All-Ireland Senior Football final - Kerry v Dublin 18/09/2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 22, 2011, 06:06:06 PM

Anyone notice D Connelly wearing a Leitrim Jacket/Training top in the warm up and when Mary McAleese was being introduced to the players>?

Weird.

What was that about?

Quote from: comethekingdom on September 18, 2011, 11:18:50 PM
Thank god it wasnt a draw as the grief of scouring the country for tickets again is probably harder than trying to win an AI itself !!

Now you're talking !

Quote from: mckieran on September 18, 2011, 11:32:56 PM
Quote82,300

So does that mean that absolutely every single ticket was used? I think the capacity of Croke Park is 82300 (Although I though it was slightly reduced when they put in the Hill 16 barriers.... Is this a record?
Record for redeveloped Croker. Down v Offaly 1961 had 90,000.

Well done to the dubs, I am delighted that Ye won and I hope all the dubs on the board enjoyed their win. I thought the ref was pretty good today. He made some mistakes for sure but he let the game flow and wasn't whistling every 10 seconds even though the physical intensity of the game was huge at times. He played his part in the great days football. While I understand people annoyed about him not adding on time I have some questions on that. 1) how many seconds is permitted for a free taker to kick a free, over which the time taken gets added on. 2) how long did other frees take during the game 3) should the ref add up all the time taken for frees and add on at the end?

Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 18, 2011, 11:52:35 PM
Well done to the dubs, I am delighted that Ye won and I hope all the dubs on the board enjoyed their win. I thought the ref was pretty good today. He made some mistakes for sure but he let the game flow and wasn't whistling every 10 seconds even though the physical intensity of the game was huge at times. He played his part in the great days football. While I understand people annoyed about him not adding on time I have some questions on that. 1) how many seconds is permitted for a free taker to kick a free, over which the time taken gets added on. 2) how long did other frees take during the game 3) should the ref add up all the time taken for frees and add on at the end?

That can't work. What if the ref wants to have a word with the free offender? Does he stop his watch, talk to the lad, and apply accordingly? That'll be serious time at the end. Cluxton takes little time over his kicks when he gets there.

Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2011, 12:13:51 AM

That can't work. What if the ref wants to have a word with the free offender? Does he stop his watch, talk to the lad, and apply accordingly? That'll be serious time at the end. Cluxton takes little time over his kicks when he gets there.

That s the problem. Today he just strolled up the pitch. As I said on another thread he never even broke into a jog. And even though McQuillan gave him a giddy-up gesture, he didn t do what he should have done and threw the ball up. McQ seriously bottled that. He should have either thrown the ball up or added the guts of a minute. It was deliberate time wasting. At the death like today a player has the advantage of that big screen showing time gone. Clux knew what he was at and fair play to him. He called the refs bluff and nailed it. He was always going to kick the ball dead. He made sure it was last play.

Just back  home. Ecststic as were the rest of the fans.

Easily our most sensational victory ever, Celebrations afterwords exceptional.

Belated thank you to Orangeman(Tyrone) for his    massively appreciated p-ms after the Tyone game.

Baile Átha Cliath abú.

Commiserations to all Kerry posters here.

A Carlserg All Ireland so to speak ........Tyrone (2005/2008), Kerry (2
009) and the rest and Donegal (1992).

Mayo awaits in 2012.

Congratulations to dublin, nice to see someone new lifting it. Kerry would I suppose have been fairly sure of the win, just shows that it's all on the day,providing you take your chances.

Capt Pat

Did the ref play one minute after two were announced in the minor match working against the Dubs.

Quote from: mckieran on September 18, 2011, 11:06:36 PM
What was the official attendance today?

I agree with the posters that say the ref should have allowed Kerry one final attack. There was a stoppage for the free and it wasnt accounted for. It has always been an issue since they brought in the injury time being announced; refs dont seem to note that it is the "minimum" time added, but actually seem to use it as the "maximum"!

I dont begrudge Dublin their victory, but I thought a draw would be the fairest result. And what a match the replay would have been!

tommysmith

Quote from: Capt Pat on September 19, 2011, 05:55:00 AM
Did the ref play one minute after two were announced in the minor match working against the Dubs.

I think he played 1m 58seconds.

Well done Dublin - superb game and spectacle.

Quote from: moysider on September 18, 2011, 09:36:56 PM
For a Kerry team their bench was watery enough. 2 of the starting forwards did not perform and Walsh left on far too long. Barry John though did much better when he came on. Both Declan O Sullivan and Brosnan took massive hits and both looked empty long before the end. But Brosnan being subbed probably was a bit unsettling with a few minutes to go.

Strange call I thought as well. I am surprised that Kerry changed their defence at that stage of the game, almost as if they were trying to shore things up.

Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2011, 12:13:51 AM

Only way round it under the current rules is this. When it became clear that Cluxton was going to hit the free, a Kerry man should have developed cramp (or some other ailment) that required attention. Referee would have had to stop his watch.

Frank Casey

Not quite sure how we left it after us but fair play to the dubs and congrats. Heart took a long time to settle down after a ding dong finish.

I'll have to sit down and watch the match again to try and make sense of things.
KERRY 3:7

congrats to Dublin and the dublin posters on the board. i thought they had lost the game as Kerry looked in complete control untill they lost that ball that led  to the Dublin goal. i'd say there wasn't a cow milked in Dublin last night

Well done Dublin, very entertaining and exciting game and I think at the final whistle it was obvious how much it meant to Dublin.
Enjoy your win!
I dont know how that lad McMennemenenenene doesn't start....deadly!

Quote from: Celt_Man on September 18, 2011, 05:31:54 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 18, 2011, 05:27:41 PM
Kerry had a great chance to go ahead close to the end when the space opened up about 30m out to the left but the player in question (didn't see who it was) didn't take the responsibility and instead handed it off to Cooper who got swallowed up by three Dublin defenders.
It was Killian Young - in fairness I thought he done well, gave it off to one of the best forwards in the last decade but Cooper gave a half dummy and worked it into a poor position and didn't get the shot off

Was watching the end of the game last night again, and for me this was a real turning point.  Could have put Kerry in a real solid lead.  Great cross field ball from Tomas O'Se with the outside of the boot to Young, who had acres of space and was close to goal, yet he bottled it and gave it to the Gooch was was qucikly surrounded.  Is there a more hateful player than Donaghy?  Constantly running about flapping those big wings of his, complaining about this, that and the other.  He is a while man for cowardly pushing me in the back, and he never gets out of players faces as was evident in the incident where he wouldn't let the Dub hit the free then pretended to be the victim when the fella tried to push him out of the way.  What was the craic with Donaghy going for the point when he was 5cm from goal, seems to be the option alot of players take now whereas in years gone by players just seemed to have more of a killer instinct and went for the onion bag when they were given a sniff. 

There are lots of things that crop up game after game every year that never seem to have action put in place to address them.  The like of the injury time issue.  Why is it that referees indicate a period of injury time, yet in most cases the injury time is taken up with stoppages and this is not subsequently added on to the remaining playing time - its about time that something was done about this.  The other thing goes back to Kieran Donaghy's incident when he was preventing the Dub from hitting the free.  This sort of behaviour should be clamped down on, as it always seems to be the player/team who have won a free that end up being penalised as someone like Donaghy comes in and pushes thems or stands in their face and they simply try and get into position to hit the free that was awarded to them - referees should come down more on the offenders here and the same should be applied to those who don't release the ball when a free is given against them, as this usually starts a mini royal rumble which results in the original victim being penalised.

I wonder how many of this Kerry team are finished after yesterday, alot of players are pushing on in years.