Sligo v Roscommon. June 20th

Started by sligoman2, June 12, 2015, 03:18:13 AM

Quote from: ballinaman on June 20, 2015, 09:11:00 PM
Didn't see the game because was at club championship and fupping UPC recording didn't come out!!

I'm looking forward to the Salthill vs Castlebar debate already. If it's in Galway I'm renting a helicopter...
well with a 4pm throw in I'm trying to work out how to get back to london for work monday morning. can't be castlebar, has to be neutral but mayo have choice of the hyde or pearse

Can't be Hyde buddy, has to be salthil or castlebar. Well done to ye, brilliant performance.

Well done Sligo, no surprise for me as I predicted a Sligo win. It's a very difficult place to go and win a match. Once ye got the momentum the game was in the bag. Ross panicked a bit after the penalty and I would hope they will give the back door a good run.

Connacht football is in good health. We will have our work cut out in the final but that's a conversation for another day.

Great performance by Sligo they had more quality up front than Roscommon and ultimately that and a greater level of hunger was the difference. Roscommon were far too laboured in their build up play and showed little desire or urgency even though they were behind. Sligo lack a couple of big ball winners in the middle but in Breheny and Marron they have a couple of good forwards and with absolutely nothing to lose in the Connacht final they can cause Mayo some problems.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 20, 2015, 09:25:07 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on June 20, 2015, 09:11:00 PM
Didn't see the game because was at club championship and fupping UPC recording didn't come out!!

I'm looking forward to the Salthill vs Castlebar debate already. If it's in Galway I'm renting a helicopter...
well with a 4pm throw in I'm trying to work out how to get back to london for work monday morning. can't be castlebar, has to be neutral but mayo have choice of the hyde or pearse
Train to Dublin from Galway and last flight and you'll be sound.

Great performance by Sligo, much deserved win but my god Roscommon have no fight in them at all.

Quote from: BennyHarp on June 20, 2015, 09:36:08 PM
Great performance by Sligo, much deserved win but my god Roscommon have no fight in them at all.

They might have no fight in them but they have an all Ireland in them .

http://www.the42.ie/roscommon-john-evans-all-ireland-2070553-Apr2015/

Terrific result! Those in and around Sligo will not be surprised with this result. The word coming out of the camp was very positive indeed and the faith in Niall Carew was high all year. Rossies promised much and as per usual talked themselves up. U.21s are one thing lads, senior is different. Sligeach abĂș!

Put Up That Flag

Mymymy, so the Roscommon juggernaut was battered this evening, where were all the galacticos? Rossie lads (and Syferus) put a motion into congress to see can they change the format so instead of having to play the game on a pitch you talk about the game instead and blow the quality of the players ye have out of all proportion,  ye would be nailed on to win numerous all Irelands then, best forwards in the country my arse ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 20, 2015, 08:41:18 PM
Absolutely delighted would be an understatement, well done lads
Well done, Sligonian. I bet you are a very happy bunny right now.
Pass my regards on to your dad. I was thinking of him as the game entered the final minutes.
I imagine his blood pressure was off the radar screen. ;D

Did Sky put on a good show? I'll be watching Sunday Game for highlights 2moro, hurling will be on first so approx 10.20pm for this one.

Well done Sligo. Returned the ambush the Rossie inflicted in 2010. A Connacht final and a chance t get Mayo on an off day.
For the Rossies, all is not lost. Important to regroup and use the Qualifiers. The extra games (if they get their heads right) will help them grow and get ready for Division One football next year. The players are there, but as we know in Mayo it takes more than good footballers to win titles.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 20, 2015, 10:17:18 PM
Did Sky put on a good show? I'll be watching Sunday Game for highlights 2moro, hurling will be on first so approx 10.20pm for this one.

I watched it in the bar but from what i heard it was excellent.

Schkite

First time watching Roscommon this year, and had decent expectations after their league and all the talk around them. Fairly underwhelmed.

Fair play to Sligo, another good upset today.

Chimley

I thought at half time that Roscommon would come back into the game because I couldn't see Sligo keeping the intensity for 70 minutes.
Disappointing showing by Roscommon but Sligo were well worth the win and will give the final a good rattle too.