Michael Lyster

Started by ONeill, May 16, 2013, 06:59:25 PM

Quote from: T Fearon on May 17, 2013, 02:27:38 PM
Remember round the mid 80s, Michael actually presented the all Ireland Disco Championships on RTE, along with Moya Docherty (who went on to devise Riverdance). They tried to make him look funky, but you just couLdn't separate him from the GAA man!

Those early days were great, with the late Enda Colleran providing accurate analysis without offending anyone. It all changed when the put a mike in front of Spillane!
I remember Enda as controversial, then again Armagh didn't incur his wrath too often

Examples? Never recall him being gratuitously controversial,not even once

He had a go at Tyrone In 86. There were banners on the hill from memory at the final nothing like Spillane but there was some Craic there.

Quote from: moysider on May 18, 2013, 12:43:04 AMThe Sunday Game panellists are another galaxy entirely now.  Back in the day Liz Howard, Eammon Cregan ( he always had an edge but had the stuff and knowledge to back it up)  Enda Colleran, Jimmy Barry Murphy and Donal O Grady did a good job.
Are you pulling my leg?

QuoteO Rourke may present himself as a steady/moderating influence but he is just acting the straight guy in a circus. And it is an act. If anything he is the most sectarian of the lot of them.
OK. I've had my leg well and truly pulled. Well done.

I see the Mayo/Tyrone lads are giving out again.

Quote from: Hardy on May 18, 2013, 09:08:02 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 18, 2013, 12:43:04 AMThe Sunday Game panellists are another galaxy entirely now.  Back in the day Liz Howard, Eammon Cregan ( he always had an edge but had the stuff and knowledge to back it up)  Enda Colleran, Jimmy Barry Murphy and Donal O Grady did a good job.
Are you pulling my leg?

QuoteO Rourke may present himself as a steady/moderating influence but he is just acting the straight guy in a circus. And it is an act. If anything he is the most sectarian of the lot of them.
OK. I've had my leg well and truly pulled. Well done.

Colm o rourke - Daniel o Donnell - Jeffrey Donaldson

I remember that Tyrone banner in 86. It said "Enda who?"

Just listened to Michael Lyster's interview with Tubridy on podcast. He explained about his health worries, but seems to be responding well to treatment. Glad to hear that. It was obvious he wasn't well earlier in the year.

He hinted that Paidi O'Se was going through something similar. I wasn't aware that Paidi had known heart problems prior to his death. I assumed he had just died suddenly.

He looked a lot healthier looking on Sunday, than he was early in the year during the National League.

I hope he's better but make-up artists can do wonders nowadays.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 01:05:07 PM
I hope he's better but make-up artists can do wonders nowadays.

Didn't realise you had inside knowledge of the make up industry Jinxy   :P

Just because I like to bring out my eyes doesn't make me any less of a man than you.

squire_in_navy_slacks

I thought he looked very well today actually .................................................... Brolly however looked like he got a slap on the wrists from someone

Joe...... takes....... an awful long time........ to get........ his point....... across.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2013, 08:16:53 PM
Joe...... takes....... an awful long time........ to get........ his point....... across.

True, but there is a bit of thought there. Thought That himself and O'Rourke were better today without Spillane. Spillane looks for Catchy lines and Metaphors. He really is a Sunday World Journalist - All headline and no content!