Roscommon v Mayo Connacht final 2011

Started by ross4life, June 24, 2011, 07:23:17 PM

Quote from: neilthemac on July 12, 2011, 02:13:14 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2011, 02:08:33 PM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on July 12, 2011, 01:50:53 PM
Interesting comments from Prenty in the Mayo News. Do I detect a little threat to future Connacht finals at Hyde Park there?From Mayo News

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=13205:no-hyde-ing-place-for-enda&catid=23:news&Itemid=46

Connacht GAA Council Secretary John Prenty said that the council had not been informed about any protest planned for the game. "We haven't been informed about a protest. Hopefully it will take place outside the ground and not inside, because there are games to organise. We're trying to bring events into Roscommon, not take them out of it," he said.

I wouldn t think there s a threat there. How could there be. Events have been taken out of Roscommon by HSE, not by the GAA. Why should a great event for the town be marred by a protest about something entirely unrelated?

because a lot of people care far more about their health and lives than a GAA match.

Not the point. This GAA match is bringing something positive to the town not taking something away. Why link the 2 events? I ve no problem with Roscommon people being annoyed by what has happened and not accepting it but I m not sure a protest at a game of football is the right thing to do? If Kenny stays away will a protest take place anyway now?

Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2011, 12:50:38 PM
Jaysus Abbey you re givin everybody a slap today. I d sooner face the missus after a late night on the batter.
:D :D :D
My newfound friend may well be a northmayo man himself? It was an old wisdom that good Mayo teams were backboned by men from the North. Men like Courell, Ormsbys, Grier from the early days. The fifties had the Mulderrigs, Gilvarry, Wynne, Forde, Quinn and Langan off the top of my head. The North man can either be a townie or a more mountainy type. Check out what happened the journalist John Healy when Langan took exception to something he wrote.
There was also a thing about every successful Mayo team having an Erris man in the side.
The lack of men from the heartland is a bit of a concern, and the alpha clubs around the lakes seem to be going through a bit of a dip at the moment. The county team will have to do its best without us for a while. I ve no doubt that they ll be up for the challenge ;)

North Mayo the backbone of the good Mayo teams is it? And your going back to the 30's to prove that point while failing to mention that the 1951 team, was where (arguably) some of the best of players were from the other points of the compass! :P

You see Moy, I think ye North Mayo boys are actually in dreamland and are looking at things the wrong way around (arseways we call it down here). Rather than saying that North Mayo players were the backbone of the good Mayo teams; maybe the fact that we have not won an All Ireland in 60 years is actually down to so many North Mayo men (ye all hold so dear) being on the team?

Now that West Mayo is the stronghold of club football at all Senior levels in Mayo, and a significant shift has swung the pendulum away from the North; maybe now we can see Mayo break loose of those shackles and actually win an All Ireland in the next few years. ;) :D :P

As for you Lar, either you are gone soft in your old age, or you guys have some sort of physic powers that kinetically link yourselves to cuconnacht enabling you to coherently understand those crazy ramblings and often come out with some of your own (dont we all says Lar). In either case I am not at your level yet but I am striving for it. ;)

Talking seriously about the game, for my tuppence worth I think we will beat the Rossies on Sunday.

I am kind of confident as I think Leitrim were terrible and could have been one of the worst county championship sides I had seen in a while so any big scoreline against them could have been a false promise.

While Galway were bad they were still sticky in spots and we were able to out play them all over the park. I also think that Mayo coming to the Hyde on Sunday will be a big step up from playing division 4 league football that Roscommon are used to.

My tip on Paddypower for the Galway game was Mayo by 4-6 points @ 9/2

This time I am going to be just as bold and go with the same bet, Mayo by 4-6 points @ 4-1

Quote from: AbbeySider on July 12, 2011, 03:00:01 PM
Jaysus Abbey you re givin everybody a slap today. I d sooner face the missus after a late night on the batter.
My newfound friend may well be a northmayo man himself? It was an old wisdom that good Mayo teams were backboned by men from the North. Men like Courell, Ormsbys, Grier from the early days. The fifties had the Mulderrigs, Gilvarry, Wynne, Forde, Quinn and Langan off the top of my head. The North man can either be a townie or a more mountainy type. Check out what happened the journalist John Healy when Langan took exception to something he wrote.
There was also a thing about every successful Mayo team having an Erris man in the side.
The lack of men from the heartland is a bit of a concern, and the alpha clubs around the lakes seem to be going through a bit of a dip at the moment. The county team will have to do its best without us for a while. I ve no doubt that they ll be up for the challenge ;)

North Mayo the backbone of the good Mayo teams is it? And your going back to the 30's to prove that point while failing to mention that the 1951 team, was where (arguably) some of the best of players were from the other points of the compass! :P

You see Moy, I think ye North Mayo boys are actually in dreamland and are looking at things the wrong way around (arseways we call it down here). Rather than saying that North Mayo players were the backbone of the good Mayo teams; maybe the fact that we have not won an All Ireland in 60 years is actually down to so many North Mayo men (ye all hold so dear) being on the team?

Now that West Mayo is the stronghold of club football at all Senior levels in Mayo, and a significant shift has swung the pendulum away from the North; maybe now we can see Mayo break loose of those shackles and actually win an All Ireland in the next few years. ;) :D :PAs for you Lar, either you are gone soft in your old age, or you guys have some sort of physic powers that kinetically link yourselves to cuconnacht enabling you to coherently understand those crazy ramblings and often come out with some of your own (dont we all says Lar). In either case I am not at your level yet but I am striving for it. ;)

Jesus tis a good job ye boys only won the county . There would be no talking to ye if ye brought Andy Home  ;)

Where did your post go to Abbeysider ? 8)

Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2011, 03:28:28 PM

Sorry Deel, here you go:
Quote from: AbbeySider on July 12, 2011, 03:25:04 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2011, 03:08:56 PM
Jesus tis a good job ye boys only won the county . There would be no talking to ye if ye brought Andy Home  ;)
Only in our dreams Deel!
8)  8)

Quote from: AbbeySider on July 12, 2011, 03:36:11 PM

Sorry Deel, here you go:

Only in our dreams Deel!
8)  8)

don't recall seeing that statment  ;)  :D

Not really sure how this one is going to go on Sunday. I sense the Mayo lads are putting a bit too much stock in having beaten Galway. A Galway side without many of it's best forwards available and hindered by an off the wall team selection that had near half the team playing out of position. Galway were so bad on the day I honestly believe the vast majority of teams in the country would have beaten us by something similiar. Some would have flayed us altogether. Even something as basic as picking players in the right positions meant we were much improved against Meath. Horse had bolted by then though.

Then again while Roscommon are obviously improving they haven't really beaten anyone of note yet (and I include Sligo from last year in that). They were fairly impressive though in disposing of Leitrim although Leitrim were dreadful and completely physically outgunned by the Rossies.

I have a very small inkling that home advantage ramped up by the Roscommon hospital controversy might sneak Roscommon over the line but not with any great confidence. Mayo might just have a bit more experience in key positions that could negate that and turn the tables on the day.

Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2011, 03:44:39 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on July 12, 2011, 03:36:11 PM

Sorry Deel, here you go:

Only in our dreams Deel!
8)  8)

don't recall seeing that statment  ;)  :D

As I said, ye North Mayo lads are in dreamland half the time, ye only see what ye want to see!  :P  :D  :D  :D  8)  8)  8)

Quote from: muppet on July 12, 2011, 11:30:17 AM
David Brady via Newstalk and Twitter:

This game will be in the mental pot.

He really should get his own show.

Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2011, 02:20:37 PM
Interesting comments from Prenty in the Mayo News. Do I detect a little threat to future Connacht finals at Hyde Park there?From Mayo News

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=13205:no-hyde-ing-place-for-enda&catid=23:news&Itemid=46

Connacht GAA Council Secretary John Prenty said that the council had not been informed about any protest planned for the game. "We haven't been informed about a protest. Hopefully it will take place outside the ground and not inside, because there are games to organise. We're trying to bring events into Roscommon, not take them out of it," he said.

I wouldn t think there s a threat there. How could there be. Events have been taken out of Roscommon by HSE, not by the GAA. Why should a great event for the town be marred by a protest about something entirely unrelated?

because a lot of people care far more about their health and lives than a GAA match.

Not the point. This GAA match is bringing something positive to the town not taking something away. Why link the 2 events? I ve no problem with Roscommon people being annoyed by what has happened and not accepting it but I m not sure a protest at a game of football is the right thing to do? If Kenny stays away will a protest take place anyway now?

It would be better if he stayed away. No doubt if he's there protests will take place inside the ground & the majority would carry it off in civilised manner however some thugs (every county has them) out there might turn up to the game just because Enda attends & do something stupid.

Anyways back to football talk.

I think a protest in the town to highlight the issue to the large crowd and the Taoiseach is justified. But anything that would disrupt the match or attendance is'nt. The Roscommon and Mayo senior players, the Galway minors and all 3 sets of supporters are'nt the cause of the closure. The HSE are and the Taoiseach has'nt exactly covered himself in glory in the way he handled it. If he has any cop he should make it known he wont be attending. Might relieve some of the tension instead of angry Roscommon residents being subjected to the sight of Enda in a Mayo leprachaun suit considering the weeks thats in it.

Now that West Mayo is the stronghold of club football at all Senior levels in Mayo, and a significant shift has swung the pendulum away from the North; maybe now we can see Mayo break loose of those shackles and actually win an All Ireland in the next few years. ;) :D :P

As for you Lar, either you are gone soft in your old age, or you guys have some sort of physic powers that kinetically link yourselves to cuconnacht enabling you to coherently understand those crazy ramblings and often come out with some of your own (dont we all says Lar). In either case I am not at your level yet but I am striving for it. ;)

You re a mighty man to take the bait Abbey. If you were a salmon you wouldn t get past the first bridge in Ballina.

But while we re at it I could make a case for North players being under used by the county. I ll mention a few examples.

Brady, Harte and  McGarrity were ignored as minors even though they were clearly good enough and the last two key men in successful underage club teams. For years there has been a plethora of minors from a South Mayo town. Yet they haven t managed to produce a senior championship player since Kevin Beirne if memory serves me correctly. What s happening there I wonder?

Players like Jimmy Browne and Michael Collins were ignored in their prime. Collins played as a teenager and not again til his 30s. Mayo s best defender in 89 final but only got to play when Frank Noone was injured. Browne overlooked for years when he was one of the top club players in the county year in year out. Then there was the strange case of Kevin O Neill and Peter Butler. Somebody was convinced that David Nestor and Castlebar banker Pat Holmes were better!!! Kevin Stanton was the dominant midfielder in the county for over a decade with the Ballina pair but it was easier to leave him out. It was also easier I supposed not be arsed trying with Padraig Brogan. Funny last night on newstalk when Johnno was talking about players missing in 89 nobody mentioned The Bomber. Probably too embarrassing for everybody. There were others. Anthony Egan was underused. Jim Timoney. Joe Keane one of the cleverest forwards I ve seen play in this county and size should not have been an issue. Fred Molloy. PJ McGarry. Eugene Walsh. All top players. There is still some bitterness about how Joe Corcoran was treated by the board and left behind on a team trip to America. It s not easy being from the North  :'(

All academic now anyway. The swing in fortune may only be temporary. Knockmore will never be far away and if Ballina get their act together there are some serious teams coming through. The North will rise again ;D

saffronandblue

Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2011, 05:39:58 PM

You re a mighty man to take the bait Abbey. If you were a salmon you wouldn t get past the first bridge in Ballina.

But while we re at it I could make a case for North players being under used by the county. I ll mention a few examples.

Brady, Harte and  McGarrity were ignored as minors even though they were clearly good enough and the last two key men in successful underage club teams. For years there has been a plethora of minors from a South Mayo town. Yet they haven t managed to produce a senior championship player since Kevin Beirne if memory serves me correctly. What s happening there I wonder?

Players like Jimmy Browne and Michael Collins were ignored in their prime. Collins played as a teenager and not again til his 30s. Mayo s best defender in 89 final but only got to play when Frank Noone was injured. Browne overlooked for years when he was one of the top club players in the county year in year out. Then there was the strange case of Kevin O Neill and Peter Butler. Somebody was convinced that David Nestor and Castlebar banker Pat Holmes were better!!! Kevin Stanton was the dominant midfielder in the county for over a decade with the Ballina pair but it was easier to leave him out. It was also easier I supposed not be arsed trying with Padraig Brogan. Funny last night on newstalk when Johnno was talking about players missing in 89 nobody mentioned The Bomber. Probably too embarrassing for everybody. There were others. Anthony Egan was underused. Jim Timoney. Joe Keane one of the cleverest forwards I ve seen play in this county and size should not have been an issue. Fred Molloy. PJ McGarry. Eugene Walsh. All top players. There is still some bitterness about how Joe Corcoran was treated by the board and left behind on a team trip to America. It s not easy being from the North  :'(

All academic now anyway. The swing in fortune may only be temporary. Knockmore will never be far away and if Ballina get their act together there are some serious teams coming through. The North will rise again ;D

You tell em Moysider.  While you are getting that out of your system, I could mention tough defenders like Pat Warde and Michael Molloy and Dessie R from my own beloved parish who should have been given a good run, but as farmers and builders they might not have been fashioanble enough.  Butlers ommission above all still gets up my goat, what we could do with a player of his ability and will to win in Knockmore now :( :( :(

On the current squad, I still think Kilcoyne is worth his place in the squad.  Our subs bench is hopelessly light and small up front and I cannot believe that we have forward subs who are better.........I would never be his greatest fan at club level, but he seems to be able to do it on the big stage when others go missing. 

Quote from: ross4life on July 12, 2011, 04:20:29 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2011, 02:20:37 PM

It would be better if he stayed away. No doubt if he's there protests will take place inside the ground & the majority would carry it off in civilised manner however some thugs (every county has them) out there might turn up to the game just because Enda attends & do something stupid.

Anyways back to football talk.
I think it would be best for all concerned if Enda stayed well away from the Hyde on Sunday. He's landed himself in trouble and it's up to him to deal with this problem of his own making. I'm certain most Galway and Mayo supporters are in sympathy with the good people of Roscommon on this issue and nobody wants trouble from any quarter.
I hope to bring a couple of grandkids along with me and I'd say there are many people from all counties involved who also want to make this a family day out. I accept that Roscommon people will use the occasion to stage a demonstration and make their feelings known and I've no problem with that. If Kenny does show up a few hotheads might overreact and there could be trouble.
If he has any sense he'll bugger off somewhere else.
I don't know what to do about the kids; disappointing them is bad enough but having the wits scared out of them is infinitely worse. I think I'll wait until Sunday morning before I decide whether to bring them or leave them behind.