Sligo v Roscommon. June 20th

Started by sligoman2, June 12, 2015, 03:18:13 AM

Sligo had long enough to suss Roscommon out , 11 weeks since their last game. It was a good performance by them. A few very talented players,

Roscommon defence struggled against  a team that finished mid table in Div 3, they would to sort it for Divison 1 next year.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 20, 2015, 10:17:18 PM
Did Sky put on a good show? I'll be watching Sunday Game for highlights 2moro, hurling will be on first so approx 10.20pm for this one.

The analysis was very good.
Jimmy McGuinness is made for this stuff.

Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2015, 10:36:50 PM
Did Sky put on a good show? I'll be watching Sunday Game for highlights 2moro, hurling will be on first so approx 10.20pm for this one.

Agreed, I thought they were all quite good but McGuinness stands out. Jimmy talks people listen.

Well done t Sligo, much the sharper looking team. Marren, Kelly & Brehony made our star forwards look like a pub team. Coach knows what he is at, ours way over-rated, not surprised at all with this result, teams in div 2 were shite this year. Best of luck to Sligo, not flattered one bit by a 4 point win.

Quote from: From the Bunker on June 20, 2015, 10:20:42 PM
Well done Sligo. Returned the ambush the Rossie inflicted in 2010. A Connacht final and a chance t get Mayo on an off day.
For the Rossies, all is not lost. Important to regroup and use the Qualifiers. The extra games (if they get their heads right) will help them grow and get ready for Division One football next year. The players are there, but as we know in Mayo it takes more than good footballers to win titles.

Are the players there though? Are Roscommon as good as they're made out to be? Yes they've the best underage structures in place but it isn't worth a shit if they can't produce the goods at senior. At least they have the 2006 minors coming through... That was a good excuse for a few years, but I don't know what they can say now.

Quote from: larryin89 on June 20, 2015, 09:39:16 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 20, 2015, 09:36:08 PM
Great performance by Sligo, much deserved win but my god Roscommon have no fight in them at all.

They might have no fight in them but they have an all Ireland in them .

http://www.the42.ie/roscommon-john-evans-all-ireland-2070553-Apr2015/
Ros are a February phenomenon
criostlinn Sr. Member Posts: 318
Re: FBD League 2015 - Leitrim for 3 in a row?

You know what.Dont let me ever hear anyone say the FBD league is dead. This competition was reborn on Sunday. To see the delight in the Roscommon players eyes on the final whistle, well it would bring joy to any man. It just goes to show how wonderful the game of football is that on any given day anything can happen. So the Ros have put down a marker for the year ahead. Just like they did last year and teh year before that.
Altogether now. We are Ros, We are Ros, We are we are we are ROS
It seems like everyone in Mayo are awful perturbed by an FBD game. More talk of markers being thrown than a stationary shop. There was a time (last year) when ye could lose this game without losing your heads completely. Methinks some part of you is very worried that the glory days are over for a while, FBD or no FBD.
« Last Edit: Today at 02:25:04 AM by Syferus »

Well done Sligo. The magic of sport.

Quote from: yellowcard on June 20, 2015, 10:39:42 PM

Agreed, I thought they were all quite good but McGuinness stands out. Jimmy talks people listen.

Who else is on the panel?

Quote from: ck on June 20, 2015, 10:43:39 PM

Senan Connell (talks a million miles an hour but he is still decent) and Peter Canavan (offers a bit of insight). Rachel Wyse is a welcome addition too! Thought it worked well tonight but it's McGuinness that is the king, says everything with such conviction.

Shrewdness

Will give my views on Roscommon when i get my thoughts in order. But tonight is Sligo's night. Congrats to them on an excellent performance and a win that was well deserved. Congrats to the Sligo posters on here who always keep the flag flying, Magpie Seanie, Sligonian, Mano, Sligoman, Sligoman2, ck etc. Apologies to anyone i've left out...

I thought mcguinness was disrespectful before the games towards us, this is all about roscommon etc. he did analyse the game very well but all cared before the game was where roscommon were at.

Thanks Lar he was delighted and hope your keeping well, now how do we stop Mayo and aidan o shea

Quote from: yellowcard on June 20, 2015, 10:51:54 PM
Quote from: ck on June 20, 2015, 10:43:39 PM

Senan Connell (talks a million miles an hour but he is still decent) and Peter Canavan (offers a bit of insight). Rachel Wyse is a welcome addition too! Thought it worked well tonight but it's McGuinness that is the king, says everything with such conviction.

They actually analyse the game which is refreshing. They make RTE's regular three look like old men moaning in a pub. I agree about McGuinness, great to listen to.

Put Up That Flag

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 20, 2015, 11:03:17 PM
I thought mcguinness was disrespectful before the games towards us, this is all about roscommon etc. he did analyse the game very well but all cared before the game was where roscommon were at.

Thanks Lar he was delighted and hope your keeping well, now how do we stop Mayo and aidan o shea

When ye can stop the Ros galacticos ye can stop anyone

Quote from: Shrewdness on June 20, 2015, 11:02:02 PM
Will give my views on Roscommon when i get my thoughts in order. But tonight is Sligo's night. Congrats to them on an excellent performance and a win that was well deserved. Congrats to the Sligo posters on here who always keep the flag flying, Magpie Seanie, Sligonian, Mano, Sligoman, Sligoman2, ck etc. Apologies to anyone i've left out...
thanks shrewdness, chin up, today could be the wake up call ye needed and summer is a long way from being over

Beard

Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 20, 2015, 10:40:15 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 20, 2015, 10:20:42 PM
Well done Sligo. Returned the ambush the Rossie inflicted in 2010. A Connacht final and a chance t get Mayo on an off day.
For the Rossies, all is not lost. Important to regroup and use the Qualifiers. The extra games (if they get their heads right) will help them grow and get ready for Division One football next year. The players are there, but as we know in Mayo it takes more than good footballers to win titles.

Are the players there though? Are Roscommon as good as they're made out to be? Yes they've the best underage structures in place but it isn't worth a shit if they can't produce the goods at senior. At least they have the 2006 minors coming through... That was a good excuse for a few years, but I don't know what they can say now.

Agree with this assessment. Appalling result for Roscommon today.

First big shock of the championship, fair play sligo