America`s Gun Culture

Started by Wildweasel74, December 14, 2012, 06:00:57 PM

Quote from: thewobbler on September 12, 2025, 09:26:07 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 12, 2025, 09:19:34 AMMass shootings of innocent school children in the US...shrug shoulders.
1 gun supporting extremist shot ...media meltdown, including the Irish media.

I've been saying for years that Ireland would become a better place if it wasn't so infatuated with America.

The amount of airtime and headlines given over here to US elections / Trump / shootings / left wing / right wing, it's actually frightening.

We should not aspire to be America.

I agree 100%

One of the things I love about the rural area where I live is I can go into the local pub or social club and nobody will be talking about American culture war crap. People are more interested in local stuff like how the football team are doing, farming, the school etc. The online flame wars are a million mile away, as they should be.

AustinPowers

QuoteMass shootings of innocent school children in the US...shrug shoulders.

I've been saying for years that Ireland would become a better place if it wasn't so infatuated with America.

The amount of airtime and headlines given over here to US elections / Trump / shootings / left wing / right wing, it's actually frightening.

It's not just the  politics though

its all the   so called American culture crap that's  drifting over here. All the nonsense surrounding  Hollywood and Kardashian's,  gender reveal parties, baby showers , and all that shite.  And this  coffee culture  gives me the shites

Then you have the  shite music, TV shows,  all the nonsense from big events like the Super Bowl that  inevitably  seep their way in  here

And don't get me  started on the language Irish people are using now.  A-dults, pavements,  and the likes. It's a feckin  footpath!

Quote from: AustinPowers on September 12, 2025, 12:53:59 PMAnd this  coffee culture  gives me the shites

drink better coffee then

Quote from: AustinPowers on September 12, 2025, 12:53:59 PM

It's not just the  politics though

its all the   so called American culture crap that's  drifting over here. All the nonsense surrounding  Hollywood and Kardashian's,  gender reveal parties, baby showers , and all that shite.  And this  coffee culture  gives me the shites

Then you have the  shite music, TV shows,  all the nonsense from big events like the Super Bowl that  inevitably  seep their way in  here

And don't get me  started on the language Irish people are using now.  A-dults, pavements,  and the likes. It's a feckin  footpath!

Calling a footpath a pavement is woke nonsense.

AustinPowers

QuoteAnd this  coffee culture  gives me the shites

drink better coffee then
I didn't mean  drinking coffee literally  gives me the shites :D

just  the whole culture. 

Quote from: RedHand88 on September 12, 2025, 01:00:32 PM

its all the   so called American culture crap that's  drifting over here. All the nonsense surrounding  Hollywood and Kardashian's,  gender reveal parties, baby showers , and all that shite.  And this  coffee culture  gives me the shites

Then you have the  shite music, TV shows,  all the nonsense from big events like the Super Bowl that  inevitably  seep their way in  here

And don't get me  started on the language Irish people are using now.  A-dults, pavements,  and the likes. It's a feckin  footpath!

not really, pavement has long been used in this context. However,footpath is better, it describes exactly what is is while pavement has other uses. Also the word footpath is clear for the woke types who think it acceptable to cycle there.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Not knowing that 3.30 is the same as half 3

Some American was confused when I told her the time for the bus in Spain during the summer!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

As long as they don't start calling it a sidewalk.

Pavements are for soft hoors  ;D

DaleCooper

I remember one my first trips east of the Bann marvelling the pavement on either side of the main road near Portadown. The luxuriousness of it, the outrageous largesse!

BREAKING: Journalist and college professor Stacey Patton goes viral by penning a stunningly powerful statement about how she was on Charlie Kirk's "digital hit list" and recounting the horror that he inflicted on her.
We cannot allow this tragic assassination to whitewash Kirk's legacy...

"I am on Charlie Kirk's hit list," Patton wrote to her 215,000 followers on Facebook. "His so-called 'Professor Watchlist,' run under the umbrella of Turning Point USA, is nothing more than a digital hit list for academics who dare to speak truth to power. I landed there in 2024 after writing commentary that inflamed the MAGA faithful. And once my name went up, the harassment machine roared to life."

"For weeks my inbox and voicemail were deluged. Mostly white men spat venom through the phone: 'bitch,' 'c*nt,' 'n****r.' They threatened all manner of violence," she continued.

"They overwhelmed the university's PR lines and the president's office with calls demanding that I be fired," Patton wrote. "The flood was so relentless that the head of campus security reached out to offer me an escort, because they feared one of these keyboard soldiers might step out of his basement and come do me harm."
"And I am not unique," she added.

"Kirk's Watchlist has terrorized legions of professors across this country. Women, Black faculty, queer scholars, basically anyone who challenged white supremacy, gun culture, or Christian nationalism suddenly found themselves targets of coordinated abuse," Patton wrote.

"Some received death threats. Some had their jobs threatened. Some left academia entirely. Kirk sent the loud message to us: speak the truth and we will unleash the mob!" she continued.

"That is the culture of violence Charlie Kirk built. He normalized violence.  He curated it, monetized it, and sicced it on anyone who dared to puncture his movement's lies," she wrote.

"And now, in the wake of his shooting, there's all this national outpouring of mourning, moments of silence, yellow prayer hands, and tributes painting him as a civil debater," Patton continued. "But the truth is that Kirk and his foot soldiers spent years terrorizing educators, trying to silence us with harassment and fear!"
"And now the same violence he unleashed on others has come full circle."

"But what i find especially jarring is the dissonance in public mourning for a smug white man whose life work was actively hostile to certain groups," she continued. "Kirk spent years demonizing LGBTQ people, mocking gun survivors, spewing racism about Black folks, and pushing policies that literally shorten lives."

"It is so revolting to watch a bipartisan wave of grief sweep over this hateful racist as if he was a neutral community servant," she concluded.

This is pure unvarnished truth from Patton. Charlie Kirk did not deserve what happened to him, but nor did his victims deserve the hell that he unleashed on them. If Americans are going to build a more peaceful future for ourselves we must condemn political violence while also condemning the hateful, bigoted rhetoric that made Kirk a multimillionaire.

Quote from: trileacman on September 11, 2025, 10:03:51 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 11, 2025, 05:39:31 PMAssassinations and attempted assassinations of left-leaning US politicians starting with Kennedy:

- John F. Kennedy (1963): Assassinated by Lee Harvey Oswald; 1 killed.
- Robert F. Kennedy (1968): Assassinated by Sirhan Sirhan; 1 killed.
- Huey Long (1935): Assassinated by Carl Weiss; 1 killed.
- Harvey Milk (1978): Assassinated by Dan White; 2 killed (incl. Mayor Moscone).
- Leo Ryan (1978): Assassinated by Peoples Temple members; 5 killed.
- Gabrielle Giffords (2011): Attempt by Jared Loughner; survived, 6 killed.
- Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933): Attempt by Giuseppe Zangara; unharmed, 1 killed.
- Melissa Hortman (2025): Assassinated by Vance Boelter; 2 killed.

A very disingenuous post there Eamon. Both Kennedys were killed by left wing extremists. Oswald was a communist and Sirhan a Palestinian who shot Bobby because of his support for Israel. I believe Harvey Milk was shot by someone he fired or had fallen out with was he not?

Guissepe Zangara was a radical left anarchist too. I'd say half of the assassins on that list are left wing nutters.

I'll give you the point about the Kennedys.

Milk was shot by Dan White, a homophobic conservative colleague on the council who didn't like the way he voted on a local issue. In his 1977 campaign brochure he had this to say: "I am not going to be forced out of San Francisco by splinter groups of radicals, social deviates, and incorrigibles... There are thousands upon thousands of frustrated, angry people such as yourself, waiting to unleash a fury that can and will eradicate the malignancies which blight our city."

Technically White was a Democrat, but he was very much a right winger who would fit in with today's Republican party.

Quote from: Armagh18 on September 12, 2025, 08:53:12 AM
Quote from: Muck Savage on September 12, 2025, 07:12:15 AM"When people stop talking that's when violence happens" Charlie Kirk

He was always willing to have a debate on ideas, respectfully listened and argued his point. You don't have to agree with everything but we all should listen to the other side. Something that is missing in today's society. The other side is always Far ____, so you shouldn't talk to that crazy crowd.

Looking at some of the comments on here, this world has gone vile. A wife has lost her husband, two kids have lost a dad and many believe the US has lost someone that was trying to communicate and discuss the difference between the sides.

RIP Charlie Kirk
Thats a very good quote and a true one, say what you like about Kirk but he put himself forward for debates and stood over his opinions and allowed others to argue theirs.

Some of his opinions were absolutely vile especially around Gaza, but he didn't deserve to be shot for them. Forgive me if I save my tears for the thousands of innocents in Gaza rather than the man who cheered on their murderers though.

His "debates" were not against his peers. He'd put himself on stage and invite teenage students to ask him questions, to which he'd respond in viral-clip-friendly soundbites, purely for the purpose of boosting his social media profile. He wouldn't have lasted a minute against someone like Christopher Hitchens, but he wasn't into picking on someone his own size.

Overrated.

Isn't pavement a UK term? In the US "pavement" means any hard man-made surface, including the road. I think it also includes runways.

The 16-year-old boy who shot and wounded two students at Evergreen High School in Colorado on Wednesday (Sep 10), later turning the gun on himself seemed to hold white supremacist views online and appeared to have been "radicalized", officials said Thursday.

Though, the authorities are yet to reach to a conclusion as to what led him to carry out the shooting, officials say the shooter, Desmond Holly was "radicalized by some extremist network," and that he had a "mission".

Authorities are searching his phone, home and locker to get into the details of his "connection" with the network and to know more about who he was communicating with before the shooting.

The shooting at the school campus by Desmond Holly, broke out at about 12:24 p.m. local time on Wednesday (Sep 10). The suspect allegedly went around the campus shooting randomly trying to "find new targets," but failed as classroom doors were locked and he could not keep shooting victims any further.
"He would fire and reload, fire and reload, fire and reload," said Jacki Kelley, public information officer for the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office. "This went on and on," she added.

According to the officials, a revolver was used by Holly to carry out the shooting. "Shots could be seen fired at windows and lockers," authorities said on Thursday.

Three students were critically injured and were rushed to the nearby hospital after the incident, including the suspected shooter, who was injured by a self-inflicted gunshot wound.