Donegal v Dublin semi final 28-8-11

Started by Blowitupref, August 07, 2011, 03:05:23 AM

Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 22, 2011, 11:21:50 AM
Donegal folk whats the buzz in the county ????? Are tickets being snapped up.........................has the bould brolly got a donegal headband yet ?

Is Jim McGuiness a threat to Galvins modelling career

Was down @ dog track in Lifford at the weekend, plenty of flags up and around Lifford, can only guess about the rest of the county, but going on Lifford's showing, I have a fair guess and say that the counties well decked out.

Seem to be taking it serious enough!!  ;D

Wear your colours for Donegal! 
Wear your county colours with pride adn help the team training fund.

Published on Thursday 11 August 2011 15:15

The Donegal Democrat in conjunction with the Donegal GAA County Board are promoting a special Donegal Jersey Day on Friday, August 19th, ahead of the All-Ireland semi-final against Dublin.

Employers and employees throughout the county are being encouraged to show their colours while helping fund Donegal's bid for a place in the All-Ireland football final next month.

And the good news is that every workplace who lets us know will be in with a chance to win three sets of two tickets for the big semi-final game on August 28th.

Democrat Sports Editor Peter Campbell said: "We have always strongly supported the Donegal GAA over our long history, so we thought how could we bring some colour to the county while at the same time, help out the county team in a practical and simple way? Wearing your jersey to work is a perfect way for readers and supporters to show their support.

"We're asking all Donegal people to wear the Donegal jersey/colours to work on Friday 19th and to organise a collection at work for the Donegal Training Fund. All contributions will be voluntary and we're asking a volunteer to take up the collection. All you have to do then is email the Donegal Democrat (sport@donegaldemocrat.com) that you have made a collection and we will notify the Donegal Co. Board treasurer, who will organise to have funds collected."

All businesses, shops, factories and other work places who take part will be acknowledged in the Donegal Democrat and they can also email in their photos of their own event.

As part of the build up to the All-Ireland semi final, the Democrat is also running a separate competition to win a set of tickets for the game and overnight stay in Dublin. This is aimed at householders and families who are being encouraged to bedeck their house in the county colours and give Donegal the 'extra man' as they face the Dubs in Croker

snippets

I just hope the Dubs give Donegal the respect they deserve as Ulster champions, any potential talk of a "run out before the final" would be downright disrespectful.  Donegal are there on merit as are the dubs of course but some could say that the heads have got big around the city streets.  "The hype is huge..."  "All they have to do is turn out..."   I find views of that nature if given would represent  a huge insult to Donegal football.
this bus aint gonna drive itself.

Quote from: snippets on August 23, 2011, 01:01:42 PM
some could say that the heads have got big around the city streets.  "The hype is huge..."  "All they have to do is turn out..."   I find views of that nature if given would represent  a huge insult to Donegal football.

Are you getting pre-empted insulted over imaginary insults in your head?. There is no such talk in Dublin.

It seems like there is plenty of hype in Donegal though:

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/local/croke_park_gaa_ticket_allocation_just_16_1_2988065

"Donegal GAA County Administrator, Noreen Doherty, said that she had not seen such unbridled enthusiasm since the lead up to the final of 1992. She told the paper: "It's simply a sell-out. We have never dealt with such a high demand for tickets since 1992. It's incredible; the buzz and excitement is everywhere to be seen. It seems that everybody wants to go to the game, which is great."

cadence

as far as i can make out, dublin have been very low-key and restrained about it all, seemingly not wanting to give any fuel for the donegal motivational fires. it doesn't fool us donegal folk one bit though. we see it for what it is. it's that particular brand of smug dub silence that is more or less saying we're focussing on the game and not getting ahead of ourselves because that's the only way donegal can beat us, which is us beating ourselves. you might as well tell us that you think we're shite. 

Quote from: cadence on August 23, 2011, 02:39:53 PM
as far as i can make out, dublin have been very low-key and restrained about it all, seemingly not wanting to give any fuel for the donegal motivational fires. it doesn't fool us donegal folk one bit though. we see it for what it is. it's that particular brand of smug dub silence that is more or less saying we're focussing on the game and not getting ahead of ourselves because that's the only way donegal can beat us, which is us beating ourselves. you might as well tell us that you think we're shite.

Brilliant!!!

You're a gas man!

snippets

Yes, thats it exactly,  never be fooled that a low-key, heads down, business like approach to a game with soft goat featured country bumfluffs and romanticising seafaring yodas ie Donegal, - does not mask the sheer potential bigheadedness that arguably could be hidden within the Slick Dublin psychie.  If I was a Donegal psychiatrist this week - Id be printing out these posts and any possible faux denials and pinning them to the dressing room door.   

To paraphrase a great man -
"Our revenge will be the laughter of our supporters."

When is this game on by the way?? Can't find anyone in Dublin who knows anything about it!

cadence

Quote from: heffo on August 23, 2011, 02:48:11 PM

You're a gas man!

pfft!

snippets

Arrogance Heffo, an ai s final mightnt mean that much to the Dubs who have already the "burlo" booked for the week leading up to the final, but it means a hell of a lot to Donegal folk gombeen sheepfanciers.

Downright bizarre the most recent posts.

Lads here severely disappointed that the Dubs are keeping their heads down and saying nought. To the extent that they are now imagining hypothetical slights/arrogance.

Quote from: snippets on August 23, 2011, 03:40:12 PM
Arrogance Heffo, an ai s final mightnt mean that much to the Dubs who have already the "burlo" booked for the week leading up to the final

Is the 'Burlo' still open?? Thought it closed down years ago.

A Donegal fella told me today that Dublin have already been measured for their AI suits, he also said that a fella told a friend of his that Dublin think they only have to turn up to win!

Jinxy - what does your Dublin friend have to say?

The Hill is Blue

Sure why wouldn't we be smug – didn't Martin McHugh himself tip Dublin on the Sunday Game. No more talk about cute Kerry men.  :D 
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

squire_in_navy_slacks

Paranoia is rife with the donegal brethren at the moment..........................im predicting a jim mcguiness meltdown before sunday

Theres feck all of a wiff of dubs versus kerry in the capital in the mo.....................its all about donegal this weekend dudes............................donegal thats all thats being mentioned by real dublin gaa fans, cant wait