Donegal v Dublin semi final 28-8-11

Started by Blowitupref, August 07, 2011, 03:05:23 AM

cadence

Quote from: heffo on August 27, 2011, 02:51:16 PM
Kevin Cassidy's memory of the drawn game in 2002 must be blurred from the session afterwards:

"If you look back at that game, we had the game won and we threw it away"

http://examiner.ie/sport/gaa/cassidy-laments-bad-old-days-165621.html

My recollection is that Donegal scrambled a draw with Adrian Sweeney scoring an equaliser with the last kick of the game.

liked the bit about the 4-5 years plan mcguinness is going to implement. it's great that he's so young, inspired and driven. the man's infectious. be very interesting to see where 5 years development under our belts would take us. we'd be killer i reckon.   

Quote from: cadence on August 27, 2011, 03:22:16 PM
Kevin Cassidy's memory of the drawn game in 2002 must be blurred from the session afterwards:

My recollection is that Donegal scrambled a draw with Adrian Sweeney scoring an equaliser with the last kick of the game.

liked the bit about the 4-5 years plan mcguinness is going to implement. it's great that he's so young, inspired and driven. the man's infectious. be very interesting to see where 5 years development under our belts would take us. we'd be killer i reckon.

It's great that he has this long term plan and obviously after the great year so far he'll hopefully get the space to continue that. Having said that, there is no reason they can't win the AI outright this year.

Quote from: heffo on August 27, 2011, 03:58:17 PM

It's great that he has this long term plan and obviously after the great year so far he'll hopefully get the space to continue that. Having said that, there is no reason they can't win the AI outright this year.

I think Kerry are a very good reason as to why they won't
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Don't do the 5 year plan lads and Jim stop following Tyrone and Mickey Harte. Haha
Its a terrible place that we're in now where we can't go back or forward. A bit like me with these new crutches.

I haven't read the thread for a while so maybe this has already been mentioned but does anyone think that Michael Murphy has really to have a stormer game yet. Gooch showed glimpses last Sunday and I just feel Murphy has yet to show his true potential. Yes of course its much harder now for forwards to stand out the way they used to when it was 6 forwards v 6 or 7 backs. I'd just love to see them try to get the ball in earlier to him and maybe him shoot on sight.

I still can't decide who I want to win this game as have interests in both squads but I suppose living in Dublin I would be happy enough to see the buzz around the city for a month if they get to the AI final. I think Dublin have learnt a lot from their past 4 or 5 years and now they've finally got 3 or 4 class forwards who can take on their man and get scores.
I am really looking forward to it but if I am to be honest I think if Dublin can match how they played v Tyrone then Donegal won't be able to stay with them. They've both got similar hard work ethics and good defensive systems but think Dublin have that bit more style, panache and know how as they've been kicking on this door for a few years now. Donegal are in new territory and whilst they struggled to beat an overrated Kildare team in my opinion I think they'll find the Dubs a step too far.
I don't mind if I'm wrong though. I'm just GLAD we're outta it.
Instead I'm reading Jack O'Connor's Keys to the Kingdom and how he enjoyed saving all the sheep from thon cliffs.

cadence

it's def his for the keeping for a while that's for sure. he's got that something special about him that all really good managers have. he's bright, humble, good with people, passionate, good personality, principled... he'd succeed at almost anything he turned his hand to. really good managers all have something, that mysterious brew that's never quite the same each time, but when you see it, you can only marvel and admire it. i like like the cut of his jib.   

cadence

Quote from: Fuzzman on August 27, 2011, 06:17:17 PM
Don't do the 5 year plan lads and Jim stop following Tyrone and Mickey Harte. Haha
Its a terrible place that we're in now where we can't go back or forward. A bit like me with these new crutches.

I haven't read the thread for a while so maybe this has already been mentioned but does anyone think that Michael Murphy has really to have a stormer game yet. Gooch showed glimpses last Sunday and I just feel Murphy has yet to show his true potential. Yes of course its much harder now for forwards to stand out the way they used to when it was 6 forwards v 6 or 7 backs. I'd just love to see them try to get the ball in earlier to him and maybe him shoot on sight.

I still can't decide who I want to win this game as have interests in both squads but I suppose living in Dublin I would be happy enough to see the buzz around the city for a month if they get to the AI final. I think Dublin have learnt a lot from their past 4 or 5 years and now they've finally got 3 or 4 class forwards who can take on their man and get scores.
I am really looking forward to it but if I am to be honest I think if Dublin can match how they played v Tyrone then Donegal won't be able to stay with them. They've both got similar hard work ethics and good defensive systems but think Dublin have that bit more style, panache and know how as they've been kicking on this door for a few years now. Donegal are in new territory and whilst they struggled to beat an overrated Kildare team in my opinion I think they'll find the Dubs a step too far.
I don't mind if I'm wrong though. I'm just GLAD we're outta it.
Instead I'm reading Jack O'Connor's Keys to the Kingdom and how he enjoyed saving all the sheep from thon cliffs.

it's difficult to see how tyrone could have bedded in new players any quicker. you know for sure now that's it's a time for developing a new side and i don't expect it to take that long. but it's nice to get some reprieve from yourselves and armagh. i'd say you were undone by not having players that could compete with dublin over those all important first 5-10 yards. dublin are more explosive than anyone i've seen yet in this year's championship. you get there first most of the time, chances are you're going to win. that's the thing i'm worried about most tomorrow. it's the feckin' speed of 'em.

agree with you that murphy hasn't been on fire yet. but he's had to sacrifice his own individual gains for the team. our ffl are very isolated and they have to scrap for almost every thing, there's few gimmes. i'm more worried about mcfadden than murphy. a target man like murphy will be a handful regardless. we need mcfadden, and mcbrearty, showing us the form they had in ulster.

Just read those articles in pages 2 and 3 of the Irish Times Sport
Very interesting stories and it shows how much this game means to both managers as well as the fans. Ye forget how long it has been since Donegal have won anything before this year bar a Div 2 league title a few years back.

Hunger always adds a few inches to that first to the ball rule

Orangemac

Talking about 5 year plans is a big mistake. Strike while the iron is hot. Most managers do their best work nowadays in their 1st year. O'Rourke in Fermanagh, Walsh in Sligo, Ryan in Wexford, McCartan last year.

After getting Down within an inch of winning Sam last year, Down fans may have expected them to kick on this year but often with a new manager players are maybe more open to new ideas, there is genuine competiton for places etc.

This is Donegals chance, there are a number of players on the team/panel around the 30 mark and it is doubtful that Donegal will be stronger next year.

really looking forward to the game today.
I think Donegal can win it, I hope they do, even if they were lucky against us ;)
Nothing against the Dubs, but I hope Donegal win it outright! As Hector would say, Keep er lit!

Quote from: Orangemac on August 28, 2011, 09:40:27 AM
Talking about 5 year plans is a big mistake. Strike while the iron is hot. Most managers do their best work nowadays in their 1st year.

You're probably right.

Oh God!

cadence

Talking about 5 year plans is a big mistake. Strike while the iron is hot. Most managers do their best work nowadays in their 1st year. O'Rourke in Fermanagh, Walsh in Sligo, Ryan in Wexford, McCartan last year.

After getting Down within an inch of winning Sam last year, Down fans may have expected them to kick on this year but often with a new manager players are maybe more open to new ideas, there is genuine competiton for places etc.

This is Donegals chance, there are a number of players on the team/panel around the 30 mark and it is doubtful that Donegal will be stronger next year.

mos def no time like the present and we should be making the most of this opportunity. but even at around the 30 mark, i think it all depends on how well you look after yourself. whilst you don't get much quicker, if at all, your stamina should be improving with fartleks/interval sessions and gym work.

aside from having a more concise game plan and new found tactical pragmatism, it's been really important that the squad culture around fitness has been changed. that's no mean feat. he and his team have managed it and with that future squads will reap the rewards. i'd like to see that whole management set-up have the opportunity to make us even leaner and meaner. i hope any new player breaking into the squad in the future will have to reach certain standards and keep then to stay in it and that can only be good. i'd also like to see how our game and tactics develop under him as we progress.

The Hill is Blue

Quote from: Hardy on August 28, 2011, 09:57:58 AM
Talking about 5 year plans is a big mistake. Strike while the iron is hot. Most managers do their best work nowadays in their 1st year.

You're probably right.

Oh God!

What's left if we can't hope that next year will be better?  ;)
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Atticus_Finch

I would have felt Donegal will only be stronger next year and will continue to get stonger for the next number of years, so much of this year was getting the burden of previous years unachievement off their back i.e. winning that first round (or preliminary as it was this year) match, reaching the Ulster final, winning the Ulster final.

As for a number of players being around the 30 mark - who are they? because the impression i have is that overall they have quite a young team.

Who are all the players on the wrong side of 30 - Hegarty, Toye, Eamon McGee and Durcan - Is Anthony Thompson ?

Am i wrong in thinking that Cassidy, Kavanagh, McFadden and McGlynn are about 28.

For me the key players have a lot of years left playing football - Lacey, Murphy, Neil mcGee, McHugh and I also think Ryan Bradley and mcBreaty will go on to establish themselves as key players next year.

The only sector that Donegal are not particularly strong at for me is at midfield. Whil Rory Kavanagh is a very talented player I think he is more of a half forward, while Ryan Bradley has the physical presence to play at midfield. It's obviously something they are not going to tamper with now but i'd be interested to see how a switch would work out during the next national league campaign.

Really forward to the game - it is a tough one to call but in my opinion Donegal are a huge price at 3/1.  Donegal are a very mentally tough team, the Kildare game should really galvanise the team, it was played at a frantic intensity (2nd half onwards) and Donegal will not be put away easily today.  I said in the build up to the Ulster final that there forward unit still haven't clicked and they've beaten teams by frustrating them and wearing them down rather than through the exploits of any of their forward players.

If donegal are to win today then their forward unit, has to 'click'.  They've had a four week break since the Kildare game and that will have given a lot of the lads some much needed rest. I don't think Donegal have had more than a two week break between games going back to january and the McKenna cup.  This break will give Michael Murphy in particular time to get over the wee niggles and play to his full potential.  I watched the U-21 Final last year and himself and Rory O'Carroll had a fascinating tussle, O'Carroll arguably shaded it that day but i think the roles will be reversed today.
"The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience."

The Hill is Blue

It's a great morning in Dublin for the game. I hope everyone travelling from Donegal and elsewhere has a very enjoyable day.

Good luck.
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8