Ulster Minor Football Club Championship 2012 (at Saint Pauls)

Started by drici, August 15, 2012, 05:01:15 PM

Quote from: drici on December 26, 2012, 12:18:28 PM

4°C

Wednesday 26th December
Semi Final:
Ardboe O Donovan Rossa(Tyrone) v Glen Watty Grahams(Derry)
1-30pm   St Pauls

v     

Wattys were head and shoulders above the loughshore men everywhere. They wiped them out in midfield and the Rossa's decision to play a two man forward line made it an easy day for the Derry defenders. It was a hammering but could even have been sorer on Ardboe. Watty Graham's are a credit to their townland. Brilliant forward movement and tenacious defending as a unit.

elk

lets be honest Wattys are the best minor team at club level in ireland, who is going to beat them.? Killeavey, I don't think so!

Awful conditions for a game today but we got the win and that's what Semi finals are about. Fair play to Ardboe who battled well. Cassidy is def one for the future!

Killeavy in the final won't be easy. O'Hanlon will take a watching and they also have a few other Armagh minors. Fingers crossed we can do the business!

Quote from: elk on December 26, 2012, 10:12:59 PM
lets be honest Wattys are the best minor team at club level in ireland, who is going to beat them.? Killeavey, I don't think so!
Best team in the world, ever.

Quote from: Walter Cronc on December 26, 2012, 10:19:54 PM
Awful conditions for a game today but we got the win and that's what Semi finals are about. Fair play to Ardboe who battled well. Cassidy is def one for the future!

Killeavy in the final won't be easy. O'Hanlon will take a watching and they also have a few other Armagh minors. Fingers crossed we can do the business!

Is O'Hanlon fit? Heard he has been injured the last while. Killeavy will need him fit if they are to have any chance. If reports are right and Glen midfield are prominent Killeavy will also need a big game from Murphy to stay close. The lack of matches will also go against them I think.

Club Rossa

Walter,would you expect many of your minor team to be playing for the seniors next year?

Quote from: spuds on December 26, 2012, 11:32:56 PM
Quote from: elk on December 26, 2012, 10:12:59 PM
Best team in the world, ever.

yeah I heard they've been voted ahead of the kerry team of the 70's

Quote from: Club Rossa on December 27, 2012, 10:40:07 AM
Walter,would you expect many of your minor team to be playing for the seniors next year?

Last year about 5 of that minor team played in the seniors at some stage. I'd expect those players and maybe one or 2 more to push through next year. That team yesterday is still relatively young with 10 or 11 underage next year. How about yourselves? Cassidy certainly looks ready for senior football. Glass done well on him though considering he is only 15.

Club Rossa

Cassidy would be the only one contending for a senior spot,he has played a few senior games already.I would say 5 or 6 of them would be ready for reserve football.
Glass was very good,is that the same lad that was on your u-15 og sport team?

Number 6 for yous was also a worker and has plenty of pace. Yeah that's him, he captained the Og sport team this year.

Club Rossa

Thought that was him.Iwas up at the og sport finals and he was a class apart.Some prospect.
Our no.6 Peter O'Neill played 3 or 4 reserve games towards the tail end of last season,if he bulks up a bit he should be pushing for a senior spot in a couple of years.
That Glen side has had a lot of hype written about them and we were hoping it would go to their heads and they would take us lightly.But they seem mature beyond their years.Young lads can easily get ahead of themselves when they get praised like that but they seem like they're well grounded.

Yeah Enda doesn't let anyone get ahead of themselves, that's for sure! All that media talk is a load of nonsense. Killeavy won't be easy in the final but hopefully we can get over the line!

Good win for Glen yesterday, they have a very good defensive record to date with not too many goals leaked. Would this team be as strong again next year Walter?

We would be pretty strong next year Yellowcard. Think 10 or 11 starters are underage again. Once again Slaughtneil will be the main opposition in Derry. In the Paul Mc Girr last year a very strong Rossa side beat us by 2 in the first round and went on to win it.