.
So much this, as well put and realistic as the day is long.  That Marty squad is the biggest pile of shite of a sports show going.  Galway have been very poor for the past 15 years or so and no one knows this better than ourselves.  Getting hyped occasionally by Marty and Eugene McGee just make it worse.

Yip. I hope you bury everyone in Croker, except us obviously.  :D

Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on July 18, 2016, 07:47:58 PM

So much this, as well put and realistic as the day is long.  That Marty squad is the biggest pile of shite of a sports show going.  Galway have been very poor for the past 15 years or so and no one knows this better than ourselves.  Getting hyped occasionally by Marty and Eugene McGee just make it worse.

The Marty squad is awful stuff

Just listened to Parkinson podcast from the weekends football, he needs to loose the lad he has on from Derry with him, he's useless. The analysis is so poor although there wasn't much time left after spending 45 minutes talking about the Ulster final.

Quote from: highorlow on July 18, 2016, 07:16:00 PM
The media has an influence over the bookies. Galway 5th favs now for Sam.

The draw probably has a fair bit to do with that. They'll already be favourites to win the quarter-final given the way it shapes up.