Roscommon v Mayo Connacht final 2011

Started by ross4life, June 24, 2011, 07:23:17 PM

Quote from: ross4life on June 27, 2011, 06:06:45 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 27, 2011, 05:22:58 PM
QuoteWhoever loses this game & the Ulster final will have to play a round 4 game six days later while the losers in the Munster final have a two week break to prepare.
I know its crazy.
Galway Mayo should have been on last week when there was only 1 other football game on.

Who ever loses will more than likely suffer same fate as Sligo last year
Agreed can't see the loser picking themselves up for a game 6 days later v someone like Kildare,Down or Armagh. Apparently the Connacht final will be on first next year.

Fellas, you're cutting your own throats if that's the way you feel.

Whoever wins the Connacht Final has a disadvantage, obviously. But the season isn't over. Bounce back in six days and you're in exactly the same position that the Connacht Champions are in.

Being a provincial champion isn't an advantage in the quarter final draw because while you avoid whoever wins the Munster final you can still get whoever loses it and they can tear you a new one. But to run up a white flag before you've even got to that stage is mentally weak.

You've spent the summer listening to people sneer at Connacht football. Man up, show some pride and don't go getting excuses in first.

spectator

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 26, 2011, 10:25:48 PM
The Mayo poor-mouthing of how Roscommon are favourites is ridiculous when you bear the facts of my first comment in mind. We should expect to go up there and win.

I can't say I was all that surprised to hear James Horan talking up Roscommon after Mayo's win over Galway. Sure isn't it practically a GAA tradition!

He was the fan's favourite for the job. It's his first season in charge at inter-county level.

He's a young manager trying to build a new team, in a county which demands and expects success.

Why wouldn't he talk up The Rossies when you think about it. A manager couldn't go wrong doing that, could he?

Except ... I dunno ...this is Mayo we're talking about here after all.

More experienced heads than Horan have previously tried to change Mayo's approach, withour success.

I was surprised at how deferential his comments towards The Rossies were though - and worse still they didn't even really stand up to scrutiny.

I suppose the world is always turning though - but the spectacle of Mayoites beal-bochting their chances against Galway the last day, followed by yeer manager now talking up The Ros as a superpower of the last few years ... well, I don't mind admitting I find it all downright disconcerting somehow or other.

And then again, could it be that some of Johnno's ideas regarding the downplaying and evening out of expectations have belatedly started to take root?

Surely not Mayoites, surely not? Say it ain't so lads, say it ain't so ...

PS      Just saw your post there R&GS. Phew! Good to see some consistency in a world gone mad after all  ;)

If it was anywhere else apart from Hyde Park with all the Rossies baying for the Mayo blood I'd be confident. But it is in Hyde Park so I'm not that confident at all. I'm less confident about this game after winning against Galway than I was of the Galway game coming through against London. Especially as ye are the reigning champions and ye tend to win 2 at the start of decades after ye have won one.

I don't know why I am nervous, despite Rossies trying to fool us all by saying that they've only done this, that and the other. The simple fact is, Mayo haven't done anything for quite a while either. :-\

Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 29, 2011, 01:38:45 PM

I don't know why I am nervous, despite Rossies trying to fool us all by saying that they've only done this, that and the other. The simple fact is, Mayo haven't done anything for quite a while either. :-\

But ye've been doing nothin at a much higher level than we've been.  ;)
Hopefully Geoffrey will be able to keep the ball kicked out t'ye on the 17th  :-[

By the way I hope for his own sake that Enda won't be attending.
If anything happens to him it will be a long way to Galway in an ambulance   >:(
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on June 29, 2011, 02:06:54 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 29, 2011, 01:38:45 PM

But ye've been doing nothin at a much higher level than we've been.  ;)
Hopefully Geoffrey will be able to keep the ball kicked out t'ye on the 17th  :-[

By the way I hope for his own sake that Enda won't be attending.
If anything happens to him it will be a long way to Galway in an ambulance 
  >:(

::) Good man, drag politics into the mix.
And implied threats to the Taoiseach as well while you're at it - lovely folk....

Aye indeed . We love batin rhubarbs . ;D

Jaysus I thought this thread had disappeared in the midst of the analysis of Castlebar's feast of football. Very little Mayo activity on it. They're so casual about Connacht titles at this stage.... ;)

Chimley

Thare are a lot of smilies accompanying the poor mouth from the Rossies on here and I don't believe a word of it.
Roscommon are certainly on the rise and you sense that the county is quietly confident that the 2009 drubbing will be avenged on 17th and you would also have to think that they would want it badly as that was a bleak day out.
I think it will be a battle of heart more than football the next day and we have not shone in that department but there were encouraging signs against Galway that we might be finding our pride again. I have a feeling that we will need to look deep into the well to come away from Hyde park with the Nestor cup.

I don't believe the rossies are poor mouthing at all, they have endured many bleak years & only now they are finding their feet, when you consider the age of the team they are still very much work in progress & you won't see them at their best for another 2/3 years.

The difference IMO between the sides is Mayo could play as poorly as they did v London & still win while Roscommon could play their best championship game for 10 years but still lose.

Beard

Quote from: Blowitupref on June 30, 2011, 04:39:21 PM

The difference IMO between the sides is Mayo could play as poorly as they did v London & still win while Roscommon could play their best championship game for 10 years but still lose.

Maybe I'm just a bit slow but I don't understand what the above statement is trying to prove/say.........

Quote from: Beard on June 30, 2011, 06:12:17 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 30, 2011, 04:39:21 PM

Maybe I'm just a bit slow but I don't understand what the above statement is trying to prove/say.........

At the moment Mayo are a level ahead of Roscommon & sometimes better teams can play poorly but still win & it's rare that happens with the underdog.

I hope I'm wrong as i would always follow the underdog & a win for Roscommon here would be their most significant victory for over a decade.

Drawing with and then beating Wexford after the disaster at Castlebar were 2 very significant games .
Showed we had character and perseverance and no fear of failure.
We are preparing quietly and hope to give a good account of ourselves in the CF. Let's see where that brings us.... but I won't be surprised if we have a Plan B up the sleeve for coping with the 6 day turnaround if we lose.

This is what i said back in October.

Quote from: ross4life on October 18, 2010, 07:28:05 PM
As Rossie the target for us in the next 12 month's would be St Brigid's winning Connacht, Roscommon Senior's getting promotion & making a Connacht final & Connacht title for one of our under-aged team's! anything else will be a bonus

Just one Minor win away from achieving that target & of course winning a Connacht senior title would be added bonus but not the end of the world if we don't.

Quote from: ross4life on June 30, 2011, 06:46:59 PM
This is what i said back in October.

Quote from: ross4life on October 18, 2010, 07:28:05 PM
As Rossie the target for us in the next 12 month's would be St Brigid's winning Connacht, Roscommon Senior's getting promotion & making a Connacht final & Connacht title for one of our under-aged team's! anything else will be a bonus

Just one Minor win away from achieving that target & of course winning a Connacht senior title would be added bonus but not the end of the world if we don't.

Winning the Connacht Senior last year has taken off the pressure to win silverware  this year.
However winning the minor would be a significant one and would at this stage mean more to me anyway than retaining the Senior.
Mind you I want to see us winning the 2  ;) of course.