Connacht Club Championships Senior, Intermediate & Junior

Started by revsperminute, September 25, 2015, 05:16:00 PM

Quote from: giveballaghback on November 22, 2015, 03:36:51 PM
Corafin had no gameplan there today, maybe they were expecting Castlebar to role over, credit to Castlebar and a very good high tempo all round performance, im sure Corafin supporters are wondering was Rochfords heart in that game today, he was very slow to make changes and when he did they did not work, the team played like they were very poorly prepared and had very little discipline, maybe Mayo county board will not be so quick to appoint him on that performance or maybe the players wont approve.
interesting times ahead.

Course they had a game plan and it worked well in the first half. They were losing the possession count and were still level at ht because their gameplan was sensible. They got behind the ball, effected several turnovers and transitioned quickly into attack using long kicked passes. Long diagonal passes were finding forwards in space.
But on the day Castlebar were much the better side and had all the top performers. Not much Rochford could do about that gulf on the day. Castlebar were better in almost every aspect of the game. The only thing Corofin were better at was tackling. Castlebar gave away some very soft frees with lazy tackling.
Castlebar have been scoring goals for fun all year and today's 2 were among the best they ve got.
I couldn't believe Mitchels were so dismissed going into this. When you compared the players on both sides it did not make sense. Castlebar's bench today much better as well.

Quote from: Blowitupref on November 22, 2015, 04:32:56 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 22, 2015, 03:41:33 PM
Corafin had no gameplan there today, maybe they were expecting Castlebar to role over, credit to Castlebar and a very good high tempo all round performance, im sure Corafin supporters are wondering was Rochfords heart in that game today, he was very slow to make changes and when he did they did not work, the team played like they were very poorly prepared and had very little discipline, maybe Mayo county board will not be so quick to appoint him on that performance or maybe the players wont approve.
interesting times ahead.

You are basing Roachfords worth on losing a Connacht final  v Mitchels the year after winning an AI title. Would you make the same level of establishing McStays worth based on the same facts in 2013 (ie losing a Connacht final  v Mitchels the year after winning an AI title)?

I think McStay left Brigids after winning the All Ireland. Mayo seniors need a manager that can stop them from conceding 2 or 3 goals in key games is Rochford the right man to do that?

??

Today doesn't change anything re Rochford though. I'm sure they realised that Castlebar were a goal team and would have worked to prevent them. It has to be said though that today's goals were of a high quality in build-up and the finishes were superb.

Quote from: moysider on November 22, 2015, 05:48:53 PM
interesting times ahead.

You are basing Roachfords worth on losing a Connacht final  v Mitchels the year after winning an AI title. Would you make the same level of establishing McStays worth based on the same facts in 2013 (ie losing a Connacht final  v Mitchels the year after winning an AI title)?

I think McStay left Brigids after winning the All Ireland. Mayo seniors need a manager that can stop them from conceding 2 or 3 goals in key games is Rochford the right man to do that?

??

Today doesn't change anything re Rochford though. I'm sure they realised that Castlebar were a goal team and would have worked to prevent them. It has to be said though that today's goals were of a high quality in build-up and the finishes were superb.

2nd goal from Douglas little any manager could have done however the first goal there was a big gap in Corofins defence that Barry Moran exploited. Castlebar should have scored another goal in the 1st half when from a long delivery one of their forwards (forget who) was completely unmarked.

Quote from: Blowitupref on November 22, 2015, 06:05:18 PM
Quote from: moysider on November 22, 2015, 05:48:53 PM
interesting times ahead.

??

2nd goal from Douglas little any manager could have done however the first goal there was a big gap in Corofins defence that Barry Moran exploited. Castlebar should have scored another goal in the 1st half when from a long delivery one of their forwards (forget who) was completely unmarked.

It was Cian Costello and best goal chance they got and worst bit of defending Corofin did.

Barry's run and finish came after very good play by Kirby and Douglas - the type of quality that asks questions of even top teams.

I don t know how Rochford will go about setting up Mayo though. A way of conceding fewer goals is to play more defensively. For a while last year it looked like we're getting more realistic about being defensive - like in the Donegal game.
Then there is the gulf between the club and county. Corofin kicked a lot of early ball in today. I doubt he will go with that in Mayo because sweepers and blanket would gobble that up. He ll also be inheriting a panel probably better suited to a running game.

giveballaghback

Jayus ye rhus are very touchy this evening, maybe it is finally dawning on ye that a complete injustice has been done to Connelly and Holmes by the players after only one year in charge, is Rochford the answer, after today the absolute answer is no,the man is taking on a poisoned chalice and on todays sideline performance he has not the speed of mind to make switches in time, ok before Castlebars second goal they were only a point behind but it was the experience of the team that had kept them in the game, they were losing most of the battles and some soft frees had kept them in contention.
When the second goal went in he put on 2 subs right away, door, horse, and all that. Now dont shoot the messenger by calling him names lads but remember where ye read it first.  Rochford is not fit for senior intercounty management. Sleep well.

bucko

Quote from: giveballaghback on November 22, 2015, 07:07:25 PM
Jayus ye rhus are very touchy this evening, maybe it is finally dawning on ye that a complete injustice has been done to Connelly and Holmes by the players after only one year in charge, is Rochford the answer, after today the absolute answer is no,the man is taking on a poisoned chalice and on todays sideline performance he has not the speed of mind to make switches in time, ok before Castlebars second goal they were only a point behind but it was the experience of the team that had kept them in the game, they were losing most of the battles and some soft frees had kept them in contention.
When the second goal went in he put on 2 subs right away, door, horse, and all that. Now dont shoot the messenger by calling him names lads but remember where ye read it first.  Rochford is not fit for senior intercounty management. Sleep well.
Two questions for you.
If McStay had stayed on with Brigids after they won the All Ireland and lost in similar circumstances would you be questioning his inter county management credentials?
If McStay hadn't been available for the Roscommon job would you have accepted Holmes and Connelly for the job had they been put forward?
Just curious is all.

Quote from: bucko on November 22, 2015, 07:20:41 PM
Two questions for you.
If McStay had stayed on with Brigids after they won the All Ireland and lost in similar circumstances would you be questioning his inter county management credentials?
If McStay hadn't been available for the Roscommon job would you have accepted Holmes and Connelly for the job had they been put forward?
Just curious is all.

Ifs, buts and maybes. I don't even agree with him but hanging onto this hypothetical comparison to McStay is ridiculous. Who fûcking knows what would have happened?

More over, who cares?

mrhardyannual

Quote from: Syferus on November 22, 2015, 07:25:35 PM
Move over he says.
Must finally be dawning that with a clean sweep of club titles and five Connacht titles in a row at Senior county level that your only chance is that we move over as you're clearly incapable of coming past us otherwise.
Two questions for you.
Just curious is all.

Ifs buts and maybes. I don't even agree with him but hanging onto this hypothetical comparison to McStay is riculious. Who fûcking knows what would have happened?

More over, who cares?

Castlebar Mitchels are 2/1 Favourites for the AI crown now! Them odds will last a week or two before they go out!

bucko

Quote from: Syferus on November 22, 2015, 07:25:35 PM
Two questions for you.
Just curious is all.

Ifs buts and maybes. I don't even agree with him but hanging onto this hypothetical comparison to McStay is riculious. Who fûcking knows what would have happened?

More over, who cares?
You're probably right, but given the statement I thought the question should be asked. Slamming Rochford for today when he's had the same level of club success as McStay is ridiculous. Both guys took over good club teams with a strong pool of talent and led them to all Ireland success. I think that qualifies as a bit more than a "hypothetical" comparison. It remains to be seen whether either McStay or Rochford will be successful at senior inter county level, they may or may not, but ridiculing Rochford's suitability for that level when he's achieved the same success as McStay is beyond daft.

giveballaghback

Well Bucko if Mcstay had handled a game like Rochford did today the answer is no, I would not like to see him appointed as Ros manager, I question not only the way that Corafin were set up today but their very attitude and indiscipline on the field today, they were not mentally prepared for that contest.
Castlebar beat them a couple of years ago so they knew what was coming.
Question 2. Connelly and Holmes did not do much wrong in their first year in charge, would I consider them good enough to manage our county team "yes" we would be lucky to get them. Would I change them for our new management team "no", I think we have a good team in place at the moment but time will tell. Is our team good enough to compete at the top level? We may be good enough to reach the level that Monaghan is currently at, we need a midfielder and at least 3 defenders to rise above that.

Fair play to Castlebar, they once again defied my predictions and won well I believe. It's nice to have the three club titles wintering in Mayo over the winter. Enjoy yourself tonight muppet. Douglas might be given a shot with the county if injury free I'm sure.

Some silly stuff on here. You d swear that games were decided by a manager making a couple of judicious switches.
Corofin were losing battles in so many positions it was only their counter- attacking nous coupled with some lazy tackling by Mitchels that kept them in the game. In fact it was their organisation and discipline that prevented it from being easier.

Managers will always be picked at when a top team loses (Eamon Fitzmaurice this year) but only so much anybody can do when a team is clearly second best.

Corofin players looked contrary and got got more annoyed when they realised the game was going away from them. Rochfords fault? Maybe the players just didn t have the belly for it today after the effort of the last few years?
That's sport. Things always change.

giveballaghback

Moysider, should the Mayo players have applied your wise advice before getting rid of their management team? is that not the reason that this whole discussion is taking place? Will the Mayo panel take responsibility next season when things dont go to plan?
Everything that has been said here defending Rochford today contradicts what happened to Connelly and Holmes.
As I said sleep well lads.

Do ye Rossies have a shift rota for the Mayo threads?