Longford v Laois - Leinster SFC 20 May 2012

Started by Shamrock Shore, May 11, 2012, 09:54:19 AM

The Insider

Lets not forget our minors who play the Dubs in Parnell Park on Saturday at 2pm, they have had little luck with the draw the last couple of years, meeting Kildare in the 1st round last year coming through the qualifiers to meet Dublin in the q/f where they were narrowly beaten. This year their 1st round opponents were Meath who they should have beaten, Laois in the qualifier who they beat after playing most of the game with 14 and now the Dubs on Saturday. The winner of this game  go forward to meet Kildare/Louth away in the semi final. This group of players have worked hard all year and are confident going into Saturday's game that they will achieve their goal of playing championship football in July

panc56

Quote from: Billys Boots on May 16, 2012, 09:05:56 AM
I'm not sure why people are predicting a Longford win - beating D3 opposition is no match for playing D1 football for the spring.  Laois in a close (and poor) one (again).
Correction both are Div 2!

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2012, 04:29:38 PM
For the paper of record it's sad they got their results stats wrong. We beat Westmeath in 2007 in Leinster  :P

Fecking wind.

Aye Croí

It was a good win but not one to gloat about. We were lucky in a second half revival that day.

At least all the Longford 'scores' went between the uprights ;)

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2012, 10:27:38 AM
At least all the Longford 'scores' went between the uprights ;)

Fecking umpires.

Was in Longford today,the hype up there about this game is unreal.I saw at least one fella* wearing a Longford hoodie.
Had to disguise my Laois accent to blend in with the locals in case someone thought I was on a spying mission,didn't realise the Paddy Doherty accent was so hard to pull off but it seemed to fool the villagers.

The excitement also reaching fever pitch in Edgeworthstown( well the bypass anyway) as I saw one car with a blue and yellow ropey in the windscreen.

This is gonna be massive.

*Might have been a woman was hard to tell due to the beard he/she sported.
Joe McDonagh 2026 🏆

Qwerty28

Expected a front page apology in the Times today after that error...wmaybe they can save the write up for Monday!!

Longfordian

Lads ,
I believe the game isnt being shown on RTE , I cant imagine there being any other source to watch it from over here in London , so its Shannonside FM and txt's from auld Longfordian.
Shamrock you hardly want to setup a Skype call from your Smartphone for the duration of the game by any chance  :)

Keane

Are both teams going to be full strength for this one or are there injuries coming in?

Longford are full strength I think. I see David Barden named on the starting XV - maybe that is a ruse, I dunno.

Longfordian - you will have to rely on The Flake but Newstalk is covering it live as well, I think.

Qwerty28

See the rte preview today of both Leinster as a whole and the game on Sunday referred to us as The LARRIES  ;D

Seem to be getting the nod in most of the previews but at least we're underdogs according to the bookies so thats something!

We'll be totally mainstream any time soon.

If we can get Marty Morrissey or Brian Carteeee referring to us as "Larries" then we've made it!

LaurelEye

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 18, 2012, 02:20:52 PM
Longford are full strength I think. I see David Barden named on the starting XV - maybe that is a ruse, I dunno.

Longfordian - you will have to rely on The Flake but Newstalk is covering it live as well, I think.

I'd stick with NewsTalk. Roscommon v Galway starts at 4 so you just might get most of the first half on Shannonside before the lisping gobshite with verbal diarrhoea takes over the joint. If you're lucky, you might find out the final score after the last anguished post-match interview with the woman who makes the tea in the Hyde.

This game has suffered from the GAA's backward idea of wanting less coverage on tv. If even an iota of sense had been shown this game would have been live at 2pm. Either way it's going to be a very busy day around the Shannon on Sunday, both games look like they could go down to the wire.