Is Tyrone the best team in the country?

Started by red n black, April 24, 2012, 10:04:17 AM

red n black

Quote from: ballinaman on April 24, 2012, 01:37:57 PM
People who can't speak proper really get to me.
Ah come on now...Mayo you say your from

Awk now seafoid my post was in jest! Fair play to ye for coming up in '03, you should have came on to Omagh. The craic was mighty for three days solid. 

Quote from: red n black on April 24, 2012, 02:43:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 24, 2012, 01:32:46 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 24, 2012, 10:30:30 AM

ARE Tyrone the best team in the country?

No is the answer.

This raises a far more important question:

Which is correct: IS Tyrone the best team? OR ARE Tyrone the best team?

The issue is whether the word team is plural or singular. DuffleKing is putting his money on 'Team' being plural while red n' black obviously believes Team is singular.

Can you say: 'that is a great team' if team is plural? I don't think so. Also if team is plural, then what is the singular of the word 'teams'?

I am putting my money on team being singular, although I was always crap at English.

Thanks for the English lesson,

Hi boi! DuffleKing gave the lesson, I was trying to establish the truth.

For me, the best team in the country is Longford! Six wins and a draw in the League, undefeated! Ran close by Fermanagh who had Seven wins and a draw in the League! undefeated! On the other hand, Dublin and Donegal with only 3 wins and 4 losses are a poor sides! 
As for Tyrone with 100% seven out of seven. :P

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 24, 2012, 05:20:50 PM
For me, the best team in the country is Longford! Six wins and a draw in the League, undefeated! Ran close by Fermanagh who had Seven wins and a draw in the League! undefeated! On the other hand, Dublin and Donegal with only 3 wins and 4 losses are a poor sides! 

12 out of 12 in 2012 *coughs* 100% record.

Orangemac

Quote from: ziggysego on April 24, 2012, 05:39:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 24, 2012, 05:20:50 PM

12 out of 12 in 2012 *coughs* 100% record.
Heres hoping for 13 out of 13 v Kildare and they go into the Armagh game undefeated and strong favourites.

For Tyrone to continue the 100% record through to September, it'll be 19 out of 19 games won with 4 trophies.

The Div 2 final will be played out in September. Tyrone v Kildare. Can't wait for that All Ireland final.