All-Ireland Senior Football final - Kerry v Dublin 18/09/2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 22, 2011, 06:06:06 PM

Sam2011

Fair play to the Dubs. I didn't think they had it in them this year.
I'm delighted for the players and management. They have been through enough pain and they deserved the win.
I really hope Mayo are going in the same direction as Dublin. They have the players they just need to bring the best out in them.

Well done the Dubs.  For all the years of pain Tyrone, Kerry & Cork have heaped on them an AI is the least they deserve.

Without a doubt the intensity that Gilroy has brought to them will now half as they've won a Sam.  Expect little from them in 2012 but once reality strikes possibly another tilt come 2013 or 2014.

NP 76

Would just like to congradulate the Dubs on yesterdays performance . I thought the team and their supporters were a credit to themselves . Such a belief Gilroy has instilled into them and all the crew have bought into the idea . Would of liked to see Kerry win it to see the Gooch lift it as captain but was delighted to see the joy it took to the Dubs .

Between a great day at Croker and an Australian wake last night I'm only getting back to myself now.

Great occasion...maybe not the best game in the world but such drama.

Kerry had it in the bag with 7 minutes to go but basic errors and one or two dubious decisions by the ref let the Dubs back into it...

Cluxton has balls of steel and I'm delighted that the likes of him, Alan Brogan, Barry Cahill etc got their medal.

However I don't think we have seen the last of Cooper.

For what its worth I think Sheehan should get POTY but I'd imagine Cluxton or Ala B will get it on back of the Dublin hype.

BarryBreensBandage

Congrats to the dubs - always did like them and their supporters.
I thought Dublin had controlled most of the match, Kerry hit the patch that we all knew they would hit, Dublin hung in, got a break and clinically closed the match out. No fluke - and fully deserved.
"Some people say I am indecisive..... maybe I am, maybe I'm not".

Quote from: 5 Sams on September 19, 2011, 09:42:39 PM
Between a great day at Croker and an Australian wake last night I'm only getting back to myself now.

Kerry had it in the bag with 7 minutes to go but basic errors and one or two dubious decisions by the ref let the Dubs back into it...

Cluxton has balls of steel and I'm delighted that the likes of him, Alan Brogan, Barry Cahill etc got their medal.

For what its worth I think Sheehan should get POTY but I'd imagine Cluxton or Ala B will get it on back of the Dublin hype.

Has someone hinted he was going to retire?

Quote from: Jinxy on September 19, 2011, 11:36:01 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 19, 2011, 09:42:39 PM

Has someone hinted he was going to retire?

No what I meant was he'll be back in Croke Park on AI Final day.

Congrats to the Dubs and all the Dublin lads on here. Great final and great championship.

The most consistant and best team throughout the campaign won.

Hopefully the hype will die down in a few months which will make living up here possible again!

Drummerboy

Quote from: Denn Forever on September 19, 2011, 11:08:08 AM
Open to correction but Diarmuid Connolly's dad is from Kilkenny, teaches in Ard Scoil Ris on Griffith Avenue (hell of a commute from Leitrim) and played football for them. 

I suppose we won't get answer to this until the Dublin contingent surface.

Diarmaid Connolly won an All-Ireland U14 Feile with Dublin club St Vincents.

Quote from: ross4life on September 19, 2011, 08:31:49 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on September 19, 2011, 08:22:25 PM
Can anybody post the Dubs subs as they were listed on the match programme yesterday to settle an oul argument between two eejits for me please? I dont know did it stop at 24 but the more that can be named the better, cheers!

Heffo posted the subs the other day i guess it's correct
16. Michael Savage
17. Paul Conlon
18. Paul Casey
19. David Henry
20. Eoghan O'Gara
21. Philip McMahon
22. Tomas Quinn
23. Craig Dias
24. Kevin McMamanon
25. Eamonn Fennell
26. Ross McConnell
Quote from: bigfrank on September 19, 2011, 08:29:20 PM
sorry for asking but i never seen banquet or sunday game last night but who got the official man of the match award??

Kevin Nolan.
Declan Lally and Sean Murray were also on the bench - dont know what numbers they wore. Could be more subs - lads as yet un-named too.

The Hill is Blue

I'm starting to accept just about now that it wasn't all a dream. What a fantastic day! All those days of heartache in Croke Park over the last sixteen years wiped away in an unbelievable five minutes. For a Dub it was a day that, no matter how young you might be, will be burned in your memory till the day you die.   

With all due regard to the disappointment that the great Kerry supporters must be feeling it was really gratifying to see the huge amount of spontaneous goodwill towards the Dublin team from all over the country after their win.

One final point, surely last Sunday finally closed the debate about allowing the absurd practice of invading the pitch after a big game. The team celebration after the match which lasted for at least twenty five minutes was a highlight of the day – both for the team and the spectators. How much better that was than to have a frantic mob charging up and down the field endangering both themselves and the players.     

Well done Kerry and Dublin – the legend continues! 
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

I'm just surfacing now after a hard couple of days!.

Absolutely delighted - thanks for all the pm's.

Thoroughly enjoyed the celebrations in the stands and didn't feel the day was any lesser for a lack of a pitch invasion.

Quote from: heffo on September 20, 2011, 01:05:58 PM
I'm just surfacing now after a hard couple of days!.

Absolutely delighted - thanks for all the pm's.

Thoroughly enjoyed the celebrations in the stands and didn't feel the day was any lesser for a lack of a pitch invasion.

Where the hell did you go ? You must have been in very bad shape !

Will there be a GOAL challenge in Parnell Park ?.

Privilege to witness it, some performance, what a atmosphere, last 10 mins was pure heaven tbh, the whole of croke park had the hill 16 atmosphere, great emotion at the end, congrats to the dubs, the workrate of the dublin forwards without the ball was out of this world, they never let up,