Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

bannside

Point One. Well done to Rossa, great club, good people and good luck in the next round.

Point Two. Pg1 were poor today, almost as if we had an eye on the next round. Very few players stood up on the day. Not good enough to win anything.

Point Three. The level of officiating was so so so off in favour of the city representives that i honestly feel we have a major problem. As a very long experienced observer, who knows how to take defeat on the chin..the level of bias today in favour of a city club entered new territories.

Waiting to see the match video until i make another comment..but first impressions are that with 7 south Antrim officials on duty, at a SA venue, without full streaming evidence, and two penaltes at least that were more than dubious...I will make a fuller comment then.

I was watching behind the goalmouth and thought the first penalty was scandalous, but the second penalty was so blatently not a penalty and the result of good defensive work that it bordered on ridiculous.

This opens up a lot of questions.

From a small village we sponsor 4 of our club championships..punching well above our weight. The mood in the town tonight is that we were royally shafted. 

Not an excuse for PG1 exiting. More a shout out that the enormity of the one sidedness in officiating is at an alarming level when a SW club goes into a so called neutral arena with the whole of the county refereeing system against them.

Well done Rossa and Sean Fleming. You shook off the shackles and good luck next day out.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Oh dear. Not content with making an absolute show of himself at the end of the game, he's going to do the same on here.

Antrim

Bannside, this doesn't look good. Youre not really congratulating Rossa if you're saying that the officials won it for them.

bannside

Im saying that standing behind the goals and probably the best view of all, that two penalties were awarded that shouldnt have been. But go ahead and play the man here, not the content.

Will watch the video though in case I missed something.

Rossa were superb on the day, rose their game and we were lethargic. Good luck to them.

Antrim

Quote from: bannside on Today at 07:57:03 AMIm saying that standing behind the goals and probably the best view of all, that two penalties were awarded that shouldnt have been. But go ahead and play the man here, not the content.

Will watch the video though in case I missed something.

Rossa were superb on the day, rose their game and we were lethargic. Good luck to them.

"But they only won because of poor officiating" is the premise of what you're saying... but well done to them???

Come on. Would expect better from you.

If Portglenone were good enough they'd have won.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Your personal conduct at the end of the game is what you should be reviewing, bannside. No place for that carry on at our games. That's how we end up with scenes like we did in Loughgiel last week. You should face sanction.

Hectic

Quote from: bannside on September 20, 2026, 11:25:44 PMPoint One. Well done to Rossa, great club, good people and good luck in the next round.

Point Two. Pg1 were poor today, almost as if we had an eye on the next round. Very few players stood up on the day. Not good enough to win anything.

Point Three. The level of officiating was so so so off in favour of the city representives that i honestly feel we have a major problem. As a very long experienced observer, who knows how to take defeat on the chin..the level of bias today in favour of a city club entered new territories.

Waiting to see the match video until i make another comment..but first impressions are that with 7 south Antrim officials on duty, at a SA venue, without full streaming evidence, and two penaltes at least that were more than dubious...I will make a fuller comment then.

I was watching behind the goalmouth and thought the first penalty was scandalous, but the second penalty was so blatently not a penalty and the result of good defensive work that it bordered on ridiculous.

From a small village we sponsor 4 of our club championships..punching well above our weight. The mood in the town tonight is that we were royally shafted. 

Not an excuse for PG1 exiting. More a shout out that the enormity of the one sidedness in officiating is at an alarming level when a SW club goes into a so called neutral arena with the whole of the county refereeing system against them.

Well done Rossa and Sean Fleming. You shook off the shackles and good luck next day out.

Wasn't at the game but I would be sympathetic to BS's frustrations.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Vs Cargin - "The ball was still in and we got a goal. It's so unfair."

Vs Aghagallon - "It was supposed to go straight to penalties. We're having a big committee meeting. It's so unfair."

Vs Rossa - "That penalty they missed was never a penalty. It's so unfair."

I'm not sure the theme is SA officials shafting teams but rather PG1 gurning about their perceived (huge emphasis) underachievement with almost every championship exit.

Cnoc Bán

Quote from: Hectic on Today at 08:07:40 AM
Quote from: bannside on September 20, 2026, 11:25:44 PMPoint One. Well done to Rossa, great club, good people and good luck in the next round.

Wasn't at the game but I would be sympathetic to BS's frustrations.

I was at the game, over at the scoreboard and I would agree, two ridiculous decisions to give those penalties.

The first was a clear swan dive, once the player made it into the box he threw his legs from under him.

The second was an outstanding diving block so I don't know how a penalty was given.

In saying that, PG1 can only blame themselves for extremely poor game management.

They had possession twice near the end of normal time when they were ahead and all they had to do was keep possession.

But they attacked both times and went for a score and gave possession back.

Then allowed Rossa an uncontested kick out, which they did for all of the second half, and that's how they got the equaliser.

Lucky not to lose it in normal time because of their inability to keep the ball.

bannside

100% agree with all of that.

YoungSaff

Saw a video on the We Are Antrim twitter it looked like a breach I think for the equaliser in normal time ?

Some upset by Rossa fair play to them.

Dunloy and Brides will be a tasty encounter where I imagine they'll meet Cargin in final.

They looked a different animal compared to Creggan and seemed to be a real hunger.

St Endas pulled away from Ahoghill in the intermediate to set up the semi finals as Aldergrove v Ahoghill and St Endas Gort na Mona

YoungSaff

Will McGleenan stay BS?

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on Today at 08:02:44 AMYour personal conduct at the end of the game is what you should be reviewing, bannside. No place for that carry on at our games. That's how we end up with scenes like we did in Loughgiel last week. You should face sanction.

Spill the beans!

SlemishSoldier31

Point 4. Money can't buy you championships.

This post comes across as very distasteful Bannside, you might think it's good sportsmanship but it's the complete opposite. Take your medicine and congratulate Rossa. I'm not sure where this mentality and ego of PG1 has come from where they feel entitled to win because as far as I'm aware they've never won anything of note?

YoungSaff

This is up there with the worst things I've read on this board.

Did you forget about the super structure of managers and coaches in with yourselves over the past few years throwing thousands at them and ultimately not having the balls to deliver.

Small Village ? Have you see Rossa for examples catchment area competing with 2 neighbouring clubs in very close proximity not to mention the transfers your lads brought in an Ex Derry senior aswell as a new goalkeeper

As the post above says money can't buy championships and your post is not only incorrect but very distasteful coming on here slandering officials and blaming the venue maybe look a bit closer to home.

It all comes down to whether your show dogs or hunting dogs and ultimately PG1 have proved over the recent years when the pressure was on , they are infact show dogs.