Galway v Mayo, CSFC May 20th

Started by Redgreenery, April 23, 2007, 06:58:37 PM

myball22

very good analysis mouview, we do have the question how well we played on Sunday and how good Mayo were. Time will tell. In fairness because of injuries there's not much else to pick from until some of the guys get back from injury. One or two further injuries could hit us hard.

You'd also have to wonder if we will be tested further in Connacht this year. No offence to other counties but we have not won in Croke Park since 2001 and one of the reasons for this IMO was that we only had to reach a certain standard to beat those teams. That said mayo reached two all-ireland finals so that can't be the only reason. I would say Roscommon will pose a threat later on, I hope so to be honest to see where exactly we are. I think we still need to question our midfield. Bergina dn Coleman played well on Sunday but how well were they tested. Perphaps there's a case for Coyne at centre back, Blake at midfield with Bergin and Coleman at centre forward with Ja in an impact sub role. Something to consider.

There is a question still over Forde's managerial abilities in IMO. We were never behind on Sunday and only threatened for some of the time during the game. Can he make tactical decisions on the sideline to turn the game our way? I seriously doubt this based on the last two years. I think we have enough at this stage to make a quarter-final, then we'll see where we're at.

no im not blaming another manager. i was very happy with maughan and moran. what id dont do is false messiahs. ibeen hearing for years all mayo need is JOM and them last sunday we got him back and it was also predicatble . he sent out what appeared to be the worst prepared mayo team i remember  since pat holmes that horrible day in sligo. he made his own bed by undermining the last 2 mayo managers in his various media outlets. all I need to see from a manger is some sign of improvement did we see that no.
did we see loads of VOTE FG stickers yes

It not me that mixing politics and sport. I know my prorities does he?

belleaqua

Quote from: myball22 on May 22, 2007, 01:13:06 PM
There is a question still over Forde's managerial abilities in IMO. We were never behind on Sunday and only threatened for some of the time during the game. Can he make tactical decisions on the sideline to turn the game our way? I seriously doubt this based on the last two years. I think we have enough at this stage to make a quarter-final, then we'll see where we're at

I think thats a little harsh on Forde I think he called it spot on on Sunday. The interchanging of the forwards had Mayo all over the place. Forde has built a great defensive unit-something we didnt even have in 98-01 era.

He got alot of stick after Westmeath match last year which i felt was wrong as we had enough chances that day to win 3 games. He cant kick them over for us aswell.

An All-Ireland semi-final would be a great achievement and Forde to keep his job

Just for the record I called it a Galway win by 5 on this thread a few days back! ;)

Msgr. Horan

Quote from: belleaqua on May 22, 2007, 01:52:49 PM

Just for the record I called it a Galway win by 5 on this thread a few days back! ;)
Whats your point? You were wrong ;D

Msgr. Horan

Quote from: Hardy on May 22, 2007, 10:47:30 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2007, 09:09:24 PM
Mayo suffer the Enda kenny syndrome, lots of serious, and convincing talk, but when push comes to shove they seem to lack that bit of umph.  Having played against Mayo teams at a high level I know they can talk the talk, but I also know when it came to it they could not walk the walk.

I couldn't agree more, BC1. I was stupid enough to go against that judgement of my own when putting a bet on them at decent odds to go all the way this year as soon as O'Mahony was confirmed as manager. I convinced myself that a great manager might just make the difference, combined with accumulated experience and what should be unquenchable determination to do it this time. Especially in a year like this when a "handy" All-Ireland might be on offer. It's hard to see it now.

I was browsing through Hogan Stand there and I was struck by the contrast between two quotes I read. I wonder if this, from Conor Mortimer (if true, making allowance for the source) gives some insight into the kind of mindset that seems to be the problem with Mayo players:

"Our football always comes through. We've always been one of the top teams, that's the way it is in Mayo, football first. Managers will come and go, players will come and go. We're only here for a short time, so we've got to make the most of it. I'm lucky I've reached a lot of finals and I'm still only 24. Yet if I'd won all those, would I have the hunger to keep going? I don't know."

This conveys all sorts of wrong attitudes. He looks on Mayo as a "top team", though they haven't won anything and he comes across as happy just to be in a "top team" and getting to a few finals, rather than gutted at losing them all. I know it's just one quote from one player, but you would never hear that from a Kerry player – or a player from Galway, Tyrone, Armagh, Dublin, Meath, etc..

Contrast it with this from a man who already has two All-Ireland medals and hasn't settled for that (Darren Fay last week):

"The lads on this team have worked hard and I can see that the killer instinct is back in this Meath team. If it's nip and tuck with 10 minutes to go we have it in us to push on because we have got that killer instinct back into us over the course of the league. Some people in Meath still feel we are no good. The only way to turn that around is by winning big games in Croke Park."

Hardy, using Conor Mortimer as a yardstick for the supposed mind set of the Mayo football team is like saying that Pat Spillane is an example of what all Kerry men are like (hes not).
C Mort always loves a microphone, and while you might not hear other players from some of the other counties saying things like he does, to be fair to him he generally puts in a fairly solid performance on the pitch and anyone who knows about him knows that he trains as hard as any of his peers in any county. This is the same lad who after beating Galway in the 2004 semi when asked about Roscommon in the final on live radio said "Ah I wouldnt worry about Roscommon too much to be honest, we'll beat them". He was right. I was cringing at the time thinking of Cake playing it over and over again on his 1970s walkman but on the other hand it was refreshing from the normal blandness you get.
Also analyse what he says, regarding top team, while the perception might be otherwise the fact is over the last 10 years Mayo have been on of the top teams. Thats a fact no matter what way you want to dress it up. Yes there have been some spectacular well documented failures but in terms of overall games won/lost Mayo have to be considered a top team. 4 All Ireland finals in that last 10 years. While I for one would have taken one win and no other returns to Croke Park from that, its still something to be proud of. Not the final failures but all the success and joy along the way to get there. Obvioulsy we cant settle for that but you have to give some credit as well.
His next statement about coming and going, clearly shows that he dosent believe he is the be all and end all of Mayo football, his time will pass and someone else will be there so he better make the most of it.
The last statement about not winning finals and the hunger clearly indicates that he for one, still has the hunger.

Jaysus the whinging has reached epidemic levels over on mayofans.com. They must think we can't read them or something. These are from today.

QuoteYou dont need to do weights to put in cheap shots, Galway were experts at it on Sunday and Mayo didnt respond to the tactic.

QuoteHaving said that, the leinency that the ref was showing Galway for their "tackles" would not have been shown to Mayo

QuoteYes Brady got away with punching but he deserved a round of applause, someone needed to do it

QuoteMayo were dreadful, but Galway were absoultely filthy

QuoteThe Galway boys were just taking it in turns to chop down Mayo lads

QuoteThe best tactic from Mayo after 15 minutes when they saw that the rules werent going to be applied was a one in all in like Meath 96

Yes like that worked a treat back in 96 alright. :D

All a bit OTT and drama-queeenish over there. As with most of these games the hungrier team on the day usually wins. If one aspect of showing hunger is hitting hard but fair in the tackle then I think any coach worth his salt would want his team to display it. Last year's game was hardly easy on the eye in terms of fouls conceded either.

MacDanger

QuoteThe interchanging of the forwards had Mayo all over the place. Forde has built a great defensive unit-something we didnt even have in 98-01 era.

In fairness, the fact that interchanging the forwards caused the Mayo backs so much problems probably says more about our backs than anything else, changing the forward on a decent back should cause any major hassle, he should still know he has to pick up someone. True though, Galway have a very good backline and if Joyce, the two meehans et al can start playing, ye could be hard beaten.

QuoteI have not doubt thqat o'mahony is 90 percent to blame for last sundays debacle .the man has been well exposed as having no new ideas to bring to the mayo team.
devenney ,kilcullen,campbell the 3 new guys he thought had something to add have were all abandoned .
the team were totally disjointed , ill disilplned and no sign of a game plan whatsoever.or what ever plan he had seemed to unravell after the 1st goal. This has always been a tean of cool heads and great technique but half of them didnt even look like footballers out there (remember brady's solo) had he promted 6 or 7 young guys hed have some excuse but he started off with  started with all-ireland finalist for criistsakes. he has been living on his reputation for years but in all seriousness if youy had to choose wheter to take Donnelan  Joyce mannion walsh and ja at his bes or else o'mahony no contest. remember the stae he left mayo in last time ?.
I hope his little election stunt doesnt pay off and he loses his notional deposit . and then quit mayo and enjoys his retirment in roscommon.

Not sure if you bothered watching the game or not (you were probably out canvassing for Enda) but Devenney was playing......If you tried taking off your political f**king glasses, you might have a half decent point to make, O'Mahoney should no doubt shoulder a large portion of the blame. His selections were niave and his changes were ineffective.

"Living off his reputation" - Yes, it's not a bad CV, bringing Mayo to a first AI in 39 years, winning a first Connacht title with Leitrim since '27 and winning two AI's with Galway for the first time since '66. Living off his repuatation indeed........if you were from Kerry you'd probably have been calling for Jack O'Cs head last June.

And as for the state he left Mayo football in...........if you knew anything about Mayo football you'd know he left because the muppets in the Co board wouldn't let him pick his own selectors. Are you on the County Board by any chance???

For what it's worth, with the election behind him (as professional and all as he is, it can't but have distracted him a little), I believe Johnno will give us a good run in the qualifiers and bring Sam back before he leaves his tenure with Mayo.

Keep the Faith

An Fhairche Abu

Although from a neutrals perspective it was undoubtedly another bad game between Mayo and Galway I was delighted with Sunday's result, although I thought that Mayo were deserved favourites to win, the Galway victory didn't surprise me, the margin certainly did!

Positives for Galway were Savo playing his best game in years, Bane delivered league promise with 2 great goals and a super point, whatever about his sometimes patchy contribution in open play he is a deadly finisher when he gets the opportunity, Nicky Joyce was great in open play and is unerring with the left-hand side frees.
The backs are frankly the best defensive unit we've had for a long time and proved it again on Sunday, we're very solid with Hanley at full and Blake in the CHB slot, Fitzy is more than competent in the corner although he is overshadowed by this clubmate Damien Burke these days. Burke has developed into one of the top intercounty corner backs in the country, cleaned out his marker again last Sunday and for good measure gave a super hit on McDonald that simultaneously raised the Galway crowd more than any score could do and deflated the Mayo crowd who had been heartened by Mac's introducing just minutes earlier. As stated in most of the papers, it was the game last Sunday in microcosm.

Although McGarrity was a huge loss for Mayo and so makes the achievement a bit less than if he was playing, Bergin and Coleman still owned midfield, although I did feel that when David Brady came on he at least disrupted them a bit, whatever else about Brady (I've personally never rated him at all) at least there was effort and desire in his play and he allowed some other Mayo men to grab some breaking ball. Brady hasn't the legs for more than 30 minutes anymore though so Bergin and Coleman reasserted control over the middle after the initial Brady factor dissipated. The problem of moving Heaney back to deal with Joyce was that he was badly missed in the middle which also made the job easier for Bergin and Coleman.
Though missed outfield, Heaney was masterful on Joyce near the goals, he really has the Bearnadearg legend's number (Heaney is pretty much in a club of one on that score), although it was about the only duel Mayo won. Mayo lads who think Higgins had a good game on Meehan are kidding themselves or else watched a replay of the league semi-final by mistake, Meehan won a mountain of ball out the field and aside from getting caught in possession once, he utilised it well, to be honest he should have finished with 4 points, he had 2 bad misses from open play when he got away from Higgins that he'd normally finish and another fisted effort that came off the post. Meehan still needs to up it considerably but he improved the last day and when Joyce and Meehan are quiet yet Galway still win handy it's all good.

Unfortunately, despite the positives for Galway, they are all tempered by the sheer awfulness of Mayo; they were terrible the last day. The main man up front Conor Mortimer was cleaned out by Burke, Dillion in a really poor run of form, he was terrible bar the point he kicked, Mayo midfield was lost at sea for most of the game, half back line destroyed.
That said, I expect Mayo to dramatically improve for the qualifiers; they can't be as bad again in a match this year surely and they still have some very good players (a fit McDonald would make a big difference), it wouldn't surprise me at all if Mayo went further than Galway this summer but they have it all to do to even make the Q-finals and I can't see any All Ireland in that Mayo team, which at this stage is what all Mayo wants, another 10 or 20 Connacht titles for Mayo won't mean a thing without winning the All Ireland.

In response to the sour grapes of some Mayo fans, it was indeed cynical play at times by Galway men dragging Mayo lads down instead of letting them get in for a goal chance but if we didn't concede a goal in the 2nd half we were strong favourites to win, Peter Ford and the team knew this well.
Ford had his managerial career with Galway on the line; had Galway lost he was finished, he had his players tactically fouling to ensure that this wasn't the case, to ensure that Galway won. Although it is ugly and repulsive to me as a fan of the "purer" brand of aesthetically pleasing gaelic football, it's understandable. However, you still need the players to be able to kick scores for yourself, simply stopping the opposition won't win you big games, and the damage has to be done at both ends. Galway (Coleman's stupid fouling aside) were much smarter than Mayo at defending last Sunday, in fact for all the crying about the physical approach of Galway, Mayo had the most fouls last Sunday. I will accept that the Mayo people complaining about the ref's ability are 100% correct, he is puck bad. He didn't win it for Galway though, Mayo made sure of that themselves by playing crap.

As for the sendings off, Pat Harte deserved to go definitely, whether a Galway player should have seen the line earlier is irrelevant to this incident, it was a reckless elbow into the face. As I said at the time in the terrace (to much vocal Mayo disagreement I might add) "it's a sending off, all day, every day", having seen the replay I still stick by that, if it was a Galway man I'd say the same
With regards to the Galway sending off, firstly let me say that Niall Coleman has superb potential as a footballer, anyone who's seen him in Galway colours since minor would know that ability isn't the issue, his headlessness in physical exchanges is his big problem. He was very good in midfield the last Sunday but spoilt it all by needless fouling, it wasn't even the smart cynical fouling employed elsewhere by Galway, it was reckless fouling for no good reason. What he was thinking when he first went for Harte off the ball to get his first yellow? No need at all for it. Stupidity. As for the 2nd yellow, sheer madness. He ran 10 yards just to hit Mortimer who was at the sideline, in a position of no danger to Galway at all, why bother? Mortimer was no threat anyway on Sunday, Burke destroyed him, yet Coleman still had to throw the dig. The Galway people who clapped him off as he was headed to the dugout need to re-examine what they think a player needs to be clapped off for, a repeat of this stupidity could cost us dear on another day and unless he curbs his temper and his needless off the ball exchanges with the opposition he'll remain a liability on the field. 

Despite the good win, Galway people shouldn't get too carried away, I don't think this Galway team have it in them to get past a Q-Final spot as not every team we play will be as inept as Mayo last Sunday and Galway veer from great to awful depending on the game.
Still I was ecstatic with the hammering we gave Mayo purely because it's probably as good as it going to get for us this year, at least we've got one great Galway moment this year, first one for me in a long time!

Its easy to say this panel is finished with – maybe James Nallen and Kevin O'Neill are, but there are some very good footballers there.

We have problems in the backs but I think our biggest difficulty has been in the head.

Galway were sore after losing last year to us. They were not going to come off the pitch with regrets. We though we should get through because some people had us nominated as All Ireland contenders. Ridiculous.

The players were not fully focused when they went on to that pitch on Sunday. The disarray of the backs was hard to believe. We started with a line-up of O'Malley, Heaney, Gardiner, BJP, Higgins, Devenney. Players should have marked their patch.

It is possible to pick a far more balanced line-up, starting with Heaney at centre-half back, and probably Brady and Moran midfield and Pat Harte on the 40.

we are not physically imposing but neither are Galway. Last year when things were going well against Dublin the players could take the hits and give them. They had the Galway mind-set those last 20 minutes. Don't tell me Ger Brady should be pushed aside – no he is afraid of his life, and lazy. Liam O'Malley is small but it was ball-watching that caught him out for the first goal. BJP is a big man but was caught out by lack of pace and being an average footballer.

I think it is clear that JOM had eyes on polling day (its ironic that Enda Kenny may pull a particularly Mayo stunt and run out of steam when the big prize is there for the taking). Canvassing until late at night, and balancing that with thinking about the match cannot work.

If there is a correct balance, and a hunger (the one thing Mayo teams lack is that burning desire that supporters seem to have, and successful teams definitely have) we can redress some of the wrongs this Summer. If the players have any pride they will do that.

The reality is that there was an evens chance that we would be in this position once the draw was made. The performance was pathetic, and nothing like we would have expected but it is one game. We have beaten Tryone, Dublin, Cork at the business end of the league – we are not that bad. Now is the time to stand up and be counted.

What team would ye put out?

Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 22, 2007, 03:01:50 PM
Although from a neutrals perspective it was undoubtedly another bad game between Mayo and Galway I was delighted with Sunday's result, although I thought that Mayo were deserved favourites to win, the Galway victory didn't surprise me, the margin certainly did!

Positives for Galway were Savo playing his best game in years, Bane delivered league promise with 2 great goals and a super point, whatever about his sometimes patchy contribution in open play he is a deadly finisher when he gets the opportunity, Nicky Joyce was great in open play and is unerring with the left-hand side frees.
The backs are frankly the best defensive unit we've had for a long time and proved it again on Sunday, we're very solid with Hanley at full and Blake in the CHB slot, Fitzy is more than competent in the corner although he is overshadowed by this clubmate Damien Burke these days. Burke has developed into one of the top intercounty corner backs in the country, cleaned out his marker again last Sunday and for good measure gave a super hit on McDonald that simultaneously raised the Galway crowd more than any score could do and deflated the Mayo crowd who had been heartened by Mac's introducing just minutes earlier. As stated in most of the papers, it was the game last Sunday in microcosm.

Although McGarrity was a huge loss for Mayo and so makes the achievement a bit less than if he was playing, Bergin and Coleman still owned midfield, although I did feel that when David Brady came on he at least disrupted them a bit, whatever else about Brady (I've personally never rated him at all) at least there was effort and desire in his play and he allowed some other Mayo men to grab some breaking ball. Brady hasn't the legs for more than 30 minutes anymore though so Bergin and Coleman reasserted control over the middle after the initial Brady factor dissipated. The problem of moving Heaney back to deal with Joyce was that he was badly missed in the middle which also made the job easier for Bergin and Coleman.
Though missed outfield, Heaney was masterful on Joyce near the goals, he really has the Bearnadearg legend's number (Heaney is pretty much in a club of one on that score), although it was about the only duel Mayo won. Mayo lads who think Higgins had a good game on Meehan are kidding themselves or else watched a replay of the league semi-final by mistake, Meehan won a mountain of ball out the field and aside from getting caught in possession once, he utilised it well, to be honest he should have finished with 4 points, he had 2 bad misses from open play when he got away from Higgins that he'd normally finish and another fisted effort that came off the post. Meehan still needs to up it considerably but he improved the last day and when Joyce and Meehan are quiet yet Galway still win handy it's all good.

Unfortunately, despite the positives for Galway, they are all tempered by the sheer awfulness of Mayo; they were terrible the last day. The main man up front Conor Mortimer was cleaned out by Burke, Dillion in a really poor run of form, he was terrible bar the point he kicked, Mayo midfield was lost at sea for most of the game, half back line destroyed.
That said, I expect Mayo to dramatically improve for the qualifiers; they can't be as bad again in a match this year surely and they still have some very good players (a fit McDonald would make a big difference), it wouldn't surprise me at all if Mayo went further than Galway this summer but they have it all to do to even make the Q-finals and I can't see any All Ireland in that Mayo team, which at this stage is what all Mayo wants, another 10 or 20 Connacht titles for Mayo won't mean a thing without winning the All Ireland.

In response to the sour grapes of some Mayo fans, it was indeed cynical play at times by Galway men dragging Mayo lads down instead of letting them get in for a goal chance but if we didn't concede a goal in the 2nd half we were strong favourites to win, Peter Ford and the team knew this well.
Ford had his managerial career with Galway on the line; had Galway lost he was finished, he had his players tactically fouling to ensure that this wasn't the case, to ensure that Galway won. Although it is ugly and repulsive to me as a fan of the "purer" brand of aesthetically pleasing gaelic football, it's understandable. However, you still need the players to be able to kick scores for yourself, simply stopping the opposition won't win you big games, and the damage has to be done at both ends. Galway (Coleman's stupid fouling aside) were much smarter than Mayo at defending last Sunday, in fact for all the crying about the physical approach of Galway, Mayo had the most fouls last Sunday. I will accept that the Mayo people complaining about the ref's ability are 100% correct, he is puck bad. He didn't win it for Galway though, Mayo made sure of that themselves by playing crap.

As for the sendings off, Pat Harte deserved to go definitely, whether a Galway player should have seen the line earlier is irrelevant to this incident, it was a reckless elbow into the face. As I said at the time in the terrace (to much vocal Mayo disagreement I might add) "it's a sending off, all day, every day", having seen the replay I still stick by that, if it was a Galway man I'd say the same
With regards to the Galway sending off, firstly let me say that Niall Coleman has superb potential as a footballer, anyone who's seen him in Galway colours since minor would know that ability isn't the issue, his headlessness in physical exchanges is his big problem. He was very good in midfield the last Sunday but spoilt it all by needless fouling, it wasn't even the smart cynical fouling employed elsewhere by Galway, it was reckless fouling for no good reason. What he was thinking when he first went for Harte off the ball to get his first yellow? No need at all for it. Stupidity. As for the 2nd yellow, sheer madness. He ran 10 yards just to hit Mortimer who was at the sideline, in a position of no danger to Galway at all, why bother? Mortimer was no threat anyway on Sunday, Burke destroyed him, yet Coleman still had to throw the dig. The Galway people who clapped him off as he was headed to the dugout need to re-examine what they think a player needs to be clapped off for, a repeat of this stupidity could cost us dear on another day and unless he curbs his temper and his needless off the ball exchanges with the opposition he'll remain a liability on the field. 

Despite the good win, Galway people shouldn't get too carried away, I don't think this Galway team have it in them to get past a Q-Final spot as not every team we play will be as inept as Mayo last Sunday and Galway veer from great to awful depending on the game.
Still I was ecstatic with the hammering we gave Mayo purely because it's probably as good as it going to get for us this year, at least we've got one great Galway moment this year, first one for me in a long time!

Good post AFA. Agree on Coleman. He has it all football wise (apart from maybe and extra 2 or 3 inches in height) but he gives away clatters of needless frees. He brings a lot of aggression to the Galway team in the middle of the park but he'll have to control that temper of his. His fielding is still superb even against bigger men and his pass for Bane's first goal was exquisite. Kicked a lovely point too.

As for us going past the last 8 this year I think it's certainly possible but very hard to predict right now until we see who comes through the qualifiers. Hopefully the team can keep up the intensity levels from last Sunday but you have to feel they will struggle to replicate it next time out against Leitrim. Still they should have enough to get past Carrick on Shannon and you'd have to fancy them in a Connacht final in Pearse. Too early to say how we'll get on after that but our aim has to be the semi-finals at least now. We have to aim to win a game in Croker again.

MacDanger

Good post alright An Fhairche Abu.

QuoteIts easy to say this panel is finished with – maybe James Nallen and Kevin O'Neill are

f**k me, only 8 months ago people were saying how much they hoped KO'N would stay etc etc. Not finished by a long shot but needs to be utilised nearer to goal. Hasn't great ball-winning ability at county level but there are few Mayo men who can beat him for accuracy or a good shimmy and he has a cool head lacking in many of the Mayo forwards. Maybe he hasn't the full 70 in him but there's definitely 40 minutes in him

Didn't see much of it but its nice to be proven right on a few things. O'Mahoney is a hugely overrated manager. He's not bad I'll grant you but he's no messiah or miracle worker. Also, I believe from what I hear that Kevin McStay produced a cast iron display of how big a ginnit he is on the TV commentary. He simply shouldn't be allowed near a mic and especially when Mayo are involved.

Happy for Forde and Galway but they have to keep the effort up and improve on a few things to be contenders. That may be within their compass. Mayo have also the potential to turn things round as they do have plenty of decent footballers. This defeat will sting and might help get that oft commented on attitude right.

An Fhairche Abu

QuoteGood post AFA. Agree on Coleman. He has it all football wise (apart from maybe and extra 2 or 3 inches in height) but he gives away clatters of needless frees. He brings a lot of aggression to the Galway team in the middle of the park but he'll have to control that temper of his. His fielding is still superb even against bigger men and his pass for Bane's first goal was exquisite. Kicked a lovely point too.
There's no doubt that I wouldn't like him to lose any of his aggression out on the field, it's what makes him a good tough player, but it's the needless stuff that breaks your heart when you see it. If he cuts it out while retaining controlled aggression then I've no problem with him at all, he's got super potential. I agree it's a shame he hasn't a few extra inches in height for a midfielder but he can't do much about that though!

QuoteWe have to aim to win a game in Croker again.
Very true, I'd just fear that we're not going to see the unreal motivation that was there last Sunday against other teams, every one of them was badly hurt from last year, you could see it right from the off, they simply wanted to destroy Mayo on every part of the pitch. This Galway team is notorious for wildly varying up/down passages within the one game even, never mind from match to match, if we could get more consistency it'd be great and I'd feel far more confident about the rest of the year if we had that.

myball22

Agreed, we did to aim higher than a Connacht title now. I think Roscommon will be a big test but assuming that the team is sufficiently focused, motivated and play somewhere near their capabilities they should win. Seamie O'Neill is a good man to catch a ball and fade out of the game for 20 minutes but I haven't seen any of their minors coming through to give any sort of analysis of Roscommon's chances. Drawing from their league semi-final form we should win, then again we lost a league smi-final also.

Either way we should get to a quarter-final and then its up for grabs. This team has been fialing at this stage or sooner since 2001 and needs to buck the trend. The lesser lights stepped up to the plate, it remains to be seen if they can do that at QFinal time also.

I think my previous comments on Forde are fair. Since we lost the quarter-final to Cork in 2005 we've struggled in any big game up to last Sunday. This is possibly a lack of tactical nous, insufficient motivation or bad organization. I know we could blame the players for this, after all the manager doesn't play the game but that's the way it goes normally.

I think it's fair to say we saw the worst prepared team from JOM last Sunday and amybe the election has diluted his focus. Come next Sunday I think he will refocus and pull it around. I have a feeling that he felt obliged to play some of the older players on Sunday to see if they were still capable of playing at this level. I think he will digest this and make the necessary changes ala Galway 2001. Whether the new team is capable of hitting the heights some of the supporters want to remains to be seen but I don't think so.

P.S. Did anybody else have a sense of foreboding over Coleman before he got sent off? We all know he has a tendency to see the red mist and tackles like Paul Scholes sometimes. I thought the management would have acted sooner to take him off before he got sent off. I said this to my brother about 2 mins before he got sent off. It's this kind of missing of detial that worries me about Forde come the big time.

QuoteI think Roscommon will be a big test

I'm assuming Leitrim in the "new" Carrick will be a walk in the park so? You never know - you might get a handy Connacht final if we surprise the Rossies too.