conor mortimer

Started by NaomhBridAbĂș, July 11, 2012, 07:06:09 PM

Quote from: Mayo Mick on July 12, 2012, 08:50:40 AM
Mort will regret this come September when he sees the lads collecting their AI medals.
I didn't realise there were medals for artificial insemination

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 10:49:24 PM
I think it needs to be said the lad has given more than most to the Mayo cause, years upon years of travelling up and down from Dublin for his county and the county's all-time record points scorer. Putting in that effort and not starting at his age and with his performances this year would have grated on any player. This wasn't the time to make your exit, though, and criticism of the manner of his departure is more than valid but it's hard to say he owes any Mayo fan an iota. He paid his dues a long time ago.

I know I'll be happier if the next time we play Mayo Mort isn't on the team sheet.

Bollocks, he has, he threw the jersey away before, dont forget that. This is all about the ego that is Conor Mortimer, the friends in the press etc.If he gave a shite about Mayo football, he wouldn't have done this the week of the provincial final. There are other players who are also making the sacrafices too, you'd swear Conor had to cycle from Dublin to Mayo, going by some of the posts. If he isn't willing to be a team player then good luck to him. Mayo football, the same as other counties, had to "hold" places for certain players down through the years, in case they jacked, i for one would rather have 20 - 25 lads who were willing to be part of a team, win and lose as a team, than have certain players, who for what ever reason think they have a "right" to start, prove yourself to the management week - in week- out and the chance will come. But when a 30 year man, throws the toys out of the pram, no matter what field they are in, well how much respect do they deserve? Mayo football is bigger than Conor Mortimer. Good Riddance.

I think he is totally wrong and it sends out a big statement to other players.

I'm sure everyone on here involved with any teams could regale tales of players leaving cause they aren't starting matches, when they are told why they aren't starting, they know best, they've done nothing, i've been told I'm better than Billy thats starting, etc etc etc.

First chance, toys out and off they go mouthing to whoever will listen about unfairly they've been treated. My answer to that is, the reason they aren't starting has been proven by the very fact of them walking away - they aren't a team player, its about them, not willing to fight for their place, no stomach for it when chips are down. It could also be that a better player is in front of them and they not willing to accept this and the fact that its a game of opinions.

What he has done before a final is very low. No reason he couldn't have stood out after the final without singing it from the roughtops a few days before it.

Once again the example is set from players at the higher levels and underage players will grow up seeing this and think its the norm to walk away if not starting and blame others. If every players had this attitude, we'd never have a squad. Thankfully alot of players know what it takes to make it and the sacrfices they have to make and decisions they have to accept along the way.

Poor form and no doubt he'll have plenty to say on twitter about it.

It's ok lads - the KDBTSC ( Kildare Disaffected But Talented County Sub Committee ) are already on the job again and an address in the Straffan is being worked on at the minute.

The next transfer should go through a lot more smoothly this time, given the lessons learnt last time.

EagleLord

Well said Bingo. Hate that. 'If im not starting then I quit.' If I was a manager I'd just say right, away on ye go. Terrible attitude for an 11 year old to have. Never mind a senior player, and an inter-county player, supposed to be the elite of our sport? Selfish and pathetic. Good riddance I'd say, if I was a Mayo man.

I'm no fan of the wee lad, but I think there's a lot of OTT stuff here. We keep telling each other it's an amateur game, nobody is forced to participate, etc. That being the case, the lad doesn't owe anything to anybody and is perfectly entitled to decide he's not going to commit his time if he's not getting the enjoyment (which is what it's all about, right?) in return.

Wild and whirling words about throwing the toys out of the pram, singing from the "roughtops" (sic), etc. are unwarranted. As far as I know, he's said nothing at all to the press. He's just told the manager he's not available any more. His business; nobody else's.

[Edit] I see there are suggestions he informed the press of his intentions in advance. Be that as it may, the substantive point stands.

The timing is poor but I dont think it will have any effect on Mayo's preparations for Sunday's final seeing as they were'nt going to start him. He's a fine individual player but Horan seems to operate a well organised group game plan which perhaps Mort doesnt fit in to. I dont know and for now nobody really knows the full story.

Mayo Mick

Quote from: seafoid on July 12, 2012, 09:18:19 AM
Quote from: Mayo Mick on July 12, 2012, 08:50:40 AM
Mort will regret this come September when he sees the lads collecting their AI medals.
I didn't realise there were medals for artificial insemination

:) :) :)

Your sharp Seafoid!!
If You Don't Bring Home The Bacon, You'll Get Treated Like A Pig!!

Hashtag

Quote from: Hardy on July 12, 2012, 10:45:39 AM
I'm no fan of the wee lad, but I think there's a lot of OTT stuff here. We keep telling each other it's an amateur game, nobody is forced to participate, etc. That being the case, the lad doesn't owe anything to anybody and is perfectly entitled to decide he's not going to commit his time if he's not getting the enjoyment (which is what it's all about, right?) in return.

Wild and whirling words about throwing the toys out of the pram, singing from the "roughtops" (sic), etc. are unwarranted. As far as I know, he's said nothing at all to the press. He's just told the manager he's not available any more. His business; nobody else's.

[Edit] I see there are suggestions he informed the press of his intentions in advance. Be that as it may, the substantive point stands.

I totally agree with this. Think people are getting a bit too carried away about the whole 'toys out of the pram' statements. County football nowadays needs a vast commitment. Training 6 nights a week. Always looking after yourself, if he has come to a time in his life where he thinks I have done that for long enough and want to enjoy a boy of club footie and maybe a bit more of a social life then let him be.

Needless Thread.
Why did I read it then?

Quote from: Hashtag on July 12, 2012, 11:09:50 AM

I totally agree with this. Think people are getting a bit too carried away about the whole 'toys out of the pram' statements. County football nowadays needs a vast commitment. Training 6 nights a week. Always looking after yourself, if he has come to a time in his life where he thinks I have done that for long enough and want to enjoy a boy of club footie and maybe a bit more of a social life then let him be.

Needless Thread.
Why did I read it then?
That's all correct, but completely irrelevant to this case.

All the hard work has already been done. All he has to do now is turn up on Sunday, and play his best if and when called upon. Then if he decided to call it quits, there'd be far less of a hoohaa.

I don't know the chap at all, but I've seen it said by Mayo lads plenty of times that his mentality is that its all about Conor. The timing of his decision seems contrived to get one last headline, but I bet he thought he'd get a lot more sympathy and a lot more people criticising the manager. The Mayo County Board have done really well in this regard, getting the statement out very quickly and ensuring there'd be no speculation of any row between player and manager.

Quote from: Hashtag on July 12, 2012, 11:09:50 AM

Needless Thread.
Why did I read it then?

Any player is entitled to leave a panel and I know players who have done so this year or not even let themselves go for it at start of the year. They have their reasons and thats fair enough and I'm sure that Mort would have his but it clears that in this case non-selection is his reason. Is that right a few days before a final?

Its more the timing that is wrong in this case plus if he was already telling people in media circles last weekend that he was gone if he was starting, if that was his attitude he could hardly be giving it 100%.

Hadn't he been injured as well since the league, as I'm sure someone said that he had played little football for Parnells including their championship match as he was injured.

Ara yeah Hardy but the week of a provincial final when you've just heard you haven't been picked?

Fair enough, Hardy, there's a lot of merit in what you say.

He certainly is entitled to pull out if he wants to and it's fair to say that he owes nothing to anybody he is leaving behind. I wish the present controversy would die down quickly as it only serves to distract his former teammates and manager as they go about their preparations and it lessens the chance of his possible return.
But in the absence of fact, speculation takes over and he should know this as well as you or I.
Now, I am sure you are at least as adept as I when it comes to deciphering the real meaning of a press statement.
What it says often bears no relation to what it really means.

Here are extracts from the release issued by the Mayo county board:

The Management, Players and Mayo County Board would like to take this opportunity to thank Conor Mortimer for his services this year to Mayo G.A.A. and indeed for his services throughout the years.

Thanks, Conoreen and don't slam the door on your way out.

Conor has been a great servant to Mayo football and his contributions will live long in the hearts in Mayo people.

Oh, bollox; even I couldn't come up with shite like that. Last time I heard "great servant to Mayo football" being used was when O'Mahony shafted Ciaran Mac. About as sincere as a handshake from Bertie Ahern.

We would also like to state the the door is always open for any player who is showing the skills, commitment, ability, and passion for Mayo G.A.A. now and in the future.

Okay, grammar and syntax apart, the meaning is clear:
"Conoreen, you are always welcome to come back-- but only on our terms."

Mortimer's right to leave is absolute but his manner of doing so leaves a lot to be desired.